DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed June 9, 2025, June 18, 2025, and September 16, 2025, have been submitted for consideration by the Office. They have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-11, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solon (Pub Num 2016/0072431) in view of Fahey (Pat Num 7,511,226). Solon discloses a trunk bus connector (Figs 5-60) that couples a plurality of electrical trunking assemblies without the usage of a combiner box (abstract). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Solon discloses a trunk bus connector (35, Fig 8) for electrically coupling one or more branch cables (12) to a trunk line (14), wherein the connector (35) comprising a junction area (located at 20, Fig 35), where stripped portions of the one or more branch cables (left and right 12, Paragraph 94) can lay flat against a striped portion of the trunk line (14) to electrically couple the branch cables (12) to the trunk line (14, Fig 35), an overmold (24, Fig 48) substantially encapsulating the junction area (located at 20), wherein the overmold (24) comprising one or more branch entry pathways (Fig 47) disposed proximate one or more corners of the overmold (24) forming one or more trunk line entry pathways (Fig 47), wherein the one or more branch entry pathways (Fig 47) are angled so that the branch cable (left and right 12) enters into the junction area (located at 20) to be coupled with the trunk line (14) such that two bends in the branch cable (12) are required inside the connector (35, Fig 47) and an undermold (22, Fig 48) for securing the stripped portions (located at 20, Fig 35) of the trunk cable (14) and branch cables (left and right 12) together (Fig 47). With respect to claim 6, Solon discloses that the trunk line entry pathways (top hole, Figs 24 & 26) have a larger diameter than the branch entry pathways (bottom hole, Figs 24 & 26) so that the trunk line entry pathways may accept a larger diameter line (Figs 24 & 26). With respect to claim 7, Solon discloses that a plurality of trunk bus connectors (35, Figs 5-6) may be placed in tandem along a single trunk line (14, Figs 5-6). With respect to claim 8, Solon discloses that the trunk bus connector (35) comprising two branch entry pathways (left and right top pathways for feeder line 14, Fig 7). With respect to claim 9, Solon discloses that the bus connector (35) comprising three branch entry pathways (left and right top pathways for feeder line 14, and one pathway for feeder line 12, Fig 7). With respect to claim 10, Solon discloses that the bus connector (35) comprising four branch entry pathways (left and right top pathways for feeder line 14, and left and right pathway for feeder line 12, Fig 31). With respect to claim 11, Solon discloses a method of coupling one or more branch cables (left and right 12) to a trunk line (14, Fig 29), wherein the method comprising stripping the trunk line (14) to reveal a junction portion (located at 20) of the trunk line (14, Paragraph 94), b. stripping ends of the one or more branch cables Left and right 12) to be coupled to the trunk line (14, Paragraph 94), c. providing a connector (20) comprising a junction area (located at 20) where the stripped portions of the one or more branch cables (left and right 20) can lay flat against the junction portion of the trunk line (14, Figs 35-38) to electrically couple the branch cables (left and right 12) to the trunk line (14), and an overmold (24) substantially encapsulating the junction area (located at 20), wherein the overmold (24) comprising one or more branch entry pathways (Fig 47) disposed proximate one or more corners of the overmold (24) forming one or more trunk line entry pathways (Fig 47), wherein the one or more branch entry pathways (Fig 47) are angled so that the branch cable (left and right 12) enters into the junction area (located at 20) to be coupled with the trunk line (14) such that two bends in the branch cable (12) are required inside the connector (35, Fig 47) and an undermold (22, Fig 48) for securing the stripped portions (located at 20, Fig 35) of the trunk cable (14) and branch cables (left and right 12) together (Fig 47), and d. inserting the one or more stripped branch cable ends (left and right 12) into the connector (20, Fig 35) and e. securing the connector (20) to couple the branch cables (left and right 12) to the trunk line (14, Fig 35). With respect to claim 16, Solon discloses a method wherein the trunk line entry pathways (top hole, Figs 24 & 26) have a larger diameter than the branch entry pathways (bottom hole, Figs 24 & 26) so that the trunk line entry pathways may accept a larger diameter line (Figs 24 & 26). With respect to claim 17, Solon discloses a method wherein a plurality of trunk bus connectors (35, Figs 5-6) may be placed in tandem along a single trunk line (14, Figs 5-6). With respect to claim 18, Solon discloses a method wherein the trunk bus connector (35) comprising two branch entry pathways (left and right top pathways for feeder line 14, Fig 7). With respect to claim 19, Solon discloses a method wherein the bus connector (35) comprising three branch entry pathways (left and right top pathways for feeder line 14, and one pathway for feeder line 12, Fig 7). With respect to claim 20, Solon discloses a method wherein the bus connector (35) comprising four branch entry pathways (left and right top pathways for feeder line 14, and left and right pathway for feeder line 12, Fig 31).
While Solon discloses that the one or more branch entry pathways (Fig 47) are bent and angled so that the branch cable (left and right 12) enters into the junction area (located at 20) to be coupled with the trunk line (14) such that two bends in the branch cable (12) are required inside the connector (35, Fig 47), Solon doesn’t necessarily disclose the branch cable being coupled with the trunk line within the junction area such that only a single bend in the branch cable is required inside the trunk bus connector (claim 1), nor the method of coupling one or more branch cable to a trunk line, wherein the method comprises inserting the branch cable being coupled with the trunk line within the junction area such that only a single bend in the branch cable is required inside the trunk bus connector (claim 11).
Fahay teaches a wiring assembly (Figs 1-3) that is pre-manufactured and designed, adapted for installation in buildings (Col 7, lines 1-5), and comprises a plurality of trunk bus connectors (i.e. backbone) for holding together a branch cable connected to a main cable, which can be manufactured very economically in a factory so the cost associated with such manufacturing is reduced (Col 4, lines 1-7), while also reducing the time necessarily for a specialist electrician or other electrical installer to spend baring the wires and connecting electrical connectors (Col 7, lines 19-25). Specifically, with respect to claims 1 & 11, Fahay teaches a trunk bus connector (46, Fig 3) for electrically coupling one or more branch cables (40) to a trunk line (36), wherein the connector (46) comprising a junction area (54, Fig 3), where stripped portions of the one or more branch cables (40) can lay flat against a striped portion of the trunk line (36) to electrically couple the branch cables (40) to the trunk line (36, Fig 35), an overcoat (56, Fig 3) substantially encapsulating the junction area (54), wherein the overcoat (56) comprising one or more branch entry pathways (Fig 3) disposed proximate one or more corners of the overcoat (56) forming one or more trunk line entry pathways (Fig 3), wherein the one or more branch entry pathways (Fig 3) are angled so that the branch cable (40) enters into the junction area (54) to be coupled with the trunk line (36) such that the branch cable (40) within the junction area (547) such that only a single bend in the branch cable (40) is required inside the trunk bus connector (46, Fig 3).
With respect to claims 1 & 11, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the trunk bus connector of Solon to comprise wherein the one or more branch entry pathways being angled so that the branch cable enters into the junction area to be coupled with the trunk line such that only a single bend in the branch cable is required inside the trunk bus connector, rather than a two bend configuration, as taught by Fahay because Fahay teaches that such a configuration provides a wiring assembly (Figs 1-3) that is pre-manufactured and designed, adapted for installation in buildings (Col 7, lines 1-5), and comprises a plurality of trunk bus connectors (i.e. backbone) for holding together a branch cable connected to a main cable, which can be manufactured very economically in a factory so the cost associated with such manufacturing is reduced (Col 4, lines 1-7), while also reducing the time necessarily for a specialist electrician or other electrical installer to spend baring the wires and connecting electrical connectors (Col 7, lines 19-25) and since it has been held that a change in form cannot sustain patentability where involved is only extended application of obvious attributes from a prior art. In re Span-Deck Inc. vs. Fab-Con Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPQ 835.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solon (Pub Num 2016/0072431) in view of Fahey (Pat Num 7,511,226), as applied to claims 1 & 11 above (herein referred to as modified Solon), further in view of Byrne et al (Pat Num 9,531,145, herein referred to as Byrne). Modified Solon discloses a trunk bus connector (Figs 5-60) that couples a plurality of electrical trunking assemblies without the usage of a combiner box (abstract), as disclosed above with respect to claims 1 & 11.
While modified Solon discloses that the one or more branch entry pathways (Fig 47) are angled so that the branch cable (left and right 12) enters into the junction area (located at 20) to be coupled with the trunk line (14) such that only a single bend in the branch cable (12) is required inside the connector (35, Fig 47), Solon doesn’t necessarily disclose the branch entry pathways are angled at approximately 30 to 50 degrees relative to the trunk line entry pathways (claims 4 & 14), nor the branch entry pathways are angled at approximately 45 degrees relative to the trunk line entry pathways (claims 5 & 15).
Byrne teaches a branched electrical system (Figs 1-24) configurable to provide multiple user with access to electrical power in different environments (Col 4, lines 15-20), wherein branches can be added or removed as desired (Col 4, lines 36-42), wherein the angles and/or orientation of the branch lines to the main line may be selected according to the general direction of the branch line to provide visual cue to an installer of the general direction of the flow of electrical current through the branched electrical system so that proper orientation of the branched line relative to another can be readily ascertained without reference to power plug and electrical connectors (Col 8, lines 1-13). Specifically, with respect to claims 4-5 and 14-15, Byrne teaches a branch connector (60, Figs 6-11) housing the main cable (52) in the main section (Figs 6-11), wherein the one or more branch entry pathways (located at 60d) is angled so that the branch cable (50) enters into the junction area (located at 60) to be coupled with the trunk line (52), wherein the angle at which the branch cable (50) approaches the trunk line (52) and the angle the branch entry pathways (located at 60d) may be angled at approximately 30-50 degrees (i.e. 45o, as shown in Fig 15, Col 8, lines 15-20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the trunk bus connector of modified Solon to comprise the branch cable approaching the trunk line and the branch entry pathways to be between approximately 45 degrees configuration as taught by Byrne because Byrne teaches that such a configuration provides a branched electrical system (Figs 1-24) configurable to provide multiple user with access to electrical power in different environments (Col 4, lines 15-20), wherein branches can be added or removed as desired (Col 4, lines 36-42), wherein the angles and/or orientation of the branch lines to the main line may be selected according to the general direction of the branch line to provide visual cue to an installer of the general direction of the flow of electrical current through the branched electrical system so that proper orientation of the branched line relative to another can be readily ascertained without reference to power plug and electrical connectors (Col 8, lines 1-13) and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-11, and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various trunk bus connectors.
Based on the new rejection, this action is a Non-Final Rejection.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
December 8, 2025
.