DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2021-0097192, filed on 23 July, 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the fluorine-based surfactant molecule" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 2 recites “the fluorine-based surfactant molecule” but is referred to as “a fluorine-based surfactant” in Claim 1, in which Claim 2 is dependent on. For examination purposes, Claim 2 will be read as “the fluorine-based surfactant”.
Claim 6 recites a “use” claim in the form of “treating” and attempts to claim a method of treating a semiconductor substrate without setting forth any steps involved in the process, which leads to indefiniteness because it merely recites treating without any active, positive steps delimiting how this treating is actually practiced. See MPEP § 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd. App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966). Appropriate correction and or clarification is required.
With regard to Claim 6, the claim provides the treating a semiconductor substrate, but does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a “use” without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use, or in this case treating, is actually practiced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuno (US 2023/0131533 A1, hereafter “Okuno”) in view of Otani (US 2017/0104161 A1, hereafter “Otani”).
With regard to Claim 1, Okuno discloses a semiconductor substrate cleaning composition that comprises of an aromatic hydrocarbon compound that include mesitylene (common name for 1,3,5-trimethylbenzene) in the amounts from about 10 to about 90 mass% (Abstract, [0114], [0126]).
While Okuno is silent to the exact range of the instant application’s claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the amounts of mesitylene in the instant application’s claimed range. Furthermore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
However, Okuno is silent to wherein the composition comprises a fluorine-based surfactant.
Otani discloses a charge-transporting varnish that comprises a charge-transporting substance, a nonionic fluorine-containing surfactant, and an organic solvent (Abstract).
Otani teaches the nonionic fluorine-containing surfactant of formulas (1) to (3) ([0011]). Otani teaches that the surfactant aides in a thin film of excellent flatness even within a pixel on a pixel substrate having banks, and thus is suitable for the production of a high-flatness thin film ([0024]).
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the nonionic fluorine-containing surfactant of formulas (1) to (3) in order to aide in a thin film of excellent flatness even within a pixel on a pixel substrate having banks, and thus is suitable for the production of a high-flatness thin film. Furthermore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention taught by Okuno to include the nonionic fluorine-containing surfactant of formulas (1) to (3), as taught in Otani, in order to aide in a thin film of excellent flatness even within a pixel on a pixel substrate having banks, and thus is suitable for the production of a high-flatness thin film.
With regard to Claims 2-4, modified Okuno with view of Otani discloses nonionic fluorine-containing surfactant of formulas (1) to (3):
and more preferably wherein the surfactant is α-perfluorononenyloxy structure represented by (1’) ([0015], [0039]).
With regard to Claim 5, modified Okuno with view of Otani discloses wherein the amount of nonionic fluorine-containing surfactant is from about 0.001 to about 10 wt% ([0043]).
Conclusion
/M.H.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/BRIAN P MRUK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761