DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed on 03/30/2026 have been received, to which the Applicant is thanked. Claims 3 & 15 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The arguments have been fully considered, but have not been found to be persuasive.
In response to Applicants arguments regarding newly amended claim language on pages 12, Lines 16-18/ Page 3, Lines 1-2,
The examiner respectfully responds the Applicants arguments are directed towards the field of intended use of Kudo, in that it “differs from the claimed features, which use airflow in non-occupancy areas as an active means of circulation to quickly regulate the overall indoor temperature”, stating Kudo is “merely a technology to preheat the unit itself by directing air toward unoccupied areas”, however, the Examiner would direct the Applicant to MPEP 2115 which says material or article worked on does not limit an apparatus claim provided the apparatus is capable of performing the claimed function. The prior art of Kudo is capable of performing the claimed functions and limitations claimed below, accompanied with proper rationale and motivation for the rejection of claim 1 in full in combination with Lee, overcoming the Applicants argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo (GB2513694), in view of Lee et al (KR20200014227), hereinafter referred to as Lee (US 2021/0247095 will be used as a suitable translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kudo (GB2513694) shows an air conditioner, comprising:
a case (X, Fig. 3) that forms a space therein with an open lower side (Fig. 4 – the case forms a space therein, and the case is open to a lower side as it comprises of a grille 12, or a panel);
a panel (12, Fig. 4) that is disposed at the lower side of the case (Fig. 4), and has an inlet (3b, Fig. 3) and a plurality of outlets (3a, Fig. 3) disposed around the inlet (Fig. 3);
a fan (7, Fig. 4) that is disposed inside of the case (Fig. 4), and forms an airflow from the inlet to the plurality of outlets (¶0016);
a plurality of wind adjusters (4, Fig. 3) that is disposed in each of the plurality of outlets (Fig. 3), respectively, and adjusts a direction of air flowing through each of the plurality of outlets (¶0024);
a camera (5, Fig. 3) that is disposed at one side of the panel (Fig. 3), and which is configured to obtain an image of an indoor space (Abstract – the camera 5 is to detect a person within an air conditioned space); and
a controller (X1, Fig. 1) that controls the plurality of wind adjusters based on image information obtained from the camera (¶0034-0035),
a timer (¶0026 – the camera rotates by timed steps of 90 degrees, on regular intervals to detect the presence or absence of a person, for a fixed period of time; as the camera of Kudo rotates in a direction per a given time, as Kudo shows a timer),
an output unit (Fig. 6 – as the Applicant defines the output unit to be just the image the camera captures, as the camera envisions the superficial division depicted in Fig. 8B, with each zone division correlating to a measured zone, as does Kudo show such an output unit that outputs an image from the camera, including the range of an area, or zone) that outputs an image obtained from the camera (Fig. 6 – each detection area is an area that is output from the output unit relative to the camera 5), a temperature sensor (15, Fig. 4) that detects a temperature (T1) of the indoor space (¶0031),wherein the controller divides the plurality of outlets into a first area outlet facing a living area of an occupant and a second area outlet facing a non-living area of the occupant based on accumulated data of the image information obtained from the camera (¶0026 / 0034 – the unit divides four areas to which the camera 5 detects the presence or absence of a person and which determines an outlet facing a living area of an occupant, meaning also determining the absence of that person in the area in which they are not present, as evidenced by the detecting presence/absence, and therefore determines if a person is present or absent; a living area and a non-living area), and
selectively adjusts each of the plurality of wind adjusters so that airflows of air discharged from the first area outlet and airflows of air discharged from the second area outlet are formed differently (¶0024 / 0026, Fig. 6 – the controller X1 selectively adjusts the plurality of wind adjusters 4 for each area differently (and independently from each other; ¶0024) based on the detection of a person, in which the plurality of wind adjusters 4 for the area is set to a configuration of a normal operation, which is in a substantially horizontal direction, or absence of a person, in which the plurality of wind adjusters 4 are set to a configuration of a short cycle operation, in which the plurality of wind adjusters are rotated fully to one direction in a substantially downward direction (Fig. 5), making a difference of airflow directions between the normal operation and the short cycle, as a result),
and wherein the controller divides an image displayed on the output unit into a plurality of areas (Fig. 6), divides the image displayed on the output unit into an area in which the inlet is disposed (Fig. 3/6 – the inlet 3b, which can be seen in Fig. 3 as in the center of the device, is an area in which the controller divides the image displayed on the output unit, as can be seen with the overlap of the detection areas 2 and 3) and areas based on a direction in which the outlets faces (Fig. 6), and further divides, in at least some of the divided areas, an outer remote area (Fig. 6 – the outer remote areas can be seen in Fig. 6 as the areas in which there exists no overlapping of the circular areas), and wherein when the temperature detected by the temperature sensor is outside of the predetermined temperature range (¶0032 – if it is determined that Ta is lower than T1, and a person is in an outlets detection area (Fig. 6), the operation mode moves the wind adjusters 4 to the short cycle position, which is a substantially downward position (Fig. 5)), the controller selectively adjusts the plurality of wind adjusters (4, Fig. 3, ¶0024 – the of the plurality of wind adjusters 4, associated with their respective area outlets 3a, can have their position controlled independently) so that the airflow discharged through the first area outlet is lower than the airflow discharged through the second area outlet (¶0024 – since the plurality of wind adjusters 4 are independently controlled, the controller then controls the first area outlet to be at a lower direction from the short cycle wind adjuster position (Fig. 5) than the airflow discharged from a second area outlet that would be in normal operating mode, or at a substantially horizontal direction, relative to the direction of the first area outlet).
However, Kudo lacks showing the timer measures a time during which the camera obtains an image and wherein the controller classifies the living area from accumulated image information obtained from the camera, after a set time measured by the timer.
Lee (KR20200014227), a ceiling air conditioner with a controller, is in the same field of endeavor as Kuda which is a ceiling air conditioner with a controller.
Lee teaches a timer (¶0069-0070 – the controller comprises of a means to measure time, including a timer 311) that measures a time during which the camera obtains an image (¶0069-0070 – the timer 311 is used to obtain a measure of time during which the camera 260 (of which ¶0053 outlines is specifically a vison camera) obtains the image, of which at least imparts the activity amount of the occupant based on the position of the occupant from the obtained image information),
and wherein the controller (310, ¶0082) classifies the living area from accumulated image information (Fig. 4, ¶0082 – the camera 260 classifies the area of which an occupant is living in from the accumulated image information) obtained from the camera (260, ¶0082), after a set time measured by the timer (311, ¶0069-0070 / ¶0082 – the controller 310 may map the position of the occupant detected during the set detection time period of the area 400).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the timer, camera, and controller of Kudo to incorporate the teachings of the timer, camera, and controller of Lee, which would provide an air conditioner that may be operated in a plurality of modes, with at least one different set temperatures, air volume, or wind directions of the air conditioner for a plurality of time periods (¶0017).
Regarding claim 2, Kudo shows wherein the controller selectively adjusts the plurality of wind adjusters to change the direction of airflow through the first area outlet (¶0024 – the of the plurality of wind adjusters 4, associated with their respective area outlets 3a, can have their position controlled independently), when the temperature detected by the temperature sensor reaches within a predetermined temperature range (¶0024 /0031 – when T1 Is lower than a detected temperature, the plurality of wind adjusters 4 of all the outlets are set to normal operation; of which corresponds to a substantially horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 5, Kudo shows wherein the controller selectively adjusts the plurality of wind adjusters so that the airflow discharged through the first area outlet is discharged in a first direction (¶0024 – the of the plurality of wind adjusters 4, associated with their respective area outlets 3a, can have their position controlled independently), when the temperature detected by the temperature sensor is within the predetermined temperature range (¶0024 / 0031 - Normal operation position is a substantially horizontal direction), and selectively adjusts the plurality of wind adjusters (¶0024 – the of the plurality of wind adjusters 4, associated with their respective area outlets 3a, can have their position controlled independently) so that the airflow discharged through the first area outlet is discharged in a second direction lower than the first direction (Fig. 5), when the temperature detected by the temperature sensor is outside of the predetermined temperature range (¶0032 – if it is determined that Ta is lower than T1, and a person is in an outlets detection area (Fig. 6), the operation mode moves the wind adjusters 4 to the short cycle position, which is a substantially downward position (Fig. 5) which is lower than the normal operation positions which are substantially horizontal).
Regarding claim 7, Kudo shows wherein the plurality of wind adjusters each comprises a vane (4, Fig. 3 – each wind adjuster 4 is a vane) that is disposed in a respective outlet of the plurality of outlets (3a, Fig. 3), wherein a disposition of the vane is changed to adjust the direction of the air flowing through the outlet (¶0024, Fig. 5), and wherein the controller selectively changes the disposition of the vanes disposed in each of the first area outlet and the second area outlet, respectively (¶0024 – the of the plurality of wind adjusters 4, associated with their respective area outlets 3a, can have their position controlled independently).
Regarding claim 9, Kudo shows further comprising a timer that measures a time during which the camera obtains an image (¶0026 – the rotates by 90 degrees on regular intervals to detect the presence or absence of a person, for a fixed period of time; Kudo shows a timer), wherein the controller classifies the living area from accumulated image information obtained from the camera, after a predetermined time measured by the timer (¶0026).
Claims 4 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo (GB2513694), in view of Lee et al (KR20200014227), hereinafter referred to as Lee (US 2021/0247095 will be used as a suitable translation), in further view of Yokomizo et al (JP2011153725), hereinafter referred to as Yokomizo.
Regarding claim 4, Kudo shows wherein when the temperature detected by the temperature sensor is within the predetermined temperature range (¶0031 – normal operation in which the wind adjusters are in the substantially horizontal positions of their relative outlets), the controller selectively adjusts the plurality of wind adjusters so that the airflow discharged through the first area outlet is the same as the airflow discharged through the second area outlet (¶0031).
However, Kudo lacks showing when the temperature detected by the temperature sensor is within the predetermined temperature range, the controller selectively adjusts the plurality of wind adjusters so that the airflow discharged through the first area outlet is higher than the airflow discharged through the second area outlet.
Yokomizo (JP2011153725), a ceiling mounted air conditioner with movable blades, is in the same field of endeavor as Kudo which is a ceiling mounted air conditioner with movable blades.
Yokomizo teaches wherein when the temperature detected by the temperature sensor (63, ¶0087) is within the predetermined temperature range (Tfs, ¶0087), the controller selectively adjusts the plurality of wind adjusters (71a-d, ¶0087) so that the airflow discharged through the first area outlet is higher than the airflow discharged through the second area outlet (¶0091 – when using the temperature sensor 63 to determine the angle of the wind adjusters 71a-d, an area where people are detected (a first area outlet) can have the wind direction set to P0, of which Figure 10 shows is at the upmost horizontal position from the other wind adjusters (at least one of them being the second outlet) who would have their wind direction positions not at P0, or, at a direction lower than the first area outlet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the discharge direction of the first area outlet relative to the second area outlet of Kudo to incorporate the first area outlets wind direction to be higher than the airflow direction discharged through the second area outlet of Yokomizo, which would provide an air conditioner that would reduce discomfort felt by people in the area by having a wide range of independently changeable angles of the direction changing blades (¶0004).
Regarding claim 6, Kudo shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 5 including the controller wherein the controller selectively adjusts the plurality of wind adjusters so that the airflow is discharged through the second area outlet (¶0024 – the of the plurality of wind adjusters 4, associated with their respective area outlets 3a, can have their position controlled independently).
However, Kudo lacks showing the airflow discharged through the second area outlet is discharged in a third direction between the first direction and the second direction.
Yokomizo teaches the airflow discharged through the second area outlet (56b, Fig. 10) is discharged in a third direction (P2) between the first direction (P1) and the second direction (P3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified range of angles of the second area outlet wind adjusters to incorporate the range of the wind adjusters of the second area outlet of Yokomizo, which would provide an air conditioner that would reduce discomfort felt by people in the area by having a wide range of independently changeable angles of the direction changing blades (¶0004).
Claims 12-13, 16, & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo (GB2513694), in view of Lee et al (KR20200014227), hereinafter referred to as Lee (US 2021/0247095 will be used as a suitable translation).
Regarding claim 12, Kudo (GB2513694) shows a method for controlling an air conditioner having an inlet and a plurality of outlets disposed around the inlet, wherein the plurality of outlets discharges air to different areas, the method comprising:
obtaining by a camera (5, Fig. 3) an image (thermal image) of a plurality of areas to which the plurality of outlets discharge air;
determining via a controller (X1, Fig. 1) a living area and a non-living area of an occupant based on accumulated data of image information obtained by the camera (Fig. 6, ¶0026 / 0034 – the unit divides four areas to which the camera 5 detects the presence or absence of a person; a living area and a non-living area); and detecting by a temperature sensor a temperature of an indoor space (a temperature sensor (15, Fig. 4) that detects a temperature (T1) of the indoor space (¶0031), selectively adjusting via the controller a plurality of wind adjusters (4, Fig. 3) disposed, respectively, in the plurality of outlets (3a, Fig. 3) so that airflows discharged from each of a first area outlet facing the living area and a second area outlet facing the non-living area are set differently (Fig. 6, ¶0026, Fig. 6/7 – the controller X1 selectively adjusts the plurality of wind adjusters 4 for each area differently based on the detection of a person, in which the plurality of wind adjusters 4 for the area is set to a configuration of a normal operation, or absence of a person, in which the plurality of wind adjusters 4 are set to a configuration of a short cycle operation),
wherein the determining of the living area and the non-living area comprises:
dividing an area displayed on an output unit (Fig. 6 – as the Applicant defines the output unit to be just the image the camera captures, as the camera envisions the superficial division depicted in Fig. 8B, with each zone division correlating to a measured zone, as does Kudo show such an output unit that outputs an image from the camera, including the range of an area or zone) into an area in which a suction port (3b, Fig. 3) is disposed (Fig. 3/6 - the suction port 3b, which can be seen in Fig. 3 as in the center of the device, is an area in which the controller divides the image displayed on the output unit, as the area can be seen with the overlap of the detection areas 2 and 3) and
a plurality of areas based on a direction in which the plurality of outlets face (Fig. 6 – as the Applicant defines the output unit to be just the image the camera captures, as the camera envisions the superficial division depicted in Fig. 8B, with each zone division correlating to a measured zone, as does Kudo show such an output unit that outputs an image from the camera, including the range of an area or zone);
determining the living area and the non-living area based on the accumulated image information obtained by the camera (Fig. 6, ¶0026 / 0034 – the unit divides four areas to which the camera 5 detects the presence or absence of a person; a living area and a non-living area),
wherein the dividing the area displayed on the output unit into the plurality of areas based on the direction in which the plurality of outlets face further includes dividing an outer distant area in at least a partial area of the divided areas (Fig. 6 – the outer distant area can be seen in Fig. 6 as any of the areas in which there exists no overlapping of the circular areas), wherein when the temperature of the indoor space sensed by the temperature sensor is beyond the predetermined temperature range (¶0032 – if it is determined that Ta is lower than T1, and a person is in an outlets detection area (Fig. 6), the operation mode moves the wind adjusters 4 to the short cycle position, which is a substantially downward position (Fig. 5)), the plurality of wind adjusters (4, Fig. 3, ¶0024 – the of the plurality of wind adjusters 4, associated with their respective area outlets 3a, can have their position controlled independently) is selectively adjusted to set the airflow discharged through the first area outlet to be lower than the airflow discharged through the second area outlet (¶0024 – since the plurality of wind adjusters 4 are independently controlled, the controller then controls the first area outlet to be at a lower direction from the short cycle wind adjuster position (Fig. 5) than the airflow discharged from a second area outlet that would be in normal operating mode, or at a substantially horizontal direction, relative to the direction of the first area outlet).
However, Kudo lacks showing wherein the determining of the living area and the non-living area comprises: accumulating the image information obtained by the camera over a set time.
Lee (KR20200014227), a ceiling air conditioner with a controller, is in the same field of endeavor as Kuda which is a ceiling air conditioner with a controller.
Lee teaches wherein the determining of the living area and the non-living area comprises: accumulating the image information obtained by the camera over a set time (¶0069-0070 / ¶0082 – the controller 310 may map the position of the occupant detected during the set detection time period of the area 400).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the timer, camera, and controller of Kudo to incorporate the teachings of the timer, camera, and controller of Lee, which would provide an air conditioner that may be operated in a plurality of modes, with at least one different set temperatures, air volume, or wind directions of the air conditioner for a plurality of time periods (¶0017).
Regarding claim 13, Kudo shows wherein the selectively adjusting of the plurality of wind adjusters comprises: selectively adjusting via the controller (¶0026, Fig. 6/7 – the controller X1 selectively adjusts the plurality of wind adjusters 4 for each area differently based on the detection of a person, in which the plurality of wind adjusters 4 for the area is set to a configuration of a normal operation, or absence of a person, in which the plurality of wind adjusters 4 are set to a configuration of a short cycle operation) the plurality of wind adjusters so that the airflow discharged through the first area outlet is varied based on a relationship between the temperature of the indoor space sensed by the temperature sensor and a predetermined temperature range (¶0031 / 0032 – 0031 outlines the parameters for the normal operation in which the wind adjusters 4 (which are each located at their respective area outlets, to include the first area outlet) are at a position of being substantially horizontal direction, while 0032 outlines the parameters for the short cycle operation in which the wind adjusters are at a position that is substantially downward direction).
Regarding claim 16, Kudo shows wherein the determining of the living area and the non-living area comprises classifying the plurality of outlets into the first area outlet disposed in the living area and the second area outlet disposed in the non-living area (¶0026 / 0034 – the unit divides four areas relative to the four outlets, to which the camera 5 detects the presence or absence of a person, therein a living area and a non-living area, of which when there is a person in the first area outlet zone, the zone is a living area, and when there is no one present in the second area outlet zone, the zone is a non-living area).
Regarding claim 18, Kudo shows wherein the selectively adjusting via the controller of the plurality of wind adjusters comprises: uniformly maintaining the air flow discharged from the second area outlet (4, Fig. 3, ¶0024 – the of the plurality of wind adjusters 4, associated with their respective area outlets 3a, can have their position controlled independently, which the air flow from the second area outlet can be set to a normal operation position, that being substantially horizontal); and setting the air flow discharged through the first area outlet to be higher or lower than the air flow discharged through the second area outlet (4, Fig. 3, ¶0024 – the of the plurality of wind adjusters 4, associated with their respective area outlets 3a, can have their position controlled independently, and the first area outlet can be independently set to the shirt cycle wind adjuster position, which is substantially downward, when the second area outlet has the wind adjusters at a normal operating position, that being substantially horizontal).
Regarding claim 19, Kudo shows wherein the selectively adjusting via the controller of the plurality of wind adjusters comprises disposing vanes of the plurality of wind adjusters in the first area outlet and vanes of the plurality of wind adjusters in the second area outlet differently (Fig. 3, ¶0024 – the of the plurality of wind adjusters 4, associated with their respective area outlets 3a, can have their position controlled independently, and the first area outlet can be independently set to the shirt cycle wind adjuster position, which is substantially downward, when the second area outlet has the wind adjusters at a normal operating position, that being substantially horizontal).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo (GB2513694), in view of Lee et al (KR20200014227), hereinafter referred to as Lee (US 2021/0247095 will be used as a suitable translation), in further view of Yokomizo et al (JP2011153725), hereinafter referred to as Yokomizo.
Regarding claim 14, Kudo shows wherein when the temperature of the indoor space sensed by the temperature sensor is within the predetermined temperature range (¶0031 – normal operation in which the wind adjusters are in the substantially horizontal positions of their relative outlets), the plurality of wind adjusters is selectively adjusted to set the airflow discharged through the first area outlet to be the same as than the airflow discharged through the second area outlet (¶0031).
However, Kudo lacks showing when the temperature of the indoor space sensed by the temperature sensor is within the predetermined temperature range, the plurality of wind adjusters is selectively adjusted to set the airflow discharged through the first area outlet to be higher than the airflow discharged through the second area outlet.
Yokomizo (JP2011153725), a ceiling mounted air conditioner with movable blades, is in the same field of endeavor as Kudo which is a ceiling mounted air conditioner with movable blades.
Yokomizo teaches when the temperature of the indoor space sensed by the temperature sensor (63, ¶0087) is within the predetermined temperature range (Tfs, ¶0087), the plurality of wind adjusters (71a-d, ¶0087) is selectively adjusted to set the airflow discharged through the first area outlet to be higher than the airflow discharged through the second area outlet (¶0091 – when using the temperature sensor 63 to determine the angle of the wind adjusters 71a-d, an area where people are detected (a first area outlet) can have the wind direction set to P0, of which Figure 10 shows is at the upmost horizontal position from the other wind adjusters (at least one of them being the second outlet) who would have their wind direction positions not at P0, or, at a direction lower than the first area outlet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the discharge direction of the first area outlet relative to the second area outlet of Kudo to incorporate the first area outlets wind direction to be higher than the airflow direction discharged through the second area outlet of Yokomizo, which would provide an air conditioner that would reduce discomfort felt by people in the area by having a wide range of independently changeable angles of the direction changing blades (¶0004).
Other notable prior art:
CN111295553
CN110291332
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN L FAULKNER/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762