Detailed Action
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s reply received 11/14/25. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11, 18, 22-23, 28, and 80-87 are pending. Claims 18, 22-23, and 28 are withdrawn. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11, and 80-87 are considered on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 has several intended results of culturing the cells into a biomass. These include:
“a carbon source…for growth and/or biosynthesis”,
converting the carbon source into organic molecule products comprising amino acids, proteins, and or vitamins by a carbon fixing reaction or anabolic biosynthetic pathway, and
the a carbon fixing reaction or anabolic biosynthetic pathway is driving by chemical and/or electrochemical energy.
These are inherent results of the biochemistry of the cell. In the instant case culturing a cells listed in claims 2 or 11 with the gaseous substrate of claims 4, 6, or 7 will read on these intended results since the cell will perform these while culturing.
Claim 87 limits the composition stimulates N2-fixing, P-solubilizing, and
indoleacetic acid-producing bacteria in soil to which it is applied. However this is an intended results of the active steps in the method. MPEP 2111.04 I state "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’". Therefore art reading on the active steps of the method will also read on these intended results.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments and Amendments
In the response submitted by the Applicant the following 35 U.S.C § 102 rejections are withdrawn:
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 11, 14, 80-82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reed et al. (US 2013/0149755, in IDS 5/7/24)
The Applicant’s amendments that apply the composition to the liquid medium or soil where the plants, fungi, mushrooms, algae are grown necessitated the above withdrawals. All arguments drawn to these rejections are now considered moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 11, 80-82, 86 and 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed et al. (US 2013/0149755, in IDS 5/7/24) in view of TNAU (Methods of Fertilizer Application, 2014).
Reed et al. teach culturing Cupriavidus necator under anaerobic conditions in liquid medium (Example 1). This bacteria is cultured chemoautrophically with a oxyhydrogen gas feed of 80% H2, 10% CO2, and 10% O2 (0139). This gas qualifies as a Knallgas by the Applicant’s Specification since it is a “mixture of molecular hydrogen and oxygen gas” (Specification, [182]). These cells form a biomass with a cell density of 4.7 x 108 cells/ml. Reed et al. teach that this biomass can be used to produce amino acids and vitamins and processed into fertilizers, soil additives, and soil stabilizers (0119).
Reed et al. does not teach their fertilizer is applied to the soil where plants are grown. This would be obvious in view of TNAU who teach fertilizers are applied to the soil (TNAU, page 1, middle.) or on the plants themselves (TNAU, page 2, bottom). It would be obvious to apply the fertilizer of Reed et al. on the soil or plants themselves since TNAU teach these are common application methods for fertilizers. One of ordinary skill would recognize this as applying a fertilizer with known techniques (MPEP 2141 III (D)) that will allow the plant to access the nutrients in the fertilizer.
While Reed et al. and TNAU do not expressly teach the plants are grown in soil and indoors or in a green house, this would be obvious since the nutritional needs of a plant remain whether grown outside or inside. Therefore it would be obvious to apply the fertilizer to soil or plants that are grown indoors or in a greenhouse.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 11, and 80-87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed et al. (US 2013/0149755, in IDS 5/7/24) in view of Jenkins et al. (WO 2010/110677).
Reed et al. teach culturing Cupriavidus necator under anaerobic conditions in liquid medium (Example 1). This bacteria is cultured chemoautrophically with a oxyhydrogen gas feed of 80% H2, 10% CO2, and 10% O2 (0139). This gas qualifies as a Knallgas by the Applicant’s Specification since it is a “mixture of molecular hydrogen and oxygen gas” (Specification, [182]). These cells form a biomass with a cell density of 4.7 x 108 cells/ml. Reed et al. teach that this biomass can be used to produce amino acids and vitamins and processed into fertilizers, soil additives, and soil stabilizers (0119).
Reed et al. does not teach the cells of their fertilizer are hydrolyzed and applied to the soil or plant. However this would be obvious in view of Jenkins et al. who also teach a microbial fertilizer comprising bacteria that are lysed (Jenkins, pg. 4, lines 15-25). The cells are either lysed mechanically, chemically, and enzymatically to produce a hydrolysate (Jenkins, pg. 5, lines 18-32). This hydrolysate composition can be applied as a liquid to the plants or soil or dried into granules for dry application (Jenkins, pg. 5 line 35 to pg. 6, line 5).
It would be obvious to lyse the Cupriavidus necator into a hydrolysate for fertilizer since Jenkins et al. teach that this is a suitable step to produce a bacterial fertilizer for application. One of ordinary skill would recognize this as modifying the bacteria in a fertilizer with known techniques (MPEP 2141 III (D)) that will allow the plant to access the nutrients in the fertilizer.
While Reed et al. and Jenkins et al. do not expressly teach the plants are grown in soil and indoors or in a green house, this would be obvious since the nutritional needs of a plant remain whether grown outside or inside. Therefore it would be obvious to apply the fertilizer to soil or plants that are grown indoors or in a greenhouse.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Response To Applicant’s Arguments
The Applicant has requested that these rejections be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. However MPEP 804 I 1 states:
As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated.
While the Applicant did respond to these double patenting rejections by amending the claims, they remain rejected as detailed in the above modified rejections.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11, and 80-87 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 41-60 of copending Application No. 18/892006.
Both sets of claims are drawn to making a biomass for a fertilizer with the following overlapping steps: Culturing Hydrogenobacter with a gas to form a biomass that is processed into a fertilizer. The gas comprises: i) a carbon source of carbon dioxide or CO, ii) H2 as an electron donor, and iii) O2 as an electron acceptor.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11, and 80-87 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12234497. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to making a biomass for a fertilizer with the following overlapping steps: Culturing Xanthobacter with a gas to form a biomass that is processed into a fertilizer. The gas comprises: i) a carbon source of carbon dioxide, ii) H2 as an electron donor, and iii) O2 as an electron acceptor.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11, and 80-87 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-38 of U.S. Patent No. 11274321. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to making a biomass for a fertilizer with the following overlapping steps: Culturing Cupriavidus necator with a gas to form a biomass that is processed into a fertilizer. The gas comprises: i) carbon dioxide or CO, ii) H2 and iii) O2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In response to this office action the applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure, including the claims (MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06).
CONTACT INFORMATION
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699