DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 11/25/25.
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 10, 12 – 17, and 19 – 21 are pending.
All objections and rejections not set forth below have been withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “…each threat detector configured to detect a respective condition in network traffic and generate a corresponding signal mapped to a corresponding node…” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The applicant’s original disclosure fails to teach “…each threat detector configured to detect a respective condition in network traffic and generate a corresponding signal mapped to a corresponding node…” and
“…each of the activated subset of nodes associated with a respective one of the triggered threat detectors…”
(e.g. see claims 1, 8, 15)
Specifically, the applicant’s disclosure fails to teach any particular configuration of threat detectors, such that each one is configured to detect a respective condition in network traffic. Additionally, the applicant’s disclosure fails to teach any particular configuration of threat detectors, such that each one is configured to generate a corresponding signal that is mapped to a corresponding node.
Furthermore, the applicant’s disclosure fails to teach each of the activated subset of nodes associated with a respective one of the triggered threat detectors
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
See above objection to the Specification.
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, the recitation of “…one or more threat detectors … activate, based on corresponding signals from a subset of the one or more threat detectors …” renders the scope of the claims indefinite.
Specifically, the examiner notes that the claims are broadly limited to only one threat detector (i.e. “one or more threat detectors”). Thus, it is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art as to how a “subset” of threat detectors would be identified from a universe of only one, or a single, threat detector.
This claim language renders the scope of the claims ambiguous, as it would appear that, despite the explicit wording of the claim, the scope of the claim must actually be limited, in its broadest form, to a plurality of threat detectors, such that a “subset” of threat detectors can exist.
Depending claims are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 6 – 10, 13 – 17, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bassett, US 2019/0373005 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Bassett discloses:
A computer system comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (e.g. Bassett, par. 127):
detect triggering of one or more threat detectors (e.g. Bassett, par. 6, 33, 65, 94; fig. 6:605; claim 3 - Herein one or more “threat detectors” (i.e. various sensors and attack detector) are “triggered” by the observation of data, conditions, and events within a network), each threat detector configured to detect a respective condition in network traffic (e.g. Bassett, claim 3; par. 94, 95, 101) and generate a corresponding signal mapped to a corresponding node (e.g. Bassett, Abstract; par. 65 – observations from the “threat detectors” are mapped to respective nodes of a graph), wherein at least one threat detector is configured to detect one or more properties of a user associated with an action corresponding to the network traffic (e.g. Bassett, Abstract; par. 71, 94, 95, 101);
activate, based on corresponding signals from a subset of the one or more threat detectors including the at least one threat detector, a subset of nodes from a plurality of nodes in a Bayesian network, each of the activated subset of nodes associated with a respective one of the triggered threat detectors (e.g. Bassett, par. 33, 34, 58, 59, 61, 81, 93 - 96; fig. 1). Herein, one or more likely attack paths of nodes (i.e. a subset of nodes) are identified (i.e. “activated”).
calculate a probability of malicious action using the Bayesian network to combine probabilities associated with the activated subset of nodes, wherein the probability of the malicious action is calculated based at least in part on the one or more properties of the user associated with the action corresponding to the network traffic (e.g. Bassett, par. 56, 60, 61, 76 – 81, 91, 93- 95, 101). Herein, conditional probability tables, CPTs, are calculated for the identified nodes within the attack path – the attack paths being based upon the hacker’s malicious actions within the network.
determine that the probability exceeds a threshold value (e.g. Bassett, par. 18, 81, 86, 88, 96, 97, 99, 101). Herein, attack likelihoods (i.e. probabilities) are compared to various threshold values, such as previous likelihoods values for the prioritization of risk, qualitative values (e.g. low, medium, high risks), and/or differential measurements, in order to determine if an attack has/or is likely to have occurred.
and perform a security action in response to the determination (e.g. Bassett, par. 22, 98, 99).
Regarding claim 2, Bassett discloses:
wherein each node of the plurality of nodes of the Bayesian network is configured to provide a probability of detection and a probability of false alarm of the threat associated with the each node (e.g. Bassett, par. 41 – 43, 56).
Regarding claim 3, Bassett discloses:
wherein the each node is associated with a threat objective and with one or more threat techniques, the threat techniques associated with the threat objective and with one of the threat detectors (e.g. Bassett, par. 6, 17, 18, 94; table 5). Herein, attributes (i.e. threat techniques) of a graph node are associated with corresponding attackers/threat actors (i.e. threat objective), each of which are detected by network sensors (i.e. threat detectors).
Regarding claim 6, Bassett discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to select the threshold value based on a tradeoff between a probability of detection of the malicious action and a probability of false alarm of the malicious action (e.g. Bassett, par. 18, 81, 86, 88, 96, 97, 99, 101). Herein, attack threshold values (e.g. low, medium, high risks and/or prioritized probability rankings, and/or differential measurements) are all based upon an attack probability, i.e. a tradeoff or likelihood between an attack being correctly detected or falsely detected (i.e. “false alarm”).
Regarding claim 7, Bassett discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to create and update the plurality of nodes of the Bayesian network based on provisioning of threat detectors and provisioning of threat detector performance data (e.g. Bassett, par. 6, 33, 65, 79, 94; fig. 6:605; claim 3). Herein, nodes of the Bayesian network are created and updated through the detections of the GUI and system sensors, i.e. “threat detectors”.
Regarding claims 8 – 10, 13 – 17, 20, and 21, they are method and medium claims essentially corresponding to the system claims above, and they are rejected, at least, for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassett, US 2019/0373005 A1 in view of Mittal et al. (Mittal), US 2025/0007937 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Bassett discloses a system for using Bayesian probability to detect attacks based upon collected information, however does not appear to explicitly teach that such collected information could include a geolocation of the user or reputation data associated with an internet provider employed by the user.
However, Mittal also teaches a system for using Bayesian probability to detect attacks based upon collected information (e.g. Mittal, par. 79), and further teaches that such collected information can include a geolocation of the user and reputation data associated with an internet provider employed by the user (e.g. Mittal, par. 76, e.g. geo-location and the reputation of the attackers IP addresses used to provide connection to the internet, i.e. reputation data associated with the attacker’s internet provider).
It would have been obvious to include the teachings of Mittal for collecting information such as a user’s geolocation and data associated with a reputation of an internet provider within the system of Bassett for using collected information to detect attacks using Bayesian probability. This would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teachings that better resource protection can be achieved by collecting and using such metadata (e.g. Mittal, par. 73 – 76).
Thus, the combination enables
wherein the properties include a geolocation of the user and reputation data associated with an internet provider employed by the user (e.g. Mittal, par. 76).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, they are method and medium claims essentially corresponding to the system claims above, and they are rejected, at least, for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues or alleges essentially that:
…
First …
… However, the cited passages fail to specify that each of the one or more threat detectors is configured to detect a respective condition in network traffic and generate a corresponding signal, nevermind that the signal is mapped to a corresponding node as recited in amended claim 1. …
…
(Remarks, pg. 2)
Examiner respectfully responds:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Bassett clearly teaches that the various “threat detectors” (i.e. sensors and/or attack detector) make observations of respective network conditions (e.g. Bassett, claim 3; par. 94, 95, 101), wherein such observations are conveyed as signals to be integrated into graphical form by mapping them to corresponding nodes on a graph (e.g. Bassett, claim 1, claim 3; par. 65, 94 – 96).
Applicant argues or alleges essentially that:
…
Second, …
… However, the cited passages at most describe observable attributes relating to the traffic as noted above (such as IP addresses, browser headers, and time of day), not one or more properties of a user associated with an action corresponding to the network traffic. Rather, and if anything, the attributes described in Bassett relate to the action itself, and not a user associated with the action as recited in amended claim 1.
…
(Remarks, pg. 3)
Examiner respectfully responds:
The examiner respectfully disagrees, at least, for the reason that Bassett explicitly teaches that the observable attributes (such as network events and conditions) pertain to the network activity of hackers and other malicious “actors” (i.e. someone who performs malicious actions) (e.g. Bassett, par. 69-73; 101, 104).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495