Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed on 10/02/2025.
Claims 1-4 and 7-22 are examined.
Claims 1-4 and 7-8, 10, 12-16, and 18-2 have been amended.
Claims 21-22 are new
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are
moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
103 Rejection
These rejections are withdrawn. The claims are reevaluated in light of the amendments.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-12, and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180086212 (“Dudar”).
As per claim 1 Dudar discloses a method comprising:
obtaining, by a processing system including at least one processor of an intelligent mobile unit, a request for wireless charging of an electric vehicle while the intelligent mobile unit and the electric vehicle are in motion [¶ 10 host vehicle 10, includes a vehicle charging system 12…, ¶ 38 communication can identify… direction… current speed, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7.720 Send communication to other vehicles requesting an Electric Charge, 725 Response Indicating another vehicle can provide Electric Charge];
navigating, by the processing system in response to the request, the intelligent mobile unit to follow the electric vehicle so that a speed and a direction of the intelligent mobile unit are controlled to match a speed and a direction of the electric vehicle; [¶ 24 The wireless electric
transfer device 22 of the target vehicle 48 can be configured to transmit the electric field to the host vehicle 10, or to receive the electric field from the host vehicle 10, including when the target vehicle 48 and the host vehicle 10 are moving., Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7.745 Meet target vehicle 755 Is Predetermined Distance being Maintained?]; and
providing, by the processing system via charging module of the intelligent mobile unit, the wireless charging to the electric vehicle while the intelligent mobile unit and the electric vehicle are in motion [¶ 24 The wireless electric transfer device 22 of the target vehicle 48 can be configured to transmit the electric field to the host vehicle 10, or to receive the electric field from the host vehicle 10, including when the target vehicle 48 and the host vehicle 10 are moving., Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7.745 Meet target vehicle 755 Is Predetermined Distance being Maintained?].
Dudar discloses multiple embodiments where the host vehicle and target vehicle are in different orders (following/leading).
It would have been an obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to understand the particular combination of charging traits could function as the order claimed for purposes of utilizing a host vehicle with charging capabilities to charge other vehicles in the host vehicle’s proximity by using a vehicle charging protocol while traveling in areas where the vehicle requests are registered for purposes of adapting to the driving environment.
As per claim 19 Dudar discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system including at least one processor of intelligent mobile unit, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising [abstract; Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7]:
obtaining a request for wireless charging of an electric vehicle while the intelligent mobile unit and the electric vehicle are in motion [¶ 24 The wireless electric transfer device 22 of the target vehicle 48 can be configured to transmit the electric field to the host vehicle 10, or to receive the electric field from the host vehicle 10, including when the target vehicle 48 and the host vehicle 10 are moving., Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7.745 Meet target vehicle 755 Is Predetermined Distance being Maintained?];
navigating the intelligent mobile unit to follow the electric vehicle so that a speed and a direction of the intelligent mobile unit are controlled to match a speed and a direction of the electric vehicle [¶ 24 The wireless electric transfer device 22 of the target vehicle 48 can be configured to transmit the electric field to the host vehicle 10, or to receive the electric field from the host vehicle 10, including when the target vehicle 48 and the host vehicle 10 are moving., ¶ 38 (direction and speed identified), Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7.745 Meet target vehicle 755 Is Predetermined Distance being Maintained?]; and
providing, via a charging module of the intelligent mobile unit, the wireless charging to the electric vehicle while the intelligent mobile unit and the electric vehicle are in motion [¶ 24 The wireless electric transfer device 22 of the target vehicle 48 can be configured to transmit the electric field to the host vehicle 10, or to receive the electric field from the host vehicle 10, including when the target vehicle 48 and the host vehicle 10 are moving., Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7.745 Meet target vehicle 755 Is Predetermined Distance being Maintained?]].
Dudar discloses multiple embodiments where the host vehicle and target vehicle are in different orders (following/leading) and are capable of charging and receiving a charge.
It would have been an obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to understand the particular combination of charging traits could function as the order claimed for purposes of utilizing a host vehicle with charging capabilities to charge other vehicles in the host vehicle’s proximity by using a vehicle charging protocol while traveling in areas where the vehicle requests are registered for purposes of adapting to the driving environment.
As per claim 20 Dudar discloses an apparatus comprising:
a processing system including at least one processor [Fig. 5]; and
a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system when deployed in an intelligent mobile unit, cause the processing system to perform operations [abstract, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7], the operations comprising:
obtaining a request for wireless charging of an electric vehicle while the intelligent mobile unit and the electric vehicle are in motion [¶ 10 host vehicle 10, includes a vehicle charging system 12…, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7.720 Send communication to other vehicles requesting an Electric Charge, 725 Response Indicating another vehicle can provide Electric Charge];
navigating the intelligent vehicle in synchronization with the electric vehicle [¶ 16 UAV… follow the host vehicle , ¶ 17 host vehicle configured to charge… unmanned ground vehicle (UGV), UAV Fig. 2, Fig. 3.302, 313, detect travel condition]; and
providing, via a charging module of the intelligent mobile unit, the wireless charging to the electric vehicle while the intelligent mobile unit and the electric vehicle are in motion [¶ 24 The wireless electric transfer device 22 of the target vehicle 48 can be configured to transmit the electric field to the host vehicle 10, or to receive the electric field from the host vehicle 10, including when the target vehicle 48 and the host vehicle 10 are moving., Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7.745 Meet target vehicle 755 Is Predetermined Distance being Maintained?].
Dudar discloses multiple embodiments where the host vehicle and target vehicle are in different orders (following/leading) and are capable of charging and receiving a charge.
It would have been an obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to understand the particular combination of charging traits could function as the order claimed for purposes of utilizing a host vehicle with charging capabilities to charge other vehicles in the host vehicle’s proximity by using a vehicle charging protocol while traveling in areas where the vehicle requests are registered for purposes of adapting to the driving environment.
As per claim 2 Dudar discloses further wherein the intelligent mobile unit is attached to the electric vehicle during the providing of the wireless charging [¶ 14 inductive coupling (known as a type of attachment, magnetic force)].
As per claim 3 Dudar discloses further effecting, by the processing system, an attachment of the intelligent mobile unit to the electric vehicle [¶ 14 inductive coupling (known as a type of attachment, magnetic), ¶ 25 extendable arm… supporting induction mat].
As per claim 7 Dudar discloses further wherein the request includes information for navigating the intelligent mobile unit to follow the electric vehicle [¶ 36 autonomous mode controller, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7.745 Meet Target Vehicle].
As per claim 8 Dudar discloses further wherein the request includes information for accessing a wireless charging unit of the electric vehicle [¶ 55 and determine whether the electrical storage device has sufficient electric charge… Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7].
As per claim 9 Dudar discloses further wherein the wireless charging comprises: an induction charging; or a resonant charging [¶ 14 inductive coupling…].
As per claim 10 Dudar discloses further wherein the request is received from the electric vehicle [¶ 14 wireless electric transfer device 22, e.g., the induction mat… may transmit /receive the electric field, ¶ 54 notification signal can include information relating to a requesting vehicle’s… , ¶ 55 in response to the notification… , Fig. 7 (additionally target and host vehicle are understood to be interchangeable as they both have charging and receiving charge capabilities)].
As per claim 11 Dudar discloses further comprising: transmitting an acceptance of the request [Fig. 7.735 Request confirmation, 740 (confirmation determined)].
As per claim 12 Dudar discloses further wherein the intelligent mobile unit is one of a fleet of intelligent mobile units for providing in-motion wireless charging [Fig. 7.720 Send communication to other vehicles requesting an electric charge (more than one vehicle available for charging)].
As per claim 14 Dudar discloses further wherein the target vehicle dimensions can be different [¶ 26 While the host vehicle 10 and the target vehicle 48 as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4 are a similar size and type, it is to be understood that the host vehicle 10 and the target vehicle 48 may be of different sizes and types.].
Dudar is silent to the length of the intelligent mobile unit is less than ten feet, wherein a width of the intelligent mobile unit is less than 7 feet; and wherein a height of the intelligent mobile unit is less than 12 inches however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use particular dimensions of vehicles for specified purposes as the dimensions are obvious variations as they would only require routine skill in the art to change for purposes of use case scenarios.
As per claim 16 Dudar discloses further wherein the intelligent mobile unit comprises the charging module, wherein the providing of the wireless charging to the electric vehicle comprises deploying the charging module [Fig. 3, Fig. 4]
.
As per claim 17 Dudar discloses further wherein the charging module is a tethered charging module, a remote-controlled charging module, or a self-operating charging module [Fig. 5.58 Autonomous Mode controller].
As per claim 18 Dudar discloses further wherein the intelligent mobile unit leads or follows the electric vehicle during the providing of the wireless charging [¶ 14 when the host vehicle is moving… Fig. 3, Fig. 4 (each vehicle can follow or lead and charge or be charged)].
As per claim 21 Dudar discloses further wherein the navigating includes determining, based on the information included in the request, a location at which to meet the electric vehicle [¶ 38 The communications can identify, for example, a present location of the host vehicle 10, a direction in which the host vehicle 10 is traveling, a current speed of the host vehicle 10, a charge level of the host vehicle, etc., and request, via the wireless communications system 50, that the other vehicles provide an electric charge to the host vehicle 10, ¶ 14 The communication can include, for example, a time and location for the potential target vehicle and the host vehicle 10 to meet.].
As per claim 22 Dudar discloses further wherein the information included in the request includes at least one of: a location of the electric vehicle, an anticipated location of the electric vehicle, an identification of the electric vehicle, or a planned route of the electric vehicle [¶ 38 The communications can identify, for example, a present location of the host vehicle 10, a direction in which the host vehicle 10 is traveling, a current speed of the host vehicle 10, a charge level of the host vehicle, etc., and request, via the wireless communications system 50, that the other vehicles provide an electric charge to the host vehicle 10].
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2018/0086212 (“Dudar”) in further view of US20190315236 (“Mere”).
As per claim 4 Dudar is not explicit to however Mere discloses further wherein the intelligent mobile unit is attached to the electric vehicle via at least one latch [¶ 40 a hitch connects the autonomous trailer to the autonomous vehicle… actuator that engages and disengages with the hitch, ¶ 42 coupled by the hitch, Fig. 5, Fig. 8].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Dudar to include the teachings of Mere for purposes of connecting two vehicles by utilizing a latching device as a connecting component between two vehicles for purposes of improving connecting strength of two mobile structures.
As per claim 13 Dudar discloses a fleet operating system but is not explicit to wherein the request is received from a management system, however Mere discloses such [¶ 52 order to a server… The server is remote from the autonomous vehicle and the trailer and is in communication with both].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Dudar to include the teachings of Mere for purposes of connecting two vehicles by utilizing communication protocols from a server for connecting components between two vehicles for purposes of improved remote control syncing of two mobile structures utilizing processors strategically.
Claims 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180086212 (“Dudar”) in further view of US 10399461 (“Sosinov”).
As per claim 15 Dudar is silent to however Sosinov discloses further wherein the intelligent mobile unit is positioned underneath the electric vehicle during the providing of the wireless charging [Fig. 8.344
].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Dudar with the teachings of Sosinov to include a charging vehicle that moves under the vehicle to utilize different induction charging positioning by maintaining a location conducive to induction charging close to the vehicle while also working with where the vehicle chooses to be charged at.
Additional Art to Consider
Application US 20200341468 titled, METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR PROVIDING AN EQUIPPED AUTONOMOUS VEHICLE TO A DESTINATION, discloses an autonomous electric companion vehicle with a wireless charging module that utilizes an electronic tether to follow the vehicle needing a charge. This is similar to the Applicant’s invention in that Applicant’s reliance of a wireless charging module for electric vehicles that follow’s the vehicle requiring the recharge.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PAUL A. CASTRO
Examiner
Art Unit 3662
/P.A.C/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662