Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 14-20 are pending.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 17-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 9-11 and 14-16 are rejected.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9-11 and 14-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see the updated prior art rejection resulting from the amendments filed 9/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 11, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 2008/0070488) in view of An (KR 101710425B1) and Horimoto (US 2010/0016169).
Regarding claim 9, Fujita discloses an apparatus for polishing surfaces of objects (see Abstract) comprising;
a top-loading structure that is configured to secure an object to be polished (see polishing head 12A for carrying a wafer W, [0098]);
a polishing structure that provides a polishing surface on which the object secured on the top-loading structure is polished (please see polishing means 4 comprising polishing pad 19, [0097]); and
a slurry dispensing system that includes a pump and a brush and that is configured to dispense a set amount of slurry by dripping the set amount of slurry onto the polishing surface of the polishing structure to form a layer of slurry on the polishing surface (see slurry supplying means 15A; wherein [0110] discloses the slurry supplying member 15a is brush-like member; wherein there is a pump disclosed in [0108]; wherein [0109] discloses the slurry S is supplied),
wherein the slurry dispensing system is further configured to dispense slurry by dripping slurry onto the polishing surface (see at least Figure 9 regarding the layer of slurry being formed, wherein [0123-0124] discloses that the slurry S is supplied evenly and thinly, wherein [0027] discloses the slurry is supplied evenly and thinly, see also [0156-0157]),
wherein the brush is positioned to contact the polishing surface and is configured to disperse the slurry dripped onto the polishing surface over the polishing surface to form and maintain the layer of slurry (see at least [0032-0033], [0050], [0116], as well as Figures 6 and 9; see also [0123-0126]).
While Fujita describes dispensing the slurry such that the layer of slurry is evenly distributed, Fujita does not explicitly teach the slurry dispensing system is configured to periodically dispense another set amount of diamond slurry by dripping the another set amount of diamond slurry onto the polishing surface, and at set intervals to form and maintain a layer of diamond slurry on the polishing surface so that the thickness of the layer of diamond slurry on the polishing surface is maintained, nor that the slurry comprises diamond slurry.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, An teaches of a slurry dispensing system configured to periodically dispense another set amount of diamond slurry by dripping the another set amount of diamond slurry onto the polishing surface, and at set intervals to form and maintain a layer of diamond slurry on the polishing surface so that the thickness of the layer of diamond slurry on the polishing surface is maintained (see slurry supply unit disclosed in [0053]; see also [0059] regarding changing the slurry supply rate, i.e. at another set amount; see also [0023]: the slurry can be effectively provided and the thickness of the slurry layer can be effectively maintained; see also [0062]; wherein [0063] discloses intermittently supplying slurry and supply cycles; see also [0008], [0015], [0020]).
While Fujita describes providing the slurry such that it is dispensed in an even manner, and so as to not waste any slurry (see [0015], [0057]), Fujita is silent regarding altering the slurry dispensing amount. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have incorporated the teachings of An such that the slurry flow rate is altered in a manner which maintains a layer of slurry thickness, into the invention of Fujita. One would be motivated to do so in order to improve polishing efficiency and polishing quality, while also saving slurry from being wasted ([0023], [0064], [0008]), i.e. further aligning with the goals of Fujita.
From the same or similar field of endeavor, Horimoto teaches the slurry comprises a diamond slurry ([0018], [0042], [0047], [0058]).
Fujita describes that the slurry being used may comprise fumed silica (see [0145]). Horimoto lists various options for abrasive particles within the slurry mixture, including both diamond and fumed silica ([0018]), i.e. Horimoto recognizes the species identified by Fujita as an alternative. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the variety of fumed silica particles of Fujita for the diamond particles of Horimoto because Horimoto specifically suggests the diamond as an alternative to fumed silica. Thus, the substitution would have predictable results, and is a specific suggestion as provided by Horimoto (See MPEP 2143 (I.)(B.)).
Regarding claim 11, Fujita in view of An and Horimoto teaches the claimed invention as applied above. However, modified Fujita does not explicitly teach wherein the set intervals are from ten (10) minutes to twenty (20) minutes, inclusive.
Modified Fujita does, however, describe that the slurry can be dispensed in cycles and intermittently (see An: [0015-0016], [0020-0021, [0062-0063]), but without a particular time frame. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Fujita to have intervals from ten to twenty minutes inclusive 2.5mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the controller maintains the ability to process substrates at intervals, and the time range as claimed would still provide a finished wafer having qualities that are advantageous as a result of the combination of prior art, i.e. predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the time frame as an example, including 10-20 or 10-15 minutes ([0030]), and that alterations to the operation may be implemented ([0049]).
Regarding claim 14, Fujita in view of An and Horimoto teaches the claimed invention as applied above. However, modified Fujita does not explicitly teach wherein the slurry dispensing system is configured to maintain the thickness of the layer of diamond slurry between 7 micrometers and 10 micrometers, inclusive.
Modified Fujita does teach, however, that the slurry layer is provided thinly, evenly, and maintained (Fujita: see at least Figure 9 regarding the layer of slurry being formed, wherein [0123-0124] discloses that the slurry S is supplied evenly and thinly, wherein [0027] discloses the slurry is supplied evenly and thinly, see also [0156-0157]; see also An: [0008], [0015], [0020], [0023], [0062-0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujita to have a slurry layer thickness between 7 micrometers and 10 micrometers inclusive, as claimed, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of modified Fujita would not operate differently with the thickness range since the goal of modified Fujita is to provide a thin layer of slurry, and the device would function appropriately having the claimed slurry layer thickness. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the slurry layer thickness “may” be between 7 to 10 micrometers ([0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Fujita in view of An and Horimoto teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Fujita further teaches wherein the brush is positioned at an angle from a normal to the polishing surface and at a fixed position to contact the polishing surface (Fujita: see at least Figures 2, 6, and 9 regarding the inclination of the slurry supply member 15a and brush member).
However, modified Fujita is silent regarding the angle of the brush, i.e. an angle between thirty degrees and fifty degrees, inclusive. However, as can be seen in Figure 6, the angle of the brush is shown as being greater than 0 degrees and less than 90 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujita to have a brush angle between thirty degrees and fifty degrees inclusive, as claimed, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of modified Fujita would not operate differently with the claimed angle, as Fujita already provides the brush at an angle as can be seen in Figure 6, and the device would function appropriately. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the brush “may” be positioned at an angle of 30-50 degrees ([0035] of thee specification).
Regarding claim 16, Fujita in view of An and Horimoto teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Fujita further teaches wherein the slurry dispensing system includes a slurry line that extends through the brush and is configured to dispense the diamond slurry through the brush onto the polishing surface (Fujita: see at least supply pipe 26 and Figures 6 and 9; see also [0107-0109], [0114], [0123]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 2008/0070488) in view of An (KR 101710425B1) and Horimoto (US 2010/0016169), and in further view of Guthrie (US 5,709,593).
Regarding claim 10, Fujita in view of An and Horimoto teaches the claimed invention as applied above, and further teaches wherein the pump is controlled by a controller to periodically dispense the another set amount of diamond slurry (Fujita: see control apparatus in at least [0083]; see also controller 125 of An as taught in at least [0062-0063]).
However, modified Fujita does not explicitly teach the dimensions of the pad and thickness/quantity of slurry layer being maintained, i.e. wherein the another set amount of diamond slurry is from 0.1 milliliters to 0.2 milliliters, inclusive, per square inch of surface area of the polishing surface.
From the same or similar field of endeavor, Guthrie similarly describes that slurry should be distributed evenly across the surface of the polishing pad (Col. 8, lines 18-20), the polishing pad diameter is 20 inches (Col. 7, lines 32-34), and the rate of slurry delivery may be between 5mL/min to 75 mL/min (Col. 12, lines 6-10). Performing mathematical analysis:
Polishing pad radius: 10 inches
Polishing pad area: 314 square inches
At minimum of 0.1 mL/in2, the volume of the slurry layer present on the polishing pad is maintained at: (314 x 0.1) = 31.4 mL
At maximum of 0.2 mL/in2, the volume of slurry layer present on the polishing pad is maintained at: (314 x 0.2) = 62.8 mL
Guthrie teaches a polishing pad diameter and the delivery rate of slurry being between 5mL/min to 75 mL/min. Guthrie also describes the slurry is distributed evenly across the surface of the polishing pad, (Col. 12, lines 42-47). Fujita specifically teaches the slurry is spread evenly and thinly across the surface of the polishing pad (see at least [0027]), and the combination of An into Fujita specifically teaches maintaining the thickness of the slurry layer (see An: [0008], [0015], [0020], [0023], [0062-0063]). The volumetric amount of slurry per unit area present/maintained on the polishing pad is directly correlated with the dimensions of the polishing pad and delivery rate of the slurry, i.e. a result effective variable. The prior art combination identified above teaches the variables which provide a layer of slurry having a particular volume per square inch, wherein the volume of slurry per square inch effects the overall polishing process, including too much slurry producing hydroplaning and adverse polishing results and slurry waste (Guthrie: Col. 8, lines 25-31), and too little of slurry would result in dry areas which would create non-uniform polishing (due to the lack of slurry). Thus, the quantity of slurry being provided and maintained is recognized by the prior art as a result effective variable.
Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Fujita device to provide an amount of slurry within the claimed range, as it involves an already contemplated adjustment of the slurry dispense rate and thickness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujita as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fujita (US 2007/0161388), see at least [0110-0115]
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723