DETAILED ACTION
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
The grounds of rejection set forth below for claims 1-7, 12-13, and 20-23, and 25 are the same as those set forth in the previous Office action mailed on Apr. 16, 2026. For this reason, the present action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-13, and 20-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0281669 A1 (herein “Melrose”) in view of Chemical Engineering and Processing, 2008, 47(12), 2029-2050 (herein “Anxionnaz”), US Patent No. 3,257,363 (herein “Miller”) and WO 00/00875 A1 (herein “Anderson”).
As to claims 1 and 5-6: Melrose describes biologically active polymers (see the abstract). Melrose describes a process of making such a polymer (see Example 1 in ¶¶ [0124]-[0131]) comprising reacting polyethylene glycol (MW 200) with acrolein in an aqueous solution, and the temperature of the reactants was maintained between approximately 25 °C and 35 °C (see ¶ [0124]). The resulting polymer has a molecular weight of approximately 500 Daltons (see ¶ [0127]).
Melrose more generally discloses that the process described therein may include maintaining the reaction temperature in the range of from 10 °C to 40 °C (see ¶ [0077]), and this range of temperatures overlaps the presently recited range of no more than 10 °C.
Melrose does not specifically disclose an embodiment of a process performed at a temperature of 10 °C; Melrose does not disclose the use of a heat exchanger; and Melrose does not disclose computer control of the presently recited reaction parameters.
Anxionnaz discloses various aspects of heat exchangers (see the abstract). Anxionnaz discloses that removing heat generated by an exothermic reaction is necessary to control the reaction temperature and to avoid thermal runaway reactions or to suppress endothermic by-product reactions (see section 2.1 on p. 2030). Anxionnaz discloses various heat exchangers including a stirred batch reactor with a double jacket through which a cooling fluid is passed (see the right of Fig. 1 on p. 2031).
In light of the disclosure in Melrose that the reaction temperature is maintained in the range of from 10 °C to 40 °C, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform Melrose’s process at any temperature within the disclosed range, including at the temperature of 10 °C which fall within the scope of the presently recited range of no more than 10 °C.
In light of the disclosure in Melrose that the reaction temperature is maintained within the disclosed range, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use well-known techniques and equipment to maintain the reaction temperature. In light of Anxionnaz, it is evident that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been apprised of the use of heat exchangers such as a double jacket heat exchanger to control reaction temperature. One of ordinary skill in the art would further have been motivated by ordinary creativity to control the adjustable parameters of the double jacket heat exchanger (stirring rate, coolant flow rate, and coolant temperature) in order to achieve the desired amount of heat exchange.
Miller describes polymerization reactor (see Fig. 1). Miller discloses a coolant jacket (see item 12) including the heat exchange medium water (see col. 2, l. 41).
Anderson describes a system for controlling temperature of a polymerization process (see the abstract). Anderson discloses that PID or PI controllers (see p. 6, ll. 4-7) are used to achieve more effective control of the reactor temperature by controlling the temperature of coolant feeding a heat exchanger (see p. 6, ll. 26-29).
In light of Anxionnaz’ disclosure of a cooling fluid, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by ordinary creativity to use any well-known cooling fluid in the jacket. In light of Miler, it is evident that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been apprised of the use of water as a heat exchange medium in a polymerization reactor. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have been motivated to perform the process of Melrose using a stirred batch reactor with a double jacket as described in Anxionnaz, as set forth above, while using water as the cooling fluid in the jacket. In light of Anderson, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to control the temperature of the water in the jacket to achieve more effective control of the reactor temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the polymer of Melrose’s Example 1 using a stirred batch reactor with a double jacket, as described in Anxionnaz; to have used water as the cooling fluid in the jacket, as described in Miller; and to have used PID or PI controllers, as described in Anderson, to control the temperature of the water in the jacket to maintain the reaction at a temperature of 10 °C.
As to claim 2: The cited process of Melrose’s Example 1 includes an aqueous solution at pH 12 (see ¶ [0124]).
As to claim 3: The cited process of Melrose’s Example 1 includes an aqueous solution comprising about 38 wt% of water (see the amounts in ¶ [0124]).
As to claims 4, 7, 12-13, 20-23, and 25: The cited process of Melrose’s Example 1 includes adding aqueous acrolein (about 20 wt% concentration) to aqueous polyethylene glycol (pH 12, about 25 wt% water) in a weight ratio of polyethylene glycol to acrolein of 12:1 (see the amounts in ¶ [0124]); and then adjusting the pH to 7.5 with acid (see ¶ [0125]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but they would be allowable if written in independent form.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed Mar. 25, 2026 (herein “Remarks”) and the accompanying Declaration have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues generally (e.g. bottom of p. 9 of Remarks) that copolymers prepared at 25-35 °C (corresponding to the example of Melrose cited in the rejection) are significantly less active. The Declaration similarly states (item 16) that "co-polymers prepared at 25 °C to 35 °C are statistically significantly less active.”
Allegations of unexpected results must be supported by evidence that establishes that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. MPEP 716.02(b).
Applicant has not presented evidence drawn to a material prepared according to the example of Melrose at a temperature of “25 °C to 35 °C”. Because evidence drawn to Melrose’s material has not been presented, Applicant’s assertion in the Declaration does not identify evidence with which the argued statistical significance of a difference over Melrose could be established.
Melrose (Table 1, p. 10) shows a kill concentration for the polymer of its Example 1, namely a concentration of 10 ppm against each of S. aureus and E. coli. The present application (Tables 2 and 15) shows a minimum inhibitory concentration of two of the inventive polymers: polymer E1 at a concentration of 30 ppm for both of S. aureus and E. coli (Table 2) but also at a concentration of 20 ppm for S. aureus and of 30 ppm for E. coli (Table 15); and polymer E2 at a concentration of 20 ppm for both of S. aureus and E. coli (Table 15).
Because the present disclosure includes two examples of the polymer E1 that exhibits different minimum inhibitory concentrations against S. aureus (30 ppm in Table 2, and 20 ppm in Table 15), Applicant has not shown that the concentrations of 20 ppm and 30 ppm are statistically significantly different. The amount of uncertainty attached to the reported concentration values is presently unclear, and this weighs against a conclusion that the present showing establishes a statistically significant difference over Melrose.
Allegations of unexpected results must be supported by evidence that is comparative to the closest prior art. MPEP 716.02(e).
The concentrations reported by Melrose for killing the bacteria (see paragraph 25 above) are lower than the concentrations reported in the present application of the inventive polymers for inhibiting the bacteria.
Additionally, the presently disclosed comparative examples that are prepared at higher temperatures (e.g. CE2, prepared at 30 °C) have much higher minimum inhibitory concentrations, suggesting their bactericidal concentrations would be still higher.
For both of the two above reasons, the presently disclosed examples are not representative of the polymer of Melrose’s Example 1. Because the evidence of record does not properly compare to Melrose, it does not support a conclusion of an unexpected difference over Melrose.
Applicant's disclosure does not include the same test of the present invention in the minimum kill concentration procedure that is described in Melrose. There is presently no evidence of record using a material prepared according to Example 1 of Melrose (at a temperature of 25 °C to 35 °C) in comparison to the inventive polymers.
While the minimum bactericidal concentration and minimum inhibitory concentration are different tests, the best available evidence of record establishes that Melrose describes a material that is effective against each of S. aureus and E. coli at a concentration of 10 ppm. Because Applicant's results are not comparative to Melrose, and further because Applicant's results are drawn to a test that shows effectiveness at the higher concentrations of 20 or 30 ppm, no significant or unexpectedly improved difference in the performance over Melrose's material has been demonstrated.
Applicant further presents remarks (items 22-29 of the Declaration) regarding the difficulty in comparing results of different tests. These remarks reinforce the necessity of making a comparison involving the same test using both the inventive material and the material made according to Melrose.
Applicant further presents remarks (items 30-38 of the Declaration) regarding ultraviolet absorption measurements.
The discussed differences in ultraviolet absorption measurements among polymers prepared at different temperatures imply some structural difference(s) in the polymers. The extent to which the polymers prepared at different temperatures may potentially have differences of practical significance appears to be drawn to the effectiveness against certain bacteria, such as for inhibition or killing. For the reasons given above, a proper comparison among the inventive material and the material made according to Melrose has not been made, and thus no significant or unexpectedly improved difference in the performance over Melrose's material has been demonstrated.
Conclusion
This action is properly final because the claims are rejected on the same grounds as set forth in the previous Office Action mailed on Apr. 16, 2026. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). See MPEP § 706.07(a).
This action is a final rejection and is intended to close the prosecution of this application. Applicant's reply under 37 CFR § 1.113 to this action is limited either to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board or to an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply identifying the rejected claim or claims appealed. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the required appeal fee.
If applicant should desire to file an amendment, entry of a proposed amendment after final rejection cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made earlier. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR § 1.113 to a final rejection must include the appeal from, or cancellation of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds the claims to be in condition for allowance. Accordingly, if a Notice of Appeal has not been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b), the application will become abandoned.
/RICHARD A. HUHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764