DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 12-13, 19, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo et al. (US 20180163152 A1, hereafter “Luo”).
Regarding claim 1, Luo discloses an intermittent catheter comprising a hollow polymeric tubular body (see para. [0003], discloses the application of this external coating/formulation for guidewires and catheters-tubular devices) comprising a base polymer (first crosslinked polymeric matrix, para. [0014-0017, 0140]) and further comprising an amphiphilic additive (polymeric adhesion promoter, para. [0014-0017]) at and/or on an outer surface of the body (see para. [0003], discloses the application of this external coating/formulation for guidewires and catheters-tubular devices; also see general procedure 1 in para. [0199] and examples 1 and 2 in para. [0213-0217] wherein the catheter tubing is dip-coated with the base and/or additive) wherein the base polymer is independently cross-linked (para. [0016, 0096, 0140]) and/or the base polymer and additive are cross-linked with each other, and wherein the additive is located as a layer or coating on the base polymer (the adhesion promoter can be physically bound to the first crosslinking agent to form one network after curing, para. [0125]); and wherein the base polymer comprises a polymer selected from the group consisting of. polyethylene, polypropylene, thermoplastic elastomeric material, and combinations thereof (para. [0006, 0125]).
Regarding claim 5, Luo discloses the device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the base polymer (first crosslinked polymeric matrix) is cross-linked at and/or on the outer surface (para. [0014-0017, 0140], see para. [0003], discloses the application of this external coating/formulation for guidewires and catheters-tubular devices; also see general procedure 1 in para. [0199] and examples 1 and 2 in para. [0213-0217] wherein the catheter tubing is dip-coated with the base and/or additive).
Regarding claim 8, Luo discloses the device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the additive is an amphiphilic A-B block copolymer comprising an A-block comprising a hydrophobic hydrocarbon portion and a hydrophilic B-block (para. [0013-0017]).
Regarding claim 12, Luo discloses the device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the additive is at and/or on at least 50% of the outer surface area of the polymeric tubular body (the catheter is dip-coated and therefore the outer surface would be more than 50% covered by the coating, para. [0014-0017, 0140], see para. [0003], discloses the application of this external coating/formulation for guidewires and catheters-tubular devices; also see general procedure 1 in para. [0199] and examples 1 and 2 in para. [0213-0217]).
Regarding claim 13, Luo discloses a method of manufacturing an intermittent catheter, the method comprising the steps of:
a. providing a base polymer (first crosslinked polymeric matrix, para. [0014-0017, 0140]) and an amphiphilic additive (polymeric adhesion promoter, para. [0014-0017, 0199]); and
b. forming a hollow polymeric tubular catheter body comprising the base polymer and additive (see para. [0003], discloses the application of this external coating/formulation for guidewires and catheters-tubular devices; also see general procedure 1 in para. [0199] and examples 1 and 2 in para. [0213-0217] wherein the catheter tubing is dip-coated with the base and/or additive), such that the additive is located as a layer or coating on the base polymer (the adhesion promoter can be physically bound to the first crosslinking agent to form one network after curing, para. [0125]),
wherein the method further comprises the step of independently cross-linking one or both of the base polymer (para. [0016, 0096, 0140]) and additive and/or cross-linking the base polymer and the additive with each other.
Regarding claim 19, Luo discloses the method of claim 13 and further discloses wherein the method comprises cross-linking one or both of the base polymer (first crosslinked polymeric matrix, para. [0014-0017, 0140]) and the additive independently and/or cross-linking the base polymer and the additive with each other during co-granulation of the base polymer with the additive; and wherein the base polymer comprises a polymer selected from the group consisting of. polyethylene, polypropylene, thermoplastic elastomeric material, and combinations thereof (para. [0006, 0125]).
Regarding claim 24, Luo discloses the method of claim 13 and further discloses wherein the additive is an amphiphilic A-B block copolymer comprising an A-block comprising a hydrophobic hydrocarbon portion and a hydrophilic B-block (para. [0013-0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US 20180163152 A1) in view of Madsen et al. (WO 2006037321 A1, hereafter “Madsen”).
Regarding claims 9 and 25, Luo discloses the device and method of claims 8 and 24, respectively. However, Luo fails to disclose wherein the additive is an A-B block copolymer comprising an A-block comprising a hydrocarbon chain block of the formula CH3CH2(CH2CH2)a where "a" is 5-25, and a hydrophilic B-block.
Madsen teaches a similar method in the same field of endeavor wherein the additive is an A-B block copolymer comprising an A-block comprising a hydrocarbon chain block of the formula CH3CH2(CH2CH2)a where "a" is 5-25, and a hydrophilic B-block (page 8 lines 4-10, page 8 lines 19-23, also see page 9 lines 12-14 wherein the amphiphilic block copolymer is a poly alpha-olefin and includes polyethylene—the chain block itself).
Luo discloses the hydrophilic and hydrophobic copolymers and gives plenty of examples of potential hydrophobic copolymers that can be used (para. [0021, 0024, 0129, 0132]), but does not specifically list a polymer with the claimed polyethylene chain. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a poly alpha-olefin with a long chain of polyethylene as shown in Madsen for the hydrophobic block in Luo with predictable results—namely, a hydrophobic polymer/block to be used with the hydrophilic block forming the amphiphilic copolymer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN A KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SUSAN S SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781 11 March 2026