DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, encompassing claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 11/28/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that Groups I and II refer to the same invention, hence search and examination being made without serous burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions of Group I and Group II are drawn into different classes and each invention requires a different field of search. Applicants’ attention is drawn to the fact that the search for method claims requires the identification of processing steps while the search for apparatus claims requires the identification of structural elements, which introduces additional search and examination burden. Applicants’ arguments that the search of one invention must necessarily result in a search for the other one has been considered, but is not found persuasive in so far as the searches are not co-extensive and additional search would of necessity be required for the combination of inventions.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "preferably", which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 recites "preferably", which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 4 recites "preferably" and “especially”, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claims 5 and 6 recite "preferably", “advantageously”, and “for instance”, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 recites “an open state” and “a flow of gas”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a gas supply" and “a non-thermal plasma cleaning device” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Due to the dependency to the parent claim, claims 2-12 are rejected.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. The limitations cited in claim 8 does not further limit the subject matter from claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lam et al (PG-PUB US 2021/0220500) in view of Taggart et al (PG-PUB US 2017/0304476).
Regarding claim 1, Lam et al disclose a disinfection/sterilization/cleaning device (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a vessel 110 configured to receive herb 120 for disinfection, wherein the vessel 110 comprises a gas inlet aperture 170 connected to a gas source (i.e., an enclosure … an input port…, Figures 1-5, paragraphs [0041], & [0058] – [0059]); and
(2) a plasma excitation device 102 coupled to the vessel 110 and comprising a radio-frequency power source 140 to produce electromagnetic power within the vessel 110, wherein the cold plasma generation is activated or deactivated through electrical execution via a switch 150 (i.e., a radio-wave source … an active state … and an inactive state …, Figures 1-5, paragraphs [0044], & [0049]).
Lam teaches that (i) a controller is provided to activate the cold plasma generation for disinfecting the herb 120 with a certain time period and to deactivate the cold plasma generation thereafter for a certain time period (i.e., a controller… in the active state during a first pre-determined duration, … in the inactive state during a second predetermined duration …), and (ii) the inlet aperture 170 allows air into the vessel 110, when open, to enhance gas transportation from the plasma generation region 132 to the treatment region 112 , thereby more active species reaching the treatment region for effective and quick plasma treatment (Figure 1, paragraphs [0042]- [0043], [0059], [0081] – [0085], Table & [0092]), but does not teach the controller configured to perform the disinfection/sterilization/cleaning cycle or to keep the inlet aperture open after deactivating the plasma generation.
However, Taggart et al disclose a disinfection/sterilization/cleaning device (ABSTRACT). Taggart teaches that air containing active species is introduced to a sterilization chamber 110 through a pump for sterilization/active process and a breakdown/inactive process after the sterilization process is performed, wherein a control panel is provided to couple airflow inlet, pump, power source, and other components to properly control sterilization cycles and the control panel is also configured to control airflow inlet open during the breakdown process for improving treatment efficiency (Figures 4 & 8, paragraphs [0063], [0076], [0082], [0119],& [0127]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to integrate the controller with a function to perform the sterilization cycles and to allow air through the airflow inlet during breakdown/inactive state as suggested by Taggart in order to properly monitor the operation and improve treatment efficiency within the device of Lam with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Lam teaches that a gas pump 160 is coupled to the vessel 110 and the controller can activate the pump, wherein the pressure therewithin is lower than 0.001 bar (Figure 1, paragraphs [0057] & [0083]).
Regarding claim 3, Lam teaches that the pressure therewithin is lower than 0.001 bar (paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Lam teaches that the frequency may be in a range of 10 KHz to 100 MHz (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 5, Lam teaches that the exposure time may be less than 5 min (paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 6, Lam teaches that the power source may be properly regulated by pulse-modulation with on/off interval for maintaining desired temperature and achieving effective treatment (paragraph [0047]). Taggart teaches that the breakdown process may be varied with different time (paragraphs [0083]).Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have realized to regulate active/inactive duration in order to achieve desired treatment within the device of Lam/Taggart.
Regarding claim 7, Lam teaches to run different cycles to achieve different treatment results (paragraphs [0084] – [0085], & Table). Taggart teaches five cycles (paragraph [0105]).Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have realized to run at least five disinfection cycles in order to achieve desired treatment within the device of Lam/Taggart.
Regarding claim 8, Lam teaches that the inlet aperture 170 allows air into the vessel 110, when open, to enhance gas transportation from the plasma generation region 132 to the treatment region 112 , thereby more active species reaching the treatment region for effective and quick plasma treatment (Figure 1, paragraphs [0042] - [0043], [0059] & [0094]). Taggart teaches that the control panel is configured to control airflow inlet during the breakdown process for improving treatment efficiency (Figures 4 & 8, paragraphs [0063], [0076], [0082], [0119],& [0127]).
Regarding claim 9, Lam does not teach a temperature sensor coupled to the controller. However, Taggart et al disclose a disinfection/sterilization/cleaning device (ABSTRACT). Taggart teaches that a temperature sensor is coupled to the control panel to monitor the temperature within the sterilization chamber and the control panel may notify the user if the temperature is outside of predetermined range (paragraph [0082] & [0117]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to couple a temperature sensor to the controller as suggested by Taggart in order to monitor temperature within the device of Lam.
Regarding claim 10, Lam teaches that a gas source is connected to the inlet aperture 170 (Figure 1, paragraphs [0058] – [0059]).
Regarding claim 11, Lam teaches that air is supplied to the vessel 110 through the inlet aperture 170 (Figure 1, paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 12, Lam teaches that the inlet aperture 170 allows gas into the vessel 110 (Figure 1, paragraph [0059]).
Conclusion
Claims 1-12 are rejected. Claims 13-14 are canceled.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795