DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 14-15 and 19 are currently amended; claim 13 is previously presented; claims 1-12, 16-18 and 20 are original.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted from 03/10/2026 to 06/05/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
MPEP 608.01(g) states that “A detailed description of the invention and drawings follows the general statement of invention and brief description of the drawings.” Accordingly, the specification is objected to because it does not include a detailed description of Figures 29A-29C. See MPEP 608.01(g) for more information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the communicating of the neural network output to the remote device is in response to the network interface receiving access messages containing the identification of the first data” in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined limitations in the claim. Claims 13, 15 and 16 do not recite any step of “communicating” of the neural network output to the remote device. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as further comprising: receiving access messages containing the identification of the first data. Claim 17 inherit the same deficiency as claim 16 by reason of dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 20210150321 A1) hereinafter Jang, in view of Drane (US 20230205489 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a storage product manufactured as a computer component, the storage product comprising (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; storage product – storage device):
an artificial intelligence accelerator (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; paragraph [0086] “in the second operation mode, the second processor 420 may perform the AI calculation based on the second input data IDAT received in FIG. 5A and the weight data WDAT loaded in FIG. 5B to generate calculation result data RDAT”; paragraph [0052] “The first processor 410 and the second processor 420 in FIG. 2 may be the same as or similar to the first processor 312 and the second processor 314 in FIG. 1, respectively”; artificial intelligence accelerator – NPU 420/second processor 314);
a local storage device having a storage capacity accessible (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; paragraph [0054] “The buffer memory 430 may be configured to store instructions and data executed and processed by the first processor 410 and the second processor 420”; paragraphs [0079, 0083 and 0085-0086] “the neural network system includes at least one of various neural network systems and/or machine learning systems, e.g., an artificial neural network (ANN) system … in the second operation mode, the second processor 420 may perform the AI calculation based on the second input data IDAT received in FIG. 5A and the weight data WDAT loaded in FIG. 5B to generate calculation result data RDAT”; local storage device - nonvolatile memories and buffer memory); and
a host interface configured to be connected to a local host system to control access, made (Jang Figs. 2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; paragraph [0039]; paragraph [0056] “The host interface 440 may be configured to provide physical connections between the host device 200 and the storage device 300. For example, the host interface 440 may provide an interface corresponding to a bus format of the host for communication between the host device 200 and the storage device 300”; paragraph [0082]; host interface - host interface 440; local host system – host device);
wherein the storage product is configured to perform at least a portion of computations of the artificial neural network model using the artificial intelligence accelerator to generate a neural network output from neural input data received (Jang Figs. 5B-5C and paragraph [0086] “in the second operation mode, the second processor 420 may perform the AI calculation based on the second input data IDAT received in FIG. 5A and the weight data WDAT loaded in FIG. 5B to generate calculation result data RDAT”; neural network output – result data RDAT; neural input data - second input data IDAT).
Jang does not explicitly teach a network interface operable on a computer network; local storage device having a storage capacity accessible via the network interface; a host interface configured to be connected to a local host system to control access, made via the network interface, to the storage capacity; and wherein the storage product is configured to perform at least a portion of computations of the artificial neural network model using the artificial intelligence accelerator to generate a neural network output from neural input data received via the network interface.
However, on the same field of endeavor, Drane discloses a network interface operable on a computer network (Drane Fig. 12B and paragraphs [0214-0218] network interface - network interface 1210).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Jang using Drane and configure the storage device to include a network interface in addition to the host interface in order to provide access to remote storage containing neural network model data or remote systems and/or in order to offload some operations of the host system to the network interface such as resource allocation and management operations and/or network and/or data security operations (Drane paragraphs [0215-0217]).
Therefore, the combination of Jang as modified in view of Drane teaches a network interface operable on a computer network; local storage device having a storage capacity accessible via the network interface; a host interface configured to be connected to a local host system to control access, made via the network interface, to the storage capacity; and wherein the storage product is configured to perform at least a portion of computations of the artificial neural network model using the artificial intelligence accelerator to generate a neural network output from neural input data received via the network interface.
Regarding claim 2, Jang as modified in view of Drane teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Further, Jang as modified in view of Drane taches wherein the artificial intelligence accelerator includes a multiplier-accumulator unit (Jang paragraphs [0086] “the second processor 420 may perform the AI calculation based on the second input data IDAT received in FIG. 5A and the weight data WDAT loaded in FIG. 5B to generate calculation result data RDAT, and may transmit the calculation result data RDAT to the host device 200 … For example, the calculation result data RDAT may represent a result of multiplication and accumulation (MAC) operations performed by the neural network system”; multiplier-accumulator unit – components performing the MAC operations).
Regarding claim 13, Jang teaches a method, comprising:
providing, (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; paragraph [0039]; storage product – storage device; a local storage device – nonvolatile memories and buffer memory);
controlling, via a local host system connected to a host interface of the storage product, access to the storage capacity (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; paragraph [0039]; paragraph [0056] “The host interface 440 may be configured to provide physical connections between the host device 200 and the storage device 300. For example, the host interface 440 may provide an interface corresponding to a bus format of the host for communication between the host device 200 and the storage device 300”; paragraph [0082]; host interface - host interface 440; local host system – host device);
storing, in the storage product, an artificial neural network model having instructions executable by an artificial intelligence accelerator of the storage product (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12 and paragraph [0054] “The buffer memory 430 may be configured to store instructions and data executed and processed by the first processor 410 and the second processor 420”; paragraph [0085] “the neural network system includes at least one of various neural network systems and/or machine learning systems, e.g., an artificial neural network (ANN) system … in the second operation mode, the second processor 420 may perform the AI calculation based on the second input data IDAT received in FIG. 5A and the weight data WDAT loaded in FIG. 5B to generate calculation result data RDAT”; artificial intelligence accelerator - NPU 420/second processor 314);
receiving, (Jang Fig. 5A and paraph [0081] “in the second operation mode, second input data IDAT may be provided from the external interface 210 and the host interface 220 of the host device 200, and the storage device 300a may receive the second input data IDAT”);
performing, by the storage product using the artificial intelligence accelerator, at least a portion of computations of the artificial neural network model according to the instructions (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; paragraph [0086] “in the second operation mode, the second processor 420 may perform the AI calculation based on the second input data IDAT received in FIG. 5A and the weight data WDAT loaded in FIG. 5B to generate calculation result data RDAT”); and
generating, by the storage product, a neural network output from the artificial neural network model having the neural input data as input (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; paragraph [0086] “in the second operation mode, the second processor 420 may perform the AI calculation based on the second input data IDAT received in FIG. 5A and the weight data WDAT loaded in FIG. 5B to generate calculation result data RDAT”; neural network output - result data RDAT).
Jang does not explicitly teach providing, via a network interface of a storage product, access to a storage capacity of a local storage device of the storage product; controlling, via a local host system connected to a host interface of the storage product, access to the storage capacity through the network interface; and receiving, in the network interface, first data specifying neural input data.
However, on the same field of endeavor, Drane discloses a network interface operable on a computer network that provides storage access to a storage device (Drane Fig. 12B and paragraphs [0214-0218] network interface - network interface 1210).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Jang using Drane and configure the storage device to include a network interface in addition to the host interface in order to provide access such as receiving and transmitting data to remote storage containing neural network model data or remote systems and/or external interfaces and in order to offload some operations of the host system to the network interface such as resource allocation and management operations and/or network and/or data security operations (Drane paragraphs [0215-0217]).
Therefore, the combination of Jang as modified in view of Drane teaches providing, via a network interface of a storage product, access to a storage capacity of a local storage device of the storage product; controlling, via a local host system connected to a host interface of the storage product, access to the storage capacity through the network interface; and receiving, in the network interface, first data specifying neural input data.
Regarding claim 18, Jang teaches a computing device, comprising:
a computer bus (Jang Fig. 1 and paragraph [0028] computer bus – physical connection between the host device and the storage device);
a local host system connected to the computer bus (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; local host system – host device or CPU 260); and
a storage product manufactured as a computer component, the storage product comprising (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; storage product – storage device):
an artificial intelligence accelerator (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; paragraph [0086] “in the second operation mode, the second processor 420 may perform the AI calculation based on the second input data IDAT received in FIG. 5A and the weight data WDAT loaded in FIG. 5B to generate calculation result data RDAT”; paragraph [0052] “The first processor 410 and the second processor 420 in FIG. 2 may be the same as or similar to the first processor 312 and the second processor 314 in FIG. 1, respectively”; artificial intelligence accelerator – NPU 420/second processor 314);
a local storage device having a storage capacity accessible (Jang Figs. 1-2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; paragraph [0054] “The buffer memory 430 may be configured to store instructions and data executed and processed by the first processor 410 and the second processor 420”; paragraphs [0079, 0083 and 0085-0086] “the neural network system includes at least one of various neural network systems and/or machine learning systems, e.g., an artificial neural network (ANN) system … in the second operation mode, the second processor 420 may perform the AI calculation based on the second input data IDAT received in FIG. 5A and the weight data WDAT loaded in FIG. 5B to generate calculation result data RDAT”; local storage device - nonvolatile memories and buffer memory of the storage device); and
a bus connector connected to the computer bus (Jang Figs. 2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; paragraph [0056] “The host interface 440 may be configured to provide physical connections between the host device 200 and the storage device 300. For example, the host interface 440 may provide an interface corresponding to a bus format of the host for communication between the host device 200 and the storage device 300”; bus connector - host interface 440);
wherein the local host system is configured to control access, made (Jang Figs. 2, 4-5C, 7-8B and 12; paragraph [0039] “the storage device 300 may be connected to the host device 200 via a block accessible interface which may include, for example, a UFS, an eMMC, an NVMe bus, a SATA bus, a SCSI bus, a SAS bus, or the like. The storage device 300 may be configured to use a block accessible address space corresponding to an access size of the plurality of nonvolatile memories 320a, 320b, 320c and 320d to provide the block accessible interface to the host device 200, for allowing the access by units of a memory block with respect to data stored in the plurality of nonvolatile memories 320a, 320b, 320c and 320d”);
wherein the storage product is configured to perform at least a portion of computations of the artificial neural network model using the artificial intelligence accelerator to generate a neural network output from neural input data received (Jang Figs. 5B-5C and paragraph [0086] “in the second operation mode, the second processor 420 may perform the AI calculation based on the second input data IDAT received in FIG. 5A and the weight data WDAT loaded in FIG. 5B to generate calculation result data RDAT”; neural network output – result data RDAT; neural input data - second input data IDAT).
Jang does not explicitly teach a network interface operable on a computer network; a local storage device having a storage capacity accessible via the network interface; wherein the local host system is configured to control access, made via the network interface, to the storage capacity; and wherein the storage product is configured to perform at least a portion of computations of the artificial neural network model using the artificial intelligence accelerator to generate a neural network output from neural input data received via the network interface.
However, on the same field of endeavor, Drane discloses a network interface operable on a computer network (Drane Fig. 12B and paragraphs [0214-0218] network interface - network interface 1210).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Jang using Drane and configure the storage device to include a network interface in addition to the host interface in order to provide access to remote storage containing neural network model data or remote systems and in order to offload some operations of the host system to the network interface such as resource allocation and management operations and/or network and/or data security operations (Drane paragraphs [0215-0217]).
Therefore, the combination of Jang as modified in view of Drane teaches a network interface operable on a computer network; a local storage device having a storage capacity accessible via the network interface; wherein the local host system is configured to control access, made via the network interface, to the storage capacity; and wherein the storage product is configured to perform at least a portion of computations of the artificial neural network model using the artificial intelligence accelerator to generate a neural network output from neural input data received via the network interface.
Regarding claim 19, Jang as modified in view of Drane teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as stated above. Further, Jang as modified in view of Drane teaches further comprises: a data generator (Jang paragraph [0081] data generator – microphone and/or camera; bulk data – voice data and/or image data).
However, on the same field of endeavor, Drane discloses writing or storing data via the network interface that is connected to the computer network (Drane paragraph [0218]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Jang using Drane and configure the external interfaces such as the microphone and/or camera to be connected to the computer network and to write the bulk data into the storage devices via the network interface by connecting the external interfaces to the network ports or I/O interface to couple external devices to the storage device (Drane paragraph [0218]).
Therefore, the combination of Jang as modified in view of Drane teaches further comprises: a data generator connected to the computer network and configured to write bulk data into storage capacity via the network interface, the bulk data specifying the neural input data.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Drane as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hoang et al. (US 20210110235 A1), hereinafter Hoang.
Regarding claim 3, Jang as modified in view of Drane teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as stated above.
Jang does not explicitly teach wherein the multiplier-accumulator unit includes a crossbar array of memristors configured to perform multiplication of a matrix of weights by an array of inputs based on the memristors having resistance values being programmed according to the weights, rows of the crossbar array being applied voltages with magnitudes according to the inputs, and currents generated by the voltages as applied to columns of the crossbar array being summed in connections for the columns respectively.
However, on the same field of endeavor, Hoang discloses a multiplier-accumulator unit that includes a crossbar array of memristors configured to perform multiplication of a matrix of weights by an array of inputs based on the memristors having resistance values being programmed according to the weights, rows of the crossbar array being applied voltages with magnitudes according to the inputs, and currents generated by the voltages as applied to columns of the crossbar array being summed in connections for the columns respectively (Hoang Figs. 9-10 and paragraphs [0054-0055]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Jang in view of Drane using Hoang and configure the NPU to include a multiplier-accumulator unit that includes a crossbar array of memristors configured to perform multiplication of a matrix of weights by an array of inputs based on the memristors having resistance values being programmed according to the weights, rows of the crossbar array being applied voltages with magnitudes according to the inputs, and currents generated by the voltages as applied to columns of the crossbar array being summed in connections for the columns respectively in order to accelerate in-memory matrix multiplication operations for a neural network inference (Hoang abstract and paragraph [0022]).
Therefore, the combination of Jang as modified in view of Drane and Hoang teaches wherein the multiplier-accumulator unit includes a crossbar array of memristors configured to perform multiplication of a matrix of weights by an array of inputs based on the memristors having resistance values being programmed according to the weights, rows of the crossbar array being applied voltages with magnitudes according to the inputs, and currents generated by the voltages as applied to columns of the crossbar array being summed in connections for the columns respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Jang as modified in view of Drane teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as stated above.
Jang does not explicitly teach wherein the multiplier-accumulator unit includes an array of memory cells configured to perform multiplication of a matrix of weights by an array of inputs based on the memory cells being programmed to store bits of binary representation of the weights, rows of the memory cells being applied or not applied a predetermined read voltage according to bits of binary representation of the inputs, columns of the memory cells being connected to lines for the columns respectively to sum currents going through the columns of the memory cells, and currents in the lines being digitized for shift and summation in logic circuits.
However, on the same field of endeavor, Jang discloses a multiplier-accumulator unit that includes an array of memory cells configured to perform multiplication of a matrix of weights by an array of inputs based on the memory cells being programmed to store bits of binary representation of the weights, rows of the memory cells being applied or not applied a predetermined read voltage according to bits of binary representation of the inputs, columns of the memory cells being connected to lines for the columns respectively to sum currents going through the columns of the memory cells, and currents in the lines being digitized for shift and summation in logic circuits (Hoang Figs. 14-16 and paragraphs [0063-0065, 0068-0070]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Jang in view of Drane using Hoang and configure the NPU to include an array of memory cells configured to perform multiplication of a matrix of weights by an array of inputs based on the memory cells being programmed to store bits of binary representation of the weights, rows of the memory cells being applied or not applied a predetermined read voltage according to bits of binary representation of the inputs, columns of the memory cells being connected to lines for the columns respectively to sum currents going through the columns of the memory cells, and currents in the lines being digitized for shift and summation in logic circuits in order to accelerate in-memory matrix multiplication operations for a neural network (Hoang abstract and paragraph [0022]).
Therefore, the combination of Jang as modified in view of Drane and Hoang teaches wherein the multiplier-accumulator unit includes an array of memory cells configured to perform multiplication of a matrix of weights by an array of inputs based on the memory cells being programmed to store bits of binary representation of the weights, rows of the memory cells being applied or not applied a predetermined read voltage according to bits of binary representation of the inputs, columns of the memory cells being connected to lines for the columns respectively to sum currents going through the columns of the memory cells, and currents in the lines being digitized for shift and summation in logic circuits.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Drane as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Vantrease et al. (US 20190236049 A1), hereinafter Vantrease.
Regarding claim 5, Jang as modified in view of Drane teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as stated above.
Jang does not explicitly teach wherein the multiplier-accumulator unit includes an array of logic circuits configured to perform a plurality of multiplications in parallel.
However, on the same field of endeavor, Vantrease discloses a multiplier-accumulator unit that includes an array of logic circuits configured to perform a plurality of multiplications in parallel (Vantrease Figs. 1 and 7 and paragraphs [0024-0026]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Jang in view of Drane using Vantrease and configure the NPU to include an array of logic circuits configured to perform a plurality of multiplications in parallel to accelerate the workload in neural networks (Vantrease paragraph [0017]).
Therefore, the combination of Jang as modified in view of Drane and Vantrease teaches wherein the multiplier-accumulator unit includes an array of logic circuits configured to perform a plurality of multiplications in parallel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12, 14-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if claims 16-17 are rewritten to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections discussed above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter are the same reasons provided in the non-final office action submitted on 02/24/2026.
Response to Arguments
In view of amendments made, the objection to the drawings and claims 19-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment has not addressed all the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) raised in the non-final office action as discussed above.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026, see remarks page 1-5, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-2, 18 and 18-19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Jang and Drane fail to disclose a memory sub-system configured with different processing paths for control messages and data messages, as claimed by Applicant.
Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is arguing unclaimed features. The claims not recite any control messages and/or data messages let alone different processing paths for the control messages and the data messages.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Carlo Waje/Examiner, Art Unit 2151 (571)272-5767