DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
Claim 15 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below. The Applicant argues:
Neither Lenovo nor Zhou, either singly or in combination, teach generating an ACK to indicate successful transmission when, in fact, the user terminal did not perform the sidelink transmission is simply not taught by Lenovo or Zhou (singly or combined) and further Zhou actually teaches away because it teaches the opposite (not transmitting an acknowledgement) [Remarks, pages 8-13].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Lenovo discloses generating, by a first terminal device, first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource [table 1, pages 4-5, section 2.3, page 8, generating, by a first terminal device, first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource (if there is no SL data to be transmitted, TX UE could ignore or skip the grant and transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)].
Lenovo does not explicitly disclose no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process.
However, Zhou teaches no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process [fig. 23, 27, 28, 36, paragraphs 0273, 0277, 0280, 0287-0289, 0312, no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process (wireless device may not transmit (e.g., may refrain from transmitting) the second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB (e.g., at or during the fifth time interval T5); send/transmit the second HARQ-ACK information (e.g., at or during a fifth time interval T5), for example, based on dropping the processing of the first TB)].
Regarding generating first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink, Lenovo discloses in table 1, pages 2-5, 8.
Alternative 1: gNB indicates the resources for one SL transmission of a TB and its associated SL/UL feedback. After received the UL feedback, if the feedback information is ACK, gNB may schedule a new SL transmission, else if the feedback information is NACK, gNB may schedule the retransmission of the same TB. The potential issue of this alternative is that, if the SL transmission is failure (i.e., Rx UE feedback NACK on SL feedback resource), Tx UE may feedback NACK on UL feedback resource and wait for a new dynamic grant to indicate the resources for retransmission and its associated SL/UL feedback. However, time delay is a serious problem, especially considering delay sensitive V2X service.
Alternative 3: gNB indicates multiple UL feedback resources corresponding to multiple SL transmissions of a TB and their associated SL feedback resources. Resource wastage can be avoided if the SL transmission is decoded successfully earlier by Rx UE(s) by this method. If gNB receive ACK on UL feedback resource, gNB may re-allocate (if any) the residual resource of SL transmission(s) and their associated feedback resource(s) for other new TB transmission or to other UE(s). Else gNB receive NACK on UL feedback resource, gNB may or may not provide further re-transmission resource based on the remaining latency requirement and if necessary, an upper limit is defined for the time a soft buffer/HARQ process is used for the decoding of a SL TB. This alternative may allocate more number of UL feedback resources comparing with
alternative 2 but comparing the trade-off between UL feedback and SL data resource utilization efficiency, alternative 3 is preferred.
Proposal 6: For PUCCH - NACK to ACK error,
TX UE detects that the NDI is toggled for the HARQ process id,
o Retransmit the pending TB for that HARQ process id with NR Mode -2 operation (AND)
o TX UE performs new transmission from the received grant using different SL HARQ process id (OR) if there is no SL data to be transmitted, TX UE could ignore or skip the grant and transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource
Table 1
3 Conclusion
Proposal 1: Mode-1 dynamic grant scheduling multiple SL transmissions of a TB, gNB configures multiple UL feedback resources corresponding to multiple SL transmissions of a TB and their associated SL feedbacks
In other words, Lenovo discloses if there is no SL data to be transmitted, TX UE could transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource.
Applicant argues that Zhou does not teach a UT determining to not transmit and sending an ACK in response to the allocated resources (e.g., DCI information). As indicated in the previous rejection or above Zhou teaches no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process [fig. 23, 27, 28, 36, paragraphs 0273, 0277, 0280, 0287-0289, 0312, no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process (wireless device may not transmit (e.g., may refrain from transmitting) the second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB (e.g., at or during the fifth time interval T5); send/transmit the second HARQ-ACK information (e.g., at or during a fifth time interval T5), for example, based on dropping the processing of the first TB)].
Regarding a UT determining to not transmit wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process, Zhou discloses in paragraphs 0276, 0280, 0287, 0310.
[0276] The wireless device may determine to drop a transmission of the second HARQ-ACK feedback for the second TB. The wireless device may determine that the second HARQ-ACK feedback for the second TB is not required. The wireless device may determine to drop a transmission of the second HARQ-ACK feedback for the second TB, for example, based on the second TB being scheduling by a group common DCI (e.g., a group common DCI with CRC scrambled by an RNTI addressed to a group of wireless devices). …. The wireless device may determine to drop a transmission of the second HARQ-ACK feedback for the second TB, for example, based on a time gap between the fourth time interval T4 and the fifth time interval T5 being less than a HARQ-ACK processing time threshold (e.g., Tproc,1). …. A wireless device may determine to drop a transmission of the second HARQ-ACK feedback for the second TB, for example, based on: the second DCI not comprising a HARQ-ACK feedback timing value and/or the HARQ-ACK feedback timing value of the second DCI being set to a predefined value.
[0280] The wireless device may determine to not generate (e.g., refrain from generating) HARQ-ACK information for the second TB, for example, based on determining that the second HARQ-ACK feedback for a first repetition of a second TB is out-of-order, and/or if there is a lower-priority TB pending for processing. The wireless device may generate the second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB, for example, after receiving a second repetition of the second TB (e.g., at or during the fifth time interval T5). The wireless device may process the first TB, for example, based on determining to not generate (e.g., refrain from generating) HARQ-ACK information for the second TB. ….
[0287] …. The wireless device may send/transmit the first HARQ-ACK information feedback for the first TB and may drop the second HARQ-ACK information feedback for the second TB (e.g., at or during a fifth time period T5), for example, based on the first DCI comprising the priority field and for the first TB and the second DCI not comprising a priority field for the second TB and/or based on a first uplink resource (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH resource(s)) for sending/transmitting the first HARQ-ACK information feedback for the first TB overlapping (e.g., at least partially) with a second uplink resource (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH resource(s)) for sending/transmitting the second HARQ-ACK information feedback for the second TB. ….
[0310] The wireless device may determine to process the first TB sent/transmitted via the first TRP, process the second TB sent/transmitted via the second TRP, for example, based on the second HARQ-ACK being out-of-order. The wireless device may drop processing the first TB sent/transmitted via the second TRP (e.g., at or during the fifth time interval T5), for example, based on determining to process the second TB. The wireless device may determine to process the first TB sent/transmitted via the first TRP, process the second TB sent/transmitted via the second TRP, and drop processing the first TB sent/transmitted via the second TRP, for example, if the first TB sent/transmitted via the second TRP (e.g., at during the fifth time interval T5) is a repetition (with the same or different RV value) of the first TB sent/transmitted via the first TRP (e.g., at or during the third time interval T3). ….
In other words, Zhou discloses wireless device (UT) may determine to drop a transmission of the HARQ-ACK feedback, based on the DCI.
Therefore, given that Lenovo discloses using resource of SL transmission(s) for UE feedback transmissions, and Zhou discloses wherein the device determines to drop a transmission of the HARQ-ACK feedback, based on the DCI, then the combination of Lenovo and Zhou teaches generating first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink.
Regarding the rejection of claims 8 and 15, claims 8 and 15 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 8 and 15, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-21, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo, NPL Publication No. R1-1912323 “Discussion on resource allocation for NR sidelink Mode 1”, in view of Zhou et al., (hereinafter Zhou), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0029719.
As per claim 1, Lenovo discloses a communication processing method [fig. 2, page 2, section 2.1, page 7, a communication processing method (Sidelink transmission/communication method)], wherein the method comprises:
generating, by a first terminal device, first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource [table 1, pages 4-5, section 2.3, page 8, generating, by a first terminal device, first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource (if there is no SL data to be transmitted, TX UE could ignore or skip the grant and transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)], wherein the sidelink is a wireless direct communication link between the first terminal device and a second terminal device [fig. 2, 3, pages 2-3, section 2.1, pages 5-6, section 2.6, wherein the sidelink is a wireless direct communication link between the first terminal device and a second terminal device (UE#1 and UE#2 for sidelink transmission; TX-UE could request SL-HARQ ACK/NACK feedback from RX UE(s))], wherein the first acknowledgement information is an acknowledgement (ACK) [pages 2-3, section 2.1, page 4, section 2.3, wherein the first acknowledgement information is an acknowledgement (feedback information is ACK; transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)]; and
sending, by the first terminal device, the first acknowledgement information to a network device [table 1, pages 2-3, section 2.1-section 2.2, sending, by the first terminal device, the first acknowledgement information to a network device (transmit ACK to the base station)].
Lenovo does not explicitly disclose no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process.
However, Zhou teaches no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process [fig. 23, 27, 28, 36, paragraphs 0273, 0277, 0280, 0287-0289, 0312, no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process (wireless device may not transmit (e.g., may refrain from transmitting) the second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB (e.g., at or during the fifth time interval T5); send/transmit the second HARQ-ACK information (e.g., at or during a fifth time interval T5), for example, based on dropping the processing of the first TB)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Lenovo by including no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process as taught by Zhou because it would provide the Lenovo’s method with the enhanced capability of reducing signaling overhead/retransmissions [Zhou, paragraph 0004, 0301].
As per claim 2, Lenovo discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending, by the first terminal device, the first acknowledgement information to a network device comprises:
sending, by the first terminal device, the first acknowledgement information to a network device by using a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource [pages 2-3, section 2.1-section 2.2, page 4, section 2.3, sending, by the first terminal device, the first acknowledgement information to a network device by using a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (UE report SL HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource; transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)].
As per claim 3, Lenovo discloses the method according to claim 1, Lenovo does not explicitly disclose wherein that the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource comprises any one or several of the following: a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process.
However, Zhou teaches a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process [fig. 23, 27, 28, 36, paragraphs 0273, 0277, 0280, 0287-0289, 0312, 0317, a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process (wireless device may not transmit (e.g., may refrain from transmitting) the second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB (e.g., at or during the fifth time interval T5); send/transmit the second HARQ-ACK information (e.g., at or during a fifth time interval T5), for example, based on dropping the processing of the first TB; refraining from buffering received data for the information/data )].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Lenovo by including a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty as taught by Zhou because it would provide the Lenovo’s method with the enhanced capability of reducing signaling overhead/retransmissions [Zhou, paragraph 0004, 0301].
As per claim 4, Lenovo discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the generating, by a first terminal device, first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource comprises:
generating, by the first terminal device, the first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on the sidelink by using the first resource and a first preset condition is met [table 1, pages 4-5, section 2.3, page 8, generating, by the first terminal device, the first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on the sidelink by using the first resource and a first preset condition is met (if there is no SL data to be transmitted, TX UE could ignore or skip the grant and transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)], wherein
the first preset condition comprises any one or more of the following:
the first PUCCH resource corresponding to the first resource exists [pages 2-3, section 2.1, first PUCCH resource corresponding to the first resource exists (timing and resource for PUCCH)].
As per claim 5, Lenovo discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first resource comprises any one or more of:
a resource of the sidelink; a configured grant resource of the sidelink; a dynamic grant resource of the sidelink; a mode 1 resource of the sidelink; a type 1 configured grant resource of the sidelink; or a type 2 configured grant resource of the sidelink [pages 1-3, section 1-section 2.1, page 8, section 3, a resource of the sidelink; a configured grant resource of the sidelink; a dynamic grant resource of the sidelink (dynamic grant provides resources for one or multiple sidelink transmissions of a single TB; configured grant (type-1, type-2) provides a set of resources)].
As per claim 6, Lenovo discloses the method according to claim 1, Lenovo does not explicitly disclose comprising: the first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer of the first terminal device; or the first acknowledgement information is generated by a MAC layer of the first terminal device, and is sent by the MAC layer of the first terminal device to a PHY layer of the first terminal device.
However, Zhou teaches the first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer of the first terminal device; or the first acknowledgement information is generated by a MAC layer of the first terminal device, and is sent by the MAC layer of the first terminal device to a PHY layer of the first terminal device [fig. 2A, 2B, paragraphs 0076, 0247, 0256, 0260, 0264, first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer of the first terminal device (a medium access control (MAC) layer of the wireless device may receive one or more HARQ information from lower layers (e.g., a PHY layer) of the wireless device)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Lenovo by including wherein the first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer as taught by Zhou because it would provide the Lenovo’s method with the enhanced capability of reducing signaling overhead/retransmissions [Zhou, paragraph 0004, 0301].
As per claim 7, Lenovo discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the first terminal device, seventh instruction information from the network device, wherein the seventh instruction information instructs the first terminal device to generate or send the first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on the sidelink by using the first resource and/or the first preset condition is met [table 1, pages 4-5, section 2.3, page 8, receiving, by the first terminal device, seventh instruction information from the network device, wherein the seventh instruction information instructs the first terminal device to generate or send the first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on the sidelink by using the first resource and/or the first preset condition is met (if there is no SL data to be transmitted, TX UE could ignore or skip the grant and transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource; timing and resource for PUCCH used for conveying SL HARQ feedback to the gNB are based on the indication(s))].
As per claim 8, Lenovo discloses an apparatus, which is a first terminal device or included in the first terminal device, wherein the apparatus comprises one or more processors configured to execute computer instructions stored in a memory coupled to the one or more processors, to prompt the first terminal device to perform the steps of
generating first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource [table 1, pages 4-5, section 2.3, page 8, generating first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource (if there is no SL data to be transmitted, TX UE could ignore or skip the grant and transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)], wherein the sidelink is a wireless direct communication link between the first terminal device and a second terminal device [fig. 2, 3, pages 2-3, section 2.1, pages 5-6, section 2.6, wherein the sidelink is a wireless direct communication link between the first terminal device and a second terminal device (UE#1 and UE#2 for sidelink transmission; TX-UE could request SL-HARQ ACK/NACK feedback from RX UE(s))], wherein the first acknowledgement information is an acknowledgement (ACK) [pages 2-3, section 2.1, page 4, section 2.3, wherein the first acknowledgement information is an acknowledgement (feedback information is ACK; transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)]; and
sending the first acknowledgement information to a network device [table 1, pages 2-3, section 2.1-section 2.2, sending the first acknowledgement information to a network device (transmit ACK to the base station)].
Lenovo does not explicitly disclose no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process.
However, Zhou teaches no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process [fig. 23, 27, 28, 36, paragraphs 0273, 0277, 0280, 0287-0289, 0312, no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process (wireless device may not transmit (e.g., may refrain from transmitting) the second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB (e.g., at or during the fifth time interval T5); send/transmit the second HARQ-ACK information (e.g., at or during a fifth time interval T5), for example, based on dropping the processing of the first TB)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Lenovo by including no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process as taught by Zhou because it would provide the Lenovo’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of reducing signaling overhead/retransmissions [Zhou, paragraph 0004, 0301].
As per claim 9, Lenovo discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the sending the first acknowledgement information to a network device comprises:
sending the first acknowledgement information to a network device by using a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource [pages 2-3, section 2.1-section 2.2, page 4, section 2.3, sending the first acknowledgement information to a network device by using a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (UE report SL HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource; transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)].
As per claim 10, Lenovo discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, Lenovo does not explicitly disclose wherein that the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource comprises any one or several of the following: a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process.
However, Zhou teaches a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process [fig. 23, 27, 28, 36, paragraphs 0273, 0277, 0280, 0287-0289, 0312, 0317, a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process (wireless device may not transmit (e.g., may refrain from transmitting) the second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB (e.g., at or during the fifth time interval T5); send/transmit the second HARQ-ACK information (e.g., at or during a fifth time interval T5), for example, based on dropping the processing of the first TB; refraining from buffering received data for the information/data )].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Lenovo by including a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty as taught by Zhou because it would provide the Lenovo’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of reducing signaling overhead/retransmissions [Zhou, paragraph 0004, 0301].
As per claim 11, Lenovo discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the generating first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource comprises:
generating the first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on the sidelink by using the first resource and a first preset condition is met [table 1, pages 4-5, section 2.3, page 8, generating the first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on the sidelink by using the first resource and a first preset condition is met (if there is no SL data to be transmitted, TX UE could ignore or skip the grant and transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)], wherein
the first preset condition comprises any one or more of the following:
the first PUCCH resource corresponding to the first resource exists [pages 2-3, section 2.1, first PUCCH resource corresponding to the first resource exists (timing and resource for PUCCH)].
As per claim 12, Lenovo discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the first resource comprises any one or more of:
a resource of the sidelink; a configured grant resource of the sidelink; a dynamic grant resource of the sidelink; a mode 1 resource of the sidelink; a type 1 configured grant resource of the sidelink; or a type 2 configured grant resource of the sidelink [pages 1-3, section 1-section 2.1, page 8, section 3, a resource of the sidelink; a configured grant resource of the sidelink; a dynamic grant resource of the sidelink (dynamic grant provides resources for one or multiple sidelink transmissions of a single TB; configured grant (type-1, type-2) provides a set of resources)].
As per claim 13, Lenovo discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, Lenovo does not explicitly disclose wherein the first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer of the first terminal device; or the first acknowledgement information is generated by a MAC layer of the first terminal device, and is sent by the MAC layer of the first terminal device to a PH-Y layer of the first terminal device.
However, Zhou teaches the first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer of the first terminal device; or the first acknowledgement information is generated by a MAC layer of the first terminal device, and is sent by the MAC layer of the first terminal device to a PHY layer of the first terminal device [fig. 2A, 2B, paragraphs 0076, 0247, 0256, 0260, 0264, first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer of the first terminal device (a medium access control (MAC) layer of the wireless device may receive one or more HARQ information from lower layers (e.g., a PHY layer) of the wireless device)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Lenovo by including wherein the first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer as taught by Zhou because it would provide the Lenovo’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of reducing signaling overhead/retransmissions [Zhou, paragraph 0004, 0301].
As per claim 14, Lenovo discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving seventh instruction information from the network device, wherein the seventh instruction information instructs the first terminal device to generate or send the first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on the sidelink by using the first resource and/or the first preset condition is met [table 1, pages 4-5, section 2.3, page 8, receiving seventh instruction information from the network device, wherein the seventh instruction information instructs the first terminal device to generate or send the first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on the sidelink by using the first resource and/or the first preset condition is met (if there is no SL data to be transmitted, TX UE could ignore or skip the grant and transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource; timing and resource for PUCCH used for conveying SL HARQ feedback to the gNB are based on the indication(s))].
As per claim 15, Lenovo discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored computer programs, the computer programs being executable by one or more processors, and when executed, causes the one or more processors to:
generate first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource [table 1, pages 4-5, section 2.3, page 8, generate first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource (if there is no SL data to be transmitted, TX UE could ignore or skip the grant and transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)], wherein the sidelink is a wireless direct communication link between the first terminal device and a second terminal device [fig. 2, 3, pages 2-3, section 2.1, pages 5-6, section 2.6, wherein the sidelink is a wireless direct communication link between the first terminal device and a second terminal device (UE#1 and UE#2 for sidelink transmission; TX-UE could request SL-HARQ ACK/NACK feedback from RX UE(s))], wherein the first acknowledgement information is an acknowledgement (ACK) [pages 2-3, section 2.1, page 4, section 2.3, wherein the first acknowledgement information is an acknowledgement (feedback information is ACK; transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)];
send the first acknowledgement information to a network device [table 1, pages 2-3, section 2.1-section 2.2, send the first acknowledgement information to a network device (transmit ACK to the base station)].
Lenovo does not explicitly disclose no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process.
However, Zhou teaches no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process [fig. 23, 27, 28, 36, paragraphs 0273, 0277, 0280, 0287-0289, 0312, no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process (wireless device may not transmit (e.g., may refrain from transmitting) the second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB (e.g., at or during the fifth time interval T5); send/transmit the second HARQ-ACK information (e.g., at or during a fifth time interval T5), for example, based on dropping the processing of the first TB)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Lenovo by including no data is obtained in a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process as taught by Zhou because it would provide the Lenovo’s medium with the enhanced capability of reducing signaling overhead/retransmissions [Zhou, paragraph 0004, 0301].
As per claim 16, Lenovo discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium according to claim 15, wherein the send the first acknowledgement information to a network device comprises:
send the first acknowledgement information to a network device by using a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource [pages 2-3, section 2.1-section 2.2, page 4, section 2.3, send the first acknowledgement information to a network device by using a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (UE report SL HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH resource; transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)].
As per claim 17, Lenovo discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium according to claim 15 Lenovo does not explicitly disclose wherein that the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource comprises any one or several of the following: a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process.
However, Zhou teaches a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process [fig. 23, 27, 28, 36, paragraphs 0273, 0277, 0280, 0287-0289, 0312, 0317, a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty, wherein the first resource is associated with the fifth HARQ process (wireless device may not transmit (e.g., may refrain from transmitting) the second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB (e.g., at or during the fifth time interval T5); send/transmit the second HARQ-ACK information (e.g., at or during a fifth time interval T5), for example, based on dropping the processing of the first TB; refraining from buffering received data for the information/data )].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Lenovo by including a HARQ buffer corresponding to a fifth hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process is empty as taught by Zhou because it would provide the Lenovo’s medium with the enhanced capability of reducing signaling overhead/retransmissions [Zhou, paragraph 0004, 0301].
As per claim 18, Lenovo discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium according to claim 15, wherein the generating first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on a sidelink by using a first resource comprises:
generating the first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on the sidelink by using the first resource and a first preset condition is met [table 1, pages 4-5, section 2.3, page 8, generating the first acknowledgement information when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on the sidelink by using the first resource and a first preset condition is met (if there is no SL data to be transmitted, TX UE could ignore or skip the grant and transmit ACK in the PUCCH resource)], wherein
the first preset condition comprises any one or more of the following:
the first PUCCH resource corresponding to the first resource exists [pages 2-3, section 2.1, first PUCCH resource corresponding to the first resource exists (timing and resource for PUCCH)].
As per claim 19, Lenovo discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium according to claim 15, wherein the first resource comprises any one or more of:
a resource of the sidelink; a configured grant resource of the sidelink; a dynamic grant resource of the sidelink; a mode 1 resource of the sidelink; a type 1 configured grant resource of the sidelink; or a type 2 configured grant resource of the sidelink [pages 1-3, section 1-section 2.1, page 8, section 3, a resource of the sidelink; a configured grant resource of the sidelink; a dynamic grant resource of the sidelink (dynamic grant provides resources for one or multiple sidelink transmissions of a single TB; configured grant (type-1, type-2) provides a set of resources)].
As per claim 20, Lenovo discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium according to claim 15, Lenovo does not explicitly disclose wherein the first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer of the first terminal device; or the first acknowledgement information is generated by a MAC layer of the first terminal device, and is sent by the MAC layer of the first terminal device to a PHY layer of the first terminal device.
However, Zhou teaches the first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer of the first terminal device; or the first acknowledgement information is generated by a MAC layer of the first terminal device, and is sent by the MAC layer of the first terminal device to a PHY layer of the first terminal device [fig. 2A, 2B, paragraphs 0076, 0247, 0256, 0260, 0264, first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer of the first terminal device (a medium access control (MAC) layer of the wireless device may receive one or more HARQ information from lower layers (e.g., a PHY layer) of the wireless device)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Lenovo by including wherein the first acknowledgement information is generated by a physical (PHY) layer of the first terminal device according to an instruction of a media access control (MAC) layer as taught by Zhou because it would provide the Lenovo’s medium with the enhanced capability of reducing signaling overhead/retransmissions [Zhou, paragraph 0004, 0301].
As per claim 21, Lenovo discloses the communication processing method of claim 1, comprising:
receiving, a plurality of side link transmission resources for communicating with a second terminal device [page 1, section 1, page 2, section 2.1, receiving, a plurality of side link transmission resources for communicating with a second terminal device (resources for one or multiple sidelink transmissions)];
generating and transmitting a first acknowledge (ACK) to a network device to indicate a successful transmission on one of the side link transmission resources [page 2, section 2.1, page 3, section 2.2, generating and transmitting a first acknowledge (ACK) to a network device to indicate a successful transmission on one of the side link transmission resources (received the UL feedback, if the feedback information is ACK, gNB may schedule a new SL transmission)];
Lenovo does not explicitly disclose subsequently determining to not transmit on at least one of the side link transmission resources; the step of generating, by the first terminal device, a second ACK when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on one of sidelink transmission resources by using the first resource, the sidelink transmission resource is the wireless direct communication link between the first terminal device and a second terminal device for one of the plurality of side link transmission resources; and sending, by the first terminal device, the second ACK to the network device.
However, Zhou teaches subsequently determining to not transmit on at least one of the side link transmission resources [fig. 23, 27, 28, 36, paragraphs 0257, 0273, 0277, 0280, 0287-0289, 0312, subsequently determining to not transmit on at least one of the side link transmission resources (wireless device may not transmit (e.g., may refrain from transmitting) the second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB (e.g., at or during the fifth time interval T5); send/transmit the second HARQ-ACK information (e.g., at or during a fifth time interval T5), for example, based on dropping the processing of the first TB)]; the step of generating, by the first terminal device, a second ACK when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on one of sidelink transmission resources by using the first resource, the sidelink transmission resource is the wireless direct communication link between the first terminal device and a second terminal device for one of the plurality of side link transmission resources [paragraphs 0269, 0270, 0272, 0273, 0274, 0277, 0280, 0287-0289, 0312, generating, by the first terminal device, a second ACK when the first terminal device does not perform transmission on one of sidelink transmission resources by using the first resource, the sidelink transmission resource is the wireless direct communication link between the first terminal device and a second terminal device for one of the plurality of side link transmission resources (wireless device may drop processing of a low-priority TB, for example, in at least some types of communications (e.g., communications by wireless devices compatible); wireless device may trigger HARQ retransmissions (e.g., within a bundle))]; and sending, by the first terminal device, the second ACK to the network device [paragraphs 0269, 0270, 0273, 0277, 0280, 0287-0289, 0312, sending, by the first terminal device, the second ACK to the network device (the wireless device may send/transmit an uplink signal comprising second HARQ-ACK information for the second TB (e.g., at or during a time period T5))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Lenovo by including terminal device does not perform transmission as taught by Zhou because it would provide the Lenovo’s medium with the enhanced capability of reducing signaling overhead/retransmissions [Zhou, paragraph 0004, 0301].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Medles et al., U.S. Publication No. 2019/0222394 discloses wherein the apparatus skipping a HARQ-ACK feedback transmission on an uplink channel.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469