DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hidetaka (WO 2023/1952554, see attached English translation. NOTE: PCT application with the prior filing date of April 8, 2022).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 10, Hidetaka discloses a treatment device (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a plasma generating device 100, which includes
(i) a dielectric layer 140 having a thickness of 0.05 mm (i.e., a dielectric layer …, Figures 3 & 4, Embodiment 1 & Compatible with Embodiment 1);
(ii) a first electrodes 110 on one surface of the dielectric 140 and a second electrode 120 on the opposing surface of the dielectric layer 140, wherein the electrodes are separated in the longitudinal direction of the dielectric layer 140 and the second electrode 120 is covered with an insulating material 140A (i.e., a first electrode …, a second electrode …, an insulator …, Figures 3 & 4, Embodiment 1); and
(iii) a power source 100B supplying voltage to the electrodes 110 and 120 for generating atmospheric pressure low-temperature plasma in the areas adjacent to the electrodes (i.e., a power supply …, Figures 3 & 4, Embodiment 1);
(2) a cabinet 60 for enclosing the plasma generating device 100, wherein the cabinet 60 includes an inlet and an outlet 62 (i.e., a housing …, Figure 1, Overview of air conditioner); and
(3) a fan 10 for drawing gas through the plasma generating device 100 to the outlet 62 (i.e., a fan …, Figure 1, Overview of air conditioner).
It has been held that the disclosure in the prior art of any value within the claimed range is an anticipation of that range. And a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed range overlaps range disclosed by the prior art. In re Wertheim 191 USPQ 90.
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Hidetaka teaches that the power source 100B supplies voltage to the electrodes 110 and 120 for generating atmospheric pressure low-temperature plasma (Figures 1 & 3, Embodiment 1).
It should be noted that the limitation of “so as to change a flow of the fluid …” is a result of operating the device. It has been held that a manner of operating a device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Since the device of Hidetaka comprises substantially the same structures as claimed, it is fully capable of performing the claimed functions.
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Hidetaka teaches that the dielectric layer 140 has a thickness of 0.05 mm (Figures 3 & 4, compatible with Embodiment 1).
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Hidetaka teaches that the dielectric layer 140 has a thickness of 0.05 mm (Figures 3 & 4, compatible with Embodiment 1).
Regarding claim 9. Hidetaka teaches that a groove 112 is formed on the first electrode 110 (Figure 4, Modification of Embodiment 1).
Regarding claim 11, Hidetaka teaches that at least one heat exchanger 30 A/B is provided (Figure 1, Overview of air conditioner).
Regarding claim 12, Hidetaka teaches that a UV lamp 200 and an ultrasonic oscillator are provided adjacent to the plasma generating device 100 (Figure 1, Configuration for air purification installed in air conditioner).
Regarding claim 13, Hidetaka teaches that an ozone filter 400 is provided near the outlet 62 (Figure 1, Configuration for air purification installed in air conditioner).
Conclusion
Claims 1-13 are rejected.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795