Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-12, 14-16, and 18-26 are pending.
Claims 2, 6, 13 and 17 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-12, 14-16, and 18-26 stand rejected.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8, 12, 14-15, 18-19 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210037554 A1) in view of Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210022134 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Kim and Chen.
In regard to Claim 1, Kim teaches A method for wireless communications at a network entity (base station, Para. 87), the method comprising: outputting, via radio resource (Referring to FIG. 1, a communication system 100 may comprise a plurality of communication nodes 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2. The plurality of communication nodes may support 5G communication (e.g., new radio (NR)), Para. 65, FIG. 1. Each of the plurality of base stations 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, and 120-2 may refer to a radio transceiver, Para. 74, FIG. 1) control signaling (DCI (i.e., downlink control channel), Para. 4. DCI, Para. 180), a configuration (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162. The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180) that indicates a quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) for uplink cancellation (a bitmap (e.g., UL PI) indicating whether to transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in time and frequency resources (e.g., UL reference resources), and transmit the DCI through a DL control channel. The terminal may receive the DCI through the DL control channel and may not transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in the UL reference resources indicated by the bitmap included in the DCI, Para. 180).
Kim teaches outputting an allocation of uplink resources (the terminal may receive a DL control channel #1 including resource allocation information (e.g., resource allocation information of a transport block) from the base station, and map a transport block indicated by the DL control channel #1 to a UL data channel #1, Para. 87, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches determining a reallocation of the uplink resources (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162, FIG. 9. It may happen that a terminal #1 or a terminal #2 has to transmit the data #2 through a UL data channel #2 while the terminal #1 is transmitting a UL data channel #1 including the data #1. Some or all of the UL data channel #1 may overlap with the UL data channel #2, Para. 164, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches outputting, via downlink control information signaling (DL control channel #3, Para. 165, FIG. 9), an uplink cancellation indication corresponding to the uplink resources based at least in part on the determining (In this case, in order to minimize interference of the UL data channel #2, the base station may control the UL data channel #1 not to be transmitted. The terminal #1 may receive the DL control channel #3, and may not transmit the UL data channel #1 based on the information included in the DL control channel #3, Para. 165, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication comprising a bitmap (the base station may transmit the DL control channel #3 including a bitmap, Para. 166, FIG. 9) associated with the uplink resources (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches, wherein the allocation of uplink resources is divided into the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) in accordance with the configuration (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162. The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches each bit of the bitmap corresponding to a time-domain partition (Each bit included in the bitmap may correspond to a UL reference resource, Para. 166, FIG. 9) of the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) that comprises a respective subset of the uplink resources (among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9) and indicating whether or not cancellation applies to the respective subset of the uplink resources (when a part of UL data channel #1 is transmitted before completion of a decoding operation for the DL control channel #3, the terminal #1 may not transmit the remaining part of the UL data channel #1, Para. 165, FIG. 9. The terminal #1 may receive the DL control channel #3, and may not transmit the UL data channel #1 in resources indicated by the bitmap included in the DL control channel #3, Para. 166, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches wherein a quantity of uplink resources (The UL reference resource may be composed of B resource blocks and T symbols, Para. 190-191) in each subset of the uplink resources (among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9) is based at least in part on the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) for uplink cancellation (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162-163, FIG. 9) indicated by the configuration (The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180) outputted via the radio resource (communication nodes may support 5G communication (e.g., new radio (NR)), Para. 65, FIG. 1. Each of the plurality of base stations 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, and 120-2 may refer to a radio transceiver, Para. 74, FIG. 1) control signaling (DCI (i.e., downlink control channel), Para. 4).
Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation (The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI) indicating whether to transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in time and frequency resources (e.g., UL reference resources), Para. 180, FIG. 9) based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication (FIG. 9 shows that the UL control channel #3 is transmitted at a specific time in the time axis, Para. 165) and a time offset for uplink cancellation (FIG. 9 shows a time interval between the UL control channel #3 and the UL data channel #1 in the time axis, Para. 165).
Although Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation, and implicitly teaches it is based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication and a time offset for uplink cancellation, Kim fails to explicitly teach a time for applying uplink cancellation based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication and a time offset for uplink cancellation.
Chen teaches the uplink cancellation indication (an uplink transmission cancelation indication (UL CI), Para. 116, FIG. 12) indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation (UL CI indicates a specific value of K3, Para. 118, FIG. 12) based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication (determining, as the slot for canceling the uplink transmission, a first symbol that is after the delay from a reception time of the uplink transmission cancelation indication, Para. 117, FIG. 12) and a time offset for uplink cancellation (the delay (offset) indicated in the uplink transmission cancelation indication, Para. 117, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for communicating an indication that indicates a transmission cancellation based on a reception time of the indication, which can be introduced into the system of Kim to inform terminals of specific times in which to not transmit uplink data channels based on the times control channels are received and delay times after receptions of those control channels.
In regard to Claim 3, Kim teaches the bitmap corresponds to a configured uplink bandwidth part (bandwidth #1 of the UL data channel #1, Para. 93).
In regard to Claim 4, Kim teaches outputting the uplink cancellation indication comprises: outputting a repetition indicator associated with the bitmap (The base station may transmit information indicating the number of repeated transmissions of UL data using a DL control channel, Para. 142, FIG. 9).
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim teaches the method.
Kim fails to teach the time offset for uplink cancellation is based at least in part on a user equipment (UE) capability.
Chen teaches the time offset for uplink cancellation is based at least in part on a user equipment (UE) capability (if the UL CI is sent to a group of UEs, the duration of the reference delay configured by a higher-layer signaling (such as RRC) needs to ensure that each of the UEs receiving the UL CI has sufficient cancelation time (cancelation time), which may be understood as the processing time for the UE to cancel the uplink transmission, Para. 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for communicating an indication that indicates a transmission cancellation based on a reception time of the indication, which can be introduced into the system of Kim to inform terminals of specific times in which to not transmit uplink data channels based on the times control channels are received and delay times after reception of those control channels.
In regard to Claim 8, Kim teaches determining the time for applying uplink cancellation (the base station may transmit to the terminal #1 a UL control channel #3 including information instructing the terminal not to transmit the UL data channel #1, Para. 165, FIG. 9) is based at least in part on an uplink/downlink time division duplex (TDD) configuration (the resources of the UL data channel may be adaptively reallocated by the base station, may be effectively applied to dynamic resource allocation schemes (e.g., dynamic time division duplex (TDD) allocation schemes), Para. 100).
In regard to Claim 12, Kim teaches An apparatus (base station, Para. 87) comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (processor 210 may be connected to at least one of the memory 220, Para. 71, FIG. 2); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code (The processor 210 may execute a program stored in at least one of the memory 220, Para. 72, FIG. 2) to cause the apparatus to: output, via radio resource (Referring to FIG. 1, a communication system 100 may comprise a plurality of communication nodes 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2. The plurality of communication nodes may support 5G communication (e.g., new radio (NR)), Para. 65, FIG. 1. Each of the plurality of base stations 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, and 120-2 may refer to a radio transceiver, Para. 74, FIG. 1) control signaling (DCI (i.e., downlink control channel), Para. 4. DCI, Para. 180), a configuration (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162. The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180) that indicates a quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) for uplink cancellation (a bitmap (e.g., UL PI) indicating whether to transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in time and frequency resources (e.g., UL reference resources), and transmit the DCI through a DL control channel. The terminal may receive the DCI through the DL control channel and may not transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in the UL reference resources indicated by the bitmap included in the DCI, Para. 180).
Kim teaches output an allocation of uplink resources (the terminal may receive a DL control channel #1 including resource allocation information (e.g., resource allocation information of a transport block) from the base station, and map a transport block indicated by the DL control channel #1 to a UL data channel #1, Para. 87, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches determine a reallocation of the uplink resources (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162, FIG. 9. It may happen that a terminal #1 or a terminal #2 has to transmit the data #2 through a UL data channel #2 while the terminal #1 is transmitting a UL data channel #1 including the data #1. Some or all of the UL data channel #1 may overlap with the UL data channel #2, Para. 164, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches output, via downlink control information signaling (DL control channel #3, Para. 165, FIG. 9), an uplink cancellation indication corresponding to the uplink resources based at least in part on the determining (In this case, in order to minimize interference of the UL data channel #2, the base station may control the UL data channel #1 not to be transmitted. The terminal #1 may receive the DL control channel #3, and may not transmit the UL data channel #1 based on the information included in the DL control channel #3, Para. 165, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication comprising a bitmap (the base station may transmit the DL control channel #3 including a bitmap, Para. 166, FIG. 9) associated with the uplink resources (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches wherein the allocation of uplink resources is divided into the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) in accordance with the configuration (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162. The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches each bit of the bitmap corresponding to a time-domain partition (Each bit included in the bitmap may correspond to a UL reference resource, Para. 166, FIG. 9) of the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) that comprises a respective subset of the uplink resources (among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9) and indicating whether or not cancellation applies to the respective subset of the uplink resources (when a part of UL data channel #1 is transmitted before completion of a decoding operation for the DL control channel #3, the terminal #1 may not transmit the remaining part of the UL data channel #1, Para. 165, FIG. 9. The terminal #1 may receive the DL control channel #3, and may not transmit the UL data channel #1 in resources indicated by the bitmap included in the DL control channel #3, Para. 166, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches wherein a quantity of uplink resources (The UL reference resource may be composed of B resource blocks and T symbols, Para. 190-191) in each subset of the uplink resources (among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9) is based at least in part on the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) for uplink cancellation (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162-163, FIG. 9) indicated by the configuration (The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180) outputted via the radio resource (communication nodes may support 5G communication (e.g., new radio (NR)), Para. 65, FIG. 1. Each of the plurality of base stations 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, and 120-2 may refer to a radio transceiver, Para. 74, FIG. 1) control signaling (DCI (i.e., downlink control channel), Para. 4).
Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation (The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI) indicating whether to transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in time and frequency resources (e.g., UL reference resources), Para. 180, FIG. 9) based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication (FIG. 9 shows that the UL control channel #3 is transmitted at a specific time in the time axis, Para. 165) and a time offset for uplink cancellation (FIG. 9 shows a time interval between the UL control channel #3 and the UL data channel #1 in the time axis, Para. 165).
Although Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation, and implicitly teaches it is based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication and a time offset for uplink cancellation, Kim fails to explicitly teach a time for applying uplink cancellation based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication and a time offset for uplink cancellation.
Chen teaches the uplink cancellation indication (an uplink transmission cancelation indication (UL CI), Para. 116, FIG. 12) indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation (UL CI indicates a specific value of K3, Para. 118, FIG. 12) based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication (determining, as the slot for canceling the uplink transmission, a first symbol that is after the delay from a reception time of the uplink transmission cancelation indication, Para. 117, FIG. 12) and a time offset for uplink cancellation (the delay (offset) indicated in the uplink transmission cancelation indication, Para. 117, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for communicating an indication that indicates a transmission cancellation based on a reception time of the indication, which can be introduced into the system of Kim to inform terminals of specific times in which to not transmit uplink data channels based on the times control channels are received and delay times after reception of those control channels.
In regard to Claim 14, Kim teaches the bitmap corresponds to a configured uplink bandwidth part (bandwidth #1 of the UL data channel #1, Para. 93).
In regard to Claim 15, Kim teaches to output the uplink cancellation indication the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: output a repetition indicator associated with the bitmap (The base station may transmit information indicating the number of repeated transmissions of UL data using a DL control channel, Para. 142, FIG. 9).
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 12, Kim teaches the apparatus.
Kim fails to teach the time offset for uplink cancellation is based at least in part on a user equipment (UE) capability.
Chen teaches the time offset for uplink cancellation is based at least in part on a user equipment (UE) capability (if the UL CI is sent to a group of UEs, the duration of the reference delay configured by a higher-layer signaling (such as RRC) needs to ensure that each of the UEs receiving the UL CI has sufficient cancelation time (cancelation time), which may be understood as the processing time for the UE to cancel the uplink transmission, Para. 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for communicating an indication that indicates a transmission cancellation based on a reception time of the indication, which can be introduced into the system of Kim to inform terminals of specific times in which to not transmit uplink data channels based on the times control channels are received and delay times after reception of those control channels.
In regard to Claim 19, Kim teaches to determine the time for applying uplink cancellation (the base station may transmit to the terminal #1 a UL control channel #3 including information instructing the terminal not to transmit the UL data channel #1, Para. 165, FIG. 9) based at least in part on an uplink/downlink time division duplex (TDD) configuration (the resources of the UL data channel may be adaptively reallocated by the base station, may be effectively applied to dynamic resource allocation schemes (e.g., dynamic time division duplex (TDD) allocation schemes), Para. 100).
In regard to Claim 23, Kim teaches An apparatus (base station, Para. 87) comprising: means for outputting, via radio resource (Referring to FIG. 1, a communication system 100 may comprise a plurality of communication nodes 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2. The plurality of communication nodes may support 5G communication (e.g., new radio (NR)), Para. 65, FIG. 1. Each of the plurality of base stations 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, and 120-2 may refer to a radio transceiver, Para. 74, FIG. 1) control signaling (DCI (i.e., downlink control channel), Para. 4. DCI, Para. 180), a configuration (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162. The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180) that indicates a quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) for uplink cancellation (a bitmap (e.g., UL PI) indicating whether to transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in time and frequency resources (e.g., UL reference resources), and transmit the DCI through a DL control channel. The terminal may receive the DCI through the DL control channel and may not transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in the UL reference resources indicated by the bitmap included in the DCI, Para. 180).
Kim teaches means for outputting an allocation of uplink resources (the terminal may receive a DL control channel #1 including resource allocation information (e.g., resource allocation information of a transport block) from the base station, and map a transport block indicated by the DL control channel #1 to a UL data channel #1, Para. 87, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches means for determining a reallocation of the uplink resources (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162, FIG. 9. It may happen that a terminal #1 or a terminal #2 has to transmit the data #2 through a UL data channel #2 while the terminal #1 is transmitting a UL data channel #1 including the data #1. Some or all of the UL data channel #1 may overlap with the UL data channel #2, Para. 164, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches means for outputting, via downlink control information signaling (DL control channel #3, Para. 165, FIG. 9), an uplink cancellation indication corresponding to the uplink resources based at least in part on the determining (In this case, in order to minimize interference of the UL data channel #2, the base station may control the UL data channel #1 not to be transmitted. The terminal #1 may receive the DL control channel #3, and may not transmit the UL data channel #1 based on the information included in the DL control channel #3, Para. 165, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication comprising a bitmap (the base station may transmit the DL control channel #3 including a bitmap, Para. 166, FIG. 9) associated with the uplink resources (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches, wherein the allocation of uplink resources is divided into the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) in accordance with the configuration (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162. The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches each bit of the bitmap corresponding to a time-domain partition (Each bit included in the bitmap may correspond to a UL reference resource, Para. 166, FIG. 9) of the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) that comprises a respective subset of the uplink resources (among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9) and indicating whether or not cancellation applies to the respective subset of the uplink resources (when a part of UL data channel #1 is transmitted before completion of a decoding operation for the DL control channel #3, the terminal #1 may not transmit the remaining part of the UL data channel #1, Para. 165, FIG. 9. The terminal #1 may receive the DL control channel #3, and may not transmit the UL data channel #1 in resources indicated by the bitmap included in the DL control channel #3, Para. 166, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches wherein a quantity of uplink resources (The UL reference resource may be composed of B resource blocks and T symbols, Para. 190-191) in each subset of the uplink resources (among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9) is based at least in part on the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) for uplink cancellation (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162-163, FIG. 9) indicated by the configuration (The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180) outputted via the radio resource (communication nodes may support 5G communication (e.g., new radio (NR)), Para. 65, FIG. 1. Each of the plurality of base stations 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, and 120-2 may refer to a radio transceiver, Para. 74, FIG. 1) control signaling (DCI (i.e., downlink control channel), Para. 4).
Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation (The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI) indicating whether to transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in time and frequency resources (e.g., UL reference resources), Para. 180, FIG. 9) based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication (FIG. 9 shows that the UL control channel #3 is transmitted at a specific time in the time axis, Para. 165) and a time offset for uplink cancellation (FIG. 9 shows a time interval between the UL control channel #3 and the UL data channel #1 in the time axis, Para. 165).
Although Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation, and implicitly teaches it is based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication and a time offset for uplink cancellation, Kim fails to explicitly teach a time for applying uplink cancellation based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication and a time offset for uplink cancellation.
Chen teaches the uplink cancellation indication (an uplink transmission cancelation indication (UL CI), Para. 116, FIG. 12) indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation (UL CI indicates a specific value of K3, Para. 118, FIG. 12) based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication (determining, as the slot for canceling the uplink transmission, a first symbol that is after the delay from a reception time of the uplink transmission cancelation indication, Para. 117, FIG. 12) and a time offset for uplink cancellation (the delay (offset) indicated in the uplink transmission cancelation indication, Para. 117, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for communicating an indication that indicates a transmission cancellation based on a reception time of the indication, which can be introduced into the system of Kim to inform terminals of specific times in which to not transmit uplink data channels based on the times control channels are received and delay times after reception of those control channels.
In regard to Claim 24, Kim teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code (The processor 210 may execute a program stored in at least one of the memory 220, Para. 72, FIG. 2) for wireless communication at a network entity (base station, Para. 87), the code comprising instructions executable by at least one processor to: output, via radio resource (Referring to FIG. 1, a communication system 100 may comprise a plurality of communication nodes 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2. The plurality of communication nodes may support 5G communication (e.g., new radio (NR)), Para. 65, FIG. 1. Each of the plurality of base stations 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, and 120-2 may refer to a radio transceiver, Para. 74, FIG. 1) control signaling (DCI (i.e., downlink control channel), Para. 4. DCI, Para. 180), a configuration (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162. The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180) that indicates a quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) for uplink cancellation (a bitmap (e.g., UL PI) indicating whether to transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in time and frequency resources (e.g., UL reference resources), and transmit the DCI through a DL control channel. The terminal may receive the DCI through the DL control channel and may not transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in the UL reference resources indicated by the bitmap included in the DCI, Para. 180).
Kim teaches output an allocation of uplink resources (the terminal may receive a DL control channel #1 including resource allocation information (e.g., resource allocation information of a transport block) from the base station, and map a transport block indicated by the DL control channel #1 to a UL data channel #1, Para. 87, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches determine a reallocation of the uplink resources (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162, FIG. 9. It may happen that a terminal #1 or a terminal #2 has to transmit the data #2 through a UL data channel #2 while the terminal #1 is transmitting a UL data channel #1 including the data #1. Some or all of the UL data channel #1 may overlap with the UL data channel #2, Para. 164, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches output, via downlink control information signaling (DL control channel #3, Para. 165, FIG. 9), an uplink cancellation indication corresponding to the uplink resources based at least in part on the determining (In this case, in order to minimize interference of the UL data channel #2, the base station may control the UL data channel #1 not to be transmitted. The terminal #1 may receive the DL control channel #3, and may not transmit the UL data channel #1 based on the information included in the DL control channel #3, Para. 165, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication comprising a bitmap (the base station may transmit the DL control channel #3 including a bitmap, Para. 166, FIG. 9) associated with the uplink resources (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches, wherein the allocation of uplink resources is divided into the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) in accordance with the configuration (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162. The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches each bit of the bitmap corresponding to a time-domain partition (Each bit included in the bitmap may correspond to a UL reference resource, Para. 166, FIG. 9) of the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) that comprises a respective subset of the uplink resources (among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9) and indicating whether or not cancellation applies to the respective subset of the uplink resources (when a part of UL data channel #1 is transmitted before completion of a decoding operation for the DL control channel #3, the terminal #1 may not transmit the remaining part of the UL data channel #1, Para. 165, FIG. 9. The terminal #1 may receive the DL control channel #3, and may not transmit the UL data channel #1 in resources indicated by the bitmap included in the DL control channel #3, Para. 166, FIG. 9).
Kim teaches wherein a quantity of uplink resources (The UL reference resource may be composed of B resource blocks and T symbols, Para. 190-191) in each subset of the uplink resources (among time and frequency resources constituting the UL data channel #1, Para. 166, FIG. 9) is based at least in part on the quantity of time-domain partitions (a bitmap indicating unused time and frequency resources, Para. 166, FIG. 9) for uplink cancellation (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162-163, FIG. 9) indicated by the configuration (The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI), Para. 180) outputted via the radio resource (communication nodes may support 5G communication (e.g., new radio (NR)), Para. 65, FIG. 1. Each of the plurality of base stations 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, and 120-2 may refer to a radio transceiver, Para. 74, FIG. 1) control signaling (DCI (i.e., downlink control channel), Para. 4).
Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation (The base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI) indicating whether to transmit a UL control channel or a UL data channel in time and frequency resources (e.g., UL reference resources), Para. 180, FIG. 9) based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication (FIG. 9 shows that the UL control channel #3 is transmitted at a specific time in the time axis, Para. 165) and a time offset for uplink cancellation (FIG. 9 shows a time interval between the UL control channel #3 and the UL data channel #1 in the time axis, Para. 165).
Although Kim teaches the uplink cancellation indication indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation, and implicitly teaches it is based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication and a time offset for uplink cancellation, Kim fails to explicitly teach a time for applying uplink cancellation based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication and a time offset for uplink cancellation.
Chen teaches the uplink cancellation indication (an uplink transmission cancelation indication (UL CI), Para. 116, FIG. 12) indicating a time for applying uplink cancellation (UL CI indicates a specific value of K3, Para. 118, FIG. 12) based at least in part on a time of receipt of the uplink cancellation indication (determining, as the slot for canceling the uplink transmission, a first symbol that is after the delay from a reception time of the uplink transmission cancelation indication, Para. 117, FIG. 12) and a time offset for uplink cancellation (the delay (offset) indicated in the uplink transmission cancelation indication, Para. 117, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for communicating an indication that indicates a transmission cancellation based on a reception time of the indication, which can be introduced into the system of Kim to inform terminals of specific times in which to not transmit uplink data channels based on the times control channels are received and delay times after reception of those control channels.
In regard to Claim 25, Kim teaches the allocation of uplink resources (the terminal may receive a DL control channel #1 including resource allocation information (e.g., resource allocation information of a transport block) from the base station, and map a transport block indicated by the DL control channel #1 to a UL data channel #1, Para. 87, FIG. 9) is associated with a first type of communications (data #1 may be eMBB data, Para. 164, FIG. 9) with a first latency threshold (two or more data (e.g., URLLC data and eMBB data) having different requirements. The requirements may include a latency. The priorities of data (e.g., eMBB data) may be determined based on the requirements, Para. 84), and determining the reallocation of the uplink resources (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162, FIG. 9. It may happen that a terminal #1 or a terminal #2 has to transmit the data #2 through a UL data channel #2 while the terminal #1 is transmitting a UL data channel #1 including the data #1. Some or all of the UL data channel #1 may overlap with the UL data channel #2, Para. 164, FIG. 9) is based at least in part on a second type of communications (data #2 may be URLLC data, Para. 164, FIG. 9) with a second latency threshold that is different from the first latency threshold (two or more data (e.g., URLLC data and eMBB data) having different requirements. The requirements may include a latency. The priorities of data (e.g., URLLC data and eMBB data) may be determined based on the requirements, Para. 84).
In regard to Claim 26, Kim teaches the allocation of uplink resources (the terminal may receive a DL control channel #1 including resource allocation information (e.g., resource allocation information of a transport block) from the base station, and map a transport block indicated by the DL control channel #1 to a UL data channel #1, Para. 87, FIG. 9) is associated with a first type of communications (data #1 may be eMBB data, Para. 164, FIG. 9) with a first latency threshold (two or more data (e.g., URLLC data and eMBB data) having different requirements. The requirements may include a latency. The priorities of data (e.g., eMBB data) may be determined based on the requirements, Para. 84), and determining the reallocation of the uplink resources (UL Preemption Indication (PI), Para. 162, FIG. 9. It may happen that a terminal #1 or a terminal #2 has to transmit the data #2 through a UL data channel #2 while the terminal #1 is transmitting a UL data channel #1 including the data #1. Some or all of the UL data channel #1 may overlap with the UL data channel #2, Para. 164, FIG. 9) is based at least in part on a second type of communications (data #2 may be URLLC data, Para. 164, FIG. 9) with a second latency threshold that is different from the first latency threshold (two or more data (e.g., URLLC data and eMBB data) having different requirements. The requirements may include a latency. The priorities of data (e.g., URLLC data and eMBB data) may be determined based on the requirements, Para. 84).
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chen, and further in view of Gaal et al. (Pub. No.: US 20120113917 A1), hereafter referred to as Gaal.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Chen teaches the respective subset of the communication resources.
Kim in view of Chen fails to teach the respective subset of the uplink resources corresponding to each bit of the bitmap corresponds to uplink resources of an uplink/downlink TDD configuration.
Gaal teaches the respective subset of the uplink resources corresponding to each bit of the bitmap corresponds to uplink resources of an uplink/downlink TDD configuration (The intra-subframe location of muted resource elements is indicated by a 16-bit bitmap, and this signaling is common for FDD and TDD CSI-RS configurations, Para. 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gaal with the teachings of Kim in view of Chen since Gaal provides a technique for conveying detailed information of resources for TDD communications, which can be introduced into the system of Kim in view of Chen to permit compatibility of handoff processes with TDD protocols involving sufficient conveyance of indications for TDD resources.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 12, Kim in view of Chen teaches the respective subset of the communication resources.
Kim in view of Chen fails to teach the respective subset of the uplink resources corresponding to each bit of the bitmap corresponds to uplink resources of an uplink/downlink TDD configuration.
Gaal teaches the respective subset of the set of communication resources corresponding to each bit of the bitmap corresponds to uplink resources of an uplink/downlink TDD configuration (The intra-subframe location of muted resource elements is indicated by a 16-bit bitmap, and this signaling is common for FDD and TDD CSI-RS configurations, Para. 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gaal with the teachings of Kim in view of Chen since Gaal provides a technique for conveying detailed information of resources for TDD communications, which can be introduced into the system of Kim in view of Chen to permit compatibility of handoff processes with TDD protocols involving sufficient conveyance of indications for TDD resources.
Claim(s) 9-11 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chen, and further in view of Tseng (Pub. No.: US 20160080969 A1), hereafter referred to as Tseng.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Chen teaches the respective subset of the uplink cancellation indication.
Kim in view of Chen fails to teach outputting an uplink grant comprising communication resources associated with the uplink cancellation indication, the uplink grant indicating to a user equipment (UE) to ignore at least a portion of the uplink cancellation indication.
Tseng teaches outputting an uplink grant comprising communication resources associated with the uplink cancellation indication (indication of a grant for transmission of new data on any UL-SCH, Para. 176. UL grant(s) in this subframe can accommodate all pending data available for transmission, Para. 177. T-RPT index is 7 bits in both D2D Grant and SA for both Mode 1 and Mode 2, Mode 1 grant refers to the next instance of SA resource pool, Para. 337—338. UE may receive a D2D grant 2, Para. 412, FIG. 18), the uplink grant indicating to a user equipment (UE) to ignore at least a portion of the uplink cancellation indication (UE should ignore, discard, or overwrite the previously received D2D grant 1, Para. 412, FIG. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tseng with the teachings of Kim in view of Chen since Tseng provides a technique for using a later received control message by overwriting a previously received control message for a specific period, which can be introduced into the system of Kim in view of Chen to ensure outdated control information is promptly ignored due to updated control information being conveyed.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Chen teaches the second type of communications.
Kim in view of Chen fails to teach the uplink grant is associated with a type of communications, and the indication to the UE to ignore at least the portion of the uplink cancellation indication is based at least in part on the uplink grant being associated with the type of communications.
Tseng teaches the uplink grant is associated with a type of communications, and the indication to the UE to ignore at least the portion of the uplink cancellation indication is based at least in part on the uplink grant being associated with the type of communications (If there is a condition check for triggering ProSe BSR 2, it may be based on whether Group 2 has higher priority than Group 1. Considering LTE BSR operation as the baseline, the "data of other group session arrival" could be a BSR or Regular BSR trigger. Para. 412).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tseng with the teachings of Kim in view of Chen since Tseng provides a technique for using a later received control message by overwriting a previously received control message for a specific period, which can be introduced into the system of Kim in view of Chen to ensure outdated control information is promptly ignored due to updated control information being conveyed.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Chen teaches the UE.
Kim in view of Chen fails to teach the uplink grant is associated with a type of physical channel, and the indication to the UE to ignore at least the portion of the uplink cancellation indication is based at least in part on the type of physical channel.
Tseng teaches the uplink grant is associated with a type of physical channel, and the indication to the UE to ignore at least the portion of the uplink cancellation indication is based at least in part on the type of physical channel (If there is a condition check for triggering ProSe BSR 2, it may be based on whether Group 2 has higher priority than Group 1. Considering LTE BSR operation as the baseline, the "data of other group session arrival" could be a BSR or Regular BSR trigger. Para. 412).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tseng with the teachings of Kim in view of Chen since Tseng provides a technique for using a later received control message by overwriting a previously received control message for a specific period, which can be introduced into the system of Kim in view of Chen to ensure outdated control information is promptly ignored due to updated control information being conveyed.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 12, Kim in view of Chen teaches the respective subset of the uplink cancellation indication.
Kim in view of Chen fails to teach the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: output an uplink grant comprising communication resources associated with the uplink cancellation indication, the uplink grant indicating to a user equipment (UE) to ignore at least a portion of the uplink cancellation indication.
Tseng teaches the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: output an uplink grant comprising communication resources associated with the uplink cancellation indication (indication of a grant for transmission of new data on any UL-SCH, Para. 176. UL grant(s) in this subframe can accommodate all pending data available for transmission, Para. 177. T-RPT index is 7 bits in both D2D Grant and SA for both Mode 1 and Mode 2, Mode 1 grant refers to the next instance of SA resource pool, Para. 337—338. UE may receive a D2D grant 2, Para. 412, FIG. 18), the uplink grant indicating to a user equipment (UE) to ignore at least a portion of the uplink cancellation indication (UE should ignore, discard, or overwrite the previously received D2D grant 1, Para. 412, FIG. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tseng with the teachings of Kim in view of Chen since Tseng provides a technique for using a later received control message by overwriting a previously received control message for a specific period, which can be introduced into the system of Kim in view of Chen to ensure outdated control information is promptly ignored due to updated control information being conveyed.
In regard to Claim 21, as presented in the rejection of Claim 12, Kim in view of Chen teaches the second type of communications.
Kim in view of Chen fails to teach the uplink grant is associated with a type of communications, and the indication to the UE to ignore at least the portion of the uplink cancellation indication is based at least in part on the uplink grant being associated with the type of communications.
Tseng teaches the uplink grant is associated with a type of communications, and the indication to the UE to ignore at least the portion of the uplink cancellation indication is based at least in part on the uplink grant being associated with the type of communications (If there is a condition check for triggering ProSe BSR 2, it may be based on whether Group 2 has higher priority than Group 1. Considering LTE BSR operation as the baseline, the "data of other group session arrival" could be a BSR or Regular BSR trigger. Para. 412).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tseng with the teachings of Kim in view of Chen since Tseng provides a technique for using a later received control message by overwriting a previously received control message for a specific period, which can be introduced into the system of Kim in view of Chen to ensure outdated control information is promptly ignored due to updated control information being conveyed.
In regard to Claim 22, as presented in the rejection of Claim 12, Kim in view of Chen teaches the UE.
Kim in view of Chen fails to teach the uplink grant is associated with a type of physical channel, and the indication to the UE to ignore at least the portion of the uplink cancellation indication is based at least in part on the type of physical channel.
Tseng teaches the uplink grant is associated with a type of physical channel, and the indication to the UE to ignore at least the portion of the uplink cancellation indication is based at least in part on the type of physical channel (If there is a condition check for triggering ProSe BSR 2, it may be based on whether Group 2 has higher priority than Group 1. Considering LTE BSR operation as the baseline, the "data of other group session arrival" could be a BSR or Regular BSR trigger. Para. 412).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tseng with the teachings of Kim in view of Chen since Tseng provides a technique for using a later received control message by overwriting a previously received control message for a specific period, which can be introduced into the system of Kim in view of Chen to ensure outdated control information is promptly ignored due to updated control information being conveyed.
Response to Arguments
I. New Citations of References Responsive to Claim Amendments
Kim teaches in Para. 65 and FIG. 1 that communication nodes may support 5G communication (e.g., new radio (NR)), and teaches in Para. 74, each of the base stations 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, and 120-2 may refer to a radio transceiver. A base station of Kim that may refer to a radio transceiver and that supports new radio indicates utilization of resources for radio, and this is substantively the same as a radio resource of Claim 1.
Kim teaches in Para. 4 and 180, of DCI (i.e., downlink control channel), which is substantively the same as control signaling of Claim 1. As a result, a DCI of Kim transmitted from a radio transceiver base station supporting new radio, is substantively the same as radio resource control signaling of Claim 1.
Kim teaches in Para. 165 and FIG. 9, a DL control channel #3, which is substantively the same as downlink control information signaling of Claim 1. Kim teaches in Para. 165 and FIG. 9, that terminal #1 may receive the DL control channel #3, and may not transmit the UL data channel #1 based on the information included in the DL control channel #3. A base station of Kim that transmits information in a DL control channel #3 that causes terminal #1 to not transmit UL data channel #1, is substantively the same as output, via downlink control information signaling, an uplink cancellation indication of Claim 1.
Kim teaches in Para. 162-163 and FIG. 9, UL Preemption Indication (PI), and teaches in Para. 180, that a base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI). A UL Preemption Indication (PI) of a bitmap transmitted from a new radio base station through a DCI of Kim, is substantively the same as uplink cancellation indicated by the configuration outputted via the radio resource control signaling of Claim 1.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 4/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that However, Kim does not describe "outputting, via radio resource control signaling, a configuration that indicates a quantity of time-domain partitions for uplink cancellation," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Specifically, indicating parameters that are used to determine the size of a transport block and indicating symbol formats, as described in Kim, are not the same as "indicat[ing] a quantity of time-domain partitions for uplink cancellation," as recited in amended independent claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. A bitmap of Kim indicating time and frequency resources, is substantively the same as a configuration that indicates a quantity of time-domain partitions of Claim 1. Claim 1 does not contain limitations precluding indicated time and frequency resources of Kim from teaching a quantity of time-domain partitions of Claim 1. Claim 1 also does not contain limitations precluding a bitmap of UL Preemption Indication of Kim from teaching a configuration … for uplink cancellation of Claim 1. If there are features in the Specification of the Application clarifying aspects of a quantity of time-domain partitions of Claim 1, or clarifying aspects of a configuration … for uplink cancellation of Claim 1, that are not taught by Kim and Chen, such features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that Kim also does not teach or suggest "wherein a quantity of uplink resources in each subset of the uplink resources is based at least in part on the quantity of time domain partitions for uplink cancellation indicated by the configuration outputted via the radio resource control signaling," as recited in amended independent claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. Kim teaches in Para. 162-163 and FIG. 9, UL Preemption Indication (PI), and teaches in Para. 180, that a base station may generate a DCI including a bitmap (e.g., UL PI). A UL Preemption Indication (PI) of a bitmap transmitted from a new radio base station through a DCI of Kim, is substantively the same as uplink cancellation indicated by the configuration outputted via the radio resource control signaling of Claim 1.
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
6-10-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477