Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12 and 17-18 are pending.
Claims 4, 10, 13-16 and 19 are canceled.
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12 and 17-18 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherzer et al. (Pub. No.: US 20120196644 A1) in view of Stephens (Pub. No.: US 20050130658 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Scherzer and Stephens.
In regard to Claim 1, Scherzer teaches A wireless communication method for use in a user terminal (FIG. 4 shows a flow diagram of a method 400 for use in an end user terminal, Para. 94, FIG. 4), the wireless communication method comprising: receiving, from a network entity (The end user terminal can receive historical performance information or a historical quality score received from the network server, Para. 94, FIG. 4) or a first wireless network node, prior channel information (historical wireless activity can be an aggregation of historical data provided by many end user terminals that have connected to one or more networks or network access points over a period of time, Para. 77) related to at least one channel between each of at least one wireless terminal (end user terminals that have connected, Para. 77) and each of at least one second wireless network node (that have connected to one or more networks or network access points over a period of time, Para. 77).
Scherzer teaches predicting at least one characteristic (methods can be used to predict wireless and cellular service quality at any given location using a location based quality score, Para. 76) of the user terminal (This quality score can be used to determine whether a wireless end user terminal should be disconnected from the cellular network and connected to the available wireless networks thereby reducing the likelihood of QoS related problems, Para. 76. Information provided by the radio receiver components in the end user terminal 330 to measure, for example, bandwidth or latency, Para. 91, FIG. 3. The end user terminal can select one network to connect to as a function of the network quality scores for each available network, 422. The end user terminal can connect to the selected network, 424, Para. 94, FIG. 4) based on the prior channel information (historical performance information or a historical quality score received from the network server, Para. 94, FIG. 4).
Although Scherzer teaches prior channel information, Scherzer fails to teach the prior channel information comprises at least one of: an angle spread probability distribution function (PDF), a Rician K-factor PDF, or a confidence level of the prior channel information, and Scherzer fails to teach the wireless communication method further comprising: transmitting, from the user terminal to the network entity or the first wireless network node, a signal indicating a capability of the user terminal receiving the prior channel information, transmitting, from the user terminal to the network entity or the first wireless network node, a request for the prior channel information, and transmitting, from the user terminal to the network entity or the first wireless network node, a signal indicating contents comprised in the prior channel information.
Stephens teaches the prior channel information (the list of candidates may be passed to the first AP (having knowledge of the specification), and the first AP may then contact one or more candidate APs to discover which of them are able to support the specification. The first AP may then return a list of one or more APs capable of supporting the specification to the device, Para. 13) comprises at least one of: an angle spread probability distribution function (PDF), a Rician K-factor PDF, or a confidence level of the prior channel information (communications with the device may be handed off to the second AP with some confidence that the new connection will provide a desired quality of service, Para. 13).
Stephens teaches the wireless communication method further comprising: transmitting, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4) to the network entity (AP 410, Para. 26, FIG. 4) or the first wireless network node, a signal indicating a capability of the user terminal (The station 400 may communicate a specification, perhaps in the form of a request 413, to the AP 410, Para. 26, FIG. 4) receiving the prior channel information (communications 423 indicating the presence of handoff candidates 436, such as beacon frames, may be received by the station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4).
Stephens teaches transmitting, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4) to the network entity (AP 410, Para. 26, FIG. 4) or the first wireless network node, a request (A number of requests 453, may be communicated to the AP 310 by the station, Para. 26, FIG. 4) for the prior channel information (Responses 463, in sequence (as shown in FIG. 4) may then be communicated to the station 300 by the AP 310. At this point, the station 400 may determine which of those candidates 436 originally listed by the station 400 has the capability to support the desired specification at block 467, Para. 27, FIG. 4).
Stephens teaches transmitting, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4) to the network entity (AP 410, Para. 26, FIG. 4) or the first wireless network node, a signal indicating contents comprised in the prior channel information (A number of requests 453, may be communicated to the AP 310 by the station 300. The requests may in turn be communicated to one or more of the candidate APs 436 in turn, and one or more of the requests may include a request to select suitable candidates (e.g., other APs) from the list that can support the specification, Para. 26, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Stephens with the teachings of Scherzer, since Stephens provides a technique for wireless devices to exchange requests and network information messages, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer to permit end user terminals to request historical data from networks for confidently managing network connections.
In regard to Claim 8, Scherzer teaches A wireless communication method for use in a first wireless network node (an eANDSF network server 310 connected to one or more of the wireless networks 302, Para. 83, FIG. 3), the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, to a user terminal (The end user terminal can receive historical performance information or a historical quality score received from the network server, Para. 94, FIG. 4), prior channel information (historical wireless activity can be an aggregation of historical data provided by many end user terminals that have connected to one or more networks or network access points over a period of time, Para. 77) related to at least one channel between each of at least one wireless terminal (end user terminals that have connected, Para. 77) and each of at least one second wireless network node (that have connected to one or more networks or network access points over a period of time, Para. 77).
Scherzer teaches, wherein the prior channel information (historical performance information or a historical quality score received from the network server, Para. 94, FIG. 4) enables the user terminal to predict at least one characteristic (methods can be used to predict wireless and cellular service quality at any given location using a location based quality score, Para. 76) of the user terminal (This quality score can be used to determine whether a wireless end user terminal should be disconnected from the cellular network and connected to the available wireless networks thereby reducing the likelihood of QoS related problems, Para. 76. Information provided by the radio receiver components in the end user terminal 330 to measure, for example, bandwidth or latency, Para. 91, FIG. 3. The end user terminal can select one network to connect to as a function of the network quality scores for each available network, 422. The end user terminal can connect to the selected network, 424, Para. 94, FIG. 4).
Although Scherzer teaches prior channel information, Scherzer fails to teach the prior channel information comprises at least one of: an angle spread probability distribution function (PDF), a Rician K-factor PDF, or a confidence level of the prior channel information, and Scherzer fails to teach the wireless communication method further comprising: receiving, from the user terminal, a signal indicating a capability of the user terminal receiving the prior channel information, receiving, from the user terminal, a request for the prior channel information, and receiving, from the user terminal, a signal indicating contents comprised in the prior channel information.
Stephens teaches the prior channel information (the list of candidates may be passed to the first AP (having knowledge of the specification), and the first AP may then contact one or more candidate APs to discover which of them are able to support the specification. The first AP may then return a list of one or more APs capable of supporting the specification to the device, Para. 13) comprises at least one of: an angle spread probability distribution function (PDF), a Rician K-factor PDF, or a confidence level of the prior channel information (communications with the device may be handed off to the second AP with some confidence that the new connection will provide a desired quality of service, Para. 13).
Stephens teaches the wireless communication method further comprising: receiving, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4), a signal indicating a capability of the user terminal (The station 400 may communicate a specification, perhaps in the form of a request 413, to the AP 410, Para. 26, FIG. 4) receiving the prior channel information (communications 423 indicating the presence of handoff candidates 436, such as beacon frames, may be received by the station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4).
Stephens teaches receiving, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4), a request (A number of requests 453, may be communicated to the AP 310 by the station, Para. 26, FIG. 4) for the prior channel information (Responses 463, in sequence (as shown in FIG. 4) may then be communicated to the station 300 by the AP 310. At this point, the station 400 may determine which of those candidates 436 originally listed by the station 400 has the capability to support the desired specification at block 467, Para. 27, FIG. 4).
Stephens teaches receiving, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4), a signal indicating contents comprised in the prior channel information (A number of requests 453, may be communicated to the AP 310 by the station 300. The requests may in turn be communicated to one or more of the candidate APs 436 in turn, and one or more of the requests may include a request to select suitable candidates (e.g., other APs) from the list that can support the specification, Para. 26, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Stephens with the teachings of Scherzer, since Stephens provides a technique for wireless devices to exchange requests and network information messages, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer to permit end user terminals to request historical data from networks for confidently managing network connections.
In regard to Claim 17, Scherzer teaches A user terminal (FIG. 4 shows a flow diagram of a method 400 for use in an end user terminal, Para. 94, FIG. 4), comprising: a communication unit, configured to receive, from a network entity (The end user terminal can receive historical performance information or a historical quality score received from the network server, Para. 94, FIG. 4) or a first wireless network node, prior channel information (historical wireless activity can be an aggregation of historical data provided by many end user terminals that have connected to one or more networks or network access points over a period of time, Para. 77) related to at least one channel between each of at least one wireless terminal (end user terminals that have connected, Para. 77) and each of at least one second wireless network node (that have connected to one or more networks or network access points over a period of time, Para. 77).
Scherzer teaches a processor, configured to predict at least one characteristic (methods can be used to predict wireless and cellular service quality at any given location using a location based quality score, Para. 76) of the user terminal (This quality score can be used to determine whether a wireless end user terminal should be disconnected from the cellular network and connected to the available wireless networks thereby reducing the likelihood of QoS related problems, Para. 76. Information provided by the radio receiver components in the end user terminal 330 to measure, for example, bandwidth or latency, Para. 91, FIG. 3. The end user terminal can select one network to connect to as a function of the network quality scores for each available network, 422. The end user terminal can connect to the selected network, 424, Para. 94, FIG. 4) based on the prior channel information (historical performance information or a historical quality score received from the network server, Para. 94, FIG. 4).
Although Scherzer teaches prior channel information, Scherzer fails to teach the prior channel information comprises at least one of: an angle spread probability distribution function (PDF), a Rician K-factor PDF, or a confidence level of the prior channel information, and Scherzer fails to teach the communication unit is further configured to: transmit, from the user terminal to the network entity or the first wireless network node, a signal indicating a capability of the user terminal receiving the prior channel information, transmit, from the user terminal to the network entity or the first wireless network node, a request for the prior channel information, and transmit, from the user terminal to the network entity or the first wireless network node, a signal indicating contents comprised in the prior channel information.
Stephens teaches the prior channel information (the list of candidates may be passed to the first AP (having knowledge of the specification), and the first AP may then contact one or more candidate APs to discover which of them are able to support the specification. The first AP may then return a list of one or more APs capable of supporting the specification to the device, Para. 13) comprises at least one of: an angle spread probability distribution function (PDF), a Rician K-factor PDF, or a confidence level of the prior channel information (communications with the device may be handed off to the second AP with some confidence that the new connection will provide a desired quality of service, Para. 13).
Stephens teaches the communication unit is further configured to: transmit, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4) to the network entity (AP 410, Para. 26, FIG. 4) or the first wireless network node, a signal indicating a capability of the user terminal (The station 400 may communicate a specification, perhaps in the form of a request 413, to the AP 410, Para. 26, FIG. 4) receiving the prior channel information (communications 423 indicating the presence of handoff candidates 436, such as beacon frames, may be received by the station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4).
Stephens teaches transmit, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4) to the network entity (AP 410, Para. 26, FIG. 4) or the first wireless network node, a request (A number of requests 453, may be communicated to the AP 310 by the station, Para. 26, FIG. 4) for the prior channel information (Responses 463, in sequence (as shown in FIG. 4) may then be communicated to the station 300 by the AP 310. At this point, the station 400 may determine which of those candidates 436 originally listed by the station 400 has the capability to support the desired specification at block 467, Para. 27, FIG. 4).
Stephens teaches transmit, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4) to the network entity (AP 410, Para. 26, FIG. 4) or the first wireless network node, a signal indicating contents comprised in the prior channel information (A number of requests 453, may be communicated to the AP 310 by the station 300. The requests may in turn be communicated to one or more of the candidate APs 436 in turn, and one or more of the requests may include a request to select suitable candidates (e.g., other APs) from the list that can support the specification, Para. 26, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Stephens with the teachings of Scherzer, since Stephens provides a technique for wireless devices to exchange requests and network information messages, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer to permit end user terminals to request historical data from networks for confidently managing network connections.
In regard to Claim 18, Scherzer teaches A first wireless network node (an eANDSF network server 310 connected to one or more of the wireless networks 302, Para. 83, FIG. 3), comprising: a communication unit, configured to transmit, to a user terminal (The end user terminal can receive historical performance information or a historical quality score received from the network server, Para. 94, FIG. 4), prior channel information (historical wireless activity can be an aggregation of historical data provided by many end user terminals that have connected to one or more networks or network access points over a period of time, Para. 77) related to at least one channel between each of at least one wireless terminal (end user terminals that have connected, Para. 77) and each of at least one second wireless network node (that have connected to one or more networks or network access points over a period of time, Para. 77).
Scherzer teaches, wherein the prior channel information (historical performance information or a historical quality score received from the network server, Para. 94, FIG. 4) enables the user terminal to predict at least one characteristic (methods can be used to predict wireless and cellular service quality at any given location using a location based quality score, Para. 76) of the user terminal (This quality score can be used to determine whether a wireless end user terminal should be disconnected from the cellular network and connected to the available wireless networks thereby reducing the likelihood of QoS related problems, Para. 76. Information provided by the radio receiver components in the end user terminal 330 to measure, for example, bandwidth or latency, Para. 91, FIG. 3. The end user terminal can select one network to connect to as a function of the network quality scores for each available network, 422. The end user terminal can connect to the selected network, 424, Para. 94, FIG. 4).
Although Scherzer teaches prior channel information, Scherzer fails to teach the prior channel information comprises at least one of: an angle spread probability distribution function (PDF), a Rician K-factor PDF, or a confidence level of the prior channel information, and Scherzer fails to teach the communication unit is further configured to: receive, from the user terminal, a signal indicating a capability of the user terminal receiving the prior channel information, receive, from the user terminal, a request for the prior channel information, and receive, from the user terminal, a signal indicating contents comprised in the prior channel information.
Stephens teaches the prior channel information (the list of candidates may be passed to the first AP (having knowledge of the specification), and the first AP may then contact one or more candidate APs to discover which of them are able to support the specification. The first AP may then return a list of one or more APs capable of supporting the specification to the device, Para. 13) comprises at least one of: an angle spread probability distribution function (PDF), a Rician K-factor PDF, or a confidence level of the prior channel information (communications with the device may be handed off to the second AP with some confidence that the new connection will provide a desired quality of service, Para. 13).
Stephens teaches the communication unit is further configured to: receive, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4), a signal indicating a capability of the user terminal (The station 400 may communicate a specification, perhaps in the form of a request 413, to the AP 410, Para. 26, FIG. 4) receiving the prior channel information (communications 423 indicating the presence of handoff candidates 436, such as beacon frames, may be received by the station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4).
Stephens teaches receive, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4), a request (A number of requests 453, may be communicated to the AP 310 by the station, Para. 26, FIG. 4) for the prior channel information (Responses 463, in sequence (as shown in FIG. 4) may then be communicated to the station 300 by the AP 310. At this point, the station 400 may determine which of those candidates 436 originally listed by the station 400 has the capability to support the desired specification at block 467, Para. 27, FIG. 4).
Stephens teaches receive, from the user terminal (station 400, Para. 26, FIG. 4), a signal indicating contents comprised in the prior channel information (A number of requests 453, may be communicated to the AP 310 by the station 300. The requests may in turn be communicated to one or more of the candidate APs 436 in turn, and one or more of the requests may include a request to select suitable candidates (e.g., other APs) from the list that can support the specification, Para. 26, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Stephens with the teachings of Scherzer, since Stephens provides a technique for wireless devices to exchange requests and network information messages, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer to permit end user terminals to request historical data from networks for confidently managing network connections.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherzer in view of Stephens, and further in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20060268756 A1), hereafter referred to as Wang.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Scherzer in view of Stephens teaches at least one second wireless network node.
Scherzer in view of Stephens fails to teach receiving, from the at least one second wireless network node, reference signals on the at least one channel, determining local channel information based on the reference signals, and determining the at least one characteristic based on the prior channel information and the local channel information.
Wang teaches receiving, from the at least one second wireless network node, reference signals on the at least one channel (a station may switch to the channel of a potential handoff access point to receive the access point's beacon, Para. 16), determining local channel information based on the reference signals (since each access point transmits its beacon periodically, a station may use a TBTT of neighboring access point(s), such as TBTT 539 of report 500, to selectively monitor non-associated channels to capture an access point's beacon, SAT, pilot signal , or the like, to gather or confirm information about the access point and/or to determine potential link quality with that access point, Para. 48, FIGS. 4, 5), and determining the at least one characteristic (select a best handoff access point and thereby achieve a more stable or robust handoff, Para. 21. During the handoff execution phase the methods might employ adaptive threshold for executing 449, such as may be contained in neighbor report 500, Para. 50, FIGS. 4, 5. Station 705, running a voice application, may employ a relatively lower threshold of 15dB for a SNR of the new access point, AP2, to determine if it will execute an access point handoff, Para. 51, FIG. 7) based on the prior channel information (Neighbor access point list 403 provides information about neighboring access points. Each access point's entry 434 includes the access point's BSSID 435, BSSID match status 436, current channel 437, PHY Type 438, Beacon Interval 439 and TBTT 440, Para. 44, FIG. 4) and the local channel information (an access point's beacon, SAT, pilot signal , or the like, to gather or confirm information about the access point and/or to determine potential link quality with that access point, Para. 48, FIGS. 4, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Scherzer in view of Stephens since Wang provides a technique for a station to perform a process that obtains information from an access point to determine the channel information of other access points and to determine a channel for the station, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer in view of Stephens to permit an end user terminal to obtain the necessary information from a network access point and to determine a channel with which to utilize based on the channels used by a neighboring network access point.
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherzer in view of Stephens, and further in view of Zhao et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190166505 A1), hereafter referred to as Zhao.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Scherzer in view of Stephens teaches the prior channel information.
Scherzer in view of Stephens fails to teach the prior channel information further comprises at least one of: a delay spread PDF, or a kurtosis PDF.
Zhao teaches the prior channel information further comprises at least one of: a delay spread PDF, or a kurtosis PDF (judging the classification of the wireless channel condition of the desired signal may include root mean square delay spread and/or kurtosis and asymmetry of a probability distribution function of a received signal, Para. 49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Scherzer in view of Stephens, since Zhao provides a technique for utilizing a probability distribution function of a received signal, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer in view of Stephens to permit an end user terminal of a network access point to obtain channel resources taking into account the characteristics of a probability density function of wireless resources utilized in the network.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Scherzer in view of Stephens teaches the prior channel information.
Scherzer in view of Stephens fails to teach the prior channel information further comprises at least one of: a delay spread PDF, or a kurtosis PDF.
Bartolucci teaches the prior channel information further comprises at least one of: a delay spread PDF, or a kurtosis PDF (judging the classification of the wireless channel condition of the desired signal may include root mean square delay spread and/or kurtosis and asymmetry of a probability distribution function of a received signal, Para. 49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Scherzer in view of Stephens, since Zhao provides a technique for utilizing a probability distribution function of a received signal, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer in view of Stephens to permit an end user terminal of a network access point to obtain channel resources taking into account the characteristics of a probability density function of wireless resources utilized in the network.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherzer in view of Stephens, and further in view of Xi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200288479 A1), hereafter referred to as Xi.
In regard to Claim 5, Scherzer teaches the at least one characteristic of the user terminal comprises information indicating the at least one channel of the user terminal (the end user terminal can establish a temporary connection with one or more of the available network access points and measure one or more network performance parameters, for example, connection speed, available bandwidth, Para. 94, FIG. 4).
Scherzer in view of Stephens fails to teach at least one characteristic being a line-of-sight (LOS) channel or non-LOS (NLOS) channel.
Xi teaches at least one characteristic being a line-of-sight (LOS) channel (certain configurations a WTRU may report up to 4 Tx beams. If beam quality is substantially stable, such as when line of sight, just the needed number of beams may be reported, Para. 193) or non-LOS (NLOS) channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xi with the teachings of Scherzer in view of Stephens, since Xi provides a technique for a wireless device to communicate and request information with a network device in order to manage communications, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer in view of Stephens to promote optimal utilization of wireless resources for the duration of communications.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Scherzer in view of Stephens teaches the network entity.
Scherzer in view of Stephens fails to teach transmitting, to the network entity or the first wireless network node, the at least one characteristic, receiving, from the first wireless network node, control information of configuring reference signal and/or data channel transmissions between the wireless terminal and the first wireless network node based on the at least one characteristic, and performing a transmission with the first wireless network node based on the control information.
Xi teaches transmitting, to the network entity or the first wireless network node, the at least one characteristic (A WTRU may report the WTRU capability to assist a network device, gNB, Para. 90. The reported information may include WTRU capability, WTRU operation, WTRU states, current WTRU numerology, custom WTRU settings, Para. 93), receiving, from the first wireless network node, control information of configuring reference signal and/or data channel transmissions between the wireless terminal and the first wireless network node based on the at least one characteristic (The pre-configured beam may be configured through higher layer signaling such as RRC, obtained by a WTRU through system information specifically requested, Para. 110. The WTRU may detect beam failure on the pre-configured beam and request the network to send an explicit update spatial QCL assumption for the reception of NR-PDSCH during a TP, Para. 129, FIG. 5), and performing a transmission with the first wireless network node based on the control information (FIG. 6 is a diagram of an example of a spatial QCL assumption update for a NR-PDSCH configuration 600. In 600, the WTRU may send feedback of the determined beam to the network, Para. 130, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xi with the teachings of Scherzer in view of Stephens, since Xi provides a technique for a wireless device to communicate and request information with a network device in order to manage communications, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer in view of Stephens to promote optimal utilization of wireless resources for the duration of communications.
In regard to Claim 11, Scherzer teaches wherein the at least one characteristic of the user terminal comprises information indicating the at least one channel of the user terminal (the end user terminal can establish a temporary connection with one or more of the available network access points and measure one or more network performance parameters, for example, connection speed, available bandwidth, Para. 94, FIG. 4).
Scherzer in view of Stephens fails to teach receiving, from the user terminal, at least one characteristic of the user terminal determined based on the prior channel information, wherein the at least one characteristic being a line-of-sight (LOS) channel or non-LOS (NLOS) channel or a velocity of the user terminal, and wherein the method further comprising: transmitting, to the user terminal, control information of configuring reference signal and/or data channel transmissions based on the at least one characteristic of the wireless terminal, and performing a transmission with the user terminal based on the control information.
Xi teaches receiving, from the user terminal, at least one characteristic of the user terminal determined based on the prior channel information, wherein the at least one characteristic being a line-of-sight (LOS) channel (certain configurations a WTRU may report up to 4 Tx beams. If beam quality is substantially stable, such as when line of sight, just the needed number of beams may be reported, Para. 193) or non-LOS (NLOS) channel or a velocity of the user terminal, and wherein the method further comprising: transmitting, to the user terminal, control information of configuring reference signal and/or data channel transmissions based on the at least one characteristic of the wireless terminal, and performing a transmission with the user terminal based on the control information (a WTRU may receive a DCI scheduling a PDSCH(s) indicating a scheduling offset and a beam indication (802) for PDSCH reception, Para. 134, FIG. 8. The WTRU may use the indicated beam to receive the PDSCH when the measured quality, such as L1-RSRP, L1-RSRQ, or L1-SINR, of the indicated beam (810) is above a measurement threshold (812), Para. 134, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xi with the teachings of Scherzer in view of Stephens, since Xi provides a technique for a wireless device to communicate and request information with a network device in order to manage communications, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer in view of Stephens to promote optimal utilization of wireless resources for the duration of communications.
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherzer in view of Stephens, and further in view of Tang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220045798 A1), hereafter rereferred to as Tang.
In regard to Claim 7, Scherzer teaches the at least one second wireless network node comprises the first wireless network node (an eANDSF network server 310 connected to one or more of the wireless networks 302, Para. 83, FIG. 3), and wherein the network entity (module 314 that is adapted and configured to receive network information from end user terminals 330, Para. 85, FIG. 3).
Although Scherzer in view of Stephens teaches the network entity, Scherzer in view of Stephens fails to teach the network entity resides in one of a core network, the first wireless network node or at least one of the at least one second wireless network node.
Tang teaches the network entity resides in one of a core network (The management device 10 and the gateway device constitute part of the core network CN, Para. 138, FIGS. 2, 10. The management device 10 may have a gateway function, Para. 139, FIGS. 2, 10), the first wireless network node or at least one of the at least one second wireless network node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tang with the teachings of Scherzer in view of Stephens, since Tang provides a technique for organizing function of network devices within a core network, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer in view of Stephens to permit a gateway function to be incorporated in a core network for efficient organization management of network functions.
In regard to Claim 12, Scherzer teaches the at least one second wireless network node comprises the first wireless network node (an eANDSF network server 310 connected to one or more of the wireless networks 302, Para. 83, FIG. 3), wherein the method further comprising: receiving, from a network entity (The end user terminal can receive historical performance information or a historical quality score received from the network server, Para. 94, FIG. 4), the prior channel information (historical wireless activity can be an aggregation of historical data provided by many end user terminals that have connected to one or more networks or network access points over a period of time, Para. 77).
Scherzer in view of Stephens fails to teach wherein the network entity resides in a core network, the first wireless network node or at least one of the at least one second wireless network node.
Tang teaches wherein the network entity resides in a core network (The management device 10 and the gateway device constitute part of the core network CN, Para. 138, FIGS. 2, 10. The management device 10 may have a gateway function, Para. 139, FIGS. 2, 10), the first wireless network node or at least one of the at least one second wireless network node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tang with the teachings of Scherzer in view of Stephens, since Tang provides a technique for organizing function of network devices within a core network, which can be introduced into the system of Scherzer in view of Stephens to permit a gateway function to be incorporated in a core network for efficient organization management of network functions.
Response to Arguments
I. New Citations of Reference Responsive to Amendments
Scherzer teaches in Para. 76, that methods can be used to predict wireless and cellular service quality at any given location using a location based quality score, and this quality score can be used to determine whether a wireless end user terminal should be disconnected from the cellular network and connected to the available wireless networks thereby reducing the likelihood of QoS related problems, and Scherzer teaches in Para. 91 and FIG. 3, information provided by the radio receiver components in the end user terminal 330 to measure bandwidth or latency, and this is substantively that same as predicting at least one characteristic of the user terminal of Claim 1.
II. Arguments for Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that Firstly, the cited references fail to teach or suggest a user terminal predicting at least one characteristic of the user terminal. This argument is not persuasive. Scherzer teaches in Para. 76, that methods can be used to predict wireless and cellular service quality at any given location using a location based quality score, and this quality score can be used to determine whether a wireless end user terminal should be disconnected from the cellular network and connected to the available wireless networks thereby reducing the likelihood of QoS related problems, and Scherzer teaches in Para. 91 and FIG. 3, information provided by the radio receiver components in the end user terminal 330 to measure bandwidth or latency, and this is substantively that same as predicting at least one characteristic of the user terminal of Claim 1.
Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that However, nowhere does Stephens ever disclose any prior channel information comprising at least one of an angle spread probability distribution function (PDF), a Rician KJactor PDF, or a confidence level of the prior channel information. This argument is not persuasive. A list of one or more APs capable of supporting the specification to the device of Stephens, indicates a list of APs that have preexisting connection capabilities, and as a result, is substantively the same as a type of prior channel information of Claim 1.
In addition, the list of APs of Stephens indicates some confidence that the preexisting connection capabilities of the APs will provide a desired quality of service, and this is substantively the same as the prior channel information comprises at least … a confidence level of the prior channel information of Claim 1.
Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that Secondly, the cited references fail to teach or suggest a user terminal transmitting, to a network entity or a first wireless network node, (i) a signal indicating a capability of the user terminal. This argument is not persuasive. A specification communicated by a station 400 of Stephens to AP 410, can be considered a type of signal indicating a capability of the user terminal of Claim 1.
Page 11 of the Remarks presents the argument that At best, Stephens relates to candidate selection or specification support for handoff at § [0026], and does not teach transmitting the claimed elements, much less contemplate transmitting a signal indicating contents comprised in the prior channel information comprising at least one of an angle spread probability distribution function (PDF), a Rician K-factor PDF, or a confidence level of the prior channel information. This argument is not persuasive. Stephens teaches in Para. 26 and FIG. 4, that requests are communicated to the candidate APs 436, and the requests include a request to select suitable candidates from the list of APs (i.e. prior channel information), and this is substantively the same as transmitting, from the user terminal to the network entity, a signal indicating contents comprised in the prior channel information of Claim 1.
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
12-7-2025
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477