Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation of La1, La3, etc. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, these ligands will be understood to mean those of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-8, and 10-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Choi et al (US 20210122774 A1).
Choi disclose organometallic compounds for OLEDs comprising the formula 1: M(L1)n1 (L2)n2, wherein M is a transition metal, L1 is of the formula 1-1 and L2 is of the formula 1-2:
in which L1 reads on the claimed Ligand La wherein X2 is N, L2 reads on the claimed Ligand Lb and Lc [008-0014], and wherein in formula 1-1 of Choi’s Formula 1-1, the CY1 ring includes many embodiments that read on the bottom ring in claimed Formula 1, for instance Formula CY1-16 [p8]:
wherein when a12 is one or more and R61 is anything other than hydrogen from the list of substituents suitable [0112-0121], R61 reads on a claimed Ry, and the claimed Ry at Y2 is an alkyl joined to form a ring with Rz that is also an alkyl group. The preferred metal is iridium [0122] and R61 includes methyl and deuterated methyl [0112-0121]. The OLED may emit red light and the light emitting layer may include hosts according to the claims [0129, 0174 et seq].
This rejection is made under both 35 USC 102 anticipation and 35 USC 103 obviousness. Examiner holds the opinion that the since every embodiment of the substituent R61 in CY1-16 and similar sub-ligand structures, other than hydrogen, reads on the Markusch group of the claimed Ry of Y1 and Y3, and since methyl would be the most immediately envisaged substituent for the disclosed R61 of Choi, then it would allow the ordinarily skilled artisan to readily envisage the claimed Ry of the Markusch and methyl, therefore the claims are anticipated.
In the alternative, the claims are certainly obvious over the combination of elements disclosed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of Applicant’s invention to have prepared the claimed combination of elements from the disclosure of Choi because each of the claimed elements is disclosed and used in the same capacity, and the skilled artisan would only need to choose between the disclosed options without any modification to the teachings of Choi.
Case law confirms that the mere fact that a reference suggests a multitude of possible combinations does not in and of itself make any one of those combinations less obvious. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 22 must also be rewritten to overcome the 112 rejection above. Examiner suggests making claim 11 (the intervening claim) dependent from claim 9, which defines the La ligands of claim 22.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art, Wang et al (CN 110922432 A), discloses an OLED comprising a red compound [Example 1] having the formula:
This differs from the claims in that it does not have at least one of X1 to X4 being N in the claimed formula 1.
Choi et al (US 20210122774 A1), discussed above, approximates some of the claimed Ligands La of claim 9 with condensed cyclopentyl and cyclohexyl with, for example, sub-ligands such as CY1-16 (compared to claimed La790) and CY1-23 compared to (La824):
But in CY1-23 the X2 is only O or S, not the claimed C, and it would require excessive hindsight to arrive at ligands like La824 with their 3-ring-fused structure from the disclosuer of CY1-16 and the myriad of options for R61.
Hang et al (WO 2019056515 A1) discloses 3,4,5-trisubstituted phenyl groups in a quinoline-phenyl ligand with 4,6 substitutions on the quinoline, along with 3,5-disubstituted phenyl groups
but obviously does not contain the second N atom in X1 to X4 in the claimed formula 1.
Cao et al (CN 109053813 A) discloses trisubstituted phenyl groups in a quinoline-phenyl ligand, and dislcoses that the quinoline is equivalent to the aza-quinoline contianing ligands
Adamovitch et al (US 20190280213 A1) also discloses the emitter of the formula:
, which differs from the claims in that the claimed Rz group does not include a halogen. The vast majority of examples in Adamovitch are 3,5-disubstituted phenyl groups.
Applicant has shown, however, that the specific combination of the tri-substituted phenyl group, in combination with a quinoxaline (compound 92) significantly improves upon EQE over the di-substituted phenyl groups (compound RD-A) and causes a much farther red shift than the same compounds with tri-substituted phenyl and quinoline (compound RD-B) and a 4-monosubstituted phenyl group and quinoxaline (compound RD-C) [see Tables 2 and 3 of Applicant’s specification].
Previously applied structures of Boudreault et al (US 9484541 B2) and Adamovitch et al (US 20190280213 A1):
differ from the claims in that the rings formed from an Ry and Rz of claimed formula 1 do not fall within the scope of Ry and Rz joining to form a ring only when Ry and Rz are selected from the specific groups mentioned above, i.e., alkyl, cycloalkyl, heteroalkyl, heterocyclic group, aralkyl, alkoxy, aryloxy, alkylsilyl, arylsilyl, alkylgermanyl, arylgermanyl. The aromatic containing rings on the phenyl group of the main ligand do not fit within that scope.
MICHAEL M. DOLLINGER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1766
/MICHAEL M DOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766