DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amending of claims 1 and 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dummer et al. (US 2020/0278426) in view of Han et al. (US 2011/0118943) and Schemmann et al. (US 2010/0187449).
With respect to claim 1, Dummer discloses an optoelectronic device (fig.60), comprising: a base chip (fig.60 #6008), comprising: a silicon die (fig.60 #6008) having front (fig.60 #6008 top) and rear (fig.60 #6008 bottom) surfaces; a photodiode (fig.60 #6004) disposed at the front surface of the silicon die; a first anode contact and a first cathode contact disposed on the front surface of the silicon die (fig.60 conductors connecting laser to #6006, better seen in fig.62); a laser diode driver circuit disposed on the silicon die and connected to supply an electrical drive signal between the first anode contact and the first cathode contact (fig.60 #6006, [0182]); and an emitter chip (fig.60 above #6004), comprising: a III-V semiconductor die (as seen in fig.12 GaAs substrate)), which has front (fig.12 upper) and rear (fig.12 lower) sides and is mounted with the front side facing toward the front surface of the silicon die (as seen in fig.60); a second anode contact and a second cathode contact disposed on the front side of the III-V semiconductor die (as seen in fig.47 p-top, n side contacts) in electrical communication with the first anode contact and the first cathode contact, respectively (as seen in fig.60/62); and a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL) (fig.12/60),which is disposed on the front side of the III-V semiconductor die in coaxial alignment with the photodiode (fig.60 VCSEL and PD aligned), and which is configured to receive the drive signal from the second anode contact and the second cathode contact ([0182]) and to emit an optical beam through the III-V semiconductor die in response to the drive signal (configured as in fig.47, [0182], optics formed on back of substrate, [0169]). Dummer further teaches use of the modules in sensing applications ([0002), but does not teach the optical beam is emitted toward an object, whereby the optical beam reflected from the object modulates an intracavity electromagnetic wave within the VCSEL; and a controller, which is coupled to receive and process a signal output by the photodiode to measure a modulation of the intracavity electromagnetic wave and derive a distance and a velocity of the object from the measured modulation. Han teaches a related VCSEL (fig.1 #100) integrated with a photodiode (fig.1 #200) in a sensing device (abstract) which includes an optical beam (fig.1 #7) is emitted toward an object ([0004]), whereby the optical beam reflected from the object modulates an intracavity electromagnetic wave within the VCSEL ([0005]); and a controller (fig.2 #30), which is coupled to receive and process a signal output by the photodiode to measure a modulation of the intracavity electromagnetic wave ([0005]) and derive a distance ([0008]) and a velocity ([0007]) of the object from the measured modulation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Dummer taught for sensing to direct the optical beam toward an object, whereby the optical beam reflected from the object modulates an intracavity electromagnetic wave within the VCSEL; and make use of a controller, which is coupled to receive and process a signal output by the photodiode to measure a modulation of the intracavity electromagnetic wave and derive a distance and a velocity of the object from the measured modulation in order to provide data about the environment surrounding a user (Han, abstract).
Dummer and Han teach the device outlined above, but do not teach wherein the first and second anode contacts and the first and second cathode contacts are laterally offset from the VCSEL to provide an unimpeded optical path from the VCSEL to the photodiode, whereby the photodiode detects residual optical radiation exiting through the front side of the VCSEL. Schemmann teaches a related self-mixing module (abstract) which includes a VCSEL (fig.2 #3s) integrated with a photodiode (fig.2 #4/14) and first (fig.2 lower #15 on #4 at right) and second (fig.2 #18 or upper #15 on right) anode contacts ([0045]) and first (fig.2 lower #15 on #4 at left) and second (fig.2 #16 or upper #15 on left) cathode contacts ([0045]) are laterally offset from the VCSEL (fig.2 #15/16/15 on left and #15/18/15 on right each laterally offset from central VCSEL(s) #3(s)) to provide an unimpeded optical path from the VCSEL to the photodiode (fig.2 as see by #11/13, [0044]), whereby the photodiode detects residual optical radiation exiting through a front side (fig.2 lower side of #3(s)) of the VCSEL ([0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the first/second anodes and first/second cathodes such that the first and second anode contacts and the first and second cathode contacts are laterally offset from the VCSEL to provide an unimpeded optical path from the VCSEL to the photodiode, whereby the photodiode detects residual optical radiation exiting through the front side of the VCSEL as demonstrated by Schemmann in order to insure proper alignment and spacing between the sensor and VCSEL to capture the full beam width for accurate measuring (Schemmann, [0044]).
With respect to claim 6, Dummer teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach a microlens disposed on the rear side of the III- V semiconductor die in coaxial alignment with the VCSEL and the photodiode. Dummer teaches an alternative embodiment using a microlens for the optic above the laser (which would be in alignment with the lower PD) as shown in figure 48 #4802. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to replace the optic of fig.60 with the microlens as seen in fig.48 in order to focus the outgoing light from the lasers.
With respect to claim 7, Dummer discloses the photodiode is formed within the silicon die ([0182]).
With respect to claim 8, Dummer teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the photodiode is bonded to the front surface of the silicon die. Dummer teaches an alternative embodiment where the PD is placed onto the chip ([0181] note “onto” used to describe the PD position here as compared to “fabricated in” as in [0182]). Dummer does not specify the PD is attached via bonding. The Examiner takes Official notice that it was well known in the art to securely fashion a PD via bonding. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to replace the PD fabricated in the Si substrate of Dummer with a PD bonded to the surface in order to enable use of a PD and/or substrate made from different materials and to securely fasten the two components together.
With respect to claim 10, Dummer discloses a method (0106, 0182]) for producing an optoelectronic device (fig.60), the method comprising: fabricating a photodiode (fig.60 #6004) on a front surface of a silicon die (fig.60 #6008 upper); fabricating a laser diode driver circuit (fig.60 #6006) on the silicon die; forming a first anode contact and a first cathode contact on the front surface of the silicon die (fig.60 conductors connecting laser to #6006, better seen in fig.62) in electrical communication with the laser diode driver circuit ([0182]); fabricating a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL) on a front side of III-V semiconductor die (fig.12/60) and configured to emit an optical beam through the III-V semiconductor die (configured as in fig.47, [0182], optics formed on back of substrate, [0169]); forming a second anode contact and a second cathode contact on the front side of the III-V semiconductor die (as seen in fig.47 p-top, n side contacts) in electrical communication with the VCSEL; and mounting the III-V semiconductor die on the silicon die with the front side of the III-V semiconductor die facing toward the front surface of the silicon die (as seen in fig.60), with the VCSEL in coaxial alignment with the photodiode (fig.60 VCSEL and PD aligned), and with the first anode contact and the first cathode contact in electrical communication with the second anode contact and the second cathode contact (fig.60 [0182]), respectively, so that the laser diode driver circuit can supply an electrical drive signal to the VCSEL. Dummer further teaches use of the modules in sensing applications ([0002), but does not teach the optical beam is emitted toward an object, whereby the optical beam reflected from the object modulates an intracavity electromagnetic wave within the VCSEL; and a controller, which is coupled to process a signal output by the photodiode to measure a modulation of the intracavity electromagnetic wave and derive a distance and a velocity of the object from the measured modulation. Han teaches a related VCSEL (fig.1 #100) integrated with a photodiode (fig.1 #200) in a sensing device (abstract) which includes an optical beam (fig.1 #7) is emitted toward an object ([0004]), whereby the optical beam reflected from the object modulates an intracavity electromagnetic wave within the VCSEL ([0005]); and a controller (fig.2 #30), which is coupled to receive and process a signal output by the photodiode to measure a modulation of the intracavity electromagnetic wave ([0005]) and derive a distance ([0008]) and a velocity ([0007]) of the object from the measured modulation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Dummer taught for sensing to direct the optical beam toward an object, whereby the optical beam reflected from the object modulates an intracavity electromagnetic wave within the VCSEL; and make use of a controller, which is coupled to receive and process a signal output by the photodiode to measure a modulation of the intracavity electromagnetic wave and derive a distance and a velocity of the object from the measured modulation in order to provide data about the environment surrounding a user (Han, abstract).
Dummer and Han teach the method outlined above, but do not teach wherein the first and second anode contacts and the first and second cathode contacts are laterally offset from the VCSEL to provide an unimpeded optical path from the VCSEL to the photodiode, whereby the photodiode detects residual optical radiation exiting through the front side of the VCSEL. Schemmann teaches a related self-mixing module (abstract) which includes a VCSEL (fig.2 #3s) integrated with a photodiode (fig.2 #4/14) and first (fig.2 lower #15 on #4 at right) and second (fig.2 #18 or upper #15 on right) anode contacts ([0045]) and first (fig.2 lower #15 on #4 at left) and second (fig.2 #16 or upper #15 on left) cathode contacts ([0045]) are laterally offset from the VCSEL (fig.2 #15/16/15 on left and #15/18/15 on right each laterally offset from central VCSEL(s) #3(s)) to provide an unimpeded optical path from the VCSEL to the photodiode (fig.2 as see by #11/13, [0044]), whereby the photodiode detects residual optical radiation exiting through a front side (fig.2 lower side of #3(s)) of the VCSEL ([0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the first/second anodes and first/second cathodes such that the first and second anode contacts and the first and second cathode contacts are laterally offset from the VCSEL to provide an unimpeded optical path from the VCSEL to the photodiode, whereby the photodiode detects residual optical radiation exiting through the front side of the VCSEL as demonstrated by Schemmann in order to insure proper alignment and spacing between the sensor and VCSEL to capture the full beam width for accurate measuring (Schemmann, [0044]).
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in the rejection of claim 7 above, noting Dummer teaches forming the device as in fig.60, [0106] and [0182].
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons outlined in the rejections of claims 6 and 8 above.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dummer and Han and Schemmann in view of Ouchi (US 6597713).
With respect to claim 9, Dummer, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the base chip comprises multiple photodiodes, and the emitter chip comprises multiple VCSELs in coaxial alignment with respective ones of the photodiodes. Ouchi teaches a related VCSEL over a silicon substrate with photodiode (fig.24) and further that the base chip comprises multiple photodiodes, and the emitter chip comprises multiple VCSELs in coaxial alignment with respective ones of the photodiodes (fig.24, col.18 lines 5-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Dummer to make use of plural PDs with plural VCSELs aligned therewith as demonstrated by Ouchi in order to produce more output light from the device while monitoring the extra emitters.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in the rejection of claim 9 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see the included pto892 form for a list of related art.
US 6999493 and 6597713 noted as being closely related to at least claim 1.
US 2021/0091244 (Applicant submitted prior art) is noted as teaching the usefulness of integrated VCSEL/PD arrangements for both LIDAR and self-mixing applications ([0020]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOD T VAN ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828