DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 10/17/2025 has been entered, claims 1-8, 10-19 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a second channel in fluid connection with ambient atmosphere at substantially ambient pressure… and is formed by regulating… air supplied from the second channel by the valve device”. In pg. 6 of applicant’s remark, the applicant cites paragraph 0019 of the specification for support. However, par. 0019 states the second channel as an air hole, furthermore, paragraph 0018 states the second channel as an air channel, and is used to exhaust additional air flow. There is a lack of support for the second channel providing an air supply, and it is unclear how air is being supplied if the second channel is connected to ambient atmosphere at ambient pressure.
Claims 2-8, 10-19 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1.
Claims 1-8, 10-19 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recited “a second channel in fluid connection with ambient atmosphere at substantially ambient pressure… and is formed by regulating… air supplied from the second channel by the valve device”. It is unclear how the second channel could “supply air”, when, as claimed, it is connected to ambient air. The first channel is already connected to a source of gas flow, and the second channel connected to ambient air would not act as a supply source. Based on applicant’s disclosure, see par. 0018-0019 of the specification, the second channel would be interpreted as an exhaust or vent to ambient air rather than a supply channel. For examination purposes, the claim would be interpreted as “and is formed by regulating… air exhausted from the second channel by the valve device”.
Claims 2-8, 10-19 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navarro (US20230158268), hereafter Navarro, in view of Whitcher et al. (US10583265), hereafter Whitcher.
Regarding Claim 1, Navarro discloses an oxygen controller, comprising: an oxygen input (See Fig. A) receiving a first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen (par. 0046, “As used herein, “oxygen enriched air” is a gas mixture composed of at least about 50% oxygen, at least about 60% oxygen… or at least about 99% oxygen”) (Examiner Notes: it would be inherent that there exists a flow rate when oxygen gas flows through an input), from an oxygen supply device (par. 0006, “In this manner, oxygen enriched air can be accumulated, such as in a storage container or other pressurizable vessel or conduit coupled to the canisters, for a variety of uses including providing supplemental oxygen to users”), wherein the oxygen supply device provides the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen, a concentration of oxygen in the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen is more than 60% (par. 0046, “One example of a minimal range is 86-87% oxygen for portable oxygen concentrators”), an oxygen output (See Fig. A) outputting a second flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen (Examiner Notes: : it would be inherent that there exists a flow rate when oxygen gas flows through an input), and a gas regulation-output module wherein the gas regulation-output module receives a blood oxygen level(par. 0095, “The supply valve 160 is actuated by the controller 400 to control the delivery of oxygen enriched air to a user”; par. 0141, “the controller 400 is operational to adjust the oxygen dosage to achieve a desired blood oxygenation (SpO2) level for the specific user of the POC 100… a device such as the sensor 436 in FIG. 1N may be used to collect blood oxygenation data from the user of the POC 100”) and compares the blood oxygen level with a blood oxygen threshold range (par 0145, “Such determined “baseline” dosages may be then used to adjust the dosage of oxygen delivered by the POC 100. In one example, the user is taken through a setup procedure for the different baselines where a controller of the POC may measure the SpO2 and adjust the dosage supplied until the desired blood oxygenation level or range is achieved for that situation”),
Navarro further discloses the gas regulation module having a valve device (par. 0095, the supply valve 160), but is silent on the gas regulation output module comprising a T-joint and a valve device arranged in the T- joint, the T-joint comprises a first channel receiving the first flow rate of gas, a second channel in fluid connection with ambient atmosphere at substantially ambient pressure, and a third channel connected to the oxygen output to provide the second flow rate of gas.
However, Whitcher teaches a oxygen supply system (Fig. 2, abstract), comprising of an input providing a first flow of gas (Fig. 2, reservoir 18), an output outputting a second flow of gas (Fig. 2, an output at 124 providing oxygen to a user), and a T-joint (Fig. 2, a T-joint defined by input 109, output to 124, and relief valve 121) and a valve device arranged in the T- joint (Fig. 2, overpressure relief valve 121), the T-joint comprises a first channel (Fig. 2, channel 109) receiving the first flow rate of gas (col. 4, line 27-29, “Oxygen delivery manifold 102 also includes pathways 108 and 109 for oxygen-enriched gas from reservoir 18 to a device (not shown) for delivering the oxygen to a user”), a second channel (Fig. 2, channel connected to 121) in fluid connection with ambient atmosphere at substantially ambient pressure (See col. 10 line 60 – col. 11 line 9, the relief valve is configured to open to release excessive gas to the outside, therefore it is open to the ambient atmosphere at ambient pressure), and a third channel connected to the oxygen output to provide the second flow rate of gas (Fig. 2, output channel to filter 124). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known oxygen controller of Navarro, and modify the gas regulation module with the T-joint and relief valve of Whitcher in addition to the supply valve, to maintain continuous flow and prevent damage from overpressure as taught by Whitcher (Whitcher, col. 10 line 60 – col. 11 line 9).
Fig. A, adapted from Navarro Fig. 1F
The modified Navarro further discloses where an amount of the second flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen from the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen is determined by a comparison result (Navarro, par. 0016, “The dosage of oxygen enriched air is adjusted based on the sensed physiological data”; par. 0015, “the dosage of oxygen enriched air is determined by comparison to a baseline” ; par. 0095, “The supply valve 160 is actuated by the controller 400 to control the delivery of oxygen enriched air to a user”) (Examiner Notes: The prior art discloses that the controller adjusts oxygen output based on the patient’s blood oxygen level, and the adjustment is achieved by actuating the supply valve, when the supply valve is actuated, the second flow rate will change), and is formed by regulating the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen supplied from the first channel and air supplied from the second channel by the valve device (Navarro, par. 0134, the supply valve is actuated based on SpO2 level; Whitcher, col. 10 line 60 – col. 11 line 9, the second channel opens and closes based on a pressure threshold). wherein while the blood oxygen level is smaller than a minimal value of the blood oxygen threshold range, the second flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen is equal to the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen; (Navarro, par. 0134, “In an implementation, the supply valve 160 is opened for a sufficient amount of time to provide the appropriate amount of oxygen enriched air, as estimated by the controller 400, to the user”; par. 0141, “According to one aspect of the present technology, the controller 400 is operational to adjust the oxygen dosage to achieve a desired blood oxygenation (SpO2) level for the specific user”) and while the blood oxygen level is larger than a maximum value of the blood oxygen threshold range, the second flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen is zero or smaller than the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen (Navarro, par. 0095, “A supply valve 160 may be coupled to an outlet tube to control the release of the oxygen enriched air from the accumulator 106 to the user”, “In some implementations, the supply valve 160 may have continuously-valued actuation to establish a clinically effective amplitude profile for providing oxygen enriched air”, par. 0141, “According to one aspect of the present technology, the controller 400 is operational to adjust the oxygen dosage to achieve a desired blood oxygenation (SpO2) level for the specific user”) (Examiner Notes: See Fig. A, the prior art discloses a supply valve coupled to a controller to adjust the oxygen output. And the supply valve is actuated by the controller, which collects user’s blood oxygen level and compare it with a baseline; one of ordinary skilled in the art would understood that when the blood oxygen is lower than the threshold, the controller would open the supply valve to increase oxygen output, and the first and second flow rate would be equal; in another scenario, if the blood oxygen level is above the threshold, the supply valve would have continuously-valued actuation, to have the valve partially closed, or completely closed, and the second flow rate would be lower than the first flow rate or zero).
Regarding Claim 2, the modified Navarro discloses the oxygen controller according to claim 1, wherein the gas regulation-output module receives the blood oxygen level that is inputted in the oxygen controller in a wireless or wired way (Navarro, par. 0118, “in which the controller 400 may include the cellular wireless module 430, or other wireless communications module, configured to allow the controller 400 to communicate”).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified Navarro discloses the oxygen controller according to claim 1, wherein the blood oxygen threshold range is stored in the gas regulation-output module (Navarro, par. 0145, “The SpO2 levels may also be collected at different times and locations by the POC 100 to establish different oxygen dosages… Such determined “baseline” dosages may be then used to adjust the dosage of oxygen delivered by the POC 100… The determined baselines may then be stored by the controller 400”).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified Navarro discloses an oxygen control system including the oxygen controller of claim 1, comprising: a blood oxygen measurement device measuring a physiological response signal of a user, processing the physiological response signal to acquire the blood oxygen level (Navarro, par. 0141, “As explained above, a device such as the sensor 436 in FIG. 1N may be used to collect blood oxygenation data from the user of the POC 100… Such a monitor measures blood oxygenation by photoplethysmography”) and transmitting the blood oxygen level to the oxygen controller (Navarro, par. 0141, “The body-worn monitor may include a transmitter that communicates with an external device such as the POC 100”).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Navarro discloses the artificial intelligence oxygen control system according to claim 4, wherein the blood oxygen measurement device includes a signal processing-analyzing module (Navarro, par. 0121, “As will be explained further, the collected physiological data may be analyzed by the server 460 or the portable computing device 466”) connected with a physiological signal interface (Navarro, par. 0122, health data analysis engine) and a transmission module (Navarro, par. 0118, “the cellular wireless module 430, or other wireless communications module, configured to allow the controller 400 to communicate… with a remote computing device 460 such as over a network”), wherein the physiological signal interface receives the physiological response signal from the user (Navarro, par. 0122, “The health data analysis engine 472 receives the collected operational and physiological data from the POC 100”), the signal processing-analyzing module processes the physiological response signal to acquire a measurement result including the blood oxygen level (Navarro, par. 0121, “Alternatively, the controller 400 may collect physiological or related data from the GPS receiver 434, an external blood oxygenation sensor 436, and other external sensors 438”) and the transmission module transmits the measurement result to a cloud server (Navarro, par. 0118, “The remote computing device 460 (or a remote external device 464) such as a cloud-based server (or server 460) may exchange data with the controller 400”).
Regarding to Claim 6, the modified Navarro discloses the oxygen control system according to claim 5, wherein the blood oxygen measurement device further include a display module displaying the measurement result (Navarro, par. 0142, “Another alternative external blood oxygenation sensor may be a finger-clip device that measures blood oxygenation levels… the finger-clip device such as the Onyx, WristOx2, or NoninConnect devices”) (Examiner Notes: The examples of finger-clip device the prior art disclosed all comprises of a display)
Regarding to Claim 7, the modified Navarro discloses the oxygen control system according to claim 6, wherein the measurement result comprises blood oxygen level, blood pressure, pulse rate, atrial fibrillation (Af) or not, arrhythmia or not, or premature ventricular contractions or not or the combination of more aforementioned (Navarro, par. 0015, “The physiological data includes blood oxygenation data of the patient measured by the blood oxygenation sensor”; ”par. 0178, “presence of atrial fibrillation…”; par. 0179, “…blood pressure, asthma attack, and arrhythmias such as diabetes”).
Regarding to Claim 8, the modified Navarro discloses the oxygen control system according to claim 5, wherein the blood oxygen level is transmitted from the cloud server to the oxygen controller (Navarro, par. 0118, “The remote computing device 460 (or a remote external device 464) such as a cloud-based server (or server 460) may exchange data with the controller 400”).
Regarding to Claim 10, the modified Navarro discloses the oxygen control system according to claim 4, wherein the blood oxygen measurement device is a finger-clamping blood oxygen device or a wearable type blood oxygen device (Navarro, par. 0141, “the blood oxygenation sensor 436 may be a body-worn blood oxygenation monitor”; par. 0142, “Another alternative external blood oxygenation sensor may be a finger-clip device”).
Regarding to Claim 11, the modified Navarro discloses the oxygen control system according to claim 4, wherein oxygen supply device is an oxygen generator or an oxygen cylinder (Navarro, par. 0006, “In this manner, oxygen enriched air can be accumulated, such as in a storage container or other pressurizable vessel or conduit coupled to the canisters, for a variety of uses including providing supplemental oxygen to users”) (Examiner Notes: Oxygen generator and oxygen cylinder are both well-known technology in the art, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to use an oxygen cylinder as a storage container for supplying oxygen).
Regarding to Claim 12, the modified Navarro discloses the oxygen control system according to claim 4, wherein the blood oxygen threshold range is stored in the gas regulation-output module (Navarro, par. 0145, “The SpO2 levels may also be collected at different times and locations by the POC 100 to establish different oxygen dosages… Such determined “baseline” dosages may be then used to adjust the dosage of oxygen delivered by the POC 100… The determined baselines may then be stored by the controller 400”).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified Navarro discloses a blood oxygen measurement device including the oxygen controller of claim 1, comprising a physiological signal interface outputting a detection signal and receiving a physiological response signal of the user (Navarro, par. 0122, “The health data analysis engine 472 receives the collected operational and physiological data from the POC 100”), wherein the detection signal interferes with the user to generate the physiological response signal of the user (Navarro, par. 0192, “If a triggering event has been detected (“YES” at 714), the health data analysis engine 472 confirms the triggering event (716)… collecting additional data from the external sensors 438 mounted on the patient health monitoring device… The health data analysis engine 472 then determines and implements a response to the detected triggering event”); a signal processing-analyzing module connected with the physiological signal interface and processing the physiological response signal to acquire a measurement result including the blood oxygen level (Navarro, par. 0121, “As will be explained further, the collected physiological data may be analyzed by the server 460 or the portable computing device 466… Alternatively, the controller 400 may collect physiological or related data from the GPS receiver 434, an external blood oxygenation sensor 436, and other external sensors 438”); a transmission module connected with signal processing-analyzing module, transmitting the measurement result to an external device for presentation in a wireless or wired way (Navarro, par. 0118, “the cellular wireless module 430, or other wireless communications module, configured to allow the controller 400 to communicate… with a remote computing device 460 such as over a network”); and a display module connected with the signal processing-analyzing module for displaying the measurement result (Navarro, par. 0182, “The server 460 may also be in wireless communication with the portable computing device 466 using a wireless communication protocol such as GSM. A processor of the smartphone 466 may execute an application 482 to control the interaction of the smartphone with the POC 100 and/or the server 460. In this example, the application 482 may collect data for determining the oxygen dosage of the POC 100”) (Examiner Notes: The prior art discloses using an application in a smartphone as a signal processing-analyzing module, under ordinary meaning, a smartphone comprises a display, the prior art further discloses that the app collects data through sensors in the system; using an app to control such oxygen control system is well-known in the art and displaying physiological measurements is often necessary in such app, therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to display the data/measurements collected in the app).
Regarding Claim 14, the modified Navarro discloses The blood oxygen measurement device according to claim 13, wherein while the blood oxygen level is smaller than a minimal value of the blood oxygen threshold range, the second flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen is equal to the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen (Navarro, par. 0134, “In an implementation, the supply valve 160 is opened for a sufficient amount of time to provide the appropriate amount of oxygen enriched air, as estimated by the controller 400, to the user”; par. 0141, “According to one aspect of the present technology, the controller 400 is operational to adjust the oxygen dosage to achieve a desired blood oxygenation (SpO2) level for the specific user”); and while the blood oxygen level is larger than a maximum value of the blood oxygen threshold range, the second flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen is zero or smaller than the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen (Navarro, par. 0095, “A supply valve 160 may be coupled to an outlet tube to control the release of the oxygen enriched air from the accumulator 106 to the user”, “In some implementations, the supply valve 160 may have continuously-valued actuation to establish a clinically effective amplitude profile for providing oxygen enriched air”, par. 0141, “According to one aspect of the present technology, the controller 400 is operational to adjust the oxygen dosage to achieve a desired blood oxygenation (SpO2) level for the specific user”) (Examiner Notes: See Fig. A, the prior art discloses a supply valve coupled to a controller to adjust the oxygen output. And the supply valve is actuated by the controller, which collects user’s blood oxygen level and compare it with a baseline; one of ordinary skilled in the art would understood that when the blood oxygen is lower than the threshold, the controller would open the supply valve to increase oxygen output, and the first and second flow rate would be equal; in another scenario, if the blood oxygen level is above the threshold, the supply valve would have continuously-valued actuation, to have the valve partially closed, or completely closed, and the second flow rate would be lower than the first flow rate or zero).
Regarding to Claim 15, the modified Navarro discloses the blood oxygen measurement device according to claim 13, wherein the blood oxygen threshold range is stored in the gas regulation-output module (Navarro, par. 0145, “The SpO2 levels may also be collected at different times and locations by the POC 100 to establish different oxygen dosages… Such determined “baseline” dosages may be then used to adjust the dosage of oxygen delivered by the POC 100… The determined baselines may then be stored by the controller 400”).
Regarding to Claim 16, the modified Navarro discloses an oxygen supply device including the oxygen controller of claim 1, comprising an oxygen supplier providing the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen to the oxygen controller (par. 0006, “In this manner, oxygen enriched air can be accumulated, such as in a storage container or other pressurizable vessel or conduit coupled to the canisters, for a variety of uses including providing supplemental oxygen to users”), wherein a concentration of oxygen in the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen is more than 60% (Navarro, par. 0046, “One example of a minimal range is 86-87% oxygen for portable oxygen concentrators”)
Regarding to Claim 17, the modified Navarro discloses the blood oxygen measurement device according to claim 16, wherein the gas regulation-output module receives the blood oxygen level that is inputted in the oxygen controller in a wireless or wired way (par. 0118, “in which the controller 400 may include the cellular wireless module 430, or other wireless communications module, configured to allow the controller 400 to communicate”).
Regarding to Claim 18, the modified Navarro discloses the blood oxygen measurement device according to claim 16, wherein the blood oxygen threshold range is stored in the gas regulation-output module (par. 0145, “The SpO2 levels may also be collected at different times and locations by the POC 100 to establish different oxygen dosages… Such determined “baseline” dosages may be then used to adjust the dosage of oxygen delivered by the POC 100… The determined baselines may then be stored by the controller 400”).
Regarding to Claim 19, the modified Navarro discloses the blood oxygen measurement device according to claim 16, wherein while the blood oxygen level is smaller than a minimal value of the blood oxygen threshold range, the second flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen is equal to the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen (par. 0134, “In an implementation, the supply valve 160 is opened for a sufficient amount of time to provide the appropriate amount of oxygen enriched air, as estimated by the controller 400, to the user”; par. 0141, “According to one aspect of the present technology, the controller 400 is operational to adjust the oxygen dosage to achieve a desired blood oxygenation (SpO2) level for the specific user”); and while the blood oxygen level is larger than a maximum value of the blood oxygen threshold range, the second flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen is zero or smaller than the first flow rate of gas containing high-concentration oxygen (par. 0095, “A supply valve 160 may be coupled to an outlet tube to control the release of the oxygen enriched air from the accumulator 106 to the user”, “In some implementations, the supply valve 160 may have continuously-valued actuation to establish a clinically effective amplitude profile for providing oxygen enriched air”, par. 0141, “According to one aspect of the present technology, the controller 400 is operational to adjust the oxygen dosage to achieve a desired blood oxygenation (SpO2) level for the specific user”) (Examiner Notes: See Fig. A, the prior art discloses a supply valve coupled to a controller to adjust the oxygen output. And the supply valve is actuated by the controller, which collects user’s blood oxygen level and compare it with a baseline; one of ordinary skilled in the art would understood that when the blood oxygen is lower than the threshold, the controller would open the supply valve to increase oxygen output, and the first and second flow rate would be equal; in another scenario, if the blood oxygen level is above the threshold, the supply valve would have continuously-valued actuation, to have the valve partially closed, or completely closed, and the second flow rate would be lower than the first flow rate or zero).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 6-8 of Applicant’s Remark, filed 10/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Whitcher.
Specifically, Applicant argued that the second channel of the T-joint is connected with ambient atmosphere. Whitcher teaches a T-joint with a pressure relief valve, which is connected with the ambient atmosphere at ambient pressure when opened. Applicant further argues that the second channel closes and opens based on the user’s blood oxygen level. However, Claim 1 claims the flow rate is determined by a comparison result, and is formed by regulating the second channel. The relief valve of Whitcher is regulated by a comparison result, see col. 10 line 60 – col. 11 line 9 of Whitcher, and Navarro discloses regulating a supply valve which controls the flow rate based on the blood oxygen level, see par. 0134 and 0141 of Navarro. The claim language does not specifically require the second channel being controlled based on the blood oxygen level of the user. Therefore, the argument is not persuasive in view of Whitcher.
Conclusion
/KRIS HANYU GONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785