DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 2/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12,16,17, and 19 are amended.
Claims 1-11,13-15,18, and 20 are cancelled.
Claims 21-27 are new.
Claims 12,16,17,19, and 21-27 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12,16,17,19, and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12,21, and 25 recite “fifth information” without having recited first through fourth information.
Claims 16,17,19,22-24,26, and 27 are rejected because they depend from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Di Girolamo (US 20230014303).
Re claim 25:
Di Girolamo discloses a third communication device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory device coupled to the at least on processor and storing processor-executable program instructions configured to cause the at least one processor to (Fig. 26F):
receive, from a first communication device, fifth information useable to determine a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, the fifth information includes a reference SL DRX configuration of a first SL connection from a second communication device (Fig. 17 ref. 253 SL DRX Configuration Request and Para.[0227] At step 253, serving cell 205 configures the SL DRX for UE 201. This may be through a new RRC message, or carried as a new IE in an existing RRC message. This message may be part of the SL radio bearer (SLRB) configuration – Examiner Note: ref. 201 UEa is a second device and a third device and ref. 205 Serving Cell is a first device. The claim does not define the second device and third devices as different);
determine the SL DRX configuration useable for the first SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device based on the fifth information including the reference SL DRX configuration (Para.[0228] Note that UE 201 may accept the SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration. For example, this may be to coordinate this SL DRX configuration with other SL DRX configurations that are already enabled in the UE. For the latter two options, UE 201 may provide a cause value to serving cell 205 as to the reason for the modification or rejection. In the case of modification, UE 201 may also provide the SL DRX configuration chosen by UE 201); and
send, to the first communication device, the SL DRX configuration (Fig. 17 ref. 254 SL DRX Configuration Response and Para.[0228] In the case of modification, UE 201 may also provide the SL DRX configuration chosen by UE 201).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12,19,21,24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Di Girolamo (US 20230014303) in view of Wu (US 11,751,141).
Re claim 12:
Di Girolamo discloses obtaining, by a first communication device (Para.[0238] At step 271, UE 201 may send information to the controlling/scheduling entity 207 to help the controlling/scheduling entity in configuring the SL DRX. For example, as part of UE Assistance Information to the controlling/scheduling entity. This information may include one or more of the following: Para.[0239] Number of active SL communications and Para.[024] Indication of the requested SL DRX parameters);
sending, by the first communication device, fifth information to a third communication device, wherein the fifth information is useable to determine an SL DRX configuration, the fifth information includes the reference SL DRX configuration (Fig.18 ref. 271 UE Assistance Information and ref. 201 UEa is a first communication device and ref. 207 is a third communication device);
receiving, by the first communication device, the SL DRX configuration from the third communication device, wherein the SL DRX configuration is useable for the SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device (Fig.18 ref. 273 SL DRX Configuration Request); and
sending, by the first communication device, the SL DRX configuration to the second communication device (Fig. 18 ref. 276 SL Source DRX Configuration Request and ref. 203 UE2 is a second communication device); and
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose obtaining information, by a first communication device, from a second communication device and sending the obtained information by the first communication device to a third communication device.
Wu discloses obtaining information, by a first communication device, from a second communication device and sending the obtained information by the first communication device to a third communication device (Claim 1 A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from another UE, an indication of a first sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration and Fig.5 and Col.4 lines 42-17 Wireless network 100 may also include relay stations. A relay station is an entity that can receive a transmission of data from an upstream station (e.g., a BS or a UE) and send a transmission of the data to a downstream station (e.g., a UE or a BS). A relay station may also be a UE that can relay transmissions for other UEs).
Di Girolamo and Wu are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo to include receiving first information from a second device as taught by Wu in order to improve multiple access technologies (Wu Col.2 lines 7-9).
Re claim 19:
Di Girolamo discloses the method according to claim 12, further comprising: accessing, from the first communication device, the SL DRX configuration (Fig.17 ref. Store SL DRX Configuration and ref. 255 and Para.[0228] At step 254, UE 201 confirms the SL DRX configuration to the Serving Cell. Note that UE 201 may accept the SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration. For example, this may be to coordinate this SL DRX configuration with other SL DRX configurations that are already enabled in the UE).
Re claim 21: Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 12. Di Girolamo further discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory device coupled to the at least on processor and storing processor-executable program instructions configured to cause the at least one processor to (Fig. 26F).
Re claim 24: Claim 24 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 19.
Re claim 25: SECOND GROUNDS OF REJECTION – Second and third device are different
Claim 25 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 12 from the perspective of the third communication device.
Claim(s) 16,17,22,23,26, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Girolamo (US 20230014303) in view of Wu (US 11,751,141) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Park (US 20220159679).
Re claim 16:
As discussed above, Du Girolamo in view of Wu meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 12, further comprising: receiving, by the first communication device, identification information of the first SL connection from the third communication device; or the SL DRX configuration includes the identification information of the first SL connection.
Park discloses the method according to claim 12, further comprising: receiving, by the first communication device, identification information of the first SL connection from the third communication device; or the SL DRX configuration includes the identification information of the first SL connection (Para.[0151] the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE).
Di Girolamo and Park are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo to include identification information of the SL connection as taught by Park in order to generate DRX configuration in consideration of service requirements (Park Para.[0029]).
Re claim 17:
As discussed above, Du Girolamo in view of Wu meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 16, wherein: the identification information of the first SL connection includes at least one of an SL connection identifier of the first SL connection; an SL link identifier; an identifier of the first communication device; or an identifier of the second communication device.
Park discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the identification information of the first SL connection includes at least one of an SL connection identifier of the first SL connection; an SL link identifier; an identifier of the first communication device; or an identifier of the second communication device (Para.[0151] the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE).
Di Girolamo and Park are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo to include identification information of the SL connection as taught by Park in order to generate DRX configuration in consideration of service requirements (Park Para.[0029]).
Re claim 22: Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 16.
Re claim 23: Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 17.
Re claim 26: SECOND GROUNDS OF REJECTION – Second and third device are different
Claim 26 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 16.
Re claim 27: SECOND GROUNDS OF REJECTION – Second and third device are different
Claim 27 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 17.
Claim(s) 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Girolamo (US 20230014303) in view of Park (US 20220159679).
Re claim 26:
As discussed above, Du Girolamo meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose the third communication device according to claim 25, wherein: the processor-executable program instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to send identification information of the first SL connection to the first communication device; or the SL DRX configuration includes the identification information of the first SL connection.
Park discloses the third communication device according to claim 25, wherein: the processor-executable program instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to send identification information of the first SL connection to the first communication device; or the SL DRX configuration includes the identification information of the first SL connection (Para.[0151] the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE).
Di Girolamo and Park are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo to include identification information of the SL connection as taught by Park in order to generate DRX configuration in consideration of service requirements (Park Para.[0029]).
Re claim 27:
As discussed above, Du Girolamo meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose the third communication device according to claim 26, wherein: the identification information of the first SL connection includes at least one of an SL connection identifier of the first SL connection; an SL link identifier; an identifier of the first communication device; or an identifier of the second communication device.
Park discloses the third communication device according to claim 26, wherein: the identification information of the first SL connection includes at least one of an SL connection identifier of the first SL connection; an SL link identifier; an identifier of the first communication device; or an identifier of the second communication device (Para.[0151] the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE).
Di Girolamo and Park are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo to include identification information of the SL connection as taught by Park in order to generate DRX configuration in consideration of service requirements (Park Para.[0029]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, Applicant contends Di Girolamo does not disclose a device that receives UE assistance information from a UE and then sends the received UE assistance information to any other device.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination of Di Girolamo in view of Wu reads on the limitation as claimed. As discussed above, Di Girolamo discloses a first device sending configuration information to a third device. Then a third device sends a configuration to the first device and the first device sends the received configuration to a second device. Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose the first device obtaining from the second device. Wu discloses the first device obtaining from the second device. Wu further teaches a UE acting a relay. A relay device relays information between devices, such as receiving information from a second device and sending that information to the third device via the relay device and receiving information from a third device and sending that information to a second device via the relay device. Therefore the combination of Di Girolamo in view of Wu reads on the limitation as claimed.
In the remarks, Applicant contends the information in Di Girolamo is irrelevant to any SL DRX configuration of a particular SL connection.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim does not define what the reference SL DRX configuration is other than stating its “usable to determine an SL DRX configuration”. As shown in Di Girolamo the UE assistance information is used to determine an SL DRX configuration. Therefore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, UE assistance information reads on a reference SL DRX configuration.
In the remarks, Applicant contends claim 25 is analogous to claim 12 and the same reasons apply as discussed in the remarks relating to claim 12.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 25 is broader in scope than claim 12 and does not disclose the four steps of message transmissions as discussed regarding claim 12. In claim 25, the second device and the third device are being interpreted as the same device. The claim does not limit the second and third devices as being different. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the disclosure of Di Girolamo reads on the claim limitations as discussed. A second grounds of rejection has also been included that interprets the second and third communication devices as being different devices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471