DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103:
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding independent claims 1 and 14 that none of the cited references either alone or in combination teaches or suggests (1) dynamically determining indoor/outdoor status of mobile devices based on their moving behaviors, (2) proactively filtering base station analysis within a constrained geospatial corridor between dynamic points, or (3) selectively delivering RF notifications only to relevant outdoor mobile devices moving along a rescue route. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Walsh et al. (US 20190080598 A1; hereafter Walsh) and Reed et al. (US 20080045234 A1; hereafter Reed) cures the deficiencies of Iun et al. (US 20230008967 Al; hereafter Iun).
Iun discloses dynamically determining indoor/outdoor status of mobile devices based on their moving behaviors. The outdoor status of the mobile device is described as the mobile device is carried by a vehicle per Applicant’s specification as filed [0031]. Iun discloses the outdoor status of the mobile device (i.e. UE) is determined based on motion of the vehicle into a network coverage area, for example, [0214] The UE 106 may, for example, start to appear in the coverage area of network 100…when the vehicle enters a cell coverage area. The indoor status of the mobile device as the mobile device is described as the mobile device is carried by a person per Applicant’s specification as filed [0031]). Iun further discloses the pedestrian mobile device (i.e. UE) is determined based on motion of the pedestrian, for example, [0196] pedestrian sensors 508 may be provided as suitable sensors (such as motion sensors, UE 106 location sensors etc.) configured to detect the location of pedestrians in or near the intersection. Referring to Fig 6, [0229] the sensor data indicative of a condition of a traffic
intersection may include sensor data indicative of any one or more of: ….[0231] a vehicular traffic
condition; [0232] a pedestrian traffic condition.
Iun further discloses proactively filtering base station analysis within a constrained geospatial corridor between dynamic points. Using map information, the base station uses an identifier to determine the next traffic intersection. For example, [0218] the traffic information hub 502 may determine the location of the vehicle 502…the Vehicle Location Server 512 using an identifier of the vehicle, and then determine the next traffic intersection.
Walsh cures the deficiencies of Iun and is relied up for disclosing the feature of selectively delivering RF notifications only to relevant outdoor mobile devices moving along a rescue route. Walsh describes the outdoor mobile devices as passenger vehicle user computing device for example, [0055] the passenger vehicle user computing device may be portable and associated with an individual within the passenger vehicle…may be a smartphone, a tablet computing device, wearable computing technology, or a cell phone. RF notifications are selected based on the outdoor mobile device being in an alert area (i.e. [0029] passenger vehicles are only alerted when there is likelihood that they will encounter an emergency vehicle), for example, [0057] The alert management computing device may also send a warning to the subset of passenger vehicles with vehicle zones at least partially overlapping with the alert zones. Such warnings may be transmitted via the passenger user computing devices.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Applicant argues there is no disclosure of using dynamic radio measurement data in real-time to support selective radio frequency notification delivery. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Iun discloses a radio network communication, for example, [0050] a traffic information hub in a radio communications network, the traffic. The data is measured dynamically in real-time, for example, [0224] a real-time traffic flow and control monitoring station 902 receives vehicle status information from the vehicle status and detection server 514. As previously explained, Walsh cures the deficiencies of Iun and is relied up for disclosing the feature of selective radio frequency notification delivery .
Regarding dependent claim 4, Applicant argues there is no teaching or suggestion in Iun that the communication interface of the cloud server is configured to receive measurement information (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, TA, etc.) from the base stations for the purpose of determining the positioned locations of mobile devices in real time, nor to facilitate a selective alerting mechanism that excludes indoor mobile devices. Examiner respectfully disagrees. For example, Fig 4, [0114] servers 116 configured to provide networking services, shows server 116 with communication interface for signal communication with the base station 104. As previously explained, Walsh cures the deficiencies of Iun and is relied up for disclosing the feature of facilitating a selective alerting mechanism that excludes indoor mobile devices.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Applicant argues Reed does not teach or suggest that the cloud server uses both signal-derived positioning and movement analysis to identify mobile devices on the fastest route and then uses that analysis to selectively notify only the relevant outdoor mobile devices. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Reed cures the deficiencies of Iun and is relied up for disclosing the feature of uses both signal-derived positioning and movement analysis to identify mobile devices on the fastest route. For example, [0473] monitor the location of a plurality of wireless devices 104 at the same time, which would be useful in such applications such as (for example) vehicle traffic monitoring so as to enable vehicle trip route planning for emergency medical service vehicles trying to find the fastest route of travel to a particular emergency by avoiding congested traffic areas. As previously explained, Walsh cures the deficiencies of Iun and is relied up for disclosing the feature of selectively notify only the relevant outdoor mobile devices.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Applicant argues Neither Iun, Walsh, nor Reed discloses that the cloud server selectively analyzes only the measurement information from a subset of base stations along the rescue path. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Iun discloses selectively analyzes only the measurement information from a subset of base stations along the rescue path. The rescue path is based on an identifier indicating that the vehicle is an emergency services vehicle, for example, [0243] the query may include an identifier to indicate that the vehicle is an emergency services vehicle (such as police, ambulance or fire vehicle). In response to the identifier, the traffic information hub 502 can control the traffic control infrastructure 406 to allow traffic ahead of the emergency vehicle (e.g. travelling in the same direction as the emergency vehicle) to clear the intersection.
For these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10,14, 16-18, 20-22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iun et al. (US 20230008967 A1; hereafter Iun) in view of Walsh et al. (US 20190080598 A1; hereafter Walsh) in further view of Reed (US 20080045234 A1; hereafter Reed).
Regarding claim 1, Iun teaches the system of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route ([0201] Base stations…using known Radio Access Technologies (RATs) such as 5G…the vehicle status data may also include information identifying a planned route of the vehicle) and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way ([0243] control the traffic control infrastructure 406 to allow traffic ahead of the emergency vehicle (e.g. travelling in the same direction as the emergency vehicle) to clear the intersection) which is suitable to link with a plurality of mobile devices of a plurality of vehicles (Fig 4 shows a plurality of mobile devices-106 of a plurality of vehicles-402), comprising a plurality of base stations, in signal communication with the mobile devices within effective signal ranges thereof (Fig 1, [0138] base stations 104-1 and 104-2 controlling radio communications with wireless devices 106-1, 106-2, 106-3, 106-4, 106-5 ) and persistently receiving the mobile network signals ([0206] positioning techniques including received signal strength differential or radio signal time-of-arrival at multiple base stations 104 and triangulation or reported GPS information) to generate a plurality of pieces of measurement information ([0070] AoA Angle of Arrival; [0158] present relevant data…such as: cell-ID, …location of the subscriber; [0215] The core network 114 tracks the location of the vehicle 402 based on signals received from its modem 414 at multiple base stations; ([0078] CSI Channel State Information); receiving the mobile network signals [0215] The core network 114 tracks the location of the vehicle 402 based on signals received from its modem 414 at multiple base stations, the pieces of measurement information ([0070] AoA Angle of Arrival; [0158] present relevant data…such as: cell-ID, …location of the subscriber; [0215] The core network 114 tracks the location of the vehicle 402 based on signals received from its modem 414 at multiple base stations; ([0078] CSI Channel State Information), and a cloud server (Fig 4, [0114] servers 116 configured to provide networking services), analyzing the pieces of measurement information of the base stations to determine positioned locations of the mobile devices ([0206] positioning techniques including received signal strength differential or radio signal time-of-arrival at multiple base stations 104 and triangulation or reported GPS information. The respective geographical location computed for each vehicle; Examiner interprets location of mobile devices as location of the vehicle as shown in Fig 4 – vehicle 402 and mobile device 106, per Applicant’s specification as filed [0031] the mobile device is “outdoor” as it is carried by a vehicle), wherein the vehicles includes a plurality of autonomous vehicles and a plurality of traditional vehicles ([0223] In an L2/L3 vehicle, the vehicle computer 420 may generate navigation recommendations for the driver…In an L4/L5 autonomous vehicle, the vehicle computer 420 may generate a set of driving instructions for execution by the vehicle 402; Examiner interprets vehicle 402 as a representative plurality of vehicles which can include autonomous or traditional [0199] “each vehicle 402”); each of the autonomous vehicles includes a control unit and one of the mobile devices (Fig 5 shows autonomous vehicle 402 including a vehicle control unit–box 422 and mobile device 106); after at least one of the autonomous vehicles receives the radio frequency notification ([0247] receiving, from a traffic information hub in the radio communications network), the control unit controls the autonomous vehicle which received the radio frequency notification to yield right-of-way ([0243] the traffic information hub 502 may be further configured to send an instruction to another vehicle to adjust either one or both of its route and speed to minimize conflict with the vehicle), and determines whether each of the mobile devices is indoor ([0196] pedestrian sensors 508 may be provided as suitable sensors (such as motion sensors, UE 106 location sensors; Examiner interprets indoor as the mobile device is carried by a person per Applicant’s specification as filed [0031]) or outdoor according to moving behaviors of the mobile devices ([0161] each vehicle 402 may be provided with user equipment 106 ; Examiner interprets outdoor as the mobile device is carried by a vehicle per Applicant’s specification as filed [0031]; [0214] vehicle UE 106 starts to appear in the coverage area of network), and arranges the mobile devices that is outdoor in a notification list (see at least, [0214] The algorithm starts when the vehicle UE 106 starts to appear in the coverage area of network 100 and the wireless modem 414 connects to the network).
Iun does not explicitly teach a cloud server, in signal communication with the base stations and the rescue vehicle, a current position of the rescue vehicle and a destination position of the rescue vehicle, and transmitting at least one radio frequency notification through the base stations to the mobile devices on the fastest route to remind the mobile devices to yield right-of-way and , and merely transmits the radio frequency notification to the mobile devices on the notification list. However, Walsh teaches these limitations.
Walsh teaches a cloud server, in signal communication with the base stations and the rescue vehicle ([0033] the emergency vehicle transmitter device is in wireless communication with the alert
management computing device…including radio communication…may communicate with the alert management computing device using satellite communications protocols), a current position of the rescue vehicle ([0030] the alert management computing device is configured to…receive an emergency vehicle alert request message from an emergency vehicle transmitter… includes a present emergency
vehicle location) and a destination position of the rescue vehicle ([0040] the emergency vehicle alert request message may…include information regarding the…destination of the emergency vehicle), and transmitting at least one radio frequency notification through the base stations to the mobile devices on the fastest route to remind the mobile devices to yield right-of-way (see at least, [0088] Alert
management computing device…includes… identifying a subset of the passenger vehicles within the alert zone by comparing each vehicle zone to the alert zone, and…transmitting a warning to the subset of passenger vehicles via the passenger user computing devices) and, and merely transmits the radio frequency notification to the mobile devices on the notification list ([0030] the alert management computing device is configured to…identify a subset of the passenger vehicles within the alert zone by comparing each vehicle zone to the alert zone, and…transmit a warning to the subset of passenger vehicles via the passenger vehicle user computing devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iun to include a cloud server, in signal communication with the base stations and the rescue vehicle, a current position of the rescue vehicle and a destination position of the rescue vehicle, and transmitting at least one radio frequency notification through the base stations to the mobile devices on the fastest route to remind the mobile devices to yield right-of-way and , and merely transmits the radio frequency notification to the mobile devices on the notification list as taught by Walsh in order to improve the alerts of approaching emergency vehicles to mitigate the risk of collisions between emergency vehicles and other vehicles (Walsh, [0003]).
Iun further does not explicitly teach receive a plurality of mobile network signals from the mobile devices to plan a fastest route for a rescue vehicle and planning the fastest route of the rescue vehicle to reach the destination position by comparing the positioned locations with a map and wherein the cloud server finds out the mobile devices moving on the fastest route currently. However, Reed teaches these limitations.
Reed teaches receive a plurality of mobile network signals from the mobile devices to plan a fastest route for a rescue vehicle ([0473] monitor the location of a plurality of wireless devices 104 at the same time, which would be useful in such applications such as (for example) vehicle traffic monitoring so as to enable vehicle trip route planning for emergency medical service vehicles trying to find the fastest route of travel to a particular emergency by avoiding congested traffic areas) and planning the fastest route of the rescue vehicle to reach the destination position by comparing the positioned locations with a map ([1388] The traffic monitoring software 8125 and routing software 8120 then calculates the estimated travel time for each route in order to determine the shortest possible travel time. Routes are considered in order of miles/meters from shortest to longest; [1226] The LTS 5300 plots and labels the listing location on a street map with the location of the wireless devices) and wherein the cloud server finds out the mobile devices moving ([1031] The system knows the identification of the wireless device…access the mobile location and travel direction and speed) on the fastest route currently (see at least, [1482] The DAN 8100 would continuously update the route as required. The route could be calculated based on the route taken by the wireless device being tracked, or by simply using the method above to determining the fastest route to the target).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iun to include receive a plurality of mobile network signals from the mobile devices to plan a fastest route for a rescue vehicle and planning the fastest route of the rescue vehicle to reach the destination position by comparing the positioned locations with a map as taught by Reed so that the emergency medical services vehicle can travel to a particular emergency avoiding congested traffic areas (Reed, [0473]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the system of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 1. Iun further teaches wherein the measurement information includes at least one of Reference Symbol Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Receiving Quality (RSRQ), Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), Angle of Arrival (AoA), Timing Advance (TA), and Round-Trip Time (RTT) of the mobile devices ([0070] AoA Angle of Arrival ); and Cell-ID ([0158] present relevant data…such as: cell-ID), locations ([0158] present relevant data…such as…location of the subscriber), neighborhood lists of base stations ([0215] The core network 114 tracks the location of the vehicle 402 based on signals received from its modem 414 at multiple base
stations ), and Channel Status Information (CSI) of the base stations ([0078] CSI Channel State Information).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the system of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 1. Iun further teaches wherein the cloud server includes a communication interface for signal communication with the base stations (Fig 4, [0114] servers 116 configured to provide networking services, shows server 116 with communication interface for signal communication with the base station 104).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the system of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 1. Reed further teaches wherein the cloud server ([0939] wireless networks server) plans the fastest route according to lengths of a plurality of routes ([1388] The traffic monitoring software 8125 and routing software 8120 then calculates the estimated travel time for each route in order to determine the shortest possible travel time. Routes are considered in order of miles/meters from shortest to longest), quantities of the mobile devices on the routes ([1388] (The traffic monitoring software 8125 and routing software 8120 then examines the movement of wireless devices that are traveling the possible logical routes to determine…number of wireless devices on the possible logical routes), moving directions of the mobile devices on the routes, and moving speeds of the mobile devices on the routes ([1031] The system knows the identification of the wireless device…access the mobile location and travel direction and speed); the cloud server lists the mobile devices that is on the fastest route (see at least, [1482] The DAN 8100 would continuously update the route as required. The route could be calculated based on the route taken by the wireless device being tracked, or by simply using the method above to determining the fastest route to the target).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Iun and Walsh to include the cloud server plans the fastest route according to lengths of a plurality of routes, quantities of the mobile devices on the routes, moving directions of the mobile devices on the routes, and moving speeds of the mobile devices on the routes; the cloud server lists the mobile devices that is on the fastest route as taught by Reed so that the emergency medical services vehicle can travel to a particular emergency
avoiding congested traffic areas (Reed, [0473]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the system of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 1. Iun further teaches analyzes the pieces of measurement information of the base stations ([0206] positioning techniques including received signal strength differential or radio signal time-of-arrival at multiple base stations 104 and triangulation or reported GPS information. The respective geographical location computed for each vehicle).
Reed further teaches wherein before using the pieces of measurement information of the base stations to calculate the fastest route ([1254] Base station(s)…location for all network equipment communicating with the wireless device…The signal receive strength from the wireless device 104 to the network antenna(s)…The pertinent information would include…signal strength and other factors needed for determining location of wireless device), the cloud server ([0939] wireless networks server) lists the base stations between the current position of the rescue vehicle and the destination position of the rescue vehicle (see at least, ([0473] monitor the location of a plurality of wireless devices 104 at the same time, which would be useful in such applications such as (for example) vehicle traffic monitoring so as to enable vehicle trip route planning for emergency medical service vehicles trying to find the fastest route of travel to a particular emergency by avoiding congested traffic areas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Iun and Walsh to include before using the pieces of measurement information of the base stations to calculate the fastest route, the cloud server lists the base stations between the current position of the rescue vehicle and the destination position of the rescue vehicle as taught by Reed in order to use signal strength to verify/discount an erroneous location. If the location determined does not correspond to a reasonable value (latitude and longitude plus some degree of error) relative to receive strength, the other primary location determining method should be used to calculate to location (Reed, [0562]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the system of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way) according to claim 1. Iun further teaches wherein the radio frequency notification is transmitted to the mobile devices through cells of the base stations (0143] a wireless device 106 located within a region covered by two or more overlapping cells 108, 112 may send and receive radio signals to and from each of the corresponding base stations 104).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the system of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route according to claim 5. Iun further teaches wherein the radio frequency notification is transmitted to the mobile devices through cells of the base stations (0143] a wireless device 106 located within a region covered by two or more overlapping cells 108, 112 may send and receive radio signals to and from each of the corresponding base stations 104).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the system of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 1. Iun further teaches wherein the radio frequency notification is transmitted to the mobile devices through cells of the base stations (0143] a wireless device 106 located within a region covered by two or more overlapping cells 108, 112 may send and receive radio signals to and from each of the corresponding base stations 104).
Regarding claim 14, Iun teaches a method of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route ([0201] Base stations…using known Radio Access Technologies (RATs) such as 5G…the vehicle status data may also include information identifying a planned route of the vehicle) and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way ([0243] control the traffic control infrastructure 406 to allow traffic ahead of the emergency vehicle (e.g. travelling in the same direction as the emergency vehicle) to clear the intersection), comprising steps: a plurality of base stations (Fig 1, [0138] base stations 104-1 and 104-2) persistently receiving a plurality of mobile network signals of a plurality of mobile devices within effective ranges thereof ([0206] positioning techniques including received signal strength differential or radio signal time-of-arrival at multiple base stations 104 and triangulation or reported GPS information) and generating a plurality of pieces of measurement information according to the mobile network signals ([0070] AoA Angle of Arrival; [0158] present relevant data…such as: cell-ID, …location of the subscriber; [0215] The core network 114 tracks the location of the vehicle 402 based on signals received from its modem 414 at multiple base stations; ([0078] CSI Channel State Information), wherein the mobile devices is respectively connected with a plurality of vehicles (Fig 4 shows a plurality of mobile devices-106 of a plurality of vehicles-402); a cloud server (Fig 4, [0114] servers 116 configured to provide networking services) receiving and analyzing the pieces of measurement information of the base stations between the current position and the destination position to determine the positioned locations of the mobile devices ([0206] positioning techniques including received signal strength differential or radio signal time-of-arrival at multiple base
stations 104 and triangulation or reported GPS information. The respective geographical location
computed for each vehicle; Examiner interprets location of mobile devices as location of the vehicle as shown in Fig 4 – vehicle 402 and mobile device 106, per Applicant’s specification as filed [0031] the mobile device is “outdoor” as it is carried by a vehicle), wherein the vehicles includes a plurality of autonomous vehicles and a plurality of traditional vehicles ([0223] In an L2/L3 vehicle, the vehicle computer 420 may generate navigation recommendations for the driver…In an L4/L5 autonomous
vehicle, the vehicle computer 420 may generate a set of driving instructions for execution by the vehicle 402; Examiner interprets vehicle 402 as a representative plurality of vehicles which can include autonomous or traditional [0199] “each vehicle 402”); each of the autonomous vehicles includes a control unit and one of the mobile devices (Fig 5 shows autonomous vehicle 402 including a vehicle control unit–box 422 and mobile device 106); after at least one of the autonomous vehicles receives the radio frequency notification ([0247] receiving, from a traffic information hub in the radio
communications network), the control unit controls the autonomous vehicle which received the radio frequency notification to yield right-of-way ([0243] the traffic information hub 502 may be further configured to send an instruction to another vehicle to adjust either one or both of its route and speed to minimize conflict with the vehicle), and determining whether each of the mobile devices is indoor ([0196] pedestrian sensors 508 may be provided as suitable sensors (such as motion sensors, UE 106 location sensors; Examiner interprets indoor as the mobile device is carried by a person per Applicant’s specification as filed [0031]) or outdoor according to moving behaviors of the mobile devices ([0161] each vehicle 402 may be provided with user equipment 106 ; Examiner interprets outdoor as the mobile device is carried by a vehicle per Applicant’s specification as filed [0031]; [0214] vehicle UE 106 starts to appear in the coverage area of network), and arranges the mobile devices that is outdoor in a notification list (see at least, [0214] The algorithm starts when the vehicle UE 106 starts to appear in the coverage area of network 100 and the wireless modem 414 connects to the network).
Iun does not explicitly teach after receiving a current position of a rescue vehicle; and the cloud server sending out at least one radio frequency notification through the base stations to the mobile devices, which is on the fastest route, to remind the mobile devices to yield right-of-way and merely transmitting the radio frequency notification to the mobile devices on the notification list. However, Walsh teaches these limitations.
Walsh teaches after receiving a current position of a rescue vehicle; and the cloud server sending out at least one radio frequency notification through the base stations to the mobile devices, which is on the fastest route, to remind the mobile devices to yield right-of-way ([0088] Alert management computing device…receiving passenger vehicle location data from a plurality of passenger user computing devices located in a plurality of passenger vehicles….identifying an alert zone for the emergency vehicle based on the present emergency vehicle location and the present emergency vehicle
trajectory… identifying a subset of the passenger vehicles within the alert zone by comparing each vehicle zone to the alert zone…transmitting a warning to the subset of passenger vehicles via the passenger user computing devices) and merely transmitting the radio frequency notification to the mobile devices on the notification list ([0030] the alert management computing device is configured to…identify a subset of the passenger vehicles within the alert zone by comparing each vehicle zone to the alert zone, and…transmit a warning to the subset of passenger vehicles via the passenger vehicle user computing devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iun to include after receiving a current position of a rescue vehicle; and the cloud server sending out at least one radio frequency notification through the base stations to the mobile devices, which is on the fastest route, to remind the mobile devices to yield right-of-way and merely transmitting the radio frequency notification to the mobile devices on the notification list as taught by Walsh in order to improve the alerts of approaching emergency vehicles to mitigate the risk of collisions between emergency vehicles and other vehicles (Walsh, [0003]).
Iun further does not explicitly teach the cloud server planning a fastest route for the rescue vehicle to reach the destination position fastest according to compare the positioned locations with a map; wherein the step: "the cloud server sending out the radio frequency notification through the base stations to the mobile devices, which is on the fastest route" includes steps: the cloud server finding out the mobile devices moving on the fastest route currently. However, Reed teaches these limitations.
Reed teaches the cloud server ([0939] wireless networks server) planning a fastest route for the rescue vehicle to reach the destination position fastest according to compare the positioned locations with a map ([1388] The traffic monitoring software 8125 and routing software 8120 then calculates the estimated travel time for each route in order to determine the shortest possible travel time. Routes are considered in order of miles/meters from shortest to longest; [1226] The LTS 5300 plots and labels the listing location on a street map with the location of the wireless devices); wherein the step: "the cloud server sending out the radio frequency notification through the base stations to the mobile devices, which is on the fastest route" includes steps: the cloud server finding out the mobile devices moving on the fastest route currently (see at least, [0939] wireless networks server; [1401] The DAN 8100 also comprises traffic monitoring software 8125 that monitors traffic conditions in real time by, for example, tracking the movement of a plurality of wireless devices to determine the location of slow moving traffic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Iun to include the cloud server planning a fastest route for the rescue vehicle to reach the destination position fastest according to compare the positioned locations with a map as taught by Reed so that the emergency medical services vehicle can travel to a particular emergency avoiding congested traffic areas (Reed, [0473]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the method of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way to claim 14. Iun further teaches wherein the measurement information includes at least one of Reference Symbol Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Receiving Quality (RSRQ), Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), Angle of Arrival (AoA), Timing Advance (TA), and Round-Trip Time (RTT) of the mobile devices ([0070] AoA Angle of Arrival ); and Cell-ID ([0158] present relevant data…such as: cell-ID), locations ([0158] present relevant data…such as…location of the subscriber), neighborhood lists of base stations ([0215] The core network 114 tracks the location of the vehicle 402 based on signals received from its modem 414 at multiple base stations ), and Channel Status Information (CSI) of the base stations ([0078] CSI Channel State Information).
Regarding claim 17, the combination Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the method of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 14. Reed further teaches wherein the cloud server ([0939] wireless networks server) plans the fastest route according to lengths of a plurality of routes ([1388] The traffic monitoring software 8125 and routing software 8120 then calculates the estimated travel time for each route in order to determine the shortest possible travel time. Routes are considered in order of miles/meters from shortest to longest), quantities of the mobile devices on the routes ([1388] (The traffic monitoring software 8125 and routing software 8120 then examines the movement of wireless devices that are traveling the possible logical routes to determine…number of wireless devices on the possible logical routes), moving directions of the mobile devices on the routes, and moving speeds of the mobile devices on the routes ([1031] The system knows the identification of the wireless device…access the mobile location and travel direction and speed); the cloud server lists the mobile devices that is on the fastest route (see at least, [1482] The DAN 8100 would continuously update the route as required. The route could be calculated based on the route taken by the wireless device being tracked, or by simply using the method above to determining the fastest route to the target).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Iun and Walsh to include the cloud server plans the fastest route according to lengths of a plurality of routes, quantities of the mobile devices on the routes, moving directions of the mobile devices on the routes, and moving speeds of the mobile devices on the routes; the cloud server lists the mobile devices that is on the fastest route as taught by Reed so that the emergency medical services vehicle can travel to a particular emergency avoiding congested traffic areas (Reed, [0473]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the method of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 14. Iun further teaches analyzes the pieces of measurement information of the base stations ([0206] positioning techniques including received signal strength differential or radio signal time-of-arrival at multiple base stations 104 and triangulation or reported GPS information. The respective geographical location computed for each vehicle).
Reed further teaches wherein before using the pieces of measurement information of the base stations to calculate the fastest route ([1254] Base station(s)…location for all network equipment communicating with the wireless device…The signal receive strength from the wireless device 104 to the network antenna(s)…The pertinent information would include…signal strength and other factors needed for determining location of wireless device), the cloud server ([0939] wireless networks server) lists the base stations between the current position of the rescue vehicle and the destination position of the rescue vehicle (see at least, ([0473] monitor the location of a plurality of wireless devices 104 at the same time, which would be useful in such applications such as (for example) vehicle traffic monitoring so as to enable vehicle trip route planning for emergency medical service vehicles trying to find the fastest route of travel to a particular emergency by avoiding congested traffic areas)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Iun and Walsh to include before using the pieces of measurement information of the base stations to calculate the fastest route, the cloud server lists the base stations between the current position of the rescue vehicle and the destination position of the rescue vehicle as taught by Reed in order to use signal strength to verify/discount an erroneous location. If the location determined does not correspond to a reasonable value (latitude and longitude plus some degree of error) relative to receive strength, the other primary location determining method should be used to calculate to location (Reed, [0562]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the method of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 14. Iun further teaches wherein the radio frequency notification is transmitted to the mobile devices through cells of the base stations (0143] a wireless device 106 located within a region covered by two or more overlapping cells 108, 112 may send and receive radio signals to and from each of the corresponding base stations 104).
Regarding claim 21, the combination Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the method of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 17. Iun further teaches wherein the radio frequency notification is transmitted to the mobile devices through cells of the base stations (0143] a wireless device 106 located within a region covered by two or more overlapping cells 108, 112 may send and receive radio signals to and from each of the corresponding base stations 104).
Regarding claim 22, the combination Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the method of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 14. Iun further teaches wherein the radio frequency notification is transmitted to the mobile devices through cells of the base stations (0143] a wireless device 106 located within a region covered by two or more overlapping cells 108, 112 may send and receive radio signals to and from each of the corresponding base stations 104).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the method of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 14. Reed further teaches wherein based on the mobile network signals and the pieces of measurement information between the current position and the destination position (see at least, [1388] The traffic monitoring software 8125 and routing software 8120 then calculates the estimated travel time for each route in order to determine the shortest possible travel time. Routes are considered in order of miles/meters from shortest to longest), the cloud server repeatedly analyzes the mobile network signals and the pieces of measurement information of the base stations and performs positioning of the mobile devices (see at least, [1388] (The traffic monitoring software 8125 and routing software 8120 then examines the movement of wireless devices that are traveling the possible logical routes to determine…number of wireless devices on the possible logical routes) to determine the mobile devices entering the fastest route and the mobile devices leaving the fastest route (see at least, [1482] The DAN 8100 would continuously update the route as required. The route could be calculated based on the route taken by the wireless device being tracked, or by simply using the method above to determining the fastest route to the target).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Iun and Walsh to include based on the mobile network signals and the pieces of measurement information between the current position and the destination position, the cloud server repeatedly analyzes the mobile network signals and the pieces of measurement information of the base stations and performs positioning of the mobile devices to determine the mobile devices entering the fastest route and the mobile devices leaving the fastest rout as taught by Reed so that the emergency medical services vehicle can travel to a particular emergency avoiding congested traffic areas (Reed, [0473]).
Claims 11-13 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iun et al. (US 20230008967 A1; hereafter Iun) in view of Walsh et al. (US 20190080598 A1; hereafter Walsh) in further view of Reed (US 20080045234 A1; hereafter Reed) and Hayward et al. (US 9841767 B1; hereafter Hayward).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the system of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way) according to claim 8. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices, a moving speed of the rescue vehicle, and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle. However, Hayward teaches this limitation.
Hayward teaches wherein a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices (Col 8 lines 8-10, a mobile device (and/or the telematics application) may compare a vehicle's traveling speed with a known posted speed limit), a moving speed of the rescue vehicle (Col 10 lines 12-15, collect…telematics data indicative of speed, direction, and/or motion of the EMS vehicle), and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle (Col 31 lines 5-8, the geographic relationship, a radius from one vehicle or an EMS vehicle, or a line-of-sight distance between vehicles or between an EMS vehicle and a (non-emergency) vehicle, may be utilized and compared to a threshold distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed to include a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices, a moving speed of the rescue vehicle, and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle as taught by Hayward in order to capture vehicle and EMS data in real-time to allow the EMS vehicle to pass unimpeded to facilitate safe travel for EMS vehicles (Hayward, Col 3 lines 5-7, Col 6 lines 32-33).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the system of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 9. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices, a moving speed of the rescue vehicle, and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle. However, Hayward teaches this limitation.
Hayward teaches wherein a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices (Col 8 lines 8-10, a mobile device (and/or the telematics application) may compare a vehicle's traveling speed with a known posted speed limit), a moving speed of the rescue vehicle (Col 10 lines 12-15, collect…telematics data indicative of speed, direction, and/or motion of the EMS vehicle), and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle (Col 31 lines 5-8, the geographic relationship, a radius from one vehicle or an EMS vehicle, or a line-of-sight distance between vehicles or between an EMS vehicle and a (non-emergency) vehicle, may be utilized and compared to a threshold distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed to include a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices, a moving speed of the rescue vehicle, and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle as taught by Hayward in order to capture vehicle and EMS data in real-time to allow the EMS vehicle to pass unimpeded to facilitate safe travel for EMS vehicles (Hayward, Col 3 lines 5-7, Col 6 lines 32-33).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Iun, Walsh, Reed and Hayward teaches the system of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 12. Hayward further teaches wherein a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices (Col 8 lines 8-10, a mobile device (and/or the telematics application) may compare a vehicle's traveling speed with a known posted speed limit), a moving speed of the rescue vehicle (Col 10 lines 12-15, collect…telematics data indicative of speed, direction, and/or motion of the EMS vehicle), and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle (Col 31 lines 5-8, the geographic relationship, a radius from one vehicle or an EMS vehicle, or a line-of-sight distance between vehicles or between an EMS vehicle and a (non-emergency) vehicle, may be utilized and compared to a threshold distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed to include a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices, a moving speed of the rescue vehicle, and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle as taught by Hayward in order to capture vehicle and EMS data in real-time to allow the EMS vehicle to pass unimpeded to facilitate safe travel for EMS vehicles (Hayward, Col 3 lines 5-7, Col 6 lines 32-33).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the method of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 20. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is adjusted according to a moving speed of each of the mobile devices, a moving speed of the rescue vehicle, a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle. However, Hayward teaches this limitation.
Hayward teaches wherein a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices (Col 8 lines 8-10, a mobile device (and/or the telematics application) may compare a vehicle's traveling speed with a known posted speed limit), a moving speed of the rescue vehicle (Col 10 lines 12-15, collect…telematics data indicative of speed, direction, and/or motion of the EMS vehicle), and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle (Col 31 lines 5-8, the geographic relationship, a radius from one vehicle or an EMS vehicle, or a line-of-sight distance between vehicles or between an EMS vehicle and a (non-emergency) vehicle, may be utilized and compared to a threshold distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed to include a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices, a moving speed of the rescue vehicle, and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle as taught by Hayward in order to capture vehicle and EMS data in real-time to allow the EMS vehicle to pass unimpeded to facilitate safe travel for EMS vehicles (Hayward, Col 3 lines 5-7, Col 6 lines 32-33).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the method of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 21. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is adjusted according to a moving speed of each of the mobile devices, a moving speed of the rescue vehicle, a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle. However, Hayward teaches this limitation.
Hayward teaches wherein a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices (Col 8 lines 8-10, a mobile device (and/or the telematics application) may compare a vehicle's traveling speed with a known posted speed limit), a moving speed of the rescue vehicle (Col 10 lines 12-15, collect…telematics data indicative of speed, direction, and/or motion of the EMS vehicle), and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle (Col 31 lines 5-8, the geographic relationship, a radius from one vehicle or an EMS vehicle, or a line-of-sight distance between vehicles or between an EMS vehicle and a (non-emergency) vehicle, may be utilized and compared to a threshold distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed to include a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices, a moving speed of the rescue vehicle, and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle as taught by Hayward in order to capture vehicle and EMS data in real-time to allow the EMS vehicle to pass unimpeded to facilitate safe travel for EMS vehicles (Hayward, Col 3 lines 5-7, Col 6 lines 32-33).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed teaches the method of using a base station algorithm to plan an emergent traffic route and inform in advance vehicles to yield right-of-way according to claim 22. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is adjusted according to a moving speed of each of the mobile devices, a moving speed of the rescue vehicle, a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle. However, Hayward teaches this limitation.
Hayward teaches wherein a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices (Col 8 lines 8-10, a mobile device (and/or the telematics application) may compare a vehicle's traveling speed with a known posted speed limit), a moving speed of the rescue vehicle (Col 10 lines 12-15, collect…telematics data indicative of speed, direction, and/or motion of the EMS vehicle), and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle (Col 31 lines 5-8, the geographic relationship, a radius from one vehicle or an EMS vehicle, or a line-of-sight distance between vehicles or between an EMS vehicle and a (non-emergency) vehicle, may be utilized and compared to a threshold distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Iun, Walsh and Reed to include a frequency of transmitting the radio frequency notification is dependent on a moving speed of each of the mobile devices, a moving speed of the rescue vehicle, and a relative distance between the mobile device and the rescue vehicle as taught by Hayward in order to capture vehicle and EMS data in real-time to allow the EMS vehicle to pass unimpeded to facilitate safe travel for EMS vehicles (Hayward, Col 3 lines 5-7, Col 6 lines 32-33).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Upadhya et al. (US 20200077237 A1) discloses measurement information of the base stations and a current position of the rescue vehicle and a destination position of the rescue vehicle ([0038] UE sends a measurement report to nearby base stations, [0083] parameters of the emergency vehicle such as a velocity of the emergency vehicle, a direction of the emergency vehicle, a location of the emergency vehicle).
Okamoto et al. (US 20210197819 A1) discloses the control unit controls the autonomous vehicle which received the radio frequency notification to yield right-of-way ([0042] the emergency vehicle may be relevant to the vehicle 102 based on a determination, by the planning component; [0132] cellular communication; [0020] may determine to pull over to a side of the road to yield to the emergency vehicle).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Examiner, Art Unit 3662