DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argues, with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, & 15, that the prior art of record does not teach a first switch be turned off to execute the initial charging operation to charge the main battery via a second electrical connection between the AC power source and the charger, and the initial charging operation is terminated based on whether the initial charging power source at the connection terminal reaches a preset reference value calculated by multiplying an output power of the main battery by a preset reference value. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner believes the combination of prior arts for the rejection of claim 3, as disclosed in the final rejection mailed 07/07/2025, covers these limitations. Oga teaches the first switch executing the initial charging operation to charge the main battery, as mapped in the rejection of claim 1, and Bohm teaches terminating an initial charging operation when the charging power source at the connection terminal reaches a preset reference value calculated by multiplying an output power of the main battery by a preset reference value (¶0065: U, output voltage, and U2, battery voltage, correspond substantially 1-10%, at that point switch 121 is closed).
Applicant further argues, with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, & 15, that the prior art of record does not teach a first switch be turned on to execute the initial charging operation to charge the auxiliary battery”. However, this amended limitation introduces a new 112(b) requiring additional interpretation for examination, as can be seen below in Claim Rejections – 112. Based on the interpretation afforded to the claim by the Examiner, the previous rejection of claim 1, the combination of Oga and Ito teaches the first switch being turned on to execute the initial charging operation to charge the main battery using the auxiliary battery.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, & 15, regarding the prior art not teaching the connection terminal comprising a capacitor, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 9, & 15 now recite the limitation regarding operation of the first switch in that it “be turned on to execute the initial charging operation to charge the auxiliary battery”. However, the disclosure does not support the initial charging operation being used to charge the auxiliary battery. The specification mentions a bidirectional LDC for charging an auxiliary battery (¶0006), but is then identified as a potential output of the connection terminal (¶0048). The charger supplying the connection terminal is identified as a unidirectional on board charger (¶0046) and the initial charging operation is described with the auxiliary battery providing power as an input and not an receiving power as an output (¶0095; Fig.8, S832).
Claims 2-8, 10-14, & 16-20 depend from Claims 1, 9, & 15, respectively, and therefore inherit their deficiencies.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 now recites the limitation regarding operation of the first switch in that it “be turned on to execute the initial charging operation to charge the auxiliary battery”. However, the claim further describes the initial charging operation as receiving a DC power source from the auxiliary battery when an AC source is not present, and that the second switch connects the main battery when the initial charging operation is terminated. Therefore, it is unclear how the initial charging operation would be executed to charge the auxiliary battery when the auxiliary battery is the only power source connected to the charger. For the purpose of this examination, examiner interprets this to read as “be turned on to execute the initial charging operation to charge the main battery … between the auxiliary battery and the charger”.
Claims 9 & 15 now recite “executing the initial charging operation … to charge an auxiliary battery”. However, the claims further describe the initial charging operation as receiving a DC power source from the auxiliary battery when an AC source is not present, and that the second switch connects the main battery when the initial charging operation is terminated. Therefore, it is unclear how the initial charging operation would be executed to charge the auxiliary battery when the auxiliary battery is the only power source connected to the charger. For the purpose of this examination, examiner interprets this to read as “executing the initial charging operation … to charge a main battery … between an auxiliary battery and a charger”.
Claims 2-8, 10-14, & 16-20 depend from claims 1, 9, & 15, respectively, and therefore inherit their deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, & 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara et al. (WIPO Publication WO 2012/169023 A1) (hereinafter referred to as Oga), in view of Ito et al. (USPGPN 2008/0316774 A1), Tajima (USPGPN 2017/0106761 A1), and Hatano (USPGPN 2021/0359533 – filed Apr. 2021).
Regarding Claim 1, Oga teaches a charging apparatus comprising: a main battery (Fig.1, 10);
an auxiliary battery (Fig.1, 150) installed in a vehicle separately from the main battery;
a charger (Fig.1, 200) configured to generate an initial charging power source by receiving an alternating current (AC) power source to execute an initial charging operation (Page 5, ¶4);
a first switch (Fig.1, 250) configured to:
be turned on to execute a first electrical connection between the auxiliary battery and the charger when the AC power source is not supplied (Page 5, ¶5); and
be turned on to execute the initial charging operation to charge the main battery via a second electrical connection between the AC power source and the charger when the AC power source is supplied (Page 5, ¶5);
wherein:
the initial charging operation is terminated when the initial charging power source reaches a preset reference value (Page 3, ¶9: charger converts power to a DC voltage of the main battery).
Oga fails to explicitly teach an auxiliary battery supplying power to the charger, that the preset reference value is determined by multiplying an output power source of the main battery by a preset setting value, the initial charging operation reduces an inrush current or reduces resonance that can occur according to supply of a high voltage, and a second switch between the main battery and a connection terminal comprising a capacitor which connects the main battery to the connection terminal after the initial charging operation.
However, Ito teaches an auxiliary battery (Fig.1, 13) that can supply power (¶0043: main battery is temporarily charged by the auxiliary battery) to a main battery (Fig.1, 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Oga with Ito to include control of the auxiliary battery charging the main battery to allow that potential of starting a vehicle with a low charge main battery, as taught by Ito (¶0043: Auxiliary battery is used to charge the main battery to start an engine)
Moreover, Tajima teaches that it is common in the art to reduce the difference between voltages of a power supply and a power receiving device prior to allowing current to flow unrestricted (¶0085: voltage output from the power supplying apparatus is compared with the voltage on the vehicle side to see if the difference is sufficiently small; ¶0086: current limiting control is ended when the battery voltage is greater than the charge voltage), to reduce inrush current to the power receiving device (¶0085: when the difference between the voltages becomes sufficiently small, inrush current is reduced).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Oga with Tajima to perform the initial charging operation to reduce an inrush current. Doing so will help prevent damage to components caused by continued exposure to high inrush currents.
Lastly, Hatano teaches a switch (Fig.1, 35/35) positioned between a connection terminal (Fig.1, connection nodes of 41) comprising a capacitor (41), which is closed when the voltage measured at the connection terminal reaches a preset voltage based on the output of the battery multiplied by a preset value (¶0069: VZ1 and VZ2 are the voltage range VZ, determined from the output of the battery VB; Fig.3, S360->S370: relays are switched on when voltage across capacitor 41, VC1, is within VZ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Oga with Hatano to include a switch between a connection terminal, comprising a capacitor, and the main battery, determine the preset reference value by multiplying the battery voltage with a preset number, and connect the main battery to the connection terminal after the initial charging operation is completed. Doing so ensures proper voltage is provided to charge a battery for improved efficiency, by reducing inrush currents.
Regarding Claim 2, Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, further teaches wherein the initial charging operation comprises performance of an initial charging by turning on the first switch, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 (the switch to the auxiliary battery would be closed to provide power to the main battery).
Oga fails to explicitly teach wherein the initial charging operation comprises performance of an initial charging by adjusting duties of a boosting switch for boosting configured in a correction unit of the charger and a primary side switch configured in a conversion unit of the charger.
However, Ito teaches it is common for a conversion unit (Fig.1, 23) and a correction unit (Fig.1, 22) to be driven by switches (S9-S12 & S5-S8) where duty cycles of the switches are adjusted (¶0026: controller send control signals to control the connection states of the switches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, with Ito to include control of duties for switches in conversion and correction units. Doing so would provide the potential to adjust the unit outputs based on the needs of the system.
Regarding Claim 3, Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, further teaches wherein the second switch is configured to be changed from OFF to ON depending upon a comparison result obtained by comparing the initial charging power source generated on the connection terminal connected to the main battery by executing the initial charging operation with the preset reference value (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1, Hatano Fig.3, S360->S370).
Regarding Claim 4, Oga fails to explicitly teach wherein the second switch is connected between the connection terminal and the main battery with the same polarity and comprises a first sub- switch and a second sub-switch arranged in parallel.
However, Hatano teaches the second switch is composed of two sub-switches (Fig.1, 35 & 36: a switch is provided on both the positive and negative terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, with Hatano to include two sub-switches for the second switch, to provide a redundancy in the event that a single switch fails in a closed state so that the connection to the battery can still be opened.
Regarding Claim 6, Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, teaches wherein the first switch is in a turned on state when the vehicle travels or requires an initial charging, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 (¶0043: Auxiliary battery is used to charge the main battery to start an engine which requires the first switch to be closed).
Regarding Claim 7, Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, teaches wherein when the AC power source is supplied, the first switch is in a turned off state to block the first electrical connection between the auxiliary battery and the charger (Page 5, ¶4: Switch disconnects the connection to the auxiliary battery when AC source is present).
Regarding Claim 8, Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, teaches wherein the initial charging operation comprises performance of an initial charging by turning off the first switch, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 7 (the switch to the auxiliary battery would be opened to connect the AC source to the main battery).
Oga fails to explicitly teach wherein the initial charging operation comprises performance of an initial charging by adjusting duties of a boosting switch for boosting configured in a correction unit of the charger and a primary side switch configured in a conversion unit of the charger.
However, Ito teaches it is common for a conversion unit (Fig.1, 23) and a correction unit (Fig.1, 22) to be driven by switches (S9-S12 & S5-S8) where duty cycles of the switches are adjusted (¶0026: controller send control signals to control the connection states of the switches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, with Ito to further include control of duties for switches in conversion and correction units. Doing so would provide the potential to adjust the unit outputs based on the needs of the system.
Regarding Claim 15, Oga teaches a charging method comprising:
executing a first electrical connection between the auxiliary battery and the charger when the AC power source is not supplied (Page 5, ¶5); and
executing the initial charging operation by turning on the first switch to charge a main battery via a second electrical connection between the AC power source and the charger when the AC power source is supplied (Page 5, ¶5);
terminating the initial charging operation based on whether an initial charging power source reaches a preset reference value (Page 3, ¶9: charger converts power to a DC voltage of the main battery).
Oga fails to explicitly teach an auxiliary battery supplying power to the charger, that the preset reference value is determined by multiplying an output power of the main battery by a preset setting value, the initial charging operation reduces an inrush current or reduces resonance that can occur according to supply of a high voltage, and electrically connecting, by a second switch disposed between the main battery and a connection terminal, the main battery and the connection terminal based on the termination of the initial charging operation.
However, Ito teaches an auxiliary battery (Fig.1, 13) that can supply power (¶0043: main battery is temporarily charged by the auxiliary battery) to a main battery (Fig.1, 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Oga with Ito to include control of the auxiliary battery charging the main battery to allow that potential of starting a vehicle with a low charge main battery, as taught by Ito (¶0043: Auxiliary battery is used to charge the main battery to start an engine)
Moreover, Tajima teaches that it is common in the art to reduce the difference between voltages of a power supply and a power receiving device prior to allowing current to flow unrestricted (¶0085: voltage output from the power supplying apparatus is compared with the voltage on the vehicle side to see if the difference is sufficiently small; ¶0086: current limiting control is ended when the battery voltage is greater than the charge voltage), to reduce inrush current to the power receiving device (¶0085: when the difference between the voltages becomes sufficiently small, inrush current is reduced).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Oga with Tajima to perform the initial charging operation to reduce an inrush current. Doing so will help prevent damage to components caused by continued exposure to high inrush currents.
Lastly, Hatano teaches a switch (Fig.1, 35/35) positioned between a connection terminal (Fig.1, connection nodes of 41), which is closed when the voltage measured at the connection terminal reaches a preset voltage based on the output of the battery multiplied by a preset value (¶0069: VZ1 and VZ2 are the voltage range VZ, determined from the output of the battery VB; Fig.3, S360->S370: relays are switched on when voltage across capacitor 41, VC1, is within VZ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Oga with Hatano to include a switch between a connection terminal and the main battery, determine the preset reference value by multiplying the battery voltage with a preset number, and connect the main battery to the connection terminal after the initial charging operation is completed. Doing so ensures proper voltage is provided to charge a battery for improved efficiency, by reducing inrush currents.
Regarding Claim 16, Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, further teaches blocking an electrical connection between the auxiliary battery and the charger when the AC power source is supplied (Page 5, ¶4); and executing the initial charging operation by receiving the AC power source to generate the initial charging power source (Page 3, ¶9: charger converts power to a DC voltage of the main battery).
Regarding Claim 17, Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, teaches wherein the initial charging operation comprises performance of an initial charging by turning on the first switch, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9 (the switch to the auxiliary battery would be closed to provide power to the main battery).
Oga fails to explicitly teach wherein the initial charging operation comprises performance of an initial charging by adjusting duties of a boosting switch for boosting configured in a correction unit of the charger and a primary side switch configured in a conversion unit of the charger.
However, Ito teaches it is common for a conversion unit (Fig.1, 23) and a correction unit (Fig.1, 22) to be driven by switches (S9-S12 & S5-S8) where duty cycles of the switches are adjusted (¶0026: controller send control signals to control the connection states of the switches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, with Ito to further include control of duties for switches in conversion and correction units. Doing so would provide the potential to adjust the unit outputs based on the needs of the system.
Regarding Claim 18, Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, further teaches wherein terminating the initial charging operation comprises: comparing a charging power source generated on a connection terminal connected to the main battery by executing the initial charging operation with the preset reference value; and changing a second switch disposed between the main battery and the connection terminal from OFF to ON depending on a comparison result (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9 above, Hatano Fig.3, S360->S370).
Regarding Claim 19, Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, teaches wherein the first switch is in turned on when the vehicle travels or requires an initial charging, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9 (¶0043: Auxiliary battery is used to charge the main battery to start an engine which requires the first switch to be closed).
Regarding Claim 20, Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, teaches wherein the initial charging operation comprises performing the initial charging by turning off the first switch, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 (the switch to the auxiliary battery would be opened to connect the AC source to the main battery).
Oga fails to explicitly teach wherein the initial charging operation comprises performance of an initial charging by adjusting duties of a boosting switch for boosting configured in a correction unit of the charger and a primary side switch configured in a conversion unit of the charger.
However, Ito teaches it is common for a conversion unit (Fig.1, 23) and a correction unit (Fig.1, 22) to be driven by switches (S9-S12 & S5-S8) where duty cycles of the switches are adjusted (¶0026: controller send control signals to control the connection states of the switches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, with Ito to further include control of duties for switches in conversion and correction units. Doing so would provide the potential to adjust the unit outputs based on the needs of the system.
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oga, in view of Ito and Hatano.
Regarding Claim 9, Oga teaches a charging method comprising:
executing a first electrical connection between the auxiliary battery and the charger when the AC power source is not supplied (Page 5, ¶5); and
executing the initial charging operation by turning on the first switch to charge a main battery via a second electrical connection between the AC power source and the charger when the AC power source is supplied (Page 5, ¶5);
executing the initial charging operation by receiving a direct current (DC) power source from the auxiliary battery (Fig.1, 150) using the charger installed in a vehicle separately from the main battery or receiving the AC power source to generate an initial charging power source (Page 5, ¶4); and
terminating the initial charging operation when the initial charging power source reaches a preset reference value (Page 3, ¶9: charger converts power to a DC voltage of the main battery).
Oga fails to explicitly teach an auxiliary battery supplying power to the charger, that the preset reference value is determined by multiplying an output power of the main battery by a preset setting value, and electrically connecting, by a second switch disposed between the main battery and a connection terminal, the main battery and the connection terminal based on the termination of the initial charging operation.
However, Ito teaches an auxiliary battery (Fig.1, 13) that can supply power (¶0043: main battery is temporarily charged by the auxiliary battery) to a main battery (Fig.1, 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Oga with Ito to include control of the auxiliary battery charging the main battery to allow that potential of starting a vehicle with a low charge main battery, as taught by Ito (¶0043: Auxiliary battery is used to charge the main battery to start an engine)
Moreover, Hatano teaches a switch (Fig.1, 35/35) positioned between a connection terminal (Fig.1, connection nodes of 41), which is closed when the voltage measured at the connection terminal reaches a preset voltage based on the output of the battery multiplied by a preset value (¶0069: VZ1 and VZ2 are the voltage range VZ, determined from the output of the battery VB; Fig.3, S360->S370: relays are switched on when voltage across capacitor 41, VC1, is within VZ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Oga with Hatano to include a switch between a connection terminal and the main battery, determine the preset reference value by multiplying the battery voltage with a preset number, and connect the main battery to the connection terminal after the initial charging operation is completed. Doing so ensures proper voltage is provided to charge a battery for improved efficiency, by reducing inrush currents.
Regarding Claim 10, Oga, in view of Ito and Hatano, teaches wherein the initial charging operation comprises performance of an initial charging by turning on the first switch, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9 (the switch to the auxiliary battery would be closed to provide power to the main battery).
Oga fails to explicitly teach wherein the initial charging operation comprises performance of an initial charging by adjusting duties of a boosting switch for boosting configured in a correction unit of the charger and a primary side switch configured in a conversion unit of the charger.
However, Ito teaches it is common for a conversion unit (Fig.1, 23) and a correction unit (Fig.1, 22) to be driven by switches (S9-S12 & S5-S8) where duty cycles of the switches are adjusted (¶0026: controller send control signals to control the connection states of the switches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Oga, in view of Ito and Hatano, with Ito to further include control of duties for switches in conversion and correction units. Doing so would provide the potential to adjust the unit outputs based on the needs of the system.
Regarding Claim 11, Oga, in view of Ito and Hatano, further teaches wherein terminating the initial charging operation comprises: comparing a charging power source generated on the connection terminal executing the initial charging operation with the preset reference value; and changing the second from OFF to ON depending on a comparison result (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9 above, Hatano Fig.3, S360->S370).
Regarding Claim 12, Oga, in view of Ito and Hatano, teaches wherein the first switch is in turned on when the vehicle travels or requires an initial charging, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9 (Ito, ¶0043: Auxiliary battery is used to charge the main battery to start an engine which requires the first switch to be closed).
Regarding Claim 13, Oga, in view of Ito and Hatano, teaches wherein switching comprises blocking the first electrical connection between the auxiliary battery and the charger by turning off the first switch when the AC power source is supplied (Page 5, ¶4: Switch disconnects the connection to the auxiliary battery when AC source is present).
Regarding Claim 14, Oga, in view of Ito and Hatano, teaches wherein the initial charging operation comprises performing an initial charging by turning off the first switch, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 (the switch to the auxiliary battery would be opened to connect the AC source to the main battery).
Oga fails to explicitly teach wherein the initial charging operation comprises performance of an initial charging by adjusting duties of a boosting switch for boosting configured in a correction unit of the charger and a primary side switch configured in a conversion unit of the charger.
However, Ito teaches it is common for a conversion unit (Fig.1, 23) and a correction unit (Fig.1, 22) to be driven by switches (S9-S12 & S5-S8) where duty cycles of the switches are adjusted (¶0026: controller send control signals to control the connection states of the switches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Oga, in view of Ito and Hatano, with Ito to further include control of duties for switches in conversion and correction units. Doing so would provide the potential to adjust the unit outputs based on the needs of the system.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Botts et al. (USPGPN 20200130511 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Oga fails to explicitly teach wherein a low voltage direct current-direct current converter (LDC) among power components connected to the connection terminal is a unidirectional LDC.
However, Botts teaches the use of unidirectional DC-DC converters (Fig.4A, 478) for power transfer between two batteries (Fig.4A, 232 & 234) (¶0125: converters 478 may be one or more unidirectional converters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Oga, in view of Ito, Tajima, and Hatano, to include a unidirectional DC-DC converter, as taught by Botts. Doing so would avoid the potential of backfeeding between the batteries during a time when the batteries are connected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lim et al. (USPGPN 2021/0197681) teaches a system for charging a battery which pre-charges a capacitor prior to connecting a battery to the charging circuit.
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859