DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 17th 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 remain pending in the application. Claims 7-10 have been added by the Applicant. The argument to the 103 rejection of Claims 1-6 over Kozuki in view of Tsang and Sugii et al. US 2011/0229748 A1 is persuasive and the rejection is withdrawn. However upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Cheon et al. US 7,955,736 B2. New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozuki et al US 2010/0316897 A1, and further in view of Cheon et al. US 7,955,736 B2 and Sugii et al US 2011/0229748 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Kozuki discloses a secondary battery comprising an electrode body (electrode group [0019]) with a wound structure [0019], further comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator (porous insulating layer) disposed between the electrodes [0019], as shown in Figure 1(a-c). Kozuki discloses that the secondary battery further comprises a positive electrode current collector plate and a negative electrode current collector plate (Items 10 and 20, respectively, in Figure 3, [0068]). Kozuki discloses a battery can (battery case Item 6 Figure 5 [0098]) that houses the electrode wound body (electrode group 4), the positive electrode current-collecting plate (Item 10), and the negative electrode current-collecting plate (Item 20), as shown in Figure 5.
Figure 5
Kozuki discloses that the positive electrode and the negative electrode both comprise a coated portion, coated with an active material, and an uncoated portion which is exposed [0071]. This is further illustrated in Figure 5 wherein Item 1a is the uncoated portion and Item 1b is the coated portion of the positive electrode, and Item 2a is the uncoated portion and Item 2b is the coated portion of the negative electrode. Thus, Kozuki reads on the limitations of Claim 1 wherein:
the positive electrode includes a covered part covered with a positive electrode active material layer and a positive electrode active material non-covered part on a band-shaped positive electrode foil, and
the negative electrode includes a covered part covered with a negative electrode active material layer and a negative electrode active material non-covered part on a band-shaped negative electrode foil
Kozuki discloses that the non-covered parts of the positive electrode (exposed end 1a) are connected to the positive electrode current collector plate (Item 10) in Figure 5 [0096], and discloses that the non-covered parts of the negative electrode (exposed end 2a) are connected to the negative electrode current collector plate (Item 20) in Figure 5 [0097]. Figure 5 shows that the positive electrode current collector plate is on the end of the electrode wound body and the negative electrode current collector plate is on the other end.
Kozuki fails to disclose that the non-covered parts of the positive and negative electrodes have a flat surface formed by bending towards the center of the wound structure and overlap each other. Kozuki also fails to disclose that the flat surface has a groove. Kozuki further fails to disclose that a position of the positive electrode current collector plate or a position of the negative electrode current collector plate corresponding to the flat surface with no groove has weld points in a concentric or spiral shape.
Cheon discloses a secondary comprising an electrode assembly in a case, wherein the electrodes comprise a coated region and an uncoated region [Abstract], similar to Kozuki. As shown in Figure 1, Cheon illustrates a wound electrode body (jelly roll configuration) [Column 2 Lines 66-67].
Regarding the flat surface formed by bending the non-covered portions of the positive and negative electrodes, Cheon further discloses that the uncoated regions of the electrodes are bent toward the center of the electrode assembly [Column 2 Lines 50-51], which is further shown in Cheon Annotated Figures 4 & 5, which forms a flat surface. Thus, Cheon discloses a flat surface formed by bending and overlapping the uncoated regions of the electrodes.
Cheon Annotated Figures 4 & 5
As shown in Figure 1, Cheon shows that both the positive and negative electrodes have uncoated regions (Figure 1 Items 22b and 23b) that are bent inward, thus Cheon discloses that both the positive electrode and the negative electrode comprise non-covered parts that have a flat surface formed by bending them inward.
Regarding the flat surface having a groove extending toward the central axis in a radial direction, Cheon discloses that the uncoated regions of the electrodes comprise slits (Figure 3 Item 22c) [Column 4 Lines 49-53]. As shown in Cheon Annotated Figures 3 & 4, Cheon discloses that the slits in the uncoated regions thereby form a groove in the flat surface (once the uncoated regions are bent inwards) that extends toward the central axis in a radial direction:
Cheon Annotated Figures 3 & 4
Cheon discloses that the grooves (slits) enable the uncoated regions of the electrodes to bent freely inwards, thus creating the flat surface, and thereby increasing the contact area between the current collector plates and the electrode assembly [Column 5 Lines 1-5], further enabling electrical and mechanical connection between the electrodes and the current collecting plates without any problem [Column 5 Lines 25-28]. Cheon further discloses that this structure reduces contact resistance and increases current collecting efficiency [Column 6 Lines 4-7].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the non-covered parts of the positive and negative electrodes of Kozuki to have the flattened and overlapping structure comprising a groove (slits) in the flat surface as disclosed in Cheon in the wound battery to increase the contact area for easy electrical and mechanical contact as well as reduced contact resistance and increased current collecting efficiency.
Regarding the position and pattern of the weld points, Kozuki discloses that the exposed electrode ends and the current collector plates can be welded using arc, laser, or electron beam methods [0096], however fails to specifically disclose the position and pattern of the welding. Cheon discloses the flat surfaces of the bent portions of the electrode ends are welded to the current collecting plates [Column 4 Lines 30-36], however fails to more specifically disclose the position and pattern of the welding. Sugii discloses a secondary battery with a wound structure comprising alternating positive electrode plates, negative electrode plates, with a separator in-between [0002] as shown in Figure 4. Sugii discloses that the secondary battery further comprises an electrode lead (upper collector 20) and an electrode current collector plate (current-collecting lead 10) on top of the electrode lead (upper collector) and welded together [0022]. The electrode lead (upper collector) is joined to a portion of the electrode extending from the electrode group (Figure 4 Item 31a) and has a flat structure (Figure 4 & 5A). Sugii discloses in Figure 5A (Item 20a) that the electrode lead (upper collector) has a structure comprising grooves (“slits” 23a). Sugii discloses that although not shown in the figures, there is an electrode lead (lower collector) for the negative electrode end with the same structure as the positive electrode lead (upper collector) [0035].
Figure 4
Sugii discloses in Figure 10 that the electrode current collector plate (current-collecting lead) has weld points (Items 41b & 42c) which are evenly spaced concentric circles. As shown below, Figure 5A and Figure 10 are overlaid with each other, comparing Figure 5A showing the grooves (Item 23a) of the flat surface of the electrode, and Figure 10 showing the weld points (Items 41b & 42c). Thus Sugii discloses that the weld points are located in a position on the current collector plate (Figure 10) corresponding to a position of the flat surface (Figure 5A) without grooves.
Figure 10 overlaid with Figure 5A
Sugii discloses that the weld points in this location (between the grooves) provides a battery with uniformly distributed welding spots, which reduces internal resistance and improves output characteristics [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the wound secondary battery of modified Kozuki to incorporate the weld pattern of Sugii for welding the positive and negative electrode current collecting plates to the flat surfaces of modified Kozuki by placing weld points at a position without any groove (as modified by Cheon), to achieve a battery with prevented damage to the separator during welding and improved internal resistance.
Regarding Claim 2, Kozuki and Cheon are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. However Kozuki and Cheon both fail to disclose that the number of windings of the positive electrode (k) and the number of turns of the welded point group (l) meet the limitation of 3.6≤k/l≤8.0. Sugii discloses in one embodiment (Battery A1) that the current collecting plate (Item 40) [0059] has the structure as shown below in Figure 10 with weld points (Items 41b & 42c) in two concentric circles. Thus, Sugii discloses that the number of turns of the welded point group (l) is two. Kozuki discloses, as shown in Figure 3, that there are ten exposed ends of the electrodes (Items 1a), thus Kozuki discloses that the number of winds of the positive electrode (k) is ten. Thus, modified Kozuki, with the weld points of Sugii, discloses that k/l is 5.0, meeting the limitation of Claim 1 where 3.6 ≤ k/l ≤ 8.0.
Sugii discloses that a battery with this configuration of weld points displays a lower internal resistance (Table 2 [0061]). Sugii discloses that a wound battery with this configuration of weld points and more than nine electrode winds enables an increase in weld points (Figure 12 [0064]). Sugii discloses that an increase in weld points decreases the distance between weld points and helps to improve the internal resistance [0064].
Thus, modified Kozuki, with the modification of Sugii, discloses a wound secondary battery where a number of turns of the welded point group (l) is two and a number of winds of the positive electrode (k) is ten. Thus, modified Kozuki discloses that k/l is 4.5, meeting the limitation of Claim 2 where 3.6 ≤ k/l ≤ 8.0.
Regarding Claim 3, Kozuki, Cheon, and Sugii are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 2. Kozuki discloses that the positive electrode and the negative electrode are wound together [0019], thus Kozuki discloses, as mentioned with regards to Claim 2, that the number of winds of the negative electrode (m) is ten. Sugii discloses that the negative electrode current-collecting plate has the weld point configuration as mentioned with regards to Claims 1 & 2, shown in Figure 10, thus modified Kozuki discloses that the number of turns of the welded point group (n) is two. Thus, modified Kozuki discloses that m/n is 5.0, meeting the limitation of Claim 3 where 3.7 ≤ m/n ≤ 8.2.
Regarding Claim 4, Kozuki discloses that the secondary battery can be applied to electrochemical devices [0120].
Regarding Claim 5, Kozuki discloses that the secondary battery can be applied to electric tools [0170].
Regarding Claim 6, Kozuki and Cheon are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. However Kozuki and Cheon both fail to disclose that the number of windings of the negative electrode (m) and the number of turns of the welded point group (n) meet the limitation of 3.7≤m/n≤8.2. Kozuki discloses that the positive electrode and the negative electrode are wound together [0019], thus Kozuki discloses, as mentioned with regards to Claim 2, that the number of winds of the negative electrode (m) is ten. Sugii discloses that the negative electrode current-collecting plate has the weld point configuration as mentioned with regards to Claims 1 & 2, shown in Figure 10, thus modified Kozuki discloses that the number of turns of the welded point group (n) is two. Thus, modified Kozuki discloses that m/n is 5.0, meeting the limitation of Claim 6 where 3.7 ≤ m/n ≤ 8.2.
Regarding Claim 7, Kozuki discloses a secondary battery comprising an electrode body (electrode group [0019]) with a wound structure [0019], further comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator (porous insulating layer) disposed between the electrodes [0019], as shown in Figure 1(a-c). Kozuki discloses that the secondary battery further comprises a positive electrode current collector plate and a negative electrode current collector plate (Items 10 and 20, respectively, in Figure 3, [0068]). Kozuki discloses a battery can (battery case Item 6 Figure 5 [0098]) that houses the electrode wound body (electrode group 4), the positive electrode current-collecting plate (Item 10), and the negative electrode current-collecting plate (Item 20), as shown in Figure 5.
Figure 5
Kozuki discloses that the positive electrode and the negative electrode both comprise a coated portion, coated with an active material, and an uncoated portion which is exposed [0071]. This is further illustrated in Figure 5 wherein Item 1a is the uncoated portion and Item 1b is the coated portion of the positive electrode, and Item 2a is the uncoated portion and Item 2b is the coated portion of the negative electrode. Thus, Kozuki reads on the limitations of Claim 1 wherein:
the positive electrode includes a covered part covered with a positive electrode active material layer and a positive electrode active material non-covered part on a band-shaped positive electrode foil, and
the negative electrode includes a covered part covered with a negative electrode active material layer and a negative electrode active material non-covered part on a band-shaped negative electrode foil
Kozuki discloses that the non-covered parts of the positive electrode (exposed end 1a) are connected to the positive electrode current collector plate (Item 10) in Figure 5 [0096], and discloses that the non-covered parts of the negative electrode (exposed end 2a) are connected to the negative electrode current collector plate (Item 20) in Figure 5 [0097]. Figure 5 shows that the positive electrode current collector plate is on the end of the electrode wound body and the negative electrode current collector plate is on the other end.
Kozuki fails to disclose that the non-covered parts of the positive and negative electrodes have a flat surface formed by bending towards the center of the wound structure and overlap each other. Kozuki also fails to disclose that the flat surface has a groove. Kozuki further fails to disclose that a position of the positive electrode current collector plate or a position of the negative electrode current collector plate corresponding to the flat surface with no groove has weld points in a concentric or spiral shape.
Cheon discloses a secondary comprising an electrode assembly in a case, wherein the electrodes comprise a coated region and an uncoated region [Abstract], similar to Kozuki. As shown in Figure 1, Cheon illustrates a wound electrode body (jelly roll configuration) [Column 2 Lines 66-67].
Regarding the flat surface formed by bending the non-covered portions of the positive and negative electrodes, Cheon further discloses that the uncoated regions of the electrodes are bent toward the center of the electrode assembly [Column 2 Lines 50-51], which is further shown in Cheon Annotated Figures 4 & 5, which forms a flat surface. Thus, Cheon discloses a flat surface formed by bending and overlapping the uncoated regions of the electrodes.
Cheon Annotated Figures 4 & 5
As shown in Figure 1, Cheon shows that both the positive and negative electrodes have uncoated regions (Figure 1 Items 22b and 23b) that are bent inward, thus Cheon discloses that both the positive electrode and the negative electrode comprise non-covered parts that have a flat surface formed by bending them inward.
Regarding the flat surface having a groove extending toward the central axis in a radial direction, Cheon discloses that the uncoated regions of the electrodes comprise slits (Figure 3 Item 22c) [Column 4 Lines 49-53]. As shown in Cheon Annotated Figures 3 & 4, Cheon discloses that the slits in the uncoated regions thereby form a groove in the flat surface (once the uncoated regions are bent inwards) that extends toward the central axis in a radial direction:
Cheon Annotated Figures 3 & 4
Cheon discloses that the grooves (slits) enable the uncoated regions of the electrodes to bent freely inwards, thus creating the flat surface, and thereby increasing the contact area between the current collector plates and the electrode assembly [Column 5 Lines 1-5], further enabling electrical and mechanical connection between the electrodes and the current collecting plates without any problem [Column 5 Lines 25-28]. Cheon further discloses that this structure reduces contact resistance and increases current collecting efficiency [Column 6 Lines 4-7].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the non-covered parts of the positive and negative electrodes of Kozuki to have the flattened and overlapping structure comprising a groove (slits) in the flat surface as disclosed in Cheon in the wound battery to increase the contact area for easy electrical and mechanical contact as well as reduced contact resistance and increased current collecting efficiency.
Regarding the position and pattern of the weld points, Kozuki discloses that the exposed electrode ends and the current collector plates can be welded using arc, laser, or electron beam methods [0096], however fails to specifically disclose the position and pattern of the welding. Cheon discloses the flat surfaces of the bent portions of the electrode ends are welded to the current collecting plates [Column 4 Lines 30-36], however fails to more specifically disclose the position and pattern of the welding. Sugii discloses a secondary battery with a wound structure comprising alternating positive electrode plates, negative electrode plates, with a separator in-between [0002] as shown in Figure 4. Sugii discloses that the secondary battery further comprises an electrode lead (upper collector 20) and an electrode current collector plate (current-collecting lead 10) on top of the electrode lead (upper collector) and welded together [0022]. The electrode lead (upper collector) is joined to a portion of the electrode extending from the electrode group (Figure 4 Item 31a) and has a flat structure (Figure 4 & 5A). Sugii discloses in Figure 5A (Item 20a) that the electrode lead (upper collector) has a structure comprising grooves (“slits” 23a). Sugii discloses that although not shown in the figures, there is an electrode lead (lower collector) for the negative electrode end with the same structure as the positive electrode lead (upper collector) [0035].
Figure 4
Sugii discloses in Figure 10 that the electrode current collector plate (current-collecting lead) has weld points (Items 41b & 42c) which are evenly spaced concentric circles. As shown below, Figure 5A and Figure 10 are overlaid with each other, comparing Figure 5A showing the grooves (Item 23a) of the flat surface of the electrode, and Figure 10 showing the weld points (Items 41b & 42c). Thus Sugii discloses that the weld points are located in a position on the current collector plate (Figure 10) corresponding to a position of the flat surface (Figure 5A) without grooves.
Figure 10 overlaid with Figure 5A
Sugii discloses that the weld points in this location (between the grooves) provides a battery with uniformly distributed welding spots, which reduces internal resistance and improves output characteristics [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the wound secondary battery of modified Kozuki to incorporate the weld pattern of Sugii for welding the positive and negative electrode current collecting plates to the flat surfaces of modified Kozuki by placing weld points at a position without any groove (as modified by Cheon), to achieve a battery with prevented damage to the separator during welding and improved internal resistance.
Additionally, modified Kozuki fails to disclose that the number of windings of the positive electrode (k) and the number of turns of the welded point group (l) meet the limitation of 3.6≤k/l≤8.0. Sugii discloses in one embodiment (Battery A1) that the current collecting plate (Item 40) [0059] has the structure as shown below in Figure 10 with weld points (Items 41b & 42c) in two concentric circles. Thus, Sugii discloses that the number of turns of the welded point group (l) is two. Kozuki discloses, as shown in Figure 3, that there are ten exposed ends of the electrodes (Items 1a), thus Kozuki discloses that the number of winds of the positive electrode (k) is ten. Thus, modified Kozuki, with the weld points of Sugii, discloses that k/l is 5.0, meeting the limitation of Claim 7 where 3.6 ≤ k/l ≤ 8.0.
Sugii discloses that a battery with this configuration of weld points displays a lower internal resistance (Table 2 [0061]). Sugii discloses that a wound battery with this configuration of weld points and more than nine electrode winds enables an increase in weld points (Figure 12 [0064]). Sugii discloses that an increase in weld points decreases the distance between weld points and helps to improve the internal resistance [0064].
Thus, modified Kozuki, with the modification of Sugii, discloses a wound secondary battery where a number of turns of the welded point group (l) is two and a number of winds of the positive electrode (k) is ten. Thus, modified Kozuki discloses that k/l is 4.5, meeting the limitation of Claim 7 where 3.6 ≤ k/l ≤ 8.0.
Regarding Claim 8, Kozuki, Cheon, and Sugii are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 7. Kozuki discloses that the positive electrode and the negative electrode are wound together [0019], thus Kozuki discloses, as mentioned with regards to Claim 7, that the number of winds of the negative electrode (m) is ten. Sugii discloses that the negative electrode current-collecting plate has the weld point configuration as mentioned with regards to Claim 7, shown in Figure 10, thus modified Kozuki discloses that the number of turns of the welded point group (n) is two. Thus, modified Kozuki discloses that m/n is 5.0, meeting the limitation of Claim 8 where 3.7 ≤ m/n ≤ 8.2.
Regarding Claim 9, Kozuki discloses that the secondary battery can be applied to electrochemical devices [0120].
Regarding Claim 10, Kozuki discloses that the secondary battery can be applied to electric tools [0170].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/A.E.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726