DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0095153, filed on 7/20/2021.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 12 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,9,10,12-16,18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (KR20150117433A) and Ishita (JP2021012841A).
With regards to claim 1, Kang discloses a heating device (induction heating cooker 1, Fig. 1) comprising: a top plate on which a cooking device is placeable (cooking plate 20 on which container 200 is placeable, Fig. 1), and configured to hold contents to be heated (container 200 is configured to hold contents to be heated by induction, Fig. 1); a wireless power transmitter including a working coil arranged to form a magnetic field to heat the cooking device while the cooking device is on the top plate of the heating device (heating coil L arranged to form a magnetic field to heat the container 200 whole on the cooking plate 20 of induction heating cooker 1, Fig. 1,9); and at least one processor (control unit 160 which is has a plurality of processors, paragraph 0055, lines 1-3) configured to, while the cooking device is on the top plate of the heating device detect a rotation displacement of the cooking device (the controller 160 detects the movement of the container 200 based on the change in the magnetic field (S533) and the controller 160 may detect the rotational movement direction, the rotation angle, and the rotational speed of the container 200 based on the change in the magnetic field, paragraph 0083, lines 1-2), and control power transmission by the wireless power transmitter such that a content of the cooking device reaches the target heating temperature (the controller 160 adjusts the power level to be applied to the heating coil (L), paragraph 0061, lines 1-2) and obtain a target heating temperature based on the detected rotation displacement, wherein the identified temperature control mode defines discrete temperature increments and corresponding rotational directions (the controller 160 increases the power level to be applied to the heating coil L when the container 200 rotates in the first direction, and heats the coil L when the container 200 rotates in the second direction, paragraph 0071, lines 1-3).
Kang does not teach the cooking device having identification information, a communication interface through which the identification information of the cooking device is obtainable while the cooking device is on the top plate of the heating device; obtain, from the cooking device, the identification information of the cooking device through the communication interface, identify a temperature control mode of the cooking device based on corresponding to the obtained identification information from among a plurality of temperature control modes. wherein the cooking device corresponds to one of the plurality of temperature control modes, obtain a target heating temperature based on the detected rotation displacement, wherein the identified temperature control mode defines discrete temperature increments and corresponding rotational directions.
Ishita teaches the cooking device having identification information (cooking container 300A having identification unit 25, Fig. 12), a communication interface through which the identification information of the cooking device is obtainable while the cooking device is on the top plate of the heating device (container information acquisition device 200 through which identification information of the cooking container 300A is obtainable while the cooking container 300A is on top plate 2 of the cooking system, Fig. 12); obtain, from the cooking device(obtain, from the cooking container 300A, information from the identification unit 25 which includes information such as the dimensions, shape, or material of the cooking container 300A, paragraph 0072, lines 1-2 ), the identification information of the cooking device through the communication interface (the cooking device 100 determines whether or not the cooking container 300A can be used based on the information of the identification unit 25, paragraph 0072, lines 2-3), identify a temperature control mode of the cooking device based on corresponding to the obtained identification information from among a plurality of temperature control modes, wherein the cooking device corresponds to one of the plurality of temperature control modes (the cooking device 100 receives information on the temperature, color, material, or arrangement of the cooking container 300 or the foodstuff from the container information acquisition device 200 together with the container information, and based on the information, the first heating source 3 or the second heating The heating of the source 7 may be controlled, paragraph 0096, lines 3-4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kang and Ishita before him or her, to modify the heating system of Kang to include the identification information and communication interface of Ishita because the combination allows for automated recognition of a cooking container to ensure proper cooking steps.
With regards to claim 2, Ishita teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtain the identification information from the cooking device through short-range wireless communication based on detecting that the cooking device is on the top plate (the cooking cooker 100 and the container information acquisition device 200 are connected wirelessly, paragraph 0013, lines 2-3).
With regards to claim 3, Kang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to detect the rotation displacement by a rotation detecting sensor included in the heating device or the cooking device (the magnetic sensor unit 30 detects a change in the magnetic field generated by the movement of the container 200 and provides a corresponding signal to the controller 160, paragraph 0054, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 4, Kang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to detect the rotation displacement based on at least one of an impedance variation of the working coil or an impedance variation of a receiving coil, when the receiving coil of the cooking device to which the magnetic field formed by the working coil is applied, the impedance variation of the working coil or the impedance variation of the receiving coil resulting from rotation displacement of the cooking device while the cooking device is on the top plate of the heating device (the controller 160 may adjust the power level to be applied to the heating coil L based on the change in the magnetic field detected by the magnetic sensor unit 30 and the controller 160 analyzes the movement of the vessel 200 based on the output of the magnetic sensor unit 30 according to the change of the magnetic field, and heats the coil L according to the movement of the analyzed vessel 200, paragraph 0067, line 1-3).
With regards to claim 5, Kang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to identify a default temperature of the cooking device, based on the temperature control mode of the cooking device (the controller 160 may adjust the on / off of the induction heating cooker 1 based on the magnetic field detected by the magnetic sensor unit 30, paragraph 0064, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 9, Ishita teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine whether the temperature of the content of the cooking device has reached the target heating temperature, based on receiving temperature information of the content of the cooking device from the cooking device through the communication interface (the heating drive is continued until the cooking is completed (S10: NO) and the end of cooking is executed by the user's heating stop operation or a stop command by automatic control, paragraph 0049, lines 1-4).
With regards to claim 10, Kang discloses an output interface configured to output at least one of the target heating temperature, a current temperature of the content of the cooking device as measured by the cooking device, or information representing a temperature change situation of the content of the cooking device (a display unit 40 for displaying information on each cooking region 21 of the induction heating cooker 1, paragraph 0041, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 12, Kang discloses an operating method of a heating device (a method for controlling the induction heating cooker, Title) including a top plate (cooking plate 20 on which container 200 is placeable, Fig. 1) configured to hold contents to be heated is placeable (container 200 is configured to hold contents to be heated by induction, Fig. 1), a wireless power transmitter including a working coil arranged to form a magnetic field to heat the cooking device while the cooking device is on the top plate of the heating device (heating coil L arranged to form a magnetic field to heat the container 200 whole on the cooking plate 20 of induction heating cooker 1, Fig. 1,9), the operating method comprising: while the cooking device is on the top plate of the heating device, detecting a rotation displacement of the cooking device (the controller 160 detects the movement of the container 200 based on the change in the magnetic field (S533) and the controller 160 may detect the rotational movement direction, the rotation angle, and the rotational speed of the container 200 based on the change in the magnetic field, paragraph 0083, lines 1-2); obtaining a target heating temperature based on the detected rotation displacement and the identified temperature control mode (the controller 160 increases the power level to be applied to the heating coil L when the container 200 rotates in the first direction, and heats the coil L when the container 200 rotates in the second direction, paragraph 0071, lines 1-3), wherein the identified temperature control mode defines discrete temperature increments and corresponding rotational directions (the controller 160 increases the power level to be applied to the heating coil L when the container 200 rotates in the first direction, and heats the coil L when the container 200 rotates in the second direction, paragraph 0071, lines 1-3); and controlling power transmission by the wireless power transmitter such that a content of the cooking device reaches the target heating temperature (the controller 160 may turn off the heating coil L when the magnetic field sensed by the magnetic sensor 3 is zero, paragraph 0066, lines 2-3).
Kang does not teach the cooking device having identification information, a communication interface through which the identification information of the cooking device is obtainable while the cooking device is on the top plate of the heating device; obtain, from the cooking device, the identification information of the cooking device through the communication interface, identify a temperature control mode of the cooking device based on corresponding to the obtained identification information from among a plurality of temperature control modes. wherein the cooking device corresponds to one of the plurality of temperature control modes, obtain a target heating temperature based on the detected rotation displacement, wherein the identified temperature control mode defines discrete temperature increments and corresponding rotational directions.
Ishita teaches the cooking device having identification information (cooking container 300A having identification unit 25, Fig. 12), a communication interface through which the identification information of the cooking device is obtainable while the cooking device is on the top plate of the heating device (container information acquisition device 200 through which identification information of the cooking container 300A is obtainable while the cooking container 300A is on top plate 2 of the cooking system, Fig. 12); obtain, from the cooking device(obtain, from the cooking container 300A, information from the identification unit 25 which includes information such as the dimensions, shape, or material of the cooking container 300A, paragraph 0072, lines 1-2 ), the identification information of the cooking device through the communication interface (the cooking device 100 determines whether or not the cooking container 300A can be used based on the information of the identification unit 25, paragraph 0072, lines 2-3), identify a temperature control mode of the cooking device based on corresponding to the obtained identification information from among a plurality of temperature control modes, wherein the cooking device corresponds to one of the plurality of temperature control modes (the cooking device 100 receives information on the temperature, color, material, or arrangement of the cooking container 300 or the foodstuff from the container information acquisition device 200 together with the container information, and based on the information, the first heating source 3 or the second heating The heating of the source 7 may be controlled, paragraph 0096, lines 3-4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kang and Ishita before him or her, to modify the heating system of Kang to include the identification information and communication interface of Ishita because the combination allows for automated recognition of a cooking container to ensure proper cooking steps.
With regards to claim 13, Ishita teaches wherein the obtaining of the identification information of the cooking device comprises receiving the identification information from the cooking device through short-range wireless communication based on detecting that the cooking device is on the top plate (the cooking cooker 100 and the container information acquisition device 200 are connected wirelessly, paragraph 0013, lines 2-3).
With regards to claim 14, Kang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to detect the rotation displacement by a rotation detecting sensor included in the heating device or the cooking device (the magnetic sensor unit 30 detects a change in the magnetic field generated by the movement of the container 200 and provides a corresponding signal to the controller 160, paragraph 0054, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 15, Kang discloses wherein the obtaining of the target heating temperature comprises obtaining the rotation displacement based on at least one of an impedance variation of the working coil or an impedance variation of a receiving coil, when the receiving coil of the cooking device to which the magnetic field formed by the working coil is applied, the impedance variation of the working coil or the impedance variation of the receiving coil resulting from rotation displacement of the cooking device while the cooking device is on the top plate of the heating device (the controller 160 may adjust the power level to be applied to the heating coil L based on the change in the magnetic field detected by the magnetic sensor unit 30 and the controller 160 analyzes the movement of the vessel 200 based on the output of the magnetic sensor unit 30 according to the change of the magnetic field, and heats the coil L according to the movement of the analyzed vessel 200, paragraph 0067, line 1-3).
With regards to claim 16, Kang discloses wherein the identifying of the temperature control mode of the cooking device comprises identifying a default temperature of the cooking device, based on the temperature control mode of the cooking device (the controller 160 may adjust the on / off of the induction heating cooker 1 based on the magnetic field detected by the magnetic sensor unit 30, paragraph 0064, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 18, Ishita teaches wherein the controlling of the power transmission comprises: receiving temperature information of the content of the cooking device from the cooking device through the communication interface; and determine whether the temperature of the content of the cooking device has reached the target heating temperature, based on the temperature information of the content of the cooking device (the heating drive is continued until the cooking is completed (S10: NO) and the end of cooking is executed by the user's heating stop operation or a stop command by automatic control, paragraph 0049, lines 1-4).
With regards to claim 19, Kang discloses outputting at least one of the target heating temperature, a current temperature of the content of the cooking device, or information representing a temperature change situation of the content of the cooking device (a display unit 40 for displaying information on each cooking region 21 of the induction heating cooker 1, paragraph 0041, lines 1-2).
Claim(s) 6-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang and Ishita as applied to claims 5 and 16 above, and further in view of Bugatti (US 10,136,751).
With regards to claim 6, Kang and Ishita does not teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine a first temperature being higher than the default temperature as the target heating temperature when the rotation input is a first rotation input in a first direction and determine a second temperature being lower than the default temperature as the target heating temperature when the rotation input is a second rotation input in a second direction, wherein the first direction and the second direction are different from each other.
Bugatti teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine a first temperature being higher than the default temperature as the target heating temperature when the rotation input is a first rotation input in a first direction (the means 6 for detection of angular movement are advantageously configured to detect the direction of rotation of the container body 2 with respect to the base 4, where rotation in one direction determines an increase of the value of the desired temperature to which to heat the water, col 3, lines 17-21) and determine a second temperature being lower than the default temperature as the target heating temperature when the rotation input is a second rotation input in a second direction (while rotation in an opposite direction determines a decrease of the value of the desired temperature to which to heat the water, col 3, lines 22-24), wherein the first direction and the second direction are different from each other (one direction determines an increase of the value of the desired temperature and the opposite direction determines a decrease of the value of the desired temperature, col 3, lines 17-23).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kang, Ishita and Bugatti before him or her, to modify the rotation mechanism of Kang and Ishita to include the means for detection of angular movement of Bugatti because the combination allows for a user interface of a heating device that is straightforward, enjoyable and interactive to use.
With regards to claim 7, Bugatti teaches wherein the first direction is a counterclockwise direction, and the second direction is a clockwise direction (display 13 shows the temperature is increased going counterclockwise and decreased in a clockwise direction, Fig 6-9).
With regards to claim 8, Bugatti teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to increase the target heating temperature from the default temperature at preset temperature intervals as a rotation displacement according to the first rotation input increases (display 13 shows the temperature is increased going counterclockwise as seen going from Fig. 6 to Fig. 7) and decrease the target heating temperature from the default temperature at preset temperature intervals as a rotation displacement according to the second rotation input increases (display shows the temperature is decreased going clockwise as seen going from Fig. 7 to Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 17, Kang and Ishita does not teach wherein the obtaining of the target heating temperature comprises: determining a first temperature being higher than the default temperature as the target heating temperature when the rotation input is a first rotation input in a first direction; and determining a second temperature being lower than the default temperature as the target heating temperature when the rotation input is a second rotation input in a second direction, wherein the first direction and the second direction are different from each other.
Bugatti teaches wherein the obtaining of the target heating temperature comprises: determining a first temperature being higher than the default temperature as the target heating temperature when the rotation input is a first rotation input in a first direction (the means 6 for detection of angular movement are advantageously configured to detect the direction of rotation of the
container body 2 with respect to the base 4, where rotation in one direction determines an increase of the value of the desired temperature to which to heat the water, col 3, lines 17-21); and determining a second temperature being lower than the default temperature as the target heating temperature when the rotation input is a second rotation input in a second direction (while rotation in an opposite direction determines a decrease of the value of the desired temperature to which to heat the water, col 3, lines 22-24), wherein the first direction and the second direction are different from each other (one direction determines an increase of the value of the desired temperature and the opposite direction determines a decrease of the value of the desired temperature, col 3, lines 17-23).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kang, Ishita and Bugatti before him or her, to modify the rotation mechanism of Kang and Ishita to include the means for detection of angular movement of Bugatti because the combination allows for a user interface of a heating device that is straightforward, enjoyable and interactive to use.
Claim(s) 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang and Ishita as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Gaeta et al (WO2009010732A2).
With regards to claim 11, Kang and Ishita does not teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to, when operating in a low-noise mode, control the wireless power transmitter to transmit power at a preset power level corresponding to the low-noise mode.
Gaeta et al teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to, when operating in a low-noise mode, control the wireless power transmitter to transmit power at a preset power level corresponding to the low-noise mode (a low power/low noise mode in which a lower power is supplied to the element plate 12 e.g. 2kW rather than 3kW, paragraph 00118, lines 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kang, Ishita and Gaeta et al before him or her, to modify the controller of heating unit of Kang and Ishita to include the low noise mode of Gaeta et al because the combination allows for a mode that promotes efficiency for a heating device.
With regards to claim 20, Kang and Ishita does not teach wherein the controlling of the power transmission comprises, when the heating device is operating in a low-noise mode, controlling the wireless power transmitter to transmit power at a preset power level corresponding to the low-noise mode.
Gaeta et al teaches wherein the controlling of the power transmission comprises, when the heating device is operating in a low-noise mode, controlling the wireless power transmitter to transmit power at a preset power level corresponding to the low-noise mode (a low power/low noise mode in which a lower power is supplied to the element plate 12 e.g. 2kW rather than 3kW, paragraph 00118, lines 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kang, Ishita and Gaeta et al before him or her, to modify the controller of heating unit of Kang and Ishita to include the low noise mode of Gaeta et al because the combination allows for a mode that promotes efficiency for a heating device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The rejection has been updated in view of Kang and Ishita as seen above.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761