DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 06/10/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-22, and 24-26 are pending. Claims 1, 11, and 16 are independent. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn. Claims 5, 9, and 14 are canceled. Claims 24-26 have been newly added.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “each respective head of each single arm of the first set of arms is positioned along a first plane, and wherein each respective head of each single arm of the second set of arms is positioned along a second plane parallel to the first plane” which does not have sufficient support in the original disclosure and is considered as new matter. First, the original disclosure does not disclose that each respective head of each single arm of the first set of arms is positioned along a first plane and each respective head of each single arm of the second set of arms is positioned along a second plane. The specification discloses neither each respective head of each single arm of the first set of arms is positioned along a first plane and each respective head of each single arm of the second set of arms is positioned along a second plane nor the heads are flat. Instead, the drawings (e.g. Figs. 1A and 2A) show that each head of the arms appears to be a bit curved and each head of the arms is not positioned along a plane. Therefore, each respective head of each single arm of the second set of arms is not positioned along a second plane parallel to the first plane.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “the curved portion of the intermediate section of at least one single arm of the plurality of arms defines a bend angle of 90 degrees such that a respective contact face of a respective head of the at least one single arm is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the tube” which does not have sufficient support in the original disclosure and is considered as new matter. First, the original disclosure discloses that a respective contact face of a respective head of the at least one single arm is generally perpendicular (not exactly perpendicular) to a longitudinal axis of the tube. Although the contact face of each head looks substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the tube in the drawing (e.g. Fig. 1C), but the drawings are not sufficient to support that a respective contact face of a respective head of the at least one single arm is (exactly) perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the tube.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites “the curved portion of the intermediate section of at least one single arm of the plurality of arms defines a bend angle of 90 degrees.” Based on the disclosure, it is unclear how the bend angle is defined. Each intermediate section 72/82 is curved. It is unclear how the bend angle is measured. Therefore, the limitation “the curved portion of the intermediate section of at least one single arm of the plurality of arms defines a bend angle of 90 degrees” is indefinite.
The art rejection(s) below is/are made as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/0085600) in view of Abbott et al. (US Pub. No.: 2007/0073337).
Regarding claim 1, Schwartz discloses, in one embodiment (Fig. 10), [claim 1] an interatrial shunting device (140. Fig. 10. Para. [0160], and Abstract, the shunting device 140 is fully capable to serve as a interatrial shunting device because it is configured to transport fluid from one bodily chamber to bodily chamber.) comprising: a tube (142, Fig. 10) defining a first end (146, Fig. 10) opposite a second end (148, Fig. 10), and a tube wall (tube wall of 142, Fig. 10) extending to and between the first and second ends, wherein the tube wall defines a lumen (144, Fig. 10) of the tube, the lumen being open at the first and second ends (Fig. 10); and an anchoring assembly (combination of 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160, 162, and 164, Fig. 10) carried by the tube and fully capable to secure the interatrial shunting device to a native atrial septum, wherein the anchoring assembly comprises a plurality of arms (combination of 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160, 162, and 164, Fig. 10) extending from the tube wall, wherein the plurality of arms comprises a first set of arms (150, 152, 154, 156, Fig. 10) extending from the first end of the tube and a second set of arms (158, 160, 162, and 164, Fig. 10) extending from the second end of the tube, wherein each single arm of the plurality of arms comprises an intermediate section (the middle/intermediate elongated narrow section of each arm that terminates at the head , Fig. 10) terminating at a head (the enlarged head at the end of each arm, Fig. 10), wherein the intermediate section comprises a length extending from the tube wall and an arm width (Fig. 10), wherein the head defines a head width that is tapering laterally from and larger than the arm width of the intermediate section (Fig. 10), wherein the anchoring assembly is configured to be transitionable between a delivery state and a deployed state (Para. [0160]), wherein the entirety of the heads of each of the plurality of arms comprise a solid surface (Fig. 10) that, when the anchoring assembly is in the deployed state, is fully capable to atraumatically interface with the native atrial septum (Fig. 100, the entirety of the heads of each of the plurality of arms comprise a solid surface that, when the anchoring assembly is in the deployed state, is fully capable to atraumatically interface with the native atrial septum), wherein the anchoring assembly, when in the deployed state, is fully capable to engage the native atrial septum directly between the respective heads of each single arm of the first set of arms and the corresponding respective heads of each single arm of the second set of arms (the anchoring assembly, when in the deployed state, is fully capable to engage the native atrial septum directly between the respective heads of each single arm of the first set of arms and the corresponding respective heads of each single arm of the second set of arms since the arms are configured to secure the device to the body tissue); However, Schwartz does not disclose that the tube wall is a solid body in the embodiment shown in Fig. 10.
Schwartz discloses, in another embodiment (Fig. 80), that [claim 1] the tube wall (tube wall of 592, Fig. 80) is a solid body (Fig. 80 and Para. [0168]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tube wall of the embodiment shown in Fig. 10 of Schwartz to be a solid body as taught in the embodiment shown in Fig. 10 of Schwartz in order to obtain the advantage of reducing the risk of device fatigue and blood stasis (Para. [0168]).
Schwartz does not explicitly disclose that the intermediate section defines a curve portion terminating at the head.
Abbott teaches, in the same field of endeavor / same problem-solving area (anchoring assembly for heart implantable device), each arm (306/307, Fig. 13A or 13B) of the anchor assembly (combination of 306 and 307) comprising an intermediate section (intermediate section of 306/307, Fig. 13A or 13B) that defines a curved section (curve section of the intermediate section of 306/307 from 410 to 411, Fig. 13A or 13B) terminating at a head (head at 314/315, Fig. 13A or 13B and also see Fig. 10 or 11 for the heads).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the intermediate section of the arms of the device of Schwartz to include a curve portion terminating at the head as taught by Abbott in order to obtain the advantage of adding more closure force to press against the heart tissue/septal wall for securing the device to the tissue (Abbott, Para. [0161]).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the interatrial shunting device is characterized by the absence of material within the lumen (Schwartz, Fig. 10 and also see other embodiment such as shown in Figs. 75 and 76 for example).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the tube wall is solid in transverse cross-section across an entire length of the tube from the first end to the second end (Schwartz, Fig. 80 and Para. [0168]).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the tube wall is configured to prevent tissue ingrowth from an exterior of the tube into the lumen (Schwartz, Para. [0168] and [0163], metallic material like nitinol is configured to prevent tissue ingrowth from an exterior of the tube into the lumen).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the tube defines a longitudinal axis, and further wherein a footprint of the anchoring assembly in a plane transverse to the longitudinal axis in the delivery state is less than the footprint in the deployed state (Schwartz, Paras. [0160]).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the anchoring assembly is fully capable to assume the delivery state in response to an applied external force, and is further configured to self-transition to the deployed state upon removal of the applied external force (the anchoring assembly is fully capable to assume the delivery state in response to an applied external force, and is further configured to self-transition to the deployed state upon removal of the applied external force, Schwartz, Para. [0160]).
Regarding claim 8, wherein an outer diameter of the tube is substantially identical in the delivery state and the deployed state (Schwartz, Para. [0168]).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the delivery state includes the first set of arms extending away from the first end in a first direction and the second set of arms extending away from the second end in a second direction, the first direction being opposite the second direction (Schwartz, Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 21, wherein the respective heads of each single arm of the plurality of arms are not circumferentially connected to one another (Schwartz, Fig. 10)
Regarding claim 22, Schwartz further discloses, in another embodiment (Fig. 84), that an outer diameter of the intermediate section of each single arm of the plurality of arms in the delivery state is less than the outer diameter of the tube (Fig. 84, an outer diameter of the intermediate section of each single arm of the plurality of arms in the delivery state is less than the outer diameter of the tube because the arms are tapered inward toward the central axis of the device). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Schwartz shown in Fig. 10 in view of the device shown in Fig. 80 to include that an outer diameter of the intermediate section of each single arm of the plurality of arms in the delivery state is less than the outer diameter of the tube as taught in Fig. 84 of Schwartz such that the arms taper toward the central axis in the delivery state in order to facilitate the delivery of the device.
Regarding claim 24, each respective head of each single arm of the first set of arms is positioned along a first plane (a plane on which that each respective head of each single arm of the first set of arms is positioned and is parallel the a second plane on which each respective head of each single arm of the second set of arms is positioned, Schwartz, Fig. 10; also see Figs. 5A and 5C of Abbott), and wherein each respective head of each single arm of the second set of arms is positioned along a second plane parallel to the first plane (Schwartz, Fig. 10; also see Figs. 5A and 5C of Abbott).
Regarding claim 25, in the modified device, the curved portion of the intermediate section of at least one single arm of the plurality of arms defines a bend angle of 90 degrees such that a respective contact face of a respective head of the at least one single arm is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the tube (Abbott, Figs. 13A and 13B, an arbitrary portion of the curved portion of the intermediate section of at least one single arm of the plurality of arms defines a bend angle of 90 degrees because the curved portion covers different degree angles including the 90 degrees angle by extending upward and then downward such that a respective contact face of a respective head of the at least one single arm is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the tube).
Regarding claim 26, a respective head of at least one single arm of the plurality of arms defines a first lateral edge and a second lateral edge parallel to the first lateral edge (Schwartz. Fig. 10; also see Abbot, Figs. 13A and 13B and Para. [0176], 306 and 307 can be symmetrical)
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/0085600) in view of Abbott et al. (US Pub. No.: 2007/0073337) and Ton et al. (US Pub. No.: 2006/0111771).
Regarding claim 11, Schwartz discloses, in one embodiment, a system for treating a heart of a patient, the system comprising: an interatrial shunting device (140. Fig. 10. Para. [0160], and Abstract, the shunting device 140 is fully capable to serve as a interatrial shunting device because it is configured to transport fluid from one bodily chamber to bodily chamber.) including: a tube (142, Fig. 10) defining a first end (146, Fig. 10) opposite a second end (148, Fig. 10), and a tube wall (tube wall of 142, Fig. 10) extending to and between the first and second ends, wherein the tube wall defines a lumen (144, Fig. 10) of the tube, the lumen being open at the first and second ends (Fig. 10), an anchoring assembly (combination of 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160, 162, and 164, Fig. 10) carried by the tube and fully capable to secure the interatrial shunting device to a native atrial septum, wherein the anchoring assembly comprises a plurality of arms extending from the tube wall (the anchoring assembly is fully capable to secure the interatrial shunting device to a native atrial septum, wherein the anchoring assembly comprises a plurality of arms extending from the tube wall the arms are configured to secure the device to the body tissue), wherein each single arm of the plurality of arms comprises an intermediate section (the middle/intermediate elongated narrow section of each arm, Fig. 10) terminating at a head (the enlarged head at the end of each arm, Fig. 10), wherein the head defines a head width that is tapering laterally from and larger than the arm width of the intermediate section (Fig. 10); wherein the entirety of the respective heads of each of the plurality of arms comprises a solid surface (Fig. 10); and a delivery device configured to retain the interatrial shunting device in a delivery state fully capable for delivery to a native atrial septum and to release the interatrial shunting device for implant at an opening in the native atrial septum in a deployed state (Para. [0160]).
Schwartz further discloses, in another embodiment (Fig. 80), that [claim 1] the tube wall (tube wall of 592, Fig. 80) is a solid body (Fig. 80 and Para. [0168]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tube wall of the embodiment shown in Fig. 10 of Schwartz to be a solid body as taught in the embodiment shown in Fig. 10 of Schwartz in order to obtain the advantage of reducing the risk of device fatigue and blood stasis (Para. [0168]).
However, Schwartz does not the intermediate section defines a curve portion terminating at the head and that the delivery device comprises an engagement unit configured to be connected to one or more arms of the plurality of arms of the interatrial shunting device and to retain the interatrial shunting device, wherein the engagement unit is configured to release the interatrial shunting device upon rotation of the engagement unit.
Abbott teaches, in the same field of endeavor / same problem-solving area (anchoring assembly for heart implantable device), each arm (306/307, Fig. 13A or 13B) of the anchor assembly (combination of 306 and 307) comprising an intermediate section (intermediate section of 306/307, Fig. 13A or 13B) that defines a curved section (curve section of the intermediate section of 306/307 from 410 to 411, Fig. 13A or 13B) terminating at a head (head at 314/315, Fig. 13A or 13B and also see Fig. 10 or 11 for the heads).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the intermediate section of the arms of the device of Schwartz to include a curve portion terminating at the head as taught by Abbott in order to obtain the advantage of adding more closure force to press against the heart tissue/septal wall for securing the device to the tissue (Abbott, Para. [0161]).
Ton teaches, in the same field of endeavor (implant delivery system), a system comprising: a delivery device (combination of delivery guide 1300 shown in Figs. 13A and 13B and sheath 180, Fig. 10B) comprises an engagement unit (1304, Figs 13A and 13B) configured to be connected to one or more arms (1314, Fig. 13B) of the plurality of arms of an implantable device and to retain the implantable device (Fig. 13B and Paras. [0136]-[0139]), wherein the engagement unit is configured to release the interatrial shunting device upon rotation of the engagement unit (Fig. 13B and Paras. [0136]-[0139] and [0090]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the delivery device of Schwartz to include an engagement unit configured to be connected to one or more arms of the plurality of arms of the interatrial shunting device and to retain the interatrial shunting device, wherein the engagement unit is configured to release the interatrial shunting device upon rotation of the engagement unit as taught by Ton in order to obtain the advantage of preventing accidentally moving/deploying of the implantable device prior to deployment (Ton, Paras. [0027] and [0100]).
Regarding claim 12, in the modified system, the delivery device includes: an outer sheath (Ton sheath 180, Fig. 10B) assembly including a capsule (Ton, distal end portion of sheath 180 serves as a capsule for containing the implantable device, Fig. 10B); and an inner shaft assembly (1304 and/or 1308 with 1310, Fig. 13A) slidably received within the outer sheath assembly and including the engagement unit (also see Fig. 10B); wherein the delivery device is configured to provide a delivery condition in which the engagement unit is connected to the interatrial shunting / implantable device and the capsule encompasses and retains the interatrial shunting / implantable device in the delivery state (Figs. 13B and 10B).
Regarding claim 13, in the modified system, the plurality of arms includes a first set of arms extending from the first end of the tube and a second set of arms extending from the second end of the tube (Schwartz, Fig. 10), and further wherein the delivery condition includes the interatrial shunting device located within the capsule such that the second set of arms extends distally from the tube and the first set of arms extends proximally from the tube and one or more arms of the first set of arms of is connected to the engagement unit (Ton, Fig. 10B or 11A).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the delivery device of the modified invention is further configured to be transitionable from the delivery state to a partial deployment arrangement in which the second set of arms is distal to the capsule as the second set of arms self-reverts to the deployed state, and the first set of arms is within the capsule and is retained in the delivery state (Schwartz, Fig. 10. Para. [0160]); and transitionable from the partial deployment arrangement to the deployed state in which the first set of arms is distal to the capsule and is released from the engagement unit to self-revert to the deployed state (Ton, Fig. 13B and Paras. [0136]-[0139] and Schwartz, Fig. 10B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-14, 21, 22, and 24-26 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771