DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 11-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2004/0178877 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Lin teaches a magnetic core structure (Figs. 3 and 4, or 5), comprising:
a first magnetic core 1 comprising a main portion (yoke of core 1) and two side pillars (legs of core 1) fixedly connected to the main portion; convex structures 1a and or 1b (annotated Fig. 3) are set on end surfaces (lower end faces) of the two side pillars away from the main portion, respectively; and
a second magnetic core 2;
wherein the convex structures abut against a surface (upper end face) of the second magnetic core after the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core are assembled together, so as to form a gap 7 and or 8 between the end surfaces of the two side pillars away from the main portion and the surface of the second magnetic core; and wherein the gap constitutes an air gap of the magnetic core structure (paras. [0025] or [0028]).
With respect to claim 2, Lin teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the main portion of the first magnetic core, the two side pillars of the first magnetic core, and the convex structures of the first magnetic core are integrally formed (paras. [0025] or [0028]).
With respect to claim 3, Lin teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least a part of a cross-sectional area of each convex structure is less than a cross-sectional area of each side pillar (paras. [0025] or [0028]).
With respect to claim 8, Lin teaches an electromagnetic coupling device (“transformer”), comprising the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 1 (para. [0021]).
With respect to claim 9, Lin teaches the electromagnetic coupling device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the electromagnetic coupling device is a transformer (para. [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Shelby et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,602,236).
With respect to claim 4, Lin teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 3. Lin does not expressly teach
the second magnetic core has a concave portion located on the surface of the second magnetic core corresponding to each convex structure, and a part of each convex structure is accommodated in a corresponding concave portion after the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core are assembled together;
wherein a height of each convex structure is greater than a depth of the corresponding concave portion.
Shelby et al., hereinafter referred to as “Shelby,” teaches a magnetic core structure (FIG. 3), wherein the second magnetic core 52 has a concave portion 60 located on the surface (upper surface) of the second magnetic core corresponding to each convex structure 48, and a part of each convex structure is accommodated in a corresponding concave portion after the first magnetic core 42 and the second magnetic core are assembled together;
wherein a height 72 of each convex structure is greater than a depth 74 of the corresponding concave portion (col. 4, lines 13-22 and 40-44). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the concave and convex portions as taught by Shelby to the magnetic core structure of Lin to improve mechanical stability of the magnetic cores.
Claims 5-7, 11, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Iizuka et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018//0301854 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Lin teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 1. Lin does not expressly teach each convex structure comprises a plurality of convex portions, and a slit is formed between adjacent two convex portions
and the side pillars abut against the surface of the second magnetic core through at least one of the plurality of convex portions.
Iizuka et al., hereinafter referred to as “Iizuka,” teaches a magnetic core structure 30C (FIGs. 7 or 8 and 9), each convex structure 44b comprises a plurality of convex portions, and a slit (space between convex structures, FIG.8 and or FIG. 4) is formed between adjacent two convex portions; and the side pillars 44a abut against the surface (surface of concave portion 43a) of the second magnetic core 41 through at least one of the plurality of convex portions (para. [0063]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the convex portions and slit as taught by Iizuka to the magnetic core structure of Lin to provide excellent assembly workability (para. [0005]).
With respect to claim 6, Lin in view of Iizuka teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 5, wherein the second magnetic core has a plurality of concave portions 43a located on the surface of the second magnetic core, and each convex portion is accommodated in a corresponding concave portion respectively after the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core are assembled together; wherein a height of each convex portion is greater than a depth of the corresponding concave portion (Iizuka, para. [0063]).
With respect to claim 7, Lin teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 1. Lin does not expressly teach glue is provided in the gap for fixing the two side pillars and the second magnetic core.
Iizuka teaches a magnetic core structure 30C (FIGs. 7, or 8 and 9), wherein glue 60 is provided in the gap (gap filled by adhesive member 60) for fixing the two side pillars 44a and 44b (annotated FIG. 8) and the second magnetic core 41 (para. [0028]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the glue as taught by Iizuka to the magnetic core structure of Lin to improve mechanical stability of the magnetic cores.
With respect to claim 11, Lin in view Iizuka of teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 6, wherein the number of the plurality of concave portions is not equal to the number of the plurality of convex portions (Iizuka, para. [0063]).
With respect to claim 14, Lin in view Iizuka teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 6, wherein the plurality of convex portions are arranged along a direction of a line connecting geometric centers of two end surfaces of two side pillars away from the main portion (Iizuka, (para. [0059]).
With respect to claim 16, Lin teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 1. Lin does not expressly teach each convex structure is disposed at a geometric center of the end surface of each side pillar away from the main portion.
Iizuka teaches a magnetic core structure (FIG. 7) wherein each convex structure 44b is disposed at a geometric center of the end surface (upper surface) of each side pillar away from the main portion (yoke) (para. [0060]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the convex structure as taught by Iizuka to the magnetic core structure of Lin to improve mechanical stability of the magnetic cores.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view Iizuka, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Shelby.
With respect to claim 12, Lin in view Iizuka teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 11, wherein a part (part inside concave portion) of the plurality of convex portions are embedded in the plurality of concave portions (Iizuka, para. [0063]). Lin in view Iizuka does not expressly teach another part of the plurality of convex portions have no corresponding concave portions.
Shelby teaches a magnetic core structure (FIG. 3), wherein a part (part inside concave 60) of the plurality of convex portions 48 are embedded in the plurality of concave portions, and another part (part adjacent to gap 64) of the plurality of convex portions have no corresponding concave portions (col. 4, lines 13-22 and 40-44). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the concave and convex portions as taught by Shelby to the magnetic core structure of Lin in view Iizuka to improve mechanical stability of the magnetic cores.
With respect to claim 13, Lin in view Iizuka teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 11, and the number of the plurality of concave portions is greater than the number of the plurality of convex portions (Iizuka, para. [0063]). Lin in view Iizuka does not expressly teach a part of the plurality of concave portions has no corresponding convex portions.
Shelby teaches a magnetic core structure (FIG. 3), wherein a part (part adjacent to gap 64) of the plurality of concave portions 60 has no corresponding convex portions 48 (col. 4, lines 13-22 and 40-44). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the concave and convex portions as taught by Shelby to the magnetic core structure of Lin in view Iizuka to improve mechanical stability of the magnetic cores while providing the required magnetic gap for magnetic saturation.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view Iizuka, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hosozawa et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,816,894).
With respect to claim 15, Lin teaches the magnetic core structure as claimed in claim 1. Lin does not expressly teach a total height of the air gap is equal to a height of each convex structure, and the surface of the second magnetic core is a flat surface.
Hosozawa et al., hereinafter referred to as “Hosozawa,” teaches a magnetic core structure 40 (FIG. 4), wherein a total height (height of the magnetic gap G) of the air gap G is equal to a height of each convex structure (core leg portion of gap G) , and the surface of the second magnetic core 6 is a flat surface (col. 5, lines 12-15, 21-25). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the convex height as taught by Hosozawa to the magnetic core structure of Lin to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837