DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on February 20th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 2-12 and 24 remain pending in the application. Claims 1 and 13-23 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 2-12 in the reply filed on August 1st, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 13-23 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 1st, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-12, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scarpaci (AU Patent No. 2012327182).
Regarding Claim 2, Scarpaci teaches an electronic circuit for to safely power a heating element of an automated peritoneal dialysis apparatus comprising (Abstract and Figure 49-11 to 49-13, Circuit for A medical treatment system, such as peritoneal dialysis system): a heater comprising a first element and a second element (Figure 49-12, Heater Elements 2001 and 2002); a first relay connecting a first pole of an AC mains source to a first end of the first element (Figure 49-12, and Page 145 Line 13-30, Relay PWM 2010A connects L1 of AC Mains 2040 to first end of Heater 2001); a second relay connecting a second pole of the AC mains source to a second end of the second element (Figure 49-12, and Page 145 Line 13-30, Relay PWM 2010B connects L2 of AC Mains 2040 to second end of Heater 2002); a controller configured to control current delivery to the heater by transmitting an on signal to the first and second relays or an off signal to the first and second relays, the on signal causing AC mains current to flow through the heater, and the off signal preventing AC mains current from flowing through the heater and isolating the heater from the AC mains voltage (Page 144 Line 22-31 and 146-147 Line 32-12, Figure 49-11, The controller 2035 may change the electrical arrangement of the two heater elements to limit the current flow resulting from different AC mains voltages. The controller modulates the heater power by varying the duty cycle of the PWM elements 2010A, 2010B through a signal. This reads as using the relays to turn the heater on or off); and a safety relay configured to disconnect one of the first and second poles of the AC mains source from the heater wherein the safety relay is powered by a Vsafe voltage supply (Page 144-145 Line 32-4, The safety relay 2030 may be configured to disconnect the heater elements 2001, 2002 from the AC mains 2040. Paragraph 567, The safety relay is powered by the Vsafety voltage supply), the Vsafe voltage supply is configured to be controlled by one or more processors (Page 147 Line 13-18, Vsafety voltage source can be controlled by multiple processors), wherein any of the one or more processors are configured to open the Vsafe voltage supply when an error is detected, whereby the heater is powered off (Page 147 Line 13-18, If any of the processors detects an error and fails, then the Vsafety circuit is opened and the Safety Relay 2030 is opened and heater power is turned off).
Regarding Claim 3, Scarpaci teaches that the controller operates on a first processor (Page 144 Line 10-21, The Controller operates on a processor) and a second controller operating on a second processor is configured to open the safety relay and disconnect the heater from the AC mains source (Page 144-145 Line 32-4, The safety relay 2030 may be configured to disconnect the heater elements 2001, 2002 from the AC mains 2040 and may be controlled by another processor not the controller).
Regarding Claim 4, Scarpaci teaches that the safety relay is normally open and the second controller monitors the operation of the automated peritoneal dialysis apparatus and removes a signal holding the safety relay closed if a fault occurs in the automated peritoneal dialysis apparatus (Page 146-147 Line 32-12, The safety relay 2030, which is normally open, may be controlled by an FPGA board that is separate from the controller. The FPGA board monitors the operation of the heater pan temperature and the current sense and several other parameters. The FPGA board may open the relay by removing the signal at node 2228).
Regarding Claim 5, Scarpaci teaches that the first relay and second relay are powered by the Vsafe voltage supply, the Vsafe voltage supply being configured to be controlled by one or more processors, wherein any of the one or more processors may open the Vsafe voltage supply when an error is detected, whereby the heater is powered off (Page 147 Line 13-18, the voltage supplying Vsupply 2210, Vs 2214, Vsafety 2218 may be the same voltage source. The Vsafety 2218 may be controlled by multiple processors. If any of the processors detects an error and fails, then the Vsafety circuit is opened, the Safety Relay 2030 is opened and heater power is turned off).
Regarding Claim 6, Scarpaci teaches a heater select relay with two states: state one connects the first element in series with the second element; and state two connects the first element in parallel with the second element (Page 145 Line 13-30, The heater select relay 2014, in the non-energized state, connects the heater elements 2001, 2002 in series. In an energized state, the heater select relay 2014 connects the heater elements in parallel).
Regarding Claim 7, Scarpaci teaches that the heater select relay in the first state connects a second end of the first element to a first end of the second element (Page 146 Line 5-30 and Figure 49-12, In the non-energized state as shown in FIG. 49-12, the heater select relay 2014 connects the heater elements 2001, 2002 in series where the second end of heater element 2001 connected to the first end of heater element 2002 via the first pole 2014A) and the second state connects the second end of the first element to the second pole of the AC mains source and connects the first end of the second element to the first pole of the AC mains source (Page 146 Line 5-30 and Figure 49-12, In the energized state, the second end of heater element 2001 connected to the L2 circuit of AC Mains 2040; the first end of heater element 2002 is connected to the L1 circuit of AC Mains 2040).
Regarding Claim 8, Scarpaci teaches a current sensor on a line connecting one of the first or second poles of the AC mains source to the heater (Figure 49-12, The Current Sense 2022 is on a line that connects AC Mains 2040 first Pole L1 to Heater 2001), wherein the controller receives a signal from the current sensor and switches the state of the voltage select relay based on the signal from the current sensor (Page 144 Line 23-31, The controller 2035 may receive a signal from the current sense 2022 and control the heater select relay 2014 to connect the heater elements 2001, 2002 in either series or parallel).
Regarding Claim 9, Scarpaci teaches a current sensor on a line connecting one of the first or second poles of the AC mains source to the heater, wherein the heater select relay is initially in state one (Figure 49-12, The Current Sense 2022 is on a line that connects AC Mains 2040 first Pole L1 to Heater 2001), wherein the controller receives a signal from the current sensor and switches the heater select relay to state two when a current detected by the current sensor is less than a predetermined value (Figure 49-14 and Page 149 -150 Line 15-6, Showcases that the controller switches to parallel configuration which is the second state when the measured current is not within range of the desired range and a Low AC voltage is detected).
Regarding Claim 10, Scarpaci teaches a current sensor on a line connecting one of the first or second poles of the AC mains source to the heater (Figure 49-12, The Current Sense 2022 is on a line that connects AC Mains 2040 first Pole L1 to Heater 2001), wherein before a therapy is started, the heater select relay is in state one, and the controller transmits a predetermined duty cycle to the first relay and second relay and receives a signal from the current sensor (Figure 49-12 to 49-14 and Page 149-150 Line 15-6, the control system starts up the heater control circuit 2212 with the heater select relay 2014 un-energized, so the heater elements are connected in series. The automation computer 300 commands the PWM elements 2010A, 2010B to 100% duty cycle and the current is measured by the current sense 2022 and the measure test current is communicated to the processor), the controller switches the heater select relay to state two if the signal is less than a predetermined value, and the controller does not change the heater select relay for a remainder of the therapy if the signal is greater than the predetermined value (Figure 49-12 to 49-14 and Page 149-150 Line 15-6, The automation computer 300 compares the measured test current to a first range, if the measured current is outside the range and the user confirms low AC voltage then the heater configuration will be changed in and reconfigured so that the heater elements 2001, 2002 are in parallel arrangement by energizing the heater select relay 2014 through a signal at node 2224. After reconfiguring the heater elements, the method 2240 retests the heater in step 2242 and continues through the logic flow chart of method 2240).
Regarding Claim 11, Scarpaci teaches a heater pan with a temperature sensor, wherein the controller receives a temperature signal from the temperature sensor and varies the duty cycle of the first relay and second relay to achieve a pre-determined desired temperature signal (Page 146 Line 25-30, The controller 2035 varies the duty cycle of the PWM elements 2010A, 2010B to control the heater pan 142 temperature as measured by the sensor 2007 to achieve a desired temperature).
Regarding Claim 12, Scarpaci teaches that the heater select relay is an electro-magnetic relay and the first relay and second relay are solid state relays (Page 145 Line 1-12, The PWM elements 2010A, 2010B may be a solid-state relays and the heater select relay 2014 are electro-mechanical relays).
Regarding Claim 24, Scarpaci teaches an electronic circuit for to safely power a heating element of an automated peritoneal dialysis apparatus comprising (Abstract and Figure 49-11 to 49-13, Circuit for A medical treatment system, such as peritoneal dialysis system): a heater comprising a first element and a second element (Figure 49-11 to 49-13, Heater Elements 2001 and 2002); a first relay connecting a first pole of an AC mains source to a first end of the first element and a second end of the second element (Figure 49-12, and Page 145 Line 13-30, Relay PWM 2010A connects L1 of AC Mains 2040 to first end of Heater 2001 and second end of Heater 2002); a second relay connecting a second pole of the AC mains source to a second end of the first element and a first end of the second element (Figure 49-12, and Page 145 Line 13-30, Relay PWM 2010B connects L2 of AC Mains 2040 to second end of Heater 2002 and first end of Heater 2001); a controller configured to control current delivery to the heater by transmitting an on signal to the first and second relays or an off signal to the first and second relays, the on signal causing AC mains current to flow through the heater, and the off signal preventing AC mains current from flowing through the heater and isolating the heater from the AC mains voltage (Page 144 Line 22-31 and 146-147 Line 32-12 and Figure 49-11, The controller 2035 may change the electrical arrangement of the two heater elements to limit the current flow resulting from different AC mains voltages. The controller modulates the heater power by varying the duty cycle of the PWM elements 2010A, 2010B through a signal. This reads as using the relays to turn the heater on or off); and a Vsafe voltage supply provides power to actuate the first relay and second relay when commanded by the controller (Page 147 Line 13-18, the voltage supplying Vsupply 2210, Vs 2214, Vsafety 2218 may be the same voltage source), the Vsafe voltage supply is configured to be controlled by one or more processors (Page 147 Line 13-18, Vsafety voltage source can be controlled by multiple processors), wherein any of the one or more processors are configured to open the Vsafe voltage supply when an error is detected, whereby the heater is powered off (Page 147 Line 13-18, If any of the processors detects an error and fails, then the Vsafety circuit is opened and the Safety Relay 2030 is opened and heater power is turned off).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 20th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Scarpaci fails to teach that the heaters 2001 and 2002 are isolated from the AC mains voltage because the heaters 2001 and 2002 are connected to the AC main from the lower pole through the Current Sense 2022 to the AC mains . However, Scarpaci teaches that the heaters 2001 and 2002 are isolated from the AC mains through Figure 49-11. The heaters 2001 and 2002 are connected to the AC mains through the PWN Element and Safety relay. The controller 2035 may change the electrical arrangement of the two heater elements to limit the current flow resulting from different AC mains voltages and modulates the heater power by varying the duty cycle of the PWM elements 2010A, 2010B through a signal. This reads as using the relays to turn the heater on or off. The safety relay is also configured to disconnect the heater elements 2001, 2002 from the AC mains 2040. Therefore the heater is completely isolated from the AC mains voltages.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZEH HICHAM AMIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761