DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 12/17/25.
Claims 1 & 11 are amended.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14-20 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20230039648A1 in view of Pani, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2010/0074203 A1, and further in view of Abedini, US 2022/0368474 A1.
As to claim 1, Wang teaches a method for a User Equipment (UE) to perform a Configured Grant-based Small Data Transmission (CG-SDT) to a Base Station (BS), the method comprising:
performing an initial via a first configured Uplink (UL) grant associated with a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process (Wang, page 8, paragraph 108; i.e., [0108] HARQ retransmissions must obtain dynamic grants via PDCCH (e.g., addressed to CS-RNTI).);
determining whether a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) has been received from the BS for the initial CG-SDT via the first configured UL grant associated with the HARQ process (Wang, page 3, paragraph 25; i.e., [0025] a hybridARQ (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK or NACK) of the TB) (Wang, page 8, paragraph 107-108; i.e., [0107] a transmitter (e.g., a UE) can use hybrid ARQ (HARQ) techniques to improve reliability of data transmission. In HARQ, the transmitter can perform an initial transmission of a TB block of data, then perform one or more retransmissions of the same TB if the transmitter receives a negative acknowledgement (NACK) --or no response-from the receiver. [0108] HARQ retransmissions must obtain dynamic grants via PDCCH (e.g., addressed to CS-RNTI)); and
performing a retransmission via a second configured UL grant (Wang, page 2, paragraph 10; page 8, paragraph 107-108 & 126; i.e., [0010] Uplink (i.e., UE to eNB) physical channels provided by the LTE PHY include Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), and Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH)); [0107] a transmitter (e.g., a UE) can use hybrid ARQ (HARQ) techniques to improve reliability of data transmission. In HARQ, the transmitter can perform an initial transmission of a TB block of data, then perform one or more retransmissions of the same TB if the transmitter receives a negative acknowledgement (NACK) --or no response-from the receiver. [0108] HARQ retransmissions must obtain dynamic grants via PDCCH; [0126] the retransmission can use the same HARQ process for both transmission and retransmission of a transport block (TB) of UL data).
But Wang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein initial CG-SDT; autonomously performing a retransmission after determining, at least, that the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI has not been received.
However, Pani teaches the limitation wherein initial CG-SDT (Pani, page 3, paragraph 39-40; i.e., [0039] FIG. 7 shows a flow diagram of a WTRU 210 that initiates another E-RACH access to send CCCH data when the WTRU 210 has an allocated E-DCH resource and a periodic cell update is triggered; [0040] initiating a new E-RACH access to transmit CCCH data. The WTRU 210 may be operating in the CELL_FACH state with an allocated E-RNTI (810) [NOTE: according to paragraph 6, CG-SDT includes CCCH message]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to substitute enhance dedicated channel from Pani for handle the situation where a WTRU has common E-DCH resources allocated and is already sending DCCH/DTCH
traffic when a periodic cell update is triggered (Pani, page 1, paragraph 9).
However, Abedini teaches the limitation wherein autonomously performing a retransmission after determining, at least, that the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI has not been received (Abedini, page 16, paragraph 172-175; i.e., [0172] a first communication (FH-PDCCH-11205 and FH-PDSCH-11210) from the first wireless node 505. As shown by the dashed arrows 1215, the first communication may schedule a second communication (FH-PDCCH2 1220 and FH-PDSCH2 1225) by the first relay node 510a. Furthermore, as indicated by the solid arrows 1230, the first communication may schedule a resource or provide a configuration for a third communication by the first relay node 510a (that is, FH-PUCCH-2 or FH-PUSCH-2, represented by FH-PUXCH-2 1235) and for a third communication by the second relay node 510b (that is, FH-PUCCH-1 or FH-PUSCH-1, represented by FHPUXCH-1 1240); [0175] Early feedback may include an ACK/NACK regarding a first communication or a second communication. For example, if the first relay node receives feedback from a second relay node, the first relay node may defer relaying the feedback. In this way, relay nodes can autonomously perform retransmission of failed communications based on early feedback without triggering end-to-end retransmission of the first communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to substitute TRP from Abedini for provide a connnon protocol that enables different UEs to connnunicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global
level (Abedini, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 2, Wang-Pani-Abedini teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Wang-Gong failed to teach the claim limitation wherein CG-SDT comprises a Common Control Channel (CCCH) message.
However, Pani teaches the limitation wherein initial transmission of the CG-SDT comprises a Common Control Channel (CCCH) message (Pani, page 3, paragraph 39-40; i.e., [0039] FIG. 7 shows a flow diagram of a WTRU 210 that
initiates another E-RACH access to send CCCH data when the WTRU 210 has an allocated E-DCH resource and a periodic cell update is triggered; [0040] initiating a new E-RACH access to transmit CCCH data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Wang-Gong to substitute enhance dedicated channel from Pani for handle the situation where a WTRU has common E-DCH resources allocated and is already sending DCCH/DTCH
traffic when a periodic cell update is triggered (Pani, page 1, paragraph 9).
As to claim 4, Wang-Pani-Abedini teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the retransmission of the initial CG-SDT comprises performing the retransmission of the initial CG-SDT via the second configured UL grant after determining that the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI is not received and a configured CG-SDT retransmission timer is not running (Wang, page 8, paragraph 107-108; page 12, paragraph 190; i.e., [0107] In HARQ, the transmitter can perform an initial transmission of a TB block of data, then perform one or more retransmissions of the same TB if the transmitter receives a negative acknowledgement (NACK) --or no response-from the receiver. In such cases, different redundancy versions (RVs) of the TB can be sent in the respective repetitions [0108] HARQ retransmissions must obtain dynamic grants via PDCCH (e.g., addressed to CS-RNTI); [[0190] expiration of a timer corresponding to a maximum number of autonomous retransmissions for an HARQ process associated with the initial TB transmission).
As to claim 5, Wang-Pani-Abedini teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer of the UE indicates a failure of performing a Small Data Transmission (SDT) procedure to a Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer of the UE if a configured grant timer for the HARQ process expires and the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI has not been received after the initial CG-SDT (Wang, page 9, paragraph 135; i.e., [0135] When configuredGrantTimer expires, the UE should stop the CGretransmission timer (CGRT) if it is still running).
As to claim 6, Wang-Pani-Abedini teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising: stopping a CG-SDT retransmission timer for the HARQ process if the UE receives a specific UL grant (Wang, page 9, paragraph 135; i.e., [0135] When configuredGrantTimer expires, the UE should stop the CGretransmission timer (CGRT) if it is still running).
As to claim 7, Wang-Pani-Abedini teaches the method as recited in claim 6, wherein the specific UL grant is received on the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI (Wang, page 8, paragraph 107-108; i.e., [0107] In HARQ, the transmitter can perform an initial transmission of a TB block of data, then perform one or more retransmissions of the same TB if the transmitter receives a negative acknowledgement (NACK) --or no response-from the receiver. In such cases, different redundancy versions (RVs) of the TB can be sent in the respective repetitions [0108] HARQ retransmissions must obtain dynamic grants via PDCCH (e.g., addressed to CS-RNTI)).
As to claim 8, Wang-Pani-Abedini teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising: stopping a configured grant timer for the HARQ process if the UE receives a specific UL grant (Wang, page 9, paragraph 135; i.e., [0135] When configuredGrantTimer expires, the UE should stop the CGretransmission timer (CGRT) if it is still running).
As to claim 9, Wang-Pani-Abedini teaches the method as recited in claim 8, wherein the specific UL grant is received on the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI (Wang, page 9, paragraph 135; i.e., [0135] When configuredGrantTimer expires, the UE should stop the CGretransmission timer (CGRT) if it is still running).
As to claim 10, Wang-Pani-Abedini teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising: starting or restarting a CG-SDT retransmission timer for the HARQ process when the initial CG-SDT or the retransmission of the initial CG- SDT is performed (Wang, page 9, paragraph 127; i.e., [0127] In HARQ, the transmitter can perform an initial transmission of a TB block of data, then perform one or more retransmissions of the same TB if the transmitter receives a negative acknowledgement (NACK) --or no response-from the receiver. In such cases, different redundancy versions (RVs) of the TB can be sent in the respective repetitions [0108] HARQ retransmissions must obtain dynamic grants via PDCCH (e.g., addressed to CS-RNTI)).
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1-10. Therefore, claim(s) 11-20 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1-20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-12 & 14-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Seo, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20220338119 A1 discloses retransmission after transmitting a NACK.
Latheef, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20170339744 A1 discloses PDCCH missed by the UE after the HARQ RTT time.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416