Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 23rd, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, and 12-13 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Svajda (United States Patent Application Publication 20100245289 A1), hereinafter Svajda in view of Agarwal et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20190162820 A1), hereinafter Agarwal.
Regarding claim 1, Svajda teaches an electronic device ([0039] touch input and optical proximity sensing system 10), comprising:
a display screen (Fig. 1; [0040] a touch input device 20);
a transmitter, disposed on a non-display side of the display screen, and configured to transmit a first optical signal and a second optical signal to the display screen, wherein a ratio of a part of the first optical signal passing through the display screen to the first optical signal is greater than a ratio of a part of the second optical signal passing through the display screen to the second optical signal; (Fig. 1-3; [0040] LEDs 24 and 26; [0042] In the example of FIG. 2, object 12 is located near LED 24 and, consequently, the reflected light R1 from LED 24 measured by receiver 22 is much greater in amplitude than the reflected light R2 from LED 26.);
a receiver, disposed on the non-display side of the display screen, and configured to receive the first optical signal and the second optical signal (Fig. 1-3; [0040] receiver 22); and
a processor, connected to the receiver, and configured to determine a calibration coefficient as a ratio of the second optical signal received by the receiver and determine a calibrated first reference background noise according to the calibration coefficient and a first reference background noise, wherein the first reference background noise is a theoretical value of the first optical signal received by the receiver when no object approaches the display screen (Fig. 10-11; [049] The reflectance measurements are transferred to a processor for calculation of position and gesture recognition; [0069] One of skill in the art will recognize that within the sensor circuitry 200 presented in this example, DCACC 107 continuously operates to remove normal changes in the background ambient light. Only transient changes produce an output. Output only occurs when there is a difference between the DC correction signal and the input signal. An advantage of this method of reflectance measurement is that resolution is limited by the "shot noise" of PD 105, provided a low noise photo amplifier is used. Circuitry 200 exhibits low noise for the DC ambient correction current source if a moderately large PMOS is used for P1 and an appropriate degeneration resistor is used at its Vdd source. The integrator capacitor on the gate of P1 removes most of the noise components of TCA 202.).
Svajda fails to teach the limitation of a ratio of the second optical signal received by the receiver to a theoretical value of the second optical signal received by the receiver when no object approaches the display screen,
However, Agarwal teaches the limitation of a ratio of the second optical signal received by the receiver to a theoretical value of the second optical signal received by the receiver when no object approaches the display screen ([0030] The determination that the target 22 has been detected may also include a determination that some aspect of the signal from the sensor 18 is above a detection-threshold so that, for example, the signal-to-noise ratio is sufficient for reliable calibration of the sensor 18.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Svajda to comprise the ratio calibration coefficient similar to Agarwal, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating a calibration coefficient using a method that filters out the noise present when no user is intending to use the device, reducing false activations and unnecessary power usage.
Regarding claim 3, Svajda, as modified, teaches the electronic device according to claim 1,
Svajda fails to teach the device wherein the processor is further configured to use a product of the calibration coefficient and the first reference background noise as the calibrated first reference background noise.
However, Agarwal teaches the device wherein the processor is further configured to use a product of the calibration coefficient and the first reference background noise as the calibrated first reference background noise ([0019] In one embodiment, controller 28 determines a correction-factor 40 (i.e. a calibration-coefficient) in accordance with a determination that a detected-attribute 32 of the target 22 differs from the expected-attribute 38 by more than a correction-threshold 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Svajda to comprise the calibrated noise level from the signal to noise ratio calibration coefficient similar to Agarwal, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating a calibration method to reduce the incoming level of noise in an object detector.
Regarding claim 4, Svajda, as modified, teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to calculate, according to the first optical signal received by the receiver and the calibrated first reference background noise, a variation of the first optical signal received by the receiver, and determine, according to the variation, whether an object approaches the display screen ([0071] FIG. 12 is a control flow diagram illustrating one example of a process 250 in the controller 108 of FIG. 10 that performs motion detection and touch screen activation suitable for use with the touch screen and optical proximity sensing systems shown in FIGS. 1-9. When process 250 is initiated in controller 108, motion detection begins, step 252, such as in the manner described above with respect to FIGS. 10-11).
Regarding claim 5, Svajda, as modified, teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a middle frame, wherein the display screen is disposed on the middle frame (Fig. 1-9); and
a printed circuit motherboard, disposed on the non-display side of the display screen, wherein the transmitter and the receiver are respectively disposed between the display screen and the printed circuit motherboard, and a light-shielding material piece is disposed on outer peripheries of the transmitter and the receiver (Fig. 10; [0060] Opaque barriers are preferably positioned between LEDs 392, 394 and photodiode receiver 390 to reduce crosstalk.).
Regarding claim 6, Svajda teaches a background noise calibration method, performed by an electronic device, wherein the method comprises:
controlling a transmitter to transmit a first optical signal and a second optical signal from a non-display side of a display screen (Fig. 1-3; [0040] LEDs 24 and 26);
controlling a receiver to receive the first optical signal and the second optical signal from the non-display side of the display screen (Fig. 1-3; [0040] receiver 22);
determining a calibration coefficient as a ratio of the received second optical signal ([0069] An advantage of this method of reflectance measurement is that resolution is limited by the "shot noise" of PD 105, provided a low noise photo amplifier is used. Circuitry 200 exhibits low noise for the DC ambient correction current source if a moderately large PMOS is used for P1 and an appropriate degeneration resistor is used at its Vdd source. The integrator capacitor on the gate of P1 removes most of the noise components of TCA 202.); and
determining a calibrated first reference background noise according to the calibration coefficient and a first reference background noise ([0069] An advantage of this method of reflectance measurement is that resolution is limited by the "shot noise" of PD 105, provided a low noise photo amplifier is used. Circuitry 200 exhibits low noise for the DC ambient correction current source if a moderately large PMOS is used for P1 and an appropriate degeneration resistor is used at its Vdd source. The integrator capacitor on the gate of P1 removes most of the noise components of TCA 202.),
wherein a ratio of a part of the first optical signal passing through the display screen to the first optical signal is greater than a ratio of a part of the second optical signal passing through the display screen to the second optical signal, (Fig. 1-3; [0040] LEDs 24 and 26; [0042] In the example of FIG. 2, object 12 is located near LED 24 and, consequently, the reflected light R1 from LED 24 measured by receiver 22 is much greater in amplitude than the reflected light R2 from LED 26.); and
wherein the first reference background noise is a theoretical value of the first optical signal received by the receiver when no object approaches the display screen (Fig. 10-11; [0069] One of skill in the art will recognize that within the sensor circuitry 200 presented in this example, DCACC 107 continuously operates to remove normal changes in the background ambient light. Only transient changes produce an output. Output only occurs when there is a difference between the DC correction signal and the input signal. An advantage of this method of reflectance measurement is that resolution is limited by the "shot noise" of PD 105, provided a low noise photo amplifier is used. Circuitry 200 exhibits low noise for the DC ambient correction current source if a moderately large PMOS is used for P1 and an appropriate degeneration resistor is used at its Vdd source. The integrator capacitor on the gate of P1 removes most of the noise components of TCA 202.).
Svajda fails to teach the method of determining a calibration coefficient as a ratio of the received second optical signal to a theoretical value of the second optical signal received by the receiver when no object approaches the display screen;
However, Agarwal teaches the method of determining a calibration coefficient as a ratio of the received second optical signal to a theoretical value of the second optical signal received by the receiver when no object approaches the display screen ([0030] The determination that the target 22 has been detected may also include a determination that some aspect of the signal from the sensor 18 is above a detection-threshold so that, for example, the signal-to-noise ratio is sufficient for reliable calibration of the sensor 18.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Svajda to comprise the ratio calibration coefficient similar to Agarwal, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating a calibration coefficient using a method that filters out the noise present when no user is intending to use the device, reducing false activations and unnecessary power usage.
Regarding claim 8, Svajda, as modified, teaches the method according to claim 6,
Svajda fails to teach the method wherein the determining a calibrated first reference background noise according to the calibration coefficient and a first reference background noise comprises: using a product of the calibration coefficient and the first reference background noise as the calibrated first reference background noise.
However, Agarwal teaches the method wherein the determining a calibrated first reference background noise according to the calibration coefficient and a first reference background noise comprises: using a product of the calibration coefficient and the first reference background noise as the calibrated first reference background noise ([0019] In one embodiment, controller 28 determines a correction-factor 40 (i.e. a calibration-coefficient) in accordance with a determination that a detected-attribute 32 of the target 22 differs from the expected-attribute 38 by more than a correction-threshold 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Svajda to comprise the calibrated noise level from the signal to noise ratio calibration coefficient similar to Agarwal, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating a calibration method to reduce the incoming level of noise in an object detector.
Regarding claim 9, Svajda, as modified, teaches the method according to claim 6, further comprising: calculating a variation of the received first optical signal according to the received first optical signal and the calibrated first reference background noise, and determining, according to the variation, whether an object approaches the display screen ([0071] FIG. 12 is a control flow diagram illustrating one example of a process 250 in the controller 108 of FIG. 10 that performs motion detection and touch screen activation suitable for use with the touch screen and optical proximity sensing systems shown in FIGS. 1-9. When process 250 is initiated in controller 108, motion detection begins, step 252, such as in the manner described above with respect to FIGS. 10-11).
Regarding claim 10, Svajda teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a background noise calibration method ([0049] The reflectance measurements are transferred to a processor for calculation of position and gesture recognition), wherein the method comprises:
controlling a transmitter to transmit a first optical signal and a second optical signal from a non-display side of a display screen (Fig. 1-3; [0040] LEDs 24 and 26);
controlling a receiver to receive the first optical signal and the second optical signal from the non-display side of the display screen (Fig. 1-3; [0040] receiver 22);
determining a calibration coefficient as a ratio of the received second optical signal ([0069] An advantage of this method of reflectance measurement is that resolution is limited by the "shot noise" of PD 105, provided a low noise photo amplifier is used. Circuitry 200 exhibits low noise for the DC ambient correction current source if a moderately large PMOS is used for P1 and an appropriate degeneration resistor is used at its Vdd source. The integrator capacitor on the gate of P1 removes most of the noise components of TCA 202.); and
determining a calibrated first reference background noise according to the calibration coefficient and a first reference background noise ([0069] An advantage of this method of reflectance measurement is that resolution is limited by the "shot noise" of PD 105, provided a low noise photo amplifier is used. Circuitry 200 exhibits low noise for the DC ambient correction current source if a moderately large PMOS is used for P1 and an appropriate degeneration resistor is used at its Vdd source. The integrator capacitor on the gate of P1 removes most of the noise components of TCA 202.),
wherein a ratio of a part of the first optical signal passing through the display screen to the first optical signal is greater than a ratio of a part of the second optical signal passing through the display screen to the second optical signal, (Fig. 1-3; [0040] LEDs 24 and 26; [0042] In the example of FIG. 2, object 12 is located near LED 24 and, consequently, the reflected light R1 from LED 24 measured by receiver 22 is much greater in amplitude than the reflected light R2 from LED 26.); and
wherein the first reference background noise is a theoretical value of the first optical signal received by the receiver when no object approaches the display screen (Fig. 10-11; [0069] One of skill in the art will recognize that within the sensor circuitry 200 presented in this example, DCACC 107 continuously operates to remove normal changes in the background ambient light. Only transient changes produce an output. Output only occurs when there is a difference between the DC correction signal and the input signal. An advantage of this method of reflectance measurement is that resolution is limited by the "shot noise" of PD 105, provided a low noise photo amplifier is used. Circuitry 200 exhibits low noise for the DC ambient correction current source if a moderately large PMOS is used for P1 and an appropriate degeneration resistor is used at its Vdd source. The integrator capacitor on the gate of P1 removes most of the noise components of TCA 202.).
Svajda fails to teach the method of determining a calibration coefficient as a ratio of the received second optical signal to a theoretical value of the second optical signal received by the receiver when no object approaches the display screen;
However, Agarwal teaches the method of determining a calibration coefficient as a ratio of the received second optical signal to a theoretical value of the second optical signal received by the receiver when no object approaches the display screen ([0030] The determination that the target 22 has been detected may also include a determination that some aspect of the signal from the sensor 18 is above a detection-threshold so that, for example, the signal-to-noise ratio is sufficient for reliable calibration of the sensor 18.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Svajda to comprise the ratio calibration coefficient similar to Agarwal, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating a calibration coefficient using a method that filters out the noise present when no user is intending to use the device, reducing false activations and unnecessary power usage.
Regarding claim 12, Svajda, as modified, teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 10,
Svajda fails to teach the method wherein the determining a calibrated first reference background noise according to the calibration coefficient and a first reference background noise comprises: using a product of the calibration coefficient and the first reference background noise as the calibrated first reference background noise.
However, Agarwal teaches the method wherein the determining a calibrated first reference background noise according to the calibration coefficient and a first reference background noise comprises: using a product of the calibration coefficient and the first reference background noise as the calibrated first reference background noise ([0019] In one embodiment, controller 28 determines a correction-factor 40 (i.e. a calibration-coefficient) in accordance with a determination that a detected-attribute 32 of the target 22 differs from the expected-attribute 38 by more than a correction-threshold 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Svajda to comprise the calibrated noise level from the signal to noise ratio calibration coefficient similar to Agarwal, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating a calibration method to reduce the incoming level of noise in an object detector.
Regarding claim 13, Svajda, as modified, teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises: calculating a variation of the received first optical signal according to the received first optical signal and the calibrated first reference background noise, and determining, according to the variation, whether an object approaches the display screen ([0071] FIG. 12 is a control flow diagram illustrating one example of a process 250 in the controller 108 of FIG. 10 that performs motion detection and touch screen activation suitable for use with the touch screen and optical proximity sensing systems shown in FIGS. 1-9. When process 250 is initiated in controller 108, motion detection begins, step 252, such as in the manner described above with respect to FIGS. 10-11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 23rd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Svajda fails to disclose a ratio of a part of the first optical signal passing through the display screen the first optical signal is greater than a ratio of a part of the second optical signal passing through the display screen to the second optical signal. The examiner notes that while the prior art of Svajda does not use this express terminology, the method by which the two sensors emit and receive returned light through a lens, and by which the first light may be a greater signal intensity than the second teaches the claim limitations as written by the applicant. Amendments to the rejection have been made above in response to the cited arguments and the applicant’s amendments in order to further cite relevant paragraphs of the prior art, however the prior art source has been maintained. Claims are examined under the broadest reasonable interpretation to one of ordinary skill in the art, and in this light the prior art teaches the claims. Further amendments outlining how the immediate application specifically overcomes the prior art of record would be required to overcome the current rejection of the mentioned limitation.
Further, applicant argues Agarwal fails to teach determining a calibration coefficient as a ratio of an optical signal received to a theoretical value received when no object approaches a display. This argument has also been found to be unpersuasive and the previous rejection of the dependent claims that are canceled have been amended to the rejection of the independent claim to outline their relevance. Further, the signal to noise ratio outlined by Agarwal constitutes a ratio between the signal to an ambient noise level that would be present in the absence of an object approaching the display. This noise would then be the theoretical value under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the theoretical value, pending further written limitations as to how the theoretical value or the ratio of the immediate application overcome the prior art. As such, the rejection of the previous office action correspondence has been maintained in this Non-Final Office Action.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645