DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s RCE filed 1/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12 and 15 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “second communication to a third” in line 4 should be “second communication device to a third”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the a first” in line 6 should be “wherein the first”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Di Girolamo (US 20230014303).
Re claim 10:
Di Girolamo discloses sending, by a second communication device to a first communication device, first assistance information, wherein the first assistance information is reference information or assistance information for determining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, and the SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device (Fig.19 ref. 203 is a second communication device and ref. 201 is a first communication device and Fig. 19 ref. 283 and Para.[0259] At step 283, peer UE configures the SL DRX for UE 201 and); and
wherein the a first communication device is configured to connect the second communication device to a communication service (Fig.5 ref. 201 UE1 is a first communication device, ref.203 UE3 is a second communication device, and ref. 205 gNB is a third communication device); and
receiving, by the second communication device, the SL DRX configuration from the first communication device (Fig. 19 ref. 284 and Para.[0260] At step 284, UE 201 may accept to SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration. For the latter two options, UE 201 may provide a cause value to UE 203 as to the reason for the modification or rejection. In the case of modification, UE 201 may also provide the SL DRX configuration chosen by UE 201).
Re claim 10 – SECOND GROUNDS OF REJECTION:
Di Girolamo discloses sending, by a second communication device to a first communication device, first assistance information, wherein the first assistance information is reference information or assistance information for determining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, and the SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device (Fig. 18 ref. 271 UE Assistance Information and Para.[0238] At step 271, UE 201 may send information to the controlling/scheduling entity 207 to help the controlling/scheduling entity in configuring the SL DRX); and
wherein the a first communication device is configured to connect the second communication device to a communication service (Fig.5 ref. 201 UE1 is a first communication device, ref.203 UE3 is a second communication device, and ref. 205 gNB is a third communication device); and
receiving, by the second communication device, the SL DRX configuration from the first communication device (Fig. 18 ref. 273 and Para.[0242] At step 273, Controlling/scheduling entity 207 configures the SL DRX for UE 201).
Re claim 11:
Di Girolamo does discloses wherein: the SL connection is a first SL connection and the first assistance information includes at least one of the following information: service information of one or more SL connections other than the first SL connection of the second communication device; or resource configuration of the one or more SL connections other than the first SL connection of the second communication device; or Uu DRX configuration of the second communication device; or a reference SL DRX configuration of the first SL connection or a reference SL DRX configuration of the one or more SL connections other than the first SL connection; or energy saving requirement information of the second communication device; or the reference SL DRX configuration (Para.[0259] At step 283, peer UE configures the SL DRX for UE 201. This may be through a new RRC message, or carried as a new IE in an existing RRC message, or carried in a SLRB (re)configuration).
Re claim 12:
Di Girolamo discloses receiving, by a first communication device, a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration from a third communication device, wherein the SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection between the first communication device and a second communication device (Fig. 17 ref. 253 and ref. 255 and Para.[0227] At step 253, serving cell 205 configures the SL DRX for UE 201 and Para.[0228] Note that UE 201 may accept the SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration); and
sending, by the first communication device, the SL DRX configuration to the second communication device (Fig.17 ref. 256 and Para.[0230] At step 256, UE 201 sends a message to UE 203 to inform UE 203 that UE 201 will be using DRX, and providing the SL DRX configuration); and
receiving, where the SL connection is a first SL connection, from the second communication device information associated with the second communication device for SL connection configuration (Fig.17 ref. 258 SL Source DRX Configuration Response and Para.[0231] At step 258, UE 203 sends a confirmation message to UE 201, confirming that it has received the SL DRX configuration).
Re claim 12: SECOND GROUNDS OF REJECTION
Di Girolamo discloses receiving, by a first communication device, a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration from a third communication device, wherein the SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection between the first communication device and a second communication device (Fig.18 ref. 273 SL DRX Configuration Request ref.201 is a first communication device, ref. 207 is a third communication device); and
sending, by the first communication device, the SL DRX configuration to the second communication device (Fig.18 ref. 276 SL Source DRX Configuration Request and ref. 203 is a second communication device); and
receiving, where the SL connection is a first SL connection, from the second communication device information associated with the second communication device for SL connection configuration (Fig.18 ref. 278 SL Source DRX Configuration Response).
Re claim 13:
Di Girolamo discloses sending, by the first communication device, fifth information to the third communication device, wherein the fifth information is used by the third communication device to determine the SL DRX configuration (Fig. 17 ref. 251 and Para.[0223] At step 251, UE 201 may send information to the serving cell to help the serving cell in configuring the SL DRX. For example, as part of UE Assistance Information. This information may include one or more of the following: 1) number of active SL communications or; 2) indication of the requested DRX parameters).
Re claim 14:
Di Girolamo discloses wherein: the fifth information includes at least one of the following information: service information of the SL connection; or service information of one or more SL connections other than the SL connection of the second communication device; or a resource configuration of the SL connection, that includes a determined resource configuration sent by an SL service and/or an available SL resource configuration set; or an SL DRX configuration of the one or more SL connections other than the SL connection of the second communication device, wherein the SL DRX configuration of one or more SL connections includes a configured SL DRX configuration or a configurable SL DRX configuration; or a resource configuration of the one or more SL connections other than the SL connection of the second communication device; or a Uu DRX configuration of other one or more SL connections other than the SL connection of the second communication device; or energy saving requirement information of the second communication device; or a reference SL DRX configuration (Para.[0223] At step 251, UE 201 may send information to the serving cell to help the serving cell in configuring the SL DRX. For example, as part of UE Assistance Information. This information may include one or more of the following: 1) number of active SL communications or; 2) indication of the requested DRX parameters and Para.[0225] Indication of the requested DRX parameters. These parameters may be based on the SL DRX model. For example, UE 201 may provide an indication that it wants SL DRX for a certain resource pool, frequency, sidelink BWP, sidelink service or service type, cast type, or peer UE, etc. UE 201 may also provide an indication as to the amount of discontinuous reception it is requesting. UE 201 may provide specific DRX parameters (See Table 5)).
Re claim 18:
Di Girolamo discloses determining, by the first communication device based on first information, the SL DRX configuration, wherein the first communication device is a transmit end of the SL connection (Fig. 17 ref. 253 and ref. 255 and Para.[0227] At step 253, serving cell 205 configures the SL DRX for UE 201 and Para.[0228] Note that UE 201 may accept the SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration).
Re claim 19:
Di Girolamo discloses accessing, from the first communication device, the SL DRX configuration (Fig.17 ref. Store SL DRX Configuration and ref. 255 and Para.[0228] At step 254, UE 201 confirms the SL DRX configuration to the Serving Cell. Note that UE 201 may accept the SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration. For example, this may be to coordinate this SL DRX configuration with other SL DRX configurations that are already enabled in the UE).
Re claim 20:
Di Girolamo discloses obtaining, by the first communication device, the SL DRX configuration from the third communication device or the second communication device (Fig. 17 ref. 253 and ref. 255 and Para.[0227] At step 253, serving cell 205 configures the SL DRX for UE 201 and Para.[0228] Note that UE 201 may accept the SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,8,9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Di Girolamo (US 20230014303) in view of Wu (US 11,751,141).
Re claim 1:
Di Girolamo discloses receiving, by a first communication device, (Fig. 17 ref.253 and Para.[0227] At step 253, serving cell 205 configures the SL DRX for UE 201. This may be through a new RRC message, or carried as a new IE in an existing RRC message. This message may be part of the SL radio bearer (SLRB) configuration and Fig. 19 ref. 281),
wherein the first communication device is configured to connect the second communication to a third communication device configured to connect the first communication device and the second communication device to a communication service (Fig.5 ref. 201 UE1 is a first communication device, ref.203 UE3 is a second communication device, and ref. 205 gNB is a third communication device);
determining, by the first communication device based on the first information or at least one candidate sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, an SL DRX configuration, wherein the SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device, and the first communication device is a transmit end of the SL connection (Para.[0228] Note that UE 201 may accept the SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration and Fig. 19 ref. 282); and
sending, by the first communication device, the SL DRX configuration to the second communication device (Fig. 17 ref. 256 and Para.[0230] At step 256, UE 201 sends a message to UE 203 to inform UE 203 that UE 201 will be using DRX, and providing the SL DRX configuration and Fig. 19 ref. 283).
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose receiving first information from a second communication device.
Wu discloses receiving first information from a second communication device (Claim 1 A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from another UE, an indication of a first sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration and Fig.5).
Di Girolamo and Wu are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo to include receiving first information from a second device as taught by Wu in order to improve multiple access technologies (Wu Col.2 lines 7-9).
Re claim 2:
Di Girolamo discloses receiving, by the first communication device, the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration; or accessing, from the first communication device, the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration (Fig. 17 ref.253 and Para.[0227] At step 253, serving cell 205 configures the SL DRX for UE 201. This may be through a new RRC message, or carried as a new IE in an existing RRC message. This message may be part of the SL radio bearer (SLRB) configuration).
Re claim 3:
Di Girolamo discloses wherein the receiving, by the first communication device, the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration comprises: obtaining, by the first communication device, the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration from the third communication device or the second communication device (Fig. 17 ref.253 and Para.[0227] At step 253, serving cell 205 configures the SL DRX for UE 201. This may be through a new RRC message, or carried as a new IE in an existing RRC message. This message may be part of the SL radio bearer (SLRB) configuration).
Re claim 4:
Di Girolamo discloses wherein the obtaining, by the first communication device, the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration from the third communication device comprises: obtaining, by the first communication device, a mapping relationship between the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration and service information (Para.[0178] The UEs may be (pre)provisioned, preconfigured, or configured through dedicated signaling, or through system information, with: [0179] mapping from the service or service type to a service index to be used in the determination of the SL DRX configuration).
As shown above, Di Girolamo discloses a first communication device receiving mapping information via dedicated signaling or through system information. Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose the mapping information is from the third communication device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the mapping information is from the third communication device because the third communication device communicates using dedicated signaling or system information (Para.[0367] A UE may obtain a SL DRX configuration through one or more of the following mechanisms: the configuration may be (pre)provisioned; the configuration may be (pre)configured, the configuration may be provided through system information from a serving cell; the configuration may be provided through dedicated signaling from a serving cell).
Re claim 5:
Di Girolamo discloses wherein the obtaining, by the first communication device, the mapping relationship between the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration and the service information from the third communication device comprises:
obtaining, by the first communication device, the mapping relationship between the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration and the service information via system information or dedicated signaling (Para.[0178] The UEs may be (pre)provisioned, preconfigured, or configured through dedicated signaling, or through system information, with: [0179] mapping from the service or service type to a service index to be used in the determination of the SL DRX configuration).
As shown above, Di Girolamo discloses a first communication device receiving mapping information via dedicated signaling or through system information. Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose the mapping information is from the third communication device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the mapping information is from the third communication device because the third communication device communicates using dedicated signaling or system information (Para.[0367] A UE may obtain a SL DRX configuration through one or more of the following mechanisms: the configuration may be (pre)provisioned; the configuration may be (pre)configured, the configuration may be provided through system information from a serving cell; the configuration may be provided through dedicated signaling from a serving cell).
Re claim 6:
Di Girolamo discloses wherein the obtaining, by the first communication device, the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration from the third communication device comprises:
obtaining, by the first communication device, the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration via system information or dedicated signaling from the third communication device (Para.[0367] A UE may obtain a SL DRX configuration through one or more of the following mechanisms: the configuration may be (pre)provisioned; the configuration may be (pre)configured, the configuration may be provided through system information from a serving cell; the configuration may be provided through dedicated signaling from a serving cell).
Re claim 8:
Di Girolamo discloses wherein the first communication device is in a non-connected mode (Para.[0083] On Uu interface, in RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode the UE performs DRX operation with respect to only one peer cell (serving cell) and Para.[0121] SL_Inactive 211 or SL OFF is described as follows: Sidelink is deactivated and UE 201 does not have any activity, including discovery or communication and Para.[0126] SL_UnLinked 212 is described as follows: UE may transmit or receive only discovery related messages, and no other sidelink communication with peer UEs. In this state, UE 201 may announce or monitor for discovery messages and Para.[0134] Similarly, for the Uu interface, power savings for UE 201 in IDLE/INACTIVE mode is achieved by UE 201 not monitoring for paging messages outside of its paging occasions).
Re claim 9:
Di Girolamo discloses wherein: the SL connection is a first SL connection and the first information includes at least one of the following information: service information of the first SL connection; service information of a second SL connection of the second communication device, wherein the second SL connection includes at least one SL connection other than the first SL connection; or a resource configuration of the first SL connection, including a determined resource configuration sent by an SL service or an available SL resource configuration set; or a resource configuration of the second SL connection of the second communication device, wherein the second SL connection includes at least one SL connection other than the first SL connection; or an SL DRX configuration of the second SL connection of the second communication device, wherein the second SL connection includes at least one SL connection other than the first SL connection, and the SL DRX configuration of the second SL connection includes a configured SL DRX configuration or a configurable SL DRX configuration; or a reference SL DRX configuration; or a Uu DRX configuration of the second communication device, wherein the Uu DRX configuration is used for Uu interface transmission of the second communication device; or energy saving requirement information of the second communication device (Fig. 19 ref. 281 and Para.[0256] At step 281, UE 201 may send UE Assistance Information to the peer UEs for which it would like to use SL DRX and Para.[0257] For example, UE 201 may provide an indication that UE 201 wants DRX for a certain resource pool, frequency, sidelink BWP, sidelink service or service type, cast type, peer UE, etc. UE 201 may also provide an indication as to the amount of DRX UE 201 is requesting. UE 201 may provide specific DRX parameters (See Table 5)).
Re claim 15:
As discussed above, Du Girolamo meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose where in the information associated with the second communication device includes at least one of the following information: service information of the one or more SL connections other than the first SL connection of the second communication device; or resource configuration of the one or more SL connections other than the first SL connection of the second communication device; or Uu DRX configuration of the second communication device; or a reference SL DRX configuration of the first SL connection or a reference SL DRX configuration of the one or more SL connections other than the first SL connection; or energy saving requirement information of the second communication device; or the reference SL DRX configuration.
Wu discloses where in the information associated with the second communication device includes at least one of the following information: service information of the one or more SL connections other than the first SL connection of the second communication device; or resource configuration of the one or more SL connections other than the first SL connection of the second communication device; or Uu DRX configuration of the second communication device; or a reference SL DRX configuration of the first SL connection or a reference SL DRX configuration of the one or more SL connections other than the first SL connection; or energy saving requirement information of the second communication device; or the reference SL DRX configuration (Claim 1 A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from another UE, an indication of a first sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration and Fig.5).
Di Girolamo and Wu are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo to include receiving first information from a second device as taught by Wu in order to improve multiple access technologies (Wu Col.2 lines 7-9).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Girolamo in view of Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Purkayastha (US 20230146058).
Re claim 7:
As discussed above, Du Girolamo in view of Wu meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Di Girolamo discloses wherein the SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device is a first SL connection of more than one SL connection between the first communication device (Para.[0089] For the SL a UE may have multiple SL interfaces to one or more peer UEs).
As shown above, Di Girolamo discloses the UE having multiple SL connections. Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose more than one SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device.
Purkayastha discloses more than one SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device (Para.[0076] The first UE may established multiple unicast links with the second UE and/or may establish other unicast links with other UEs).
Di Girolamo and Purkayastha are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo to include multiple SL connections between a first and second UE as taught by Purkayastha in order to improve power savings (Purkayastha Para.[0051]).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Girolamo in view of Park (US 20220159679).
Re claim 16:
As discussed above, Du Girolamo meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the first communication device, identification information of the SL connection from the third communication device; or the SL DRX configuration includes the identification information of the SL connection.
Park discloses receiving, by the first communication device, identification information of the SL connection from the third communication device; or the SL DRX configuration includes the identification information of the SL connection (Para.[0151] the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE).
Di Girolamo and Park are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo to include identification information of the SL connection as taught by Park in order to generate DRX configuration in consideration of service requirements (Park Para.[0029]).
Re claim 17:
As discussed above, Du Girolamo meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose the identification information of the SL connection includes at least one of an SL connection identifier of the SL connection; an SL link identifier; an identifier of the first communication device; or an identifier of the second communication device.
Park discloses the identification information of the SL connection includes at least one of an SL connection identifier of the SL connection; an SL link identifier; an identifier of the first communication device; or an identifier of the second communication device (Para.[0151] the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE).
Di Girolamo and Park are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo to include identification information of the SL connection as taught by Park in order to generate DRX configuration in consideration of service requirements (Park Para.[0029]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, Applicant contends with regards to claim 10 that Di Girolamo does not disclose sending first assistance information as recited in claim 10 because Di Girolamo distinguishes between UE Assistance Information and SL DRX configuration information and thus it is beyond broadest reasonable interpretation to assert two types of data are the same.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim defines “assistance information” as “reference information or assistance information for determining a SL DRX configuration. The “SL DRX Configuration Request” in figure 19 of Di Girolamo reads on assistance information because it is used as reference information for determining a SL DRX configuration. UEs ref.201 receives the “SL DRX Configuration Request” and uses that information as a reference for determining a SL DRX Configuration (Para.[0260] At step 284, UE 201 may accept to SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration. For the latter two options, UE 201 may provide a cause value to UE 203 as to the reason for the modification or rejection. In the case of modification, UE 201 may also provide the SL DRX configuration chosen by UE 201).
The Examiner is not mapping the limitation “assistance information” to both “the UE Assistance Information” and the “SL DRX Configuration Request” and thus two types of data are not being interpreted as the same. Furthermore, the “assistance information” in the claim is not defined in the claim as any specific protocol version parameter that limits the interpretation to “UE Assistance Information”. As addressed above, the claim defines “assistance information” as “reference information or assistance information for determining a SL DRX configuration.” Therefore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, Di Girolamo reads on the limitation as claimed. The Examiner recommends further defining the “assistance information” in the claim.
In the remarks, Applicant contends with regards to claim 12 that Di Girolamo does not disclose sending information associated with the second communication device for SL connection configuration from and to the components as recited in claim 12 because the configuration response of Di Girolamo does not include information related to SL DRX configuration and is simply a confirmation a configuration request was received.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim states “receiving…from the second communication device information associated with the second communication device for SL connection configuration.” The confirmation message sent at step 258 is “information associated with the second communication device for SL connection configuration” because the confirmation is “information associated” with the SL connection configuration. The claim does not define what the information is nor what the association is. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, information confirming a SL DRX configuration has been received is “information associated with the second communication device for SL connection configuration.” The Examiner recommends further defining the information.
In the remarks, Applicant contends with regards to claim 1 that the combination of Di Girolamo in view of Wu would change the principle of operation and exclude the serving cell from the SL DRX configuration.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Di Girolamo does not limit the SL DRX configuration to being performed only by the serving cell nor does it exclude a UE receiving configuration information from a UE and having a serving cell. Di Girolamo allows the serving cell and the UE to both determine the SL DRX configuration (Para.[0227] At step 253, serving cell 205 configures the SL DRX for UE 201 and Para.[0228] Note that UE 201 may accept the SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration). Furthermore, Wu is not limited to communication being only between UEs (Col.4 lines 42-47 Wireless network 100 may also include relay stations. A relay station is an entity that can receive a transmission of data from an upstream station (e.g., a BS or a UE) and send a transmission of the data to a downstream station (e.g., a UE or a BS). A relay station may also be a UE that can relay transmissions for other UEs). Thus, Wu does not exclude the serving cell and Di Girolamo allows a serving cell and UE to configure SL DRX configuration. Therefore, the combination of Di Girolamo in view of Wu would result in a system where a UE is able to receive configuration information from other UEs and also include a serving cell. The Examiner further notes the claim does not define the “third communication device” as a base station. The Examiner recommends further defining what the first, second, and third communication devices are.
Examiner Note regarding claim interpretation: Two rejections were provided for both claims 10 and 12 to show how the broader claim language allows for multiple reasonable interpretations. The Examiner recommends further defining what the first, second, and third communication devices are in claims 1, 10, and 12.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471