DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda; Martino M. et al. US PGPUB 20200305167 A1, supported by provisional application 62366152 filed on 7/25/2016. (hereinafter ‘152)
In view of EHSAN; Navid et al. US 20140269475 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Freda teaches A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including resource information configuring a grant-free uplink transmission and information on a periodicity for the grant-free uplink transmission; ([0071] With SPS, a terminal may be provided with scheduling on a physical download control channel (PDCCH) to indicate a grant that is valid for every N.sup.th subframe. The periodicity or value of N, of the SPS resources is provided by radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
supported by ‘152 [0098])
the resource information including a plurality of offsets ([0110] The WTRU may receive multiple possible offsets in an RRC message configuring the SPS.
Supported by ‘152 [0106])
receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) activating the grant-free uplink transmission, ([0071] while the activation/deactivation and details of the resources is provided by PDCCH signaling using the SPS cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI). See ‘152 [0063])
the DCI including information indicating an offset among the plurality of offsets for the grant-free uplink transmission; ([0115] A SFN and/or subframe offset of the SPS, for example, a timing of one of the SPS resources, may be represented by any of the following: the absolute SFN and subframe of the first SPS resource with the other resources separated by the configured SPS period, the offset from a predefined fixed subframe (e.g. SFN 0 (mod x) and subframe 0), the offset from the start of the scheduling period associated with a sidelink resource pool, any/or the offset from the original transmission by the eNB of PDCCH with SPS C-RNTI, PDCCH with DCI format 5, or any similar PDCCH message used by the eNB to initiate the SPS resource allocation following its configuration.
See provisional application ‘152 page 24, line 2-6);
identifying a first subframe for a first transmission of the grant-free uplink transmission according to the offset obtained based on the DCI and the RRC message; ([0110] The WTRU may receive multiple possible offsets in an RRC message configuring the SPS. These offsets may be indicated as an offset from a specific SFN/subframe, either defined or provided in the same configuration, or as an offset from the initial resource configuration in the PDCCH message indicated by SPS C-RNTI which may allocate the SPS resources for the configuration the first time.
See provisional application ‘152 page 23 line 1)
wherein the offset indicates a time interval between a slot in which the DCI is received and the first slot; ([0115] [0115] A SFN and/or subframe offset of the SPS, for example, a timing of one of the SPS resources, may be represented by any of the following:… the offset from the original transmission by the eNB of PDCCH with SPS C-RNTI, PDCCH with DCI format 5, or any similar PDCCH message used by the eNB to initiate the SPS resource allocation following its configuration.)
and transmitting, to the base station, a plurality of second transmissions according to the grant-free uplink transmission in a plurality of second slots occurring with the periodicity after the first slot based on the information on the periodicity for the grant-free uplink transmission. ([0180] The WTRU, when selecting the data to be transmitted on an SPS resource may identify the periodicity associated with the SPS configuration associated with the specific SPS resource; select upper layer PDUs that require a matching periodicity for multiplexing into the MAC PDU to transmit)
Freda does not teach
identifying a first slot for a first transmission according to the offset obtained based on the DCI and the RRC message,
transmitting, to the base station, a first transmission according to the grant-free uplink transmission in the first slot;
However, Ehsan teaches
identifying a first slot for a first transmission according to the offset obtained based on the DCI and the RRC message, ([0067] The timing of the SPS grant for the additional uplink SPS transmission on PUSCH may be controlled by an explicit indication of an offset of activation time relative to a DRX on-duration…. one bit may be used to signal that the additional uplink SPS transmission on PUSCH should occur at the first subframe or slot of the DRX on-duration as indicated by DRX parameters. SPS activation is still needed to be signaled through PDCCH.
[0068] In another configuration using signaling, the timing of uplink SPS transmission may be adjusted through the use of RRC signaling. In this option, a new field may be added to the uplink SPS configuration parameters to specify an offset y relative to a preceding subframe 910 that identifies a subsequent subframe 920 for an uplink SPS transmission on PUSCH 922. )
transmitting, to the base station, a first transmission according to the grant-free uplink transmission in the first slot; (Fig. 9B, SPS Tx on PUSCH vs. SPS activate during a DRX on-duration. [0065] FIG. 9a illustrates an example timeline resulting from a first implementation, wherein an eNB may maintain a UE in an awake state or on state. In this implementation, the eNB sends an SPS activation signal 904 4 ms before the first subframe 906 of a first DRX on-duration. This enables the UE to make an uplink SPS transmission on PUSCH 908 during the first subframe 906 of the DRX on-duration.)
in order to increase system performance by increase the amount of off time with SPS grants during VoLTE talk time. ([0008])
Freda and Eshan are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Freda with the technique of SPS offset in Eshan in order to increase system performance.
Regarding claim 2. Freda and Eshan teach The method of claim 1, Freda teaches wherein the grant-free uplink transmission is configured by the RRC message to be performed based on the DCI activating the grant-free uplink transmission. ([0071] With SPS, a terminal may be provided with scheduling on a physical download control channel (PDCCH) to indicate a grant that is valid for every N.sup.th subframe. The periodicity or value of N, of the SPS resources is provided by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, while the activation/deactivation and details of the resources is provided by PDCCH signaling using the SPS cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI).)
Regarding claim 5. Freda teaches A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) message including resource information for a grant-free uplink transmission ([0084] Semi-persistent scheduling means a scheduling scheme of designating subframes SPS transmittable/receivable in UL or DL to a user equipment by RRC (radio resource control) signaling) and information on a periodicity for the grant-free uplink transmission; ([0071] With SPS, a terminal may be provided with scheduling on a physical download control channel (PDCCH) to indicate a grant that is valid for every N.sup.th subframe. The periodicity or value of N, of the SPS resources is provided by radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
supported by ‘152 [0098])
transmitting, to the terminal, downlink control information (DCI) activating the grant-free uplink transmission, ([0071] while the activation/deactivation and details of the resources is provided by PDCCH signaling using the SPS cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI). See ‘152 [0063])
the resource information including a plurality of offsets ([0110] The WTRU may receive multiple possible offsets in an RRC message configuring the SPS.
the DCI including information indicating an offset among the plurality of offsets for the grant-free uplink transmission; ([0115] A SFN and/or subframe offset of the SPS, for example, a timing of one of the SPS resources, may be represented by any of the following: the absolute SFN and subframe of the first SPS resource with the other resources separated by the configured SPS period, the offset from a predefined fixed subframe (e.g. SFN 0 (mod x) and subframe 0), the offset from the start of the scheduling period associated with a sidelink resource pool, any/or the offset from the original transmission by the eNB of PDCCH with SPS C-RNTI, PDCCH with DCI format 5, or any similar PDCCH message used by the eNB to initiate the SPS resource allocation following its configuration.
See provisional application ‘152 page 24, line 2-6);
the offset indicates a time interval between a slot in which the DCI is received and the first slot; ([0115] [0115] A SFN and/or subframe offset of the SPS, for example, a timing of one of the SPS resources, may be represented by any of the following:… the offset from the original transmission by the eNB of PDCCH with SPS C-RNTI, PDCCH with DCI format 5, or any similar PDCCH message used by the eNB to initiate the SPS resource allocation following its configuration.)
and receiving, from the terminal, a plurality of second transmissions according to the grant-free uplink transmission in a plurality of second slots occurring with the periodicity for the grant-free uplink transmission after the first slot based on the information on the periodicity for the grant-free uplink transmission. (([0180] The WTRU, when selecting the data to be transmitted on an SPS resource may identify the periodicity associated with the SPS configuration associated with the specific SPS resource; select upper layer PDUs that require a matching periodicity for multiplexing into the MAC PDU to transmit))
Freda does not teach
receiving, from the terminal, a first transmission according to the grant-free uplink transmission in a first slot, wherein the first slot is identified based on the offset among the plurality of offsets.
However, Ehsan teaches
receiving, from the terminal, a first transmission according to the grant-free uplink transmission in a first slot, ; (Fig. 9B, SPS Tx on PUSCH vs. SPS activate during a DRX on-duration. [0065] FIG. 9a illustrates an example timeline resulting from a first implementation, wherein an eNB may maintain a UE in an awake state or on state. In this implementation, the eNB sends an SPS activation signal 904 4 ms before the first subframe 906 of a first DRX on-duration. This enables the UE to make an uplink SPS transmission on PUSCH 908 during the first subframe 906 of the DRX on-duration.) wherein the first slot is identified based on the offset among the plurality of offsets. ([0067] The timing of the SPS grant for the additional uplink SPS transmission on PUSCH may be controlled by an explicit indication of an offset of activation time relative to a DRX on-duration…. one bit may be used to signal that the additional uplink SPS transmission on PUSCH should occur at the first subframe or slot of the DRX on-duration as indicated by DRX parameters. SPS activation is still needed to be signaled through PDCCH.
[0068] In another configuration using signaling, the timing of uplink SPS transmission may be adjusted through the use of RRC signaling. In this option, a new field may be added to the uplink SPS configuration parameters to specify an offset y relative to a preceding subframe 910 that identifies a subsequent subframe 920 for an uplink SPS transmission on PUSCH 922. )
in order to increase system performance by increase the amount of off time with SPS grants during VoLTE talk time. ([0008])
Freda and Eshan are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Freda with the technique of SPS offset in Eshan in order to increase system performance.
Regarding claim 6. Freda and Eshan teach The method of claim 5,and Freda teaches wherein the grant-free uplink transmission is configured by the RRC message to be performed based on the DCI activating the grant-free uplink transmission. ([0071] With SPS, a terminal may be provided with scheduling on a physical download control channel (PDCCH) to indicate a grant that is valid for every N.sup.th subframe. The periodicity or value of N, of the SPS resources is provided by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, while the activation/deactivation and details of the resources is provided by PDCCH signaling using the SPS cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI).)
Regarding claim 8-9.Freda and Eshan teach A terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit or receive a signal; (Freda Fig. 1B, 120) and a controller coupled with the transceiver (Freda Fig. 1B, 118) and configured to perform the method recited in claim 1-2. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12-13. Freda and Yang teach A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit or receive a signal; and a controller coupled with the transceiver (Freda [0023] The base station 114a may be part of the RAN 104, which may also include other base stations and/or network elements (not shown), such as a base station controller (BSC), a radio network controller (RNC), relay nodes, etc.) and configured to perform the method in claims 5-6. They are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 3, 7, 10 and 14 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FREDA and Eshan as applied to claim 1, 5, 8 and 12 above, further in view of Tseng; Li-Chih US PGPUB 20100058135 and LEE; Seungmin et al. US PGPUB 20190014564 A1
Regarding claim 3, Freda and Eshan teach The method of claim 1, they don’t teach
wherein the RRC message further comprises third information on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) for the grant-free uplink transmission, and wherein the DCI is scrambled with the RNTI for the grant-free uplink transmission.
However, Tseng teaches
wherein the RRC message further comprises third information on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) for the grant-free uplink transmission ([0007] the resources assigned by SPS are addressed to an SPS C-RNTI of the UE. The SPS C-RNTI is a UE specific identity assigned by Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer, and is manly used for activating or modifying SPS resources and for indicating SPS retransmissions.)
in order to avoid unexpected data combination between dynamically scheduled and semi-persistently scheduled data ([0010-0011])
Freda and Tseng are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Freda with the technique separate RNTI for DS and SPS in Tseng in order to avoid unexpected data combination.
Freda, Eshan and Tseng does not teach
wherein the DCI is scrambled with the RNTI for the grant-free uplink transmission.
However, Lee teaches
wherein the control message further comprises third information on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) for the grant-free uplink transmission, and wherein the DCI is scrambled with the RNTI for the grant-free uplink transmission.{[0157] FIG. 11 is a diagram showing a comparison between the existing (VoIP) uplink SPS activation/release DCI (first DCI) and the V2X uplink SPS activation/release DCI (second DCI) by applying the [Proposed Method #2]. … the first DCI may be CRC-scrambled by the SPS-C-RNTI (first RNTI), and the second DCI may be CRC-scrambled by the V2X-SPS-RNTI (second RNTI).}
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of second transmissions are transmitted until the grant-free uplink transmission is released.
in order to more efficiently manage and operate SPS process. ([0134])
Freda and LEE are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Freda with the technique of SPS offset configuration by DCI in Lee in order to more efficiently manage and operate SPS process.
Regarding claim 7. Freda and Eshan teach The method of claim 5, Freda and Yang does not teach wherein the RRC message further comprises third information on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) for the grant-free uplink transmission, wherein the DCI is scrambled with the RNTI for the grant-free uplink transmission, and wherein the plurality of second transmissions are received until the grant-free uplink transmission is released.
However, Tseng teaches
wherein the control message further comprises third information on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) for the grant-free uplink transmission ([0007] the resources assigned by SPS are addressed to an SPS C-RNTI of the UE. The SPS C-RNTI is a UE specific identity assigned by Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer, and is manly used for activating or modifying SPS resources and for indicating SPS retransmissions.)
in order to avoid unexpected data combination between dynamically scheduled and semi-persistently scheduled data ([0010-0011])
Freda and Tseng are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Freda with the technique separate RNTI for DS and SPS in Tseng in order to avoid unexpected data combination.
Freda, Eshan and Tseng does not teach
wherein the DCI is scrambled with the RNTI for the grant-free uplink transmission.
However, Lee teaches
wherein the control message further comprises third information on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) for the grant-free uplink transmission, and wherein the DCI is scrambled with the RNTI for the grant-free uplink transmission.{[0157] FIG. 11 is a diagram showing a comparison between the existing (VoIP) uplink SPS activation/release DCI (first DCI) and the V2X uplink SPS activation/release DCI (second DCI) by applying the [Proposed Method #2]. … the first DCI may be CRC-scrambled by the SPS-C-RNTI (first RNTI), and the second DCI may be CRC-scrambled by the V2X-SPS-RNTI (second RNTI).}
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of second transmissions are transmitted until the grant-free uplink transmission is released.
in order to more efficiently manage and operate SPS process. ([0134])
Freda and LEE are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Freda with the technique of SPS offset configuration by DCI in Lee in order to more efficiently manage and operate SPS process.
Regarding claim 10. Freda, Eshan, Lee and Tseng teach The terminal of claim 8, performing the method in claim 4. It is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 14. Freda, Eshan, Lee and Tseng teach The base station of claim 12, performing the method in claim 7. It is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 4, 11 and 15 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda, and Eshan as applied to claim 1, 5, 8 and 12 above, further in view of LEE; Seungmin et al. US PGPUB 20190014564 A1,
Regarding claim 4. Freda and Eshan teach The method of claim 1, and they do not teach wherein the plurality of second transmissions are transmitted until the grant-free uplink transmission is released.
However, Lee teaches
wherein the plurality of second transmissions are transmitted until the grant-free uplink transmission is released. ([0144] The VoIP UL SPS activation DCI/VoIP UL SPS release DCI may be received through a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or an enhanced PDCCH (EPDCCH).)
in order to more efficiently manage and operate SPS process. ([0134])
Freda and LEE are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Freda with the technique of SPS offset configuration by DCI in Lee in order to more efficiently manage and operate SPS process.
Regarding claim 11. Freda, Eshan, and Lee teach A terminal in a wireless communication system of claim 8 configured to perform the method recited in claim 4. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15. Freda and Eshan teach The base station of claim 12 and they do not teach wherein the plurality of second transmissions are transmitted until the grant-free uplink transmission is released.
However, Lee teaches
wherein the plurality of second transmissions are transmitted until the grant-free uplink transmission is released. ([0144] The VoIP UL SPS activation DCI/VoIP UL SPS release DCI may be received through a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or an enhanced PDCCH (EPDCCH).)
in order to more efficiently manage and operate SPS process. ([0134])
Freda and LEE are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Freda with the technique of SPS offset configuration by DCI in Lee in order to more efficiently manage and operate SPS process.
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468