DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. According to the Amendment, filed 28 May 2026, the status of the claims is as follows:
Claims 1, 2, and 9-27 are as originally filed; and
Claims 3-8 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
3. Claims 3-8 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 28 May 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species IV, claims 9-21 and 23-25, in the reply filed on 28 May 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
According to the specification and drawings (particularly, the functional block configuration diagram in Fig. 5), the pre-processing part (61), the component analysis part (62), the post-processing part (64), and the feature amount extraction part (65) are not mutually exclusive alternatives, but rather a "sequential signal processing pipeline" within a same biological information measuring device. This is a continuous data flow, and downstream feature amount extraction can even be highly dependent on upstream pre-processed or post- processed signals (such as the features of claim 10 and claim 12, which are dependent on claim 2).
These features are not mutually exclusive, and separating them is unreasonable and will increase the burden of examination. More importantly, among claims 9-21 and 23-25 corresponding to the elected Species IV, claims 10 and 12 are dependent on claim 2, which is classified as Species I by the Examiner. Moreover, feature extraction is highly dependent on the upstream preprocessed or post-processed signals. Therefore, excluding claim 2 from the scope of examination when Species IV is selected is unreasonable.
Furthermore, among claims 5 and 6 corresponding to Species II, claim 6 is also dependent on claim 2, which is classified as Species I by the Examiner. Therefore, excluding claim 2 from the scope of examination when Species II is selected is also unreasonable.
This is found persuasive. However, claim 11 is dependent on claim 7, which is withdrawn. Thus, claim 11 is considered withdrawn also.
Claims 9, 10, 12-21 and 23-25 are elected with claims 1, 2, 22, 26, and 27 being generic. Claims 3-8 and 11 are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a processing device” in claim 1;
“a component analysis” in claim 1;
“a biological information acquisition part” in claim 1;
“a pre-processing part” in claim 2;
“a feature amount extraction part” in claims 9, 10, and 12;
“a post-processing part” in claim 12;
“a determination condition storage part” in claim 13; and
“a frequency analysis part” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, and 12-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The following claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
“a processing device” in claim 1;
“a component analysis” in claim 1;
“a biological information acquisition part” in claim 1;
“a pre-processing part” in claim 2;
“a feature amount extraction part” in claims 9, 10, and 12;
“a post-processing part” in claim 12;
“a determination condition storage part” in claim 13; and
“a frequency analysis part” in claim 14.
However, the specification lacks any description as to the corresponding structure of these claim limitations, and/or equivalents thereof.
Claims 2, 9, 10, and 12-27 are rejected due to their dependencies, either directly or indirectly, to base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, and 12-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ray, U.S. Patent No. 2020/0359941 A1 (“Ray”).
As to Claim 1, Ray teaches the following:
A biological information measuring device (see “The present invention is in the field of medical devices and, more particularly, in the field of trans-abdominal fetal oximetry and trans-abdominal fetal pulse oximetry.” in para. [0002]), comprising:
a plurality of sensors (“multiple detectors”) 160 that acquire base signals comprising biological information (see “In some instances, fetal hemoglobin probe 115 may be a pulse oximetry device or pulse oximeter. Light source 105 may include a single, or multiple light sources and detector 160 may include a single, or multiple detectors.” in para. [0026]; and see “The light captured by detector 160 may be communicated to computer 150 for processing to convert the images to a measurement of fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation according to, for example, one or more of the processes described herein.” in para. [0033]) and noise information (see “In some embodiments, the first source of the first separated signal may be motion artifacts of the pregnant mammal, respiration of the pregnant mammal, photoplethysmogram variations of the pregnant mammal, uterine tone of the pregnant mammal, or noise.” in para. [0012]); and
a processing device (“computer”) 150 that acquires the biological information based on the base signals (see “Receiver 145 may communicate received, pre-processed, and/or processed signals to computer 150.” in para. [0041]), wherein the processing device 150 comprises (see “FIG. 3 provides a flowchart illustrating an exemplary process 300 for performing fetal oximetry and/or fetal pulse oximetry trans-abdominally and/or in-utero to determine fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level using independent component analysis. Process 300 may be performed by, for example, system 100 and/or a component thereof and/or a computer system like system 600 and/or a component thereof.” in para. [0065]):
a component analysis part (“step 310”) 310 that performs a predetermined component analysis (“separated signal”, not labeled) based on the base signals to generate a plurality of component signals configuring the base signals (see “In step 310, independent component analysis (ICA) may be executed to separate multiple signals that may be included within one or more of the detected electronic signals received in step 305. Each of the signals that are separated by the ICA from the plurality of detected electronic signals may be generated by a different source that may be associated with, for example, the pregnant mammal's body, her fetus, or noise. Exemplary sources of the signals that may be separated by ICA include, but are not limited to, maternal respiration, maternal photoplethysmogram variations, fetal photoplethysmogram variations, uterine tone changes, and motion artifacts. Often times, the ICA may be performed to generate a separated signal for maternal respiration, a separated signal for maternal photoplethysmogram variations, a separated signal for fetal photoplethysmogram variations, and a separated signal for noise. It will be appreciated that the ICA may generate separated signals from a variety of sources that may be different from/interchanged with those described above. In some instances, the ICA may generate separate signals proportionally to the number of detected electronic signals it received (i.e., three detected electronic signals yields three separated signals; four detected electronic signals yields four separated signals, etc.).” in para. [0068]); and
a biological information acquisition part (“step 315”) 315 that determines whether the component signal (“separated signal”, not labeled) is the biological information (“fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level”) (see “Next, a separated signal associated with light that was incident upon the fetus (often times a fetal photoplethysmogram signal) may be analyzed to determine a fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level (step 315). In some embodiments, the fetal signal may correspond to the fetal photoplethysmogram signal. In some embodiments, execution of step 315 may include determining a ratio of a first wavelength of light (e.g., red light) included in the fetal signal and a second wavelength of light included in the fetal signal (e.g., near-infrared (NIR) light) and this ratio may be used to determine the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level via known correlations between this ratio and the oxygen saturation of fetal hemoglobin via, for example, use of the Beer-Lambert Law and/or the Modified Beer-Lambert Law.” in para. [0070]).
As to Claim 2, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the processing device further comprises a pre-processing part (“receiver”) 145 that performs a predetermined pre-process on the base signals as a pre-process for the predetermined component analysis and generates a plurality of pre-processed signals (see “In some instances, receiver 145 may be configured to process or pre-process received signals to, for example, make the signals compatible with computer 150 (e.g., convert an optical signal to an electrical signal), improve SNR, amplify a received signal, etc. In some instances, receiver 145 may be resident within and/or a component of computer 150.” in para. [0040]), and
the component analysis part 310 generates the component signals based on the pre-processed signals (see “In some instances, receiver 145 may be configured to process or pre-process received signals to, for example, make the signals compatible with computer 150 (e.g., convert an optical signal to an electrical signal), improve SNR, amplify a received signal, etc. In some instances, receiver 145 may be resident within and/or a component of computer 150.” in para. [0040]).
As to Claims 9 and 10, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the processing device 150 further comprises a feature amount extraction part (“step”) 310 that extracts a feature amount related to the component signal based on at least one of the base signal and the component signal (see “In step 310, independent component analysis (ICA) may be executed to separate multiple signals that may be included within one or more of the detected electronic signals received in step 305. Each of the signals that are separated by the ICA from the plurality of detected electronic signals may be generated by a different source that may be associated with, for example, the pregnant mammal's body, her fetus, or noise. Exemplary sources of the signals that may be separated by ICA include, but are not limited to, maternal respiration, maternal photoplethysmogram variations, fetal photoplethysmogram variations, uterine tone changes, and motion artifacts. Often times, the ICA may be performed to generate a separated signal for maternal respiration, a separated signal for maternal photoplethysmogram variations, a separated signal for fetal photoplethysmogram variations, and a separated signal for noise. It will be appreciated that the ICA may generate separated signals from a variety of sources that may be different from/interchanged with those described above. In some instances, the ICA may generate separate signals proportionally to the number of detected electronic signals it received (i.e., three detected electronic signals yields three separated signals; four detected electronic signals yields four separated signals, etc.).” in para. [0068]), and
the biological information acquisition part 315 determines whether the component signal is the biological information based on the component signal and the feature amount (see “Next, a separated signal associated with light that was incident upon the fetus (often times a fetal photoplethysmogram signal) may be analyzed to determine a fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level (step 315). In some embodiments, the fetal signal may correspond to the fetal photoplethysmogram signal. In some embodiments, execution of step 315 may include determining a ratio of a first wavelength of light (e.g., red light) included in the fetal signal and a second wavelength of light included in the fetal signal (e.g., near-infrared (NIR) light) and this ratio may be used to determine the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level via known correlations between this ratio and the oxygen saturation of fetal hemoglobin via, for example, use of the Beer-Lambert Law and/or the Modified Beer-Lambert Law.” in para. [0070]).
As to Claim 12, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the processing device 150 further comprises:
a post-processing part (“step”) 440 that performs a predetermined post-process on the component signals as a post-process of the predetermined component analysis to generate a plurality of post-processed signals (see “Optionally, in some embodiments, one or more of the separated signals produced in step 425 may be analyzed (step 440) in order to, for example, monitor a source of the respective separated signal(s) under analysis and results of this analysis may be provided to the user via, for example, communication of the results to a display device (step 445). Execution of steps 440 and 445 may resemble execution of steps 325 and 330, respectively.” in para. [0086]); and
a feature amount extraction part (“step”) 425 that extracts a feature amount related to the component signal based on at least one of the pre-processed signal and the post processed signal (see “Execution of step 425 may be similar to execution of step 310 with the exception that the input signal may be different.” in para. [0083]; and see “In step 310, independent component analysis (ICA) may be executed to separate multiple signals that may be included within one or more of the detected electronic signals received in step 305. Each of the signals that are separated by the ICA from the plurality of detected electronic signals may be generated by a different source that may be associated with, for example, the pregnant mammal's body, her fetus, or noise. Exemplary sources of the signals that may be separated by ICA include, but are not limited to, maternal respiration, maternal photoplethysmogram variations, fetal photoplethysmogram variations, uterine tone changes, and motion artifacts. Often times, the ICA may be performed to generate a separated signal for maternal respiration, a separated signal for maternal photoplethysmogram variations, a separated signal for fetal photoplethysmogram variations, and a separated signal for noise. It will be appreciated that the ICA may generate separated signals from a variety of sources that may be different from/interchanged with those described above. In some instances, the ICA may generate separate signals proportionally to the number of detected electronic signals it received (i.e., three detected electronic signals yields three separated signals; four detected electronic signals yields four separated signals, etc.).” in para. [0068]), and
wherein the biological information acquisition part 430 determines whether the component signal is the biological information based on the component signal and the feature amount (see “Next, the separated signals may be analyzed to determine a separated signal that corresponds to light incident upon the fetus (which may be referred to herein as a “fetal signal”) and the fetal signal may be analyzed to determine a fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level (step 430). Often, execution of step 430 may resemble execution of step 315.” in para. [0084]; and see “Next, a separated signal associated with light that was incident upon the fetus (often times a fetal photoplethysmogram signal) may be analyzed to determine a fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level (step 315). In some embodiments, the fetal signal may correspond to the fetal photoplethysmogram signal. In some embodiments, execution of step 315 may include determining a ratio of a first wavelength of light (e.g., red light) included in the fetal signal and a second wavelength of light included in the fetal signal (e.g., near-infrared (NIR) light) and this ratio may be used to determine the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level via known correlations between this ratio and the oxygen saturation of fetal hemoglobin via, for example, use of the Beer-Lambert Law and/or the Modified Beer-Lambert Law.” in para. [0070]).
As to Claim 13, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the processing device 150 further comprises a determination condition storage part (“one or more wavelet filters”, not labeled) that stores a determination condition for determining whether the component signal is the biological information based on the component signal and the feature amount (see “In other embodiments, the filtering of one or more of the received detected electronic signal(s) of step 415 may employ using one or more wavelet filters to filter the signal. Wavelet filters use a “mother wavelet” as the shape of the filter and, in order to improve the quality (e.g., signal-to-noise ratio) of a received signal, different mother wavelets (e.g., standard mother wavelets) may be used to optimize the signal being filtered. Additionally, or alternatively, a mother wavelet may be tailored to filter out portions of a received signal that may not correspond to the fetal signal, or what the fetal signal may be expected to be. An exemplary tailored, or specific, wavelet filter/mother wavelet may be derived from, for example, prototypical fetal signals that may be derived from, for example, fetal heartbeat signals (as provided by for example, Doppler/ultrasound probe 135), an arterial pressure sensor, or a fetal pulse oximetry signal. In some instances, this tailored, or specific, mother wavelet may be generated in real time (or near real time) as it is being used to filter one or more of the received detected electronic signals.” in para. [0076]), and
the biological information acquisition part 315 determines whether the component signal is the biological information based on the component signal, the feature amount, and the determination condition (see “Next, a separated signal associated with light that was incident upon the fetus (often times a fetal photoplethysmogram signal) may be analyzed to determine a fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level (step 315). In some embodiments, the fetal signal may correspond to the fetal photoplethysmogram signal. In some embodiments, execution of step 315 may include determining a ratio of a first wavelength of light (e.g., red light) included in the fetal signal and a second wavelength of light included in the fetal signal (e.g., near-infrared (NIR) light) and this ratio may be used to determine the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level via known correlations between this ratio and the oxygen saturation of fetal hemoglobin via, for example, use of the Beer-Lambert Law and/or the Modified Beer-Lambert Law.” in para. [0070]).
As to Claim 14, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the processing device 315 further comprises a frequency analysis part that performs a frequency analysis on the component signals to generate a power spectrum, and acquires each main frequency of the component signal as a candidate for the biological information based on the power spectrum (see “Additionally, or alternatively, filtering and/or amplifying of one or more of the signals may include one or more of quantifying noise and other signal levels, evaluating fast Fourier transforms (FFTs), determining how harmonics and fetal signals overlap, removing motion artifacts (as may be caused by, for example, uterine contractions and/or maternal respiration), determining whether there is adequate optical signal amplitude, evaluating signals for sufficient signal amplitude, removal of portions of a signal that are below a quality (e.g., signal-to-noise ratio) threshold, and evaluating signals for sufficient signal capture length.” in para. [0078]), and
the biological information acquisition part 315 selects the biological information from a plurality of the main frequencies (see “Next, a separated signal associated with light that was incident upon the fetus (often times a fetal photoplethysmogram signal) may be analyzed to determine a fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level (step 315). In some embodiments, the fetal signal may correspond to the fetal photoplethysmogram signal. In some embodiments, execution of step 315 may include determining a ratio of a first wavelength of light (e.g., red light) included in the fetal signal and a second wavelength of light included in the fetal signal (e.g., near-infrared (NIR) light) and this ratio may be used to determine the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level via known correlations between this ratio and the oxygen saturation of fetal hemoglobin via, for example, use of the Beer-Lambert Law and/or the Modified Beer-Lambert Law.” in para. [0070]).
As to Claims 15 and 16, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the feature amount is at least one of a maximum value, a minimum value, an average value, a median value, a variance, a standard deviation, a kurtosis, and a skewness in a signal used for feature amount extraction (see “In some embodiments, step 320 may be performed by providing the user with a numerical value and/or graph showing the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level and/or changes to fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level. Additionally, or alternatively, the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level may be provided as a time weighted average taken over, for example, 30 seconds and/or 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and/or 30 minutes.” in para. [0070]).
As to Claim 17, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the feature amount is at least one of a correlation coefficient between the base signal and the component signal, and a correlation coefficient between an n-th-order differential of the base signal and the component signal, and the base signal and an n-th-order differential of the component signal, and an n-th-order differential of the base signal and an n-th-order differential of the component signal, where n is a natural number (see “Additionally, or alternatively, filtering and/or amplifying of one or more of the signals may include one or more of quantifying noise and other signal levels, evaluating fast Fourier transforms (FFTs), determining how harmonics and fetal signals overlap, removing motion artifacts (as may be caused by, for example, uterine contractions and/or maternal respiration), determining whether there is adequate optical signal amplitude, evaluating signals for sufficient signal amplitude, removal of portions of a signal that are below a quality (e.g., signal-to-noise ratio) threshold, and evaluating signals for sufficient signal capture length.” in para. [0078]).
As to Claim 18, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the feature amount is a component rank of the component signal in a principal component analysis or an independent component analysis (see “In step 310, independent component analysis (ICA) may be executed to separate multiple signals that may be included within one or more of the detected electronic signals received in step 305. Each of the signals that are separated by the ICA from the plurality of detected electronic signals may be generated by a different source that may be associated with, for example, the pregnant mammal's body, her fetus, or noise. Exemplary sources of the signals that may be separated by ICA include, but are not limited to, maternal respiration, maternal photoplethysmogram variations, fetal photoplethysmogram variations, uterine tone changes, and motion artifacts. Often times, the ICA may be performed to generate a separated signal for maternal respiration, a separated signal for maternal photoplethysmogram variations, a separated signal for fetal photoplethysmogram variations, and a separated signal for noise. It will be appreciated that the ICA may generate separated signals from a variety of sources that may be different from/interchanged with those described above. In some instances, the ICA may generate separate signals proportionally to the number of detected electronic signals it received (i.e., three detected electronic signals yields three separated signals; four detected electronic signals yields four separated signals, etc.).” in para. [0068]).
As to Claim 19, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the feature amount is a component frequency in a principal component analysis or an independent component analysis for each of the component signals (see “In step 310, independent component analysis (ICA) may be executed to separate multiple signals that may be included within one or more of the detected electronic signals received in step 305. Each of the signals that are separated by the ICA from the plurality of detected electronic signals may be generated by a different source that may be associated with, for example, the pregnant mammal's body, her fetus, or noise. Exemplary sources of the signals that may be separated by ICA include, but are not limited to, maternal respiration, maternal photoplethysmogram variations, fetal photoplethysmogram variations, uterine tone changes, and motion artifacts. Often times, the ICA may be performed to generate a separated signal for maternal respiration, a separated signal for maternal photoplethysmogram variations, a separated signal for fetal photoplethysmogram variations, and a separated signal for noise. It will be appreciated that the ICA may generate separated signals from a variety of sources that may be different from/interchanged with those described above. In some instances, the ICA may generate separate signals proportionally to the number of detected electronic signals it received (i.e., three detected electronic signals yields three separated signals; four detected electronic signals yields four separated signals, etc.).” in para. [0068]).
As to Claim 20, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the feature amount is a value obtained based on a signal strength of the main frequency in the power spectrum (see “Additionally, or alternatively, filtering and/or amplifying of one or more of the signals may include one or more of quantifying noise and other signal levels, evaluating fast Fourier transforms (FFTs), determining how harmonics and fetal signals overlap, removing motion artifacts (as may be caused by, for example, uterine contractions and/or maternal respiration), determining whether there is adequate optical signal amplitude, evaluating signals for sufficient signal amplitude, removal of portions of a signal that are below a quality (e.g., signal-to-noise ratio) threshold, and evaluating signals for sufficient signal capture length.” in para. [0078]).
As to Claim 21, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the feature amount extraction part performs a frequency analysis for at least one of the base signal, the component signal, an n-th-order differential of the base signal, and n-th-order differential of the component signal, where n is a natural number, to generate a power spectrum (see “Additionally, or alternatively, filtering and/or amplifying of one or more of the signals may include one or more of quantifying noise and other signal levels, evaluating fast Fourier transforms (FFTs), determining how harmonics and fetal signals overlap, removing motion artifacts (as may be caused by, for example, uterine contractions and/or maternal respiration), determining whether there is adequate optical signal amplitude, evaluating signals for sufficient signal amplitude, removal of portions of a signal that are below a quality (e.g., signal-to-noise ratio) threshold, and evaluating signals for sufficient signal capture length.” in para. [0078]), and
the feature amount is at least one of a maximum peak frequency of the power spectrum, and an average, a median value, a variance, a standard deviation, a kurtosis, and a skewness of a signal strength of the power spectrum (see “In some embodiments, step 320 may be performed by providing the user with a numerical value and/or graph showing the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level and/or changes to fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level. Additionally, or alternatively, the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level may be provided as a time weighted average taken over, for example, 30 seconds and/or 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and/or 30 minutes.” in para. [0070]).
As to Claim 22, Ray teaches the following:
wherein when there are a plurality of the component signals determined to be the biological information, the biological information acquisition part determines one piece of the biological information based on an arithmetic mean of a plurality pieces of the biological information determined to be the biological information (see “In some embodiments, step 320 may be performed by providing the user with a numerical value and/or graph showing the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level and/or changes to fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level. Additionally, or alternatively, the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level may be provided as a time weighted average taken over, for example, 30 seconds and/or 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and/or 30 minutes.” in para. [0070]).
As to Claim 23, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the determination condition storage part (“step”) 525 stores a determination model which defines the determination condition and which outputs a determination score that is a determination value of whether each of the component signals is the biological information (see “In some embodiments, execution of step 525 may include determining a ratio of a first wavelength of light (e.g., red light) included in the fetal signal and a second wavelength of light included in the fetal signal (e.g., near-infrared (NIR) light) and this ratio may be used to determine the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level via known correlations between this ratio and the oxygen saturation of fetal hemoglobin via, for example, use of the Beer-Lambert Law and/or the Modified Beer-Lambert Law. Provision of the determined fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level to a user (e.g., doctor or nurse) may then be facilitated via, for example, communication of the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level to a display device (e.g., display screen of a computer) like display device 155 (step 530).” in para. [0094]), and
the biological information acquisition part determines one piece of the biological information based on a weighted average in consideration of the determination score of each of the component signals spectrum (see “In some embodiments, step 320 may be performed by providing the user with a numerical value and/or graph showing the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level and/or changes to fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level. Additionally, or alternatively, the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level may be provided as a time weighted average taken over, for example, 30 seconds and/or 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and/or 30 minutes.” in para. [0070]).
As to Claim 24, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the weighted average is weighted by a value obtained by multiplying the determination score by a softmax function (see “In some embodiments, step 320 may be performed by providing the user with a numerical value and/or graph showing the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level and/or changes to fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level. Additionally, or alternatively, the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level may be provided as a time weighted average taken over, for example, 30 seconds and/or 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and/or 30 minutes.” in para. [0070]).
As to Claim 25, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the determination condition storage part (“step”) 525 stores a determination model which defines the determination condition and which outputs a determination score that is a determination value of whether each of the component signals is the biological information (see “In some embodiments, execution of step 525 may include determining a ratio of a first wavelength of light (e.g., red light) included in the fetal signal and a second wavelength of light included in the fetal signal (e.g., near-infrared (NIR) light) and this ratio may be used to determine the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level via known correlations between this ratio and the oxygen saturation of fetal hemoglobin via, for example, use of the Beer-Lambert Law and/or the Modified Beer-Lambert Law. Provision of the determined fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level to a user (e.g., doctor or nurse) may then be facilitated via, for example, communication of the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level to a display device (e.g., display screen of a computer) like display device 155 (step 530).” in para. [0094]), and
the biological information acquisition part determines the component signal whose determination score is maximum as one piece of the biological information (see “In some embodiments, execution of step 520 may include using blind source separation to separate out the signals contributed by the different sources. Additionally, or alternatively, execution of the ICA may be based on, or otherwise include, a maximum likelihood estimation (MLE).” in para. [0093]).
As to Claim 26, Ray teaches the following:
wherein when there are a plurality of the component signals determined to be the biological information, the biological information acquisition part determines one piece of the biological information based on a weighted average in consideration of a component rank of the component signal in a principal component analysis or an independent component analysis of the component signals (see “In some embodiments, step 320 may be performed by providing the user with a numerical value and/or graph showing the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level and/or changes to fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level. Additionally, or alternatively, the fetal hemoglobin oxygen saturation level may be provided as a time weighted average taken over, for example, 30 seconds and/or 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and/or 30 minutes.” in para. [0070])
As to Claim 27, Ray teaches the following:
wherein the sensor is any one of a capacitance sensor, a piezoelectric sensor, and a Doppler sensor (see “These probes/sensors are a NIRS adult hemoglobin probe 125, a pulse oximetry probe 130, a Doppler and/or ultrasound probe 135, a uterine contraction measurement device 140, and an electrocardiography (ECG) device 170. Not all embodiments of system 100 will include all of these components. ECG device 170 may be used to determine the pregnant mammal's and/or fetus' heart rate.” in para. [0035]).
Conclusion
/NAVIN NATNITHITHADHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 07/28/2026