Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 8, 9, 12, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 4, 5, 16, and 18 include the limitation "wherein the second coupling protrusion includes at least two different types of coupling holes, with one type of coupling hole for fixing the cover plate to cover the upper surfaces of the battery stacks." There is no support in the instant specification for coupling the second coupling protrusion to the cover plate. The two types of coupling holes in the second coupling protrusions described in the instant specification are for (1) coupling to the side plates of the same battery and for (2) coupling to the first coupling protrusions of the battery module below (p. 11 and Fig. 3 of the instant specification).
Claims 8, 9, 12, 17, 19, and 20 depend from these claims and therefore include the same unsupported limitation.
For the purpose of examination, the limitations will be read as "wherein the second coupling protrusion includes at least two different types of coupling holes, with one type of coupling hole for fixing the side plate of the same battery module," consistent with p. 11 of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2011/0151311 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2016/0315366 A1) and Handing et al. (US 2018/0212216 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Lee teaches a battery module comprising a battery stack (unit cells 110), a bottom plate (lower frame 130), end plates (150) sandwiching the stack in the stacking direction, and side plates (140) covering the other sides, with coupling protrusions (vertical supports 140b) extending up from the side plates and coupling protrusions (bent portions 132) extending down from the bottom plate (Fig. 2).
The plates are attached at their ends to the end plates 150 and have therefore necessarily been adjusted in length (and therefore shape) based on the length of the stack.
Lee does not teach that the first coupling protrusions extend from a hollow structure. Wang teaches a battery thermal management system comprising hollow side plates (manifolds 70 and 74; Wang Figs. 2 and 3). Wang teaches that this system allows for thermal regulation of the battery cells (Wang [0026]) with uniform temperature distribution (Wang [0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to incorporate the cooling system of Wang into the battery of Lee in order to uniformly regulate the temperature of the cells, including the hollow side plates from which the coupling protrusions would protrude.
Lee does not teach that the second coupling protrusions extend from a hollow structure. Handing teaches a base plate for battery modules with a hollow structure (Handing Fig. 1 and [0065]). Handing teaches that this allows for reduced weight and increased strength (Handing [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to make the base plate of Lee hollow as taught by Handing to allow for reduced weight and increased strength, and the second coupling protrusions would necessarily protrude downward from this structure.
Regarding claim 2, modified Lee teaches that forming the plates by extrusion allows for a reinforced, light metal profile (Handing [0055]-[0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to form the plates by extrusion to achieve a reinforced, light metal profile
Regarding claim 3, the thermal management system comprises side plates with air inlets (72) and outlets (74) forming two cooling paths flowing in the stacking direction and in communication with each other by gaps between adjacent battery cells (56) (Wang Fig. 5).
Modified Lee gives examples in which the battery stacks are fixed to a lower surface (base frame 160, Lee Fig. 4 and [0076] or base frame 360, Lee Fig. 8 and [0096]). Lee teaches that the battery stacks may be coupled to an external or cover frame by means of the first protrusion (Lee [0096]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to couple the stacks to either or both of an upper and lower cover, since Lee teaches that either are acceptable options.
Modified Lee does not teach the use of different coupling holes in the first protrusion for fixing the cover plate and fixing the battery stack. Modified Lee discloses two different types of coupling holes on the first protrusion: horizontal (Lee Fig. 4) and vertical (Lee Fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any combination of the listed options, including using horizontal coupling holes to fix the stacks to each other and vertical coupling holes to fix the stack to the supporting structure (i.e. the cover).
Regarding claim 4, the thermal management system comprises side plates with air inlets (72) and outlets (74) forming two cooling paths flowing in the stacking direction and in communication with each other by gaps between adjacent battery cells (56) (Wang Fig. 5).
The second protrusions of modified Lee include different coupling holes for fixing the battery stack and for fixing the side plate of the same battery module (Lee Fig. 4 below).
Regarding claims 5, Modified Lee gives examples in which the battery stacks are fixed to a lower surface (base frame 160, Lee Fig. 4 and [0076] or base frame 360, Lee Fig. 8 and [0096]). Lee teaches that the battery stacks may be coupled to an external or cover frame by means of the first protrusion (Lee [0096]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to couple the stacks to either or both of an upper and lower cover, since Lee teaches that either are acceptable options.
The battery modules are fixed vertically to one another to form stacks, and the stacks are fixed in parallel to each other by coupling the stacks to the frame (Lee Figs. 4 and 8).
Modified Lee does not teach the use of different coupling holes in the first protrusion for fixing the cover plate and fixing the battery stack. Modified Lee discloses two different types of coupling holes on the first protrusion: horizontal (Lee Fig. 4) and vertical (Lee Fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any combination of the listed options, including using horizontal coupling holes to fix the stacks to each other and vertical coupling holes to fix the stack to the supporting structure (i.e. the cover).
The second protrusions of modified Lee include different coupling holes for fixing the battery stack and for fixing the side plate of the same battery module (Lee Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 6-8, Modified Lee gives examples in which the battery stacks are fixed to a lower surface (base frame 160, Lee Fig. 4 and [0076] or base frame 360, Lee Fig. 8 and [0096]). Lee teaches that the battery stacks may be coupled to an external or cover frame by means of the first protrusion (Lee [0096]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to couple the stacks to either or both of an upper and lower cover, since Lee teaches that either are acceptable options.
The battery modules are fixed vertically to one another to form stacks, and the stacks are fixed in parallel to each other by coupling the stacks to the frame (Lee Figs. 4 and 8).
Regarding claim 13, modified Lee teaches the use of the battery in a vehicle (Lee [0108]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Lee teaches that forming the plates by extrusion allows for a reinforced, light metal profile (Handing [0055]-[0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to form the plates by extrusion to achieve a reinforced, light metal profile
Modified Lee gives examples in which the battery stacks are fixed to a lower surface (base frame 160, Lee Fig. 4 and [0076] or base frame 360, Lee Fig. 8 and [0096]). Lee teaches that the battery stacks may be coupled to an external or cover frame by means of the first protrusion (Lee [0096]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to couple the stacks to either or both of an upper and lower cover, since Lee teaches that either are acceptable options.
Modified Lee does not teach the use of different coupling holes in the first protrusion for fixing the cover plate and fixing the battery stack. Modified Lee discloses two different types of coupling holes on the first protrusion: horizontal (Lee Fig. 4) and vertical (Lee Fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any combination of the listed options, including using horizontal coupling holes to fix the stacks to each other and vertical coupling holes to fix the stack to the supporting structure (i.e. the cover).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the system of modified Lee includes a battery thermal management system comprising side plates with air inlets (72) and outlets (74) forming two cooling paths flowing in the stacking direction and in communication with each other by gaps between adjacent battery cells (56) (Wang Fig. 5).
The second protrusions of modified Lee include different coupling holes for fixing the battery stack and for fixing the side plate of the same battery module (Lee Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 18, Modified Lee gives examples in which the battery stacks are fixed to a lower surface (base frame 160, Lee Fig. 4 and [0076] or base frame 360, Lee Fig. 8 and [0096]). Lee teaches that the battery stacks may be coupled to an external or cover frame by means of the first protrusion (Lee [0096]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to couple the stacks to either or both of an upper and lower cover, since Lee teaches that either are acceptable options.
Modified Lee does not teach the use of different coupling holes in the first protrusion for fixing the cover plate and fixing the battery stack. Modified Lee discloses two different types of coupling holes on the first protrusion: horizontal (Lee Fig. 4) and vertical (Lee Fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any combination of the listed options, including using horizontal coupling holes to fix the stacks to each other and vertical coupling holes to fix the stack to the supporting structure (i.e. the cover).
The second protrusions of modified Lee include different coupling holes for fixing the battery stack and for fixing the side plate of the same battery module (Lee Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19, the battery modules are fixed vertically to one another to form stacks, and the stacks are fixed in parallel to each other by coupling the stacks to the frame (Lee Figs. 4 and 8).
Claim(s) 9-12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wang and Handing as applied to claims 5-8 and 18 above, and further in view of Sundararajan et al. (US 2014/0147717 A1) and Gunther et al. (US 2019/0273231 A1).
Regarding claims 9-11, modified Lee does not teach any particular means for attaching the battery to a vehicle body. However, fixing portions extending from a covering component for the purpose of attaching a battery to a vehicle body are well known. See, for example, Sundararajan (feet 36, Fig. 3) and Gunther (mounting flange 11, Figs. 2 and 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use any conventional means to attach the battery of modified Lee to the vehicle body, including by fixing portions extending from the cover.
Regarding claims 12 and 20, modified Lee does not teach any particular means for attaching the battery to a vehicle body. However, fixing portions extending from a covering component for the purpose of attaching a battery to a vehicle body are well known. See, for example, Sundararajan (feet 36, Fig. 3) and Gunther (mounting flange 11, Figs. 2 and 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use any conventional means to attach the battery of modified Lee to the vehicle body, including by fixing portions extending from the cover.
The plates of modified Lee have a skeletal structure (Lee Fig. 2 and Handing Figs. 1-4).
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722