DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Inventor’s election, with traverse, of the claims of Group III (claims 14 and 15) as the elected invention is acknowledged.
Inventor argues that there would not be a serious search burden in examining all claimed subject matter. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As cogently outlined in the requirement for election/restriction by the previous examiner, there would indeed be a serious search burden in examining all claimed subject matter. Inventor further argues that no serious search burden exists because the limitations of Group III are common to the other groups. This is factually incorrect. For example, independent claim 1, a member of Group I, does not require the wound honey preservative of Group III. Likewise, independent claim 12, a member of Group II, does not require the wound honey preservative of Group III.
The election/restriction was made merely in order to facilitate the reasonably complete and thorough search to which inventor is entitled and is hereby made FINAL.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of an egregious spelling error. In the second line of text, the term “…equivocal…” should clearly and properly be the term: equivalent.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Inventor’s assistance is respectfully requested in correcting any other grammatical and/or spelling errors which may be present in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Food Chemistry (2015), 169, pp. 34-40.
The reference teaches that honey intrinsically comprises a host of compounds including, for instance, vanillin and linalool (page 37, Table 2).
The examiner notes that the limitations wound and preservative (“A wound honey preservative…”) do not distinguish the instant honey from the prior art honey. This is so because the limitation wound, for instance, cannot be given patentable weight because it merely teaches an intended use of the honey: wound care. The limitation preservative likewise does not distinguish the instant honey from the prior art honey because honey is intrinsically a preservative (note the background discussion in Annals of Plastic Surgery (2003), 50(2), pp. 143-148 beginning at page 143, text line 1, with respect to the antimicrobial (i.e. preservative) properties of honey due to its intrinsic “osmotic effect” and acidity).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Annals of Plastic Surgery (2003), 50(2), pp. 143-148.
The reference teaches a honey-medicated dressing (i.e. a bandage comprising honey, a “wound honey”, for dressing a wound) (abstract; page 144, column 1, text line 17).
The examiner notes that the limitation preservative does not distinguish the instant honey from the prior art honey because honey is intrinsically a preservative (note the background discussion in the reference beginning at page 143, text line 1, with respect to the antimicrobial (i.e. preservative) properties of honey due to its intrinsic “osmotic effect” and acidity).
Furthermore, it is known in the art that honey intrinsically comprises a host of compounds including, for instance, vanillin and linalool (as evidenced by Food Chemistry (2015), 169, pp. 34-40 at page 37, Table 2). That is, as with the limitation preservative, the limitation with respect to the components vanillin and linalool which comprise the honey does not distinguish the instant honey from the prior art honey.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to honey without significantly more.
The claim recites “A wound honey preservative comprising at least one of vanillin, limonene, linalool, linalyl acetate, and a monoglyceride.” That is, the claim is drawn to one of the four statutory categories of invention: a composition of matter. However, this composition of matter is a product of nature, and the claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. (Note the discussion at MPEP 2106). This is so because the limitations wound and preservative (“A wound honey preservative…”) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more. The limitation wound, for instance, merely teaches an intended use of the honey: wound care. The limitation preservative merely teaches what honey already intrinsically is: a preservative (note the background discussion in the Annals of Plastic Surgery (2003), 50(2), pp. 143-148 beginning at page 143, text line 1, with respect to the antimicrobial (i.e. preservative) properties of honey due to its intrinsic “osmotic effect” and acidity).
Finally, the limitation with respect to the at least one component of honey, for instance, vanillin and linalool, is intrinsic to honey (as evidenced by Food Chemistry (2015), 169, pp. 34-40 at page 37, Table 2).
In sum, the claim distills to a claim to the natural product honey, which is not integrated into a practical application because the remaining limitations of the claim with respect to this honey, as outlined immediately above, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Conclusion
/BRIAN J DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614 11/17/2025