This action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed 11/10/2025. Claims 1, 51, 67, 70 have been amended. Claims 2-40 have been canceled. Claims 1, 41-72 are pending and have been considered below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 41, 43, 44, 46, 47, 49, 50, 51, 71, 72 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim(s) 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 40, 41 of Application No. 17/793,410. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claim(s) 1, 41, 43, 44, 46, 47, 49, 50, 51, 71, 72 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 40, 41 of copending Application No. 17/793,410 in view of Gupte, Sokolov and Mann
The limitations rejected in view of Mann, Edge and Sokolov are not deemed to define limitations that are non-obvious over the claims of copending Application No. 17/793,410.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant Claims for 17/870,860
Claims for Parent 17/793,410
Claim 1. An equipment server comprising- processing circuitry to transmit and receive a message in a common data format c. to and from a plurality of device servers, wherein each of the device servers communicates with and controls at least one device in the facility, and control a piece of equipment in the facility on the basis of the message received, wherein the message includes a message type representing a transmission direction of the message, the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction from a device side to an equipment side and a value representing a transmission direction from the equipment side to the device side, wherein the message type included in the message transmitted from the device side to the equipment side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from a device side to an equipment side, and the message type included in the message transmitted from the equipment side to the device side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from an equipment side to the device side, each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message.
Gupte has been used to reject the claims of the instant and reference application, and Gupte discloses: wherein the message includes second information representing a transmission direction of the message.
Mann has been used to reject the limitations directed to information is from a device side to an equipment side or from an equipment side to the device side.
Edge has been used to reject limitations directed to each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message.
Claim 41. The equipment server according to claim 1, wherein the message type represents a transmission direction from any of the plurality of device servers to any of at least one equipment server or from any of at least one equipment server to any of the plurality of device servers.
Claim 42. The equipment server according to claim 1, wherein the message includes third information representing a process related to the message.
Claim 30. An equipment server comprising processing circuitry to transmit and to receive a message in a common data format to and from a plurality of device servers, wherein each of the device servers communicates with
Claim 43. The equipment server according to claim 42, wherein the processing circuitry selects a piece of equipment to be controlled from among a plurality of pieces of equipment in the facility, on the basis of the third information.
Claim 34. The equipment server according to claim 30, wherein the processing circuitry selects a piece of equipment to be controlled from among a plurality of pieces of equipment in the facility, on the basis of the third information.
Claim 44. The equipment server according to claim 42, wherein the processing circuitry causes the piece of equipment in the facility to start operation if the third information represents a request to start the operation of the piece of equipment.
Claim 35. The equipment server according to claim 30, wherein the processing circuitry causes the piece of equipment in the facility to start operation if the third information represents a request to start the operation of the piece of equipment.
Claim 46. The equipment server according to claim 42, wherein the processing circuitry changes an operating state of the piece of equipment in the facility if the third information represents a request to change the operating state of the piece of equipment.
Claim 36. The equipment server according to claim 30, wherein the processing circuitry changes an operating state of the piece of equipment in the facility if the third information represents a request to change the operating state of the piece of equipment.
Claim 47. The equipment server according to claim 1, wherein the message includes first information for identification of the device.
Claim 31. The equipment server according to claim 30, wherein the message includes first information for identification of the device.
Claim 49. The equipment server according to claim 47, wherein the processing circuitry causes an access control apparatus that is the piece of equipment in the facility to authenticate the device on the basis of the first information.
Claim 32. The equipment server according to claim 30, wherein the processing circuitry causes an access control apparatus that is the piece of equipment in the facility to authenticate the device on the basis of the first information.
Claim 50. The equipment server according to claim 1, wherein the device is a robot or a mobility device.
Claim 33. The equipment server according to claim 30, wherein the device is a robot or a mobility device.
Claim 51. An equipment server comprising: processing circuitry to transmit and receive a message in a common data format to and from a plurality of device servers, wherein each of the device servers communicates with and controls at least one device in a facility, and to control a piece of equipment in the facility on the basis of the message received, wherein the message includes a message type representing a transmission direction of the message, the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction from a device side to an equipment side and a value representing a transmission direction from the equipment side to the device side, and third information representing a process related to the message and first information for identification of the device, the device is a first device that is controlled by a first device server among the plurality of device servers and moves in the facility, the processing circuitry registers, in an elevator that is the piece of equipment in the facility, a hall call calling a first car of the elevator if the third information represents the hall call, and the processing circuitry identifies a floor, on which the first device is located, on the basis of position information of the first device which is stored in association with information on the first device identified by the first information and registers, in the elevator, the hall call for the identified floor, wherein the message type included in the message transmitted from the device side to the equipment side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from a device side to an equipment side, and the message type included in the message transmitted from the equipment side to the device side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from an equipment side to the device side, each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message.
Mann has been used to reject the limitations directed to information is from a device side to an equipment side or from an equipment side to the device side.
Edge has been used to reject limitations directed to each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message.
Claim 37. The equipment server according to claim 30, wherein the device is a first device that is controlled by a first device server among the plurality of device servers and moves in the facility, and the processing circuitry registers, in an elevator that is the piece of equipment in the facility, a hall call calling a first car of the elevator if the third information represents the hall call.
Claim 71. The communication system according to claim 70, wherein the message includes third information representing a process related to the message.
Claim 40. A communication system comprising an equipment server and a plurality of device servers, wherein the equipment server includes first processing circuitry to transmit and to receive a message in a common data format to and from the plurality of device servers, and to control a piece of equipment in a facility on the basis of a message received, each of the plurality of device servers includes second processing circuitry to transmit and to receive the message in the common data format to and from the equipment server, and to communicate with at least one device, which is included in a plurality of devices in the facility, and to control at least one of the devices in the facility on the basis of a message received, and the message includes third information representing a process related to the message, and the plurality of devices includes at least two moving bodies, each using a different data format for communication.
Claim 72. The communication system according to claim 71, wherein the message includes first information for identification of the device.
Claim 41. The communication system according to claim 40, wherein the message includes first information for identification of the device.
The instant claims of application 17/870,860 have been amended to include limitations directed to information representing either a transmission direction of the message from a device side to an equipment side or a transmission direction of the message from the equipment side to the device side, and limitations directed to each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message. These limitations directed to a transmission direction are disclosed by Gupte. The amended limitations directed to, wherein the second information included in the message transmitted from the device side to the equipment side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from a device side to an equipment side, and the second information included in the message transmitted from the equipment side to the device side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from an equipment side to the device side, are disclosed by Mann. Edge has been used to reject limitations directed to each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message. These limitations are not deemed to define a non-obvious embodiment over copending Application No. 17/793,410.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 41-50, 67-72 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupte (US 2018/0130017 A1) in view of Mann et al. (US 5,167,035) and further in view of Edge et al. (US 2012/0202517 A1).
Claim 1. Gupte discloses
an equipment server comprising- processing circuitry, encrypted messages may be sent from one of the components of the Pick-up and Delivery System to a server acting as a hub (P 0137),
to transmit and receive a message in a common data format, a Pod may send a Message related to a Delivery to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) including information required to complete the delivery such as Delivery Address and Delivery Information, the UAV replies to the Message with an acceptance flag or an unchanged copy of the information from the Message implying acceptance of proposed information or it may respond with new information including, the Pod and UAV will, in this case, need to share at least one common protocol or communication technology (P 0165) wherein the vehicle may be an unmanned terrestrial vehicle (P 0179) a Message is transmitted from at least one of a Pod and a Third-Party Logistics company to a server and then on to the Unmanned Terrestrial Vehicle that is seeking the Pod for delivery or pick up (P 0229) the common protocol being necessary for the Pod and vehicle to connect to a local network including the address of a server to communicate with as an alternate data source (as Pick-up/Delivery Connection Information) (P 0230) once a common protocol is negotiated, the vehicle uses the protocol to a locate Pod and move to it, and if unable to locate the Pod, using the protocol, it may send a Message suggesting a different protocol and again, as described under “Message based Negotiation” using iterative messages can negotiate a different protocol and then use the new protocol to locate Pod (P 0236) if decrypted information is recognized by Pod i.e. it is in the correct format and data can be validated by simple rules (e.g. phone number retrieved is a valid phone number), authentication is considered successful (P 0257) It is clear that a common protocol must be used for communication with and between the remote user, the pod and the vehicle,
to and from a plurality of device servers, wherein each of the device servers communicates with and controls at least one device in the facility, included in Message Encryption/Decryption Information are means of locating additional such Servers and authentication information if required to obtain additional Message Encryption/Decryption Information (P 0073) the Pod UID, or its representation (graphic, numeric or any other form of representation) may be stored as required by various embodiments in a plurality of servers (P 0099) a Pick-up/Delivery Agent can include any combination of one or more of a Human Agent and an Unmanned Terrestrial Vehicle enabled with devices and/or computing systems to interact with other components of a Pick-up/Delivery Agent (P 0120), the vehicle is remotely controlled (P 0132) through messages over the network connection (P 0182) or the vehicle may require no human control and may use a Package Homing device (P 0183) The vehicle in Gupte is analogous to the claimed device, and
control a piece of equipment in the facility on the basis of the message received, the pod Computing System controls at least a Pod Locking Mechanism and, also controls a Pod Electro-Mechanical System (P 0093) and any other such mechanism that attaches the Pod Receptacle to the Pod (P 0105) and the vehicle is remotely controlled (P 0132) through messages over the network connection (P 0182) or the vehicle may require no human control and may use a Package Homing device (P 0183) wherein control is communicated through messages via the server (P 0250) The pod in Gupte is analogous to the claimed equipment, and as noted above, messages between the remote operator, the vehicle and the pod are communicated via messages through a network of servers, and each of the vehicle and the pod are controlled to execute a process,
wherein the message includes a message type …, a server sends, receives and stores at least one message (P 0137) wherein the correct communication protocol and connection name are received in the message (P 0190),
a transmission direction of the message, the messages transmitted from the Pod to the UAV and from the UAV to the Pod include information describing directions of signals and identification of the signals used to determine the Pod’s and UAV’s position (P 0233),
the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction …, a message type includes the protocol of the message (P 0190) a static device records its physical coordinates and physical coordinates of a multiplicity of mobile devices under different environmental conditions, and stores such coordinates as stored data such and can provide coordinates that match the current environmental conditions as derived from stored data when requested: the physical coordinates can include, but are not limited to, a combination of latitude, longitude and height, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters external (configured on requesting device) to the device, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters internal to the device (P 0231) a pod intermittently calculates its position and information, including the Pod's own position as well as relative locations, types (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth etc.), directions of the other signals (relative to that of the Pod) and identification of the signals (e.g. the SSID or device name) is transmitted to the Unmanned Aerial Vehicle as a Message (P 0233) using the Short-Range Positioning System, UAV may use the Doppler principle to determine direction to or away from Pod and thence, by triangulation, location, of the source of a signal in order to more accurately determine location of Pod (P 0235) The message direction is described as the direction of the signals transmitting the message, but not whether the direction is from a device side to an equipment side and from the equipment side to the device side. Applicant’s specification does not describe preset categorical values, therefore, the examiner has interpreted preset categorical values to describe the information included in a message that indicates the transmission direction.
Gupte does not disclose wherein the message includes a message type representing a transmission direction of the message, the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction from a device side to an equipment side and a value representing a transmission direction from the equipment side to the device side, as disclosed in the claims. Although Gupte discloses including a message type, i.e. protocol, in a message and also discloses that messages exchanged between Pods and UAVs regarding their respective positions include directions of signals relative to each of the Pod and UAV and identification of the signals, including SSID or device name, Gupte does not explicitly disclose that the directions of the signals indicate whether a message is being transmitted from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side. However, Gupte discloses messages are exchanged and stored between Pods and UAVs and other devices (P 0102) each device identified by an SSID, the information shared through a server (P 0254). That is, whether the message is transmitted from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side can be derived from the message information transmitted among Pods, UAVs and servers. It would have been obvious to add to Gupte explicitly indicating the direction from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side. However, in the same field of invention, Mann discloses client nodes and server nodes transfer message segments using information in one or more circuit status blocks (C 6 L 40-45) if the circuit status block is in the client node, the source node identification field contains the interface address of the client node and the data link over which they may be reached, and if the circuit status block is in the server node, the source node identification field contains the interface addresses of the server node (C 7 L 53-59). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte and Mann, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the message includes a message type representing a transmission direction of the message, the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction from a device side to an equipment side and a value representing a transmission direction from the equipment side to the device side with the teachings of Gupte with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Gupte does not disclose wherein the message type included in the message transmitted from the device side to the equipment side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from a device side to an equipment side, and the message type included in the message transmitted from the equipment side to the device side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from an equipment side to the device side, as disclosed in the claims. However, Mann discloses client nodes and server nodes transfer message segments using information in one or more circuit status blocks (C 6 L 40-45) if the circuit status block is in the client node, the source node identification field contains the interface address of the client node and the data link over which they may be reached, and if the circuit status block is in the server node, the source node identification field contains the interface addresses of the server node (C 7 L 53-59). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte and Mann, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the message type included in the message transmitted from the device side to the equipment side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from a device side to an equipment side, and the message type included in the message transmitted from the equipment side to the device side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from an equipment side to the device side with the teachings of Gupte and Mann with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Gupte does not disclose each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Edge discloses a first message is obtained from a mobile device indicating a first set of location servers; a second set of location servers is determined based on said first set of location servers; and a second message is transmitted to the mobile device indicating the second set of location servers as being authorized for location service related access by mobile device (P 0012). Edge has been combined with Gupte for limitations directed to each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message. That is, Edge identifies sets of location servers, not individual location servers. Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message with the teachings of Gupte and Mann with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Claims 2-40. (Canceled)
Claim 41. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 1, and the combination of Gupte in view of Mann and Edge discloses wherein the message type represents a transmission direction from any of the plurality of device servers to any of at least one equipment server or from any of at least one equipment server to any of the plurality of device servers, physical coordinates of a static device and of a multiplicity of mobile devices are recorded, the physical coordinates include a combination of a distance and direction from emitters external (configured on requesting device) to the device, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters internal to the device (P 0231) a Pod intermittently calculates its position by triangulating existing Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and other signals in the vicinity and directions of the other signals (relative to that of the Pod) (P 0233) a server or other pods activate beacons in a pod to triangulate the pod in a high-density pod installation using different protocols, e.g. Wi-Fi and Bluetooth (P 0239). Mann has been combined with Gupte for limitations directed to transmission direction from device side to equipment side and equipment side to device side.
Claim 42. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 1, and Gupte discloses wherein the message includes third information representing a process related to the message, a first message is received at a first computing device associated with a Pick-up/Delivery agent identifying a Pod; and a second message is received at a second computing device associated with the Pod identifying the Pick-up/Delivery agent or information associated with Pick-up/Delivery agent's device such that the Pick-up/Delivery agent contacts and unlocks the identified Pod based on at least a part of the first message (e.g., an unlock code that forms part of the first message, and completes the designated action of pick up and/or delivery of the package when at least a part of the second message is complementary to information in the first message (P 0027).
Claim 43. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 42, and Gupte discloses wherein the processing circuitry selects a piece of equipment to be controlled from among a plurality of pieces of equipment in the facility, on the basis of the third information, a first message is received at a first computing device associated with a Pick-up/Delivery agent identifying a Pod (P 0027).
Claim 44. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 42, and Gupte discloses wherein the processing circuitry causes the piece of equipment in the facility to start operation if the third information represents a request to start the operation of the piece of equipment, the Pick-up/Delivery agent contacts and unlocks the identified Pod based on at least a part of the first message (e.g., an unlock code that forms part of the first message, and completes the designated action of pick up and/or delivery of the package when at least a part of the second message is complementary to information in the first message (P 0027).
Claim 45. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 42, and Gupte discloses wherein the processing circuitry causes the piece of equipment in the facility to stop the operation if the third information represents a request to stop the operation of the piece of equipment, these messages include messages sent in real-time to move the UAV in a certain direction, stop movement to hover UAV and so on—the purpose being to bring UAV into a position that Direct Sender can deposit Package into UAV Package Handling Apparatus (P 0181).
Claim 46. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 42, and Gupte discloses wherein the processing circuitry changes an operating state of the piece of equipment in the facility if the third information represents a request to change the operating state of the piece of equipment, the Pick-up/Delivery agent contacts and unlocks the identified Pod based on at least a part of the first message (e.g., an unlock code that forms part of the first message, and completes the designated action of pick up and/or delivery of the package when at least a part of the second message is complementary to information in the first message (P 0027).
Claim 47. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 1, Gupte discloses wherein the message includes first information for identification of the device, a message from a sending device includes unique ID which helps a receiving device identify the sending device (P 0078) every pod has a unique ID (P 0099) a message can identify a pod in a first message and identify a pick-up/delivery agent in a second message (P 0145) wherein the pick-up/delivery agent is an unmanned terrestrial vehicle (P 0147) the pod and the vehicle communicate with each other over a network (P 0230).
Claim 48. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 47, and Gupte discloses wherein the processing circuitry selects the piece of equipment to be controlled from among the plurality of pieces of equipment in the facility, on the basis of position information of the device which is stored in association with information on the device identified by the first information, a first message is received at a first computing device associated with a Pick-up/Delivery agent identifying a Pod (P 0027).
Claim 49. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 47, and Gupte discloses wherein the processing circuitry causes an access control apparatus that is the piece of equipment in the facility to authenticate the device on the basis of the first information the pick-up/delivery agent contacts an identified pod, a message can identify a pod in a first message and identify a pick-up/delivery agent in a second message (P 0145) wherein the pick-up/delivery agent is an unmanned terrestrial vehicle (P 0147) a message is sent from a pick-up/delivery agent to a pod such that message from another different pick-up delivery agent does not unlock the pod (P 0148) the pod and the vehicle communicate with each other over a network (P 0230).
Claim 50. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 1, and Gupte discloses wherein the device is a robot or a mobility device, the invention relates to the field of robotics and more specifically to systems and methods to enable delivery and pick up of packages using pods and unmanned vehicles (P 0002) the pick-up/delivery agent is an unmanned terrestrial vehicle (P 0147).
Claim 67. Gupte discloses device server, the system includes a server (also interchangeably referred to as a “server system”) connected to a network such as the Internet, which stores and transmits messages and information to the other parts of the delivery system including to the Devices, Pods and Vehicles (P 0024), comprising:
processing circuitry to transmit and receive a message in a common data format to and from an equipment server that controls a piece of equipment in a facility, a Pod may send a Message related to a Delivery to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) including information required to complete the delivery such as Delivery Address and Delivery Information, the UAV replies to the Message with an acceptance flag or an unchanged copy of the information from the Message implying acceptance of proposed information or it may respond with new information including, the Pod and UAV will, in this case, need to share at least one common protocol or communication technology (P 0165), a server or other pods activate beacons in a pod to triangulate the pod in a high-density pod installation using different protocols, e.g. Wi-Fi and Bluetooth (P 0239), and
to control at least one device in the facility on the basis of a message received, the vehicle is remotely controlled (P 0132) through messages over the network connection (P 0182) or the vehicle may require no human control and may use a Package Homing device (P 0183) The vehicle in Gupte is analogous to the claimed device,
wherein the message includes a message type …, a server sends, receives and stores at least one message (P 0137) wherein the correct communication protocol and connection name are received in the message (P 0190),
a transmission direction of the message, the messages transmitted from the Pod to the UAV and from the UAV to the Pod include information describing directions of signals and identification of the signals used to determine the Pod’s and UAV’s position (P 0233),
the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction …, a message type includes the protocol of the message (P 0190) a static device records its physical coordinates and physical coordinates of a multiplicity of mobile devices under different environmental conditions, and stores such coordinates as stored data such and can provide coordinates that match the current environmental conditions as derived from stored data when requested: the physical coordinates can include, but are not limited to, a combination of latitude, longitude and height, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters external (configured on requesting device) to the device, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters internal to the device (P 0231) a pod intermittently calculates its position and information, including the Pod's own position as well as relative locations, types (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth etc.), directions of the other signals (relative to that of the Pod) and identification of the signals (e.g. the SSID or device name) is transmitted to the Unmanned Aerial Vehicle as a Message (P 0233) using the Short-Range Positioning System, UAV may use the Doppler principle to determine direction to or away from Pod and thence, by triangulation, location, of the source of a signal in order to more accurately determine location of Pod (P 0235).
Gupte does not disclose wherein the message includes a message type representing a transmission direction of the message, the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction from a device side to an equipment side and a value representing a transmission direction from the equipment side to the device side, as disclosed in the claims. Although Gupte discloses including a message type, i.e. protocol, in a message and also discloses that messages exchanged between Pods and UAVs regarding their respective positions include directions of signals relative to each of the Pod and UAV and identification of the signals, including SSID or device name, Gupte does not explicitly disclose that the directions of the signals indicate whether a message is being transmitted from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side. However, Gupte discloses messages are exchanged and stored between Pods and UAVs and other devices (P 0102) each device identified by an SSID, the information shared through a server (P 0254). That is, whether the message is transmitted from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side can be derived from the message information transmitted among Pods, UAVs and servers. It would have been obvious to add to Gupte explicitly indicating the direction from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side. However, in the same field of invention, Mann discloses client nodes and server nodes transfer message segments using information in one or more circuit status blocks (C 6 L 40-45) if the circuit status block is in the client node, the source node identification field contains the interface address of the client node and the data link over which they may be reached, and if the circuit status block is in the server node, the source node identification field contains the interface addresses of the server node (C 7 L 53-59). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte and Mann, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the message includes a message type representing a transmission direction of the message, the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction from a device side to an equipment side and a value representing a transmission direction from the equipment side to the device side with the teachings of Gupte with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Gupte does not disclose wherein the message type included in the message transmitted from the device side to the equipment side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from a device side to an equipment side, and the message type included in the message transmitted from the equipment side to the device side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from an equipment side to the device side, as disclosed in the claims. However, Mann discloses client nodes and server nodes transfer message segments using information in one or more circuit status blocks (C 6 L 40-45) if the circuit status block is in the client node, the source node identification field contains the interface address of the client node and the data link over which they may be reached, and if the circuit status block is in the server node, the source node identification field contains the interface addresses of the server node (C 7 L 53-59). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte and Mann, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the message type included in the message transmitted from the device side to the equipment side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from a device side to an equipment side, and the message type included in the message transmitted from the equipment side to the device side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from an equipment side to the device side with the teachings of Gupte with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Gupte does not disclose each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Edge discloses a first message is obtained from a mobile device indicating a first set of location servers; a second set of location servers is determined based on said first set of location servers; and a second message is transmitted to the mobile device indicating the second set of location servers as being authorized for location service related access by mobile device (P 0012). Edge has been combined with Gupte for limitations directed to each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message. That is, Edge identifies sets of location servers, not individual location servers. Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message with the teachings of Gupte and Mann with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Claim 68. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the device server according to claim 67, and Gupte discloses wherein the message includes third information representing a process related to the message, a first message is received at a first computing device associated with a Pick-up/Delivery agent identifying a Pod; and a second message is received at a second computing device associated with the Pod identifying the Pick-up/Delivery agent or information associated with Pick-up/Delivery agent's device such that the Pick-up/Delivery agent contacts and unlocks the identified Pod based on at least a part of the first message (e.g., an unlock code that forms part of the first message, and completes the designated action of pick up and/or delivery of the package when at least a part of the second message is complementary to information in the first message (P 0027).
Claim 69. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the device server according to claim 68, and Gupte discloses wherein the message includes first information for identification of the device, a message from a sending device includes unique ID which helps a receiving device identify the sending device (P 0078) every pod has a unique ID (P 0099) a message can identify a pod in a first message and identify a pick-up/delivery agent in a second message (P 0145) wherein the pick-up/delivery agent is an unmanned terrestrial vehicle (P 0147) the pod and the vehicle communicate with each other over a network (P 0230).
Claim 70. Gupte discloses a communication system comprising:
an equipment server, encrypted messages may be sent from one of the components of the Pick-up and Delivery System to a server acting as a hub (P 0137); and
a plurality of device servers, included in Message Encryption/Decryption Information are means of locating additional such Servers and authentication information if required to obtain additional Message Encryption/Decryption Information (P 0073) the Pod UID, or its representation (graphic, numeric or any other form of representation) may be stored as required by various embodiments in a plurality of servers (P 0099) a Pick-up/Delivery Agent can include any combination of one or more of a Human Agent and an Unmanned Terrestrial Vehicle enabled with devices and/or computing systems to interact with other components of a Pick-up/Delivery Agent (P 0120),
wherein the equipment server includes first processing circuitry to transmit and receive a message in a common data format to and from the plurality of device servers, a Pod may send a Message related to a Delivery to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) including information required to complete the delivery such as Delivery Address and Delivery Information, the UAV replies to the Message with an acceptance flag or an unchanged copy of the information from the Message implying acceptance of proposed information or it may respond with new information including, the Pod and UAV will, in this case, need to share at least one common protocol or communication technology (P 0165) wherein the vehicle may be an unmanned terrestrial vehicle (P 0179) a Message is transmitted from at least one of a Pod and a Third-Party Logistics company to a server and then on to the Unmanned Terrestrial Vehicle that is seeking the Pod for delivery or pick up (P 0229) the common protocol being necessary for the Pod and vehicle to connect to a local network including the address of a server to communicate with as an alternate data source (as Pick-up/Delivery Connection Information) (P 0230) once a common protocol is negotiated, the vehicle uses the protocol to a locate Pod and move to it, and if unable to locate the Pod, using the protocol, it may send a Message suggesting a different protocol and again, as described under “Message based Negotiation” using iterative messages can negotiate a different protocol and then use the new protocol to locate Pod (P 0236) if decrypted information is recognized by Pod i.e. it is in the correct format and data can be validated by simple rules (e.g. phone number retrieved is a valid phone number), authentication is considered successful (P 0257) It is clear that a common protocol must be used for communication with and between the remote user, the pod and the vehicle, and
control a piece of equipment in a facility on the basis of a message received, the pod Computing System controls at least a Pod Locking Mechanism and, also controls a Pod Electro-Mechanical System (P 0093) and any other such mechanism that attaches the Pod Receptacle to the Pod (P 0105) and the vehicle is remotely controlled (P 0132) through messages over the network connection (P 0182) or the vehicle may require no human control and may use a Package Homing device (P 0183) wherein control is communicated through messages via the server (P 0250) The pod in Gupte is analogous to the claimed equipment, and as noted above, messages between the remote operator, the vehicle and the pod are communicated via messages through a network of servers, and each of the vehicle and the pod are controlled to execute a process,
each of the plurality of device servers includes second processing circuitry to transmit and receive the message in the common data format to and from the equipment server, a Pod may send a Message related to a Delivery to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) including information required to complete the delivery such as Delivery Address and Delivery Information, the UAV replies to the Message with an acceptance flag or an unchanged copy of the information from the Message implying acceptance of proposed information or it may respond with new information including, the Pod and UAV will, in this case, need to share at least one common protocol or communication technology (P 0165), a server or other pods activate beacons in a pod to triangulate the pod in a high-density pod installation using different protocols, e.g. Wi-Fi and Bluetooth (P 0239), and
control at least one device in the facility on the basis of a message received, the vehicle is remotely controlled (P 0132) through messages over the network connection (P 0182) or the vehicle may require no human control and may use a Package Homing device (P 0183) The vehicle in Gupte is analogous to the claimed device,
the message includes a message type representing a transmission direction of the message, the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction from a device side to an equipment side and a value representing a transmission direction from the equipment side to the device side, a static device records its physical coordinates and physical coordinates of a multiplicity of mobile devices under different environmental conditions, and stores such coordinates as stored data such and can provide coordinates that match the current environmental conditions as derived from stored data when requested: the physical coordinates can include, but are not limited to, a combination of latitude, longitude and height, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters external (configured on requesting device) to the device, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters internal to the device (P 0231) a pod intermittently calculates its position and information, including the Pod's own position as well as relative locations, types (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth etc.), directions of the other signals (relative to that of the Pod) and identification of the signals (e.g. the SSID or device name) is transmitted to the Unmanned Aerial Vehicle as a Message (P 0233) using the Short-Range Positioning System, UAV may use the Doppler principle to determine direction to or away from Pod and thence, by triangulation, location, of the source of a signal in order to more accurately determine location of Pod (P 0235).
Gupte does not disclose the message includes a message type representing a transmission direction of the message, the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction from a device side to an equipment side and a value representing a transmission direction from the equipment side to the device side, as disclosed in the claims. Although Gupte discloses including a message type, i.e. protocol, in a message and also discloses that messages exchanged between Pods and UAVs regarding their respective positions include directions of signals relative to each of the Pod and UAV and identification of the signals, including SSID or device name, Gupte does not explicitly disclose that the directions of the signals indicate whether a message is being transmitted from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side. However, Gupte discloses messages are exchanged and stored between Pods and UAVs and other devices (P 0102) each device identified by an SSID, the information shared through a server (P 0254). That is, whether the message is transmitted from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side can be derived from the message information transmitted among Pods, UAVs and servers. It would have been obvious to add to Gupte explicitly indicating the direction from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side. However, in the same field of invention, Mann discloses client nodes and server nodes transfer message segments using information in one or more circuit status blocks (C 6 L 40-45) if the circuit status block is in the client node, the source node identification field contains the interface address of the client node and the data link over which they may be reached, and if the circuit status block is in the server node, the source node identification field contains the interface addresses of the server node (C 7 L 53-59). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte and Mann, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the message includes a message type representing a transmission direction of the message, the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction from a device side to an equipment side and a value representing a transmission direction from the equipment side to the device side with the teachings of Gupte with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Gupte does not disclose wherein the message type included in the message transmitted from the device side to the equipment side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from a device side to an equipment side, and the message type included in the message transmitted from the equipment side to the device side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from an equipment side to the device side, as disclosed in the claims. However, Mann discloses client nodes and server nodes transfer message segments using information in one or more circuit status blocks (C 6 L 40-45) if the circuit status block is in the client node, the source node identification field contains the interface address of the client node and the data link over which they may be reached, and if the circuit status block is in the server node, the source node identification field contains the interface addresses of the server node (C 7 L 53-59). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte and Mann, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the message type included in the message transmitted from the device side to the equipment side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from a device side to an equipment side, and the message type included in the message transmitted from the equipment side to the device side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from an equipment side to the device side with the teachings of Gupte with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Gupte does not disclose each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Edge discloses a first message is obtained from a mobile device indicating a first set of location servers; a second set of location servers is determined based on said first set of location servers; and a second message is transmitted to the mobile device indicating the second set of location servers as being authorized for location service related access by mobile device (P 0012). Edge has been combined with Gupte for limitations directed to each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message. That is, Edge identifies sets of location servers, not individual location servers. Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message with the teachings of Gupte and Mann with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Claim 71. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the communication system according to claim 70, and Gupte discloses wherein the message includes third information representing a process related to the message, a first message is received at a first computing device associated with a Pick-up/Delivery agent identifying a Pod; and a second message is received at a second computing device associated with the Pod identifying the Pick-up/Delivery agent or information associated with Pick-up/Delivery agent's device such that the Pick-up/Delivery agent contacts and unlocks the identified Pod based on at least a part of the first message (e.g., an unlock code that forms part of the first message, and completes the designated action of pick up and/or delivery of the package when at least a part of the second message is complementary to information in the first message (P 0027).
Claim 72. Gupte, Mann and Edge disclose the communication system according to claim 71, and Gupte discloses wherein the message includes first information for identification of the device, a message from a sending device includes unique ID which helps a receiving device identify the sending device (P 0078) every pod has a unique ID (P 0099) a message can identify a pod in a first message and identify a pick-up/delivery agent in a second message (P 0145) wherein the pick-up/delivery agent is an unmanned terrestrial vehicle (P 0147) the pod and the vehicle communicate with each other over a network (P 0230).
Claim(s) 51-57, 59-62, 64-66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupte (US 2018/0130017 A1) in view of Sokolov et al. (US 2020/0055694 A1) and further in view of Mann et al. (US 5,167,035) and Edge et al. (US 2012/0202517 A1).
Claim 51. Gupte discloses
an equipment server comprising: processing circuitry to, encrypted messages may be sent from one of the components of the Pick-up and Delivery System to a server acting as a hub (P 0137),
transmit and receive a message in a common data format, a Pod may send a Message related to a Delivery to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) including information required to complete the delivery such as Delivery Address and Delivery Information, the UAV replies to the Message with an acceptance flag or an unchanged copy of the information from the Message implying acceptance of proposed information or it may respond with new information including, the Pod and UAV will, in this case, need to share at least one common protocol or communication technology (P 0165) wherein the vehicle may be an unmanned terrestrial vehicle (P 0179) a Message is transmitted from at least one of a Pod and a Third-Party Logistics company to a server and then on to the Unmanned Terrestrial Vehicle that is seeking the Pod for delivery or pick up (P 0229) the common protocol being necessary for the Pod and vehicle to connect to a local network including the address of a server to communicate with as an alternate data source (as Pick-up/Delivery Connection Information) (P 0230) once a common protocol is negotiated, the vehicle uses the protocol to a locate Pod and move to it, and if unable to locate the Pod, using the protocol, it may send a Message suggesting a different protocol and again, as described under “Message based Negotiation” using iterative messages can negotiate a different protocol and then use the new protocol to locate Pod (P 0236) if decrypted information is recognized by Pod i.e. it is in the correct format and data can be validated by simple rules (e.g. phone number retrieved is a valid phone number), authentication is considered successful (P 0257) It is clear that a common protocol must be used for communication with and between the remote user, the pod and the vehicle,
to and from a plurality of device servers, wherein each of the device servers communicates with and controls at least one device in a facility, included in Message Encryption/Decryption Information are means of locating additional such Servers and authentication information if required to obtain additional Message Encryption/Decryption Information (P 0073) the Pod UID, or its representation (graphic, numeric or any other form of representation) may be stored as required by various embodiments in a plurality of servers (P 0099) a Pick-up/Delivery Agent can include any combination of one or more of a Human Agent and an Unmanned Terrestrial Vehicle enabled with devices and/or computing systems to interact with other components of a Pick-up/Delivery Agent (P 0120), the vehicle is remotely controlled (P 0132) through messages over the network connection (P 0182) or the vehicle may require no human control and may use a Package Homing device (P 0183) The vehicle in Gupte is analogous to the claimed device, and
to control a piece of equipment in the facility on the basis of the message received, the pod Computing System controls at least a Pod Locking Mechanism and, also controls a Pod Electro-Mechanical System (P 0093) and any other such mechanism that attaches the Pod Receptacle to the Pod (P 0105) and the vehicle is remotely controlled (P 0132) through messages over the network connection (P 0182) or the vehicle may require no human control and may use a Package Homing device (P 0183) wherein control is communicated through messages via the server (P 0250) The pod in Gupte is analogous to the claimed equipment, and as noted above, messages between the remote operator, the vehicle and the pod are communicated via messages through a network of servers, and each of the vehicle and the pod are controlled to execute a process
wherein the message includes a message type …, a server sends, receives and stores at least one message (P 0137) wherein the correct communication protocol and connection name are received in the message (P 0190),
a transmission direction of the message, the messages transmitted from the Pod to the UAV and from the UAV to the Pod include information describing directions of signals and identification of the signals used to determine the Pod’s and UAV’s position (P 0233),
the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction …, a message type includes the protocol of the message (P 0190) a static device records its physical coordinates and physical coordinates of a multiplicity of mobile devices under different environmental conditions, and stores such coordinates as stored data such and can provide coordinates that match the current environmental conditions as derived from stored data when requested: the physical coordinates can include, but are not limited to, a combination of latitude, longitude and height, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters external (configured on requesting device) to the device, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters internal to the device (P 0231) a pod intermittently calculates its position and information, including the Pod's own position as well as relative locations, types (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth etc.), directions of the other signals (relative to that of the Pod) and identification of the signals (e.g. the SSID or device name) is transmitted to the Unmanned Aerial Vehicle as a Message (P 0233) using the Short-Range Positioning System, UAV may use the Doppler principle to determine direction to or away from Pod and thence, by triangulation, location, of the source of a signal in order to more accurately determine location of Pod (P 0235), and
third information representing a process related to the message, a static device records its physical coordinates and physical coordinates of a multiplicity of mobile devices under different environmental conditions, and stores such coordinates as stored data such and can provide coordinates that match the current environmental conditions as derived from stored data when requested: the physical coordinates can include, but are not limited to, a combination of latitude, longitude and height, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters external (configured on requesting device) to the device, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters internal to the device (P 0231) a pod intermittently calculates its position and information, including the Pod's own position as well as relative locations, types (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth etc.), directions of the other signals (relative to that of the Pod) and identification of the signals (e.g. the SSID or device name) is transmitted to the Unmanned Aerial Vehicle as a Message (P 0233) using the Short-Range Positioning System, UAV may use the Doppler principle to determine direction to or away from Pod and thence, by triangulation, location, of the source of a signal in order to more accurately determine location of Pod (P 0235), and
first information for identification of the device, a message from a sending device includes unique ID which helps a receiving device identify the sending device (P 0078) every pod has a unique ID (P 0099) a message can identify a pod in a first message and identify a pick-up/delivery agent in a second message (P 0145) wherein the pick-up/delivery agent is an unmanned terrestrial vehicle (P 0147) the pod and the vehicle communicate with each other over a network (P 0230),
the device is a first device that is controlled by a first device server among the plurality of device servers and moves in the facility, the vehicle may move on the ground (P 0121) to a pod (P 0128).
Gupte does not disclose wherein the message includes a message type representing a transmission direction of the message, the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction from a device side to an equipment side and a value representing a transmission direction from the equipment side to the device side, as disclosed in the claims. Although Gupte discloses including a message type, i.e. protocol, in a message and also discloses that messages exchanged between Pods and UAVs regarding their respective positions include directions of signals relative to each of the Pod and UAV and identification of the signals, including SSID or device name, Gupte does not explicitly disclose that the directions of the signals indicate whether a message is being transmitted from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side. However, Gupte discloses messages are exchanged and stored between Pods and UAVs and other devices (P 0102) each device identified by an SSID, the information shared through a server (P 0254). That is, whether the message is transmitted from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side can be derived from the message information transmitted among Pods, UAVs and servers. It would have been obvious to add to Gupte explicitly indicating the direction from a device side to an equipment side or from the equipment side to the device side. However, in the same field of invention, Mann discloses client nodes and server nodes transfer message segments using information in one or more circuit status blocks (C 6 L 40-45) if the circuit status block is in the client node, the source node identification field contains the interface address of the client node and the data link over which they may be reached, and if the circuit status block is in the server node, the source node identification field contains the interface addresses of the server node (C 7 L 53-59). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte and Mann, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the message includes a message type representing a transmission direction of the message, the message type is one of a plurality of preset categorical values including a value representing a transmission direction from a device side to an equipment side and a value representing a transmission direction from the equipment side to the device side with the teachings of Gupte with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Gupte does not disclose the processing circuitry registers, in an elevator that is the piece of equipment in the facility, a hall call calling a first car of the elevator if the third information represents the hall call, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Sokolov discloses a robot calls an elevator car to the floor where the robot is currently situated (P 0011). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte and Sokolov, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the processing circuitry registers, in an elevator that is the piece of equipment in the facility, a hall call calling a first car of the elevator if the third information represents the hall call with the teachings of Gupte with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Gupte does not disclose the processing circuitry identifies a floor, on which the first device is located, on the basis of position information of the first device which is stored in association with information on the first device identified by the first information and registers, in the elevator, the hall call for the identified floor, as disclosed in the claims. However, Gupte discloses Direct Sender and Direct Recipient control the Unmanned Vehicles being used to pick up or deliver a Package when specific conditions such as distance or height relative to Direct Sender Device or Direct Recipient Device are met (P 0086) a static device records its physical coordinates and physical coordinates of a multiplicity of mobile devices under different environmental conditions, stores such coordinates as stored data such that when requested to provide such coordinates, the device can provide coordinates that match the current environmental conditions as derived from stored data, the physical coordinates can include, but are not limited to, a combination of latitude, longitude and height, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters external (configured on requesting device) to the device, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters internal to the device (P 0231) and Sokolov discloses the robot calls an elevator car to the floor where the robot is currently situated (P 0011). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte and Sokolov, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the processing circuitry identifies a floor, on which the first device is located, on the basis of position information of the first device which is stored in association with information on the first device identified by the first information and registers, in the elevator, the hall call for the identified floor with the teachings of Gupte and Sokolov with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Gupte does not disclose wherein the message type included in the message transmitted from the device side to the equipment side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from a device side to an equipment side, and the message type included in the message transmitted from the equipment side to the device side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from an equipment side to the device side, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Mann discloses client nodes and server nodes transfer message segments using information in one or more circuit status blocks (C 6 L 40-45) if the circuit status block is in the client node, the source node identification field contains the interface address of the client node and the data link over which they may be reached, and if the circuit status block is in the server node, the source node identification field contains the interface addresses of the server node (C 7 L 53-59). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov and Mann, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the message type included in the message transmitted from the device side to the equipment side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from a device side to an equipment side, and the message type included in the message transmitted from the equipment side to the device side is an information representing that the transmitted message is from an equipment side to the device side with the teachings of Gupte and Sokolov with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Gupte does not disclose each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Edge discloses a first message is obtained from a mobile device indicating a first set of location servers; a second set of location servers is determined based on said first set of location servers; and a second message is transmitted to the mobile device indicating the second set of location servers as being authorized for location service related access by mobile device (P 0012). Edge has been combined with Gupte for limitations directed to each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message. That is, Edge identifies sets of location servers, not individual location servers. Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine each of the plurality of the preset categorical values does not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message with the teachings of Gupte and Mann with the motivation to ensure that the association between server nodes and device nodes are properly recognized and executed (Mann: C 3 L 22-36).
Claim 52. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 51, and Gupte discloses a first message is received at a first computing device associated with a Pick-up/Delivery agent identifying a Pod; and a second message is received at a second computing device associated with the Pod identifying the Pick-up/Delivery agent or information associated with Pick-up/Delivery agent's device such that the Pick-up/Delivery agent contacts and unlocks the identified Pod based on at least a part of the first message (e.g., an unlock code that forms part of the first message, and completes the designated action of pick up and/or delivery of the package when at least a part of the second message is complementary to information in the first message (P 0027) every Pod has a Unique ID now called Pod UID that establishes its identity (P 0099) and Sokolov discloses the system may implement a different number of robots and differing numbers of elevator cars (P 0067) the car doors open at each called floor during the journey of the car (P 0075) the elevator car then moves either in the correct direction for the needs of the robot or in the opposite direction if it has a pre-existing call to a floor in the opposite direction (P 0083). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein if the elevator has a plurality of cars, the processing circuitry includes, in the message, information for identification of the first car that is caused to respond to the hall call of the first device among the plurality of cars and transmits the message to the first device server with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 53. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 52, and Gupte discloses a first message is received at a first computing device associated with a Pick-up/Delivery agent identifying a Pod; and a second message is received at a second computing device associated with the Pod identifying the Pick-up/Delivery agent or information associated with Pick-up/Delivery agent's device such that the Pick-up/Delivery agent contacts and unlocks the identified Pod based on at least a part of the first message (e.g., an unlock code that forms part of the first message, and completes the designated action of pick up and/or delivery of the package when at least a part of the second message is complementary to information in the first message (P 0027) and Sokolov discloses a device installed in an elevator (P 0009) detects an the elevator car has reached the floor where the robot is currently situated, the device being adapted to communicate with the robot to enable the robot to enter the elevator car (P 0012) including sensing circuitry adapted to determine whether elevator doors are open or closed (P 0021) a robot requires the car and the robot is at a starting floor (P 0068). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the processing circuitry transmits the message including the third information representing a request to board the first car to the first device server when a door of the first car opens on a start floor of the hall call with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 54. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 53, and Sokolov discloses if a robot can’t go inside the elevator car (P 0093) the task is canceled (P 0094). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the processing circuitry observes a status of the device of boarding a car of the elevator, and the processing circuitry judges whether the first device is unsuccessful in boarding the first car on the basis of a status of the first device of boarding the first car which is observed by the processing circuitry, and transmits the message including the third information representing the request to abort boarding the first car to the first device server if the processing circuitry judges that the first device is unsuccessful in boarding the first car with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 55. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 54, and Sokolov discloses a determination is made whether the robot has left the elevator car (P 0098) if the robot cannot leave the elevator car, then the task is canceled (P 0099). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the processing circuitry transmits the message including the third information representing a request to alight from the first car to the first device server when the door of the first car of the elevator with the first device on board opens on a destination floor of the hall call with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 56. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 55, and Sokolov discloses a determination is made whether the robot has left the elevator car (P 0098) if the robot cannot leave the elevator car, then the task is canceled (P 0099). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the processing circuitry observes a status of the device of alighting from a car of the elevator, and the processing circuitry judges whether the first device is unsuccessful in alighting from the first car on the basis of a status of the first device of alighting from the first car which is observed by the processing circuitry, and transmits the message including the third information representing the request to abort alighting from the first car to the first device server if the processing circuitry judges that the first device is unsuccessful in alighting from the first car with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 57. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 53, and Sokolov discloses the control device releases the “hold door open” button to allow the doors to close (P 0086) if it is found the robot has entered the car, the “elevator hold/doors open” button is released (P 0095). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the processing circuitry causes the elevator to close the door of the first car after the processing circuitry transmits the message including the third information representing the request to board to the first device server and when the processing circuitry receives the message including the third information representing completion of boarding of the first car from the first device server with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 59. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 54, and Sokolov discloses the “cannot enter” is typically as a result of the robots own sensing system detecting an obstacle that cannot be avoided (P 0094). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the processing circuitry observes the status of the first device of boarding by at least any of the position information of the first device stored in association with the information on the first device identified by the first information, presence or absence of detection by a passage detector that is provided at a doorway to the first car and detects a body passing through the doorway to the first car, a measurement value from a scale that measures a load on the first car, or an image of the first device which is shot by a camera that is provided for the elevator with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 60. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 54, and Gupte discloses a first message is received at a first computing device associated with a Pick-up/Delivery agent identifying a Pod; and a second message is received at a second computing device associated with the Pod identifying the Pick-up/Delivery agent or information associated with Pick-up/Delivery agent's device such that the Pick-up/Delivery agent contacts and unlocks the identified Pod based on at least a part of the first message (e.g., an unlock code that forms part of the first message, and completes the designated action of pick up and/or delivery of the package when at least a part of the second message is complementary to information in the first message (P 0027) every Pod has a Unique ID now called Pod UID that establishes its identity (P 0099) and Sokolov discloses the system may implement a different number of robots and differing numbers of elevator cars (P 0067) the car doors open at each called floor during the journey of the car (P 0075) the elevator car then moves either in the correct direction for the needs of the robot or in the opposite direction if it has a pre-existing call to a floor in the opposite direction (P 0083). Applicant’s specification appears to define “dedicated running” as assigning a specific elevator car to a hall call for a robot. Gupte identifies a specific pod and Sokolov may implement a plurality of elevator cars and a robot waits on a called car even if the called car is moving in the opposite direction. Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the processing circuitry causes the first car to perform dedicated running for the first device when the processing circuitry causes the first car to respond to the hall call, and causes the first car to cancel the dedicated running if the processing circuitry judges that the first device is unsuccessful in boarding the first car with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 61. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 54, and Gupte discloses a first message is received at a first computing device associated with a Pick-up/Delivery agent identifying a Pod; and a second message is received at a second computing device associated with the Pod identifying the Pick-up/Delivery agent or information associated with Pick-up/Delivery agent's device such that the Pick-up/Delivery agent contacts and unlocks the identified Pod based on at least a part of the first message (e.g., an unlock code that forms part of the first message, and completes the designated action of pick up and/or delivery of the package when at least a part of the second message is complementary to information in the first message (P 0027) every Pod has a Unique ID now called Pod UID that establishes its identity (P 0099) and Sokolov discloses the system may implement a different number of robots and differing numbers of elevator cars (P 0067) the car doors open at each called floor during the journey of the car (P 0075) the elevator car then moves either in the correct direction for the needs of the robot or in the opposite direction if it has a pre-existing call to a floor in the opposite direction (P 0083) if a robot can’t go inside the elevator car (P 0093) the task is canceled (P 0094). Applicant’s specification appears to define “dedicated running” as assigning a specific elevator car to a hall call for a robot. Gupte identifies a specific pod and Sokolov may implement a plurality of elevator cars and a robot waits on a called car even if the called car is moving in the opposite direction. Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the processing circuitry transmits the message including the third information representing a request for the first device to move to a predetermined position outside the first car to the first device server if the processing circuitry judges that the first device is unsuccessful in boarding the first car, and the processing circuitry causes the first car to perform dedicated running for the first device when the processing circuitry causes the first car to respond to the hall call, transmits the message including the third information representing a request for the first device to move to a predetermined position outside the first car to the first device server if the processing circuitry judges that the first device is unsuccessful in boarding the first car, and causes the first car to cancel the dedicated running when the processing circuitry receives the message including the third information representing completion of movement based on the request to move from the first device server after the transmission with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 62. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 55, and Sokolov discloses if a robot is not outside the elevator car, then the robot exits the car and the “elevator hold/doors open” button is released (P 0098 – 0100). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the processing circuitry causes the elevator to close the door of the first car after the processing circuitry transmits the message including the third information representing the request to alight to the first device server and when the processing circuitry receives the message including the third information representing completion of alighting from the first car from the first device server with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 64. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 56, and Sokolov discloses the determination that the can or cannot leave the elevator car is typically as a result of the robot's own sensing system (P 0099). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the processing circuitry observes the status of the first device of alighting by at least any of the position information of the first device stored in association with the information on the first device identified by the first information, presence or absence of detection by the passage detector that is provided at the doorway to the first car and detects the body passing through the doorway to the first car, a measurement value from the scale that measures the load on the first car, or an image of the first device which is shot by the camera that is provided for the elevator with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 65. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 56, and Sokolov discloses robot on board circuity provides signals indicating if the robot is on board (P 0061) or has entered the elevator (P 0080) the robot's on board control system automatically emits a signal to the control device when it is in the car, to allow the “hold open” to be removed (P 0081) once the robot has left the elevator it emits a wireless signal to the control device to release the “hold door open” button to allow the doors to close and the elevator then proceeds as normal (P 0086) once the robot successfully finishes task «go outside elevator», it communicates directly to the control device to allow the elevator to proceed as required (P 0087) a determination is made whether the robot has left the elevator car (P 0098) if the robot cannot leave the elevator car, then the task is canceled (P 0099). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the processing circuitry gives notification of a failure in alighting if the processing circuitry judges that the first device is unsuccessful in alighting from the first car with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to more effectively integrate robot functionality with elevator systems (Sokolov: P 0003-0004).
Claim 66. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 45, and Gupte discloses wherein when occurrence of a movement request event that is an event requiring a request for the device to move is detected, the processing circuitry transmits the message including the third information representing a request for the device to move appropriate to a type of the movement request event to a device server that controls the device, these messages include messages sent in real-time to move the UAV in a certain direction, stop movement to hover UAV and so on—the purpose being to bring UAV into a position that Direct Sender can deposit Package into UAV Package Handling Apparatus (P 0181).
Claim(s) 58, 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupte (US 2018/0130017 A1) in view of Sokolov et al. (US 2020/0055694 A1) and Mann et al. (US 5,167,035) and Edge et al. (US 2012/0202517 A1) and further in view of Zou (US 9,637,310 B1).
Claim 58. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 53, but Gupte does not disclose wherein if the processing circuitry does not receive the message including the third information representing completion of boarding of the first car from the first device server by the time a predetermined time period elapses since the transmission of the message including the third information representing the request to board to the first device server, the equipment server judges that the first device is unsuccessful in boarding the first car and transmits the message including the third information representing a request to abort boarding the first car to the first device server, as disclosed in the claims. However, Zokolov discloses if a robot can’t enter the elevator car, the “elevator hold/doors open” button is released, and the task is cancelled (P 0093 – 0094). In the same field of invention, Zou discloses a failure for a robot to complete a task may be indicated by encountering an obstacle or communication loss or delay (C 15 L 26-37). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann, Edge and Zou, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein if the processing circuitry does not receive the message including the third information representing completion of boarding of the first car from the first device server by the time a predetermined time period elapses since the transmission of the message including the third information representing the request to board to the first device server, the equipment server judges that the first device is unsuccessful in boarding the first car and transmits the message including the third information representing a request to abort boarding the first car to the first device server with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to improve the efficiency and flexibility of inventory systems using remote communication with robotic devices (C 1 L 19-35).
Claim 63. Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge disclose the equipment server according to claim 55, but Gupte does not disclose wherein if the processing circuitry does not receive the message including the third information representing completion of alighting from the first car from the first device server by the time a predetermined time period elapses since the transmission of the message including the third information representing the request to alight to the first device server, the processing circuitry judges that the first device is unsuccessful in alighting from the first car and transmits the message including the third information representing a request to abort alighting from the first car to the first device server, as disclosed in the claims. However, Zokolov discloses if a robot attempts to exit an elevator car, but can’t, the “elevator hold/doors open” button is released and the task is cancelled (P 0098 – 0099). In the same field of invention, Zou discloses a failure for a robot to complete a task may be indicated by encountering an obstacle or communication loss or delay (C 15 L 26-37). Therefore, considering the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann, Edge and Zou, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein if the processing circuitry does not receive the message including the third information representing completion of alighting from the first car from the first device server by the time a predetermined time period elapses since the transmission of the message including the third information representing the request to alight to the first device server, the processing circuitry judges that the first device is unsuccessful in alighting from the first car and transmits the message including the third information representing a request to abort alighting from the first car to the first device server with the teachings of Gupte, Sokolov, Mann and Edge with the motivation to improve the efficiency and flexibility of inventory systems using remote communication with robotic devices (C 1 L 19-35).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 May 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues:
Gupta does not disclose or suggest the message type as recited in amended Claim 1.
Gupte discloses a server sends, receives and stores at least one message (P 0137) wherein the correct communication protocol and connection name are received in the message (P 0190) and the messages transmitted from the Pod to the UAV and from the UAV to the Pod include information describing directions of signals and identification of the signals used to determine the Pod’s and UAV’s position (P 0233). Gupte discloses a message type, i.e. protocol and a connection name, in a message and also discloses that messages exchanged between Pods and UAVs regarding their respective positions include directions of signals relative to each of the Pod and UAV and identification of the signals, including SSID or device name.
The applicant argues:
Mann generally describes addresses (information specifying nodes) in messages, and does not disclose or suggest a message type that represents a transmission direction (from the device side to the equipment side or vice versa). Therefore, Mann does not cure the deficiencies in Gupta.
Gupte discloses a static device records its physical coordinates and physical coordinates of a multiplicity of mobile devices under different environmental conditions, and stores such coordinates as stored data such and can provide coordinates that match the current environmental conditions as derived from stored data when requested: the physical coordinates can include, but are not limited to, a combination of latitude, longitude and height, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters external (configured on requesting device) to the device, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters internal to the device (P 0231). It is clear that a device records its own physical coordinates and physical coordinates of other devices, wherein the physical coordinates include a combination of a distance and direction from emitters external (configured on requesting device) to the device, a combination of a distance and direction from emitters internal to the device (P 0231).
Mann discloses client nodes and server nodes transfer message segments using information in one or more circuit status blocks (C 6 L 40-45) if the circuit status block is in the client node, the source node identification field contains the interface address of the client node and the data link over which they may be reached, and if the circuit status block is in the server node, the source node identification field contains the interface addresses of the server node (C 7 L 53-59). Mann discloses that a source node identification field contains either client node and data link information, or the interface address of the server node. Combined with Gupta, the information transmitted in a message from a device includes a direction of transmission, that is, whether the message is transmitted from a device or a server side, as well as the physical direction of the transmitted message.
The applicant argues:
Edge generally describes communications involving, e.g., a first set of location servers, but such information is not a transmission direction per se. Moreover, the Advisory Action asserts that Edge describes that each of the plurality of preset categorical values do not individually identify a transmitter and a receiver of the message. However, the Advisory Action then contradicts itself by stating that in Edge "it is clear that the message transmitted from the authorization location server includes both data identifying the server and the mobile device." This last statement in the Advisory Action supports Applicant's view of Edge, namely that Edge does identify the transmitter and sender of a message and therefore does not disclose or suggest the features recited in amended Claim 1. Therefore, Edge also does not cure the deficiencies in Gupta.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant is misinterpreting the statement referenced in the Advisory Action. Edge discloses that a first message is obtained from mobile device indicating a first set of location servers and a second set of location servers is determined based on said first set of location servers; and a second message is transmitted to the mobile device indicating the second set of location servers as being authorized for location service related access by mobile device. It is clear that no individual server is identified in either message. Furthermore, Edge merely claims that a message is obtained from a mobile device, but the recited references in Edge do not disclose that the mobile device is individually identified, only that the mobile device receives the message.
Conclusion
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145 1/10/2026
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145