DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on November 24, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-12, 17, 19, and 21 have been amended. Claims 3 and 15 have been canceled. Claims 23-24 have been added new.
Claims 1-2, 4-13, and 17-24 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on November 24, 2025 regarding claims 1, 11 and 17 have been fully considered but the arguments are essentially directed towards the newly introduced limitations and they are addressed in this Office Action, below.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 17 amendment, line 22, the extra “and” is not deleted in “based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non- functional reverse beams, and
cause the transceiver to …”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-13, 17-18, 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. (US 20020061730 A1, as provided by the IDS submitted on 22 July 2022), hereinafter Hart, in view of Antonio et al. (US 6208858 B1), hereinafter Antonio, and further in view of Susitaival et al. (US 20160255551 A1), hereinafter Susitaival.
Regarding claim 1, Hart discloses A user equipment (mobile terminal 18 (FIGS. 1, 4)), comprising: one or more antennas (antenna 68 (FIG. 4)); a transmitter (transmitter 2 (FIG. 1)) coupled to the one or more antennas; a receiver (receiver 16 (FIG. 1)) coupled to the one or more antennas; and (Fig. 1, [0033], [0035]) processing circuitry (control unit 59 (FIG. 4)) configured to
cause the receiver to receive a signal from a primary communication node during a first communication cycle based on the communication node pairing information, (Hart [0037] The earth station selects the first satellite 4a (primary node) providing a better forward link and transmits the signal 15a to the mobile terminal 18. Selection of the satellites 4a, 4b is transparent to the mobile terminal, (indicates communication network can assign based on node pairing information) FIG. 6, [0057] discloses a channel (time slot) is assigned to each mobile terminal 18 during call setup for forward and return packets by the earth station. [0057] discloses forward packets R alternating with the return packets T in the frame F, indicates the received signal during a first (forward) communication cycle) with the selected node)
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams, cause the transmitter to transmit transmission signals to a secondary communication node during the second communication cycle, (Hart, [0090], Fig. 2, The controller 59 of the mobile terminal 18 monitors the quality of signal received from both satellites 4a and 4b and transmits during the time slot corresponding to the stronger satellite. The alternative return link (secondary communication node) is selected, if the initial return link was weak (non-functional) indicating transmission to the accessible link depicted as the return signal (3). Fig. 6 [0057, 0059] discloses signal is received/transmitted by each mobile terminal 18 in every frame F with the selected satellite/earth station in forward and return link in duplex mode. Indicates each terminal transmitting via the selected alternate nodes during second cycle after determining initial link was weak.) and
cause the receiver to receive reception signals from the primary communication node during the second communication cycle. (Hart, Fig. 2, [0037, 38], The mobile terminal 18 does not need to select from which satellite 4a, 4b it is to receive the response signal 15a, since this is decided at the earth station 8. Selection of the satellites 4a, 4b is therefore transparent to the mobile terminal. Hart in Fig. 1, shows uplink is on satellites 4a and 4b and gateway determines the downlink satellite from 4a or 4b by a switch 14. Fig. 6 [0059] discloses signal is received by each mobile terminal 18 in every frame F. [0057] teaches the terminal communicating with the selected satellite/earth station in forward and return link in duplex mode. Indicates each terminal transmitting and receiving signal via the selected nodes during second cycle.)
Hart discloses earth station 8 communicates information to each terminal 18 continuously in every frame [Fig. 6, 0059] over the selected links initially (first cycle), and once the return (reverse) link provides weak signal and the alternate link can be selected ([0090], switching to different link at a later time indicates second cycle), but Hart does not explicitly disclose beam identifiers based on communication node pairing information:
cause the receiver to receive communication node pairing information from a communication network,
the communication node pairing information comprising a first indication of one or more non-functional reverse beams,
cause the receiver to receive a signal from a primary communication node during a first communication cycle based on the communication node pairing information,
cause the receiver to receive a second indication of a reverse beam identifier associated with a reverse beam to be used during a second communication cycle based on the signal,
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams, cause the transmitter to transmit transmission signals to a secondary communication node during the second communication cycle
Antonio, however, discloses:
cause the receiver to receive communication node pairing information from a communication network, (Antonio col 6, ll. 60-67 with Fig. 1 illustrates some possible signal paths for establishing communications between user terminals 124, 126, and 128 and with gateways 120 and 122 through satellites 116 and 118 (i.e. a communication network). Col 8, ll. 50-53, at least one communication link between the user terminal and a gateway initially exists. Col 8, line 55, the gateway transmits a Beam Mask Message (BMM) to the user terminal over the established communication link(s). The BMM contains a list of beam identifiers. Col 9, line 5, FIG. 6A illustrates an exemplary BMM 600. As shown in FIG. 6A, BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614. Beam identifiers 602-614 each identify a satellite/beam pair. This indicates BMM constituting the communication node pairing information provided by the communication network to the user equipment.)
the communication node pairing information comprising a first indication of one or more non-functional reverse beams, (Antonio Figs. 4A-4D, col. 8, ll. 30-47 teaches handoff procedure identifying beam blockage and choosing most desirable beams. Figs. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends a handoff direction message (HDM) to the user terminal (step 516, 518) containing two sets of beam identifiers; add beam set and a drop beam set (non-functional beams). Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with the gateway periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) sending a BMM (contains beam/satellite identifiers) to the user terminal.)
cause the receiver to receive a signal from a primary communication node during a first communication cycle based on the communication node pairing information, (Antonio Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with UE periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) receiving Beam Mask Message (BMM) from the gateway via the current active beam set (primary communication node/satellite) until the determination step for new active beam set, indicates the first communication cycle communication with the primary node. Col 9, line 5, FIG. 6A illustrates BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614 identifying satellite/beam pair. Fig. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends two sets of beam identifiers; add beam set and a drop beam set (non-functional beams))
cause the receiver to receive a second indication of a reverse beam identifier associated with a reverse beam to be used during a second communication cycle based on the signal (Antonio Fig. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends two sets of beam identifiers; add beam set and a drop beam set. The add beam set contains a beam identifier for each beam within the new active beam set that is not in the current active beam set. Col. 13, ll. 42-55, if the new active beam set is different than the current active beam set, the gateway will send an HDM to the user terminal, indicates new beams to be used in during second communication cycle after HDM.)
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams, cause the transmitter to transmit transmission signals to a secondary communication node during the second communication cycle (Antonio Fig. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends a handoff direction message (HDM) to the user terminal (step 516, 518) containing two sets of beam identifiers - add beam set (new active beam/reverse beam to be used) and a drop beam set (non-functional beams to drop from the current active set/primary communication node). This indicates using new set of beams after HDM, thus a second communication cycle. Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with the gateway periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) sending a BMM (contains beam/satellite identifiers) to the user terminal. The Figs. 6A-6E teaches the BMM includes Satellite 1 (S1B*) and Satellite 2 (S2B*) for the add/drop sets for the HDM.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Although Hart teaches that a primary satellite link arrangement of transmission is maintained, while the primary satellite link arrangement of reception is changed as noted above when the return link becomes weak [0090] , and Antonio teaches receiving node pairing information and sending HDM with add beam set (new active beam/reverse beam to be used) to be used in the second communication cycle and a drop beam set (non-functional beams to drop from the current active set/primary communication node) [Figs. 5A, 10], the references do not specifically disclose switching uplink only, and thus, do not teach the following limitation(s):
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams, cause the receiver to receive reception signals from the primary communication node during the second communication cycle.
Susitaival, however, discloses:
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams, cause the receiver to receive reception signals from the primary communication node during the second communication cycle. (Susitaival Fig. 9 [0072, 0073] In addition to MeNB 120a (primary node), wireless device 110 may be connected to one or several SeNBs (secondary) for added user plane support. Figs. 14, 15 [0107] In some cases, an uplink to a MeNB may be preferable to minimize latency. In other cases, an uplink to a SeNB may be preferable to minimize path loss between a UE and a base-station. [0119] At step 1514, the wireless device obtains an indication to switch transmission of uplink data to the second network node. (For example, from first network node 120a (MeNB) to second network node 120b (SeNB). This indicates the uplink with MeNB (first communication cycle) and later switch to SeNB (second communication cycle) [0123] discloses downlink transmissions may continue without interruption (from primary node). This teaches after the uplink switch, in a subsequent time (i.e. second cycle), the UE can switch the uplink to a secondary node and maintain downlink on the primary node.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart and Antonio with the ability to split the forward and link to separate nodes if needed as taught by Susitaival. Doing so allows achieving improved mobility robustness for improved throughput. (Susitaival. [0077])
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Hart and Antonio further teach the following limitation(s):
wherein the communication node pairing information comprises communication node identification information associated with the primary communication node and the secondary communication node (Antonio, Col 10, 65 the gateway determines active beam set. Col 9, line 5, FIG. 6A illustrates an exemplary BMM 600. As shown in FIG. 6A, BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614. Beam identifiers 602-614 each identify a satellite/beam pair. The Figs. 6A-6E teaches the BMM includes Satellite 1 (S1B*) and Satellite 2 (S2B*) as two communication nodes associated with multiple beams for the add/drop sets in the HDM) and
beam identification information associated with a plurality of reverse beams associated with the primary communication node or the secondary communication node. (Hart, in Fig. 10, [0084] the mobile terminal 18 communicates with the earth station 8 during allocated time slots t within a repeating time frame T, via the first and second satellites 4a, 4b, or via first and second beams of one satellite. Antonio in FIG. 6A shows the gateway can have the identifiers as BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614. Beam identifiers 602-614 each identify a satellite (node)/beam pair)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart and Susitaival with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Antonio further teaches the following limitation(s):
wherein the receiver is configured to receive updates from the communication network based on a time interval. (Antonio in Fig. 5A, col 8, line 65 – col 9, line 5 the gateway performs step 504 periodically. For example, the gateway may send an updated BMM every minute. The period of one minute was chosen because within approximately each minute one or more new beams become available to the gateway.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart and Susitaival with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Hart further teaches the following limitation(s):
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive a third indication of communication quality based on a relative positioning between the user equipment and the primary communication node or the secondary communication node. ([Hart [0060] As each satellite 4a, 4b generates an array of beams at different angles, the angular position of the mobile terminal 18 relative to a satellite is determined by identifying the beam in which the return signal 3 is detected. In addition, the Doppler shift of the signal 3 is measured to determine the angle of the mobile terminal 18 relative to the direction of motion of the satellite. [0034] The earth station 8 also analyses the received signals 3a and 3b to determine which is of better quality. [0090] However, if the selected return link provides only a weak signal, the earth station 8 communicates this information to the mobile terminal 18 and the alternative return link is selected.])
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 8. Hart further teaches the following limitation(s):
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the relative positioning based on a location of the primary communication node or the secondary communication node, a location of the user equipment, and an orientation of the user equipment. (Hart in [0060] As each satellite 4a, 4b generates an array of beams at different angles, the angular position of the mobile terminal 18 relative to a satellite is determined by identifying the beam in which the return signal 3 is detected. In addition, the Doppler shift of the signal 3 is measured to determine the angle of the mobile terminal 18 relative to the direction of motion of the satellite. [0062] each mobile terminal (user equipment) include Global Positioning System (GPS) hardware for determining its position. [0096] since the positions of the satellites 4 and of the mobile terminal 18 are known, the passage of the mobile terminal through the beams projected by any of the satellites 4 is entirely predictable and this information may obviously therefore be used to determine when handover is to take place, and to which beam.)
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Hart further teaches the following limitation(s):
wherein the relative positioning comprises an elevation angle of the secondary communication node relative to the user equipment. ([Hart in [0077] discloses, After T.sub.o, the elevation angle of the satellite 4a with respect to the centre Ca becomes undesirably low for reliable communication. In [0002] the communication link between the terminal and any one satellite may become weaker as the elevation angle of the satellite decreases and ultimately the link may become inoperable as the satellite moves out of sight of the terminal])
Regarding Claim 11, Hart discloses,
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry of user equipment, cause the processing circuitry to: ((control unit 59 (FIG. 4))
receive reception signals from the primary communication node in a first communication cycle; (Hart [0037] The earth station selects the first satellite 4a (primary node) providing a better forward link and transmits the signal 15a to the mobile terminal 18. Selection of the satellites 4a, 4b is transparent to the mobile terminal, (indicates communication network can assign based on node pairing information) FIG. 6, [0057] discloses a channel (time slot) is assigned to each mobile terminal 18 during call setup for forward and return packets by the earth station. [0057] discloses forward packets R alternating with the return packets T in the frame F, indicates the received signal during a first (forward) communication cycle) with the selected node)
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams: transmit transmission signals to the secondary communication node in the second communication cycle; (Hart, [0090], Fig. 2, The controller 59 of the mobile terminal 18 monitors the quality of signal received from both satellites 4a and 4b and transmits during the time slot corresponding to the stronger satellite. The alternative return link (secondary communication node) is selected, if the initial return link was weak (non-functional) indicating transmission to the accessible link depicted as the return signal (3). Fig. 6 [0057, 0059] discloses signal is received/transmitted by each mobile terminal 18 in every frame F with the selected satellite/earth station in forward and return link in duplex mode. Indicates each terminal transmitting via the selected alternate nodes during second cycle after determining initial link was weak.) and
receive additional reception signals from the primary communication node in the second communication cycle. (Hart, Fig. 2, [0037, 38], The mobile terminal 18 does not need to select from which satellite 4a, 4b it is to receive the response signal 15a, since this is decided at the earth station 8. Selection of the satellites 4a, 4b is therefore transparent to the mobile terminal. Hart in Fig. 1, shows uplink is on satellites 4a and 4b and gateway determines the downlink satellite from 4a or 4b by a switch 14. Fig. 6 [0059] discloses signal is received by each mobile terminal 18 in every frame F. [0057] teaches the terminal communicating with the selected satellite/earth station in forward and return link in duplex mode. Indicates each terminal transmitting and receiving signal via the selected nodes during second cycle.)
Hart discloses earth station 8 communicates information to each terminal 18 continuously in every frame [Fig. 6, 0059] over the selected links initially (first cycle), and once the return (reverse) link provides weak signal and the alternate link can be selected ([0090], switching to different link at a later time indicates second cycle), but Hart does not explicitly disclose beam identifiers based on communication node pairing information:
Receive communication node pairing information associated with a primary communication node paired with a secondary communication node from a communication network,
the communication node pairing information comprising a first indication of one or more non-functional reverse beams;
receive an indication of a reverse beam identifier associated with an uplink beam of the primary communication node to be used during a second communication cycle based on the reception signals;
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams: transmit transmission signals to the secondary communication node in the second communication cycle;
Antonio, however, discloses:
Receive communication node pairing information associated with a primary communication node paired with a secondary communication node from a communication network, (Antonio col 6, ll. 60-67 with Fig. 1 illustrates some possible signal paths for establishing communications between user terminals 124, 126, and 128 and with gateways 120 and 122 through satellites 116 and 118 (i.e. a communication network). Col 8, ll. 50-53, at least one communication link between the user terminal and a gateway initially exists. Col 8, line 55, the gateway transmits a Beam Mask Message (BMM) to the user terminal over the established communication link(s). The BMM contains a list of beam identifiers. Col 9, line 5, FIG. 6A illustrates an exemplary BMM 600. As shown in FIG. 6A, BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614. Beam identifiers 602-614 each identify a satellite/beam pair. This indicates BMM constituting the communication node pairing information provided by the communication network to the user equipment.)
the communication node pairing information comprising a first indication of one or more non-functional reverse beams; (Antonio Figs. 4A-4D, col. 8, ll. 30-47 teaches handoff procedure identifying beam blockage and choosing most desirable beams. Figs. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends a handoff direction message (HDM) to the user terminal (step 516, 518) containing two sets of beam identifiers; add beam set and a drop beam set (non-functional beams). Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with the gateway periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) sending a BMM (contains beam/satellite identifiers) to the user terminal.)
receive an indication of a reverse beam identifier associated with an uplink beam of the primary communication node to be used during a second communication cycle based on the reception signals; (Antonio Fig. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends two sets of beam identifiers; add beam set and a drop beam set. The add beam set contains a beam identifier for each beam within the new active beam set that is not in the current active beam set. Col. 13, ll. 42-55, if the new active beam set is different than the current active beam set, the gateway will send an HDM to the user terminal, indicates new beams to be used in during second communication cycle after HDM. The Figs. 6A-6E teaches the BMM includes Satellite 1 (S1B*, primary) and Satellite 2 (S2B*, secondary) as two communication nodes associated with multiple beams for the add/drop sets in the HDM, indicates to be used beams can be from primary node)
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams: transmit transmission signals to the secondary communication node in the second communication cycle; (Antonio Fig. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends a handoff direction message (HDM) to the user terminal (step 516, 518) containing two sets of beam identifiers - add beam set (new active beam/reverse beam to be used) and a drop beam set (non-functional beams to drop from the current active set/primary communication node). This indicates using new set of beams after HDM, thus a second communication cycle. Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with the gateway periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) sending a BMM (contains beam/satellite identifiers) to the user terminal. The Figs. 6A-6E teaches the BMM includes Satellite 1 (S1B*) and Satellite 2 (S2B*) for the add/drop sets for the HDM.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Although Hart teaches that a primary satellite link arrangement of transmission is maintained, while the primary satellite link arrangement of reception is changed as noted above when the return link becomes weak [0090] , and Antonio teaches receiving node pairing information and sending HDM with add beam set (new active beam/reverse beam to be used) to be used in the second communication cycle and a drop beam set (non-functional beams to drop from the current active set/primary communication node) [Figs. 5A, 10], the references do not specifically disclose switching uplink only, and thus, do not teach the following limitation(s):
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams: receive additional reception signals from the primary communication node in the second communication cycle.
Susitaival, however, discloses:
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams: receive additional reception signals from the primary communication node in the second communication cycle (Susitaival Fig. 9 [0072, 0073] In addition to MeNB 120a (primary node), wireless device 110 may be connected to one or several SeNBs (secondary) for added user plane support. Figs. 14, 15 [0107] In some cases, an uplink to a MeNB may be preferable to minimize latency. In other cases, an uplink to a SeNB may be preferable to minimize path loss between a UE and a base-station. [0119] At step 1514, the wireless device obtains an indication to switch transmission of uplink data to the second network node. (For example, from first network node 120a (MeNB) to second network node 120b (SeNB). This indicates the uplink with MeNB (first communication cycle) and later switch to SeNB (second communication cycle) [0123] discloses downlink transmissions may continue without interruption (from primary node). This teaches after the uplink switch, in a subsequent time (i.e. second cycle), the UE can switch the uplink to a secondary node and maintain downlink on the primary node.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart and Antonio with the ability to split the forward and link to separate nodes if needed as taught by Susitaival. Doing so allows achieving improved mobility robustness for improved throughput. (Susitaival. [0077])
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 11. Hart and Antonio further teach the following limitation(s):
wherein the communication node pairing information comprises a first communication node identifier associated with the primary communication node, (Antonio. Col 8, line 55, the gateway transmits a Beam Mask Message (BMM) to the user terminal over the established communication link(s). The BMM contains a list of beam identifiers. Col 9, line 5, FIG. 6A illustrates an exemplary BMM 600. As shown in FIG. 6A, BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614. Beam identifiers 602-614 each identify a satellite/beam pair. The Figs. 6A-6E teaches the BMM includes Satellite 1 (S1B*) and Satellite 2 (S2B*) for the add/drop sets for the HDM.)
a first set of beam identifiers associated with a first set of beams emitted by the primary communication node, (Antonio shows multiple satellite/beam pair in Fig. 6A)
a second communication node identifier associated with the secondary communication node, (Antonio shows multiple satellite/beam pair in Fig. 6A)
a second set of beam identifiers associated with a second set of beams emitted by the secondary communication node, (Antonio shows multiple satellite/beam pair in Fig. 6A) and
beam status information comprising one or more of the first set of beam identifiers corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams. (Hart, [0090], Fig. 2, Fig. 10 if the selected return link provides only a weak signal, as in the case of multipath fading, the earth station 8 communicates this information to the mobile terminal 18. As shown in FIG. 6, [0055] A channel is assigned to each mobile terminal 18 during call setup by transmitting an instruction signal to the mobile terminal 18 from the earth station 8.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart and Susitaival with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 12. Hart, and Antonio further teach the following limitation(s):
wherein the instructions cause the processing circuitry to synchronize with the primary communication node in the first communication cycle based on the first communication node identifier. (Antonio Col 8, ll. 50-53, discloses at least one communication link between the user terminal and a gateway initially exists. Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with UE periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) receiving Beam Mask Message (BMM) from the gateway via the current active beam set (primary communication node/satellite) until the determination step for new active beam set, indicates the first communication cycle communication with the primary node. Hart [0063] discloses the timing of transmission of the return packets T is synchronized by the mobile terminal 18 with the timing of the reception of the forward packets R. Fig. 6 [0057] discloses forward packets R alternating with the return packets T in the frame F (sequentially progressing in time). [0090] discloses the terminal communicating with the initial selected satellite until alternative link is selected, indicates a first communication period (cycle) and second communication period (cycle) with the alternate link) and
synchronize with the secondary communication node in the second communication cycle based on the second communication node identifier. (Hart. [0090] discloses the terminal communicating with the initial selected satellite until alternative link is selected, indicates the terminal synchronizes and communicates to the second node when (i.e. at a later time, second cycle) current link is determined as weak (non-functional). Antonio in Fig 7, col 10, line 35 discloses identifying second communication node, For example, if the BMM identifies three different satellites that are all visible to the user terminal, the PSMM will contain at least three beam identifiers, indicates the reception of second communication node identifier. Antonio Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with UE periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) receiving Beam Mask Message (BMM) from the gateway via the current active beam set (primary communication node/satellite) until the determination step for new active beam set. Col. 13, ll. 42-55, if the new active beam set is different than the current active beam set, the gateway will send an HDM to the user terminal, indicates new beams to be used in during second communication cycle after HDM)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart and Susitaival with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Regarding Claim 17, Hart discloses An electronic device (mobile terminal 18 (FIGS. 1, 4), also as user station in claim 28, generic as the electronic device), comprising:
a transceiver (transmitter 2, receiver 16 (FIG. 1)); and
processing circuitry ((control unit 59 (FIG. 4)) communicatively coupled to the transceiver and configured to
cause the transceiver to receive reception signals from the primary communication node for a first communication cycle, (Hart [0037] The earth station selects the first satellite 4a (primary node) providing a better forward link and transmits the signal 15a to the mobile terminal 18. Selection of the satellites 4a, 4b is transparent to the mobile terminal, (indicates communication network can assign based on node pairing information) FIG. 6, [0057] discloses a channel (time slot) is assigned to each mobile terminal 18 during call setup for forward and return packets by the earth station. [0057] discloses forward packets R alternating with the return packets T in the frame F, indicates the received signal during a first (forward) communication cycle) with the selected node)
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non- functional reverse beams, cause the transceiver to transmit transmission signals to the secondary communication node during the second communication cycle; (Hart, [0090], Fig. 2, The controller 59 of the mobile terminal 18 monitors the quality of signal received from both satellites 4a and 4b and transmits during the time slot corresponding to the stronger satellite. The alternative return link (secondary communication node) is selected, if the initial return link was weak (non-functional) indicating transmission to the accessible link depicted as the return signal (3). Fig. 6 [0057, 0059] discloses signal is received/transmitted by each mobile terminal 18 in every frame F with the selected satellite/earth station in forward and return link in duplex mode. Indicates each terminal transmitting via the selected alternate nodes during second cycle after determining initial link was weak.) and
cause the transceiver to receive additional reception signals from the primary communication node during the second communication cycle. (Hart, Fig. 2, [0037, 38], The mobile terminal 18 does not need to select from which satellite 4a, 4b it is to receive the response signal 15a, since this is decided at the earth station 8. Selection of the satellites 4a, 4b is therefore transparent to the mobile terminal. Hart in Fig. 1, shows uplink is on satellites 4a and 4b and gateway determines the downlink satellite from 4a or 4b by a switch 14. Fig. 6 [0059] discloses signal is received by each mobile terminal 18 in every frame F. [0057] teaches the terminal communicating with the selected satellite/earth station in forward and return link in duplex mode. Indicates each terminal transmitting and receiving signal via the selected nodes during second cycle.)
Hart discloses earth station 8 communicates information to each terminal 18 continuously in every frame [Fig. 6, 0059] over the selected links initially (first cycle), and once the return (reverse) link provides weak signal and the alternate link can be selected ([0090], switching to different link at a later time indicates second cycle), but Hart does not explicitly disclose beam identifiers based on communication node pairing information:
receive communication node pairing information associated with a primary communication node paired with a secondary communication node from a communication network,
the communication node pairing information comprising a first indication of one or more non-functional reverse beams,
receive an indication of a reverse beam identifier corresponding to an uplink beam of the primary communication node to be used during a second communication cycle based on the reception signals,
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non- functional reverse beams, cause the transceiver to transmit transmission signals to the secondary communication node during the second communication cycle;
Antonio, however, discloses:
receive communication node pairing information associated with a primary communication node paired with a secondary communication node from a communication network, (Antonio col 6, ll. 60-67 with Fig. 1 illustrates some possible signal paths for establishing communications between user terminals 124, 126, and 128 and with gateways 120 and 122 through satellites 116 and 118 (i.e. a communication network). Col 8, ll. 50-53, at least one communication link between the user terminal and a gateway initially exists. Col 8, line 55, the gateway transmits a Beam Mask Message (BMM) to the user terminal over the established communication link(s). The BMM contains a list of beam identifiers. Col 9, line 5, FIG. 6A illustrates an exemplary BMM 600. As shown in FIG. 6A, BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614. Beam identifiers 602-614 each identify a satellite/beam pair. This indicates BMM constituting the communication node pairing information provided by the communication network to the user equipment.)
the communication node pairing information comprising a first indication of one or more non-functional reverse beams, (Antonio Figs. 4A-4D, col. 8, ll. 30-47 teaches handoff procedure identifying beam blockage and choosing most desirable beams. Figs. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends a handoff direction message (HDM) to the user terminal (step 516, 518) containing two sets of beam identifiers; add beam set and a drop beam set (non-functional beams). Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with the gateway periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) sending a BMM (contains beam/satellite identifiers) to the user terminal.)
receive an indication of a reverse beam identifier corresponding to an uplink beam of the primary communication node to be used during a second communication cycle based on the reception signals, (Antonio Fig. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends two sets of beam identifiers; add beam set and a drop beam set. The add beam set contains a beam identifier for each beam within the new active beam set that is not in the current active beam set. Col. 13, ll. 42-55, if the new active beam set is different than the current active beam set, the gateway will send an HDM to the user terminal, indicates new beams to be used in during second communication cycle after HDM. The Figs. 6A-6E teaches the BMM includes Satellite 1 (S1B*, primary) and Satellite 2 (S2B*, secondary) as two communication nodes associated with multiple beams for the add/drop sets in the HDM, indicates to be used beams can be from primary node)
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non- functional reverse beams, cause the transceiver to transmit transmission signals to the secondary communication node during the second communication cycle; (Antonio Fig. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends a handoff direction message (HDM) to the user terminal (step 516, 518) containing two sets of beam identifiers - add beam set (new active beam/reverse beam to be used) and a drop beam set (non-functional beams to drop from the current active set/primary communication node). This indicates using new set of beams after HDM, thus a second communication cycle. Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with the gateway periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) sending a BMM (contains beam/satellite identifiers) to the user terminal. The Figs. 6A-6E teaches the BMM includes Satellite 1 (S1B*) and Satellite 2 (S2B*) for the add/drop sets for the HDM.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Although Hart teaches that a primary satellite link arrangement of transmission is maintained, while the primary satellite link arrangement of reception is changed as noted above when the return link becomes weak [0090] , and Antonio teaches receiving node pairing information and sending HDM with add beam set (new active beam/reverse beam to be used) to be used in the second communication cycle and a drop beam set (non-functional beams to drop from the current active set/primary communication node) [Figs. 5A, 10], the references do not specifically disclose switching uplink only, and thus, do not teach the following limitation(s):
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non- functional reverse beams, cause the transceiver to receive additional reception signals from the primary communication node during the second communication cycle.
Susitaival, however, discloses:
based on the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the one or more non- functional reverse beams, cause the transceiver to receive additional reception signals from the primary communication node during the second communication cycle. (Susitaival Fig. 9 [0072, 0073] In addition to MeNB 120a (primary node), wireless device 110 may be connected to one or several SeNBs (secondary) for added user plane support. Figs. 14, 15 [0107] In some cases, an uplink to a MeNB may be preferable to minimize latency. In other cases, an uplink to a SeNB may be preferable to minimize path loss between a UE and a base-station. [0119] At step 1514, the wireless device obtains an indication to switch transmission of uplink data to the second network node. (For example, from first network node 120a (MeNB) to second network node 120b (SeNB). This indicates the uplink with MeNB (first communication cycle) and later switch to SeNB (second communication cycle) [0123] discloses downlink transmissions may continue without interruption (from primary node). This teaches after the uplink switch, in a subsequent time (i.e. second cycle), the UE can switch the uplink to a secondary node and maintain downlink on the primary node.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart and Antonio with the ability to split the forward and link to separate nodes if needed as taught by Susitaival. Doing so allows achieving improved mobility robustness for improved throughput. (Susitaival. [0077])
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 17. Hart and Antonio further teach the following limitation(s):
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive the communication node pairing information in a configuration process prior to the first communication cycle, (Antonio. col 6, line 60 with Fig. 1 illustrates some possible signal paths for establishing communications between user terminals 124, 126, and 128 and with gateways 120 and 122. Col 8, line 50, at least one communication link between the user terminal and a gateway initially exists. Col 8, line 55, the gateway transmits a Beam Mask Message (BMM) to the user terminal over the established communication link(s). The BMM contains a list of beam identifiers. Col 9, line 5, FIG. 6A illustrates an exemplary BMM 600. As shown in FIG. 6A, BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614. Beam identifiers 602-614 each identify a satellite/beam pair. Electronic device received the two Satellites (S1/B1-3 and S2/B12-16) information as in 6A prior to the communication (FIGS. 5A, 5B, Steps 504, 520, 524))
the configuration process comprising pairing the primary communication node with the secondary communication node. (Antonio. Col 8, Line 55. the gateway transmits a Beam Mask Message (BMM) to the user terminal over the established communication link(s). As shown in FIG. 6A, BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614 identifying four beams from Satellite 1 (S1) and two beams from Satellite 2 (S2). Also, in Col 1, line 65, the gateway establishes two or more forward links for a given user terminal, where each forward link is established on a beam from a different satellite, indicating paired use of satellites for a user.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart and Susitaival with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Hart further teaches the following limitation(s):
wherein the primary communication node and the secondary communication node each comprises a satellite. (Hart, [0090], Fig. 2, The controller 59 of the mobile terminal 18 monitors the quality of signal received from both satellites 4a and 4b. The alternative return link is selected, if the initial return link was weak indicating transmission to the accessible link depicted as the return signal (3), indicates both primary and secondary node comprising satellite)
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Hart further teaches the following limitation(s):
comprising a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver that is configured to determine a global position of the user equipment based on GNSS signals received from a GNSS network comprising the primary communication node and the secondary communication node. (Hart, [0062] each mobile terminal 18 may include Global Positioning System (GPS) hardware for determining the position of the mobile terminal 18, this indicates UE determining the position as referred in instant application [0032] GNSS signals may be received from a Global Positions System (GPS) network to determine a global position of the user equipment.)
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Hart, Antonio and Susitaival further teaches the following limitation(s):
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: based on the reverse beam identifier not corresponding to the one or more non-functional reverse beams, (Antonio Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with UE periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) receiving Beam Mask Message (BMM) from the gateway via the current active beam set (primary communication node/satellite) until the determination step for new active beam set. Fig. 5A, col. 12, ll. 59-67, step 515, if the new active beam set is the same as the current active beam set, the gateway does not initiate handoff, thereby allowing the user terminal to continue using the beams in the current active beam set (indicates the current beams are not non-functional, col. 13, ll. 15-15, also teaches drop beam sets can be empty in HDM)
cause the transmitter to transmit the transmission signals to the primary communication node during the second communication cycle, (Antonio Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with UE periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) receiving Beam Mask Message (BMM) from the gateway via the current active beam set (primary communication node/satellite) until the determination step for new active beam set (for the second cycle). Fig. 5A, col. 12, ll. 59-67, step 515, if the new active beam set is the same as the current active beam set, the gateway does not initiate handoff, thereby allowing the user terminal to continue using the beams in the current active beam set, indicates continue using the current (primary) node in the second cycle) and
cause the receiver to receive the reception signals from the primary communication node during the second communication cycle. (Antonio Fig. 5A, col. 12, ll. 59-67, step 515, discloses continue using the primary communication node after determining no handover is needed in the second cycle. Susitaival Figs. 14, 15 [0107] In some cases, an uplink to a MeNB may be preferable to minimize latency, indicates both forward and reverse link can communicate with the MeNB 120a (primary node).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart and Antonio with the ability to split the forward and link to separate nodes if needed as taught by Susitaival. Doing so allows achieving improved mobility robustness for improved throughput. (Susitaival. [0077])
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 17. Hart, and Antonio further teaches the following limitation(s):
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive a location of the electronic device, (Hart [0062] each mobile terminal (user equipment) include Global Positioning System (GPS) hardware for determining its position. [0096] since the positions of the satellites 4 and of the mobile terminal 18 are known, the passage of the mobile terminal through the beams projected by any of the satellites 4 is entirely predictable and this information may obviously therefore be used to determine when handover is to take place, and to which beam)
receive an additional indication that the secondary communication node is accessible based on the communication node pairing information and the location of the electronic device, (Antonio Fig 7, col 10, line 35. For example, if the BMM identifies three different satellites that are all visible to the user terminal, the PSMM will contain at least three beam identifiers and at least three corresponding beam strength values, where each one of the at least three identifiers identifies a beam from a different one of the three satellites. Col 10, 65 After receiving a PSMM from the user terminal, the gateway determines a new active beam set (step 512). The new active beam set is the set of beams that should be used as communication links between the gateway and the user terminal, thus accessible. In Col 8, line 15-20, Fig. 4A-4D illustrates satellite/beam pair coverage based on the relative position (location) of the satellite and the user) and
cause the transceiver to synchronize with the secondary communication node for the second communication cycle based on the additional indication. (Hart. Fig. 6, [0053-0056] illustrates different forward and return slots allocated in a repeating time frame F, indicates second cycle with secondary communication node. [0063] The timing of transmission of the return packets T is synchronized by the mobile terminal 18 with the timing of the reception of the forward packets R. Antonio in Fig 7, col 10, line 35 discloses identifying second communication node, For example, if the BMM identifies three different satellites that are all visible to the user terminal, the PSMM will contain at least three beam identifiers, indicates the reception of second communication node identifier. Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with the gateway periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) sending a BMM (contains beam/satellite identifiers) to the user terminal. This indicates when a usable second node identified in a subsequent time (second cycle), the second return link synchronizes with second node)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart and Susitaival with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. (US 20020061730 A1, as provided by the IDS submitted on 22 July 2022), hereinafter Hart, in view of Antonio et al. (US 6208858 B1), hereinafter Antonio, in view of Susitaival et al. (US 20160255551 A1), hereinafter Susitaival, and further in view of Lim et al. (US 20040114566 A1), hereinafter Lim.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Hart further teaches the following limitation(s):
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the receiver to receive the signal from the primary communication node during the first communication cycle, (Hart [0037] The earth station selects the first satellite 4a (primary node) providing a better forward link and transmits the signal 15a to the mobile terminal 18. Selection of the satellites 4a, 4b is transparent to the mobile terminal, (indicates communication network can assign based on node pairing information) FIG. 6, [0057] discloses a channel (time slot) is assigned to each mobile terminal 18 during call setup for forward and return packets by the earth station. [0057] discloses forward packets R alternating with the return packets T in the frame F, indicates the received signal during a first (forward) communication cycle) with the selected node)
Although Hart discloses the mobile terminal 18 monitors the signal received from both satellites 4a and 4b [0090], the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, do not specifically disclose:
the signal comprising a preamble and a broadcast interval.
Lim, however, teaches the following limitation(s):
the signal comprising a preamble and a broadcast interval. (Lim [0010] discloses MAC frame is divided into a downlink sub-frame including a broadcast interval. The broadcast interval is used for transmitting downlink messages. Fig. 10, [0060] teaches a downlink sub-frame 510 (i.e. signal) comprises broadcast interval and preamble)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival to enable receiving signal including preamble and broadcast interval as taught by Lim. Doing so allows reducing estimation error to avoid deterioration of the performance. (Lim, [0061])
Claims 6, 7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. (US 20020061730 A1, as provided by the IDS submitted on 22 July 2022), hereinafter Hart, in view of Antonio et al. (US 6208858 B1), hereinafter Antonio, in view of Susitaival et al. (US 20160255551 A1), hereinafter Susitaival, in view of Lim et al. (US 20040114566 A1), hereinafter Lim and further in view of Holder (US 20170370678 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, and Lim, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 5. Hart and Lim further teach the following limitation(s):
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to decode the preamble and the broadcast interval of the signal, (Hart [0089] mobile terminal 18 monitors signals transmitted by the satellites in the allocated time slots. [0086] two RF demodulators may be provided in the mobile terminal, [0085] In the example shown, the earth station 8 transmits a packet Rx.sub.1 in time slot t.sub.1 via the first satellite 4a, which packet is received at frequency f.sub.1 by the mobile terminal 18. Lim teaches the download signal format with Fig. 10, [0060] including broadcast interval and preamble))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival to enable receiving signal including preamble and broadcast interval as taught by Lim. Doing so allows reducing estimation error to avoid deterioration of the performance. (Lim, [0061])
Though Lim discloses transferring messages/parameters in the broadcast interval frame structure ([0064] FIG. 12), the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, and Lim, do not specifically disclose the following limitation(s):
the broadcast interval comprising yaw information associated with the primary communication node.
Holder, however, teaches the following limitation(s):
the broadcast interval comprising yaw information associated with the primary communication node. (Holder in Fig. 1, [0102] discloses the platform 150 may be arranged with a GPS receiver and the information signals 185 may each include a specific pseudorandom code known to the receiver, a time of transmission and the location of the satellite broadcasting the respective signal, indicates communication nodes broadcasting location information. The information signal 185 includes location, motion (if any) and orientation. [0134] orientation information in the form of pitch and yaw information may be determined from signals received at both the antennas 152a-152n and the antenna(s) 154, while roll orientation information may be determined solely from the antennas 152a-152n.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart, Antonio, Susitaival, and Lim to enable the ability to determine the position and motion of its own and motion of the target as taught Holder. Doing so allows saving guidance system resources and reduces time delays. (Holder, [0048])
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, Lim and Holder as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 6. Hart and Antonio further teach the following limitation(s):
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the reverse beam identifier based on the yaw information associated with the primary communication node, (Hart Fig. 1,2 [0060] As each satellite 4a, 4b generates an array of beams at different angles, the angular position of the mobile terminal 18 relative to a satellite is determined by identifying the beam in which the return signal 3 is detected. [0089] The mobile terminal 18 monitors the pilot signals during the calls so that, if another satellite comes into view, the mobile terminal 18 communicates this information to the earth station and further transmit and receive time slots are allocated to the other satellite. Antonio Col 9, line 5, FIG. 6A illustrates BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614 identifying satellite/beam pair. Fig. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends two sets of beam identifiers; add beam set (to be used) and a drop beam set (non-functional beams). Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with the gateway periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) sending a BMM (contains beam/satellite identifiers) to the user terminal.)
wherein the reverse beam identifier corresponds to an uplink beam of the primary communication node (Hart [0090], Fig. 2, Fig. 10 if the selected return link provides only a weak signal, as in the case of multipath fading, the earth station 8 communicates this information to the mobile terminal 18. Antonio Fig. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends a drop beam set (non-functional beams), that is currently active with the primary communication node)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart, Antonio, Susitaival, Lim, and Holder with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 18. Hart and Antonio further teach the following limitation:
determine the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the uplink beam of the primary communication node based on the yaw information. (Hart Fig. 1,2 [0060] As each satellite 4a, 4b generates an array of beams at different angles, the angular position of the mobile terminal 18 relative to a satellite is determined by (indicates orientation, yaw like information) identifying the beam in which the return signal 3 is detected. [0089] The mobile terminal 18 monitors the pilot signals during the calls so that, if another satellite comes into view, the mobile terminal 18 communicates this information to the earth station and further transmit and receive time slots are allocated to the other satellite. Antonio Col 9, line 5, FIG. 6A illustrates BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614 identifying satellite/beam pair. Fig. 5A, 10 col. 13, ll. 12-25 the gateway sends two sets of beam identifiers; add beam set (to be used) and a drop beam set (non-functional beams). Fig. 10, col. 13, ll. 43-48 the handoff process begins with the gateway periodically (e.g., every 60 seconds) sending a BMM (contains beam/satellite identifiers) to the user terminal.));
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart, and Susitaival with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Although Hart discloses satellite 4a, 4b generates an array of beams at different angles [0060] and the mobile terminal 18 monitors the signal received from both satellites 4a and 4b [0090], the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, do not explicitly disclose receiving the broadcast interval and preamble:
decode a preamble and a broadcast interval of the reception signals to obtain yaw information associated with the primary communication node, and
Lim, however, teaches the following limitation(s):
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to decode a preamble and a broadcast interval of the reception signals to obtain yaw information associated with the primary communication node, (Lim [0010] discloses MAC frame is divided into a downlink sub-frame including a broadcast interval. The broadcast interval is used for transmitting downlink messages. Fig. 10, [0060] teaches a downlink sub-frame 510 (i.e. signal) comprises broadcast interval and preamble))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival to enable receiving signal including preamble and broadcast interval as taught by Lim. Doing so allows reducing estimation error to avoid deterioration of the performance. (Lim, [0061])
Though Lim discloses transferring messages/parameters in the broadcast interval frame structure ([0064] FIG. 12), the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, and Lim, do not explicitly disclose the following limitation(s):
decode a preamble and a broadcast interval of the reception signals to obtain yaw information associated with the primary communication node, and
determine the reverse beam identifier corresponding to the uplink beam of the primary communication node based on the yaw information.
Holder, however, teaches the following limitation(s):
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to decode a preamble and a broadcast interval of the reception signals to obtain yaw information associated with the primary communication node, (Holder in Fig. 1, [0102] discloses the platform 150 may be arranged with a GPS receiver and the information signals 185 may each include a specific pseudorandom code known to the receiver, a time of transmission and the location of the satellite broadcasting the respective signal, indicates communication nodes broadcasting location information. The information signal 185 includes location, motion (if any) and orientation. [0134] orientation information in the form of pitch and yaw information may be determined from signals received at both the antennas 152a-152n and the antenna(s) 154, while roll orientation information may be determined solely from the antennas 152a-152n.) and
determine the beam identifier corresponding to the uplink beam of the primary communication node based on the yaw information. (Holder in Fig. 1, [0102] discloses the location of the satellite broadcasting the respective signal that includes location, motion (if any) and orientation. [0134] orientation information in the form of pitch and yaw information may be determined from signals received at both the antennas 152a-152n and the antenna(s) 154, while roll orientation information may be determined solely from the antennas 152a-152n. [0015-0016] Holder explains that a receiver determines orientation and angular position of a platform based on a received signal. Thus the information can facilitate selecting beam by Hart and Antonio.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart, Antonio, Susitaival, and Lim to enable the ability to determine the position and motion of its own and motion of the target as taught Holder. Doing so allows saving guidance system resources and reduces time delays. (Holder, [0048])
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. (US 20020061730 A1, as provided by the IDS submitted on 22 July 2022), hereinafter Hart, in view of Antonio et al. (US 6208858 B1), hereinafter Antonio, in view of Susitaival et al. (US 20160255551 A1), hereinafter Susitaival, and further in view of LI et al. (US 20220015058 A1), hereinafter LI.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 18. Hart and Antonio further teach the following limitation(s):
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine a communication hub identifier associated with the secondary communication node based on the communication node pairing information, (Antonio. FIG. 1, col 6, line 5, one base station 112, two satellites 116 and 118, and two associated gateways or hubs 120 and 122 are shown for effecting communications with two remote user terminals 124, 126, and 128. Col 8, line 55, the gateway transmits a Beam Mask Message (BMM) to the user terminal over the established communication link(s). The BMM contains a list of beam identifiers. Col 9, line 5, FIG. 6A illustrates an exemplary BMM 600. As shown in FIG. 6A, BMM 600 consists of a list of beam identifiers 602-614. Beam identifiers 602-614 each identify a satellite/beam pair.))
determine a time delay and a frequency shift, (Antonio. Col 15, line 20. User terminal 1100 can also employ a precorrection element 1132 in the transmission path to adjust the frequency of the outgoing signal. This can be accomplished using well known techniques of up- or down-conversion of the transmission waveform. User terminal 1100 can also employ a precorrection element 1132 in the transmission path to adjust the timing of the outgoing signal. This can be accomplished using well known techniques of adding or subtracting delay in the transmission waveform.) and
cause the transceiver to transmit the transmission signals to the secondary communication node based on the time delay and the frequency shift. (Hart [0098] mobile terminals 18 adjust the frequency of transmission on the return link to compensate for Doppler shift detected in the received signals, as well as the earth station 8 compensating for Doppler shift on the forward link. Antonio. Col 15, line 20. User terminal 1100 can also employ a precorrection element 1132 in the transmission path to adjust the timing of the outgoing signal. This can be accomplished using well known techniques of adding or subtracting delay in the transmission waveform.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart, and Susitaival with receiving satellite/beam pairing information to facilitate handover as taught by Antonio in order to allow multi-beam communication system for reducing call drop rates (Antonio. col 2., line 55-65) and provide ability to determine the most desirable beam(s) on which to transmit information (Antonio. col 3, line 5)
Antonio discloses BMM 600 (node pairing information) identify a satellite/beam pair (Fig. 6A) that are connected to associated gateway (Fig. 1). Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival do not explicitly disclose the hub identifier in following limitations:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine a communication hub identifier associated with the secondary communication node based on the communication node pairing information,
Li, however, teaches the following limitations:
The electronic device of claim 18, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine a communication hub identifier associated with the secondary communication node based on the communication node pairing information, (LI [0016] the NTN ID includes a satellite ID, the NTN beam ID includes a satellite beam ID, and the NTN gateway ID includes an ID of a terrestrial gateway connected to a satellite. This indicates association of the hub identifier (gateway ID) with the communication nodes included in the node pairing information)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the equipment of Hart, Antonio, and Susitaival providing with the IDs for the non-terrestrial networks reference points as taught by Li. Doing so allows improving the efficiency and expand the coverage of wireless interfaces. [Li 0007]
Conclusion
/M.N.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417