Response to Arguments
2.Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) in view of Miller (US20170293145A1) and Lee (KR20210150250A)
Regarding claim 1, Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) teaches an optical display system ([0014]: Near-eye display system 10A) comprising: an augmented reality device ([0043]: the near-eye display system may be used in a device or environment that also allows external imagery to reach the user. Such an environment may be referred to as an ‘augmented-reality’ (AR) or ‘mixed-reality’ (MR) environment) having an output surface (Exit grating 28) which is disposed to permit a combined image ([0043]: the near-eye display system may be used in a device or environment that also allows external imagery to reach the user. Such an environment may be referred to as an ‘augmented-reality’ (AR) or ‘mixed-reality’ (MR) environment) from said augmented reality device to be directed to an eye of a viewer ([0017]: optical waveguide 24 includes an entry grating 26 and an exit grating 28. Exit grating 28 is a diffractive structure configured to controllably release the propagating display light from the optical waveguide in the direction of observer O); and a lens device disposed between said output surface and the eye of the viewer ([0035]: near-eye display system 10A of FIG. 2A includes a fixed-focus lens 50 in series with variable-focus lens 38. It’s clear from Fig. 2A that the lenses are disposed between exit grating 28 and the observer O) and including a focus lens unit disposed proximate to said output surface ([0036]: fixed-focus lens 50 is positioned between variable-focus lens 38 and optical waveguide 24), and configured to shift a focus of a combined light (Fig. 2A, [0045]: where optical waveguide 24 is configured to receive external light from opposite observer O and to release the external light toward the observer) that results in the combined image ([0043]: Such an environment may be referred to as an ‘augmented-reality’ (AR) or ‘mixed-reality’ (MR) environment. Applied in such an environment, variable-focus lens 38 and/or fixed-focus lens 50 of near-eye display system 10A would alter the vergence of the external light received from opposite the observer), and a variable focus lens disposed distal from said output surface ([0036]: fixed-focus lens 50 is positioned between variable-focus lens 38 and optical waveguide 24), and configured to continuously shift the focus of the combined light that is being focused by said focus lens unit ([0038]: variable-focus lens 38 may be energized so as to offset or reverse the divergence effected by fixed-focus lens 50. [0039]: Accordingly, variable-focus lens 38 may be configured such that its optical power varies within a non-divergent, non-negative diopter range as a function of the focusing bias. [0043]: In general, any near-eye display system that applies optical power to imagery perceived by the user desirably can, when operated in an AR or VR environment, apply compensatory optical power to the external imagery).
wherein said augmented reality device ([0043]: the near-eye display system may be used in a device or environment that also allows external imagery to reach the user. Such an environment may be referred to as an ‘augmented-reality’ (AR) or ‘mixed-reality’ (MR) environment) includes a waveguide unit ([0031]: optical waveguide 24) which has said output surface ([0031]: exit grating 28) and which is configured to permit a first light for forming a virtual image ([0016]: optical waveguide 24 configured to receive the display light from display projector 16 and to release the display light toward observer O. [0019]: each display image formed by near-eye display system 10A is a virtual image) and a second light from an object in a real world ([0045]: In FIG. 2A, accordingly, where optical waveguide 24 is configured to receive external light from opposite observer O and to release the external light toward the observer) to combine and output from said output surface, thereby forming the combined image ([0043]: the near-eye display system may be used in a device or environment that also allows external imagery to reach the user) ,wherein said waveguide unit ([0016]: optical waveguide 24) includes at least one waveguide which has an in-coupling region (Fig. 2A, Entry grating 26) configured to deflect the first light from a light-providing device (Fig. 2A, display projector 16) to propagate in said waveguide ([0017]: Entry grating 26 is a diffractive structure configured to receive the display light and to couple the display light into the optical waveguide), and an out-coupling region (Fig. 2A, Exit grating 28) configured to direct the first light propagating in said waveguide toward the eye of the viewer through said output surface when the first light propagating in said waveguide impinges said out-coupling region ([0017]: Exit grating 28 is a diffractive structure configured to controllably release the propagating display light from the optical waveguide in the direction of observer O).
Akkaya does not teach said waveguide unit includes three waveguides which are configured to respectively guiding three spatially distinct portions of the first light, each of the three waveguides including an in-coupling region configured to deflect the first light from a light-providing device to propagate in said waveguide, and an out-coupling region configured to direct the first light propagating in said waveguide toward the eye of the viewer through said output surface when the first light propagating in said waveguide impinges said out-coupling region, and said lens device further includes a polarizer disposed downstream of said waveguide unit.
However, Miller teaches said waveguide unit includes three waveguides ( 670, 680, 690, Fig. 9A, Fig. 9B) which are configured to respectively guiding three spatially distinct portions of the first light(because in coupling element 700 of waveguide 670, in-coupling element 710 of waveguide 680, in-coupling element 720 of waveguide 690 are spatially distinct ( at different location), 670, 680, 690 using the in-coupling elements on them to guide three spatially distinct portion of the first light ( a combine of 770, 780,790, Fig. 9A). ), each of the three waveguides including an in-coupling region configured to deflect the first light from a light-providing device to propagate in said waveguide ( 700, 710, 720, Fig. 9A, Fig. 9B [0107]the in-coupling optical elements 700, 710, 720 may be configured to deflect light directly to the out-coupling optical elements 800, 810, 820) , and an out-coupling region (800, 810, 820, Fig. 9A, 9B) configured to direct the first light propagating in said waveguide toward the eye of the viewer through said output surface when the first light propagating in said waveguide impinges said out-coupling region ( [0107]out-coupling optical elements 800, 810, 820 are exit pupils (EP's) or exit pupil expanders (EPE's) that direct light in a viewer's eye 210 (FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) with three waveguide to respectively guide three spatially distinct portions of the first light taught by Miller (US20170293145A1) in order to encompass light of different wavelengths that perceived by the view abs being different color [0094] and the three wave guide can selectively redirect multiple wavelength of lights [0097]
In addition, Lee teaches said lens device further includes a polarizer 431, Fig. 11) disposed downstream of said waveguide unit (Fig. 11, para [0125] waveguide 120, polarizer 432, fixed refractive lens 133, and first variable focus lens 132 in that order )
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) and Miller with include a polarizer disposed downstream of said waveguide unit as taught by Lee in order to pass through only a linear polarization components of one direction from among components based on the design requirement([([0124]
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) and Miller and Lee teaches the optical display system of claim 1. Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) further teaches wherein said focus lens unit is a fixed focus lens ([0036] In the configuration of FIG. 2A, fixed-focus lens 50).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) and Miller and Lee teaches the optical display system of claim 1. Akkaya (US 20200301239 A1) further teaches wherein said variable focus lens is an electrically tunable focusing liquid crystal lens ([0028] Variable-focus lens 38 may comprise a transmissive liquid-crystal SLM—i.e., LCSLM—operatively coupled to display controller 22).
4.Claim(s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) ,Miller (US20170293145A1) and Lee (KR20210150250A) in further view of Yaroshchuk (US11194222B2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) and Miller and Lee teaches the optical display system of claim 2. Akkaya does not teach wherein said focus lens unit is a polarization-independent lens.
Yaroshchuk (US11194222B2) teaches wherein said focus lens unit is a polarization-independent lens (Col 7, lines 8-14: the first adaptive lens assembly 280 may also include at least one passive lens having non-switchable optical power, i.e., fixed optical power… In some embodiments, the passive lens may be a polarization dependent or a polarization independent LC lens).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) and Miller and Lee with the polarization-independent lens taught by Yaroshchuk (US11194222B2) to reduce the amount of light loss compared to a method using polarization.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1)and Miller teaches the optical display system of claim 1. Akkaya (further teaches wherein variable focus lens is a polarization-dependent lens([0051]: polarization-selective variable-focus lens 38′), and Lee teaches and said lens device further includes a polarizer disposed upstream of said focus lens unit and said variable focus lens. (Fig. 11, para [0125] waveguide 120, polarizer 432, fixed refractive lens 133, and first variable focus lens 132 )
Akkaya does not teach said focus lens unit is a polarization-dependent liquid crystal
Yaroshchuk (US11194222B2) teaches said focus lens unit is a polarization-dependent liquid crystal (Col 7, lines 8-14: the first adaptive lens assembly 280 may also include at least one passive lens having non-switchable optical power, i.e., fixed optical power… In some embodiments, the passive lens may be a polarization dependent or a polarization independent LC lens).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified claim 1 with the polarization-dependent focus lens taught by Yaroshchuk (US11194222B2) to produce a series of optical powers (Col 7, lines 29-35: to provide a series of optical power, the linear polarization dependent active LC lens may be arranged in optical series with other linear polarization dependent active LC lenses and/or passive lenses).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) and Miller (US20170293145A1)in further view of Choi (US 20210003848 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1), Miller and Lee teaches the optical display system of claim 1. Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) does not teach wherein said variable focus lens is a polarization-independent lens.
Choi (US 20210003848 A1) teaches wherein said variable focus lens is a polarization-independent lens ([0159]: the focus tunable lens 160 may be a lens having a polarization-independent refractive power.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified claim 1 with the polarization-independent lens taught by Choi (US 20210003848 A1) to reduce the amount of light loss compared to a method using polarization.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) and Miller and Lee teaches the optical display system of claim 1. Lee further teaches said polarizer is disposed upstream of said variable focus lens (Fig. 11, para [0125] waveguide 110, polarizer 432, fixed refractive lens 133, and first variable focus lens 132 in that order)
Akkaya does not teach wherein said variable focus lens is a polarization-dependent lens
Choi teaches wherein said variable focus lens is a polarization-dependent lens ([0159]: the focus tunable lens 160 may be a liquid crystal lens having a polarization-dependent refractive power, ′),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Akkaya (embodiment of Fig. 2) (US 20200301239 A1) and Miller and Lee with the polarization-independent lens taught by Choi (US 20210003848 A1) to reduce the amount of light loss compared to a method using polarization.
6.Claim(s)1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20210150250A) in view of Miller (US20170293145A1).
With regard to claim 1,Lee teaches An optical display system comprising: an augmented reality device having an output surface ( output surface of 131, Fig. 11) which is disposed to permit a combined image ( Lv and LR, Fig. 11) from said augmented reality device to be directed to an eye of a viewer ( eye, Fig. 11); and
a lens device ( 133, 131, Fig. 11) disposed between said output surface and the eye of the viewer ( in a order of the waveguide (120), polarizer (432), fixed refractive lens (133), and first variable focus lens (131) may be arranged in that order [0125]), and including
a focus lens unit ( 133, Fig. 11) disposed proximate to said output surface ( output surface of 131, Fig. 11), and configured to shift a focus of a combined light that results in the combined image, and
a variable focus lens ( 131, Fig. 11) disposed distal from said output surface ( output of 131, Fig. 11), and configured to continuously shift the focus of the combined light that is being focused by said focus lens unit ( e.g., 133 is variable focus lens, Fig. 11),
wherein said augmented reality device includes a waveguide unit ( e.g., 120, Fig. 11) which has said output surface ( output surface of 120, Fig. 11) and which is configured to permit a first light for forming a virtual image ( Lv, Fig. 11) and a second light from an object in a real world to combine ( LR, Fig. 11) and output from said output surface, thereby forming the combined image ( [0066] Since the waveguide (120) is formed of a transparent material, the user can not only view a virtual image through the augmented reality device (100) but also view a real scene, so the augmented reality device (100) can implement augmented reality), and
wherein said lens device further includes a polarizer ( e.g., 432, Fig. 11) disposed downstream of said waveguide unit( Fig. 11, para [0125] waveguide 120, polarizer 432, fixed refractive lens 133, and first variable focus lens 132 in that order, and 432 is downstream of 120).
Lee does not teach wherein said waveguide unit includes three waveguides which are configured to respectively guiding three spatially distinct portions of the first light, each of the three waveguides including
an in-coupling region configured to deflect the first light from a light-providing device to propagate in said waveguide, [[and]]
an out-coupling region configured to direct the first light propagating in said waveguide toward the eye of the viewer through said output surface when the first light propagating in said waveguide impinges said out-coupling region.
However, Miller teaches said waveguide unit includes three waveguides ( 670, 680, 690, Fig. 9A, Fig. 9B) which are configured to respectively guiding three spatially distinct portions of the first light(because in coupling element 700 of waveguide 670, in-coupling element 710 of waveguide 680, in-coupling element 720 of waveguide 690 are spatially distinct ( at different location), 670, 680, 690 using the in-coupling elements on them to guide three spatially distinct portion of the first light ( a combine of 770, 780,790, Fig. 9A). ), each of the three waveguides including an in-coupling region configured to deflect the first light from a light-providing device to propagate in said waveguide ( 700, 710, 720, Fig. 9A, Fig. 9B [0107]the in-coupling optical elements 700, 710, 720 may be configured to deflect light directly to the out-coupling optical elements 800, 810, 820) , and an out-coupling region (800, 810, 820, Fig. 9A, 9B) configured to direct the first light propagating in said waveguide toward the eye of the viewer through said output surface when the first light propagating in said waveguide impinges said out-coupling region ( [0107]out-coupling optical elements 800, 810, 820 are exit pupils (EP's) or exit pupil expanders (EPE's) that direct light in a viewer's eye 210 (FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Lee with three waveguides to respectively guide three spatially distinct portions of the first light taught by Miller (US20170293145A1) in order to encompass light of different wavelengths that perceived by the view abs being different color [0094] and the three wave guide can selectively redirect multiple wavelength of lights [0097]
Conclusion
7.The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi (WO 2021002641 A1 ) teaches An electronic device for displaying AR includes: an optical engine; a first polarizer; a polarization converter configured to maintain or convert a polarization direction of light of a real scene; a waveguide from which light of a virtual image is output and through which the light of the real scene is transmitted; a focus tunable lens; a second polarizer; and one or more processors.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PINPING SUN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872