DETAILED ACTION
The amendments were received on 3/16/2026. Claims 1, 2, 5-8, and 12-19 are pending where claims 1, 2, 5-8, and 12-19 were previously presented and claims 3, 4, and 9-11 were cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al [US 2018/0089335 A1] in view of Pidduck [US 2014/0181056 A1], Wei et al [US 2011/0022596 A1], Bendik [US 2002/0002563 A1], Myslinski [US 2013/0151240], and Goldenstein et al [US 2019/0179861 A1].
With regard to claim 1, Huang teaches a method of integrating a computing system
and (c) identifying, for each of a plurality of document attributes, a value of the attribute explicitly specified for the published document to which the document manifest corresponds (see paragraphs [0024] and [0028]; the system can identify the values of the attributes, e.g. for the attribute author, the system can determine the author’s name (value));
using the accessed plurality of document manifests to construct a search index covering the set of published documents; resolving a query by identifying a query result specifying a particular value for each of one or more of the plurality of document attributes using the constructed search index (see paragraphs [0035] and [0043]-[0046], [0049], and [0059]; the system can use the document manifest or metadata files to create search indices about the metadata where the purpose of the query is to find a result);
and persistently storing the constructed search index (see paragraph [0044]; once created, the constructed search indices are stored).
Huang does not appear to explicitly teach:
into a healthcare system,
(a) compliant with a document manifest template specified by a data producer within the healthcare system,
wherein a selected one of the plurality of document attributes for which a subset of the plurality of document manifests contain a value that is a reference to a dataset associated with the document to which the document manifest of the subset corresponds,
the method further comprising: for each of the document manifests of the subset:
causing the dataset referenced by the document manifest's value for the selected document attribute to be crawled to obtain crawling results,
and wherein the obtained crawling results are also used in constructing the search index; and
receiving an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected published document in the set of published documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template corresponding to the document manifest, wherein the indication is also used in constructing the search index;
and causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Pidduck teaches each of the document manifests (a) compliant with rules (see paragraphs [0036] and [0059]; the system has means to verify that the manifest/metadata field values are compliant).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the indexing process of Huang by incorporating analysis means to evaluate aspects of the object/document including metadata fields as taught by Pidduck in order to provide indications of when document metadata contain errors without having to provide indicators for each field and instead provide means to have a consolidated field that is stored and indexed where the consolidated value is representative of the cumulative errors/discrepancies in the document’s metadata and can be used by users assess the quality or authenticity of documents based on their metadata errors when deciding which documents/search results the user would want to review/read.
Huang in view of Pidduck do not appear to explicitly teach:
into a healthcare system,
(a) compliant with a document manifest template specified by a data producer within the healthcare system,
wherein a selected one of the plurality of document attributes for which a subset of the plurality of document manifests contain a value that is a reference to a dataset associated with the document to which the document manifest of the subset corresponds,
the method further comprising: for each of the document manifests of the subset:
causing the dataset referenced by the document manifest's value for the selected document attribute to be crawled to obtain crawling results,
and wherein the obtained crawling results are also used in constructing the search index; and
receiving an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected published document in the set of published documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template corresponding to the document manifest, wherein the indication is also used in constructing the search index;
and causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Myslinski teaches a healthcare system (see paragraphs [0271] and [0441]; the system can be utilized in many systems including healthcare which utilizes medical databases).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the document index and search system of Huang in view of Pidduck by having the enterprise database relate to healthcare as taught by Myslinski in order to provide greater flexibility of the system to be able to be utilized/adapted for a wide variety of enterprises and organizations.
Huang in view of Pidduck and Myslinski teach a method of integrating a computing system into a healthcare system, comprising: (a) compliant with a document manifest template specified by a data producer within the healthcare system (see Pidduck, paragraphs [0036] and [0059]; see Huang, paragraphs [0030] and [0019]; see Myslinski, paragraphs [0271] and [0441]; the system will have various rules to verify the compliancy or errors of the template/metadata of the particular document types).
Huang in view of Pidduck and Myslinski do not appear to explicitly teach:
wherein a selected one of the plurality of document attributes for which a subset of the plurality of document manifests contain a value that is a reference to a dataset associated with the document to which the document manifest of the subset corresponds,
the method further comprising: for each of the document manifests of the subset:
causing the dataset referenced by the document manifest's value for the selected document attribute to be crawled to obtain crawling results,
and wherein the obtained crawling results are also used in constructing the search index; and
receiving an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected published document in the set of published documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template corresponding to the document manifest, wherein the indication is also used in constructing the search index;
and causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Bendik teaches wherein a selected one of the plurality of document attributes for which a subset of the plurality of document manifests contain a value that is a reference to a dataset associated with the document to which the document manifest of the subset corresponds (see paragraph [0009] and Figure 1; document metadata can include links).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the metadata files of Huang in view of Pidduck and Myslinski by including other attributes such as URLs as taught by Bendik in order to allow a document to be linked to other related documents that are pertinent to the document being analyzed thus helping the system and users of the system to be able to easily recognize and utilize those related/linked documents if needed without the user having to manually attempt to plan, conduct, and evaluate a search session to find additional information about the document being reviewed since the system already has identified related documents.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, and Bendik do not appear to explicitly teach:
the method further comprising: for each of the document manifests of the subset:
causing the dataset referenced by the document manifest's value for the selected document attribute to be crawled to obtain crawling results,
and wherein the obtained crawling results are also used in constructing the search index; and
receiving an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected published document in the set of published documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template corresponding to the document manifest, wherein the indication is also used in constructing the search index;
and causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Wei teaches causing the dataset referenced by the document to be crawled to obtain crawling results, and wherein the obtained crawling results are also used in constructing the search index (see paragraph [0004]; the system can detect links associated with a document currently being crawled and then proceed to crawl those documents associated with those URLs/references).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the index generation and dataset acquiring process of Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, and Bendik by incorporating crawlers to be able to acquire links/URLs and subsequently crawl them as taught by Bendik in order to allow the system to expand its data collection so that the data collection can be dynamically increased whenever new URLs/references are found thus helping to find and present additional documents and information to users of the system without the data collection becoming stale while waiting for a user to manually create and publish/load/store a new document to the system.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, Bendik, and Wei teach the method further comprising: for each of the document manifests of the subset: causing the dataset referenced by the document manifest's value for the selected document attribute to be crawled to obtain crawling results, and wherein the obtained crawling results are also used in constructing the search index (see Bendik, paragraph [0009] and Figure 1; see Huang, paragraphs [0028]-[0029]; see Wei, paragraph [0004]; document metadata can include links where the system can crawl and index documents by following those links).
Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, Bendik, and Wei do not appear to explicitly teach receiving an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected published document in the set of published documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template corresponding to the document manifest, wherein the indication is also used in constructing the search index;
and causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Goldenstein teaches receiving an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected published document in the set of published documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template corresponding to the document manifest (see paragraphs [0137], [0284], and [0291]; the system can receive veracity ranking from experts to determine the accuracy or truthfulness of the article/document).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the published document system of Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, Bendik, and Wei by incorporating means for identified persons/experts be able to attest to the accuracy/veracity of the published document as taught by Goldenstein in order to help assist users of the system to be able to quickly see how experts view the discussions/alleged facts in published documents thus helping users not only be able to discern which documents are most reliable/accurate thereby saving the user time from having to read numerous documents and attempt to figure out which documents are actually accurate.
Myslinski additionally teaches wherein the indication is also used in constructing the search index (see paragraphs [0367]; the system allows for ratings including accuracy/veracity scores to be indexed which can then be used to help search for and find desired articles/documents).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the document index and search system of Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, Bendik, Wei, and Goldenstein by incorporating fact checking indications/scores as part of the index as taught by Myslinski in order to allow users to be able to utilize associated veracity/accuracy scores to help search for particular types of content including filter/reducing the search results to some prescribed level of accuracy thus helping the user to have a reduced set of results to have to review thereby saving the user time and effort of having to manually review all the search results to determine if the result is relevant to their search goals;
Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document (see Myslinski, paragraph [0098], [0299]-[0300]; the system is able to provide an indication or indicator about the respective information/search results including a certification level such as iconic/graphical representation or color coded certification level).
With regard to claim 2, Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach receiving a query specifying a particular value for each of one or more of the plurality of document attributes; and applying the received query against the constructed search index to generate a query result identifying published documents of the set satisfying the received query (see Huang, Figure 4A and paragraphs [0043], [0046], and [0049]; the system can receive a query and utilize the search indices to find the respective results).
With regard to claim 5, Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach receiving automatic certification results for a selected published document of the set reflecting, for each of one or more different certification levels, whether the document manifest of the selected published document populates a subset of the document attributes defined in the manifest template that are specified for the certification level, wherein the automatic certification results are also used in constructing the search index (see Pidduck, see paragraphs [0026], [0036], and [0039]-[0042]; see Huang, paragraphs [0035] and [0043]-[0046]; the system can analyze the metadata files of the documents to construct a search index and also determine an error level or certification level representing the quality of the document’s metadata completeness and correctness).
With regard to claim 6, Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach for each of the plurality of document manifests, receiving the document manifest in connection with publication of the published document to which the document manifest corresponds; and persistently storing the received document manifest in a document manifest repository (see Bendik, Figure 2 and paragraph [0032] and [0034] and [0057]; the metadata files or document manifests/profiles can be utilized with the system with the index including updating any indices based on newly created documents and their respective document manifest/profile).
With regard to claim 12, Huang teaches one or more instances of non-transitory computer-readable media, the one or more instances of non-transitory computer-readable media collectively having contents (see paragraph [0008]) configured to cause a computing system integrated
receiving a document search query that specifies values of one or more document attributes among a plurality of document attributes in a document manifest (see Figure 4A and paragraphs [0028] and [0052]; the system can receive a search query with values for various document attributes);
and applying the received query to a search index covering a set of documents to identify documents of the set for each of which a document manifest has been submitted that indicates that the identified document has the values specified by the received query for the corresponding one or more document attributes to identify a received query result (see Figure 4A and paragraphs [0043], [0046], and [0049]; the system can receive a query and utilize the search indices to find the respective results).
Huang does not appear to explicitly teach:
into a healthcare system,
a document manifest that is compliant with a document manifest template specified by a data producer within the healthcare system;
wherein at least one of the submitted document manifests contains a value that is a reference to a dataset associated with the document to which the document manifest corresponds, and the dataset referenced has been crawled to obtain crawling results, and wherein the obtained crawling results are used in constructing the search index, and wherein at least one of the submitted document manifests includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected document in the set of documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template;
and causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Pidduck teaches a document manifest that is compliant with rules (see paragraphs [0036] and [0059]; the system has means to verify that the manifest/metadata field values are compliant; [per the 35 USC 112 rejections above, document manifest template being compliant is construed as the document manifest being compliant with a document manifest template).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the indexing process of Huang by incorporating analysis means to evaluate aspects of the object/document including metadata fields as taught by Pidduck in order to provide indications of when document metadata contain errors without having to provide indicators for each field and instead provide means to have a consolidated field that is stored and indexed where the consolidated value is representative of the cumulative errors/discrepancies in the document’s metadata and can be used by users assess the quality or authenticity of documents based on their metadata errors when deciding which documents/search results the user would want to review/read.
Huang in view of Pidduck do not appear to explicitly teach:
into a healthcare system,
a document manifest that is compliant with a document manifest template specified by a data producer within the healthcare system;
wherein at least one of the submitted document manifests contains a value that is a reference to a dataset associated with the document to which the document manifest corresponds, and the dataset referenced has been crawled to obtain crawling results, and wherein the obtained crawling results are used in constructing the search index, and wherein at least one of the submitted document manifests includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected document in the set of documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template;
and causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Myslinski teaches a healthcare system (see paragraphs [0271] and [0441]; the system can be utilized in many systems including healthcare which utilizes medical databases).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the document index and search system of Huang in view of Pidduck by having the enterprise database relate to healthcare as taught by Myslinski in order to provide greater flexibility of the system to be able to be utilized/adapted for a wide variety of enterprises and organizations.
Huang in view of Pidduck and Myslinski teach cause a computing system integrated into a healthcare system to perform a method, compliant with a document manifest template specified by a data producer within the healthcare system (see Pidduck, paragraphs [0036] and [0059]; see Huang, paragraphs [0030] and [0019]; see Myslinski, paragraphs [0271] and [0441]; the system will have various rules to verify the compliancy or errors of the template/metadata of the particular document types).
Huang in view of Pidduck and Myslinski do not appear to explicitly teach wherein at least one of the submitted document manifests contains a value that is a reference to a dataset associated with the document to which the document manifest corresponds, and the dataset referenced has been crawled to obtain crawling results, and wherein the obtained crawling results are used in constructing the search index, and wherein at least one of the submitted document manifests includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected document in the set of documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template;
and causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Bendik teaches wherein at least one of the submitted document manifests contains a value that is a reference to a dataset associated with the document to which the document manifest corresponds (see paragraph [0009] and Figure 1; document metadata can include links).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the metadata files of Huang in view of Pidduck and Myslinski by including other attributes such as URLs as taught by Bendik in order to allow a document to be linked to other related documents that are pertinent to the document being analyzed thus helping the system and users of the system to be able to easily recognize and utilize those related/linked documents if needed without the user having to manually attempt to plan, conduct, and evaluate a search session to find additional information about the document being reviewed since the system already has identified related documents.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, and Bendik do not appear to explicitly teach:
the dataset referenced has been crawled to obtain crawling results, and wherein the obtained crawling results are used in constructing the search index, and wherein at least one of the submitted document manifests includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected document in the set of documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template;
and causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Wei teaches the dataset referenced has been crawled to obtain crawling results (see paragraph [0004]; the system can detect links associated with a document currently being crawled and then proceed to crawl those documents associated with those URLs/references).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the index generation and dataset acquiring process of Huang in view of Bendik by incorporating crawlers to be able to acquire links/URLs and subsequently crawl them as taught by Bendik in order to allow the system to expand its data collection so that the data collection can be dynamically increased whenever new URLs/references are found thus helping to find and present additional documents and information to users of the system without the data collection becoming stale while waiting for a user to manually create and publish/load/store a new document to the system.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, Bendik, and Wei teach the dataset referenced has been crawled to obtain crawling results, and wherein the obtained crawling results are used in constructing the search index (see Bendik, paragraph [0009] and Figure 1; see Huang, paragraphs [0028]-[0029]; see Wei, paragraph [0004]; document metadata can include links where the system can crawl and index documents by following those links).
Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, Bendik, and Wei do not appear to explicitly teach wherein at least one of the submitted document manifests includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected document in the set of documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template;
and causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Goldenstein teaches an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected document in the set of documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template (see paragraphs [0137], [0284], and [0291]; the system can receive veracity ranking from experts to determine the accuracy or truthfulness of the article/document).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the published document system of Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, Bendik, and Wei by incorporating means for identified persons/experts be able to attest to the accuracy/veracity of the published document as taught by Goldenstein in order to help assist users of the system to be able to quickly see how experts view the discussions/alleged facts in published documents thus helping users not only be able to discern which documents are most reliable/accurate thereby saving the user time from having to read numerous documents and attempt to figure out which documents are actually accurate.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, Bendik, Wei, and Goldenstein do not appear to explicitly teach wherein at least one of the submitted document manifests includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected document in the set of documents according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template;
and causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Myslinski additionally teaches wherein at least one of the submitted document manifests includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of a selected document
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the document index and search system of Huang in view of Pidduck, Myslinski, Bendik, Wei, and Goldenstein by incorporating fact checking indications/scores as part of the index as taught by Myslinski in order to allow users to be able to utilize associated veracity/accuracy scores to help search for particular types of content including filter/reducing the search results to some prescribed level of accuracy thus helping the user to have a reduced set of results to have to review thereby saving the user time and effort of having to manually review all the search results to determine if the result is relevant to their search goals.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach causing a user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document (see Myslinski, paragraph [0098], [0299]-[0300]; the system is able to provide an indication or indicator about the respective information/search results including a certification level such as iconic/graphical representation or color coded certification level).
With regard to claim 13, Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach causing to be presented a query entry user interface comprising, for each of the plurality of document attributes specified by the document manifest template, a user interface control operable by user input to specify a value of the document attribute, and wherein receiving the query comprises receiving user input operating user interface controls among the presented user interface controls to specify the values specified by the received query (see Huang, Figure 4A and paragraph [0052]; the user interface provides means to receive user input for the various document attributes in order to conduct a search).
With regard to claim 14, Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach the method further comprising: causing at least a portion of a query result conveying the identified documents of the set to be visually presented (see Huang, paragraph [0049] and [0056]; the system can provide some portion of the query result to be visually presented to the user).
With regard to claim 15, Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach wherein the visual presentation includes, for a distinguished one of the identified documents, a visual indication that the document has been either vouched for by an identified person or has been certified at an identified level (see Myslinski, paragraph [0318] and [0183]; the system can provide some sort of visual indication based on the certified level of the document).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al [US 2018/0089335 A1] in view of Pidduck [US 2014/0181056 A1], Wei et al [US 2011/0022596 A1], Bendik [US 2002/0002563 A1], Myslinski [US 2013/0151240], and Goldenstein et al [US 2019/0179861 A1] in further view of Neumann [US 2015/0379618 A1].
With regard to claim 16, Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach all the claim limitations of claims 12 and 14 as discussed above.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski do not appear to explicitly teach causing display of visual indications of a subset of the plurality of document attributes; receiving user input selecting one of the visual indications; and in response to the receiving, causing at least a portion of the query result to be re-displayed with the identified documents in an order reflecting the values of the document attribute whose visual indication was selected specified by the identified documents' document manifests
Neumann teaches causing display of visual indications of a subset of the plurality of attributes; receiving user input selecting one of the visual indications; and in response to the receiving, causing at least a portion of the query result to be re-displayed with the identified results in an order reflecting the values of the attribute whose visual indication was selected specified by the results (see Neumann, paragraph [0148]; Figure 5, UI 520; the system allows users to be able to sort the results based on attributes).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to search result presentation process of Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski by incorporating means to be able to sort results as taught by Neumann in order to allow the user of the system to be able to arrange results in a manner pleasing to the user such that some ordering is applied to the results including chronological or ascending/descending order.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski in further view of Neumann teach causing display of visual indications of a subset of the plurality of document attributes; receiving user input selecting one of the visual indications; and in response to the receiving, causing at least a portion of the query result to be re-displayed with the identified documents in an order reflecting the values of the document attribute whose visual indication was selected specified by the identified documents' document manifests (see Huang, paragraph [0022]; see Neumann, paragraph [0148]; Figure 5, UI 520; the system allows users to be able to sort the results based on attributes).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al [US 2018/0089335 A1] in view of Pidduck [US 2014/0181056 A1], Bendik [US 2002/0002563 A1], Wei et al [US 2011/0022596 A1], Bendik [US 2002/0002563 A1], Myslinski [US 2013/0151240], and Goldenstein et al [US 2019/0179861 A1] in further view of Mital et al [US 2011/0314400 A1].
With regard to claim 17, Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach all the claim limitations of claims 12 and 14 as discussed above.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski do not appear to explicitly teach causing display of visual indications of, for a distinguished document attribute, two or more ranges each of one or more valid values of the distinguished document attribute; receiving user input selecting one of the visual indications; and in response to the receiving, causing at least a portion of the query result to be re-displayed omitting any identified documents whose corresponding document manifest does do not specify for the distinguished document attribute a value in the range of the visual indication that was selected.
Mital teaches causing display of visual indications of, for a distinguished document attribute, two or more ranges each of one or more valid values of the distinguished document attribute; receiving user input selecting one of the visual indications; and in response to the receiving (see Figure 5 and paragraphs [0087]-[0088]; the system allows a user interface with visualizations of ranges for the attributes to be displayed to the user and allow user to interactively interact with those visual indicators to select conditions on the respective attribute ranges).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to search result presentation process of Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski by incorporating range filters as taught by Mital in order to help users find their desired data by being able to filter or refine the result set without having to perform a new search from scratch or having to only have one value for an attribute thereby allowing the results to reflect all of the desired values for attribute(s) that the user desires in their result set.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski in further view of Mital teach causing at least a portion of the query result to be re-displayed omitting any identified documents whose document manifests do not specify for the distinguished document attribute a value in the range of the visual indication that was selected (see Mital, paragraphs [0003] and [0087]-[0088]; see Huang, paragraphs [0022]; the system allows users to provide filtering criteria that will result in a filtered data set).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al [US 2018/0089335 A1] in view of Pidduck [US 2014/0181056 A1], Bendik [US 2002/0002563 A1], Wei et al [US 2011/0022596 A1], Bendik [US 2002/0002563 A1], Myslinski [US 2013/0151240], and Goldenstein et al [US 2019/0179861 A1] in further view of Shakib et al [US 2008/0005118 A1].
With regard to claim 18, Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach all the claim limitations of claims 12 and 14 as discussed above.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski do not appear to explicitly teach wherein a selected one of the plurality of document attributes for which some or all of the document manifests contain a value that is a document category among a plurality of document categories to which the document to which the document manifest corresponds belongs, the method further comprising: causing display of visual indications of at least a portion of the plurality of document categories; receiving user input selecting one of the visual indications; and in response to the receiving, causing at least a portion of the query result to be re-displayed omitting any identified documents whose document manifests do not specify for the selected document attribute a value matching the document category whose visual indication was selected.
Shakib teaches wherein a selected one of the plurality of document attributes for which some or all of the document manifests contain a value that is a document category among a plurality of document categories to which the document to which the document manifest corresponds belongs (see paragraph [0034]; topic/category can be an attribute with respective value for the document), the method further comprising:
causing display of visual indications of at least a portion of the plurality of document categories; receiving user input selecting one of the visual indications; and in response to the receiving, causing at least a portion of the query result to be re-displayed omitting any identified documents whose document manifests do not specify for the selected document attribute a value matching the document category whose visual indication was selected (see Figure 7 and paragraphs [0030] and [0034]; the user can select particular information to filter the results to only those that match the selected attribute value such as selected topic/category value).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to search result presentation process of Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski by incorporating category/topic metadata and respective result filter for that attribute as taught by Shakib in order to utilize additional metadata information that helps identify the topic of the respective documents so that users will be able to not only search on other document attributes but can also focus or refine their search to particular topic(s) of interest thus helping the user to find their desired results sooner without having to guess what the topic is for documents and have to read the documents to determine if they recite information relevant to the topic that the user wants information about.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al [US 2018/0089335 A1] in view of Pidduck [US 2014/0181056 A1], Bendik [US 2002/0002563 A1], Wei et al [US 2011/0022596 A1], Bendik [US 2002/0002563 A1], Myslinski [US 2013/0151240], and Goldenstein et al [US 2019/0179861 A1] in further view of Ferrari et al [US 2002/0083039 A1].
With regard to claim 19, Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach all the claim limitations of claims 12 and 14 as discussed above.
Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski do not appear to explicitly teach wherein a selected one of the plurality of document attributes for which some or all of the document manifests contain a value that is a document hierarchy node among a plurality of document hierarchy nodes making up a document hierarchy tree to which the document to which the document manifest corresponds belongs, the method further comprising: causing display of a visual representation of at least a portion of the document hierarchy tree; receiving user input selecting one of the document hierarchy nodes shown in the visual representation; and in response to the receiving, causing at least a portion of the query result to be re-displayed omitting any identified documents whose document manifests do not specify for the selected document attribute a value matching the document hierarchy node that was selected.
Ferrari teaches wherein a selected one of the plurality of document attributes for which some or all of the document manifests contain a value that is a document hierarchy node among a plurality of document hierarchy nodes making up a document hierarchy tree to which the document to which the document manifest corresponds belongs (see paragraphs [0084] and [0098] and Figures 14A-14C and 17; the system can have attributes associated with navigation/hierarchical states that allow the system to be able to allow hierarchical navigation of the document dataset), the method further comprising:
causing display of a visual representation of at least a portion of the document hierarchy tree; receiving user input selecting one of the document hierarchy nodes shown in the visual representation; and in response to the receiving, causing at least a portion of the query result to be re-displayed omitting any identified documents whose document manifests do not specify for the selected document attribute a value matching the document hierarchy node that was selected (see Figure 17 and paragraphs [0056]-[0057], [0075], and [0098]-[0099]; the user can browse a collection by iteratively refining particular attributes and respective values which will subsequently edit the results that are presented to the user).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the document search and retrieval system of Huang in view of Pidduck, Bendik, Wei, Goldenstein, and Myslinski by being able to browse and filter documents based on user input as taught by Ferrari in order to allow users of the system to not only be able to search for documents via a query but also be able to browse for documents via a category/hierarchy while still being able to provide interactive input to help filter results that don’t match the criteria/attributes that the user is looking for thereby helping the user find documents without strictly relying on the user having to know the right keywords to enter into a search field.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bendik [US 2002/0002563 A1] in view of Horowitz et al [US 2017/0262440 A1], Huang et al [US 2018/0089335 A1], Myslinski [US 2013/0151240], and Goldenstein et al [US 2019/0179861 A1].
With regard to claim 7, Bendik teaches a method of integrating a computer system
using the document manifest template to generate a first user interface for collecting document manifest values of some or all of a plurality of document attributes for a first document as a basis for constructing a document manifest for the first document; presenting the first user interface to a first user; receiving, by the first user interface, document manifest values of some or all of the plurality of document attributes for a first document in a set of documents as a basis for constructing a document manifest for the first document; storing the received document manifest values as a document manifest for the first document (see Figure 8 and paragraphs [0062] and [0066]; a user interface can be generated to allow users to enter values for the fields);
Bendik does not appear to explicitly teach:
into a healthcare system,
a data producer within the healthcare system,
second information specifying valid values of the document attribute to identify a query result;
wherein at least one of the document manifest values includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of the first document according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template;
causing the first user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document;
generating, from the plurality of first entries, a second user interface for collecting search values of some or all of the plurality of document attributes as a basis for constructing a search query for documents whose document manifests contain the collective values; presenting the second user interface to a second user; and receiving, by the second user interface, search values for some or all of the plurality of document attributes as a basis for constructing a search query for documents whose document manifests contain the search values.
Horowitz teaches second information specifying valid values of the document attribute to identify a query result (see paragraph [0064]; the system allows users when defining the template/schema to be able to define acceptable values or ranges for the attributes/elements).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the document profile storage system of Bendik by providing means to allow users to not only create document profiles but also define the acceptable ranges or values for the attribute as taught by Horowitz in order to help improve the data integrity of the documents by ensuring that the data for the various fields comply with what the actual fields represent, in other words the storage system will not permit obviously wrong data from being stored with documents.
Bendik in view of Horowitz teach querying for data but do not appear to explicitly teach:
into a healthcare system,
a data producer within the healthcare system,
wherein at least one of the document manifest values includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of the first document according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template;
causing the first user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document;
generating, from the plurality of first entries, a second user interface for collecting search values of some or all of the plurality of document attributes as a basis for constructing a search query for documents whose document manifests contain the collective values; presenting the second user interface to a second user; and receiving, by the second user interface, search values for some or all of the plurality of document attributes as a basis for constructing a search query for documents whose document manifests contain the search values.
Huang teaches generating, from the plurality of first entries, a second user interface for collecting search values of some or all of the plurality of document attributes as a basis for constructing a search query for documents whose document manifests contain the collective values; presenting the second user interface to a second user; and receiving, by the second user interface, search values for some or all of the plurality of document attributes as a basis for constructing a search query for documents whose document manifests contain the search values (see Figure 4A; paragraphs [0043], [0046], and [0049]; a user interface is generated to collect values to construct a search to find documents with document manifests/metadata/profile matching the search query).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the document storage and retrieval system of Bendik in view of Horowitz by providing means to utilize graphical user interfaces with prompts for the different document attribute fields as taught by Huang in order to not only be able to search the various document attributes but also enhance the searching capability of the user by being able to specify particular values for the various document attributes that the user is searching for thereby reducing the amount of time the user has to spend when doing a strict text-only search to peruse the search results and attempting to apply filters after receiving search results when the user can automatically apply filters to the document collection during the search time.
Bendik in view of Horowitz and Huang do not appear to explicitly teach: into a healthcare system, a data producer within the healthcare system, wherein at least one of the document manifest values includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of the first document according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template;
causing the first user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Goldenstein teaches an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of the first document according to vouching criteria distinct from the document manifest template (see paragraphs [0137], [0284], and [0291]; the system can receive veracity ranking from experts to determine the accuracy or truthfulness of the article/document).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the published document system of Bendik in view of Horowitz and Huang by incorporating means for identified persons/experts be able to attest to the accuracy/veracity of the published document as taught by Goldenstein in order to help assist users of the system to be able to quickly see how experts view the discussions/alleged facts in published documents thus helping users not only be able to discern which documents are most reliable/accurate thereby saving the user time from having to read numerous documents and attempt to figure out which documents are actually accurate.
Bendik in view of Horowitz, Huang, and Goldenstein do not appear to explicitly teach into a healthcare system, a data producer within the healthcare system, wherein at least one of the document manifest values includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of the first document;
causing the first user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document.
Myslinski teaches into a healthcare system, a data producer within the healthcare system (paragraphs [0271] and [0441]; the system can be utilized in many systems including healthcare which utilizes medical databases),
wherein at least one of the document manifest values includes an indication that an identified person has vouched for the reliability of the first document (see paragraphs [0367]; the system allows for ratings including accuracy/veracity scores to be indexed which can then be used to help search for and find desired articles/documents).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the document index and search system of Bendik in view of Horowitz, Huang, and Goldenstein by incorporating fact checking indications/scores as part of the index as well as being able to have a database system for an enterprise be a healthcare system as taught by Myslinski in order to allow users to be able to utilize associated veracity/accuracy scores to help search for particular types of content including filter/reducing the search results to some prescribed level of accuracy thus helping the user to have a reduced set of results to have to review thereby saving the user time and effort of having to manually review all the search results to determine if the result is relevant to their search goals as well as being versatile and adaptable to many different enterprise fields including healthcare.
Bendik in view of Horowitz, Huang, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach causing the first user interface to display a visual indication for the document in the query result, the visual indication comprising one or more of a group consisting of: a certification level, a vouching status, a name of the identified person who vouched for the document, and a link to information about the identified person who vouched for the document (see Myslinski, paragraph [0098], [0299]-[0300]; the system is able to provide an indication or indicator about the respective information/search results including a certification level such as iconic/graphical representation or color coded certification level).
With regard to claim 8, Bendik in view of Horowitz, Huang, Goldenstein, and Myslinski teach wherein the plurality of document attributes comprise one or more document attributes selected from among: title; description; author identity; author contact information; owner identity; owner contact information; publication date; effective date; category; hierarchy node; type of included or associated data; source of included or associated data; lineage of included or associated data; example of included or associated data; reference to included or associated data; and associated application programming interface (see Bendik Figure 8; various document attributes can be used by the system).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (see the first paragraph on page 9 through the last paragraph on page 17) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the cited prior art references do not teach all the claim limitations including the amended limitation of causing the user interface to display a visual indication. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As illustrated in the 35 USC 103 rejections above, the combination of references provide means to display indicators to convey information to the user including the accuracy/validity of the webpages/documents/search results (see Myslinksi, paragraph [0098]). This indicator, whether as a meter or color coded relates to the claimed certification level. The Examiner notes that the amended claim limitation recites various visual indication options with at least the certification level being recited at a high-level of generality, i.e. recited very broadly.
The Examiner recommends either (i) further describing the certification level in a manner to differentiate from the teachings of Myslinksi, (ii) indicating that there are at least two of the visual indications, or (iii) discuss similar to Figure 9 that the system has means to determine if document has data associated with it for any of the types of visual indications and displaying the document with all applicable visual indications (or something similar to capture the concept in Figure 9 that shows result 910 with multiple icons including certification level, vouching icon, and name/link of vouching person while the same set of results have result 920 with none of those indications and document result 940 only has visual indication of certification level). Additionally, as indicated in last action, focus on the vouch for visual indication including displaying name and link.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC S SOMERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159 4/16/2026