DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is the response to amendment filed 03/12/2026 for application 17/870214.
Claims 1-5, 7-14, and 18-21 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claims 6, 15-17, and 22 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-14, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOODY et al. (USPGPUB 2018/0112142) in view of MONEREAU (USPGPUB 2006/0254420).
Regarding claim 1, FOODY et al. teach a method and system for upgrading biogas into upgraded biogas.
The composition of the biogas is taught in paragraph 4 and includes methane, carbon dioxide as well as nitrogen (N2) and other compounds. (providing source of biogas)
The biogas is further explicitly taught in paragraph 82 to include Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs).
The upgraded biogas is taught in paragraph 18 to comprise gas from a CH4 rich gas. (methane product stream)
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 89 that biogas may be cleaned in one or more steps. The one or more steps may be performed prior to feeding the biogas to a separating system and one or more cleaning steps may also be performed on a CH4 rich stream that exists the separating system.
FOODY et al. teach in paragraphs 94-95 siloxane may be removed with a siloxane removal system that comprises two towers, each having a bed of activated carbon.
The siloxane removal system may be based on regenerative adsorption such as temperature swing adsorption (providing a plurality of TSA units).
One tower is actively used while saturated activated carbon in the other tower is emptied and refilled (first TSA unit is in operational mode while the second TSA unit is in regeneration mode to prepare for a subsequent operation mode and wherein the first TSA unit removes VOCs (siloxanes) to produce a VOC depleted biogas).
FOODY et al. teach that heating releases the trapped siloxanes so that the adsorption column is regenerated and can be used again.
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 94 that tail gas can be used to desorb siloxanes adsorbed on the media. The tail gas is taught in paragraph 100 to comprise at least some of the CO2 that is separated from biogas in a separating system 125 (supplying a source of waste carbon dioxide to the second TSA unit to remove VOCs from second TSA unit to prepare the second TSA unit for subsequent operation mode to produce a mixture comprising waste carbon dioxide and VOCs that is then evacuated).
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 122 that at least a portion of CO2 that is adsorbed in separating system 125 and then desorbed to form a tail gas stream. The tail gas stream is further taught in paragraph 94 to be used to desorb siloxanes adsorbed in the siloxane removal system. (wherein said waste carbon dioxide supplied from said membrane carbon dioxide removal system to said second TSA unit removes said VOCs from said second TSA unit by: regenerating said activated carbon within said second TSA unit to produce a mixture of said waste carbon dioxide and said VOCs, and evacuating said mixture from said second TSA unit)
The siloxane cleaning system precedes the separating system 125.
The separating system 125 that receives a stream of biogas and provides an upgraded biogas and a tail gas that comprises at least some of the CO2. The separating system 125 is taught in paragraph 102 to include membrane permeation. (supplying the VOC-depleted biogas from the TSA to a membrane carbon dioxide removal system wherein the membrane-based carbon dioxide removal system removes carbon dioxide from the VOC-depleted biogas to produce both a carbon dioxide depleted biogas and waste carbon dioxide).
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 94 that with temperature swing adsorption, heating releases the trapped siloxanes so that the adsorption column is regenerated and can be used again.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use electricity to generate heat with an electric heater to release the trapped siloxanes in the second TSA.
MONEREAU teaches in paragraph 66 that electric heaters are known to be used for TSA systems.
It would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to use an electric heater to supplement or provide the heat to release the trapped siloxanes.
MONEREAU teaches in paragraph 66 that electric heater is an inexpensive and simple way of providing the heat. (wherein regeneration mode comprises heating said activated carbon within said second TSA unit with an electric heater to regenerate said activated carbon)
FOODY et al. further teach in paragraph 93 that adding a N2 removing PSA system that is provided downstream of separating system 125 that provides a CH4 rich stream comprising CH4 and N2, the PSA system may produce relatively pure CH4 and N2 streams. FOODY et al. explicitly state in paragraph 123 that a PSA nitrogen removal system may preferentially adsorb CH4 or N2. The N2 is taught in paragraph 93 to produce a relatively pure N2 stream. (supplying said carbon-dioxide-depleted biogas to an equilibrium pressure swing adsorption (PSA) system wherein at least a portion of said nitrogen supplied with said carbon-dioxide-depleted biogas passes through the equilibrium pressure swing adsorption system and is withdrawn as a waste nitrogen stream)
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 93 that N2 and/or O2 cleaning systems are known in the art and explicitly teach in one embodiment, one or more cleaning systems include one or more PSA vessels packed with adsorbent selected to adsorb methane and exclude nitrogen. (operating said equilibrium PSA system to adsorb methane therefrom)
FOODY et al. further explicitly explain in paragraph 110 pressure swing adsorption operates by adsorption and desorption.
The methane that had been adsorbed is desorbed in order to collect a relatively pure CH4 stream. A relatively pure CH4 stream separated from a CH4 rich stream comprising CH4 and N2 would comprise a reduced concentration of nitrogen relative to the CH4 rich stream comprising CH4 and N2. (recovering a desorbed methane product stream comprising said methane and having a reduced concentration of nitrogen relative to said carbon-dioxide-depleted biogas)
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 8 that biogas is upgraded to produce renewable natural gas (RNG) (supplying carbon dioxide-depleted biogas to a PSA system to remove nitrogen to produce a nitrogen-depleted biogas wherein the nitrogen-depleted biogas us supplied as a renewable natural gas.
Given that applicant has stated that an equilibrium PSA system is defined by the adsorption of methane and desorption of the methane stream with the methane stream having lower concentration of nitrogen and produces gas meeting the definition of RNG, and FOODY et al. teach all those limitations, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the PSA system that FOODY et al. teach to adsorb methane meet applicant’s standards for an equilibrium PSA system and may be an equilibrium PSA system.
Furthermore, given that FOODY et al. teach all the limitations in the body of the process claim and FOODY et al. teach the production of a relatively pure CH4 stream, the process that FOODY et al. teach would also be considered one that produces a nitrogen dioxide-depleted-biogas.
FOODY et al. also teach that heating releases the trapped siloxanes so that the adsorption column is regenerated and can be used again.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use electricity to generate heat with an electric heater to release the trapped siloxanes in the second TSA.
MONEREAU teaches in paragraph 66 that electric heaters are known to be used for TSA systems.
It would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to use an electric heater to supplement or provide the heat to release the trapped siloxanes.
MONEREAU teaches in paragraph 66 that electric heater is an inexpensive and simple way of providing the heat.
The tail gas exiting the siloxane cleaning system would comprise a mixture of carbon dioxide and siloxanes. (evacuating mixture of waste carbon dioxide and VOCs from second TSA unit)
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 122 that at least a portion of the CO2, N2 from the PSA system may be used as a tail gas stream. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 142 that nitrogen removed may be fed to the tail gas and/or an enriched tail gas. (mixing said waste nitrogen stream formed from said equilibrium pressure swing adsorption system and said mixture of said waste carbon dioxide and said VOCs evacuated from said second TSA unit to produce a mixed waste gas mixture)
FOODY et al. also teach in paragraph 14 that tail gas can be used to generate heat and/or electricity for use in the plant process. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 14 that the tail gas can be enriched with natural gas and combusted for heat or to generate power. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 159 that the tail gas may be sent to a thermal oxidizer. (combusting said mixed waste gas mixture in a thermal oxidizer)
Regarding claim 8, FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 89 that biogas may be cleaned in one or more steps. The one or more steps may be performed prior to feeding the biogas to a separating system and one or more cleaning steps may also be performed on a CH4 rich stream that exists the separating system.
FOODY et al. teach in paragraphs 82-83 that the biogas may be cleaned prior to having the biogas enter the upgrading system.
Biogas may be cooled, compressed, absorbed, adsorbed, and/or coalesced to remove the water. Water is further taught be removed by increasing the pressure. FOODY et al. also teach in paragraph 84 removing hydrogen sulfide with adsorption media or filters (gas conditioning unit with a first pressure).
It would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to conduct a compression step with a gas compression unit, a cooling step with a gas cooling unit and a gas conditioning unit for removing hydrogen sulfide.
Biogas that is pressurized would be expected to have a higher pressure (second pressure higher than first pressure).
Biogas that is cooled would be expected to have a lower temperature (second temperature lower than first temperature).
FOODY et al. teach in paragraphs 94-95 siloxane may be removed with a siloxane removal system that comprises two towers, each having a bed of activated carbon. The siloxane removal system may be based on regenerative adsorption such as temperature swing adsorption. (a VOC removal unit comprising a plurality of temperature swing adsorption (TSA) units)
One tower is actively used while saturated activated carbon in the other tower is emptied and refilled.
FOODY et al. teach that heating releases the trapped siloxanes so that the adsorption column is regenerated and can be used again.
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 94 that tail gas can be used to desorb siloxanes adsorbed on the media. The tail gas is taught in paragraph 100 to comprise at least some of the CO2 that is separated from biogas in a separating system 125. (wherein at least one of said TSA units are configured to accept said temperature reduced biogas and remove said VOCs therefrom to produce a VOC-depleted biogas, wherein said VOC-depleted biogas comprises a reduced amount of said VOCs relative to said temperature reduced biogas, wherein said VOC removal unit includes a plurality of said temperature swing adsorption (TSA) units comprising at least a first TSA unit and a second TSA unit, the first TSA unit and the second TSA unit comprise activated carbon configured to adsorb said VOCs, wherein said first TSA unit is in an operational mode and is configured to accept said temperature reduced biogas and remove said VOCs therefrom to produce said VOC-depleted biogas, and said second TSA unit is n a regeneration mode, wherein said second TSA unit is configured to accept a source of waste carbon dioxide while in said regeneration mode to regenerate said activated carbon within said second TSA unit to remove said VOCs from said second TSA unit to prepare said second TSA unit for a subsequent operational mode)
The siloxane cleaning system precedes the separating system 125.
The separating system 125 that receives a stream of biogas and provides an upgraded biogas and a tail gas that comprises at least some of the CO2.
The separating system 125 is taught in paragraph 102 to include membrane permeation. The siloxane cleaning system is taught in paragraph 94 and may be regenerated with tail gas used to desorb the siloxanes adsorbed on media. The tail gas comprises CO2. (a membrane carbon dioxide removal unit configured to accept said VOC-depleted biogas from said VOC removal unit and remove said carbon dioxide therefrom to produce both a carbon dioxide-depleted biogas and said waste carbon dioxide; said carbon dioxide-depleted biogas comprises a reduced amount of said carbon dioxide relative to said VOC-depleted biogas; wherein said waste carbon dioxide is supplied to said second TSA unit operating in said regeneration mode, and said waste carbon dioxide supplied from said membrane carbon dioxide removal system-unit to said second TSA unit removes said VOCs from said second TSA unit to produce a mixture of said waste carbon dioxide and said VOCs, said mixture of said waste carbon dioxide and said VOCs is evacuated from said second TSA unit)
MONEREAU teaches in paragraph 66 that electric heaters are known to be used for TSA systems.
It would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to use an electric heater to supplement or provide the heat to release the trapped siloxanes.
MONEREAU teaches in paragraph 66 that electric heater is an inexpensive and simple way of providing the heat. (an electric heater configured to heat said activated carbon within said second TSA unit in said regeneration mode, said electric heater heats said activated carbon within said second TSA unit to regenerate said activated carbon within said second TSA unit to prepare said second TSA unit for said subsequent operational mode)
FOODY et al. further teach in paragraph 93 that adding a N2 removing PSA system that is provided downstream of separating system 125 that provides a CH4 rich stream comprising CH4 and N2, the PSA system may produce relatively pure CH4 and N2 streams. FOODY et al. explicitly state in paragraph 123 that a PSA nitrogen removal system may preferentially adsorb CH4 or N2. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 93 that N2 and/or O2 cleaning systems are known in the art and explicitly teach in one embodiment, one or more cleaning systems include one or more PSA vessels packed with adsorbent selected to adsorb methane and exclude nitrogen.
FOODY et al. further explicitly explain in paragraph 110 pressure swing adsorption operates by adsorption and desorption.
The methane that had been adsorbed is desorbed in order to collect a relatively pure CH4 stream. A relatively pure CH4 stream separated from a CH4 rich stream comprising CH4 and N2 would comprise a reduced concentration of nitrogen relative to the CH4 rich stream comprising CH4 and N2. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 122 that at least a portion of the CO2, N2 from the PSA system may be used as a tail gas stream. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 142 that nitrogen removed may be fed to the tail gas and/or an enriched tail gas. (an equilibrium pressure swing adsorption (PSA) unit configured to: receive said carbon-dioxide-depleted biogas from said membrane carbon dioxide removal unit, adsorb methane, and recover a desorbed methane product stream having a reduced concentration of nitrogen relative to said carbon-dioxide-depleted biogas; wherein at least a portion of said nitrogen supplied with said carbon dioxide depleted biogas passes through said equilibrium pressure swing adsorption (PSA system and is withdrawn as a waste nitrogen stream)
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 8 that biogas is upgraded to produce renewable natural gas (RNG) (supplying carbon dioxide-depleted biogas to a PSA system to remove nitrogen to produce a nitrogen-depleted biogas wherein the nitrogen-depleted biogas us supplied as a renewable natural gas.
FOODY et al. teach in paragraphs 23, 57 and Fig 1 B that CH4 rich upgraded biogas that exits separation system 125 and one or more optional biogas cleaning systems is sent to a compressor to compress the CH4 rich upgraded biogas. (a product gas compressor configured to accept the desorbed methane product stream and compress the desorbed methane product stream).
The pressure after the compressor would be expected to be higher than the pressure entering the compressor (fourth pressure greater than the third pressure, with the third pressure of the nitrogen-depleted biogas entering the compressor).
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 159 that if the tail gas has high enough methane content, it may be fed into a thermal oxidizer. The siloxane cleaning system is taught in paragraph 94 and may be regenerated with tail gas used to desorb the siloxanes adsorbed on media. The tail gas exiting the siloxane cleaning system would comprise a mixture of carbon dioxide and siloxanes. (thermal oxidizer configured to accept mixture of carbon dioxide and said VOCs evacuated from second TSA unit)
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 122 that at least a portion of the CO2, N2 from the PSA system may be used as a tail gas stream. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 142 that nitrogen removed may be fed to the tail gas and/or an enriched tail gas. FOODY et al. also teach in paragraph 14 that tail gas can be used to generate heat and/or electricity for use in the plant process. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 14 that the tail gas can be enriched with natural gas and combusted for heat or to generate power. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 159 that the tail gas may be sent to a thermal oxidizer. (thermal oxidizer configured to receive and combust a blended waste gas stream formed by combining a waste nitrogen stream provided from said equilibrium pressure swing adsorption system and said mixture of said waste carbon dioxide and said VOCs evacuated from said second TSA unit.)
Regarding claim 3, FOODY et al. teach in paragraphs 23, 57 and Fig 1 B that CH4 rich upgraded biogas that exits separation system 125 and one or more optional biogas cleaning systems is sent to a compressor to compress the CH4 rich upgraded biogas.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, FOODY et al. teach in paragraphs 82-83 that the biogas may be cleaned prior to having the biogas enter the upgrading system.
The biogas may be cooled, compressed, absorbed, adsorbed, and/or coalesced to remove the water. Water is further taught be removed by increasing the pressure. FOODY et al. also teach in paragraph 84 removing hydrogen sulfide (gas conditioning). FOODY et al. also teach in paragraph 84 removing hydrogen sulfide with adsorption media or filters (gas conditioning unit for hydrogen sulfide removal).
Regarding claim 12, FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 85 that oxygen (O2) may be removed from the biogas by catalytic oxidation. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 96 that an O2 removal system may be downstream of the separating system 125.
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 89 that biogas may be cleaned in one or more steps. The one or more steps may be performed prior to feeding the biogas to a separating system and one or more cleaning steps may also be performed on a CH4 rich stream that exists after the separating system.
It would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to place an O2 removal system after the separating system of removing CO2, after a nitrogen removal system and after a compression system.
Regarding claim 10, FOODY et al. teach in paragraphs 94-95 siloxane may be removed with a siloxane removal system that comprises two towers, each having a bed of activated carbon. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 94 that the TSAs employ adsorbents and removes siloxanes.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, FOODY et al. teach in paragraphs 94-95 siloxane may be removed with a siloxane removal system that comprises two towers, each having a bed of activated carbon.
FOODY et al. teach that heating releases the trapped siloxanes so that the adsorption column is regenerated and can be used again. It would be obvious that the adsorption columns have to cooled for subsequent operation to one of ordinary skill in the art as the adsorption columns would not trap siloxanes unless the temperature is lowered.
Modified FOODY et al. with MONEREAU use electricity to generate heat with an electric heater to release the trapped siloxanes in the second TSA.
MONEREAU teaches in paragraph 66 that electric heaters are known to be used for TSA systems.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, FOODY et al. do teach in paragraphs 102 that the separating system 125 for removing CO2 may comprise multiple stages.
Multiple stages include 2-stage and 3-stages.
Regarding claim 7, FOODY et al. also teach in paragraph 14 that tail gas can be used to generate heat and/or electricity for use in the plant process.
Alternatively, and in addition, selling carbon dioxide is well known in the art and it would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to sell the CO2.
Regarding claim 14, FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 94 adsorbent may be regenerated with waste or recycled heat.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to regenerate the activated carbon with a gas to gas heater or even to electrical heater.
Regarding claims 18-20, FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 94 that tail gas can be used to desorb siloxanes adsorbed on the media. The tail gas is taught in paragraph 100 to comprise at least some of the CO2 that is separated from biogas in a separating system 125. The siloxane removal system is taught in paragraph 94 to utilize waste/recycled heat to release trapped siloxanes to regenerate the adsorbent.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to heat the tail gas that is fed into the siloxane removal system to release trapped siloxanes since FOODY et al. teach that waste/recycled heat may be used.
An electric heater is known in the art for providing the heat to a TSA system.
MONEREAU teaches in paragraph 66 that electric heater is an inexpensive and simple way of providing the heat.
A temperature swing adsorption system is known in the art to functions by heating to desorb and cooling to adsorb.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide heat by turning on the electric heater and cooling by turning off the electric heater.
Regarding claim 21, FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 162 that the tail gas comprises N2 and in one embodiment contains primarily N2 removed from the bio gas. FOODY et al. further teach in paragraphs 14 and 164-165 that the tail gas can be mixed with other gases and combusted for heat and/or power.
FOODY et al. explicitly state in paragraph 123 that a PSA nitrogen removal system may preferentially adsorb CH4 or N2. FOODY et al. further teach in paragraph 93 that adding a N2 removing PSA system that is provided downstream of separating system 125 that provides a CH4 rich stream comprising CH4 and N2, the PSA system may produce relatively pure CH4 and N2 streams.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to evacuate the relative pure N2 stream and use it as a part of the tail gas to generate heat and/or power.
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 14 that doing so improves efficiency.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that FOODY et al. do not teach producing a mixture by combining evacuated waste gas comprising CO2 and VOCs from a second TSA unit and waste nitrogen from PSA unit and then feeding the mixture to a thermal oxidizer to generate heat.
This is not persuasive as tail gas exiting the siloxane cleaning system would comprise a mixture of carbon dioxide and siloxanes. (evacuating mixture of waste carbon dioxide and VOCs from second TSA unit)
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 93 that the PSA system may provide for a relatively pure N2 stream.
FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 122 that at least a portion of the CO2, N2 from the PSA system may be used as a tail gas stream. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 142 that nitrogen removed may be fed to the tail gas and/or an enriched tail gas.
FOODY et al. also teach in paragraph 14 that tail gas can be used to generate heat and/or electricity for use in the plant process. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 14 that the tail gas can be enriched with natural gas and combusted for heat or to generate power. FOODY et al. teach in paragraph 159 that the tail gas may be sent to a thermal oxidizer.
Combining tail gas comprising CO2 and siloxanes with a separate stream of N2 for use and sent to the thermal oxidizer to generate heat would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
FILIPPI (U.S. 9486731) teaches TSA adsorption utilizes alternate phases of heating and cooling to carry out adsorption and desorption (regeneration). This may be done with direct heat exchange or indirect heat exchange.
KNAEBEL (US 8211211) teaches producing methane gas by using multiple pressure swing adsorption and/or temperature swing adsorption stages.
CUTTs (WO 2007 080169) teach methane recovery from a landfill gas.
BRIEND (WO 2017 109305) teach a method and facilities for the production of biomethane from biogas.
CHANTANT (WO 2019 122661) teach a method for producing biomethane by purifying a biogas feed stream.
TANG et al. (Siloxanes Are the Most Abundant Volatile Organic Compound Emitted from Engineering Students in a Classroom) teach that siloxanes are volatile organic compounds.
WILLEXA ENERGY (Siloxanes 101) teach that the most problematic VOCs are called “siloxanes.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MING CHEUNG PO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771