DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on December 18, 2025 for the application filed July 19, 2022. Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended. Claims 21 and 22 have been canceled. Claims 23-24 have been added. Claims 1-11, 13-18, 20, and 23-24 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0377788) in view of Brisebois et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0153497), Pettersson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0296625), JI et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0096061), Rezaiifar et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0285159), Tao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0216681), and He et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0361059).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon teaches a method, comprising: receiving signal information associated with at least one user equipment (UE) located in a first geographic area, the signal information including at least one physical cell identity (PCI) and at least one signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) (Abstract: Techniques and systems relate to utilizing network metrics to optimize performance and network coverage for a telecommunications network. Using techniques described herein, a telecommunications network may utilize network metrics collected from user equipment (UE) devices. Paragraph [0031]: In some examples, the network device(s) 112 are configured to generate configuration data that identifies first utilization data that indicates a first utilization of a first wireless access technology (e.g., 5G, 4G, . . . ) within a first geographic area of the telecommunications network and other utilization data that indicates one or more other utilizations of different wireless access technologies within one or more other geographic areas of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0015]: UE within a telecommunications network may be utilized to collect data associated with network metrics. …. signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), ….physical cell id. (PCI)).
identifying a first total number of PCIs in the at least one PCI, and an average SINR value associated with the first geographic area (Paragraph [0057]: According to some examples, the collection component 404 can sample conditions of a signal over a period of time and perform a statistical analysis to determine additional metrics (e.g., average, median, high, low, etc.) associated with the signal. Paragraph [0089], Fig 6: At 606, the one or more processor(s) 612 may determine, using the network coverage component 504, or some other component, other information associated with the telecommunications network 118. For instance, an aggregated signal strength associated with one or more locations within an area may be determined, a location of transmitters 110 may be determined, and the like. In some examples, the network device 400 may aggregate the data associated with a geographic region. Determining the aggregated data associated with the geographic region may include averaging metrics received from user devices operating within that particular region, or by performing other aggregation techniques.);
the at least one PCI being included in a same handover window of a predetermined size and being associated with at least one carrier frequency value (Paragraph [0029]: For example, the UE 102 may utilize the API to collect data for NR PSCell band name, NR PSCell bandwidth, NR physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) channel assignment status, NR PDSCH access status, NR PDSCH beam index, NR PSCell RSRP, NR PSCell SINR, NR PSCell RSRQ, NR channel quality indicator, NR rank indicator, and the like. The UE 102 may also collect information that checks the condition of the 5G NR signals for potential data transmission, such as a list of synchronization signal block (SSB) signal information (e.g., SSB beam index, RSRP, RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, the band number, the bandwidth and the PCI of the 5G NR cell sending the beam), number of SSB beams detected by UE, SSB beam index, PCI for the cell that transmits the SSB name, band name, bandwidth, RSB RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, and the like. Paragraph: [0019]: In some examples, the techniques discussed herein can be implemented on a user equipment configured to facilitate user communications using first frequency resources. In some instances, the first frequency resources can include, but are not limited to, an LTE Band 12 a 700 MHz Band), an LTE Band 4 (e.g., 1700 MHz band and/or a 2100 MHz band), an LTE Band 2 (e.g., a 1900 MHz band), an LTE Band 66 (e.g., a 1700 MHz band and/or a 2100 MHz extended band. Paragraph [0094]: The configuration component 120 determines that many of these UEs (e.g., a majority or some other portion) support an RE resource using a different generation technology (e.g., NR band 71, or some other band) that Majority of the devices are capable of NR band 71. Hence, the configuration component 120 can re-farm the existing LTE band 71 to NR band 71 (fully or can be partially done) to take advantage of the 5G (NR) band utilization efficiency);
the average SINR value being associated with the at least one SINR value of the at least one UE (Paragraph [0029]: The UE 102 may also collect information that checks the condition of the 5G NR signals for potential data transmission, such as a list of synchronization signal block (SSB) signal information (e.g., SSB beam index, RSRP, RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, the band number, the bandwidth and the PCI of the 5G NR cell sending the beam), number of SSB beams detected by UE, SSB beam index, PCI for the cell that transmits the SSB name, band name, bandwidth, RSB RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, and the like. Paragraph [0057]: According to some examples, the collection component 404 can sample conditions of a signal over a period of time and perform a statistical analysis to determine additional metrics (e.g., average, median, high, low, etc.) associated with the signal.);
identifying a second total number of PCIs associated with a second geographic area; identifying, based on the first total number of PCIs being greater than a threshold number of PCIs, the second total number of PCIs being less than or equal to the threshold number of PCIs, and the average SINR value being less than a threshold SINR level, the first geographic area as a geographic area for modification of one or more layers utilized by the at least one UE (Paragraph [0011]: The metrics collected by UEs may be utilized to indicate the different types of cellular coverage utilized within different areas, the number of UEs utilizing each of the different types of cellular coverage within each of the different areas, and the like. Paragraph [0013]: Using the techniques described, the metrics collected from UEs within the telecommunications network can be utilized to determine areas that do not have enough 5G cells, have too many 5G cells. Paragraph [0015]: According to some examples, UE within a telecommunications network may be utilized to collect data associated with network metrics. For instance, the metrics may indicate the type of wireless access coverage available to the UE, signal strengths between the LTE and network transceiver(s), cell information (e.g., cell identifier, band name, bandwidth, . . . ), and the like. More specifically, in some examples, the metrics may include, but are not limited to signal strength of a signal between the UE and a network transceiver in the mobile device telecommunications network, a type of network that the user device is connected to (e.g., 5G, LTE, 3G, 2G, no network, etc.), a received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), energy per chip of the pilot channel over the noise power density (EcNo), etc.), LTE E-UTRAN cell identifier (ECI) (ENB-ID+CELLID), EN-DC capability of a cell (e.g., an LTE cell), list of 5G new radio (NR) cell information (e.g., communicated from an LTE primary cell (PCELL)), number of NR cells, NR cell ID, NR band name, NR bandwidth, LTE RRC state, NR RRC state, NR primary secondary cell (PSCell) physical cell id. (PCI). Paragraph [0017]: As briefly discussed, the system may also generate graphical output that represents information about the UE and connections to the telecommunications network. For instance, the system may generate a graphical map showing relative signal strength of varying colors and opacity that indicate call density and signal strengths. The visualization may also show the wireless access technologies being utilized in different areas of the map. For instance, the visualization may show where UE is located that utilizes (or could utilize) a particular wireless access technology (e.g., 5G). In some examples, the map may be part of data utilized to indicate one or more areas in which to add additional/different coverage, and/or be used to generate configuration data that may be used to configure one or more network resources. The graphic can also be used as a visualization tool to select high-value changes to the network infrastructure. Paragraph [0018]: The collection component may determine, based at least in part on the data, a coverage area associated with a network transceiver. The one or more metrics can be sent to the network device for aggregation and determination of one or more sources of diminished signal strength. Example sources may include an interference level (e.g., an existing interference level, an estimated interference level, etc. Paragraph [0031]: The configuration data generated by the configuration component 120 may identify one or more locations within one or more of the geographic areas to configure one or more network resources of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0034]: In some examples, the visualization 126A and/or visualization 126B may be part of a configuration provided by configuration component 120 that may indicate one or more areas in which to add additional/different coverage, and/or be used to generate a configuration. The visualization 126 can also be used as a tool to select high-value changes to the network infrastructure. Paragraph [0051]: In some instances, the heat map 300 may include a geographic region associated with the network transceiver, where the geographic region is output having a color associated with the coverage area. The color may be indicative of the number of UE 102 utilizing a particular wireless access technology, an aggregated signal strength associated with the network transceiver, and the like. In other aspects, the geographic region may be output having a pattern. representative of the aggregated signal strength, and/or an opacity associated with the aggregated signal strength, and/or call density. Paragraph [0088], Fig 6: At 604, after the network device 500 receives the data (e.g., data relating to the metrics 124), the one or more processor(s) 512 may generate information associated with one or more different wireless access technologies utilized within different geographic areas of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0089]: For instance, an aggregated signal strength associated with one or more locations within an area may be determined, a location of transmitters 110 may be determined, and the like. In some examples, the network device 400 may aggregate the data associated with a geographic region. Determining the aggregated data associated with the geographic region may include averaging metrics received from user devices operating within that particular region, or by performing other aggregation techniques. Paragraph [0091]: the configuration component 120 may identify that a region may not include enough cells (e.g., 5G cells) within a geographic area/region to handle current or predicted load. For instance, the network metrics 124 may indicate that a geographic area is currently congested. Paragraph [0093]: As a particular example, assume that a number of UEs are causing congestion in LTE bands 4, 2, 12 and 71 within a particular region. In an attempt to alleviate this congestion, the configuration component 120 determines that many of these UEs (e.g., a majority or some other portion) support an RF resource (e.g., NR band 261, or some other band) that may be utilized to resolve the congestion. Upon determining that another RF resource is available to be utilized that is not congested, the configuration component 120 causes the UEs to utilize the uncongested RF resource (e.g., NR band 261 in this example) to attempt to resolve the congestion. Also see claim 3 of Yoon which identifies that a first geographic region is congested, and a second geographic area is uncongested.);
determining a type of mode in which the at least one UE is operating (Paragraph [0023]: In some instances, the one or more transceiver(s) 106 can receive the signal 108 at the user equipment 102, and the collection component 104 can determine various metrics 124 associated with the signal 108. For example, the one or more metrics 124 can include, but are not limited to signal strength of a signal between the UE 102 and a network transceiver 106 in the mobile device telecommunications network, a type of network that the user device is connected to (e.g., 5G, LTE, 3G, 2G, no network, etc.), a received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), energy per chip of the pilot channel over the noise power density (Echo), etc.), LTE E-UIRAN cell identifier (ECI) (ENB-ID+CELLID), EN-DC capability of a cell (e.g., an LTE cell), list of 5G new radio (NR) cell information (e.g., communicated from an LTE primary cell (PCELL)), number of NR cells, NR cell ID, NR band name, NR bandwidth, LTE RRC state, NR RRC state, NR primary secondary cell (PSCell) physical cell id (PCI), NR PSCell band name, NR PSCell bandwidth, NR physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) channel assignment status, NR PDSCH access status, NR PDSCH beam index, NR PSCell. Paragraph [0027]: To verify this, the RRC state may be checked on both 4G LTE and on 5G NR. The UE 102 may use an API to collect LTE RRC state (e.g., IDLE, CONNECTED) and NR RRC state (e.g., IDLE, CONNECTED) to determine if there is a possibility of any data transmission using the different wireless access technologies for the UE 102. If LTE RRC is not in CONNECTED state, there is not a chance for data transmission and NR RRC state cannot be CONNECTED either (no data transmission over 5G NR).)
Yoon does not explicitly teach identifying a sector rank identifier, the sector rank identifier indicating a sector based on a load level associated with the sector.
However, Rezaiifar teaches identifying a sector rank identifier, the sector rank identifier indicating a sector based on a load level associated with the sector (Abstract: The server selection information for each sector may be set based on the load of the sector and may be used to rank the sector for selection as a serving sector. In one design, a terminal may receive server selection information for multiple sectors);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide identifying a sector rank identifier, the sector rank identifier indicating a sector based on a load level associated with the sector, as taught by Rezaiifar in the system of Yoon in order to balance the load of sectors in a wireless communication system (Rezaiifar: Abstract).
The combination of Yoon and Rezaiifar does not explicitly teach identifying a layer rank identifier for the first geographic area, the layer rank identifier indicating a layer based on a bandwidth level associated with the layer; transmitting, to the at least one UE and based on the layer rank identifier
However Brisebois teaches identifying a layer rank identifier for the first geographic area, the layer rank identifier indicating a layer based on a bandwidth level associated with the layer (Paragraph [0023]: In some embodiments, the operations include determining a data throughput between the system and a network device, ranking a plurality of frequency sub-bands based on channel quality information determined for the plurality of frequency sub-bands, selecting a channel bandwidth of a plurality of channel bandwidths associated with a predicted throughput that satisfies a defined condition relative to the data throughput, wherein the predicted throughput is a throughput of information through a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the selecting the frequency sub-band is based on the evaluating. Paragraph [0045]: In some embodiments, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 and a mobile device having an identifier on the white list of the BBFM component 300 can collaborate to identify the portions of a frequency range for best use within the service area of the FAPD 200. For example, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 can trigger sub-band channel quality indicator (CQI) reporting to obtain channel information for evaluation of the frequency sub-bands.)
transmitting, to the at least one UE and based on the layer rank identifier (Paragraph [0021]: In one embodiment, a method can include determining, by an access point device including a processor, a data throughput associated with a broadband channel communicatively coupling the access point device and a network device of a network, evaluating, by the access point device, channel information associated with a plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the access point device is configurable to communicate over the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting, by the access point device, a transmission parameter for a mobile device, wherein the selecting is based on the backhaul data throughput capacity, and wherein the transmission parameter comprises information representing a selected one of the plurality of frequency sub-bands. Paragraph [0028]: In various aspects, the information received at the mobile device 108 can originate at a device communicatively coupled to the core network 106 and/or to a femto cell (not shown) associated with the core network 106. Paragraph [0029]: In various scenarios, the mobile device 108 can transmit and/or receive information on one or more different channels (e.g., LTE channels) and/or one or more different frequency sub-bands. For example, the FAPD 102 can determine an optimal channel bandwidth and frequency sub-band for transmission by the mobile device 108 based on the data throughput of the broadband channel 104. Paragraph [0035]: Although the channel information is described above as channel information for different frequency ranges on which the FAPD 200 can transmit and/or receive information, in some aspects, the channel information can be for different frequency ranges on which a mobile device or any type of user equipment can transmit. Paragraph [0073]: At 506, method 500 can include selecting, by the access point device, a transmission parameter for a mobile device, wherein the selecting is based on the data throughput, and wherein the transmission parameter comprises information representing a selected one of the plurality of frequency sub-bands. In some embodiments, the transmission parameters selected by the access point device can include a frequency sub-band and a channel bandwidth over which a mobile device can transmit. Paragraph [0078]: At 706, method 700 can include, in response to the throughput being determined to satisfy the defined condition, selecting the first channel bandwidth for the transmission parameter. In some embodiments, the selection of the channel bandwidth can include selecting a first one of the respective channel bandwidths based on determining that the one of the respective predicted throughputs corresponding to the first one of the respective channel bandwidths is greater than the data throughput over the channel between the access point device and the network. One of the frequency sub-bands for which the respective predicted throughput is greater than the data throughput over the channel between the access point device and the network can then be selected for transmission by the mobile device.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide identifying a layer rank identifier for the first geographic area, the layer rank identifier indicating a layer based on a bandwidth level associated with the layer, transmitting, to the at least one UE and based on the layer rank identifier, as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon and Rezaiifar, in order to reduce interference between cells (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017])
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar and Brisebois does not explicitly teach transmitting, to the at least one UE, a signal including a layer management identifier utilized to assign the at least one UE to the layer while the UE operates in the first geographic area, the layer being mapped to the sector based on the load level and the bandwidth level.
However, JI teaches transmitting, to the at least one UE, a signal including a layer management identifier utilized to assign the at least one UE to the layer while the UE operates in the first geographic area, the layer being mapped to the sector based on the load level and the bandwidth level (Paragraph [0082]: ….each sector (or a scheduler in the system) selects users for data transmission, determines the signal quality metrics and/or priority for the selected users, ranks these users, and allocates subbands or assigns traffic channels to the selected users. Each sector then provides each user with its assigned traffic channel, e.g., via over-the-air signaling. The transmitting and receiving entities for each user then performs the appropriate processing to transmit and receive data on the subbands indicated by the assigned traffic channel. Paragraph [0009]: These techniques are called “layered reuse” techniques and can efficiently utilize the available system resources (e.g., the overall system bandwidth). Paragraph [0066]: Each sector is assigned the appropriate subband sets and thereafter uses these subband sets as described above. This embodiment simplifies implementation for layered reuse since each sector can act autonomously, and no signaling between neighboring sectors is required. In a second embodiment, the subband sets may be dynamically defined based on sector loading and possibly other factors. Paragraph [0067]: In a second layered reuse scheme, each sector is assigned multiple (L) sets of subbands and allocates subbands in these sets to users in the sector based on the sector loading.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, to the at least one UE, a signal including a layer management identifier utilized to assign the at least one UE to the layer while the UE operates in the first geographic area, the layer being mapped to the sector based on the load level and the bandwidth level, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar and Brisebois, in order to provide system resources available for data transmission by assigning frequency subbands to sectors so that inter-cell interference can be mitigated (JI: Abstract, Paragraph [0007]).
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, and JI does not explicitly teach wherein the signal includes a handover message in response to the type of mode being an active mode.
However, Pettersson teaches wherein the signal includes a handover message in response to the type of mode being an active mode (Paragraph [0085]: Based on the exchange of load information, the source node 50 determines a need for load balancing in S73. Load balancing implies re-locating a connected wireless device to the target cell or sector, i.e., handover of a connected wireless device to the target node 60. When the source node 50 detects a lower load situation in sectors of the target node 60 than in the own cell/sector, it determines a need for load balancing or load re-distribution and decides to relocate one or more wireless devices to improve the load balance between the cells. The source node 50 requires information on radio conditions for the one or more wireless devices in order to successfully carry out the re-distribution of load. In an optional operation, the source node configures measurement on a neighbor frequency or carrier frequency corresponding to that of a selected target node in S74 “RRCConnectionReconfiguration”. One or more wireless devices 70 are selected to measure on the target frequency or carrier frequency, e.g., selected based upon geographical location or randomly selected. Successful receipt of measurement configuration is confirmed in S75 “RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete” from the selected wireless devices 70. Paragraph [0086]: As illustrated, the reporting from the wireless device 70 includes a measurement report S76 of the strongest neighbor PCI. When the source node determines that the reported cell is a combined cell, the source node configures CSI-RS measurement and requests measurements on neighbor cells CSI-RS in S77 “RRCConnectionReconfiguration”. Thus, those wireless devices reporting the desired target cell, which is a combined cell, as the strongest cell are ordered to perform another measurement to identify which sector that is the strongest. Identifying the strongest sector in target cell is done by measuring on the CSI-RS for the sectors in the target cell. The wireless device 70 responds to this request by transmitting a measurement report S78 for at least the strongest CSI-RS. Using the information in the received measurement report and the current load of the source cell/sector and target sector, the source node decides whether to finalize the load balancing operation by initiating handover, HO, to the target node. Hence, if the reported sector matches a load difference requirement that may be predetermined, the wireless device is handed over to the target node, i.e., relocated to the target cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the signal includes a handover message in response to the type of mode being an active mode, as taught by Pettersson in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois and JI, so that the UE can receive a handover message to initiate handover to another node which has a stronger CSI-RS, while the UE is in an active state (RRC Connected) (Pettersson: Paragraph [0085], [0086]).
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, and Pettersson does not explicitly teach wherein the type of mode is selected from a list of mode types including an active mode and an idle mode.
However, Tao teaches wherein the type of mode is selected from a list of mode types including an active mode and an idle mode (Paragraph [0026]: In exemplary embodiments, the MS 304 may operate in different operation modes. For example, when the MS 304 is connected with the BS 302, the MS 304 may operate in an active mode in which the MS 304 stays awake all the time for communicating with the BS 302, or operate in a sleep mode in which the MS 304 periodically wakes up for occasional data traffic, or operate in a client cooperation mode in which the MS 304 operates as a relay node for relaying data from the BS to another MS (not shown) in the communication system 300. When the MS 304 is disconnected from the BS 302, the MS 304 may operate in an idle mode in which the MS is periodically paged by the paging controller 308, or operate in a deregistration with content retention (DCR) mode in which information regarding the MS 304 is retained in the ASN gateway 306. In exemplary embodiments, the BS 302 may initiate an operation mode transition for the MS 304, referred to herein as a BS-initiated operation mode transition. Paragraph [0027]: FIG. 4 illustrates a method 400 for a BS-initiated operation mode transition, according to an exemplary embodiment. Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, the MS 304 may report its battery level information to the BS 302, and the BS 302 may initiate the operation mode transition for the MS 304 based on a current operation mode of the MS 304 and the battery level information reported by the MS 304. For example, the battery level information may include a battery level indicating a percentage of remaining battery power of the MS 304. Also see paragraphs [0035], [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the type of mode is selected from a list of mode types including an active mode and an idle mode, as taught by Tao in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, and Pettersson, so that mode transitions can be determined based on battery level information (Tao: Paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0028], [0035], [0036]).
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, and Tao does not explicitly teach wherein the signal includes a handover radio resource control (RRC) reconfiquration message in response to the type of mode being an active mode.
However, He teaches wherein the signal includes a handover radio resource control (RRC) reconfiquration message in response to the type of mode being an active mode (Paragraph [0064]: As shown by reference number 345, the UE 305 may perform one or more RRM measurements, and may transmit a measurement report to the source base station 310 based at least in part on performing the one or more measurements (e.g., serving cell measurements and/or neighbor cell measurements). The measurement report may indicate, for example, an RSRP parameter, an RSRQ parameter, an RSSI parameter, and/or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio (SINR) parameter (e.g., for the serving cell and/or one or more neighbor cells). The source base station 310 may use the measurement report to determine whether to trigger a handover to the target base station 315. For example, if one or more measurements satisfy a condition (e.g., an RSRP measurement associated with the target base station 315 satisfying a threshold and/or exceeding an RSRP measurement associated with the source base station 310), then the source base station 310 may trigger a handover of the UE 305 to the target base station 315. Paragraph [0065]: As shown by reference number 350, the source base station 310 and the target base station 315 may communicate with one another to prepare for a handover of the UE 305. As part of the handover preparation, the source base station 310 may transmit a handover request to the target base station 315 to instruct the target base station 315 to prepare for the handover. The source base station 310 may communicate RRC context information associated with the UE 305 and/or configuration information associated with the UE 305 to the target base station 315. The target base station 315 may prepare for the handover by reserving resources for the UE 305. Paragraph [0066]: As shown by reference number 355, the source base station 310 may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE 305. The RRC reconfiguration message may include a handover command instructing the UE 305 to execute a handover procedure from the source base station 310 to the target base station 315. Examiner’s note: The UE is reporting measurements to the base station which indicates that the UE is in active mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the signal includes a handover radio resource control (RRC) reconfiquration message in response to the type of mode being an active mode, as taught by He in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, and Tao, so that the handover of the UE to the target base station can be performed (He: Paragraphs [0064] – [0066]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He does not teach wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying the layer rank identifier as a first layer rank identifier; identifying a second layer rank identifier associated with a second layer based on a second bandwidth level associated with the second layer; identifying the first layer as a selected layer, based on the first bandwidth level being greater than the second bandwidth level; and identifying the first layer rank identifier based on the first layer being identified as the selected layer.
However, Brisebois teaches wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying the layer rank identifier as a first layer rank identifier; identifying a second layer rank identifier associated with a second layer based on a second bandwidth level associated with the second layer; identifying the first layer as a selected layer, based on the first bandwidth level being greater than the second bandwidth level; and identifying the first layer rank identifier based on the first layer being identified as the selected layer (Paragraph [0027]: Based on the channel information, the FAPD 102 can rank the frequency ranges. The FAPD 102 can then compare the predicted throughput for different frequency ranges with the data throughput of the broadband channel 104. The FAPD 102 can select the minimum channel bandwidth corresponding to the predicted throughput that exceeds the broadband channel 104 data throughput. The corresponding frequency range can also be selected for transmission. Paragraph [0053]: The frequency sub-band selection component 304 can then rank one or more of the frequency sub-bands according to best DL CQI information and lowest UL noise. In some embodiments, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 can rank each of the frequency sub-bands to generate an ordered listing of the frequency sub-bands with the frequency sub-band having the optimal DL CQI and lowest UL noise being a top-ranked frequency sub-band and the frequency sub-bands decreasing in ranked order according to decreasing DL CQI and increasing UL noise. Paragraph [0073]: ....the transmission parameters selected by the access point device can include a frequency sub-band and a channel bandwidth over which a mobile device can transmit. Paragraph [0082]: At 806, method 800 can include selecting a second channel bandwidth for the transmission parameter based on the combined predicted throughput being determined to satisfy the defined condition, wherein the second channel bandwidth is defined to be wider than the first channel bandwidth. Paragraph [0052]: Information identifying the different frequency ranges can be stored as frequency sub-band information 404. In various embodiments, the DL channel indicator information 410, UL noise information 412 and/or frequency sub-band information 404 can be stored in any number of different formats, Paragraph [0061]: Accordingly, in various embodiments, the channel bandwidth selection component 306 can identify the smallest contiguous channel bandwidth for which predicted throughput exceeds the broadband channel data throughput. Identification information for the different possible channel bandwidths can be stored as the channel bandwidth information 406 in some embodiments.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying the layer rank identifier as a first layer rank identifier; identifying a second layer rank identifier associated with a second layer based on a second bandwidth level associated with the second layer; identifying the first layer as a selected layer, based on the first bandwidth level being greater than the second bandwidth level; and identifying the first layer rank identifier based on the first layer being identified as the selected layer, as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to rank frequencies based on bandwidth levels, so that interference between cells can be reduced (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017], [0020]).
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach the layer management identifier.
However, JI teaches the layer management identifier (Paragraph [0082]: ….each sector (or a scheduler in the system) selects users for data transmission, determines the signal quality metrics and/or priority for the selected users, ranks these users, and allocates subbands or assigns traffic channels to the selected users. Each sector then provides each user with its assigned traffic channel, e.g., via over-the-air signaling. The transmitting and receiving entities for each user then performs the appropriate processing to transmit and receive data on the subbands indicated by the assigned traffic channel. Paragraph [0009]: These techniques are called “layered reuse” techniques and can efficiently utilize the available system resources (e.g., the overall system bandwidth). Paragraph [0066]: Each sector is assigned the appropriate subband sets and thereafter uses these subband sets as described above. This embodiment simplifies implementation for layered reuse since each sector can act autonomously, and no signaling between neighboring sectors is required. In a second embodiment, the subband sets may be dynamically defined based on sector loading and possibly other factors. Paragraph [0067]: In a second layered reuse scheme, each sector is assigned multiple (L) sets of subbands and allocates subbands in these sets to users in the sector based on the sector loading.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the layer management identifier, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to provide system resources available for data transmission by assigning frequency subbands to sectors so that inter-cell interference can be mitigated. (JI: Abstract, Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach the sector rank identifier.
However, Rezaiifar reaches the sector rank identifier (Abstract: The server selection information for each sector may be set based on the load of the sector and may be used to rank the sector for selection as a serving sector. In one design, a terminal may receive server selection information for multiple sectors);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a sector rank identifier, as taught by Rezaiifar in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to balance the load of sectors in a wireless communication system (Rezaiifar: Abstract).
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach wherein identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: the layer rank identifier.
However, Brisebois teaches wherein identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: the layer rank identifier (Paragraph [0023]: In some embodiments, the operations include determining a data throughput between the system and a network device, ranking a plurality of frequency sub-bands based on channel quality information determined for the plurality of frequency sub-bands, selecting a channel bandwidth of a plurality of channel bandwidths associated with a predicted throughput that satisfies a defined condition relative to the data throughput, wherein the predicted throughput is a throughput of information through a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the selecting the frequency sub-band is based on the evaluating. Paragraph [0045]: In some embodiments, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 and a mobile device having an identifier on the white list of the BBFM component 300 can collaborate to identify the portions of a frequency range for best use within the service area of the FAPD 200. For example, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 can trigger sub-band channel quality indicator (CQI) reporting to obtain channel information for evaluation of the frequency sub-bands.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: the layer rank identifier, as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Ji, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to reduce interference between cells (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017], [0020])
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Rezaiifar, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach mapping the layer to the sector, identifying, based on the layer being mapped to the sector, and the at least one UE being latched to the sector, the layer as a selected layer; the layer management identifier based on the layer being identified as the selected layer.
However, JI teaches mapping the layer to the sector, identifying, based on the layer being mapped to the sector, and the at least one UE being latched to the sector, the layer as a selected layer; the layer management identifier based on the layer being identified as the selected layer (Paragraph [0082]: ….each sector (or a scheduler in the system) selects users for data transmission, determines the signal quality metrics and/or priority for the selected users, ranks these users, and allocates subbands or assigns traffic channels to the selected users. Each sector then provides each user with its assigned traffic channel, e.g., via over-the-air signaling. The transmitting and receiving entities for each user then performs the appropriate processing to transmit and receive data on the subbands indicated by the assigned traffic channel. Paragraph [0009]: These techniques are called “layered reuse” techniques and can efficiently utilize the available system resources (e.g., the overall system bandwidth). Paragraph [0066]: Each sector is assigned the appropriate subband sets and thereafter uses these subband sets as described above. This embodiment simplifies implementation for layered reuse since each sector can act autonomously, and no signaling between neighboring sectors is required. In a second embodiment, the subband sets may be dynamically defined based on sector loading and possibly other factors. Paragraph [0067]: In a second layered reuse scheme, each sector is assigned multiple (L) sets of subbands and allocates subbands in these sets to users in the sector based on the sector loading. JI teaches that the frequency bands (or layers) are mapped to the corresponding sectors based on sector load levels and bandwidth of the subbands, while the user is latched to the sector, and identifies/allocates the subbands for the users.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide mapping the layer to the sector, identifying, based on the layer being mapped to the sector, and the at least one UE being latched to the sector, the layer as a selected layer; the layer management identifier based on the layer being identified as the selected layer, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to provide system resources available for data transmission by assigning frequency subbands to sectors so that inter-cell interference can be mitigated. (JI: Abstract, Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach wherein the sector is a first sector, the at least one UE is latched to the first sector, the load level is a first load level, and identifying the sector rank identifier further comprises: identifying the sector rank identifier as a first sector rank identifier; identifying a second sector rank identifier associated with a second sector based on a second load level associated with the second sector; identifying the first sector as a selected sector, based on the first load level being greater than the second load level.
However, Rezaiifar teaches wherein the sector is a first sector, the at least one UE is latched to the first sector, the load level is a first load level, and identifying the sector rank identifier further comprises: identifying the sector rank identifier as a first sector rank identifier; identifying a second sector rank identifier associated with a second sector based on a second load level associated with the second sector; identifying the first sector as a selected sector, based on the first load level being greater than the second load level (Abstract: The server selection information for each sector may be set based on the load of the sector and may be used to rank the sector for selection as a serving sector. In one design, a terminal may receive server selection information for multiple sectors. Paragraph [0008]: The terminal may identify at least one sector having the highest priority based on the server selection information. The terminal may then select the sector with the highest received signal quality among the at least one sector as the serving sector. Paragraph [0022]: The serving sector may thus be selected by taking into account the load of the candidate sectors. Paragraph [0061]: The sector with the highest SINR may not be the most suitable sector to serve the terminal, e.g., due to heavy load at the sector. The techniques described herein may be used to persuade the terminal to select another sector (e.g., the next best sector) to serve the terminal. Paragraph [0073]: In one design of block 516, a metric for each sector in the active set may be determined based on the load of the sector and received signal quality of the sector at the terminal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the sector is a first sector, the at least one UE is latched to the first sector, the load level is a first load level, and identifying the sector rank identifier further comprises: identifying the sector rank identifier as a first sector rank identifier; identifying a second sector rank identifier associated with a second sector based on a second load level associated with the second sector; identifying the first sector as a selected sector, based on the first load level being greater than the second load level, as taught by Rezaiifar in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to balance the load of sectors in a wireless communication system (Rezaiifar: Abstract).
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach identifying the layer rank identifier.
However, Brisebois teaches identifying the layer rank identifier (Paragraph [0023]: In some embodiments, the operations include determining a data throughput between the system and a network device, ranking a plurality of frequency sub-bands based on channel quality information determined for the plurality of frequency sub-bands, selecting a channel bandwidth of a plurality of channel bandwidths associated with a predicted throughput that satisfies a defined condition relative to the data throughput, wherein the predicted throughput is a throughput of information through a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the selecting the frequency sub-band is based on the evaluating. Paragraph [0045]: In some embodiments, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 and a mobile device having an identifier on the white list of the BBFM component 300 can collaborate to identify the portions of a frequency range for best use within the service area of the FAPD 200. For example, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 can trigger sub-band channel quality indicator (CQI) reporting to obtain channel information for evaluation of the frequency sub-bands.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide identifying the layer rank identifier, as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to reduce interference between cells (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017], [0020])
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach the layer management identifier based on the layer being mapped to the selected sector to which the at least one UE is latched.
However, JI teaches the layer management identifier based on the layer being mapped to the selected sector to which the at least one UE is latched. (Paragraph [0082]: ….each sector (or a scheduler in the system) selects users for data transmission, determines the signal quality metrics and/or priority for the selected users, ranks these users, and allocates subbands or assigns traffic channels to the selected users. Each sector then provides each user with its assigned traffic channel, e.g., via over-the-air signaling. The transmitting and receiving entities for each user then performs the appropriate processing to transmit and receive data on the subbands indicated by the assigned traffic channel. Paragraph [0009]: These techniques are called “layered reuse” techniques and can efficiently utilize the available system resources (e.g., the overall system bandwidth). Paragraph [0066]: Each sector is assigned the appropriate subband sets and thereafter uses these subband sets as described above. This embodiment simplifies implementation for layered reuse since each sector can act autonomously, and no signaling between neighboring sectors is required. In a second embodiment, the subband sets may be dynamically defined based on sector loading and possibly other factors. Paragraph [0067]: In a second layered reuse scheme, each sector is assigned multiple (L) sets of subbands and allocates subbands in these sets to users in the sector based on the sector loading.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the layer management identifier based on the layer being mapped to the selected sector to which the at least one UE is latched, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to provide system resources available for data transmission by assigning frequency subbands to sectors so that inter-cell interference can be mitigated. (JI: Abstract, Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying a second bandwidth level associated with a second layer; based on the first bandwidth level being less than the second bandwidth level.
However, Brisebois teaches wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying a second bandwidth level associated with a second layer; based on the first bandwidth level being less than the second bandwidth level. (Paragraph [0023]: In some embodiments, the operations include….ranking a plurality of frequency sub-bands based on channel quality information determined for the plurality of frequency sub-bands, selecting a channel bandwidth of a plurality of channel bandwidths associated with a predicted throughput that satisfies a defined condition relative to the data throughput, wherein the predicted throughput is a throughput of information through a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the selecting the frequency sub-band is based on the evaluating. Paragraph [0027]: Based on the channel information, the FAPD 102 can rank the frequency ranges. The FAPD 102 can then compare the predicted throughput for different frequency ranges with the data throughput of the broadband channel 104. The FAPD 102 can select the minimum channel bandwidth corresponding to the predicted throughput that exceeds the broadband channel 104 data throughput. The corresponding frequency range can also be selected for transmission. Paragraph [0053]: The frequency sub-band selection component 304 can then rank one or more of the frequency sub-bands according to best DL CQI information and lowest UL noise. In some embodiments, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 can rank each of the frequency sub-bands to generate an ordered listing of the frequency sub-bands with the frequency sub-band having the optimal DL CQI and lowest UL noise being a top-ranked frequency sub-band and the frequency sub-bands decreasing in ranked order according to decreasing DL CQI and increasing UL noise. Paragraph [0073]: the transmission parameters selected by the access point device can include a frequency sub-band and a channel bandwidth over which a mobile device can transmit. Paragraph [0082]: At 806, method 800 can include selecting a second channel bandwidth for the transmission parameter based on the combined predicted throughput being determined to satisfy the defined condition, wherein the second channel bandwidth is defined to be wider than the first channel bandwidth. Paragraph [0052]: Information identifying the different frequency ranges can be stored as frequency sub-band information 404. In various embodiments, the DL channel indicator information 410, UL noise information 412 and/or frequency sub-band information 404 can be stored in any number of different formats, Paragraph [0061]: Accordingly, in various embodiments, the channel bandwidth selection component 306 can identify the smallest contiguous channel bandwidth for which predicted throughput exceeds the broadband channel data throughput. Identification information for the different possible channel bandwidths can be stored as the channel bandwidth information 406 in some embodiments.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying a second bandwidth level associated with a second layer; based on the first bandwidth level being less than the second bandwidth level, as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to rank frequencies based on bandwidth levels, so that interference between cells can be reduced (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017], [0020]).
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach wherein the sector is a first sector, the load level is a first load level, and identifying the sector rank identifier; identifying a second load level associated with a second sector; and the first load level being greater than the second load level.
However, Rezaiifar teaches wherein the sector is a first sector, the load level is a first load level, and identifying the sector rank identifier; identifying a second load level associated with a second sector; and the first load level being greater than the second load level (Abstract: The server selection information for each sector may be set based on the load of the sector and may be used to rank the sector for selection as a serving sector. In one design, a terminal may receive server selection information for multiple sectors. Paragraph [0008]: The terminal may identify at least one sector having the highest priority based on the server selection information. The terminal may then select the sector with the highest received signal quality among the at least one sector as the serving sector. Paragraph [0022]: The serving sector may thus be selected by taking into account the load of the candidate sectors. Paragraph [0061]: The sector with the highest SINR may not be the most suitable sector to serve the terminal, e.g., due to heavy load at the sector. The techniques described herein may be used to persuade the terminal to select another sector (e.g., the next best sector) to serve the terminal. Paragraph [0073]: In one design of block 516, a metric for each sector in the active set may be determined based on the load of the sector and received signal quality of the sector at the terminal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the sector is a first sector, the load level is a first load level, and identifying the sector rank identifier; identifying a second load level associated with a second sector; and the first load level being greater than the second load level as taught by Rezaiifar in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to balance the load of sectors in a wireless communication system (Rezaiifar: Abstract).
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Rezaiifar, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach mapping the first layer to the first sector.
However, JI teaches mapping the first layer to the first sector (Paragraph [0082]: ….each sector (or a scheduler in the system) selects users for data transmission, determines the signal quality metrics and/or priority for the selected users, ranks these users, and allocates subbands or assigns traffic channels to the selected users. Each sector then provides each user with its assigned traffic channel, e.g., via over-the-air signaling. The transmitting and receiving entities for each user then performs the appropriate processing to transmit and receive data on the subbands indicated by the assigned traffic channel. Paragraph [0009]: These techniques are called “layered reuse” techniques and can efficiently utilize the available system resources (e.g., the overall system bandwidth). Paragraph [0066]: Each sector is assigned the appropriate subband sets and thereafter uses these subband sets as described above. This embodiment simplifies implementation for layered reuse since each sector can act autonomously, and no signaling between neighboring sectors is required. In a second embodiment, the subband sets may be dynamically defined based on sector loading and possibly other factors. Paragraph [0067]: In a second layered reuse scheme, each sector is assigned multiple (L) sets of subbands and allocates subbands in these sets to users in the sector based on the sector loading.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide mapping the first layer to the first sector, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to assign one subband to each sector while mitigating inter-cell interference. (JI: Abstract, Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying a second bandwidth level associated with a second layer, identifying a third bandwidth level associated with a third layer, the first bandwidth level being less than the second bandwidth level and the third bandwidth level, the second bandwidth level being less than the third bandwidth level.
However, Brisebois teaches wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying a second bandwidth level associated with a second layer, identifying a third bandwidth level associated with a third layer, the first bandwidth level being less than the second bandwidth level and the third bandwidth level, the second bandwidth level being less than the third bandwidth level. (Paragraph [0022]: In some embodiments, the operations can include,… evaluating a plurality of frequency sub-bands based on channel quality information for the plurality of frequency sub-bands, selecting a channel bandwidth of a plurality of channel bandwidths associated with a predicted throughput that satisfies a defined condition relative to the data throughput,…. wherein the predicted throughput is a throughput of information through a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands for transmission, wherein the selecting is based on the evaluating and the selecting. Paragraph [0023]: In some embodiments, the operations include….ranking a plurality of frequency sub-bands based on channel quality information determined for the plurality of frequency sub-bands, selecting a channel bandwidth of a plurality of channel bandwidths associated with a predicted throughput that satisfies a defined condition relative to the data throughput, wherein the predicted throughput is a throughput of information through a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the selecting the frequency sub-band is based on the evaluating. Paragraph [0066]: For example, the processor 208, 312 can facilitate data throughput of a broadband channel, calculation of predicted throughputs, ranking of frequency sub-bands, selection of a channel bandwidth and frequency sub-band for transmission and the like. Paragraph [0027]: Based on the channel information, the FAPD 102 can rank the frequency ranges. The FAPD 102 can then compare the predicted throughput for different frequency ranges with the data throughput of the broadband channel 104. The FAPD 102 can select the minimum channel bandwidth corresponding to the predicted throughput that exceeds the broadband channel 104 data throughput. The corresponding frequency range can also be selected for transmission. Paragraph [0053]: The frequency sub-band selection component 304 can then rank one or more of the frequency sub-bands according to best DL CQI information and lowest UL noise. In some embodiments, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 can rank each of the frequency sub-bands to generate an ordered listing of the frequency sub-bands with the frequency sub-band having the optimal DL CQI and lowest UL noise being a top-ranked frequency sub-band and the frequency sub-bands decreasing in ranked order according to decreasing DL CQI and increasing UL noise. Paragraph [0073]: the transmission parameters selected by the access point device can include a frequency sub-band and a channel bandwidth over which a mobile device can transmit. Paragraph [0082]: At 806, method 800 can include selecting a second channel bandwidth for the transmission parameter based on the combined predicted throughput being determined to satisfy the defined condition, wherein the second channel bandwidth is defined to be wider than the first channel bandwidth. Paragraph [0052]: Information identifying the different frequency ranges can be stored as frequency sub-band information 404. In various embodiments, the DL channel indicator information 410, UL noise information 412 and/or frequency sub-band information 404 can be stored in any number of different formats, Paragraph [0061]: Accordingly, in various embodiments, the channel bandwidth selection component 306 can identify the smallest contiguous channel bandwidth for which predicted throughput exceeds the broadband channel data throughput. Identification information for the different possible channel bandwidths can be stored as the channel bandwidth information 406 in some embodiments.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying a second bandwidth level associated with a second layer, identifying a third bandwidth level associated with a third layer, the first bandwidth level being less than the second bandwidth level and the third bandwidth level, the second bandwidth level being less than the third bandwidth level, as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to rank frequencies based on bandwidth levels, so that the system can adjust to rapidly changing interference environments. (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017], [0020]).
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach wherein the sector is a first sector, the load level is a first load level, and identifying the sector rank identifier further comprises: a second load level associated with a second sector; and a third load level associated with a third sector; and the first load level being greater than the second load level and the third load level; and the second load level being greater than the third load level.
However, Rezaiifar teaches wherein the sector is a first sector, the load level is a first load level, and identifying the sector rank identifier further comprises: a second load level associated with a second sector; and a third load level associated with a third sector; and the first load level being greater than the second load level and the third load level; and the second load level being greater than the third load level (Paragraph [0007]: Techniques for performing server selection to balance the load of sectors in a wireless communication system are described herein. Server selection refers to a process to select a serving sector for a terminal. In an aspect, server selection may be performed based on server selection information for sectors. The server selection information for each sector may be set based on the load of the sector and may be used to rank the sector for selection as a serving sector. Paragraph [0008]: The terminal may identify at least one sector having the highest priority based on the server selection information. The terminal may then select the sector with the highest received signal quality among the at least one sector as the serving sector. Paragraph [0022]: The serving sector may thus be selected by taking into account the load of the candidate sectors. Paragraph [0060]: FIG. 2 shows a design of server selection by a terminal 120, which may be one of the terminals in FIG. 1. In the example shown in FIG. 2, terminal 120 may have three sectors A, B and C in its active set. Paragraph [0061]: The sector with the highest SINR may not be the most suitable sector to serve the terminal, e.g., due to heavy load at the sector. The techniques described herein may be used to persuade the terminal to select another sector (e.g., the next best sector) to serve the terminal. Paragraph [0064], Fig 3: Server selection information for multiple sectors may be received (block 312). The server selection information for each sector may be set based on the load of the sector and may be used to rank the sector for selection as a serving sector. Paragraph [0067]: …the server selection information for each sector may indicate a priority of the sector for selection as a serving sector. Paragraph [0069]: The server selection information for the multiple sectors may be sent specifically to the terminal. Paragraph [0073]: In one design of block 516, a metric for each sector in the active set may be determined based on the load of the sector and received signal quality of the sector at the terminal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the sector is a first sector, the load level is a first load level, and identifying the sector rank identifier further comprises: a second load level associated with a second sector; and a third load level associated with a third sector; and the first load level being greater than the second load level and the third load level; and the second load level being greater than the third load level, as taught by Rezaiifar in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to rank the sectors in a wireless communication system so that better performance can be achieved (Rezaiifar: Paragraph [0006], [0007], Abstract).
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach mapping the first layer to the first sector; mapping the second layer to the second sector; and mapping the third layer to the third sector.
However, JI teaches mapping the first layer to the first sector; mapping the second layer to the second sector; and mapping the third layer to the third sector (Paragraph [0010]: In an embodiment, the system resources (e.g., frequency subbands) available for data transmission in the system are partitioned into multiple (e.g., three) disjoint or non-overlapping sets. For a system in which each cell is partitioned into multiple (e.g., three) sectors, each sector is assigned one set of subbands. Paragraph [0037]: The three subband sets are labeled as S1, S2, and S3. For each 3-sector cell, subband set S1 may be assigned to sector 1 of that cell, subband set S2 may be assigned to sector 2, and subband set S3 may be assigned to sector 3. Paragraph [0082]: ….each sector (or a scheduler in the system) selects users for data transmission, determines the signal quality metrics and/or priority for the selected users, ranks these users, and allocates subbands or assigns traffic channels to the selected users. Each sector then provides each user with its assigned traffic channel, e.g., via over-the-air signaling. The transmitting and receiving entities for each user then performs the appropriate processing to transmit and receive data on the subbands indicated by the assigned traffic channel. Paragraph [0009]: These techniques are called “layered reuse” techniques and can efficiently utilize the available system resources (e.g., the overall system bandwidth). Paragraph [0066]: Each sector is assigned the appropriate subband sets and thereafter uses these subband sets as described above. This embodiment simplifies implementation for layered reuse since each sector can act autonomously, and no signaling between neighboring sectors is required. In a second embodiment, the subband sets may be dynamically defined based on sector loading and possibly other factors. A designated sector or a system entity (e.g., system controller 130) may receive loading information for various sectors, define the subband sets, and assign subband sets to the sectors. This embodiment may allow for better utilization of system resources based on the distribution of users. Paragraph [0067]: In a second layered reuse scheme, each sector is assigned multiple (L) sets of subbands and allocates subbands in these sets to users in the sector based on the sector loading.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide mapping the first layer to the first sector; mapping the second layer to the second sector; and mapping the third layer to the third sector, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to assign one subband to each sector for better utilization of system resources, while mitigating inter-cell interference. (JI: Paragraph [0007], [0066], Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Further, Yoon teaches wherein the average SINR value is a first average SINR value, and identifying the first geographic area further comprises (Paragraph [0015]: UE within a telecommunications network may be utilized to collect data associated with network metrics. …. signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), ….physical cell id. (PCI). Paragraph [0031]: In some examples, the network device(s) 112 are configured to generate configuration data that identifies first utilization data that indicates a first utilization of a first wireless access technology (e.g., 5G, 4G, . . . ) within a first geographic area of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0057]: According to some examples, the collection component 404 can sample conditions of a signal over a period of time and perform a statistical analysis to determine additional metrics (e.g., average, median, high, low, etc.) associated with the signal. Paragraph [0089], Fig 6: At 606, the one or more processor(s) 612 may determine, using the network coverage component 504, or some other component, other information associated with the telecommunications network 118. For instance, an aggregated signal strength associated with one or more locations within an area may be determined, a location of transmitters 110 may be determined, and the like. In some examples, the network device 400 may aggregate the data associated with a geographic region. Determining the aggregated data associated with the geographic region may include averaging metrics received from user devices operating within that particular region, or by performing other aggregation techniques.);
identifying a second average SINR value associated with the second geographic area (Paragraph [0011]: The metrics collected by UEs may be utilized to indicate the different types of cellular coverage utilized within different areas, the number of UEs utilizing each of the different types of cellular coverage within each of the different areas, and the like. Paragraph [0031]: The configuration data generated by the configuration component 120 may identify one or more locations within one or more of the geographic areas to configure one or more network resources of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0051]: In some instances, the heat map 300 may include a geographic region associated with the network transceiver, where the geographic region is output having a color associated with the coverage area. The color may be indicative of the number of UE 102 utilizing a particular wireless access technology, an aggregated signal strength associated with the network transceiver, and the like. In other aspects, the geographic region may be output having a pattern. representative of the aggregated signal strength, and/or an opacity associated with the aggregated signal strength, and/or call density);
identifying the first geographic area based on at least the second average SINR value being greater than or equal to the threshold SINR value (Paragraph [0088], Fig 6: At 604, after the network device 500 receives the data (e.g., data relating to the metrics 124), the one or more processor(s) 512 may generate information associated with one or more different wireless access technologies utilized within different geographic areas of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0018]: The collection component may determine, based at least in part on the data, a coverage area associated with a network transceiver. The one or more metrics can be sent to the network device for aggregation and determination of one or more sources of diminished signal strength. Example sources may include an interference level (e.g., an existing interference level, an estimated interference level, etc. Paragraph [0031]: The configuration data generated by the configuration component 120 may identify one or more locations within one or more of the geographic areas to configure one or more network resources of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0089]: For instance, an aggregated signal strength associated with one or more locations within an area may be determined, a location of transmitters 110 may be determined, and the like. In some examples, the network device 400 may aggregate the data associated with a geographic region. Determining the aggregated data associated with the geographic region may include averaging metrics received from user devices operating within that particular region, or by performing other aggregation techniques. Paragraph [0091]: the configuration component 120 may identify that a region may not include enough cells (e.g., 5G cells) within a geographic area/region to handle current or predicted load. For instance, the network metrics 124 may indicate that a geographic area is currently congested.);
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach identifying the first geographic area as a first hexagonal cell; identifying the second geographic area as a second hexagonal cell.
However, JI teaches identifying the first geographic area as a first hexagonal cell; identifying the second geographic area as a second hexagonal cell (Paragraph [0028]: Each base station 110 provides communication coverage for a respective geographic area. To increase capacity, the coverage area of each base station may be partitioned into multiple (e.g., three) sectors. Paragraph [0034]: FIG. 2A shows a cell 210 with three sectors. The coverage area of each base station may be of any size and shape and is typically dependent on various factors such as terrain, obstructions, and so on. The base station coverage area may be partitioned into three sectors 212 a, 212 b, and 212 c, which are labeled as sectors 1, 2, and 3, respectively Paragraph [0035]: FIG. 2B shows a simple model for sectorized cell 210. Each of the three sectors in cell 210 is modeled by an ideal hexagon that approximates the boundary of the sector. The coverage area of each base station may be represented by a clover of three ideal hexagons centered at the base station.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide identifying the first geographic area as a first hexagonal cell; identifying a second geographic area as a second hexagonal cell, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to represent the model of a sectorized cell (JI: Paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Further, Yoon teaches wherein the at least one UE includes a first UE and a second UE, the at least one PCI includes a first PCI associated with the first UE and a second PCI associated with the second UE, the at least one SINR includes a first SINR associated with the first UE and a second SINR associated with the second UE (Paragraph [0004]: FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing an illustrative environment that collects metrics from user equipment, associated with a telecommunications network, that are utilized to generate configuration data utilized to configure network resources within a telecommunications network. Paragraph [0022]: In some instances, a user equipment (UE) 102, such as UE 102A, UE 102B, and UE 102C can include a collection component 104 and one or more transceiver(s) 106. In general, the user equipment 102 can receive a signal 108 output by a transmitter 110 to determine one or more metrics. Paragraph [0031]: In some examples, the network device(s) 112 are configured to generate configuration data that identifies first utilization data that indicates a first utilization of a first wireless access technology (e.g., 5G, 4G, . . . ) within a first geographic area of the telecommunications network and other utilization data that indicates one or more other utilizations of different wireless access technologies within one or more other geographic areas of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0015]: UE within a telecommunications network may be utilized to collect data associated with network metrics. …. signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), ….physical cell id. (PCI). Abstract: Techniques and systems relate to utilizing network metrics to optimize performance and network coverage for a telecommunications network. Using techniques described herein, a telecommunications network may utilize network metrics collected from user equipment (UE) devices.);
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, does not explicitly teach the layer includes a first layer, the sector includes a first sector, the signal includes a first signal, and the layer management identifier is utilized to assign the first UE to the first layer based on the first UE being latched to the first sector, further comprising: transmitting, to the second UE and based on the second UE being latched to a second sector, a second signal including a second layer management identifier utilized to assign the second UE to the second layer, the second layer being mapped to the second sector.
However, JI teaches the layer includes a first layer, the sector includes a first sector, the signal includes a first signal, and the layer management identifier is utilized to assign the first UE to the first layer based on the first UE being latched to the first sector, further comprising: transmitting, to the second UE and based on the second UE being latched to a second sector, a second signal including a second layer management identifier utilized to assign the second UE to the second layer, the second layer being mapped to the second sector (Paragraph [0040]: ….each sector may allocate subbands….to users in the sector based on channel conditions. Different users may have different channel conditions and may have different contribution and tolerance to inter-sector interference. Paragraph [0049], Fig 6: Process 600 may be performed by each sector in each scheduling interval, which may be a predetermined time interval. Each sector may then send signaling (e.g., to all users or to only users allocated different subbands) to indicate the subbands allocated to each user. Paragraph [0082]: ….each sector (or a scheduler in the system) selects users for data transmission, determines the signal quality metrics and/or priority for the selected users, ranks these users, and allocates subbands or assigns traffic channels to the selected users. Each sector then provides each user with its assigned traffic channel, e.g., via over-the-air signaling. The transmitting and receiving entities for each user then performs the appropriate processing to transmit and receive data on the subbands indicated by the assigned traffic channel. Paragraph [0009]: These techniques are called “layered reuse” techniques and can efficiently utilize the available system resources (e.g., the overall system bandwidth). Paragraph [0066]: Each sector is assigned the appropriate subband sets and thereafter uses these subband sets as described above. This embodiment simplifies implementation for layered reuse since each sector can act autonomously, and no signaling between neighboring sectors is required. In a second embodiment, the subband sets may be dynamically defined based on sector loading and possibly other factors. Paragraph [0067]: In a second layered reuse scheme, each sector is assigned multiple (L) sets of subbands and allocates subbands in these sets to users in the sector based on the sector loading.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the layer includes a first layer, the sector includes a first sector, the signal includes a first signal, and the layer management identifier is utilized to assign the first UE to the first layer based on the first UE being latched to the first sector, further comprising: transmitting, to the second UE and based on the second UE being latched to a second sector, a second signal including a second layer management identifier utilized to assign the second UE to the second layer, the second layer being mapped to the second sector, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, Pettersson, Tao, and He, in order to provide system resources available for data transmission by assigning frequency subbands to sectors, and transmitting the information to users, so that inter-cell interference can be reduced, resulting in improved performance. (JI: Abstract, Paragraph [0040]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0377788) in view of Brisebois et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0153497), Pettersson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0296625), JI et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0096061), Rezaiifar et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0285159), Tao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0216681), He et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0361059), and Chevallier et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0334743).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He does not explicitly teach wherein the first total number of PCIs is eight and the second total number of PCIs is four.
However, Chevallier teaches wherein the first total number of PCIs is eight and the second total number of PCIs is four (Paragraph [0027]: A macrocell may cover a relatively large geographic area (e.g., several kilometers in radius) and may allow unrestricted access by UEs with service subscription. A picocell may cover a relatively small geographic area and may allow unrestricted access by UEs with service subscription. A small cell may cover a relatively small geographic area (e.g., a home) and may allow restricted access by UEs having association with the small cell (e.g., UEs in a Closed Subscriber Group (CSG)). In the example shown in FIG. 1A, eNBs 30 a, 30 b, and 30 c may be macro eNBs for macrocell groups 20 a, 20 b, and 20 c, respectively. Each of the cell groups 20 a, 20 b, and 20 c may include a plurality (e.g., three) of cells or sectors. An eNB 30 d may be a pico eNB for a picocell 20 d. An eNB 30 e may be a small cell eNB, small cell base station, or small cell access point (FAP) for a small cell 20 e. Paragraph [0042]: FIG. 1B illustrates a table of possible PCIs for each of a set of PRACH frequency offsets. Synchronization signals may explain a relationship between the PRACH frequency offsets and the corresponding possible PCI. Paragraph [0043]: If the PSS is one, then there may only be one hundred sixty eight different PCI available. As show in FIG. 1B, for a PSS of one, the available PCI may include 1, 4, 7, . . . , 3*SSS+PSS, . . . , 502, wherein SSS refers to a Secondary Synchronization Signal. For a PSS of zero, the available PCI may include 0, 3, 6, . . . , 3*SSS+PSS, . . . , 501. For a PSS of two, the available PCIs may include 2, 5, 8, . . . , 3*SSS+PSS, . . . , 503. Also see paragraphs [0039] – [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first total number of PCIs is eight and the second total number of PCIs is four, as taught by Chevallier in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, so that a system and method for planning based on the PCI can be achieved (Chevallier: Paragraphs [0005], [0008], [0027], [0039] – [0043]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0377788) in view of Brisebois et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0153497), Pettersson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0296625), JI et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0096061), Rezaiifar et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0285159), Tao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0216681), He et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0361059), and Hongchuan et al. (CN107241735B).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He does not explicitly teach wherein the threshold number of PCIs is a value included in a range of three to six.
However, Hongchuan teaches wherein the threshold number of PCIs is a value included in a range of three to six (Page 7 Paragraph 2: Preferably, the set threshold is equal to the number of PCIs included in the PCI group divided in the existing standard protocol, wherein the number of PCIs included in the PCI group divided in the existing standard protocol is 3. Page 11 Paragraph 2: In practice, in the existing standard protocol, the PCI full set range is 0 to 503, which is divided into 168 groups, each group is 3, 0,1,2 groups, 3,4, 5 groups, … …, and when PCI allocation is performed, the PCI allocable range is predetermined, which may be the PCI full set, or may be a PCI range, for example, when a PCI is allocated to a cell to be processed of a newly added base station, the PCI allocation range is designated to be 0 to 70.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the threshold number of PCIs is a value included in a range of three to six, as taught by Hongchuan in the combined system of Yoon, Rezaiifar, Brisebois, JI, Pettersson, Tao, and He, so that PCI planning can be efficiently performed (Hongchuan: Page 6 Paragraphs 5 and 6).
Claims 9, 10, 11, 14, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0377788) in view of Brisebois et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0153497), Mallick et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0121583), Tao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0216681), and Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0303884).
Regarding claim 9, Yoon teaches a system, comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (Paragraph [0067]: In some examples, the processor(s) 416 is a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), or both CPU and GPU, or other processing unit or component known in the art. Paragraph [0068]: The user equipment 400 also includes additional data storage devices (removable and/or non-removable) such as, for example, magnetic disks, optical disks, or tape. Such additional storage is illustrated in FIG. 4 by removable storage 418 and non-removable storage 420. Tangible computer-readable media can include volatile and non-volatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information, such as computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules, or other data. Memory 402, removable storage 418 and non-removable storage 420 are all examples of computer-readable storage media.);
receiving signal information associated with at least one user equipment (UE) located in a first geographic area (Abstract: Techniques and systems relate to utilizing network metrics to optimize performance and network coverage for a telecommunications network. Using techniques described herein, a telecommunications network may utilize network metrics collected from user equipment (UE) devices. Paragraph [0031]: In some examples, the network device(s) 112 are configured to generate configuration data that identifies first utilization data that indicates a first utilization of a first wireless access technology (e.g., 5G, 4G, . . . ) within a first geographic area of the telecommunications network and other utilization data that indicates one or more other utilizations of different wireless access technologies within one or more other geographic areas of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0015]: UE within a telecommunications network may be utilized to collect data associated with network metrics. …. signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), ….physical cell id. (PCI)).
identifying a first total number of physical cell identities (PCIs) in at least one PCI, and an average signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) value associated with the first geographic area (Paragraph [0057]: According to some examples, the collection component 404 can sample conditions of a signal over a period of time and perform a statistical analysis to determine additional metrics (e.g., average, median, high, low, etc.) associated with the signal. Paragraph [0089], Fig 6: At 606, the one or more processor(s) 612 may determine, using the network coverage component 504, or some other component, other information associated with the telecommunications network 118. For instance, an aggregated signal strength associated with one or more locations within an area may be determined, a location of transmitters 110 may be determined, and the like. In some examples, the network device 400 may aggregate the data associated with a geographic region. Determining the aggregated data associated with the geographic region may include averaging metrics received from user devices operating within that particular region, or by performing other aggregation techniques.);
the at least one PCI being included in a handover window and being associated with at least one carrier frequency value (Paragraph [0029]: For example, the UE 102 may utilize the API to collect data for NR PSCell band name, NR PSCell bandwidth, NR physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) channel assignment status, NR PDSCH access status, NR PDSCH beam index, NR PSCell RSRP, NR PSCell SINR, NR PSCell RSRQ, NR channel quality indicator, NR rank indicator, and the like. The UE 102 may also collect information that checks the condition of the 5G NR signals for potential data transmission, such as a list of synchronization signal block (SSB) signal information (e.g., SSB beam index, RSRP, RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, the band number, the bandwidth and the PCI of the 5G NR cell sending the beam), number of SSB beams detected by UE, SSB beam index, PCI for the cell that transmits the SSB name, band name, bandwidth, RSB RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, and the like. Paragraph: [0019]: In some examples, the techniques discussed herein can be implemented on a user equipment configured to facilitate user communications using first frequency resources. In some instances, the first frequency resources can include, but are not limited to, an LTE Band 12 a 700 MHz Band), an LTE Band 4 (e.g., 1700 MHz band and/or a 2100 MHz band), an LTE Band 2 (e.g., a 1900 MHz band), an LTE Band 66 (e.g., a 1700 MHz band and/or a 2100 MHz extended band. Paragraph [0094]: The configuration component 120 determines that many of these UEs (e.g., a majority or some other portion) support an RE resource using a different generation technology (e.g., NR band 71, or some other band) that Majority of the devices are capable of NR band 71. Hence, the configuration component 120 can re-farm the existing LTE band 71 to NR band 71 (fully or can be partially done) to take advantage of the 5G (NR) band utilization efficiency);
the average SINR value being associated with the at least one SINR value of the at least one UE
(Paragraph [0029]: The UE 102 may also collect information that checks the condition of the 5G NR signals for potential data transmission, such as a list of synchronization signal block (SSB) signal information (e.g., SSB beam index, RSRP, RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, the band number, the bandwidth and the PCI of the 5G NR cell sending the beam), number of SSB beams detected by UE, SSB beam index, PCI for the cell that transmits the SSB name, band name, bandwidth, RSB RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, and the like. Paragraph [0057]: According to some examples, the collection component 404 can sample conditions of a signal over a period of time and perform a statistical analysis to determine additional metrics (e.g., average, median, high, low, etc.) associated with the signal.);
identifying a second total number of PCIs associated with a second geographic area; identifying, based on the first total number of PCIs being greater than a threshold number of PCIs, the second total number of PCIs being less than or equal to the threshold number of PCIs, and the average SINR value being less than a threshold SINR level, the first geographic area as a geographic area for modification of one or more layers utilized by the at least one UE (Paragraph [0011]: The metrics collected by UEs may be utilized to indicate the different types of cellular coverage utilized within different areas, the number of UEs utilizing each of the different types of cellular coverage within each of the different areas, and the like. Paragraph [0013]: Using the techniques described, the metrics collected from UEs within the telecommunications network can be utilized to determine areas that do not have enough 5G cells, have too many 5G cells. Paragraph [0015]: According to some examples, UE within a telecommunications network may be utilized to collect data associated with network metrics. For instance, the metrics may indicate the type of wireless access coverage available to the UE, signal strengths between the LTE and network transceiver(s), cell information (e.g., cell identifier, band name, bandwidth, . . . ), and the like. More specifically, in some examples, the metrics may include, but are not limited to signal strength of a signal between the UE and a network transceiver in the mobile device telecommunications network, a type of network that the user device is connected to (e.g., 5G, LTE, 3G, 2G, no network, etc.), a received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), energy per chip of the pilot channel over the noise power density (EcNo), etc.), LTE E-UTRAN cell identifier (ECI) (ENB-ID+CELLID), EN-DC capability of a cell (e.g., an LTE cell), list of 5G new radio (NR) cell information (e.g., communicated from an LTE primary cell (PCELL)), number of NR cells, NR cell ID, NR band name, NR bandwidth, LTE RRC state, NR RRC state, NR primary secondary cell (PSCell) physical cell id. (PCI). Paragraph [0017]: As briefly discussed, the system may also generate graphical output that represents information about the UE and connections to the telecommunications network. For instance, the system may generate a graphical map showing relative signal strength of varying colors and opacity that indicate call density and signal strengths. The visualization may also show the wireless access technologies being utilized in different areas of the map. For instance, the visualization may show where UE is located that utilizes (or could utilize) a particular wireless access technology (e.g., 5G). In some examples, the map may be part of data utilized to indicate one or more areas in which to add additional/different coverage, and/or be used to generate configuration data that may be used to configure one or more network resources. The graphic can also be used as a visualization tool to select high-value changes to the network infrastructure. Paragraph [0018]: The collection component may determine, based at least in part on the data, a coverage area associated with a network transceiver. The one or more metrics can be sent to the network device for aggregation and determination of one or more sources of diminished signal strength. Example sources may include an interference level (e.g., an existing interference level, an estimated interference level, etc. Paragraph [0031]: The configuration data generated by the configuration component 120 may identify one or more locations within one or more of the geographic areas to configure one or more network resources of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0034]: In some examples, the visualization 126A and/or visualization 126B may be part of a configuration provided by configuration component 120 that may indicate one or more areas in which to add additional/different coverage, and/or be used to generate a configuration. The visualization 126 can also be used as a tool to select high-value changes to the network infrastructure. Paragraph [0051]: In some instances, the heat map 300 may include a geographic region associated with the network transceiver, where the geographic region is output having a color associated with the coverage area. The color may be indicative of the number of UE 102 utilizing a particular wireless access technology, an aggregated signal strength associated with the network transceiver, and the like. In other aspects, the geographic region may be output having a pattern. representative of the aggregated signal strength, and/or an opacity associated with the aggregated signal strength, and/or call density. Paragraph [0088], Fig 6: At 604, after the network device 500 receives the data (e.g., data relating to the metrics 124), the one or more processor(s) 512 may generate information associated with one or more different wireless access technologies utilized within different geographic areas of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0089]: For instance, an aggregated signal strength associated with one or more locations within an area may be determined, a location of transmitters 110 may be determined, and the like. In some examples, the network device 400 may aggregate the data associated with a geographic region. Determining the aggregated data associated with the geographic region may include averaging metrics received from user devices operating within that particular region, or by performing other aggregation techniques. Paragraph [0091]: the configuration component 120 may identify that a region may not include enough cells (e.g., 5G cells) within a geographic area/region to handle current or predicted load. For instance, the network metrics 124 may indicate that a geographic area is currently congested. Paragraph [0093]: As a particular example, assume that a number of UEs are causing congestion in LTE bands 4, 2, 12 and 71 within a particular region. In an attempt to alleviate this congestion, the configuration component 120 determines that many of these UEs (e.g., a majority or some other portion) support an RF resource (e.g., NR band 261, or some other band) that may be utilized to resolve the congestion. Upon determining that another RF resource is available to be utilized that is not congested, the configuration component 120 causes the UEs to utilize the uncongested RF resource (e.g., NR band 261 in this example) to attempt to resolve the congestion. Also see claim 3 of Yoon which identifies that a first geographic region is congested, and a second geographic area is uncongested.);
determining a type of mode in which the at least one UE is operating (Paragraph [0023]: In some instances, the one or more transceiver(s) 106 can receive the signal 108 at the user equipment 102, and the collection component 104 can determine various metrics 124 associated with the signal 108. For example, the one or more metrics 124 can include, but are not limited to signal strength of a signal between the UE 102 and a network transceiver 106 in the mobile device telecommunications network, a type of network that the user device is connected to (e.g., 5G, LTE, 3G, 2G, no network, etc.), a received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), energy per chip of the pilot channel over the noise power density (Echo), etc.), LTE E-UIRAN cell identifier (ECI) (ENB-ID+CELLID), EN-DC capability of a cell (e.g., an LTE cell), list of 5G new radio (NR) cell information (e.g., communicated from an LTE primary cell (PCELL)), number of NR cells, NR cell ID, NR band name, NR bandwidth, LTE RRC state, NR RRC state, NR primary secondary cell (PSCell) physical cell id (PCI), NR PSCell band name, NR PSCell bandwidth, NR physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) channel assignment status, NR PDSCH access status, NR PDSCH beam index, NR PSCell. Paragraph [0027]: To verify this, the RRC state may be checked on both 4G LTE and on 5G NR. The UE 102 may use an API to collect LTE RRC state (e.g., IDLE, CONNECTED) and NR RRC state (e.g., IDLE, CONNECTED) to determine if there is a possibility of any data transmission using the different wireless access technologies for the UE 102. If LTE RRC is not in CONNECTED state, there is not a chance for data transmission and NR RRC state cannot be CONNECTED either (no data transmission over 5G NR).)
Yoon does not explicitly teach identifying a layer rank identifier for the first geographic area indicating a layer based on a bandwidth level associated with the layer, and transmitting, to the at least one UE, a signal including the layer rank identifier while the UE operates in the first geographic area.
However, Brisebois teaches identifying a layer rank identifier for the first geographic area indicating a layer based on a bandwidth level associated with the layer (Paragraph [0023]: In some embodiments, the operations include determining a data throughput between the system and a network device, ranking a plurality of frequency sub-bands based on channel quality information determined for the plurality of frequency sub-bands, selecting a channel bandwidth of a plurality of channel bandwidths associated with a predicted throughput that satisfies a defined condition relative to the data throughput, wherein the predicted throughput is a throughput of information through a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the selecting the frequency sub-band is based on the evaluating. Paragraph [0045]: In some embodiments, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 and a mobile device having an identifier on the white list of the BBFM component 300 can collaborate to identify the portions of a frequency range for best use within the service area of the FAPD 200. For example, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 can trigger sub-band channel quality indicator (CQI) reporting to obtain channel information for evaluation of the frequency sub-bands.)
and transmitting, to the at least one UE, a signal including the layer rank identifier while the UE operates in the first geographic area (Paragraph [0021]: In one embodiment, a method can include determining, by an access point device including a processor, a data throughput associated with a broadband channel communicatively coupling the access point device and a network device of a network, evaluating, by the access point device, channel information associated with a plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the access point device is configurable to communicate over the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting, by the access point device, a transmission parameter for a mobile device, wherein the selecting is based on the backhaul data throughput capacity, and wherein the transmission parameter comprises information representing a selected one of the plurality of frequency sub-bands. Paragraph [0028]: In various aspects, the information received at the mobile device 108 can originate at a device communicatively coupled to the core network 106 and/or to a femto cell (not shown) associated with the core network 106. Paragraph [0029]: In various scenarios, the mobile device 108 can transmit and/or receive information on one or more different channels (e.g., LTE channels) and/or one or more different frequency sub-bands. For example, the FAPD 102 can determine an optimal channel bandwidth and frequency sub-band for transmission by the mobile device 108 based on the data throughput of the broadband channel 104. Paragraph [0035]: Although the channel information is described above as channel information for different frequency ranges on which the FAPD 200 can transmit and/or receive information, in some aspects, the channel information can be for different frequency ranges on which a mobile device or any type of user equipment can transmit. Paragraph [0073]: At 506, method 500 can include selecting, by the access point device, a transmission parameter for a mobile device, wherein the selecting is based on the data throughput, and wherein the transmission parameter comprises information representing a selected one of the plurality of frequency sub-bands. In some embodiments, the transmission parameters selected by the access point device can include a frequency sub-band and a channel bandwidth over which a mobile device can transmit. Paragraph [0078]: At 706, method 700 can include, in response to the throughput being determined to satisfy the defined condition, selecting the first channel bandwidth for the transmission parameter. In some embodiments, the selection of the channel bandwidth can include selecting a first one of the respective channel bandwidths based on determining that the one of the respective predicted throughputs corresponding to the first one of the respective channel bandwidths is greater than the data throughput over the channel between the access point device and the network. One of the frequency sub-bands for which the respective predicted throughput is greater than the data throughput over the channel between the access point device and the network can then be selected for transmission by the mobile device.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide identifying a layer rank identifier for the first geographic area indicating a layer based on a bandwidth level associated with the layer, and transmitting, to the at least one UE, a signal including the layer rank identifier while the UE operates in the first geographic area, as taught by Brisebois in the system of Yoon, in order to reduce interference between cells (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017]).
The combination of Yoon and Brisebois, does not explicitly teach wherein the signal includes a configuration message in response to the type of mode being an idle mode.
However, Mallick teaches wherein the signal includes a configuration message in response to the type of mode being an idle mode (Paragraph [0035]: In certain embodiments, the network may indicate a frequency for a network slice using a RedirectedCarrierInfo in RRCRelease message (e.g., according to 3GPP TS 38.331). Paragraph [0038]: In some embodiments, improved cell reselections may need to be used when Cell(s) on carrier ‘f2’ controls not only cell access to establish RRC Connection but also (or only) cell camping since it wants to control the RRC Idle state UE load which can arise due to: The network can mitigate this by e.g., Broadcasting a persistence check parameter. Cell (re)selection on the cell on frequency ‘f2’ also includes this persistence check. Paragraph [0061]: The NAS layer 250 is between the UE 205 and the 5GC 215. NAS messages are passed transparently through the RAN. The NAS layer 250 is used to manage the establishment of communication sessions and for maintaining continuous communications with the UE 205 as it moves between different cells of the RAN. In contrast, the AS layer is between the UE 205 and the RAN (i.e., RAN node 210) and carries information over the wireless portion of the network. Paragraph [0065]: In the depicted embodiment, it is assumed that the network operator prefers that the UE 205 camp on a carrier of the first frequency layer 310, e.g., due to the first frequency layer providing a greater geographic coverage. As used herein, “camping” refers to behavior of the UE 205 in the RRC Idle state where the UE 205 has selected a cell and is prepared to initiate a RRC connection, receive paging and receive a broadcast service. Note that while in the RRC Idle state, the UE 205 is switched on but does not have any established RRC connection with the mobile communication network. Paragraph [0066]: In some embodiments, when the UE 205 transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state, the UE 205 selects a cell to camp on. This cell may be a cell on a frequency that is indicated in an RRC connection release message. When camping on a cell, the UE 205 may monitor and receive system information that is broadcast in the cell. Further, the UE 205 may perform cell reselection while camping on the coverage cell. Paragraph [0087]: For example, the UE 205 may determine that the second frequency layer 320 has a higher frequency (relative to other frequency layers of the RAN) based on a dedicated priority or on a common priority of the carrier frequency of the second frequency layer (i.e., ‘f2’). Regarding dedicated priority, during release of UE radio resources, the RRC Connection Release message provides the radio resources for the UE 205 (i.e., in IdleModeMobilityControlInfo Information Element (“IE”)). Paragraph [0124]: In some embodiments, the processor 505 may control the transceiver 525 to broadcast a message in a cell, said message comprising a persistence check value for the cell. Here, the processor 505 may select the persistence check value based on a RRC idle state UE load of the cell where the message is broadcast.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the signal includes a configuration message in response to the type of mode being an idle mode, as taught by Mallick, in the combined system of Yoon and Brisebois, so that the UE is provided with information to select a cell to camp on, and provide connections to the UE as it transitions between the connected to idle states (Mallick: Paragraph [0065], [0066], [0087], [0124]).
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, and Mallick does not explicitly teach wherein the type of mode is selected from a list of mode types including an active mode and an idle mode.
However, Tao teaches wherein the type of mode is selected from a list of mode types including an active mode and an idle mode (Paragraph [0026]: In exemplary embodiments, the MS 304 may operate in different operation modes. For example, when the MS 304 is connected with the BS 302, the MS 304 may operate in an active mode in which the MS 304 stays awake all the time for communicating with the BS 302, or operate in a sleep mode in which the MS 304 periodically wakes up for occasional data traffic, or operate in a client cooperation mode in which the MS 304 operates as a relay node for relaying data from the BS to another MS (not shown) in the communication system 300. When the MS 304 is disconnected from the BS 302, the MS 304 may operate in an idle mode in which the MS is periodically paged by the paging controller 308, or operate in a deregistration with content retention (DCR) mode in which information regarding the MS 304 is retained in the ASN gateway 306. In exemplary embodiments, the BS 302 may initiate an operation mode transition for the MS 304, referred to herein as a BS-initiated operation mode transition. Paragraph [0027]: FIG. 4 illustrates a method 400 for a BS-initiated operation mode transition, according to an exemplary embodiment. Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, the MS 304 may report its battery level information to the BS 302, and the BS 302 may initiate the operation mode transition for the MS 304 based on a current operation mode of the MS 304 and the battery level information reported by the MS 304. For example, the battery level information may include a battery level indicating a percentage of remaining battery power of the MS 304. Also see paragraphs [0035], [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the type of mode is selected from a list of mode types including an active mode and an idle mode, as taught by Tao in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, and Mallick, so that mode transitions can be determined based on battery level information (Tao: Paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0028], [0035], [0036]).
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, and Tao does not explicitly teach radio resource control (RRC) release message that includes at least one dedicated priority to be utilized after sessions currently being utilized by the at least one UE end.
However, Chen teaches radio resource control (RRC) release message that includes at least one dedicated priority to be utilized after sessions currently being utilized by the at least one UE end (Paragraph [0022]: The network may configure the UE in this manner by providing dedicated priority information to the UE. Throughout this description, “dedicated priority information” refers to information that may be considered by the UE when selecting a cell for cell reselection. To provide an example, the network may transmit a radio resource control (RRC) release message to a connected UE. The RRC release message may include dedicated priority information that is to be considered by the UE during a subsequent reselection procedure. The dedicated priority information may identify frequency bands and/or cells that may provide an adequate connection for the UE. In other words, the network may use the dedicated priority information to configure the UE to perform a targeted cell reselection procedure. Paragraph [0041]: For example, the RFSP index may be used by the RAN 120 to derive UE 110 specific cell reselection priorities that may control idle mode camping behavior of the UE 110. The UE 110 specific reselection priorities may be provided to the UE 110 as dedicated priority information. Paragraph [0050]: In 340, the RAN 120 transmits an RRC release message to the UE 110. The RRC release message may include the exemplary dedicated priority information. Paragraph [0051]: Thus, the UE 110 may select a frequency band for camping based on the desired configured S-NSSAI and the corresponding dedicated frequency priority information. For example, UE 110 may select a frequency band of cell 120B based on the dedicated priority configuration. Once camped, the UE 110 may access the intended network slice because the corresponding RAN slice is deployed on this frequency band. Thus, the UE 110 may then establish a protocol data unit (PDU) session with the intended network slice.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide radio resource control (RRC) release message that includes at least one dedicated priority to be utilized after sessions currently being utilized by the at least one UE end, as taught by Chen in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, and Tao, so that the UE can be configured with specific cell reselection priorities which can avoid unnecessary congestion and connectivity issues (Chen: Paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0041], [0050], [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen teaches the system of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
Yoon further teaches wherein the signal information includes at least one physical cell identity (PCI) and at least one SINR value associated with the geographic area ((Paragraph [0057]: According to some examples, the collection component 404 can sample conditions of a signal over a period of time and perform a statistical analysis to determine additional metrics (e.g., average, median, high, low, etc.) associated with the signal. Paragraph [0089], Fig 6: At 606, the one or more processor(s) 612 may determine, using the network coverage component 504, or some other component, other information associated with the telecommunications network 118. For instance, an aggregated signal strength associated with one or more locations within an area may be determined, a location of transmitters 110 may be determined, and the like. In some examples, the network device 400 may aggregate the data associated with a geographic region. Determining the aggregated data associated with the geographic region may include averaging metrics received from user devices operating within that particular region, or by performing other aggregation techniques.)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen teaches the system of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one carrier frequency value is at least one evolved universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) absolute radio frequency channel number (EARFCN)
However, Brisebois teaches wherein the at least one carrier frequency value is at least one evolved universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) absolute radio frequency channel number (EARFCN) (Paragraph [0062]: The transmission management component 308 can then cause the FAPD 200 to configure to transmit and/or receive information over the selected frequency sub-band(s) (e.g., LTE evolved universal terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) absolute radio frequency channel number (EARFCN)) associated with the predicted throughputs that were greater than the data throughput of the broadband channel. Transmission management component 308 can also cause the FAPD 200 to configure to transmit and/or receive information over the selected channel bandwidth (e.g., 1.4 MHz, 3 MHz, 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz or 20 MHz).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the at least one carrier frequency value is at least one evolved universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) absolute radio frequency channel number (EARFCN), as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen, so that improved throughput can be achieved (Brisebois: Paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen teaches the system of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen does not explicitly teach teaches wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying the layer rank identifier as a first layer rank identifier; identifying a second layer rank identifier associated with a second layer based on a second bandwidth level associated with the second layer; identifying the first layer as a selected layer, based on the first bandwidth level being greater than the second bandwidth level; and identifying the first layer rank identifier indicating the layer based on the first layer being identified as the selected layer.
However, Brisebois teaches wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying the layer rank identifier as a first layer rank identifier; identifying a second layer rank identifier associated with a second layer based on a second bandwidth level associated with the second layer; identifying the first layer as a selected layer, based on the first bandwidth level being greater than the second bandwidth level; and identifying the first layer rank identifier indicating the layer based on the first layer being identified as the selected layer (Paragraph [0027]: Based on the channel information, the FAPD 102 can rank the frequency ranges. The FAPD 102 can then compare the predicted throughput for different frequency ranges with the data throughput of the broadband channel 104. The FAPD 102 can select the minimum channel bandwidth corresponding to the predicted throughput that exceeds the broadband channel 104 data throughput. The corresponding frequency range can also be selected for transmission. Paragraph [0053]: The frequency sub-band selection component 304 can then rank one or more of the frequency sub-bands according to best DL CQI information and lowest UL noise. In some embodiments, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 can rank each of the frequency sub-bands to generate an ordered listing of the frequency sub-bands with the frequency sub-band having the optimal DL CQI and lowest UL noise being a top-ranked frequency sub-band and the frequency sub-bands decreasing in ranked order according to decreasing DL CQI and increasing UL noise. Paragraph [0073]: the transmission parameters selected by the access point device can include a frequency sub-band and a channel bandwidth over which a mobile device can transmit. Paragraph [0082]: At 806, method 800 can include selecting a second channel bandwidth for the transmission parameter based on the combined predicted throughput being determined to satisfy the defined condition, wherein the second channel bandwidth is defined to be wider than the first channel bandwidth. Paragraph [0052]: Information identifying the different frequency ranges can be stored as frequency sub-band information 404. In various embodiments, the DL channel indicator information 410, UL noise information 412 and/or frequency sub-band information 404 can be stored in any number of different formats, Paragraph [0061]: Accordingly, in various embodiments, the channel bandwidth selection component 306 can identify the smallest contiguous channel bandwidth for which predicted throughput exceeds the broadband channel data throughput. Identification information for the different possible channel bandwidths can be stored as the channel bandwidth information 406 in some embodiments.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein, the layer is a first layer, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying the layer rank identifier as a first layer rank identifier; identifying a second layer rank identifier associated with a second layer based on a second bandwidth level associated with the second layer; identifying the first layer as a selected layer, based on the first bandwidth level being greater than the second bandwidth level; and identifying the first layer rank identifier indicating the layer based on the first layer being identified as the selected layer, as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen, in order to generate an ordered listing of the frequency sub-bands with optimal ranking (Brisebois: Paragraphs [0027], [0052], [0053], [0073], [0082]).
Regarding claim 17, Yoon teaches a server (Paragraph [0041]: In some instances, the network device(s) 112 can be implemented as one or more communication servers to facilitate communications by and between the various devices in the environment 100.);
comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: (Paragraph [0067]: In some examples, the processor(s) 416 is a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), or both CPU and GPU, or other processing unit or component known in the art. Paragraph [0068]: The user equipment 400 also includes additional data storage devices (removable and/or non-removable) such as, for example, magnetic disks, optical disks, or tape. Such additional storage is illustrated in FIG. 4 by removable storage 418 and non-removable storage 420. Tangible computer-readable media can include volatile and non-volatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information, such as computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules, or other data. Memory 402, removable storage 418 and non-removable storage 420 are all examples of computer-readable storage media.);
receiving signal information associated with at least one user equipment (UE) located in a first geographic area (Abstract: Techniques and systems relate to utilizing network metrics to optimize performance and network coverage for a telecommunications network. Using techniques described herein, a telecommunications network may utilize network metrics collected from user equipment (UE) devices. Paragraph [0031]: In some examples, the network device(s) 112 are configured to generate configuration data that identifies first utilization data that indicates a first utilization of a first wireless access technology (e.g., 5G, 4G, . . . ) within a first geographic area of the telecommunications network and other utilization data that indicates one or more other utilizations of different wireless access technologies within one or more other geographic areas of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0015]: UE within a telecommunications network may be utilized to collect data associated with network metrics. …. signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), ….physical cell id. (PCI)).
identifying a first total number of PCIs in the at least one PCI, and an average signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) value associated with the first geographic area (Paragraph [0057]: According to some examples, the collection component 404 can sample conditions of a signal over a period of time and perform a statistical analysis to determine additional metrics (e.g., average, median, high, low, etc.) associated with the signal. Paragraph [0089], Fig 6: At 606, the one or more processor(s) 612 may determine, using the network coverage component 504, or some other component, other information associated with the telecommunications network 118. For instance, an aggregated signal strength associated with one or more locations within an area may be determined, a location of transmitters 110 may be determined, and the like. In some examples, the network device 400 may aggregate the data associated with a geographic region. Determining the aggregated data associated with the geographic region may include averaging metrics received from user devices operating within that particular region, or by performing other aggregation techniques.);
the at least one PCI being included in a handover window and being associated with at least one carrier frequency value (Paragraph [0029]: For example, the UE 102 may utilize the API to collect data for NR PSCell band name, NR PSCell bandwidth, NR physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) channel assignment status, NR PDSCH access status, NR PDSCH beam index, NR PSCell RSRP, NR PSCell SINR, NR PSCell RSRQ, NR channel quality indicator, NR rank indicator, and the like. The UE 102 may also collect information that checks the condition of the 5G NR signals for potential data transmission, such as a list of synchronization signal block (SSB) signal information (e.g., SSB beam index, RSRP, RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, the band number, the bandwidth and the PCI of the 5G NR cell sending the beam), number of SSB beams detected by UE, SSB beam index, PCI for the cell that transmits the SSB name, band name, bandwidth, RSB RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, and the like. Paragraph: [0019]: In some examples, the techniques discussed herein can be implemented on a user equipment configured to facilitate user communications using first frequency resources. In some instances, the first frequency resources can include, but are not limited to, an LTE Band 12 a 700 MHz Band), an LTE Band 4 (e.g., 1700 MHz band and/or a 2100 MHz band), an LTE Band 2 (e.g., a 1900 MHz band), an LTE Band 66 (e.g., a 1700 MHz band and/or a 2100 MHz extended band. Paragraph [0094]: The configuration component 120 determines that many of these UEs (e.g., a majority or some other portion) support an RE resource using a different generation technology (e.g., NR band 71, or some other band) that Majority of the devices are capable of NR band 71. Hence, the configuration component 120 can re-farm the existing LTE band 71 to NR band 71 (fully or can be partially done) to take advantage of the 5G (NR) band utilization efficiency);
the average SINR value being associated with the at least one SINR value of the at least one UE (Paragraph [0029]: The UE 102 may also collect information that checks the condition of the 5G NR signals for potential data transmission, such as a list of synchronization signal block (SSB) signal information (e.g., SSB beam index, RSRP, RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, the band number, the bandwidth and the PCI of the 5G NR cell sending the beam), number of SSB beams detected by UE, SSB beam index, PCI for the cell that transmits the SSB name, band name, bandwidth, RSB RSSI, SINR, RSRQ, and the like. Paragraph [0057]: According to some examples, the collection component 404 can sample conditions of a signal over a period of time and perform a statistical analysis to determine additional metrics (e.g., average, median, high, low, etc.) associated with the signal.);
identifying a second total number of PCIs associated with a second geographic area; identifying, based on at least one of the first total number of PCIs being greater than a threshold number of PCIs, the second total number of PCIs being less than or equal to the threshold number of PCIs, and the average SINR value being less than a threshold SNIR level, the first geographic area as a geographic area for modification of one or more layers utilized by the at least one UE (Paragraph [0011]: The metrics collected by UEs may be utilized to indicate the different types of cellular coverage utilized within different areas, the number of UEs utilizing each of the different types of cellular coverage within each of the different areas, and the like. Paragraph [0013]: Using the techniques described, the metrics collected from UEs within the telecommunications network can be utilized to determine areas that do not have enough 5G cells, have too many 5G cells. Paragraph [0015]: According to some examples, UE within a telecommunications network may be utilized to collect data associated with network metrics. For instance, the metrics may indicate the type of wireless access coverage available to the UE, signal strengths between the LTE and network transceiver(s), cell information (e.g., cell identifier, band name, bandwidth, . . . ), and the like. More specifically, in some examples, the metrics may include, but are not limited to signal strength of a signal between the UE and a network transceiver in the mobile device telecommunications network, a type of network that the user device is connected to (e.g., 5G, LTE, 3G, 2G, no network, etc.), a received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), energy per chip of the pilot channel over the noise power density (EcNo), etc.), LTE E-UTRAN cell identifier (ECI) (ENB-ID+CELLID), EN-DC capability of a cell (e.g., an LTE cell), list of 5G new radio (NR) cell information (e.g., communicated from an LTE primary cell (PCELL)), number of NR cells, NR cell ID, NR band name, NR bandwidth, LTE RRC state, NR RRC state, NR primary secondary cell (PSCell) physical cell id. (PCI). Paragraph [0017]: As briefly discussed, the system may also generate graphical output that represents information about the UE and connections to the telecommunications network. For instance, the system may generate a graphical map showing relative signal strength of varying colors and opacity that indicate call density and signal strengths. The visualization may also show the wireless access technologies being utilized in different areas of the map. For instance, the visualization may show where UE is located that utilizes (or could utilize) a particular wireless access technology (e.g., 5G). In some examples, the map may be part of data utilized to indicate one or more areas in which to add additional/different coverage, and/or be used to generate configuration data that may be used to configure one or more network resources. The graphic can also be used as a visualization tool to select high-value changes to the network infrastructure. Paragraph [0018]: The collection component may determine, based at least in part on the data, a coverage area associated with a network transceiver. The one or more metrics can be sent to the network device for aggregation and determination of one or more sources of diminished signal strength. Example sources may include an interference level (e.g., an existing interference level, an estimated interference level, etc. Paragraph [0031]: The configuration data generated by the configuration component 120 may identify one or more locations within one or more of the geographic areas to configure one or more network resources of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0034]: In some examples, the visualization 126A and/or visualization 126B may be part of a configuration provided by configuration component 120 that may indicate one or more areas in which to add additional/different coverage, and/or be used to generate a configuration. The visualization 126 can also be used as a tool to select high-value changes to the network infrastructure. Paragraph [0051]: In some instances, the heat map 300 may include a geographic region associated with the network transceiver, where the geographic region is output having a color associated with the coverage area. The color may be indicative of the number of UE 102 utilizing a particular wireless access technology, an aggregated signal strength associated with the network transceiver, and the like. In other aspects, the geographic region may be output having a pattern. representative of the aggregated signal strength, and/or an opacity associated with the aggregated signal strength, and/or call density. Paragraph [0088], Fig 6: At 604, after the network device 500 receives the data (e.g., data relating to the metrics 124), the one or more processor(s) 512 may generate information associated with one or more different wireless access technologies utilized within different geographic areas of the telecommunications network. Paragraph [0089]: For instance, an aggregated signal strength associated with one or more locations within an area may be determined, a location of transmitters 110 may be determined, and the like. In some examples, the network device 400 may aggregate the data associated with a geographic region. Determining the aggregated data associated with the geographic region may include averaging metrics received from user devices operating within that particular region, or by performing other aggregation techniques. Paragraph [0091]: the configuration component 120 may identify that a region may not include enough cells (e.g., 5G cells) within a geographic area/region to handle current or predicted load. For instance, the network metrics 124 may indicate that a geographic area is currently congested. Paragraph [0093]: As a particular example, assume that a number of UEs are causing congestion in LTE bands 4, 2, 12 and 71 within a particular region. In an attempt to alleviate this congestion, the configuration component 120 determines that many of these UEs (e.g., a majority or some other portion) support an RF resource (e.g., NR band 261, or some other band) that may be utilized to resolve the congestion. Upon determining that another RF resource is available to be utilized that is not congested, the configuration component 120 causes the UEs to utilize the uncongested RF resource (e.g., NR band 261 in this example) to attempt to resolve the congestion. Also see claim 3 of Yoon which identifies that a first geographic region is congested, and a second geographic area is uncongested.);
determining a type of mode in which the at least one UE is operating (Paragraph [0023]: In some instances, the one or more transceiver(s) 106 can receive the signal 108 at the user equipment 102, and the collection component 104 can determine various metrics 124 associated with the signal 108. For example, the one or more metrics 124 can include, but are not limited to signal strength of a signal between the UE 102 and a network transceiver 106 in the mobile device telecommunications network, a type of network that the user device is connected to (e.g., 5G, LTE, 3G, 2G, no network, etc.), a received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), energy per chip of the pilot channel over the noise power density (Echo), etc.), LTE E-UIRAN cell identifier (ECI) (ENB-ID+CELLID), EN-DC capability of a cell (e.g., an LTE cell), list of 5G new radio (NR) cell information (e.g., communicated from an LTE primary cell (PCELL)), number of NR cells, NR cell ID, NR band name, NR bandwidth, LTE RRC state, NR RRC state, NR primary secondary cell (PSCell) physical cell id (PCI), NR PSCell band name, NR PSCell bandwidth, NR physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) channel assignment status, NR PDSCH access status, NR PDSCH beam index, NR PSCell. Paragraph [0027]: To verify this, the RRC state may be checked on both 4G LTE and on 5G NR. The UE 102 may use an API to collect LTE RRC state (e.g., IDLE, CONNECTED) and NR RRC state (e.g., IDLE, CONNECTED) to determine if there is a possibility of any data transmission using the different wireless access technologies for the UE 102. If LTE RRC is not in CONNECTED state, there is not a chance for data transmission and NR RRC state cannot be CONNECTED either (no data transmission over 5G NR).)
Yoon does not explicitly teach identifying a layer rank identifier for the first geographic area indicating a layer based on a bandwidth level associated with the layer: and transmitting to the at least one UE a signal including the layer rank identifier while the UE operates in the first geographic area.
However, Brisebois teaches identifying a layer rank identifier for the first geographic area indicating a layer based on a bandwidth level associated with the layer: (Paragraph [0023]: In some embodiments, the operations include determining a data throughput between the system and a network device, ranking a plurality of frequency sub-bands based on channel quality information determined for the plurality of frequency sub-bands, selecting a channel bandwidth of a plurality of channel bandwidths associated with a predicted throughput that satisfies a defined condition relative to the data throughput, wherein the predicted throughput is a throughput of information through a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the selecting the frequency sub-band is based on the evaluating. Paragraph [0045]: In some embodiments, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 and a mobile device having an identifier on the white list of the BBFM component 300 can collaborate to identify the portions of a frequency range for best use within the service area of the FAPD 200. For example, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 can trigger sub-band channel quality indicator (CQI) reporting to obtain channel information for evaluation of the frequency sub-bands.)
and transmitting to the at least one UE a signal including the layer rank identifier while the UE operates in the first geographic area (Paragraph [0021]: In one embodiment, a method can include determining, by an access point device including a processor, a data throughput associated with a broadband channel communicatively coupling the access point device and a network device of a network, evaluating, by the access point device, channel information associated with a plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the access point device is configurable to communicate over the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting, by the access point device, a transmission parameter for a mobile device, wherein the selecting is based on the backhaul data throughput capacity, and wherein the transmission parameter comprises information representing a selected one of the plurality of frequency sub-bands. Paragraph [0028]: In various aspects, the information received at the mobile device 108 can originate at a device communicatively coupled to the core network 106 and/or to a femto cell (not shown) associated with the core network 106. Paragraph [0029]: In various scenarios, the mobile device 108 can transmit and/or receive information on one or more different channels (e.g., LTE channels) and/or one or more different frequency sub-bands. For example, the FAPD 102 can determine an optimal channel bandwidth and frequency sub-band for transmission by the mobile device 108 based on the data throughput of the broadband channel 104. Paragraph [0035]: Although the channel information is described above as channel information for different frequency ranges on which the FAPD 200 can transmit and/or receive information, in some aspects, the channel information can be for different frequency ranges on which a mobile device or any type of user equipment can transmit. Paragraph [0073]: At 506, method 500 can include selecting, by the access point device, a transmission parameter for a mobile device, wherein the selecting is based on the data throughput, and wherein the transmission parameter comprises information representing a selected one of the plurality of frequency sub-bands. In some embodiments, the transmission parameters selected by the access point device can include a frequency sub-band and a channel bandwidth over which a mobile device can transmit. Paragraph [0078]: At 706, method 700 can include, in response to the throughput being determined to satisfy the defined condition, selecting the first channel bandwidth for the transmission parameter. In some embodiments, the selection of the channel bandwidth can include selecting a first one of the respective channel bandwidths based on determining that the one of the respective predicted throughputs corresponding to the first one of the respective channel bandwidths is greater than the data throughput over the channel between the access point device and the network. One of the frequency sub-bands for which the respective predicted throughput is greater than the data throughput over the channel between the access point device and the network can then be selected for transmission by the mobile device.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide identifying a layer rank identifier for the first geographic area indicating a layer based on a bandwidth level associated with the layer: and transmitting to the at least one UE a signal including the layer rank identifier while the UE operates in the first geographic area, as taught by Brisebois in the system of Yoon, in order to reduce interference between cells (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017]).
The combination of Yoon and Brisebois does not explicitly teach wherein the signal includes a configuration message in response to the type of mode being an idle mode.
However, Mallick teaches wherein the signal includes a configuration message in response to the type of mode being an idle mode ((Paragraph [0035]: In certain embodiments, the network may indicate a frequency for a network slice using a RedirectedCarrierInfo in RRCRelease message (e.g., according to 3GPP TS 38.331). Paragraph [0038]: In some embodiments, improved cell reselections may need to be used when Cell(s) on carrier ‘f2’ controls not only cell access to establish RRC Connection but also (or only) cell camping since it wants to control the RRC Idle state UE load which can arise due to: The network can mitigate this by e.g., Broadcasting a persistence check parameter. Cell (re)selection on the cell on frequency ‘f2’ also includes this persistence check. Paragraph [0061]: The NAS layer 250 is between the UE 205 and the 5GC 215. NAS messages are passed transparently through the RAN. The NAS layer 250 is used to manage the establishment of communication sessions and for maintaining continuous communications with the UE 205 as it moves between different cells of the RAN. In contrast, the AS layer is between the UE 205 and the RAN (i.e., RAN node 210) and carries information over the wireless portion of the network. Paragraph [0065]: In the depicted embodiment, it is assumed that the network operator prefers that the UE 205 camp on a carrier of the first frequency layer 310, e.g., due to the first frequency layer providing a greater geographic coverage. As used herein, “camping” refers to behavior of the UE 205 in the RRC Idle state where the UE 205 has selected a cell and is prepared to initiate a RRC connection, receive paging and receive a broadcast service. Note that while in the RRC Idle state, the UE 205 is switched on but does not have any established RRC connection with the mobile communication network. Paragraph [0066]: In some embodiments, when the UE 205 transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state, the UE 205 selects a cell to camp on. This cell may be a cell on a frequency that is indicated in an RRC connection release message. When camping on a cell, the UE 205 may monitor and receive system information that is broadcast in the cell. Further, the UE 205 may perform cell reselection while camping on the coverage cell. Paragraph [0087]: For example, the UE 205 may determine that the second frequency layer 320 has a higher frequency (relative to other frequency layers of the RAN) based on a dedicated priority or on a common priority of the carrier frequency of the second frequency layer (i.e., ‘f2’). Regarding dedicated priority, during release of UE radio resources, the RRC Connection Release message provides the radio resources for the UE 205 (i.e., in IdleModeMobilityControlInfo Information Element (“IE”)). Paragraph [0124]: In some embodiments, the processor 505 may control the transceiver 525 to broadcast a message in a cell, said message comprising a persistence check value for the cell. Here, the processor 505 may select the persistence check value based on a RRC idle state UE load of the cell where the message is broadcast.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the signal includes a configuration message in response to the type of mode being an idle mode, as taught by Mallick, in the combined system of Yoon and Brisebois, so that the UE is provided with information to select a cell to camp on and provide connections to the UE as it transitions between the connected to idle states (Mallick: Paragraph [0065], [0066], [0087], 0124]).
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, and Mallick does not explicitly teach wherein the type of mode is selected from a list of mode types including an active mode and an idle mode.
However, Tao teaches wherein the type of mode is selected from a list of mode types including an active mode and an idle mode (Paragraph [0026]: In exemplary embodiments, the MS 304 may operate in different operation modes. For example, when the MS 304 is connected with the BS 302, the MS 304 may operate in an active mode in which the MS 304 stays awake all the time for communicating with the BS 302, or operate in a sleep mode in which the MS 304 periodically wakes up for occasional data traffic, or operate in a client cooperation mode in which the MS 304 operates as a relay node for relaying data from the BS to another MS (not shown) in the communication system 300. When the MS 304 is disconnected from the BS 302, the MS 304 may operate in an idle mode in which the MS is periodically paged by the paging controller 308, or operate in a deregistration with content retention (DCR) mode in which information regarding the MS 304 is retained in the ASN gateway 306. In exemplary embodiments, the BS 302 may initiate an operation mode transition for the MS 304, referred to herein as a BS-initiated operation mode transition. Paragraph [0027]: FIG. 4 illustrates a method 400 for a BS-initiated operation mode transition, according to an exemplary embodiment. Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, the MS 304 may report its battery level information to the BS 302, and the BS 302 may initiate the operation mode transition for the MS 304 based on a current operation mode of the MS 304 and the battery level information reported by the MS 304. For example, the battery level information may include a battery level indicating a percentage of remaining battery power of the MS 304. Also see paragraphs [0035], [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the type of mode is selected from a list of mode types including an active mode and an idle mode, as taught by Tao in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, and Mallick, so that mode transitions can be determined based on battery level information (Tao: Paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0028], [0035], [0036]).
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, and Tao does not explicitly teach radio resource control (RRC) release message that includes at least one dedicated priority to be utilized after sessions currently being utilized by the at least one UE end.
However, Chen teaches radio resource control (RRC) release message that includes at least one dedicated priority to be utilized after sessions currently being utilized by the at least one UE end (Paragraph [0022]: The network may configure the UE in this manner by providing dedicated priority information to the UE. Throughout this description, “dedicated priority information” refers to information that may be considered by the UE when selecting a cell for cell reselection. To provide an example, the network may transmit a radio resource control (RRC) release message to a connected UE. The RRC release message may include dedicated priority information that is to be considered by the UE during a subsequent reselection procedure. The dedicated priority information may identify frequency bands and/or cells that may provide an adequate connection for the UE. In other words, the network may use the dedicated priority information to configure the UE to perform a targeted cell reselection procedure. Paragraph [0041]: For example, the RFSP index may be used by the RAN 120 to derive UE 110 specific cell reselection priorities that may control idle mode camping behavior of the UE 110. The UE 110 specific reselection priorities may be provided to the UE 110 as dedicated priority information. Paragraph [0050]: In 340, the RAN 120 transmits an RRC release message to the UE 110. The RRC release message may include the exemplary dedicated priority information. Paragraph [0051]: Thus, the UE 110 may select a frequency band for camping based on the desired configured S-NSSAI and the corresponding dedicated frequency priority information. For example, UE 110 may select a frequency band of cell 120B based on the dedicated priority configuration. Once camped, the UE 110 may access the intended network slice because the corresponding RAN slice is deployed on this frequency band. Thus, the UE 110 may then establish a protocol data unit (PDU) session with the intended network slice.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide radio resource control (RRC) release message that includes at least one dedicated priority to be utilized after sessions currently being utilized by the at least one UE end, as taught by Chen in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, and Tao, so that the UE can be configured with specific cell reselection priorities which can avoid unnecessary congestion and connectivity issues (Chen: Paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0041], [0050], [0051]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen teaches the server of claim 17 (see rejection for claim 17);
Yoon further teaches wherein the signal information includes at least one physical cell identity (PCI) and at least one SINR value associated with the first geographic area (Paragraph [0057]: According to some examples, the collection component 404 can sample conditions of a signal over a period of time and perform a statistical analysis to determine additional metrics (e.g., average, median, high, low, etc.) associated with the signal. Paragraph [0089], Fig 6: At 606, the one or more processor(s) 612 may determine, using the network coverage component 504, or some other component, other information associated with the telecommunications network 118. For instance, an aggregated signal strength associated with one or more locations within an area may be determined, a location of transmitters 110 may be determined, and the like. In some examples, the network device 400 may aggregate the data associated with a geographic region. Determining the aggregated data associated with the geographic region may include averaging metrics received from user devices operating within that particular region, or by performing other aggregation techniques.);
Claims 13, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0377788) in view of Brisebois et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0153497), Mallick et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0121583), Tao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0216681), Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0303884), and further in view of Rezaiifar et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0285159), and JI et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0096061),
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen teaches the system of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen does not explicitly teach the layer rank identifier.
However, Brisebois teaches the layer rank identifier ((Paragraph [0023]: In some embodiments, the operations include determining a data throughput between the system and a network device, ranking a plurality of frequency sub-bands based on channel quality information determined for the plurality of frequency sub-bands, selecting a channel bandwidth of a plurality of channel bandwidths associated with a predicted throughput that satisfies a defined condition relative to the data throughput, wherein the predicted throughput is a throughput of information through a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the selecting the frequency sub-band is based on the evaluating. Paragraph [0045]: In some embodiments, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 and a mobile device having an identifier on the white list of the BBFM component 300 can collaborate to identify the portions of a frequency range for best use within the service area of the FAPD 200. For example, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 can trigger sub-band channel quality indicator (CQI) reporting to obtain channel information for evaluation of the frequency sub-bands.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the layer rank identifier, as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen, in order to reduce interference between cells (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017], [0020])
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising: identifying a load level associated with a sector to which the at least one UE is latched; and identifying, based on the load level, a sector rank identifier indicating the sector, based on the sector rank identifier.
However, Rezaiifar teaches the operations further comprising: identifying a load level associated
with a sector to which the at least one UE is latched; and identifying, based on the load level, a sector rank identifier indicating the sector, based on the sector rank identifier (Abstract: The server selection information for each sector may be set based on the load of the sector and may be used to rank the sector for selection as a serving sector. In one design, a terminal may receive server selection information for multiple sectors);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the operations further comprising: identifying a load level associated with a sector to which the at least one UE is latched; and identifying, based on the load level, a sector rank identifier indicating the sector, based on the sector rank identifier, as taught by Rezaiifar in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen, in order to balance the load of sectors in a wireless communication system (Rezaiifar: Abstract).
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, Chen, and Rezaiifar does not explicitly teach the layer being mapped to the sector.
However, JI teaches the layer being mapped to the sector (Paragraph [0082]: ….each sector (or a scheduler in the system) selects users for data transmission, determines the signal quality metrics and/or priority for the selected users, ranks these users, and allocates subbands or assigns traffic channels to the selected users. Each sector then provides each user with its assigned traffic channel, e.g., via over-the-air signaling. The transmitting and receiving entities for each user then performs the appropriate processing to transmit and receive data on the subbands indicated by the assigned traffic channel. Paragraph [0009]: These techniques are called “layered reuse” techniques and can efficiently utilize the available system resources (e.g., the overall system bandwidth). Paragraph [0066]: Each sector is assigned the appropriate subband sets and thereafter uses these subband sets as described above. This embodiment simplifies implementation for layered reuse since each sector can act autonomously, and no signaling between neighboring sectors is required. In a second embodiment, the subband sets may be dynamically defined based on sector loading and possibly other factors. Paragraph [0067]: In a second layered reuse scheme, each sector is assigned multiple (L) sets of subbands and allocates subbands in these sets to users in the sector based on the sector loading.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the layer being mapped to the sector, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, Chen, and Rezaiifar in order to provide system resources available for data transmission by assigning frequency subbands to sectors so that inter-cell interference can be mitigated. (JI: Abstract, Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen teaches the system of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen does not explicitly teach the bandwidth level
is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying a second bandwidth level associated with a second layer; and identifying the layer rank identifier indicating the first layer, based on the first bandwidth level being less than the second bandwidth level.
However, Brisebois teaches the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying a second bandwidth level associated with a second layer; and identifying the layer rank identifier indicating the first layer, based on the first bandwidth level being less than the second bandwidth level (see rejection for claim 5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein, the bandwidth level is a first bandwidth level, and identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying a second bandwidth level associated with a second layer; and identifying the layer rank identifier indicating the first layer, based on the first bandwidth level being less than the second bandwidth level, as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen, in order to rank frequencies based on bandwidth levels, so that interference between cells can be reduced (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017], [0020]).
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen does not explicitly teach identifying a first load level associated with the first sector and a second load level associated with a second sector; and the first load level being greater than the second load level.
However, Rezaiifar teaches identifying a first load level associated with the first sector and a second load level associated with a second sector; and the first load level being greater than the second load level (see rejection for claim 5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide identifying a first load level associated with the first sector and a second load level associated with a second sector; and the first load level being greater than the second load level, as taught by Rezaiifar in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen, in order to balance the load of sectors in a wireless communication system (Rezaiifar: Abstract).
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, Chen, and Rezaiifar does not explicitly teach wherein the layer is a first layer mapped to a first sector; a second layer mapped to a second sector.
However, JI teaches wherein the layer is a first layer mapped to a first sector; a second layer mapped to a second sector Paragraph [0082]: ….each sector (or a scheduler in the system) selects users for data transmission, determines the signal quality metrics and/or priority for the selected users, ranks these users, and allocates subbands or assigns traffic channels to the selected users. Each sector then provides each user with its assigned traffic channel, e.g., via over-the-air signaling. The transmitting and receiving entities for each user then performs the appropriate processing to transmit and receive data on the subbands indicated by the assigned traffic channel. Paragraph [0009]: These techniques are called “layered reuse” techniques and can efficiently utilize the available system resources (e.g., the overall system bandwidth). Paragraph [0066]: Each sector is assigned the appropriate subband sets and thereafter uses these subband sets as described above. This embodiment simplifies implementation for layered reuse since each sector can act autonomously, and no signaling between neighboring sectors is required. In a second embodiment, the subband sets may be dynamically defined based on sector loading and possibly other factors. A designated sector or a system entity (e.g., system controller 130) may receive loading information for various sectors, define the subband sets, and assign subband sets to the sectors. This embodiment may allow for better utilization of system resources based on the distribution of users. Paragraph [0067]: In a second layered reuse scheme, each sector is assigned multiple (L) sets of subbands and allocates subbands in these sets to users in the sector based on the sector loading.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the layer is a first layer mapped to a first sector; a second layer mapped to a second sector, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, Pettersson, Mallick, Tao, Chen, and Rezaiifar in order to assign one subband to each sector for better utilization of system resources, while mitigating inter-cell interference. (JI: Paragraph [0007], [0066], Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen teaches the server of claim 17 (see rejection for claim 17);
The combination of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen does not explicitly teach the layer rank identifier.
However, Brisebois teaches the layer rank identifier (see rejection for claim 13);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the layer rank identifier, as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen, in order to reduce interference between cells (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017], [0020])
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising: identifying a load level associated with a sector to which the at least one UE is latched; and identifying, based on the load level, a sector rank identifier indicating the sector, based on the sector rank identifier
However, Rezaiifar teaches the operations further comprising: identifying a load level associated
with a sector to which the at least one UE is latched; and identifying, based on the load level, a sector rank identifier indicating the sector, based on the sector rank identifier (see rejection for claim 13);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the operations further comprising: identifying a load level associated with a sector to which the at least one UE is latched; and identifying, based on the load level, a sector rank identifier indicating the sector, based on the sector rank identifier, as taught by Rezaiifar in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen, in order to balance the load of sectors in a wireless communication system (Rezaiifar: Abstract).
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, Chen, and Rezaiifar does not explicitly teach the layer being mapped to the sector.
However, JI teaches the layer being mapped to the sector (see rejection for claim 13);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the layer being mapped to the sector, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, Chen, and Rezaiifar in order to provide system resources available for data transmission by assigning frequency subbands to sectors so that inter-cell interference can be mitigated. (JI: Abstract, Paragraph [0007]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0377788) in view of Brisebois et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0153497), Mallick et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0121583), Tao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0216681), Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0303884) and JI et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0096061).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen teaches the system of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen does not explicitly teach wherein identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying the layer rank identifier
However, Brisebois teaches wherein identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying the layer rank identifier (Paragraph [0023]: In some embodiments, the operations include determining a data throughput between the system and a network device, ranking a plurality of frequency sub-bands based on channel quality information determined for the plurality of frequency sub-bands, selecting a channel bandwidth of a plurality of channel bandwidths associated with a predicted throughput that satisfies a defined condition relative to the data throughput, wherein the predicted throughput is a throughput of information through a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, and selecting a frequency sub-band of the plurality of frequency sub-bands, wherein the selecting the frequency sub-band is based on the evaluating. Paragraph [0045]: In some embodiments, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 and a mobile device having an identifier on the white list of the BBFM component 300 can collaborate to identify the portions of a frequency range for best use within the service area of the FAPD 200. For example, the frequency sub-band selection component 304 can trigger sub-band channel quality indicator (CQI) reporting to obtain channel information for evaluation of the frequency sub-bands.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein identifying the layer rank identifier further comprises: identifying the layer rank identifier, as taught by Brisebois in the combined system of Yoon, Mallick, Tao, and Chen, in order to reduce interference between cells (Brisebois: Paragraph [0016], [0017], [0020])
The combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen does not explicitly teach indicating the layer to which a sector is mapped, based on the at least one UE being latched to the sector.
However, JI teaches indicating the layer to which a sector is mapped, based on the at least one UE being latched to the sector (Paragraph [0082]: ….each sector (or a scheduler in the system) selects users for data transmission, determines the signal quality metrics and/or priority for the selected users, ranks these users, and allocates subbands or assigns traffic channels to the selected users. Each sector then provides each user with its assigned traffic channel, e.g., via over-the-air signaling. The transmitting and receiving entities for each user then performs the appropriate processing to transmit and receive data on the subbands indicated by the assigned traffic channel. Paragraph [0009]: These techniques are called “layered reuse” techniques and can efficiently utilize the available system resources (e.g., the overall system bandwidth). Paragraph [0066]: Each sector is assigned the appropriate subband sets and thereafter uses these subband sets as described above. This embodiment simplifies implementation for layered reuse since each sector can act autonomously, and no signaling between neighboring sectors is required. In a second embodiment, the subband sets may be dynamically defined based on sector loading and possibly other factors. Paragraph [0067]: In a second layered reuse scheme, each sector is assigned multiple (L) sets of subbands and allocates subbands in these sets to users in the sector based on the sector loading.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide indicating the layer to which a sector is mapped, based on the at least one UE being latched to the sector, as taught by JI in the combined system of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen, in order to provide system resources available for data transmission by assigning frequency subbands to sectors so that inter-cell interference can be mitigated. (JI: Abstract, Paragraph [0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025 with respect to claims 1-11, 13-18, and 20-22 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that Yoon et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0377788) fails to teach or suggest "wherein the type of mode is selected from a list of mode types including an active mode and an idle mode," as recited in amended claims 1, 9, and 17. Applicant further submits that Mallick et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0121583) fails to teach or suggest "wherein the signal includes a configuration radio resource control (RRC) release message that includes at least one dedicated priority to be utilized after sessions currently being utilized by the at least one UE end in response to the type of mode being an idle mode," as recited in amended claims 9 and 17. However, Tao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0216681) teaches "wherein the type of mode is selected from a list of mode types including an active mode and an idle mode," and Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0303884) teaches "wherein the signal includes a configuration radio resource control (RRC) release message that includes at least one dedicated priority to be utilized after sessions currently being utilized by the at least one UE end in response to the type of mode being an idle mode." Further He et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0361059) teaches wherein the signal includes a handover radio resource control (RRC) reconfiquration message in response to the type of mode being an active mode.
New claim 23 is taught by the combination of Yoon, Brisebois et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0153497), Pettersson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0296625), JI et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0096061), Rezaiifar et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0285159), Tao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0216681), He et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0361059), and Chevallier et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0334743).
New claim 24 is taught by the combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Pettersson, JI, Rezaiifar, Tao, He, and Hongchuan et al. (CN107241735B).
Amended independent claim 1 is taught by the combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Pettersson, Ji, Rzaiifar, Tao and He; amended independent claims 9 and 17 are taught by the combination of Yoon, Brisebois, Mallick, Tao, and Chen. Dependent claims 2-8, 10-11, 13-16, 18, and 20 are taught by the combination of the cited references.
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461