DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 05 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the at least one headset sensor embedded included in the virtual reality headset" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; the claims do not previously recite a headset sensor that is embedded. Deleting the word “embedded” would obviate this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Omote (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0095534 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Omote discloses a virtual reality system (Abstract), comprising: a virtual reality headset 102, including a processor and a memory, configured to fit around a user's head and render virtual environments ([0049]; [0092]); at least one headset sensor 159/299/710/712/714 included in the virtual reality headset and/or at least one wearable sensor 742 in communication with the virtual reality headset ([0049]; [0055]; [0092]; [0102]); at least one thermoelectric module 210/366 included in the virtual reality headset and operable to heat and/or cool a skin-contacting surface of the virtual reality headset ([0068]-[0071]); and wherein the virtual reality headset receives a selection of at least one virtual environment ([0043]; e.g., selecting a video game); and wherein the virtual reality headset transmits instructions to the at least one thermoelectric module to adjust the temperature of the skin-contacting surface of the virtual reality headset based on the selection of the at least one virtual environment and/or sensor data generated by the at least one headset sensor and/or the at least one wearable sensor ([0034]; [0048]; [0055]; [0083]; e.g., provide heat or cooling responsive to environmental cues in the video game or to the temperature of the user or the ambient environment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omote as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Samec et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0270656 A1; hereinafter known as “Samec”).
Regarding claim 2, Omote discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to expressly disclose that the at least one headset sensor and/or the at least one wearable sensor includes at least one heart rate variability sensor and/or at least one electroencephalography (EEG) sensor. Samec discloses a virtual reality system comprising a virtual reality headset ([1419]; [1435]; [1456]-[1457]) that provides various therapies, including heating/cooling ([2135]-[2138]), and that applies these therapies based on determinations of the user’s physical or mental state, such as by using an EEG sensor to detect stress ([2140]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Omote with an EEG sensor, as taught by Samec, in order to detect and reduce stress of the user.
Regarding claim 9, Omote discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose that the virtual reality headset includes a headset control unit that is configured to heat and/or cool fluid, and wherein the fluid exits the headset control unit, enters a thermal regulation medium proximate to the skin-contacting surface, and then reenters the headset control unit. Samec discloses a virtual reality system comprising a virtual reality headset ([1419]; [1435]; [1456]-[1457]) that provides various therapies, including heating/cooling ([2135]-[2138]), wherein a skin-contacting surface 108 may be heated or cooled using a headset control unit that heats or cools fluid by exiting the headset control unit, entering a thermal regulation medium 29 proximate to the skin-contacting surface, and then reentering the headset control unit ([2135]-[2137]; e.g., thermal regulation medium can be integrated into the frame; cooling coils containing a refrigerant). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Omote with such a headset control unit, fluid, and thermal regulation medium, as taught by Samec, in order to regulate the temperature of the skin-contacting surface.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omote as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Birnbaum et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0364994 A1; cited in the IDS filed 04 November 2022; hereinafter known as “Birnbaum”).
Regarding claim 3, Omote discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose at least one fluid control unit, in communication with the virtual reality headset, configured to regulate a temperature of at least one thermoregulating article, wherein the virtual reality headset transmits instructions to the at least one fluid control unit to adjust the temperature of the at least one thermoregulating article based on the selection of the at least one virtual environment and/or the sensor data generated by the at least one headset sensor and/or the at least one wearable sensor. Birnbaum discloses a virtual reality system comprising a virtual reality headset (Abstract; [0018]; [0041]) that provides heating/cooling via thermoelectric modules ([0017]; [0031]; [0034]) and that further includes a fluid control unit, in communication with the virtual reality headset, that regulates a temperature of at least one thermoregulating article, wherein the virtual reality headset transmits instructions to the fluid control unit to adjust the temperature of the at least one thermoregulating article based on the virtual environment and/or sensor data in order to safely further mimic or reflect events in the virtual environment ([0020]; [0027]-[0028]; [0031]; [0041]-[0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Omote with such a fluid control unit and thermoregulating article, as taught by Birnbaum, in order to safely further mimic or reflect events in the virtual environment.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Omote and Birnbaum discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Birnbaum further discloses that the at least one thermoregulating article includes at least one mattress pad, at least one mattress, at least one blanket, at least one pillow, at least one piece of furniture, and/or at least one article of clothing ([0031]; [0041]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omote as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheaz et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0321744 A1; hereinafter known as “Cheaz”).
Regarding claim 5, Omote discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose that the at least one virtual environment is automatically changed based on sensor data, generated by the at least one headset sensor and/or the at least one wearable sensor, indicating a stress level of a user. Cheaz discloses a virtual reality system comprising a virtual reality headset (Abstract; [0016]-[0018]) that automatically changes a virtual environment based on sensor data that indicates a stress level of a user in order to customize the environment and difficulty to the user’s stress level and the intended user experience ([0015]-[0016]; [0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Omote by automatically changing the at least one virtual environment based on sensor data that indicates a stress level of a user, as taught by Cheaz, in order to customize the environment and difficulty to the user’s stress level and the intended user experience.
Regarding claim 6, Omote discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose that the selection of the at least one virtual environment is automatically made based on sensor data from the at least one headset sensor embedded included in the virtual reality headset and/or sensor data from the at least one wearable sensor. Cheaz discloses a virtual reality system comprising a virtual reality headset (Abstract; [0016]-[0018]) that automatically selects a virtual environment based on sensor data in order to customize the environment and difficulty to the user’s stress level and the intended user experience ([0015]-[0016]; [0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Omote by automatically selecting the at least one virtual environment based on sensor, as taught by Cheaz, in order to customize the environment and difficulty to the user’s stress level and the intended user experience.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omote as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ok (KR 102032425 B1). Omote discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose that the virtual reality headset is in communication with at least one LiDAR sensor, configured to detect changes in a position of the user's body, and wherein the position of an avatar of the user within the at least one virtual reality environment is changed based on sensor data generated by the at least one LiDAR sensor. Ok discloses a virtual reality system comprising a virtual reality headset (Abstract; Figs. 4, 5), wherein the headset is in communication with at least one LiDAR sensor, configured to detect changes in a position of the user's body, and wherein the position of an avatar of the user within the at least one virtual reality environment is changed based on sensor data generated by the at least one LiDAR sensor, in order to provide motion tracking of the user so as to control the motion of the avatar within the VR environment (“The position tracking sensor module 200 is installed in a plurality of real game space 10 of the user, and measures the position of the user to which the motion capture sensor module is attached via a LiDAR sensor to the central processing terminal ( 300)”; “The central processing terminal 300 implements a virtual reality game image based on the joint motion data received through the motion capture sensor module 100 and the position measurement data received through the position tracking sensor module 200. It is possible to control the motion of the avatar in the real game image”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Omote with such a LiDAR sensor for detecting changes in a position of the user's body and for changing the position of an avatar of the user within the at least one virtual reality environment based on sensor data generated by the at least one LiDAR sensor, as taught by Ok, in order to provide motion tracking of the user so as to control the motion of the avatar within the VR environment.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omote as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gruneberg et al. (WO 2020/167975 A1; cited in the IDS filed 04 November 2022; hereinafter known as “Gruneberg”). Omote discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose that the virtual reality headset automatically generates a suggested workout and/or a suggested meditation based on sensor data generated by the at least one headset sensor and/or the at least one wearable sensor. Gruneberg discloses a virtual reality system comprising a virtual reality headset (Abstract; [035]-[038]), wherein the headset automatically generates a suggested workout and/or a suggested meditation based on sensor data in order to improve effectiveness, efficiency, and quality of meditation and facilitate improvement of the user’s well-being ([005]; [034]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Omote so that the virtual reality headset automatically generates a suggested workout and/or a suggested meditation based on sensor data, as taught by Gruneberg, in order to improve effectiveness, efficiency, and quality of meditation and facilitate improvement of the user’s well-being.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0116601 A1) and Bae (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0385298 A1) both teach a VR headset that provides thermal feedback using a thermoelectric module based upon a thermal event in the virtual environment. Min (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0011545 A1) teaches a VR headset that can change a virtual environment based upon sensed stress of the user.
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791