--DETAILED ACTION--
Applicant’s response dated January 5, 2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
This application claims benefit in provisional application 63/224,231 filed on 07/21/2021.
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 12-35 are pending. Claims 2-11 were canceled. Claims 21-31, 34, and 35 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 12-20, 32, and 33 are examined.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1, 12-20, 32, and 33), drawn to a method of treating and maintaining turf, in the reply filed on January 5, 2026, is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground that no serious search and/or examination burden exists as the product is overlapping the search for the process of using the product and the present restriction does not even indicate that there is a serious search and/or examination burden.
Applicant’s arguments were fully considered, however they were found unpersuasive. The restriction requirement in the current application is deemed proper because the invention groups lack unity under PCT Rule 13.1 as shown in the restriction requirement of November 5, 2026. Moreover, Applicant’s arguments regarding search burden are misplaced inasmuch as search burden is not a criterion for restriction under the PCT rules for assessing unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Accordingly, claims 21-31, 34, and 35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being withdrawn to a non-elected invention, and non-elected species of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims. Please note that after a final requirement for restriction, the Applicants, in addition to making any response due on the remainder of the action, may petition the Commissioner to review the requirement. Petition may be deferred until after final action on or allowance of claims to the invention elected, but must be filed not later than appeal. A petition will not be considered if reconsideration of the requirement was not requested. (See § 1.181.).
Response to the restriction requirement of November 5, 2025, was timely filed.
Claims 1, 12-20, 32, and 33 are examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because Nitrogen is capitalized in the middle of a sentence, which is improper because nitrogen is a common noun and should only be capitalized when it occurs at the beginning of a sentence.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12-20, 32, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high-pressure” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-pressure” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 14, 32, and 33 recite “unwanted hydration”. This term renders the claims indefinite because unwanted is a subjective term.
Claim 17 recites “a coffee powder that includes Nitrogen content around 2.5%”. The claim is indefinite because it does not provide units of the concentration of nitrogen in the coffee.
Claims 12, 13, 15, 16, and 18-20 are indefinite because the claims depend from an indefinite base claim.
Claims Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over des Garennes (US 7,581,684 B2 Date of Patent September 1, 2009) and Verschoor (WO 2017/058009 A1 Published April 6, 2017).
The claims are drawn to a method of treatment and maintaining a turf.
The teachings of des Garennes are related to a towable device for treating and maintaining turf, which includes at least one roller and manifold assembly that further includes at least one injection head for directing periodic jets of liquid and at least one additive material into the ground, where the at least one injection head creates a discharge pattern greater than 30 inches in width. Also included is a liquid supply system for supplying pressurized liquid to the at least one injection head, an additive supply system for introducing the at least one additive material to the liquid within the at least one injection head, and a control system for controlling discharge from the at least one injection head (Abstract). Additionally, a method of treating and maintaining turf is encompassed, which includes the steps of producing successive jets of pressurized liquid, directing the successive jets of pressurized liquid toward the ground, creating a distribution pattern greater than 30 inches in width along a path of travel, and where the successive jets of pressurized liquid are at spaced intervals along the path of travel, producing successive charges of at least one additive material, maintaining each charge of the at least one additive material isolated from the liquid until a corresponding jet has been produced, and introducing a charge of the at least one additive material into the corresponding jet as the corresponding jet is directed toward the ground (column 2 lines 10-25). A substance, such as a liquid, solid or air, may be used to effectively drill a hole in the soil. This hole may have a diameter in the range 0.1 to 2.0 inches. Substantially simultaneously, the created hole may be filled with a soil amendment. Upon filling, the surface of the soil is left substantially smooth, with minimal soil disruption and displacement (column 3 lines 37-43).
Des Garennes does not teach a plurality of sifters.
The teachings of Verschoor are related to a device for treating soil with a liquid and sand (Abstract). Although the present invention is focused on improving the injection of wet sand, it
will be understood that together with the sand, other substances may be injected such as
earth, calcined clay, seeds, insecticides, herbicides, fungicides, root stimulants, fertilizers,
5 and other substances (page 4 lines 2-5). In an embodiment, the device comprises a plurality of funnels defined at a bottom of each sand tray for guiding the sand into the sand supply tubes each bottom end of a funnel has a sand supply tube connected to it. The funnels are arranged in a row and achieve an effective and substantially equal distribution of the sand (last paragraph on page 4). In an embodiment, each sand tray comprises a sieve. This allows the use of uncleaned sand which is generally available (page 5 lines 1-2). In an embodiment, the device comprises or more sand trays positioned downstream from the sand storage compartment (page 6 lines 7-8).
The teachings of des Garennes and Verschoor are related to devices for treating soil with fillers and it would have been obvious to have combined their teachings because they are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 1, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have treated a turf comprising the steps of producing successive jets of pressurized liquid, directing the successive jets of pressurized liquid toward the ground, creating a distribution pattern greater than 30 inches in width along a path of travel, and where the successive jets of pressurized liquid are at spaced intervals along the path of travel, producing successive charges of at least one additive material, maintaining each charge of the at least one additive material isolated from the liquid until a corresponding jet has been produced, and introducing a charge of the at least one additive material into the corresponding jet as the corresponding jet is directed toward the ground, wherein the liquid is used to drill a hole in the soil having a diameter in the range 0.1 to 2.0 inches, with a reasonable expectation of success because des Garennes teaches said method of treating turf.
The claimed step of producing successive high-pressure jets of pressurized liquid is met because the prior art method teaches producing successive jets of pressurized liquid.
The claimed step of “directing said successive jets” is met because prior art teaches directing the successive jets of pressurized liquid toward the ground, creating a distribution pattern greater than 30 inches in width along a path of travel, and where the successive jets of pressurized liquid are at spaced intervals along the path of travel, producing successive charges of at least one additive material, wherein the liquid is used to drill a hole in the soil having a diameter in the range 0.1 to 2.0 inches.
The step of “producing successive charges” is met because the prior art teaches producing successive charges of at least one additive material.
The step of “maintaining each charge” is met because the prior art teaches maintaining each charge of the at least one additive material isolated from the liquid until a corresponding jet has been produced, and introducing a charge of the at least one additive material into the corresponding jet as the corresponding jet is directed toward the ground.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Garennes to include a plurality of sifters for the additive material to pass through before the hopper as taught by Verschoor. One of skill would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the additive particle size and prevent clogging of the device by clumps.
The step of “introducing a charge” is met because the prior art teaches introducing a charge of the at least one additive material into the corresponding jet as the corresponding jet is directed toward the ground.
Claims 12, 13, 15, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over des Garennes and Verschoor as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Williams (WO 98/12154 Published March 26, 1998).
The teachings of des Garennes and Verschoor are relied upon as summarized above. They do not teach a superabsorbent polymer.
The teachings of Williams are related to a solid additive comprising a superabsorbent polymer and growth-promoting additive. The superabsorbent polymer is a polyacrylate and is in a particulate form, and the growth-promoting additive is absorbed therein (Abstract). The soil additive is in the form of particles (page 5 lines 16-26). As a result of inherent water absorbent properties, superabsorbent polymers tend to swell on contact with water. The super absorbent polymer, after treatment for use in the soil additive of the present invention, preferably has an absorption capacity index (ACI) that is in the range of about 4-50. The ACI is defined as: (weight of water saturated gel polymer - polymer dry weight)/polymer dry wt. The ACI of an anionic super absorbent polymer, such as the polyacrylate polymers, may be decreased by crosslinking of the polymer with cations. Examples of chemical compounds that may be added to the aqueous solution to effect cross-linking include soluble salts of at least one of an alkaline metal, an alkaline earth metal, aluminum, copper (II), iron (III) and zinc. Examples of such salts include calcium chloride, calcium nitrate, dicalcium phosphate, tricalcium phosphate, magnesium chloride, magnesium nitrate, magnesium sulphate potassium nitrate, dipotassium phosphate, superphosphate, disodium phosphate, barium chloride, barium nitrate, disodium phosphate, trisodium phosphate, sodium nitrate, aluminum sulphate, aluminum nitrate, zinc sulphate and zinc nitrate. In addition, salts of ammonium ions, e.g. diammonium phosphate, triammonium phosphate and especially ammonium nitrate may be used. Calcium hydroxide may also be included to aid in deswelling the SAP. In preferred embodiments of the present invention the cation used is potassium, calcium or ammonium or a combination of these cations, and the anion is nitrate. The amounts of cross-linking agent and growth-promoting additive are adjusted so that the absorption capacity index (ACI) of the super absorbent gel polymer is preferably in the range of about 4-50, as indicated above. This is substantially less than ACI typically characteristic of super absorbent polymers, which is substantially above 100 (pages 9 and 10).
Regarding claims 12 and 15, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used superabsorbent polymer particles having a growth promoting additive absorbed the polymer, as the turf treatment in the method of des Garennes modified by Verchoor, with a reasonable expectation of success because Williams teaches a soil treatment comprising superabsorbent polymer particles having a growth promoting additive absorbed in the polymer, wherein the treatment is in the particulate form. The selection of a known material based on its suitable for its intended purpose supports obviousness. The “wherein” clause in claim 15 describes the effect of the filler on the additive. The growth promoting additive and the SAP meet the limitations of the filler and the additive, where the growth promoting additive can be considered the additive or the filler, and the SAP can be considered the additive or the filler. The two components increasing the handling time of each other, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to have used superabsorbent polymer particles having urea absorbed therein because Williams teaches forming the particles comprising a growth-promoting additive absorbed in the particles wherein the additive is urea (page 6 lines 11-13). Williams teaches that a high concentration of urea in the sodium polyacrylate (SAP) increases its rewet ACI. By incorporation of high urea concentration in the gel structure it is possible to achieve nitrogen levels not achievable using super absorbent polymer polymerization processes with use of nitrogen containing salts (page 11 lines 27-32).
Regarding claim 16, the growth promoting additive such as urea provides nutrient advantages to the soil because it is a known fertilizer.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, it would have been obvious to have formed the SAP by crosslinking the polymer with cations comprising iron, copper, and zinc, with a reasonable expectation of success because Williams teaches that the SAP is formed by crosslinking a polymer such as polyacrylate polymers with cations comprising iron, copper, and zinc.
Regarding claim 20, the crosslinking cations iron, copper, and zinc are considered fillers and the SAP is considered the additive. By crosslinking the polymer chains, the cations enhance the water holding abilities of the polymer. A crosslinked polymer holds more water compared to a polymer that is not crosslinked.
Claims 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over des Garennes and Verschoor as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Williams and Ferguson (GB 2 067 545 A Published January 23, 1980).
The claims further define the filler component.
The teachings of des Garennes are relied upon as summarized above, which does not teach a filler as claimed.
The teachings of Williams are relied upon as summarized above.
The teachings of Ferguson are related to free flowing granular fertilizer comprising expanded, substantially oil-free coffee grounds as a carrier coated and impregnated with urea-formaldehyde condensation product, where the coffee grounds are obtained as a waste product from instant coffee manufacturers (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used superabsorbent polymer particles having a growth promoting additive absorbed the polymer, as the turf treatment in the method of des Garennes modified by Verschoor, with a reasonable expectation of success because Williams teaches a soil treatment composition comprising superabsorbent polymer particles having a growth promoting additive absorbed in the polymer, wherein the treatment is in the particulate form. The selection of a known material based on its suitable for its intended purpose supports obviousness. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to have applied Williams’ particulate composition using the device of des Garennes as modified by Verschoor because the device would have been suitable for applying Williams’ composition to the soil.
It would have been further obvious to have combined the superabsorbent polymer particles having a growth-promoting additive absorbed therein as taught by Williams with a free flowing granular fertilizer comprising coffee grounds as a carrier coated with a urea-formaldehyde condensation product, with a reasonable expectation of success because Ferguson teaches a free flowing granular fertilizer comprising coffee grounds as a carrier coated with a urea-formaldehyde condensation product and combining two compositions known to be useful for the same purpose to form a third composition suitable for use for the same purpose supports obviousness. Ferguson teaches that the fertilizer is a highly effective slow release fertilizer based on the use of a readily available waste material, as a carrier, that is using coffee grounds. The fertilizer has free-flowing properties and contains large amounts of nitrogen nutrient in a form which is slowly released to the soil (page 8 lines 55-59). Similarly, Williams teaches that the SAP particles comprising the growth promoting additive are intended to slowly release the additive over time into soil as soil alternates between wet and dry periods (page 13 lines 20-25).
As evidenced by claims 32 and 33, coffee prevents unwanted hydration on the additive material from the ambient air. Therefore, coffee meets the limitation of filler in claim 14. The limitations of claim 17 are met because Ferguson teaches that coffee contains total nitrogen content of 2.82%, which renders the claimed concentration of around 2.5% obvious.
Claims 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over des Garennes, Verschoor, and Williams as applied to claims 12, 13, 15, 16, and 18-20 above, and further in view of Ferguson (GB 2 067 545 A Published January 23, 1980).
The claims further define the filler component.
The teachings of des Garennes, Verschoor, and Williams are relied upon as summarized above, which do not teach a filler as claimed.
The teachings of Ferguson are related to free flowing granular fertilizer comprising expanded, substantially oil-free coffee grounds as a carrier coated and impregnated with urea-formaldehyde condensation product, where the coffee grounds are obtained as a waste product from instant coffee manufacturers (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the superabsorbent polymer particles having a growth-promoting additive absorbed therein as taught by Williams with a free flowing granular fertilizer comprising coffee grounds as a carrier coated with a urea-formaldehyde condensation product, with a reasonable expectation of success because Ferguson teaches a free flowing granular fertilizer comprising coffee grounds as a carrier coated with a urea-formaldehyde condensation product and combining two compositions known to be useful for the same purpose to form a third composition suitable for use for the same purpose supports obviousness. Ferguson teaches that the fertilizer is a highly effective slow release fertilizer based on the use of a readily available waste material, as a carrier, that is using coffee grounds. The fertilizer has free-flowing properties and contains large amounts of nitrogen nutrient in a form which is slowly released to the soil (page 8 lines 55-59). Similarly, Williams teaches that the SAP particles comprising the growth promoting additive are intended to slowly release the additive over time into soil as soil alternates between wet and dry periods (page 13 lines 20-25).
Combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results supports obviousness.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ALMA PIPIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617