DETAILED ACTION
The office acknowledges the receipt of applicants’ response to the restriction requirement dated 01/06/2026.
Response to Restriction Traversal
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the office has not shown why (by explanation of separate classification, or separate status in the art, or a different field of search as required in MPEP § 808.02)
This is not found persuasive because the office takes the position that the subspecies encompasses options that are patently distinct inventions which are not obvious variants as shown below:
The office has simply done an "elected of species" requirement.
Please note the section of the MPEP 808.01(a):808.01(a) IR-51 SpeciesWhere there is no disclosure of a relationship between species (see MPEP §806.04(b)), they are independent inventions. A requirement for restriction is permissible if there is a patentable difference between the species as claimed and there would be a serious burden on the examiner if restriction is not required. See MPEP § 803 and § 808.02. Establishing a search query with parameters encompassing the scope of the claims would represent an extreme search burden.
In applications where only generic claims are presented, restriction cannot be required unless the generic claims recite or encompass such a multiplicity, of species that an unduly extensive and burdensome search would be necessary to search the entire scope of the claim. See MPEP § 803.02 and § 809.02(a). If applicant presents species claims to more than one patentably distinct species of the invention after an Office action on only generic claims, with no restriction requirement, the Office may require the applicant to elect a Single species for examination.
In the instant case, there is a disclosed relationship between the species. Thus the species are not independent inventions. The office has done the restriction because the genus is a serious burden to search and the species are patentably distinct. This is evident by the fact that prior art anticipating one species would not necessarily render obvious the other disclosed species. The additional searching required to examine all the claims would be a serious burden
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Elected Species
A search of the prior art did not show the elected species. As no claims where specifically drawn to applicants’ elected species in independent form, no claims have been indicated as allowable. Claims written in independent form which require all the limitations of the elected species along with any dependent claims which require all the limitations of the elected species would be allowable. Under MPEP 803.02, the search was expanded to find an examinable species.
Examinable Species
The examinable species is represented by H-1-STN:
The examinable species reads on claims 1-4, 9, 14-19. Claims 5-8, 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration as not reading on the examinable species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 9, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites D as a “first donor” but fails to define what type of donor. The office cannot determine the metes and bounds of the tern first donor moiety which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1 and all claims requiring the limitation of claim one are thus rejected.
For purposes of examination D will be treated as a first electron donor moiety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (CN 112920202 A)
Regarding Claims 1-4, Huang teaches as electron acceptor material represented by H-1 (page 6):
The office notes that the STN structure search showed a number specific compounds indexed in CN 112920202 A as represented by H-1-STN:
H-1-STN reads on applicants’ composition wherein A is
; D is
; A’ is
; Ar1 is
(per claim 1).
H-1-STN reads on
for reasons discussed above along with X = S; R = hexyl alkane (per claim 2).
H-1-STN reads on
for reasons discussed above along with Ar2 is
(per claims 3-4)
Regarding Claims 9 and 14, Huang teaches a solar cell wherein the active layer contains the receptor material (H-1-STN) and polymer donor (semiconducting) PCE10 (structure below; Ossila data sheet 2026):
(per claim 9). PCE10 is identical to applicants’ PTB7-Th (per claim 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer (US 2015/0108409) in view of Huang (CN 112920202 A).
Regarding Claim 16, Mayer teaches an organic semiconductor in organic electronic (OE) devices, preferably as electron donor and a semiconducting or photoactive material. The devices further includes mixtures comprising one or more compounds of formula I as electron donor component, and further comprising one or more compounds having electron acceptor properties (paragraphs 27-28). The device include a heterojunction (paragraph 35).
The office takes the position that a heterojunction is known in the art to be placed between the electron acceptor and the electron donor to increase efficiency and enhancing performance by creating a better interface between the acceptor and the donor.
Mayer fails to teach applicants’ specific electron acceptor; however, Mayer teaches a number of compounds which have the thiadiazole quinoxaline ring system like Huang’ s H-1-STN. One such ring system part taught by Mayer is represented by A21 (page 12) and D26 (page 8):
also contained in
H-1-STN
As Mayer teaches an organic semiconductor in organic electronic (OE) device containing an electron acceptor and an electron donor wherein said electron acceptor contains a thiadiazole quinoxaline as taught by Huang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have selected from known thiadiazole quinoxaline based electron acceptors which would have included Huang’s H-1-STN which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 16).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 112920202 A).
Regarding Claim 17, Huang’s teaches that a typical solar cell contains conductive glass (anode), hole transport layer, active layer, electron transport layer and counter electrode (cathode). Among them, the acceptor material of the active layer is the core part, which absorbs sunlight to generate excitons. The excitons are separated into free charges and then transferred to the corresponding electrodes (machine trans page 14/23). The active layer PCE10 (semiconducting polymer donor) and H-1-STN (electron acceptor) (small molecules A1 or A2) (Huang’s Example 3).
As it is known in the art how a soler device functions, the office takes the position that the solar device of Haung shows an active layer (region) containing PCE10 (semiconducting polymer donor) and H-1-STN (electron acceptor) which receive holes from the anode and electrons from the cathode. Under exposure to sunlight (power source) electrons accumulate in the electron acceptor before being transferred to the cathode while holes are accumulated semiconducting polymer donor to be transferred to the anode (per claim 7).
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786