DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10-11, 13-15, and 17 remain pending in the application, and claims 2, 5, 8-9, 12, 16, and 18 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant submits on pages 6-7 of Remarks submitted 1/6/2026 that Spähn fails to disclose “wherein the charging server is configured to store user information that includes vehicle information, payment information, and the PCID, wherein the charging server is configured to look up the received PCID in the stored user information, and when the received PCID is the new PCID, the charging server is configured to update the user information, authenticated by user authentication, with the received new PCID, and wherein the charging server is configured to extract user information, which is required to be updated with the new PCID, by performing user authentication through an external terminal” as recited in claims 1 and 11.
Spähn discloses apps downloaded from the server to register the vehicle with the energy provider and the identification feature 3 is conveniently captured by mobile phone 4 and transmitted to energy provider 7. Spähn fails to disclose the inventive features that necessary information such as vehicle information, payment information, and PCID information can be extracted from the charging server to be updated, as is presently claimed.
The examiner submits that transfer of vehicle information, payment information, and PCID information is disclosed in Spähn paragraphs 15, 45, 47. Excerpts are shown below for convenience. The examiner notes that the term “can be extracted” does not appear in the claim language or specifications.
[0015] An identification feature can be understood as a string of characters, such as a chassis number or a provisioning certificate identification (PCID), with which the vehicle can be uniquely identified.
This means that, based on the identification feature, vehicle-specific features that are relevant for charging the energy storage device can be determined. The features may include, among others: the type of energy storage, so that the charging capacity and energy supply per time can be determined,
- the type of charging connection of the vehicle, which allows to determine which energy transfer device is available for charging the energy storage device, and
- the type of energy transfer, namely whether the vehicle can be charged conductively or inductively, for example.
This provides the advantage that, based on the identification feature, a corresponding energy transmission device for energy transmission can be selected and displayed to the user of the vehicle.
The energy transmission of the energy transmission device can be adapted as far as possible to the vehicle-specific characteristics.
[0045] Thereafter, the data processing device 8 of the energy provider 7 can, for example, check the identification feature 3 and, depending on the result of the check, store the electric vehicle 1 as registered in a database of the energy provider 7.
Furthermore, the data processing device 8 can also create a contract for the provision of electrical energy to the electric vehicle 1 and then send this contract via a third transmission 12 by means of the energy provider communication unit 9 to the mobile device communication unit 5 and thus to the mobile device 4.
Simultaneously with the contract, the data processing device 8 can also transmit an authorization value via a fourth transmission 13 by means of the energy provider communication unit 9 to the vehicle communication unit 2 and thus to the electric vehicle 1.
The authorization value can, for example, be stored in a memory of the electric vehicle 1 and authorize the electric vehicle 1 to use an energy transmission device which is located in the Fig. 1 not shown, to charge the battery 14 of the electric vehicle 1.
[0047] The one in Fig. 1 The following situation can be used as an example in the embodiment shown.
For example, a user of the electric vehicle 1 may notice while driving that the battery 14 of the electric vehicle 1 needs to be charged.
The user wishes to take advantage of a favorable offer from energy provider 7 and conclude a contract with energy provider 7 for multiple charging of battery 14 with electrical energy at a price set by energy provider 7 via an energy transmission device provided, for example, by energy provider 7.
For this purpose, the user can download the app 6 of the energy provider 7 from a server device using his mobile device 4 while driving.
In App 6, the user can then enter user information, such as personal data and payment information.
The claim language of claims 1 and 11 concerning “wherein the charging server is configured to store user information that includes vehicle information, payment information, and the PCID, wherein the charging server is configured to look up the received PCID in the stored user information, and when the received PCID is the new PCID, the charging server is configured to update the user information, authenticated by user authentication, with the received new PCID, and wherein the charging server is configured to extract user information, which is required to be updated with the new PCID, by performing user authentication through an external terminal” does not preclude Spähn’s external terminal in the form of a mobile terminal configured to use a dedicated app for handling an identification feature 3, which includes information such as vehicle specific characteristics, payment information, and PCID, wherein data on the server is updated based on user preferences.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “the system of claim 11.” However, a method is claimed in claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10-11, 13-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the German Patent Publication of Spähn (DE 10 2018 213955 A1, published 2020-02-20).
Regarding independent claim 1, Spähn teaches a system for a vehicle charging service (Fig. 1), the system comprising:
a plurality of chargers (¶0002: energy supply devices) configured to be connected with a vehicle wiredly or wirelessly to transmit and receive data and power to or from the vehicle (¶0017: mobile phone communication unit for transmitting identification feature 3 can be coupled to the vehicle); and
a charging server (0034-0035: server device and energy provider) configured to
network with the plurality of chargers (¶0002),
receive a provisioning certificate identification (PCID) from the plurality of chargers (¶0035 and 0041: energy provider receives identification feature including PCID from the vehicle, separate from the server device),
look up the received PCID in user information (¶0035: depending on identification feature, energy provider releases energy for charging),
allow charging of a charger connecting with the vehicle corresponding to the received PCID when the user information matching the received PCID is present (¶0035), and
update the matching user information with the received PCID when the received PCID is a new PCID (¶0045: The examiner interprets that when new data received, the system storing data inherently updates the old data),
wherein, when the charger connects with the vehicle by wiredly or wirelessly, the charger is configured to receive the PCID or vehicle authentication information including the PCID from the vehicle, and to transmit the PCID or vehicle authentication information of the connected vehicle to the charging server (¶0002 and 0035: energy supply devices are coupled to the energy supply network. The examiner interprets the PCID is freely transmitted between energy supply device and the energy supply network),
wherein the charging server is configured to store the user information that includes vehicle information, payment information, and the PCID (¶[15, 45, 47]: database of energy provider 7 stores the identification feature which includes information for type of vehicle, payment, and PCID),
wherein the charging server is configured to look up the received PCID in the stored user information, when the received PCID is retrieved from specific user information, the charging of the charger connecting with the vehicle corresponding to the PCID is allowed, then payment is made based on the payment information of a corresponding user information after the charging and when the received PCID is the new PCID, the charging server is configured to update the user information, authenticated by user authentication, with the received new PCID (¶0047: Via the communication unit 5, identification feature 3 is sent to the energy provider 7 where it is processed and information utilized for charging the vehicle battery and handling payment information) (¶0034 and 0041: By downloading the app and registering a vehicle, the user can be authenticated and provided with a PCID).
Regarding claim 3, Spähn teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the charger is configured to charge the connected vehicle and to terminate the charging according to requested charging information when the charging is allowed by the charging server (¶0050: charging is ended according to a contract).
Regarding claim 4, Spähn teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the charging server is configured to receive the PCID or vehicle authentication information including the PCID of the vehicle connected to the charger from the vehicle, an external terminal or the charger (¶0002 and 0035: energy supply devices are coupled to the energy supply network. The examiner interprets the PCID is freely transmitted between energy supply device and the energy supply network).
Regarding claim 6, Spähn teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the charging server is configured to process payment for the charging according to the payment information of corresponding user information when the charging of the charger is allowed (¶0047: “user can then enter user information, such as personal data and payment information”).
Regarding claim 7, Spähn teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the charging server is configured to process payment for the charging according to the payment information of the user information including a same PCID as the received PCID (¶0047: via the communication unit 5, identification feature 3 is sent to the energy provider 7 where it is processed and information utilized for charging the vehicle battery).
Regarding independent claim 10, Spähn teaches a system for a vehicle charging service (Fig. 1), the system comprising:
a charging server (0034-0035: server device and energy provider) configured to
network with a plurality of chargers configured to be connected with a vehicle wiredly or wirelessly (¶0002: energy supply devices),
receive a provisioning certificate identification (PCID) from outside (¶0035 and 0041: energy provider receives identification feature including PCID from the vehicle, separate from the server device),
look up the received PCID in user information stored in the charging server (¶0035: depending on identification feature, energy provider releases energy for charging),
allow charging of the charger connecting with the vehicle corresponding to the received corresponding PCID when user information matching the received PCID is present (¶0035), and
update the matching user information with the received PCID when the received PCID is a new PCID (¶0045: The examiner interprets that when new data received, the system storing data inherently updates the old data), wherein, when the charger connects with the vehicle, the charger is configured to receive the PCID or vehicle authentication information including the PCID from the vehicle, and to transmit the PCID or vehicle authentication information of the connected vehicle to the charging server (¶0002 and 0035: energy supply devices are coupled to the energy supply network. The examiner interprets the PCID is freely transmitted between energy supply device and the energy supply network),
wherein the charging server is configured to store the user information that includes vehicle information, payment information, and the PCID (¶[15, 45, 47]: database of energy provider 7 stores the identification feature which includes information for type of vehicle, payment, and PCID),
wherein the charging server is configured to look up the received PCID in the stored user information, when the received PCID is retrieved from specific user information, the charging of the charger connecting with the vehicle corresponding to the PCID is allowed, then payment is made based on the payment information of a corresponding user information after the charging and when the received PCID is the new PCID, the charging server is configured to update the user information, authenticated by user authentication, with the received new PCID (¶0047: Via the communication unit 5, identification feature 3 is sent to the energy provider 7 where it is processed and information utilized for charging the vehicle battery and handling payment information) (¶0034 and 0041: By downloading the app and registering a vehicle, the user can be authenticated and provided with a PCID).
Regarding independent claim 11, Spähn teaches a method of a vehicle charging service (Fig. 1), the method comprising:
receiving, by a charger, a provisioning certificate identification (PCID) or vehicle authentication information including the PCID from a vehicle when the vehicle is connected to the charger, and transmitting the PCID or vehicle authentication information of the vehicle from the charger to a charging server (¶0017: mobile phone communication unit for transmitting identification feature 3 can be coupled to the vehicle).
receiving, by the charging server, the PCID from a plurality of chargers (¶0035 and 0041: energy provider receives identification feature including PCID from the vehicle, separate from the server device);
looking up, by the charging server, the received PCID in user information stored in the charging server (¶0035: depending on identification feature, energy provider releases energy for charging);
allowing, by the charging server, charging of the charger by wiredly ore wirelessly connecting with the vehicle corresponding to the received PCID when the user information matching the received PCID is present (¶0035); and
updating, by the charging server, the matching user information with the received PCID when the received PCID is a new PCID (¶0041 and 0045: The examiner interprets that when new data received, the system storing data inherently updates the old data),
wherein the charging server is configured to store the user information that includes vehicle information, payment information, and the PCID (¶[15, 45, 47]: database of energy provider 7 stores the identification feature which includes information for type of vehicle, payment, and PCID),
wherein the charging server is configured to look up the received PCID in the stored user information, when the received PCID is retrieved from specific user information, the charging of the charger connecting with the vehicle corresponding to the PCID is allowed, then payment is made based on the payment information of a corresponding user information after the charging and when the received PCID is the new PCID, the charging server is configured to update the user information, authenticated by user authentication, with the received new PCID (¶0047: Via the communication unit 5, identification feature 3 is sent to the energy provider 7 where it is processed and information utilized for charging the vehicle battery and handling payment information) (¶0034 and 0041: By downloading the app and registering a vehicle, the user can be authenticated and provided with a PCID).
Regarding claim 13, Spähn teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the allowing the charging of the charger by the charging server includes, by the charging server, processing payment for the charging according to the payment information of the user information matching the received PCID (¶0047: “user can then enter user information, such as personal data and payment information” which is processed by the server).
Regarding claim 14, Spähn teaches the method of claim 11, further including, by the charging server, allowing the charging of the charger connecting with the vehicle corresponding to the received PCID when the updated PCID is received again, after the updating the user information with the PCID by the charging server (¶0041 and 0045: The examiner interprets that when new data received, the system storing data inherently updates the old data and allows appropriate charging of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 15, Spähn teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the charging server is configured to receive the PCID or vehicle authentication information including the PCID of the vehicle connected to the charger from the vehicle, the external terminal or the charger (¶0034 and 0041: By downloading the app and registering a vehicle, the user can be authenticated and provided with a PCID).
Regarding claim 17, Spähn teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the charging server is configured to process payment for the charging according to the payment information of the user information including a same PCID as the received PCID (¶0047: via the communication unit 5, identification feature 3 is sent to the energy provider 7 where it is processed and information utilized for charging the vehicle battery).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The US Patent Publication of Uesugi (PGPub US 20110193522 A1, published 2011-08-11) teaches an operation server for charging stations to charge vehicles by accepting requests from the user via a charging request unit.
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 February 5, 2026
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859