DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 7, and 13 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Prior art of record Wang (US 2022/0272726), hereinafter Wang, teaches the newly added claimed features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 13, 22-23, 28-29, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2020/0029318), hereinafter Guo in further view of Wang (US 2022/0272726), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 1, Guo teaches: A method for determining an uplink resource, performed by a terminal device, the method comprising: determining, by the terminal device, a target uplink channel associated with target sidelink channel resources, wherein the target sidelink channel resources correspond to a same resource pool: “a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system is provided. The method comprises receiving, from a base station (BS), configuration information including resource allocation information for a sidelink and an uplink (UL) channel, wherein the sidelink is established between the UE and another UE; receiving, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) including sidelink resource allocation information; identifying resources for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) response of the sidelink based on the configuration information and the sidelink resource allocation information” (Guo ¶ 0017), wherein the same resource pool is one of multiple resource pools configured for the terminal device: “The interface of sidelink is called PC5 in the specification of 3GPP. For the transmission on a sidelink, one or more resource pool(s) can be configured or preconfigured and each resource pool configuration defines the time and frequency resources where one UE can select one or more resource units for transmission on sidelink” (Guo ¶ 0128); determining, by the terminal device, Sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (SL HARQ) feedback information mapped to the target uplink channel, based on the target sidelink channel resources associated with the target uplink channel: “At step 1 of 3921, the serving gNB 3901 can send a DCI 3911 in one downlink slot to schedule sidelink resource 3912 for the transmitter UE 3902. The DCI 3911 can also allocate one uplink channel 3914 (e.g., one PUCCH resource) for the UE to report ACK/NACK information of allocated sidelink transmission. Then the transmitter UE 3902 can send transmission on the allocated sidelink resource 3912 at step 2 of 3922 to the receiver UE 3903. After receiving the packet from the transmitter UE in resource 3912, the receiver UE 3903 can send the NACK/ACK feedback for the transmission in resource 3912 in one sidelink feedback resource 3913 at step 3 of 3924. An association between resource 3912 and feedback resource 3913 can be (pre)configured so that the UE can find the proper feedback resource 3913 based on the location of resource 3912 for sidelink transmission” (Guo ¶ 0346-0347), wherein the target sidelink channel resources comprise at least one of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) resource, a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource, or a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) resource: “FIG. 8 illustrates a sidelink resource pool design with control channel (PSCCH), data channel (PSSCH) and feedback channel (PSFCH) according to this disclosure” (Guo ¶ 0132); and transmitting, by the terminal device, the SL HARQ feedback information on the target uplink channel it is mapped to: “the transmitter UE can forward the ACK/NACK for transmission on resource 3912 to the gNB through the uplink channel 3914 at step 4 ” (Guo ¶ 0347).
Guo Fig. 8
Guo does not teach: the SL HARQ feedback information determined respectively for the target sidelink channel resources corresponding to the same resource pool is transmitted collectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches: the SL HARQ feedback information determined respectively for the target sidelink channel resources corresponding to the same resource pool is transmitted collectively: “the transmitting device 120 may determine a set of SL slots for the SL transmission, and determine, as the codebook, one or more bits indicating the HARQ feedback for each of the SL slots sequentially” (Wang ¶ 0044) and “the transmitting device 120 transmits, in an uplink channel, the codebook for the SL HARQ feedback to the network device 110 . . . In some embodiments, the transmitting device 120 may separately transmit the codebook for the HARQ feedback (referred to be as SL HARQ feedback below) associated with the SL transmission in the uplink channel” (Wang ¶ 0122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo with Wang for the purpose of facilitating resource allocation for reporting HARQ feedback. According to Wang: “embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution for reporting a HARQ feedback associated with a sidelink transmission, so as to solve the above problems and one or more of other potential problems. The solution can achieve the reporting of the HARQ feedback by scheduling the sidelink transmission and thus facilitate a resource allocation for a HARQ based retransmission in the sidelink” (Wang ¶ 0028).
Regarding Claim 7, Guo teaches: A terminal device, comprising: a memory, a processor; and a computer program that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform a method for: “the UE 116 includes an antenna 305, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, TX processing circuitry 315, a microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, a touchscreen 350, a display 355, and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362” (Guo ¶ 0088) determining a target uplink channel associated with target sidelink channel resources, wherein the target sidelink channel resources correspond to a same resource pool: “a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system is provided. The BS comprises a transceiver configured to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information including resource allocation information for a sidelink and an uplink (UL) channel . . . and receive, from the UE, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) response of the sidelink via physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources, wherein the resources for the HARQ response of the sidelink are identified based on the configuration information and the sidelink resource allocation information” (Guo ¶ 0016), wherein the same resource pool is one of multiple resource pools configured for the terminal device: “The interface of sidelink is called PC5 in the specification of 3GPP. For the transmission on a sidelink, one or more resource pool(s) can be configured or preconfigured and each resource pool configuration defines the time and frequency resources where one UE can select one or more resource units for transmission on sidelink” (Guo ¶ 0128); determining Sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (SL HARQ) feedback information mapped to the target uplink channel, based on the target sidelink channel resources associated with the target uplink channel: “At step 1 of 3921, the serving gNB 3901 can send a DCI 3911 in one downlink slot to schedule sidelink resource 3912 for the transmitter UE 3902. The DCI 3911 can also allocate one uplink channel 3914 (e.g., one PUCCH resource) for the UE to report ACK/NACK information of allocated sidelink transmission. Then the transmitter UE 3902 can send transmission on the allocated sidelink resource 3912 at step 2 of 3922 to the receiver UE 3903. After receiving the packet from the transmitter UE in resource 3912, the receiver UE 3903 can send the NACK/ACK feedback for the transmission in resource 3912 in one sidelink feedback resource 3913 at step 3 of 3924. An association between resource 3912 and feedback resource 3913 can be (pre)configured so that the UE can find the proper feedback resource 3913 based on the location of resource 3912 for sidelink transmission” (Guo ¶ 0346-0347), wherein the target sidelink channel resources comprise at least one of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) resource, a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource, or a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) resource: “FIG. 8 illustrates a sidelink resource pool design with control channel (PSCCH), data channel (PSSCH) and feedback channel (PSFCH) according to this disclosure” (Guo ¶ 0132); and transmitting the SL HARQ feedback information on the target uplink channel it is mapped to: “the transmitter UE can forward the ACK/NACK for transmission on resource 3912 to the gNB through the uplink channel 3914 at step 4 ” (Guo ¶ 0347).
Guo does not teach: the SL HARQ feedback information determined respectively for the target sidelink channel resources corresponding to the same resource pool is transmitted collectively.
Regarding Claim 7, Wang teaches: the SL HARQ feedback information determined respectively for the target sidelink channel resources corresponding to the same resource pool is transmitted collectively: “the transmitting device 120 may determine a set of SL slots for the SL transmission, and determine, as the codebook, one or more bits indicating the HARQ feedback for each of the SL slots sequentially” (Wang ¶ 0044) and “the transmitting device 120 transmits, in an uplink channel, the codebook for the SL HARQ feedback to the network device 110 . . . In some embodiments, the transmitting device 120 may separately transmit the codebook for the HARQ feedback (referred to be as SL HARQ feedback below) associated with the SL transmission in the uplink channel” (Wang ¶ 0122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo with Wang for the purpose of facilitating resource allocation for reporting HARQ feedback. According to Wang: “embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution for reporting a HARQ feedback associated with a sidelink transmission, so as to solve the above problems and one or more of other potential problems. The solution can achieve the reporting of the HARQ feedback by scheduling the sidelink transmission and thus facilitate a resource allocation for a HARQ based retransmission in the sidelink” (Wang ¶ 0028).
Regarding Claim 13, Guo teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program: “the UE 116 includes an antenna 305, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, TX processing circuitry 315, a microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, a touchscreen 350, a display 355, and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362” (Guo ¶ 0088), when the computer program executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform a method for determining a target uplink channel associated with target sidelink channel resources, wherein the target sidelink channel resources correspond to a same resource pool: “a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system is provided. The BS comprises a transceiver configured to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information including resource allocation information for a sidelink and an uplink (UL) channel . . . and receive, from the UE, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) response of the sidelink via physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources, wherein the resources for the HARQ response of the sidelink are identified based on the configuration information and the sidelink resource allocation information” (Guo ¶ 0016), wherein the same resource pool is one of multiple resource pools configured for the terminal device: “The interface of sidelink is called PC5 in the specification of 3GPP. For the transmission on a sidelink, one or more resource pool(s) can be configured or preconfigured and each resource pool configuration defines the time and frequency resources where one UE can select one or more resource units for transmission on sidelink” (Guo ¶ 0128); determining Sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (SL HARQ) feedback information mapped to the target uplink channel, based on the target sidelink channel resources associated with the target uplink channel: “At step 1 of 3921, the serving gNB 3901 can send a DCI 3911 in one downlink slot to schedule sidelink resource 3912 for the transmitter UE 3902. The DCI 3911 can also allocate one uplink channel 3914 (e.g., one PUCCH resource) for the UE to report ACK/NACK information of allocated sidelink transmission. Then the transmitter UE 3902 can send transmission on the allocated sidelink resource 3912 at step 2 of 3922 to the receiver UE 3903. After receiving the packet from the transmitter UE in resource 3912, the receiver UE 3903 can send the NACK/ACK feedback for the transmission in resource 3912 in one sidelink feedback resource 3913 at step 3 of 3924. An association between resource 3912 and feedback resource 3913 can be (pre)configured so that the UE can find the proper feedback resource 3913 based on the location of resource 3912 for sidelink transmission” (Guo ¶ 0346-0347), wherein the target sidelink channel resources comprise at least one of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) resource, a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource, or a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) resource: “FIG. 8 illustrates a sidelink resource pool design with control channel (PSCCH), data channel (PSSCH) and feedback channel (PSFCH) according to this disclosure” (Guo ¶ 0132); and transmitting the SL HARQ feedback information on the target uplink channel it is mapped to: “the transmitter UE can forward the ACK/NACK for transmission on resource 3912 to the gNB through the uplink channel 3914 at step 4 ” (Guo ¶ 0347).
Guo does not teach: the SL HARQ feedback information determined respectively for the target sidelink channel resources corresponding to the same resource pool is transmitted collectively.
Regarding Claim 13, Wang teaches: the SL HARQ feedback information determined respectively for the target sidelink channel resources corresponding to the same resource pool is transmitted collectively: “the transmitting device 120 may determine a set of SL slots for the SL transmission, and determine, as the codebook, one or more bits indicating the HARQ feedback for each of the SL slots sequentially” (Wang ¶ 0044) and “the transmitting device 120 transmits, in an uplink channel, the codebook for the SL HARQ feedback to the network device 110 . . . In some embodiments, the transmitting device 120 may separately transmit the codebook for the HARQ feedback (referred to be as SL HARQ feedback below) associated with the SL transmission in the uplink channel” (Wang ¶ 0122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo with Wang for the purpose of facilitating resource allocation for reporting HARQ feedback. According to Wang: “embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution for reporting a HARQ feedback associated with a sidelink transmission, so as to solve the above problems and one or more of other potential problems. The solution can achieve the reporting of the HARQ feedback by scheduling the sidelink transmission and thus facilitate a resource allocation for a HARQ based retransmission in the sidelink” (Wang ¶ 0028).
Regarding Claim 19, Guo teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the SL HARQ feedback information includes Acknowledgement (ACK) information or Negative Acknowledgement (NACK) information: “the UE may select some sidelink resources and transmit his packet when needed. In one SL-BWP configured for a sidelink receive operation, the UE may expect monitor the control information, decode indicated PSSCH, monitor and measured configured reference signals and transmit feedback information (for example HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback for PSSCH)” (Guo ¶ 0183).
Regarding Claim 22, Guo teaches: The method according to claim 1.
Guo does not teach: the SL HARQ feedback information is transmitted in a form of an SL codebook on the target uplink channel, the SL HARQ feedback information corresponding to multiple pieces of data is fed back on a same resource.
Regarding Claim 22, Wang teaches: the SL HARQ feedback information is transmitted in a form of an SL codebook on the target uplink channel: “the transmitting device 120 transmits, in an uplink channel, the codebook for the SL HARQ feedback to the network device 110 . . . In some embodiments, the transmitting device 120 may separately transmit the codebook for the HARQ feedback (referred to be as SL HARQ feedback below) associated with the SL transmission in the uplink channel” (Wang ¶ 0122), the SL HARQ feedback information corresponding to multiple pieces of data is fed back on a same resource: “the transmitting device 120 may determine a set of SL slots for the SL transmission, and determine, as the codebook, one or more bits indicating the HARQ feedback for each of the SL slots sequentially” (Wang ¶ 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo with Wang for the purpose of facilitating resource allocation for reporting HARQ feedback. According to Wang: “embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution for reporting a HARQ feedback associated with a sidelink transmission, so as to solve the above problems and one or more of other potential problems. The solution can achieve the reporting of the HARQ feedback by scheduling the sidelink transmission and thus facilitate a resource allocation for a HARQ based retransmission in the sidelink” (Wang ¶ 0028).
Regarding Claim 23, Guo teaches: The method according to claim 22.
Guo does not teach: the SL codebook comprises a bitmap or a matrix.
Regarding Claim 23, Wang teaches: the SL codebook comprises a bitmap or a matrix: “the transmitting device 120 may determine, as the codebook, one or more bits corresponding to the HARQ feedback contained in each of the PSFCH sequentially, based on the number of the PSFCH slots, the periodicity of PSFCH in terms of slot, the configured maximum number of physical channels that can be transmitted in each SL slot, and the configured maximum number of TBs that can be transmitted in each physical channel” (Wang ¶ 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo with Wang for the purpose of facilitating resource allocation for reporting HARQ feedback. According to Wang: “embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution for reporting a HARQ feedback associated with a sidelink transmission, so as to solve the above problems and one or more of other potential problems. The solution can achieve the reporting of the HARQ feedback by scheduling the sidelink transmission and thus facilitate a resource allocation for a HARQ based retransmission in the sidelink” (Wang ¶ 0028).
Regarding Claim 25, Guo teaches: The terminal device according to claim 7, wherein the SL HARQ feedback information includes Acknowledgement (ACK) information or Negative Acknowledgement (NACK) information: “the UE may select some sidelink resources and transmit his packet when needed. In one SL-BWP configured for a sidelink receive operation, the UE may expect monitor the control information, decode indicated PSSCH, monitor and measured configured reference signals and transmit feedback information (for example HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback for PSSCH)” (Guo ¶ 0183).
Regarding Claim 28, Guo teaches: The terminal device according to claim 7.
Guo does not teach: the SL HARQ feedback information is transmitted in a form of an SL codebook on the target uplink channel, the SL HARQ feedback information corresponding to multiple pieces of data is fed back on a same resource.
Regarding Claim 28, Wang teaches: the SL HARQ feedback information is transmitted in a form of an SL codebook on the target uplink channel: “the transmitting device 120 transmits, in an uplink channel, the codebook for the SL HARQ feedback to the network device 110 . . . In some embodiments, the transmitting device 120 may separately transmit the codebook for the HARQ feedback (referred to be as SL HARQ feedback below) associated with the SL transmission in the uplink channel” (Wang ¶ 0122), the SL HARQ feedback information corresponding to multiple pieces of data is fed back on a same resource: “the transmitting device 120 may determine a set of SL slots for the SL transmission, and determine, as the codebook, one or more bits indicating the HARQ feedback for each of the SL slots sequentially” (Wang ¶ 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo with Wang for the purpose of facilitating resource allocation for reporting HARQ feedback. According to Wang: “embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution for reporting a HARQ feedback associated with a sidelink transmission, so as to solve the above problems and one or more of other potential problems. The solution can achieve the reporting of the HARQ feedback by scheduling the sidelink transmission and thus facilitate a resource allocation for a HARQ based retransmission in the sidelink” (Wang ¶ 0028).
Regarding Claim 29, Guo teaches: The terminal device according to claim 22.
Guo does not teach: the SL codebook comprises a bitmap or a matrix.
Regarding Claim 29, Wang teaches: the SL codebook comprises a bitmap or a matrix: “the transmitting device 120 may determine, as the codebook, one or more bits corresponding to the HARQ feedback contained in each of the PSFCH sequentially, based on the number of the PSFCH slots, the periodicity of PSFCH in terms of slot, the configured maximum number of physical channels that can be transmitted in each SL slot, and the configured maximum number of TBs that can be transmitted in each physical channel” (Wang ¶ 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo with Wang for the purpose of facilitating resource allocation for reporting HARQ feedback. According to Wang: “embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution for reporting a HARQ feedback associated with a sidelink transmission, so as to solve the above problems and one or more of other potential problems. The solution can achieve the reporting of the HARQ feedback by scheduling the sidelink transmission and thus facilitate a resource allocation for a HARQ based retransmission in the sidelink” (Wang ¶ 0028).
Regarding Claim 31, Guo teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the SL HARQ feedback information includes Acknowledgement (ACK) information or Negative Acknowledgement (NACK) information: “the UE may select some sidelink resources and transmit his packet when needed. In one SL-BWP configured for a sidelink receive operation, the UE may expect monitor the control information, decode indicated PSSCH, monitor and measured configured reference signals and transmit feedback information (for example HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback for PSSCH)” (Guo ¶ 0183).
Regarding Claim 34, Guo teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13.
Guo does not teach: the SL HARQ feedback information is transmitted in a form of an SL codebook on the target uplink channel, the SL HARQ feedback information corresponding to multiple pieces of data is fed back on a same resource.
Regarding Claim 34, Wang teaches: the SL HARQ feedback information is transmitted in a form of an SL codebook on the target uplink channel: “the transmitting device 120 transmits, in an uplink channel, the codebook for the SL HARQ feedback to the network device 110 . . . In some embodiments, the transmitting device 120 may separately transmit the codebook for the HARQ feedback (referred to be as SL HARQ feedback below) associated with the SL transmission in the uplink channel” (Wang ¶ 0122), the SL HARQ feedback information corresponding to multiple pieces of data is fed back on a same resource: “the transmitting device 120 may determine a set of SL slots for the SL transmission, and determine, as the codebook, one or more bits indicating the HARQ feedback for each of the SL slots sequentially” (Wang ¶ 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo with Wang for the purpose of facilitating resource allocation for reporting HARQ feedback. According to Wang: “embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution for reporting a HARQ feedback associated with a sidelink transmission, so as to solve the above problems and one or more of other potential problems. The solution can achieve the reporting of the HARQ feedback by scheduling the sidelink transmission and thus facilitate a resource allocation for a HARQ based retransmission in the sidelink” (Wang ¶ 0028).
Regarding Claim 34, Guo teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13.
Guo does not teach: the SL codebook comprises a bitmap or a matrix.
Regarding Claim 34, Wang teaches: the SL codebook comprises a bitmap or a matrix: “the transmitting device 120 may determine, as the codebook, one or more bits corresponding to the HARQ feedback contained in each of the PSFCH sequentially, based on the number of the PSFCH slots, the periodicity of PSFCH in terms of slot, the configured maximum number of physical channels that can be transmitted in each SL slot, and the configured maximum number of TBs that can be transmitted in each physical channel” (Wang ¶ 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo with Wang for the purpose of facilitating resource allocation for reporting HARQ feedback. According to Wang: “embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution for reporting a HARQ feedback associated with a sidelink transmission, so as to solve the above problems and one or more of other potential problems. The solution can achieve the reporting of the HARQ feedback by scheduling the sidelink transmission and thus facilitate a resource allocation for a HARQ based retransmission in the sidelink” (Wang ¶ 0028).
Claims 20-21, 26-27, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo and Wang as applied to claims 1, 7, and 13 above, and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2018/0287745), hereinafter Sun.
Regarding Claim 20, Guo and Wang teaches: The method according to claim 19.
Guo and Wang does not teach: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "1," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "0."
Regarding Claim 20, Sun teaches: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "1," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "0": “The determination component 1106 may be configured to determine whether the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK. For example, the received ACK/NACK feedback may be a single bit feedback and based on the value of the single bit (e.g., 1 or 0) the determination component 1106 may determine if the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK” (Sun ¶ 0094) where Sun teaches either 0 or 1 could represent an ACK or a NACK, and simply reversing the value of the bit for either would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo and Wang with Sun for the purpose of reducing feedback messages being sent by the UE and improving spectral efficiency of the communication system. According to Sun: “Various features and techniques disclosed herein support low latency operations and the efficient use of air link resources, e.g., with support of dynamic resource sharing between URLLC and eMBB type communications” (Sun ¶ 0036).
Regarding Claim 21, Guo and Wang teaches: The method according to claim 19.
Guo and Wang does not teach: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "0," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "1."
Regarding Claim 21, Sun teaches: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "0," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "1": “The determination component 1106 may be configured to determine whether the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK. For example, the received ACK/NACK feedback may be a single bit feedback and based on the value of the single bit (e.g., 1 or 0) the determination component 1106 may determine if the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK” (Sun ¶ 0094) where Sun teaches either 0 or 1 could represent an ACK or a NACK, and simply reversing the value of the bit for either would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo and Wang with Sun for the purpose of reducing feedback messages being sent by the UE and improving spectral efficiency of the communication system. According to Sun: “Various features and techniques disclosed herein support low latency operations and the efficient use of air link resources, e.g., with support of dynamic resource sharing between URLLC and eMBB type communications” (Sun ¶ 0036).
Regarding Claim 26, Guo and Wang teaches: The terminal device according to claim 7.
Guo and Wang does not teach: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "1," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "0."
Regarding Claim 26, Sun teaches: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "1," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "0": “The determination component 1106 may be configured to determine whether the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK. For example, the received ACK/NACK feedback may be a single bit feedback and based on the value of the single bit (e.g., 1 or 0) the determination component 1106 may determine if the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK” (Sun ¶ 0094) where Sun teaches either 0 or 1 could represent an ACK or a NACK, and simply reversing the value of the bit for either would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo and Wang with Sun for the purpose of reducing feedback messages being sent by the UE and improving spectral efficiency of the communication system. According to Sun: “Various features and techniques disclosed herein support low latency operations and the efficient use of air link resources, e.g., with support of dynamic resource sharing between URLLC and eMBB type communications” (Sun ¶ 0036).
Regarding Claim 27, Guo and Wang teaches: The terminal device according to claim 25.
Guo and Wang does not teach: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "0," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "1."
Regarding Claim 27, Sun teaches: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "0," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "1": “The determination component 1106 may be configured to determine whether the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK. For example, the received ACK/NACK feedback may be a single bit feedback and based on the value of the single bit (e.g., 1 or 0) the determination component 1106 may determine if the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK” (Sun ¶ 0094) where Sun teaches either 0 or 1 could represent an ACK or a NACK, and simply reversing the value of the bit for either would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo and Wang with Sun for the purpose of reducing feedback messages being sent by the UE and improving spectral efficiency of the communication system. According to Sun: “Various features and techniques disclosed herein support low latency operations and the efficient use of air link resources, e.g., with support of dynamic resource sharing between URLLC and eMBB type communications” (Sun ¶ 0036).
Regarding Claim 31, Guo and Wang teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium device according to claim 13.
Guo and Wang does not teach: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "1," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "0."
Regarding Claim 31, Sun teaches: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "1," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "0": “The determination component 1106 may be configured to determine whether the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK. For example, the received ACK/NACK feedback may be a single bit feedback and based on the value of the single bit (e.g., 1 or 0) the determination component 1106 may determine if the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK” (Sun ¶ 0094) where Sun teaches either 0 or 1 could represent an ACK or a NACK, and simply reversing the value of the bit for either would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo and Wang with Sun for the purpose of reducing feedback messages being sent by the UE and improving spectral efficiency of the communication system. According to Sun: “Various features and techniques disclosed herein support low latency operations and the efficient use of air link resources, e.g., with support of dynamic resource sharing between URLLC and eMBB type communications” (Sun ¶ 0036).
Regarding Claim 32, Guo and Wang teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium device according to claim 13.
Guo and Wang does not teach: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "0," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "1."
Regarding Claim 32, Sun teaches: a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the ACK information set to "0," and a value of a feedback bit corresponding to the NACK information set to "1": “The determination component 1106 may be configured to determine whether the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK. For example, the received ACK/NACK feedback may be a single bit feedback and based on the value of the single bit (e.g., 1 or 0) the determination component 1106 may determine if the received ACK/NACK feedback is an ACK or a NACK” (Sun ¶ 0094) where Sun teaches either 0 or 1 could represent an ACK or a NACK, and simply reversing the value of the bit for either would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo and Wang with Sun for the purpose of reducing feedback messages being sent by the UE and improving spectral efficiency of the communication system. According to Sun: “Various features and techniques disclosed herein support low latency operations and the efficient use of air link resources, e.g., with support of dynamic resource sharing between URLLC and eMBB type communications” (Sun ¶ 0036).
Claims 24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo and Wang as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Si et al. (US 2022/0330287), hereinafter Si.
Regarding Claim 24, Guo and Wang teaches: The method according to claim 1.
Guo and Wang does not teach: the SL HARQ feedback information is transmitted on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) is indicated by a 1-bit Downlink Assignment Indicator (DAI) in Downlink Control Information (DCI).
Regarding Claim 24, Si teaches: the SL HARQ feedback information is transmitted on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) is indicated by a 1-bit Downlink Assignment Indicator (DAI) in Downlink Control Information (DCI): “UE is configured to use a semi-static codebook, when the UE multiplexes the HARQ-ACK on a PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_1, the DCI contains a 1-bit DAI field for indicating whether HARQ-ACK is transmitted on the scheduled PUSCH” (Si ¶ 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo and Wang with Si for the purpose of allowing for the necessary step of determining the codebook HARQ-ACK in relation to the PUSCH. According to Si: “When the hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) is multiplexed on the PUSCH, it is necessary to determine the corresponding HARQ-ACK codebook in conjunction with the downlink assignment index (DAI) indication field in the downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the PUSCH” (Si ¶ 0003).
Regarding Claim 30, Guo and Wang teaches: The terminal device according to claim 7.
Guo and Wang does not teach: the SL HARQ feedback information is transmitted on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) is indicated by a 1-bit Downlink Assignment Indicator (DAI) in Downlink Control Information (DCI).
Regarding Claim 30, Si teaches: the SL HARQ feedback information is transmitted on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) is indicated by a 1-bit Downlink Assignment Indicator (DAI) in Downlink Control Information (DCI): “UE is configured to use a semi-static codebook, when the UE multiplexes the HARQ-ACK on a PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_1, the DCI contains a 1-bit DAI field for indicating whether HARQ-ACK is transmitted on the scheduled PUSCH” (Si ¶ 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Guo and Wang with Si for the purpose of allowing for the necessary step of determining the codebook HARQ-ACK in relation to the PUSCH. According to Si: “When the hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) is multiplexed on the PUSCH, it is necessary to determine the corresponding HARQ-ACK codebook in conjunction with the downlink assignment index (DAI) indication field in the downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the PUSCH” (Si ¶ 0003).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473