DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amending of claims 1, 3, 13, 15-16. Claim objections withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant states that prior art of record does not disclose portions of amended claims 1, 13, 16 (Remarks pgs. 7-8).
Examiner disagrees. Prior art of record discloses all portions of all claims within the 12/23/25 claim set. See updated rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 indefinite due to “a forward bias” in line 2. “A forward bias” already introduced in claim 1 line 12 prior to its occurrence in claim 8. It is unclear if the claim 8 forward bias is equivalent to that of claim 1. Examiner interprets the two to be equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Shah (US-10845480-
B1).
Regarding claim 1, Shah discloses a system, comprising:
a wavelength-tunable light source (fig. 1 light source 110, fig. 9 110 multiple wavelengths, col.
10 lines 20-30, col. 30 lines 50-60, col. 31 lines 5-10 alternating wavelengths);
a controller (fig. 1 controller 150, col. 10 lines 15-45) configured to (via electronic driver 600,
col. 22 lines 25-30):
cause attenuation of a light being generated by the wavelength-tunable light source during a transition period between a first wavelength to a second wavelength by applying a first reverse bias to a semiconductor optical amplifier of the wavelength-tunable light source (fig. 16 L1/L2 attenuated between pulses, and pulses alternate between lambda1 lambda2 according to fig. 9 embodiment; col. 43 lines 50-65, “…may include applying a reverse-bias voltage…”, fig. 16 L1 level between pulses);
cause the wavelength-tunable light source to change a wavelength of the light being generated by the wavelength-tunable light source from the first wavelength to the second wavelength (fig. 16 second pulse is at lambda2, then alternate between lambda1 and lambda2, col. 31 lines 5-10); and
allow a pulse of the light associated with the second wavelength to be emitted during a pulse period after the transition period by applying a forward bias to the semiconductor optical amplifier followed by a second reverse bias to the semiconductor optical amplifier to generate a falling edge of the pulse of the light (fig. 16 second pulse at lambda2, col. 31 lines 5-10). See annotated fig. 16. See italicized portion)
SOA 410 produces pulse of light in second wavelength (annotated fig. 16 lambda2 pulse) by receiving forward bias (current I_2 during lambda2 pulse) to amplify and emit seed light (col. 43 lines 15-20). SOA 410 then receives reverse bias after annotated fig. 16 lambda2 pulse to prevent further emission prior to next pulse (col. 43 lines 50-65).
Annotated fig. 16
Regarding claim 11, Shah discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising: a scanner configured to scan emitted pulses of light across a field of regard (figs. 1+2 scanner 120 scans output 125 across fig. 2 FOR field of regard, col. 7 lines 15-20); a receiver configured to detect a received pulse of light (fig. 1 receiver 140 detects received 135 beam, col. 3 lines 5-10), the received pulse of light comprising a portion of one of the emitted pulses of light scattered by a target located at a distance (fig. 1 135 comprises portion of 125 scattered by target 130 at distance D, col. 2 lines 40-50); and a processor configured to determine the distance to the target based on a time of arrival of the received pulse of light (fig. 1 processor component of 150 determines distance based on time of arrival, col. 3 lines 5-30).
“Controller” can include “processor”, see instant application Specification 0031, 0052.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Wesstrom (US-20210013697-A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shah discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the wavelength-tunable light source includes a seed laser diode (fig. 9 seed laser diode 400-1, col. 30 lines 50-55).
Shah does not disclose wherein the seed laser diode includes a grating-coupled laser diode configured to produce a seed light at a plurality of different wavelengths.
Wesstrom discloses a grating-coupled laser for use in a LiDAR device (fig. 3 laser 200, 0093-0094, 0096, 0104, 0155, Claim 1 and Claim 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a grating-coupled laser diode configured to produce a seed light at a plurality of different wavelengths in place of the multiple seed laser diodes + wavelength combiner (fig. 9 400-1, 400-2, 420) from Shah to reduce the number of laser diodes + optical connections needed in the device while still allowing for emission of multiple wavelengths and rapid laser tuning (Wesstrom 0155).
Regarding claim 3, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the wavelength-tunable light source includes an optical amplifier (fig. 9 110 includes optical amplifier 410), and wherein the optical amplifier includes the semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) integrated with the seed laser diode (fig. 9 410 includes SOA integrated with seed laser diode (now grating-coupled LD), col. 31 lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 4, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the optical amplifier is configured to amplify or attenuate the seed light produced by the seed laser diode (fig. 9 410 amplifies seed light 405, col. 30 lines 65-end).
Regarding claim 5, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the optical amplifier is configured to receive a reverse bias to attenuate the seed light being produced by the seed laser diode (col. 43 lines 50-65, “…may include applying a reverse-bias voltage…”, fig. 16 L1 level between pulses).
Regarding claim 6, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the seed laser diode is configured in an always on operating mode during a time period between a transmission of the pulse of the light associated with the second wavelength and a transmission of a pulse of the light associated with the first wavelength (fig. 16 first graph seed laser current always at least I_DC between pulses, col. 22 lines 45-60, col. 45 lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 7, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the optical amplifier is configured to receive a reverse bias to attenuate the light being generated by the wavelength-tunable light source during the transition period between the first wavelength to the second wavelength (col. 43 lines 50-65, “…may include applying a reverse-bias voltage…”, fig. 16 L1 level between pulses).
Regarding claim 8, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the optical amplifier is configured to produce the pulse of the light associated with the second wavelength by receiving a forward bias to amplify and emit the seed light produced by the seed laser diode followed by a reverse bias to prevent the seed light from being emitted by the wavelength-tunable light source.
SOA 410 produces pulse of light in second wavelength (annotated fig. 16 lambda2 pulse) by receiving forward bias (current I_2 during lambda2 pulse) to amplify and emit seed light (col. 43 lines 15-20). SOA 410 then receives reverse bias after annotated fig. 16 lambda2 pulse to prevent further emission prior to next pulse (col. 43 lines 50-65).
Regarding claim 9, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 3.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein: the seed laser diode comprises a front mirror, a back mirror, a phase component, and a gain component, wherein the phase and gain components are disposed between the front and back mirrors; and the wavelength-tunable light source further comprises an electronic driver configured to supply particular combinations of electrical currents to the front mirror, the back mirror, the phase component, and the gain component, wherein a combination of electrical currents causes the seed laser diode to produce the seed light at one of the plurality of different wavelengths.
Wesstrom discloses structural details for the grating-coupled laser diode for use in a LiDAR device, including a front mirror (fig. 3 210, 0093), a back mirror (fig. 3 220, 0094), a phase component (fig. 3 240, 0104), and a gain component (fig. 3 230, 0096), with the phase and gain between front and back mirrors (fig. 3 240 and 230 between 210 and 220), and a laser controller that provides combinations of electrical currents to the components of the laser to produce light at one of a plurality of different wavelengths (fig. 3 260 provides currents to 210, 220, 230, 240 to produce light at different
wavelengths, 0093, 0096, 0101, 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the grating-coupled laser structure with the components required by claim 9 to increase tunability width and maintain narrow linewidth output (Wesstrom 0022, 0032).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Wesstrom and Villanueve (US-20190221988-A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 9.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein values associated with the combination of the electrical currents are stored in a look-up table, and wherein the values are calibrated for a particular operating temperature.
Villenueve discloses using lidar system pump laser current values stored in a look-up table, where these stored current values are calibrated for a particular operating temperature (fig. 24, 0002-0003, 0242).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have values associated with the combination of the electrical currents stored in a look-up table, and wherein the values are calibrated for a particular operating temperature to improve the speed and consistency of wavelength tuning + stability of output.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah.
Regarding claim 12, Shah discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the controller is further configured to (via driver 600): allow a pulse of the light associated with the first wavelength to be emitted from the wavelength-tunable light source (annotated fig. 16 lambda1 pulse, col. 31 lines 5-10);
Shah does not disclose encode a particular encoding time delay between the pulse of the light associated with the second wavelength and the pulse of the light associated with the first wavelength.
Shah discloses sending multiple pulse bursts, each burst having its own optical characteristics (e.g. wavelength), and each burst separated by a set time interval (figs. 19/20, col. 47 lines 25-40, col. 48 lines 45-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to encode a particular encoding time delay between the pulse of the light associated with the second wavelength and the pulse of the light associated with the first wavelength to allow for identification and association of return/reflected/scattered pulses and to reduce interference between pulses (Shah col. 48 lines 55-60).
Claim(s) 13, 16-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Wesstrom and LaChapelle (US-10802120-B1).
Regarding claim 13, Shah discloses a method (performed by controller fig. 1 150 via driver fig. 12 600, col. 10 lines 15-45, col. 22 lines 25-30) comprising: applying a first reverse bias state to an optical amplifier (fig. 12 optical amplifier 410, col. 43 lines 50-65, “…may include applying a reverse-bias
voltage…”, fig. 16 L1 level before first pulse), wherein the optical amplifier is integrated with a seed laser diode (fig. 12 410 integrated with seed laser diode 400, col. 33 lines 25-30), sending a constant current
to a gain region of the seed laser diode to maintain the seed laser diode in an always on operating mode (fig. 16 first graph seed laser current always at least I_DC between pulses, col. 22 lines 45-60, col. 45 lines 10-20), applying a forward bias state to the optical amplifier wherein the forward bias state amplifies a light emitted by the seed laser diode at the desired wavelength (col. 43 lines 15-20, fig. 16 L1 level during first pulse); and applying a second reverse bias state to the optical amplifier, wherein the second reverse bias state results in a falling edge of a light pulse associated with the light emitted by the seed laser diode at the desired wavelength (col. 43 lines 50-65, fig. 16 L1 level at end of/after first pulse).
Shah does not disclose wherein the seed laser diode is configured to produce a seed light at a plurality of different wavelengths; applying the forward bias state to the optical amplifier after determining that the seed light is stabilized; retrieving one or more operating values associated with electrical values based on a desired wavelength, wherein the desired wavelength is one of the plurality of different wavelengths; applying the retrieved one or more operating values to one or more of a front mirror, a back mirror, or a phase component of the seed laser diode to configure the seed laser diode to operate at the desired wavelength; monitoring the seed light to determine when the seed light has stabilized at the desired wavelength; maintaining the first reverse bias state while waiting for the seed laser diode to stabilize at the desired wavelength.
Wesstrom discloses a grating-coupled laser for use in a LiDAR device (fig. 3 laser 200, 0093-0094, 0096, 0104, 0155, Claim 1 and Claim 6), and structural details for the grating-coupled laser diode for use in the LiDAR device, including a front mirror (fig. 3 210, 0093), a back mirror (fig. 3 220, 0094), a phase component (fig. 3 240, 0104), and a gain component (fig. 3 230, 0096), with the phase and gain between front and back mirrors (fig. 3 240 and 230 between 210 and 220), and a laser controller that provides combinations of electrical currents to the components of the laser to produce light at one of a plurality
of different wavelengths (fig. 3 260 provides currents to 210, 220, 230, 240 to produce light at different
wavelengths, 0093, 0096, 0101, 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the seed laser diode configured to produce a seed light at a plurality of different wavelengths; retrieving one or more operating values associated with electrical values based on a desired wavelength, wherein the desired wavelength is one of the plurality of different wavelengths; applying the retrieved one or more operating values to one or more of a front mirror, a back mirror, or a phase component of the seed laser diode to configure the seed laser diode to operate at the desired wavelength to allow for emission of multiple wavelengths and rapid laser tuning (Wesstrom 0155), increase tuning width and maintain narrow linewidth output (Wesstrom 0022, 0032).
Modified Shah does not disclose monitoring the seed light to determine when the seed light has stabilized at the desired wavelength; maintaining the first reverse bias state while waiting for the seed laser diode to stabilize at the desired wavelength, applying the forward bias state to the optical amplifier after determining that the seed light is stabilized.
LaChapelle discloses a pulsed lidar system where a seed laser is pulsed with a pulse of current that is long enough in duration to stabilize the wavelength of the emitted light + an SOA that is not configured to amplify the seed light until the seed light has stabilized (col. 33 lines 25-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor the seed light to determine when the seed light has stabilized at the desired wavelength; maintain the first reverse bias state while waiting for the seed laser diode to stabilize at the desired wavelength, + apply the forward bias state to the optical amplifier after determining that the seed light is stabilized to improve accuracy of distance measurement and reduce the number of variables to account for during operation.
Regarding claim 16, Shah discloses a system, comprising: a wavelength-tunable light source (fig. 1 light source 110, fig. 9 110 multiple wavelengths, col. 10 lines 20-30, col. 30 lines 50-60, col. 31 lines 5-
10 alternating wavelengths); a controller (fig. 1 controller 150, col. 10 lines 15-45) configured to (via electronic driver, col. 22 lines 25-30): apply a first reverse bias state to an optical amplifier (fig. 12 optical amplifier 410, col. 43 lines 50-65, “…may include applying a reverse-bias voltage…”, fig. 16 L1 level before first pulse), wherein the optical amplifier is integrated with a seed laser diode (fig. 12 410 integrated with 400); apply a forward bias state to the optical amplifier, wherein the forward bias state amplifies a seed light emitted by the seed laser diode at a desired wavelength (col. 43 lines 15-20, fig. 16 L1 level during first pulse); and apply a second reverse bias state to the optical amplifier, wherein the second reverse bias state results in a falling edge of a light pulse associated with the seed light emitted by the seed laser diode at the desired wavelength (col. 43 lines 50-65, fig. 16 L1 level at end of/after first pulse), apply a constant electrical current to the seed laser diode to maintain the seed laser diode in an always-on operating mode (fig. 16 first graph seed laser current always at least I_DC between pulses, col. 22 lines 45-60, col. 45 lines 10-20).
Shah does not disclose the seed laser diode being a grating-coupled laser diode configured to produce a seed light at a plurality of different wavelengths; retrieve based on a desired wavelength one or more operating values associated with electrical values, wherein the desired wavelength is one of the plurality of different wavelengths; apply the retrieved one or more operating values to one or more of a front mirror, a back mirror, or a phase component of the grating-coupled laser diode to configure the grating-coupled laser diode to operate at the desired wavelength.
Wesstrom discloses a grating-coupled laser for use in a LiDAR device (fig. 3 laser 200, 0093-0094, 0096, 0104, 0155, Claim 1 and Claim 6), and structural details for the grating-coupled laser diode for use in the LiDAR device, including a front mirror (fig. 3 210, 0093), a back mirror (fig. 3 220, 0094), a phase component (fig. 3 240, 0104), and a gain component (fig. 3 230, 0096), and a laser controller that provides combinations of electrical currents to the components of the laser to produce light at one of a plurality of different wavelengths (fig. 3 260 provides currents to 210, 220, 230, 240 to produce light at
different wavelengths, 0093, 0096, 0101, 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the seed laser diode a grating-coupled laser diode configured to produce a seed light at a plurality of different wavelengths; retrieve based on a desired wavelength one or more operating values associated with electrical values, wherein the desired wavelength is one of the plurality of different wavelengths; apply the retrieved one or more operating values to one or more of a front mirror, a back mirror, or a phase component of the grating-coupled laser diode to configure the grating-coupled laser diode to operate at the desired wavelength to allow for emission of multiple wavelengths and rapid laser tuning (Wesstrom 0155) and increase tuning width and maintain narrow linewidth output (Wesstrom 0022, 0032).
Modified Shah does not disclose allowing the grating-coupled laser diode to stabilize at the desired wavelength.
LaChapelle discloses a pulsed lidar system where a seed laser is pulsed with a pulse of current that is long enough in duration to stabilize the wavelength of the emitted light (col. 33 lines 25-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the grating-coupled laser diode to stabilize at the desired wavelength via waiting a configured time period to elapse to improve accuracy of distance measurement and reduce the number of variables to account for during operation.
Regarding claim 17, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the optical amplifier includes a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) (fig. 9 410 is SOA).
Modified Shah does not disclose the SOA being tapered.
Shah discloses a separate embodiment with a tapered SOA (fig. 13 tapered 410 w/ 415 taper, col. 34 lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a tapered SOA to minimize the amount of amplified seed light that propagates in unwanted higher-order transverse modes (Shah col. 35 lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 19, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 16.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein allowing the grating-coupled laser diode to stabilize at the desired wavelength includes waiting a configured time period to elapse.
LaChapelle discloses a pulsed lidar system where a seed laser is pulsed with a pulse of current that is long enough in duration to stabilize the wavelength of the emitted light (col. 33 lines 25-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the grating-coupled laser diode to stabilize at the desired wavelength via waiting a configured time period to elapse to improve accuracy of distance measurement and reduce the number of variables to account for during operation.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Wesstrom, LaChapelle, and Villanueve (US-20190221988-A1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Shah discloses the method of claim 13.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein retrieving the one or more operating values associated with the electrical values is further based on an operating temperature of the seed laser diode.
Villenueve discloses using lidar system pump laser current values stored in a look-up table, where these stored current values are calibrated for a particular operating temperature (fig. 24, 0002-0003, 0242).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to retrieve the one or more operating values associated with the electrical values based on an operating temperature of the seed laser diode to improve the speed and consistency of wavelength tuning + stability of output.
Regarding claim 15, modified Shah discloses the method of claim 14.
Modified Shah does not disclose further comprising adjusting a current applied to a die of the seed laser diode to maintain the operating temperature of the seed laser diode and to compensate for applying the retrieved one or more operating values to the one or more of the front mirror, the back mirror, or the phase component of the seed laser diode.
Shah discloses a light source with a seed laser and optical amplifier on a thermoelectric cooler used to maintain the operating temperature of the light source and compensate for the heat generated by the laser after applying the operating current values (fig. 15 light source 110 with seed laser 400 and amplifier 410 on thermoelectric cooler 640, col. 38 line 50 – col. 39 line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust a current applied to a die (e.g. TEC) of the seed laser diode to maintain the operating temperature of the seed laser diode and to compensate for applying the retrieved one or more operating values to the one or more of the front mirror, the back mirror, the phase component of the seed laser diode to stabilize the operating temperature and prevent it from increasing beyond a safe operating range (Shah col. 38 lines 50-65).
Claim(s) 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Wesstrom, LaChapelle, and Coldren (US-20040136423-A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 16.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein the one or more operating values associated with the electrical values are stored in a calibrated look-up table.
Coldren discloses a sampled grating distributed Bragg reflector laser with component currents stored in a calibrated look-up table (fig. 2, 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more operating values associated with the electrical values stored in a calibrated look-up table to improve the speed and consistency of wavelength tuning.
Regarding claim 20, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 16.
Modified Shah does not disclose further comprising a monitoring module, wherein the monitoring module includes at least an etalon and a detector, the monitoring module configured to receive light produced by the grating-coupled laser diode and monitor a current wavelength of the produced light.
Coldren discloses a sampled grating distributed Bragg reflector laser with an FP etalon used to receive light produced by the SG DBR laser and monitor a current wavelength of the emitted light (fig. 6 FP Etalon 602 receives light from 102 + optical output, 0087).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a monitoring module, wherein the monitoring module includes at least an etalon and a detector, the monitoring module configured to receive light produced by the grating-coupled laser diode and monitor a current wavelength of the produced light to lock the laser output power and wavelength to desired values and improve stability of output without frequent user intervention (Coldren 0087).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828