DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claim set received 13 July 2026 has been entered into the application.
Claims 3-5, 8-9, 11-15, 17-18, and 24-28 are amended.
Claims 1-29 are pending.
Priority
This application is a Continuation of U.S Patent Application 16/119,993 filed 30 August 2018 which is a Continuation of U.S Patent Application 15/382,508 (Now: U.S Patent 10,095,831) filed 16 December 2016 which claims benefit to U.S Provisional Application 62/290,891 filed 03 February 2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 June 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
It is noted that a copy of Foreign Patent SA518392138, Foreign Patent Document No.: 12 of Foreign Patents of IDS, was not provided.
Specification
The amendments to the specification filed 13 July 2026 have been entered into the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The instant rejection is maintained for reason for record in the Office Action mailed 11 February 2026 in view of the arguments filed 13 July 2026.
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Following the flowchart of the MPEP 2106
Step I - Process, Machine, Manufacture or Composition
Claims 1-20 are drawn to a method, so a process.
Claim 21 is drawn to a system, so a machine.
Claim 22 is drawn to a method, so a process.
Claim 23-28 are drawn to a method, so a process.
Claims 29 is drawn to a system, so a machine.
Step 2A Prong One - Identification of an Abstract Idea
Claims 1, 21-23, and 29 encompasses similar limitations. Thus, claims 1, 21-23, and 29 are examined similarly.
Claims 1, 21-23, and 29 recite:
(b) aligning the sequence reads of the cell-free nucleic acid fragments or aligning fragments containing the sequence reads to bins of a reference genome comprising the sequence of interest, thereby providing test sequence tags, wherein the reference genome is divided into a plurality of bins.
This step encompasses performing mathematical computations for aligning sequence reads and aligning sequence reads to binds of a reference gene to provide sequences tags. For example, aligning sequence reads encompasses using matrix mathematics (e.g., scoring matrices), match/mismatch scoring systems, and scoring matrix generation. As such, this process converts biological sequences into mathematical objects (strings) and uses numerical scoring systems to calculate the optimal alignment. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(A)(iv). This step can be performed in the human mind by organizing data (e.g., reference genome) into bins and is therefore an abstract idea. This step encompasses the mathematical concepts of equalities and inequalities in order to divide information (e.g., reference genome) into bins and/or categorize information into bins which reads on abstract ideas.
Claims 1, 21, 23, and 29 recites:
(c) determining fragment sizes of at least some of the cell-free nucleic acid fragments present in the test sample.
This step can be performed in the human mind by observing, comparing, and evaluating cell-free nucleic acid (cfDNA) to determine fragment sizes and is therefore an abstract idea.
Claim 22 recites:
(c) calculating coverages of the sequence tags for the bins of the reference genome
This step can be performed in the human mind by following instructions to calculate sequence tag coverages of the binned reference genome and is therefore an abstract idea. This step encompasses performing calculations to calculate bin coverages of the reference genomes which reads on abstract ideas. For example, calculating coverages contain calculations to find the average number of times a genome is sequenced (depth, e.g., 30x) or the percentage of the genome covered, using formulas like Total Data / Genome Size or ((Read Length * Num Reads) / (Genome Size)). To exemplify, determining coverage can encompass average coverage (Depth/Fold Coverage) which is how many times, on average, each base is read (i.e., (Total Number of Bases Sequenced) / (Genome Size)).
Claims 1 and 21 recite
(d) determining coverages of the sequence tags for the bins of the reference genome.
This is step can be performed in the human mind by following instructions to determine data (e.g., coverages) for data bins (i.e., reference genome bins) and is therefore an abstract idea. This step can be performed in the human mind by following instructions to calculate sequence tag coverages of the binned reference genome and is therefore an abstract idea. This step encompasses performing calculations to calculate bin coverages of the reference genomes which reads on abstract ideas. For example, calculating coverages contain calculations to find the average number of times a genome is sequenced (depth, e.g., 30x) or the percentage of the genome covered, using formulas like Total Data / Genome Size or ((Read Length * Num Reads) / (Genome Size)), but it also involves complex bioinformatics algorithms for accurate mapping and analysis. To exemplify, determining coverage can encompass average coverage (Depth/Fold Coverage) which is how many times, on average, each base is read (i.e., (Total Number of Bases Sequenced) / (Genome Size)). Here, it is noted that “determining” is interpreted as an alternative for the term “calculating”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C).
Claim 22 recites:
(d) determining a t-statistic for the sequence of interest using coverages of bins in the sequence of interest and coverages of bins in a reference region for the sequence of interest.
This step can be performed in the human mind by organizing data (e.g., the coverages of bins of interest and reference regions bins for the sequence of interest) to determine a t-statistic for a sequence of interest and is therefore an abstract idea. This step encompasses performing mathematical/statistical computations using the coverages of bins of interest and reference regions bins for the sequence of interest to determine a t-statistic which reads on abstract ideas. Here, it is noted that “determining” is interpreted as an alternative for the term “calculating”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C).
Claims 23 and 29 recite:
(d) calculating coverages of the sequence tags for the bins of the reference genome using sequence tags for the cell-free nucleic acid fragments having sizes in a first size domain.
This step can be performed in the human mind by organizing data (i.e., sized sequence tag data) to calculate sequence tag coverage for the bins and is therefore an abstract idea. This step encompasses performing mathematical computations to calculate coverages which reads on abstract ideas.
Claims 1 and 21 recite:
(e) determining a t-statistic for the sequence of interest using coverages of bins in the sequence of interest and coverages of bins in a reference region for the sequence of interest.
This step can be performed in the human mind by organizing data (e.g., the coverages of bins of interest and reference regions bins for the sequence of interest) to determine a t-statistic for a sequence of interest and is therefore an abstract idea. This step encompasses performing mathematical/statistical computation using the coverages of bins of interest and reference regions bins for the sequence of interest to determine a t-statistic which reads on abstract ideas.
Claim 22 recites:
(e) estimating one or more fetal fraction values of the cell-free nucleic acid fragments in the test sample.
This step can be performed in the human mind by organizing and evaluating nucleic acid data (e.g., cell-free nucleic acid fragments) to estimate fetal fraction values and is therefore an abstract idea. This step encompasses performing mathematical/statistical computations for estimating data (e.g., fetal fractions value) which reads on abstract ideas. Here, it is noted that “estimating” is interpreted as an alternative for the term “calculating”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C).
Claims 23 and 29 recite:
(e) calculating coverages of the sequence tags for the bins of the reference genome using sequence tags for the cell-free nucleic acid fragments having sizes in a second size domain, wherein the second size domain is different from the first size domain.
This can be performing in the mind observing and evaluating the sizes of sequence tags of nucleic acid fragment having difference sizes from the first size domain and is therefore an abstract idea. This step encompasses performing mathematical operations for calcualting sequence tag coverages using sequence tags different from the first domain which reads on abstract ideas.
Claims 1 and 21 recite:
(f) determining a copy number variation in the sequence of interest in the test sample using a likelihood ratio calculated from the t-statistic and information about the sizes of the cell-free nucleic acid fragments.
This step can be performed in the human mind by organizing data (e.g., likelihood ratio /t-statistic and nucleic acid fragment size) to determine copy number variation and is therefore an abstract idea. This step encompasses performing mathematical/statistical computations using t-statistic and nucleic acid fragment size for calculating a likelihood ratio for determining copy number variation which reads on abstract ideas. Here, it is noted that “determining” is interpreted as an alternative for the term “calculating”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C).
Claims 22 recites:
(f) determining a copy number variation in the sequence of interest using the t-statistic and the one or more fetal fraction values
This is step can be performed in the human mind by organizing data (e.g., t-statistic and fetal fraction values) to determine copy number variation and is therefore an abstract idea. This step encompasses performing mathematical/statistical computations using t-statistic and fetal fraction values for determining copy number variation which reads on abstract ideas. Here, it is noted that “determining” is interpreted as an alternative for the term “calculating”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C).
Claims 23 and 29 recite:
(f) calculating size parameters for the bins of the reference genome using the fragment sizes determined in (c), wherein each size parameter comprises a value related to fragment size.
This step can be performed in the human mind by organizing data (e.g., parameters/values related to fragment size determined in step (c)) for calculating size parameters and is therefore an abstract idea. This step encompasses performing mathematical computations for calcualting size parameters using the fragment size determined in step (c) which reads on abstract ideas.
Claim 23 and 29 recite:
(g) determining a copy number variation in the sequence of interest using the coverages calculated in (d) and (e) and the size parameters calculated in (f).
This step can be performed in the human mind by organizing data/information (e.g., coverages in step (d) and (e) and size parameters in step (f)) to determine a copy number variation. This step encompasses performing mathematical computations for determining a copy number variation which reads on abstract ideas. Here, it is noted that “determining” is interpreted as an alternative for the term “calculating”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C).
Step 2A Prong Two - Consideration of Practical Application
Claims 1, 21-23, and 29 do not contain any additional elements that integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application because the claims are drawn to mere data analysis for determining copy number variation from a t-statistic and nucleic acid fragments (claims 1, 21, 23, 29) and determining copy number variation from a t-statistic and fetal fraction values (claim 22). Here, the claims are drawn to merely detecting and determining the levels of nucleic acids in a sample (i.e., cell-free DNA) and analyzing the nucleic acids to provide sequence information for detecting allelic variants (i.e., copy number variants), providing nucleic acid fragment data, and determining fetal fraction values for calculating likelihood ratios and t-statistics for determining copy number variation. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (i-iii, v, vii) and 2106.05(g). Thus, such a result only produces information and does not provide for a practical application in the physical-realm of physical things and acts, i.e., the claims do not utilize the data generated by the judicial exception to affect any type of change. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(A)(iv). Thus, because a judicial exception of the claims, alone, is not eligible subject matter and the claims do not encompass any additional elements other than of extra-solution activities (i.e., extracting data, outputting/displaying data) and tangential computer elements, the claims do not construct a practical application and/or improvement to technology as enumerated below. See MPEP 2106.04(d).
Therefore, the claims do not utilize the sequenced and aligned nucleic acid data and the abstract ideas to construct a practical application such as treating a subject, transformation of matter, or improving upon an existing technology, and under Step 2A Prong II of the 101 analyses, are not patent ineligible.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not meet any of the following criteria:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Step 2B: Consideration of Additional Elements and Significantly More
The claimed method also recites "additional elements" that are not limitations drawn to an abstract idea.
The recited addition element of data gathering of claims 1, 21-23, and 29 steps (a) does not add more than the recited judicial exception because receiving sequenced nucleic acids data that is subsequently analyzed by the abstract ideas is deemed a well-known and conventional extra-solution activity. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (i-iii, v, vii) and 2106.05(g).
The recited addition element of nucleic acid sequencing of claims 21 and 29 does not add more than the recited judicial exception because sequencing nucleic acids to provide nucleic acid data that is subsequently analyzed by the abstract idea is deemed a well-known and conventional extra-solution activity. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (i-iii, v, vii) and 2106.05(g).
The recited addition element of computer processes, components, and equipment of claims 21 and 29 does not add more than the recited judicial exception because using computer elements to process and evaluate sequencing nucleic acids data is merely tangential to the claimed invention. MPEP 2106.05(b), 2106.05(d)(II), and 2106.05(g).
The recited addition element of using computer and nucleic acid sequencer of claims 21 and 29 does not add more than the recited judicial exception because using computer and nucleic sequencer elements is well-known and conventional. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (vii). To provide evidence of conventionality, Applied Biosystems teaches using a Solid 3 Plus system which encompasses combination of a sequencer and a computer system (Applied Biosystems Solid 3 Plus system 2009). To provide further evidence of conventionality, Rava et al. (Rava) discloses using a method for determining presence or absence of a copy number variation in a chromosome of interest that uses a sequencer and a processor [claim 1, page 246] (WO 2014/015319; Date: 23 January 2014).
In conclusion, and when viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea recited in the instantly presented claims into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant states that claims 1, 21, 22, 23, and 29 incorporate any abstract ideas into an improvement to sequencing technology, specifically for non-invasive prenatal tests (NIPT) for determining copy number variation in nucleic acid sequences of interest [remarks, page 13]. The Applicant points to Figure 12 and the specification [00304 and 00544] for guidance [remarks, page 13].
The Applicant states the claimed techniques may allow using 6M counts/sample to achieve equivalent results as using 16M counts/sample without the claimed techniques. Thus, the claimed techniques significantly reduce the costs of sequencing by reducing the required number of counts to achieve a statistically significant result. The Applicant states this improves sequencing technology by lowering depth of sequencing that may be used for each sample. The Applicant states the depth of sequencing directly correlates with the cost and reagent use of sequencing, techniques that facilitate using lower counts/lower depth of sequencing directly improve the sequencing process and sequencing technology [remarks, page 13].
The Applicant states the claimed method improves signal-to-noise ratio, as claimed in Figure 12 allows for the reduction of laboratory reagent cost using lower sequencing depth, thus, providing a practical application that improves sequencing technology [remarks, page 14].
The Applicant states claims 1, 21-23, and 29 are integrated into a practical application for improving sequencing technology such as facilitating using less reagents and reducing cost per sample [remarks, page 13].
The Applicant states the claimed techniques improve sequencing technology by facilitating copy number variation determination using less reagents and costs, and the improvement is reflected in claim 1 "receiving sequence reads obtained by sequencing the cell-free nucleic acid fragments in the test sample." [remarks, page 13].
In response, the argument is not persuasive because the claims do not recite limitations with respect to using “signal-to-noise ratio”. Here, the claims are drawn to determining copy number variation of a nucleic acid sequence of interest. Additionally, regarding Figure 12, figure 12 merely provides the counts of different fragments “total counts, counts less than 150 bp, fraction of counts enriched for fetal cfDNA (counts between 80 and 150 bp/counts <250bp) and the combination of the shorter fragment counts with fraction, were tested for the ability to differentiate trisomy 21 samples from those euploid in chromosome 21” which only shows data/metrics with respect to total fragment categories for different fragment groups which does not provide results for improved scores and lower depth of sequencing for reducing sequencing costs/reagents and does not provide an improvement because the combination of less data (e.g., reducing fragment counts or providing less data (i.e., 16 million counts to 6 million counts)) and data analysis steps reads on abstract ideas that are not applied to any additional elements (e.g., other than extra-solution activities (i.e., nucleic acid sequencer/sequencing and tangential computer elements), so as to result in a practical application or an improvement to technology. Moreover, the claims in light of the specification, do not set forth evidence that the claimed process (i.e., data and data analysis steps) causes a sequencer to operate differently than it ordinarily would. Here, it appears that the claims are drawn to abstract ideas (i.e., data analysis steps) that results in a computational process that is improved (i.e., based on less data). However, the sequencer is not improved by way of the claimed process. As such, novel or improved abstract idea steps (i.e., data analysis/reduction of sequencing counts utilized) alone are not deemed to be an improvement to technology because a judicial exception of the claims, alone, without integrated additional elements, is not eligible subject matter. For example, the MPEP 2106.05(a) describes that the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection II, below. In addition, the improvement can be provided by the additional element(s) in combination with the recited judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.04(d) (discussing Finjan, Inc. v. Blue Coat Sys., Inc., 879 F.3d 1299, 1303-04, 125 USPQ2d 1282, 1285-87 (Fed. Cir. 2018)).
With respect to the specification in context of the reducing reagent cost, the argument is not pervasive because, in the light of specification, it does not provide support in any embodiments or examples exemplifying methods for determining copy number of a nucleic acid sequence for reducing physical clinical laboratory supplies and costs, but the specification, in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), provides mere assertions that the claimed method can lower costs and/or sequencing reagents utilization, and does not describe the limitations such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. [Spec para 00164, 00441, 00529, 00530 00547, 00551]. See MPEP 2106.05 and 2106.05(d)(1). Furthermore, the argument is not persuasive, because as noted in Step 2A Prong II of the 101 analyses above, the claims are drawn to mere abstract data analysis (i.e., determining copy number variation in a sequence) alone, without the integration of any additional elements. Here, the additional elements of the claims (i.e., data gathering/receiving data obtained from a sequencer) are extra-solution activities that do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or an improvement because sequencing nucleic acids is an extra-solution activity that merely provides nucleic acid data that is subsequently analyzed by the abstract ideas which does not provide an improvement to technology based on “receiving sequence reads steps” of claims 1, 21-23, and 29.
Furthermore, the claims, in light of the specification and as explained above, do not set forth and merely provides conclusory evidence that “the claimed process provides reduced cost and reagent use of sequencing by using lower counts/lower depth of sequencing to directly improve the sequencing process and sequencing technology”. Here, the claims are drawn to abstract data analysis that results in determining copy number variation of fragment sizes which doesn’t provide a practical application or improvement to technology because the judicial exception alone is not eligible subject matter, and the claims do not contain additional elements other than extra-solution activities (i.e., data gathering, using a sequencer). As such, the claims are entirely drawn to data analysis that can be performed by the human mind or math, or with the aid of a generic computer merely for programming efficiency. The steps are not applied to any additional elements so as to result in a practical application or an improvement to technology. It is noted novel or improved abstract idea steps alone are not deemed to be an improvement to technology because a judicial exception of the claims, alone, without integrated additional elements, is not eligible subject matter. See MPEP 2106.04(d). Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C § 101 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The instant rejection is maintained for reason for record in the Office Action mailed 11 February 2026 in view of the arguments filed 13 July 2026.
Claim(s) 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rava et al. (WO 2014/015319; Date: 23 January 2014).
Claim 23 recites a method for determining a copy number variation (CNV) of a nucleic acid sequence of interest in a test sample comprising cell-free nucleic acid fragments originating from two or more genomes.
Claim 23 step (a) recites receiving sequence reads obtained by sequencing the cell-free nucleic acid fragments in the test sample.
Claim 23 step (b) recites aligning the sequence reads of the cell-free nucleic acid fragments or aligning fragments containing the sequence reads to bins of a reference genome comprising the sequence of interest, thereby providing test sequence tags, wherein the reference genome is divided into a plurality of bins.
Claim 23 step (c) recites determining fragment sizes of the cell-free nucleic acid fragments existing in the test sample.
Claim 23 step (d) recites calculating coverages of the sequence tags for the bins of the reference genome using sequence tags for the cell-free nucleic acid fragments having sizes in a first size domain.
Claim 23 step (e) recite calculating coverages of the sequence tags for the bins of the reference genome using sequence tags for the cell-free nucleic acid fragments having sizes in a second size domain, wherein the second size domain is different from the first size domain.
Claim 23 step (f) recites calculating size parameters for the bins of the reference genome using the fragment sizes determined in ( c ), wherein each size parameter comprises a value related to fragment size.
Claim 23 step (g) recites determining a copy number variation in the sequence of interest using the coverages calculated in (d) and (e) and the size parameters calculated in (f).
Rava et al. (Rava) discloses a system that uses a sequencer and computer processor for determining the presence or absence of a copy number variation in a chromosome of interest is a sample of one of more genomes [Rava, claim 1]. Rava discloses receiving sequence reads [Rava, claim 1 step (a)] which reads on receiving sequence read from a sequencer because claim 1 of Rava encompasses a combination sequencer and computer.
Rava discloses codes that can be used to align sequence reads to a reference [Rava, claim 1 step b]. Rava discloses that determining CNV of a chromosome segment entails first subdividing the chromosome of interest into section or bins [Rava, disclosure, page 14 lines 30-35], as in instant claim 23 step (b).
Rava discloses binning chromosomes into multiple blocks with block length containing lengths of sequences of about 1kb, 10kb, or 100kb, for example [Rava, disclosure, 163 lines 20-36], as in claim 23 step (c).
Rava discloses determining the presence or absence of a copy number variation by comparing the values (i.e., counts, coverages) to a threshold [Rava, claim 1 step (e)], as in instant claim 23 step (g).
Rava does not explicitly teach claim 23 steps (d), (e), and (f). Rava does not explicitly teach claims 24-25.
Rava discloses binning chromosomes into multiple blocks with the block length containing lengths of sequences of about 1kb, 10kb, or 100kb, for example [Rava, disclosure, 163 lines 20-36]. Rava discloses coverage is the total number of reads or tags mapped to a particular site of a polymorphism [disclosure, page 155, lines 5-10]. Rava discloses that for each bin the mapped tags are counted and optionally converted into bin doses [Rava, disclosure, page 163 lines 24-30]. Rava discloses calculating a chromosome or segment doses using the number of sequence tags of interest and/or chromosome and the number of sequence tags of interest for normalized chromosome sequence or segment [Rava, claim 1 step (d)].
Rava discloses binning the sequences of the first chromosome of interest into portions and determining if the portions contain more or less nucleic acids than one or more portions or bins [disclosure, page 13-14, page 14 lines 1-15]. Rava discloses bins can be of variable length 1kbp, 10, kbp [Rava disclosure, page 61 lines 24-29], as in claim 23 step (d) and (e). Thus, it is obvious that coverage or counts of sequences tags of different sizes and categories (i.e., first and second domains) are calculated for the domains of different fragment sizes such as 1kb, 500kb, or 100kb, for example.
Rava discloses the blocks or bins are converted into bin doses for indicating an aneuploid. Rava discloses the bins are normalized to account for inter-bin variation such as G-C content [page 163 lines 25-35], as in claim 23 step (f). Here, because the bins are categorized by fragment size (i.e., 10kbp, 100kbp) and the bins are normalized to account for inter-bin variation it is obvious that size parameters based on the size of the bins are being calculated.
Rava discloses binning chromosomes into multiple blocks with the block length containing lengths of sequences of about 1kb, 10kb, or 100kb, for example [Rava, disclosure, 163 lines 20-36]. Rava discloses coverage is the total number of reads or tags mapped to a particular site of a polymorphism [disclosure, page 155, lines 5-10]. Rava discloses that for each bin the mapped tags are counted and optionally converted into bin doses [Rava, disclosure, page 163 lines 24-30]. Rava discloses binning the sequences of the first chromosome of interest into portions and determining if the portions contain more or less nucleic acids than one or more portions or bins [disclosure, page 13-14, page 14 lines 1-15]. Rava discloses bins can be of variable length 1kbp or 10kbp [Rava disclosure, page 61 lines 24-29], as in claim 24. Here, because the chromosome segment bins are categorized by size it makes obvious a first domain can contain fragments of all sizes and other domains can encompass fragments than a smaller a threshold.
Rava discloses that sequences reads can comprises 20bp-450bp [Rava, disclosure, page 50 lines 8-15], as in instant claim 25. Here, because Rava uses different size sequence reads it makes obvious that a domain would/could encompass sequence read fragment less than about 150bp.
It would be obvious to combine the teachings of using a sequencer and computer system as taught by Rava with the sequencing analysis methods as taught by Rava. Here, it would be obvious to apply the sequencing analysis methods of using the number sequence tags, binning methods, and calculating chromosome segment dose as taught by Rava to analyze the sequence data obtained from the sequencer/computer of Rava for determining nucleic acid fragment variation (i.e., copy number variation). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize Rava because Rava discloses methods for receiving sequence data, aligning sequence data, binning sequence data, and processing and evaluating the binned sequence data to determine copy number variation(s). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect a reasonable expectation of success using the methods of Rava to construct a predictable method using a sequencer/computer for producing sequencing data and analyzing the sequence data using analysis tools for determining copy number variation. Therefore, combining the sequencer and sequencing analysis elements as taught by Rava would yield a predictable method for determining copy variation in a sample.
Claim(s) 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rava et al. (WO 2014/015319; Date: 23 January 2014).
Claim 29 recites a system for evaluation of copy number of a nucleic acid sequence of interest in a test sample a sequencer for receiving cell-free nucleic acid fragments from the test sample and providing nucleic acid sequence information of the test sample.
Claim 29 step (a) recites receiving sequence reads obtained by sequencing the cell-free nucleic acid fragments in the test sample. Claim 29 step (b) recites aligning the sequence reads of the cell-free nucleic acid fragments or aligning fragments containing the sequence reads to bins of a reference genome comprising the sequence of interest, thereby providing test sequence tags, wherein the reference genome is divided into a plurality of bins. Claim 29 recites (c) determining fragment sizes of the cell-free nucleic acid fragments existing in the test sample.
Claim 29 step (d) recites calculating coverages of the sequence tags for the bins of the reference genome using sequence tags for the cell-free nucleic acid fragments having sizes in a first size domain.
Claim 29 step (e) recites calculating coverages of the sequence tags for the bins of the reference genome using sequence tags for the cell-free nucleic acid fragments having sizes in a second size domain, wherein the second size domain is different from the first size domain. Claim 29 step (f) recites calculating size parameters for the bins of the reference genome using the fragment sizes determined in (c).
Claim 29 step (g) determining a copy number variation in the sequence of interest using the coverages calculated in (d) and (e) and the size parameters calculated in (f).
Rava et al. (Rava) discloses a system that uses a sequencer and computer processor for determining the presence or absence of a copy number variation in a chromosome of interest is a sample of one of more genomes [Rava, claim 1].
Rava discloses receiving sequence reads [Rava, claim 1 step (a)] which reads on receiving sequence read from a sequencer because claim 1 of Rava encompasses a combination sequencer and computer.
Rava discloses codes that can be used to align sequence reads to a reference [Rava, claim 1 step b]. Rava discloses that determining CNV of a chromosome segment is entails first subdividing the chromosome of interest into section or bins [Rava, disclosure, page 14 lines 30-35], as in instant claim 29 step (b).
Rava discloses binning chromosomes into multiple blocks with block length containing lengths of sequences of about 1kb, 10kb, or 100kb, for example [Rava, disclosure, 163 lines 20-36], as in claim 29 step (c).
Rava discloses determining the presence or absence of a copy number variation by comparing the values (i.e., counts, coverages) to a threshold [Rava, claim 1 step (e)], as in instant claim 29 step (g).
Rava does not explicitly teach claim 29 steps (d), (e), and (f).
Rava discloses binning chromosomes into multiple blocks with the block length containing lengths of sequences of about 1kb, 10kb, or 100kb, for example [Rava, disclosure, 163 lines 20-36]. Rava discloses coverage is the total number of reads or tags mapped to a particular site of a polymorphism [disclosure, page 155, lines 5-10]. Rava discloses that for each bin the mapped tags are counted and optionally converted into bin doses [Rava, disclosure, page 163 lines 24-30]. Rava discloses calculating a chromosome or segment doses using the number of sequence tags of interest and/or chromosome and the number of sequence tags of interest for normalized chromosome sequence or segment [Rava, claim 1 step (d)]. Rava discloses binning the sequences of the first chromosome of interest into portions and determining if the portions contain more or less nucleic acids than one or more portions or bins [disclosure, page 13-14, page 14 lines 1-15]. Rava discloses bins can be of variable length 1kbp, 10, kbp [Rava disclosure, page 61 lines 24-29], as in instant claim 29 step (d) and (e). Thus, it is obvious that coverage or counts of sequences tags of different sizes and categories (i.e., first and second domains) are calculated for domains of different fragment sizes such as 1kb, 500kb, or 100kb, for example.
Rava discloses the blocks or bins are converted into bin doses for indicating an aneuploid. Rava discloses the bins are normalized to account for inter-bin variation such as G-C content [page 163 lines 25-35], as in instant claim 29 step (f). Here, because the bins are categorized by fragment size (i.e., 10kbp, 100kbp) and the bins are normalized to account for inter-bin variation it is obvious that size parameters based on the fragment size of the bins are being calculating.
It would be obvious to combine the teachings of using a sequencer and computer system as taught by Rava with the sequencing analysis methods as taught by Rava. Here, it would be obvious to apply the sequencing analysis methods of using the number sequence tags, binning methods, and calculating chromosome segment dose as taught by Rava to analyze the sequence data obtained from the sequencer/computer of Rava for determining nucleic acid fragment variation (i.e., copy number variation). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize Rava because Rava discloses methods for receiving sequence data, aligning sequence data, binning sequence data, and processing and evaluating the binned sequence data to determine copy number variation(s). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect a reasonable expectation of success using the methods of Rava to construct a predictable method using a sequencer/computer for producing sequencing data and analyzing the sequence data using analysis tools for determining copy number variation. Therefore, combining the sequencer and sequencing analysis elements as taught by Rava would yield a predictable method for determining copy variation in a sample.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant states Rava does not teach steps d-f of claims 23 and 29. The Applicant states Rava does not teach or suggest calculating coverage based on sequence tags having sizes in a specific domain size [remarks, page 15]. The Applicant states “Bins are generally larger than fragments and even orders of magnitude larger than fragments, and any teaching on the size of bins has no bearing on the size of fragments, particularly "calculating coverages ... using ... fragments having sizes in a first size domain," as recited in claim 23.” [remarks, page 15]. The Applicant points to the specification para [00230] for guidance. The Applicant states “ the ‘first size domain’ as recited in claim 23 cannot be taught by any teaching of the size of bins of Rava, as the first size domain is specifically for "sequence tags," which are not bins.” [remarks, page 15]. The Applicant states Rava does not teach or suggest claim 23 step (f). The Applicant states Rava does not teach bins categorized by fragment size because the bins refer to bin size, not fragment size [remarks, page 16].
In response, the argument is not persuasive because bins size is referring to the fragment size of the nucleic acid and the fragments are binned by size.
Additionally, under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the limitations of claims 23 and 29 step (d) only require calculating coverages of the sequence tags for the bins of the reference genome using sequence tags for the cell-free nucleic acid fragments having sizes in a first size domain. As such, Rava discloses the sequence reads are aligned to the human hg19 reference genome, and the reads that are uniquely mapped to the reference genome are counted as tags [Rava, disclosure page 223 lines 10-15]. Rava discloses binning chromosomes into multiple blocks with the block length containing lengths of sequences of about 1kb, 10kb, or 100kb (i.e., bins categorized by fragment size (i.e., 1kb… ) [Rava, disclosure, 163 lines 20-36]. Rava discloses coverage is the total number of reads or tags mapped to a particular site of a polymorphism [disclosure, page 155, lines 5-10]. Rava discloses that for each bin the mapped tags are counted and optionally converted into bin doses [Rava, disclosure, page 163 lines 24-30]. Rava discloses calculating a chromosome or segment doses using the number of sequence tags of interest and/or chromosome and the number of sequence tags of interest for normalized chromosome sequence or segment [claim 23 step (d)]. Therefore, Rava suggests claims 23-29 steps (d).
Furthermore, under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), claims 23 and 29 step (e) only requires calcualting coverages of sequence tags of the reference genome using different sizes of sequence tags different than the first domain. Here, Rava discloses sequence reads are aligned to the human hg19 reference genome, and the reads that are uniquely mapped to the reference genome are counted as tags [Rava, disclosure page 223 lines 10-15]. Rava discloses [disclosure [00107]] “the term "coverage" refers to the abundance of sequence tags mapped to a defined sequence. Coverage can be quantitatively indicated by sequence tag density ( or count of sequence tags), sequence tag density ratio, normalized coverage amount, adjusted coverage values”. Rava discloses the sequence reads are aligned to the human hg19 reference genome, and the reads that are uniquely mapped to the reference genome are counted as tags [Rava, disclosure page 223 lines 10-15]. Rava discloses binning chromosomes into multiple blocks with the block length containing lengths of sequences of about 1kb, 10kb, or 100kb (i.e., bins categorized by fragment size (i.e., 1kb… ) [Rava, disclosure, 163 lines 20-36] [Claim 23 step (e)]. Therefore, Rava suggests claims 23 and 29 steps (e).
Moreover, under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), claims 23 and 29 step (f) only require calculating size parameters for the bins of the reference genome using the fragment sizes determined in (c). Here, Rava discloses blocks or bins are converted into bin doses for indicating an aneuploid. Rava discloses the bins are normalized to account for inter-bin variation such as G-C content (i.e., calculating size parameters (inter bin variation/size variation)) [page 163 lines 25-35]. As such, because the bins are categorized by fragment size (i.e., 10kbp, 100kbp) and the bins are normalized to account for inter-bin variation of the reference genome it is obvious that size parameters based on the size of the bins are being calculated [Rava, claim 1 step (f)]. Therefore, Rava suggests claims 23 and 29 steps (f).
With respect to claims 23 and 29 steps d-f, the claimed steps do not require any specific coverage calculations, specific bins size, and/or size fragments/sequence tag size. Here, because the limitations of claims 23 and 29 steps (d-f) read on any coverage calculation, any binning method(s), any bins size, and/or any fragments/sequence tag size, the teachings of Rava, as noted above, suggest and read on the limitations of claims 23 and 29 steps (d-f). It is noted that if the Applicant does not intend on Rava teaching/disclosing the claimed limitations, it is recommended to amend the claims to provide limitations that Rava does not teach/suggest or render obvious. Therefore, the rejection of claims 23 and 29 35 U.S.C § 103 is maintained.
Double Patenting
The rejection of claims 1, 2-10, 12, 14-16, 19-20, 21-23, 24-25, 27, and 29 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 8, 12, 18-19, and 23-24 of U.S. Patent No. 10,095,831 (‘831) (Date of Patent: 09 October 2018) in the Office Action 11 February 2026 is withdrawn in view of the Terminal Disclaimer received 17 June 2026.
The rejection of claim 1-12, 14-15, and 24-25 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-11, 13-14, 16, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 16/119,993 (‘993) (Date of Patent: 30 August 2022) in the Office Action 11 February 2026 is withdrawn in view of the Terminal Disclaimer received 17 June 2026.
Conclusion
Claims 1-29 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
Finality
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/J.C.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 1687
/Anna Skibinsky/
Primary Examiner, AU 1635