DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11, 13, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. (US Pub 2010/0191261) in view of Teirstein et al. (US Patent 8,523,824).
With respect to claim 8, Carter discloses a suture retention device (see figs 15 and 16 below), comprising: a body (fig 15, 230) having a top portion (fig 15, 272), a bottom portion (see fig 15 below), a width dimension (seem fig 16 below), and a transverse channel (see fig 16 below along the dotted line) formed in the top portion, the transverse channel extending the entire width dimension of the body; a suture retainer (fig 16, 238)connected to the body and positioned within the transverse channel crosses the channel in the bottom right corner), and an opening (see fig 15 below) formed in the body, the opening extending from the top portion to the bottom portion, with the opening laterally aligned with and oriented substantially perpendicularly to the traverse channel (fig 15), the suture retainer being positioned on a first side (bottom right corner) of the opening such that the opening is configured to permit a suture to pass through the opening and engage the suture retainer (fig 16 shows sutures engaged through the channels and into the retainer), wherein the opening is substantially aligned with the center axis of the body (fig 16) ,wherein the transverse channel on a second side of the opening opposite the suture retainer includes an outwardly flared segment with the opening positioned between the outwardly flared segment (the outer portion of the channels is shown wider than the inner portion of the channels) and the suture retainer to aid in guiding suture into the transverse channel and the suture retainer (fig 16 shows sutures guided into the channel and into the retainer). With respect to claim 9, Carter discloses wherein the suture retainer comprises a coil, a comb, a viscous gel, or a gum (coil 238). With respect to claim 13, Carter discloses wherein the body is cylindrical (shown as a cylinder) or polygonal. With respect to claim 19, Carter discloses wherein the suture retainer is configured to partially overlap the opening so that when the suture is passed through the opening, the suture engages the retainer (fig 16 238 overlaps with the opening in part 236). With respect to claim 20, Carter discloses wherein the suture retainer comprises a coiled wire (fig 15, 238).
With respect to claim 8, Carter discloses the claimed invention except for an adhesive member connected to the body bottom portion.
Teirstein discloses an adhesive member (col. 2, ll. 53) connected to the body bottom portion of a retainer (fig 5, 30) to keep the retainer in position in the surgical field (col. 2, ll. 54-55). With respect to claim 11, Teirstein discloses further comprising a protective cover (col. 2, ll. 58-59) removably connected to the adhesive member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Carter to include an adhesive member connected to the body bottom portion in view of Teirstein in order to keep the retainer in position in the surgical field.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. in view of Teirstein as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Snyder (US Pub 2003/0187466).
With respect to claim 14, Carter in view of Teirstein discloses the claimed invention except for the device is in sterile form sealed in a sterile package.
Snyder discloses a suture retention device in sterile form sealed in a sterile package (paragraph 19) to facilitate handling and storage (paragraph 19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Carter in view of Teirstein to include for the device is in sterile form sealed in a sterile package in view of Snyder in order to facilitate handling and storage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 9/25/2025, with respect to the U.S.C. 112 rejection of claims 8-14 and 19-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The U.S.C. 112 rejection of claims 8-14 and 19-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/S.J.C/Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773