DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to a Request for Continued Examination filed on December 11, 2025 regarding Application No. 17/871,975. Applicants amended claims 1, 7-8, 11-12, and 16, canceled claim 13, and previously canceled claims 3-4 and 19-20. Claims 1-2, 5-12, and 14-18 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 17, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Office.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). A certified copy of the JP 2022-014965 application filed in Japan on February 2, 2022 has been filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments to claims 7-8, 11-12, and 16 and remarks regarding claim objections (Remarks, p. 9) are acknowledged. In view of the amendments, the objections are moot.
Applicants’ arguments filed on December 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the argument regarding the prior art and “‘a light emitting unit that includes a light emitting diode having a function of a thyristor and a vertical cavity surface emitting laser, and a predetermined current is smaller than a threshold current for causing the vertical cavity surface emitting laser to emit light’” recited in currently amended claim 1” (Remarks, pp. 10-11), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that the recited features are taught and/or suggested by the cited references. More specifically, figures 1 and 5 and paragraphs [0021], [0025], [0041], [0055], and [0066] of Sugiyama teach: a light emitting unit 1 and 7 that includes a light emitting diode 7 having a function of a thyristor, and a predetermined current Ip is smaller than a threshold current Im for causing the light emitting diode 7 to emit light. Also, figures 1, 10, 15, and 19 and paragraphs [0032]-[0033], [0288], [0392], and [0429] of Kondo ‘432 teach: a light emitting unit, e.g., LD1 and S1, that includes a vertical cavity surface emitting laser. Thus, Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 teaches and/or suggests the recited features (light emitting unit, light emitting diode, function of a thyristor, predetermined current, threshold current, and emit light of Sugiyama combined with the light emitting unit and vertical cavity surface emitting layer of Kondo ‘432, where, to emit light, the light emitting diode of Sugiyama is the vertical cavity surface emitting laser of Kondo ‘432).
In response to the arguments regarding newly amended independent claim 1, Sugiyama, and “a light emitting unit that includes a light emitting diode having a function of a thyristor and a vertical cavity surface emitting laser, and a predetermined current is smaller than a threshold current for causing the vertical cavity surface emitting laser to emit light” (emphasis in original) (Remarks, pp. 13-14), the Office respectfully submits that the arguments are not commensurate with the rejections and one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As discussed above and in the rejections below, the recited features are taught by Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432.
In response to the arguments regarding other prior art, “this features in claim 1”, claim 1, obvious, and prior art, and allowable (Remarks, p. 14), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that all features of newly amended independent claim 1, including the recited features, are taught and/or suggested by Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432, as discussed above and in the rejections below, and newly amended independent claim 1 is obvious over the prior art, as also discussed in the rejections below. As such, newly amended independent claim 1 is not allowable.
In response to the argument regarding newly amended independent claim 16, “same reasons set forth above for… claim 1”, and rejection (Remarks, p. 14), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that all features of newly amended independent claims 1 and 16 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references and/or as discussed, as discussed above and in the rejections below. As such, newly amended independent claims 1 and 16 are not allowable.
In response to the argument regarding dependent claims 2, 5-12, 14-15, and 17-18 (Remarks, p. 14), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that all features of newly amended independent claims 1 and 16 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references and/or as discussed, as discussed above and in the rejections below. As such, newly amended independent claims 1 and 16 are not allowable. In addition, claims 2, 5-12, 14-15, and 17-18 are not allowable by virtue of their individual dependencies from newly amended independent claim 1 (note: the dependent claims depend from independent claim 1 (see Remarks, p. 14, 6th-7th to the last line), and as discussed in the rejections below.
For the reasons discussed above and in the rejections below, the pending claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in JP 2020-157676 A (hereinafter Sugiyama; an original copy and full machine translation thereof was provided with the June 12, 2025 Office action) in view of Kondo in US 2018/0006432 A1 (hereinafter Kondo ‘432).
Regarding claim 1, Sugiyama teaches:
A light emitting device (16 in FIG. 3) comprising (Sugiyama: FIG. 3 and “[0018] The LED head 16… has a control board… and a plurality of LEDs as light emitting elements are arranged in the main scanning direction on the control board to form a light-emitting element array.”, see also FIGs. 1-2):
a light emitting unit (1 and 7 in FIG. 1) that includes a light emitting diode (7 in FIG. 1) having a function of a thyristor, and a predetermined current (Ip in FIG. 5) is smaller than a threshold current (Im in FIG. 5) for causing the light emitting diode to emit light (Sugiyama: FIGs. 1 and 5, “[0021]… In Fig. 1, the control circuit 160 in the control board of the LED head 16 shown in Fig. 3 has a light-emitting element array in which a plurality of light-emitting elements [LED 7] are arranged, and a plurality of thyristors 1… are arranged corresponding to the light-emitting elements arranged in the main scanning direction of the LED head 16. This control circuit 160 has… an LED 7.”, “[0025]… When the thyristor 1 is in a conductive state, the LED 7 emits light…”, “[0055] By driving the open drain driver 4 with the pre-current Ip set to a small current value, the drain voltage Vds gradually decreases as shown by the waveform W1 in Fig. 5. Furthermore, as the drain voltage Vds decreases, a voltage is applied between the anode 2 and the cathode 3, turning the anode 2 and the cathode 3 on [waveform W2 in Fig. 5], and a current flows.”, and “[0066]… [T]he control unit 8 performs two-stage control so that a current of a first current value [pre-current Ip] flows to the open drain driver 4 for a first time [pre-current time Tip], and then a current of a second current value [main current Im] required for light emission of the LED 7 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time [light emission time Tim] required for exposure by the LED 7. This makes it possible to perform desired current control in a light-emitting element array in which a plurality of LEDs 7 are arranged.”, see also “[0041] The constant current control signal is input to the open drain driver 4 as a two-stage control signal, a pre-current control signal and a main current control signal. When the pre-current control signal is input, a pre-current Pc [current of a first current value] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4, and when the main current control signal is input, a main current Mc [current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4.” Note: the Specification (printed publication) discloses: “[0054]… [In FIG. 6,] each light emitting unit 22 includes a plurality of light emitting diodes LED. Each light emitting unit 22 includes a drive thyristor S that is commonly connected to the plurality of light emitting diodes LED. This can also mean that the light emitting diode LED has the function of a thyristor.”); and
a drive unit (8, 9, and 4 in FIG. 2) comprising a MOS transistor (4 in FIG. 1) and a signal generation circuit (that generates CS in FIG. 1), wherein the drive unit performs, before a period in which light emitted from the light emitting unit is used (Tim in FIG. 5), control such that the predetermined current or larger flows in the thyristor of the light emitting unit (Sugiyama: FIGs. 1-2 and 5, “[0029] This open drain driver 4 has a constant current Ids flowing between its terminals controlled by a constant current control signal CS output from a control unit [8] and a register [9]…, and switches the thyristor 1 selected by a gate 5 between conductive [on] and non-conductive [off].”, “[0034] The register 9 controls the constant current control signal CS to control the constant current Ids flowing through the open drain driver 4. The control unit 8 writes a current value to the register 9, thereby enabling the register 9 to control the constant current control signal CS.”, “[0036]… [B]y controlling the constant current control signal CS via the register 9, the control unit 8 can output a twostage control signal, a pre-current control signal and a main current control signal, to the open drain driver 4, and control the constant current Ids flowing through the open drain driver 4 to a pre-current and a main current.”, “[0038] The control unit 8… performs two-stage control so that a pre-current of a first current value flows to the open drain driver 4 for a first time, and then a current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time required for exposure by the LED 7.”, “[0055] By driving the open drain driver 4 with the pre-current Ip set to a small current value, the drain voltage Vds gradually decreases as shown by the waveform W1 in Fig. 5. Furthermore, as the drain voltage Vds decreases, a voltage is applied between the anode 2 and the cathode 3, turning the anode 2 and the cathode 3 on [waveform W2 in Fig. 5), and a current flows.”, ”[0056] The current value of the pre-current Ip… [is] adjustable, and… the larger the current value of the pre-current Ip, the shorter the time until the transistor is turned on….”, and “[0066]… [T]he control unit 8 performs two-stage control so that a current of a first current value [pre-current Ip) flows to the open drain driver 4 for a first time [pre-current time Tip], and then a current of a second current value [main current Im] required for light emission of the LED 7 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time [light emission time Tim] required for exposure by the LED 7. This makes it possible to perform desired current control in a light-emitting element array in which a plurality of LEDs 7 are arranged.”, see also “[0041] The constant current control signal is input to the open drain driver 4 as a two-stage control signal, a pre-current control signal and a main current control signal. When the pre-current control signal is input, a pre-current Pc [current of a first current value] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4, and when the main current control signal is input, a main current Mc [current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4.” and “[0058]… [T]he current value of the pre-current Ip and the pre-current time Tip for flowing the pre-current Ip are controlled while the thyristor 1 is in the turned-on state or immediately before it is turned-on.”),
wherein the drive unit causes the light emitting unit to emit light during the period in which the light emitted from the light emitting unit is used (Sugiyama: FIGs. 1-2 and 5 and “[0066]… [T]he control unit 8 performs… control so that… a current of a second current value [main current Im] required for light emission of the LED 7 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time [light emission time Tim] required for exposure by the LED 7. This makes it possible to perform desired current control in a light-emitting element array in which a plurality of LEDs 7 are arranged.”, see also “[0041]… [W]hen the main current control signal is input, a main current Mc [current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4.”), and
performs control to align a time interval from application of the predetermined current or larger until first light emission of light emission is performed (Tip in FIG. 5) (Sugiyama: FIGs. 2 and 5, “[0056] The current value of the pre-current Ip and the pre-current time Tip for flowing the pre-current Ip are adjustable, and the smaller the current value of the pre-current Ip, the longer the time until the transistor is turned on. On the other hand, the larger the current value of the pre-current Ip, the shorter the time until the transistor is turned on, but the more steeply the drain voltage Vds drops. In this embodiment, the current value of the pre-current Ip is set to a current value smaller than the current value of the main current Im.”, “[0057] If the current value of the constant current Ids is too large, the drain voltage Vds will continue to drop steeply until it is turned on, and will fall below the minimum voltage Vmin, causing an undershoot, and the constant current Ids will no longer flow, making it impossible to perform the intended control.”, “[0058] Therefore, in this embodiment, the drain voltage Vds does not undershoot, and the current value of the pre-current Ip and the pre-current time Tip for flowing the pre-current Ip are controlled while the thyristor 1 is in the turned-on state or immediately before it is turned-on.”, and “[0060] Therefore, the light emission time Tim<time available for light emission control Tc-pre-current time Tip.”).
However, it is noted that Sugiyama does not teach:
the light emitting unit that includes a vertical cavity surface emitting laser, and the predetermined current is smaller than the threshold current for causing the vertical cavity surface emitting laser to emit light;
wherein the drive unit causes the light emitting unit to emit the light a plurality of times during the period in which the light emitted from the light emitting unit is used, and
performs the control to align the time interval from the application of the predetermined current or larger until the first light emission among the plurality of times of the light emission is performed, with respective time intervals for the plurality of times of light emission.
Kondo ‘432 teaches:
a light emitting unit (e.g., LD1 and S1 in FIG. 1) that includes a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (e.g., LD1 in FIG. 1) (Kondo ‘432: FIGs. 1 and 10, “[0032] [In FIG. 1, ] [t]he light-emitting component C includes a light-emitting element array that includes laser diodes LD1, LD2, LD3, . . . (when individual laser diodes are not distinguished, they are referred to as laser diodes LD)….”, “[0033] The laser diodes LD1, LD2, LD3, . . . are respectively stacked on the control thyristors S1, S2, S3, . . . aligned in a row on the substrate 80….”, and “[0288]… [In FIG. 10, ] laser diode LD is called a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL).”, see also FIG. 15 and “[0392]… [T]he laser diode LD… [in FIG. 15] is a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL)….”), see also FIG. 19 and “[0429] [In FIG. 19,] [t]he lighting signal generation unit 140 supplies a lighting signal φI for each laser diode LD.”);
wherein a drive unit (140 in FIG. 19) causes a light emitting unit (e.g., LD1 and S1 in FIG. 19) to emit light a plurality of times during a period in which the light emitted from the light emitting unit is used (Kondo ‘432: FIGs. 19-20, “[0422] The light-emitting element array that includes the laser diodes LD1, LD2, LD3, . . . , and the control thyristors S1, S2, S3, . . . and the like constitute the light-emitting unit 101….”, “[0429] The lighting signal generation unit 140 supplies a lighting signal φI for each laser diode LD.”, and “[0431]… FIG. 20 is obtained by dividing the lighting signal φI in the timing chart in FIG. 16 for each of the laser diodes LD…. [An] on state[] (… the on state with a logical value “1”) of the laser diodes LD are indicated by diagonal lines….”, see also FIG. 16), and
with respective time intervals for the plurality of times of light emission (Kondo ‘432: FIG. 20 and “[0431]… FIG. 20 is obtained by dividing the lighting signal φI in the timing chart in FIG. 16 for each of the laser diodes LD….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include: the features taught by Kondo ‘432, such that Sugiyama as modified teaches: a light emitting unit that includes a light emitting diode having a function of a thyristor and a vertical cavity surface emitting laser, and a predetermined current is smaller than a threshold current for causing the vertical cavity surface emitting laser to emit light (light emitting unit, light emitting diode, function of a thyristor, predetermined current, threshold current, and emit light of Sugiyama combined with the light emitting unit and vertical cavity surface emitting laser of Kondo ‘432, where, to emit light, the light emitting diode of Sugiyama is the vertical cavity surface emitting laser of Kondo ‘432); wherein the drive unit causes the light emitting unit to emit light a plurality of times during the period in which the light emitted from the light emitting unit is used (emit light of Sugiyama combined with emit light of Kondo ‘432), and performs control to align a time interval from application of the predetermined current or larger until first light emission among the plurality of times of light emission is performed, with respective time intervals for the plurality of times of light emission (performs control to align a time interval of Sugiyama, where the first light emission of light emission is performed is among the plurality of times the light emitting unit emits light of Kondo ‘432, and with respective time intervals as claimed as per Kondo ‘432), so that “the load on the lighting signal φI is reduced and high-speed operation is enabled.” (Kondo ‘432: [0432]).
Regarding claim 2, Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 teaches:
The light emitting device according to claim 1,
wherein the drive unit sets a time for causing the predetermined current or larger to flow (Tip in FIG. 5 of Sugiyama), to be longer than a time for causing a current (Im in FIG. 5 of Sugiyama) to flow in a case where the light emitting diode emits light (Tim in FIG. 5 of Sugiyama) (Sugiyama: i.e., sets so that the claim language is met; FIGs. 1-2 and 5, “[0056] The current value of the pre-current Ip and the pre-current time Tip for flowing the pre-current Ip are adjustable, and the smaller the current value of the pre-current Ip, the longer the time until the transistor is turned on….”, “[0066]… [T]he control unit 8 performs two-stage control so that a current of a first current value [pre-current Ip] flows to the open drain driver 4 for a first time [pre-current time Tip], and then a current of a second current value [main current Im] required for light emission of the LED 7 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time [light emission time Tim] required for exposure by the LED 7….”, and “[0060]… [T]he light emission time Tim<time available for light emission control Tc-pre-current time Tip.”).
Regarding claim 14, Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 teaches:
The light emitting device according to claim 1,
wherein the light emitting diode (e.g., LD1 in FIG. 1 of Kondo ‘432) is a light emitting diode that emits light in relaxation oscillation (Rr in FIG. 5 of Kondo ‘432) (Kondo ‘432: FIGs. 1 and 5, “[0032] [In FIG. 1, ] [t]he light-emitting component C includes a light-emitting element array that includes laser diodes LD1, LD2, LD3, . . . (when individual laser diodes are not distinguished, they are referred to as laser diodes LD)….”, “[0146] [Referring to FIG. 5, ] [s]uppose that a voltage is applied to the laser diode LD at the “on” timing at the time t….”, and “[0147]… [T]here is an oscillation delay time td after the “on” timing until the laser diode LD starts oscillation. Even after oscillation is started, relaxation oscillation occurs, during which the light intensity P fluctuates (refer to the relaxation oscillation waveform Rr)….”),
the predetermined current is a current small enough for causing the light emitting unit (e.g., LD1 and S1 in FIG. 1 of Kondo ‘432) to emit light in the relaxation oscillation even after the predetermined current has flowed (Sugiyama: predetermined current; Kondo ‘432: a current is a current small enough as claimed to emit light as claimed even after the current has flowed; FIGs. 1, 3, and 5-6B, “[0033] The laser diodes LD1, LD2, LD3, . . . are respectively stacked on the control thyristors S1, S2, S3, . . . aligned in a row on the substrate 80….”, “[0146] [Referring to FIG. 5, ] [s]uppose that a voltage is applied to the laser diode LD at the “on” timing at the time t….”, “[0147]… [T]here is an oscillation delay time td after the “on” timing until the laser diode LD starts oscillation. Even after oscillation is started, relaxation oscillation occurs, during which the light intensity P fluctuates (refer to the relaxation oscillation waveform Rr)….”, “[0154] As illustrated in FIG. 6A, the laser diode LD starts oscillation when the current I exceeds the threshold current Ith. Thus it is presumed that, a current I(“0”), which is larger than the threshold current Ith and at which the obtained light intensity P corresponds to a logical value “0”, and a current I(“1”), at which the light intensity P corresponds to a logical value “1”, are to be supplied. Note that the voltage applied to the laser diode LD for the current I(“0”) is denoted as V(“0”), and the voltage applied to the laser diode LD for the current I(“1”) is denoted as V(“1”)….”, and “[0155] Then as illustrated in FIG. 6B, the voltage applied to the laser diode LD is first set to V(“0”), and oscillation is carried out (turned to an on state) in a logical value “0” state. Under this condition, oscillation delay and relaxation oscillation are allowed to occur. Then the voltage applied to the laser diode LD is changed to V(“1”) so as to create a logical value “1” state. Then the voltage applied to the laser diode LD is changed to 0 V (“H”) so as to turn off the laser diode LD.”), and
the drive unit does not cause the light emitting diode to emit light (Sugiyama: FIGs. 1-2 and 4-5, “[0029] This open drain driver 4 has a constant current Ids flowing between its terminals controlled by a constant current control signal CS output from a control unit [8] and a register [9]…, and switches the thyristor 1 selected by a gate 5 between conductive [on] and non-conductive [off].”, “[0031]… [W]hen the current flowing through the open drain driver 4 disappears, the drain voltage Vds between the terminals of the open drain driver 4 changes from a low state to a high level [H], causing the thyristor 1 selected by the gate 5 to go into a non-conducting [OFF] state, and the LED 7 formed in that thyristor 1 to go out.”, “[0048] [In FIG. ]4, in the initial state [timing T0] of the control circuit 160 shown in Fig. 1, the gates G1 to G192 are at low level [L], the open drain driver 4 is at high impedance [Hi-Z], the cathode 3 is pulled up, and the thyristor 1 is in an off [non-conductive] state. At this time, the LED 7 is in an unlit state.”, and “[0062]… After the main current Im flows for the light emission time Tim required for exposure, the open drain driver 4 becomes high impedance, the cathode voltage is pulled up, and the thyristor 1 is turned off.”).
The motivation to combine the references is so that light emission in a second period “remains unaffected by… relaxation oscillation….” (Kondo ‘432: [0156]).
Regarding claim 15, Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 teaches:
The light emitting device according to claim 14,
wherein the thyristor transitions to an ON state by the predetermined current (Sugiyama: FIG. 5, “[0029] This open drain driver 4 has a constant current Ids flowing between its terminals controlled by a constant current control signal CS output from a control unit [8] and a register [9]…, and switches the thyristor 1 selected by a gate 5 between conductive [on] and non-conductive [off].”, “[0030] When a constant current Ids flows through the open drain driver 4 and the drain voltage Vds between the terminals of the open drain driver 4 drops from a high level [H], the thyristor 1 selected by the gate 5 becomes conductive [ON], and the LED 7 connected to the thyristor 1 emits light.”, and “[0055] By driving the open drain driver 4 with the pre-current Ip set to a small current value, the drain voltage Vds gradually decreases as shown by the waveform W1 in Fig. 5. Furthermore, as the drain voltage Vds decreases, a voltage is applied between the anode 2 and the cathode 3, turning the anode 2 and the cathode 3 on [waveform W2 in Fig. 5], and a current flows.”).
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of Kondo ‘432, in further view of Ono in US 2019/0098719 A1 (hereinafter Ono).
Regarding claim 5, Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 teaches:
The light emitting device according to claim 1.
However, it is noted that Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432, as particularly cited, does not teach:
wherein the light emitting unit has a structure in which light-emitting-element groups, in each in which a plurality of the light emitting diodes emit light together, are arranged in a form of a plurality of surfaces, and
the drive unit controls light emission for each light-emitting-element group.
Ono teaches:
wherein a light emitting unit (1 and 2 in FIGs. 1 and 3) has a structure in which light-emitting-element groups (10 and 20 in FIGs. 1 and 3), in each in which a plurality of the light emitting diodes (21 in FIGs. 1 and 3) emit light together, are arranged in a form of a plurality of surfaces (corresponding to light-emitting-element group surfaces) (Ono: see FIGs. 1 and 3 and “[0061] When the current value Ia of the current supplied from the current source Pi becomes Ia>Vgt/RL, the voltage Vg of the first connection point S1 becomes higher than Vgt, and the thyristor 22 is turned ON. When the thyristor 22 is turned ON, the illumination device A has a circuit illustrated in FIG. 3….”, and “[0062]… [T]he current (current value Ia) supplied from the current source Pi are divided at the second connection point S2 into the current (current value IL1) that flows through the first light emitting unit 1 and the current (current value IL2) that flows through the second light emitting unit 2. Accordingly, the LEDs 11 of the first LED group 10 of the first light emitting unit 1 and the LEDs 21 of the second LED group 20 of the second light emitting unit 2 emit light.”, see also FIG. 12), and
a drive unit (Pi in FIGs. 1 and 3) controls light emission for each light-emitting-element group (Ono: FIGs. 1 and 3 and “[0061] When the current value Ia of the current supplied from the current source Pi becomes Ia>Vgt/RL, the voltage Vg of the first connection point S1 becomes higher than Vgt, and the thyristor 22 is turned ON. When the thyristor 22 is turned ON, the illumination device A has a circuit illustrated in FIG. 3….”, and “[0062]… [T]he current (current value Ia) supplied from the current source Pi are divided at the second connection point S2 into the current (current value IL1) that flows through the first light emitting unit 1 and the current (current value IL2) that flows through the second light emitting unit 2. Accordingly, the LEDs 11 of the first LED group 10 of the first light emitting unit 1 and the LEDs 21 of the second LED group 20 of the second light emitting unit 2 emit light.”, see also FIG. 12).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Ono, such that Sugiyama as modified teaches: wherein the light emitting unit has a structure in which light-emitting-element groups, in each in which a plurality of the light emitting diodes emit light together, are arranged in a form of a plurality of surfaces (light emitting unit of Sugiyama, where the light emitting unit has the structure of Ono), and the drive unit controls light emission for each light-emitting-element group (drive unit of Sugiyama controls light emission as taught by Ono), to reduce costs by using one thyristor for a group of a plurality of light emitting elements for light emission.
Regarding claim 6, Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 is modified in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 5 above. Thus, claim 6 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 7, Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 and Ono teaches:
The light emitting device according to claim 5,
wherein the drive unit performs control so that in a case where each of the light-emitting-element groups emits light, the predetermined current or larger flows in the thyristor in the light-emitting-element group, and in a case where the light-emitting-element group does not emit light, the predetermined current or larger does not flow (Sugiyama: light emitting element emits light case corresponding to thyristor 1 in a conductive state, and does not emit light case corresponding to thyristor 1 in a non-conductive state; FIGs. 1-2 and 4-5, “[0029] This open drain driver 4 has a constant current Ids flowing between its terminals controlled by a constant current control signal CS output from a control unit [8] and a register [9]…, and switches the thyristor 1 selected by a gate 5 between conductive [on] and non-conductive [off].”, “[0030] When a constant current Ids flows through the open drain driver 4 and the drain voltage Vds between the terminals of the open drain driver 4 drops from a high level [H], the thyristor 1 selected by the gate 5 becomes conductive [ON], and the LED 7 connected to the thyristor 1 emits light.”, “[0031] On the other hand, when the current flowing through the open drain driver 4 disappears, the drain voltage Vds between the terminals of the open drain driver 4 changes from a low state to a high level [H], causing the thyristor 1 selected by the gate 5 to go into a non-conducting [OFF] state, and the LED 7 formed in that thyristor 1 to go out.”, “[0036]… [B]y controlling the constant current control signal CS via the register 9, the control unit 8 can output a twostage control signal, a pre-current control signal and a main current control signal, to the open drain driver 4, and control the constant current Ids flowing through the open drain driver 4 to a pre-current and a main current.”, “[0038] The control unit 8 of this embodiment performs two-stage control so that a pre-current of a first current value flows to the open drain driver 4 for a first time, and then a current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time required for exposure by the LED 7.”, “[0040] When a constant current control signal [constant current control signal CS shown in FIG. 1] is input to the open drain driver 4 while each of the gates G1 to G192 is at a high level [H], a constant current Ids flows through the open drain driver 4, and the drain voltage Vds connected to the cathode 3 changes.”, “[0041] The constant current control signal is input to the open drain driver 4 as a two-stage control signal, a pre-current control signal and a main current control signal. When the pre-current control signal is input, a pre-current Pc [current of a first current value] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4, and when the main current control signal is input, a main current Mc [current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 11 flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4.”, “[0048] [In FIG. ]4, in the initial state [timing T0] of the control circuit 160 shown in Fig. 1, the gates G1 to G192 are at low level [L], the open drain driver 4 is at high impedance [Hi-Z], the cathode 3 is pulled up, and the thyristor 1 is in an off [non-conductive] state. At this time, the LED 7 is in an unlit state.”, “[0055] By driving the open drain driver 4 with the pre-current Ip set to a small current value, the drain voltage Vds gradually decreases as shown by the waveform W1 in Fig. 5. Furthermore, as the drain voltage Vds decreases, a voltage is applied between the anode 2 and the cathode 3, turning the anode 2 and the cathode 3 on [waveform W2 in Fig. 5], and a current flows.”, “[0062]… After the main current Im flows for the light emission time Tim required for exposure, the open drain driver 4 becomes high impedance, the cathode voltage is pulled up, and the thyristor 1 is turned off.”; claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 8, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 9, Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 and Ono teaches:
The light emitting device according to claim 5,
wherein the drive unit changes an amount of the predetermined current for each light-emitting-element group (Sugiyama: changes as claimed for a light emitting element; FIG. 2, “[0034] The register 9 controls the constant current control signal CS to control the constant current Ids flowing through the open drain driver 4. The control unit 8 writes a current value to the register 9, thereby enabling the register 9 to control the constant current control signal CS.”, “[0035]… [A] pre-current control signal can be output by setting the current value written to register 9 to a first current value….”, “[0036]… [B]y controlling the constant current control signal CS via the register 9, the control unit 8 can output a… control signal, a pre-current control signal…, to the open drain driver 4, and control the constant current Ids flowing through the open drain driver 4 to a pre-current….”, and “[0056] The current value of the pre-current Ip and the pre-current time Tip for flowing the pre-current Ip are adjustable….”; claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 9 above.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of Kondo ‘432, in further view of Ono, in further view of Kondo in US 2020/0077478 A1 (hereinafter Kondo ‘478), and in further view of Kihara in JP 8-183202 A (hereinafter Kihara; an original copy and full machine translation thereof was provided with the June 12, 2025 Office action).
Regarding claim 11, Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 and Ono teaches:
The light emitting device according to claim 9, further comprising:
wherein the drive unit further sets, as the predetermined current, a current (Ip in FIG. 5 of Sugiyama) required to charge the thyristor (Sugiyama: FIGs. 1-2 and 5, “[0029] This open drain driver 4 has a constant current Ids flowing between its terminals controlled by a constant current control signal CS output from a control unit [8] and a register [9]…, and switches the thyristor 1 selected by a gate 5 between conductive [on] and non-conductive [off].”, “[0034] The register 9 controls the constant current control signal CS to control the constant current Ids flowing through the open drain driver 4. The control unit 8 writes a current value to the register 9, thereby enabling the register 9 to control the constant current control signal CS.”, “[0036]… [B]y controlling the constant current control signal CS via the register 9, the control unit 8 can output a twostage control signal, a pre-current control signal and a main current control signal, to the open drain driver 4, and control the constant current Ids flowing through the open drain driver 4 to a pre-current and a main current.”, “[0038] The control unit 8… performs two-stage control so that a pre-current of a first current value flows to the open drain driver 4 for a first time, and then a current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time required for exposure by the LED 7.”, “[0055] By driving the open drain driver 4 with the pre-current Ip set to a small current value, the drain voltage Vds gradually decreases as shown by the waveform W1 in Fig. 5. Furthermore, as the drain voltage Vds decreases, a voltage is applied between the anode 2 and the cathode 3, turning the anode 2 and the cathode 3 on [waveform W2 in Fig. 5), and a current flows.”, ”[0056] The current value of the pre-current Ip… [is] adjustable, and… the larger the current value of the pre-current Ip, the shorter the time until the transistor is turned on. On the other hand, the larger the current value of the pre-current Ip, the shorter the time until the transistor is turned on, but the more steeply the drain voltage Vds drops. In this embodiment, the current value of the pre-current Ip is set to a current value smaller than the current value of the main current Im.”, “[0057] If the current value of the constant current Ids is too large, the drain voltage Vds will continue to drop steeply until it is turned on, and will fall below the minimum voltage Vmin, causing an undershoot, and the constant current Ids will no longer flow, making it impossible to perform the intended control.”, “[0058] Therefore, in this embodiment, the drain voltage Vds does not undershoot, and the current value of the pre-current Ip and the pre-current time Tip for flowing the pre-current Ip are controlled while the thyristor 1 is in the turned-on state or immediately before it is turned-on.”, and “[0066]… [T]he control unit 8 performs two-stage control so that a current of a first current value [pre-current Ip] flows to the open drain driver 4 for a first time [pre-current time Tip], and then a current of a second current value [main current Im] required for light emission of the LED 7 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time [light emission time Tim] required for exposure by the LED 7. This makes it possible to perform desired current control in a light-emitting element array in which a plurality of LEDs 7 are arranged.”, see also “[0041] The constant current control signal is input to the open drain driver 4 as a two-stage control signal, a pre-current control signal and a main current control signal. When the pre-current control signal is input, a pre-current Pc [current of a first current value] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4, and when the main current control signal is input, a main current Mc [current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4.”).
However, it is noted that Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 and Ono, as particularly cited, does not teach:
further comprising:
a three-dimensional (3D) sensor that receives reflected light from a measurement target object irradiated with the light.
Kondo ‘478 teaches:
a three-dimensional (3D sensor) (11 in FIG. 16) that receives reflected light from a measurement target object (13 in FIG. 16) irradiated with the light (Kondo ‘478: FIG. 16, “[0322] The light-emitting apparatus 10 turns ON the laser diodes LD…, and emits light spread in a conical shape centered on the light-emitting apparatus 10, as indicated by solid lines.”, “[0323] The light-receiving unit 11 is a unit that receives light reflected by the measurement target 13. The light-receiving unit 11 receives light directed toward the light-receiving unit 11, as indicated by broken lines. The light-receiving unit 11 may be an imaging device that receives light….”, and “[0327] By performing this method [(time of flight (TOF) method)] for a plurality of points on the measurement target 13, the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13 is measured. As described above, light emitted from the light-emitting apparatus 10 spreads two-dimensionally and is applied to the measurement target 13. Reflected light from a part of the measurement target 13 with a short distance from the light-emitting apparatus 10 is first incident to the light-receiving unit 11. In the case where an imaging device that acquires the two-dimensional image mentioned above is used, bright spots are recorded in parts reflected light has reached in frame images. Based on the bright spots recorded in a series of frame images, the optical length is calculated. Then, the distances from the light-emitting apparatus 10 and the light-receiving unit 11 or the distance from the reference point is calculated. That is, the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13 is calculated.”, see also “[0324] The processing unit 12 is configured as a computer…. The processing unit 12 processes information regarding light to calculate the distance to the measurement target 13 and the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13.”, and “[0325] The processing unit 12 of the optical measuring instrument 1 controls the light-emitting apparatus 10 and causes the light-emitting apparatus 10 to emit light….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include: the features taught by Kondo ‘478, to provide an optical measuring instrument to calculate a distance to an object or shape of an object, and to detect an obstacle. (Kondo ‘478: “[0329]… [T]he optical measuring instrument 1 may be applicable to calculation of a distance to an object. The optical measuring instrument 1 may also be applicable to calculation of the shape of an object to identify the object. The optical measuring instrument 1 may also be applicable to calculation of the shape of the face of a person for identification (face authentication). Furthermore, the optical measuring instrument 1 may be mounted on a vehicle to be applicable to detection of an obstacle at the front, rear, or sides of the vehicle. As described above, the optical measuring instrument 1 may be widely used for calculation of the distance, shape, and the like.”).
However, it is noted that Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432, Ono, and Kondo ‘478, as particularly cited, does not teach:
wherein the drive unit further sets, as the predetermined current, the current required to charge the thyristor from information regarding the light received by the 3D sensor.
Kihara teaches:
wherein a drive unit (15 in FIG. 1) further sets a current from information (light emission information) regarding light received by a light receiving unit (17 in FIG. 1) (Kihara: FIG. 1, “[[0010 ]]… [In FIG. 1, ] [a] predetermined current value is supplied to each LED by an LED drive circuit 13 independently for a predetermined period of time, and each LED 12 emits light independently according to the supplied current value and the duration of current supply. The LED print head 11 is also provided with a light quantity ROM 14 that stores light quantity data for each LED.”, “[[0011 ]]The light quantity correction device includes a CPU 15 which drives the LED drive circuit 13 and rewrites the light quantity ROM 14. Distance data between the LEDs, which has been measured in advance, is input to the CPU 15 through its input means 16, and light quantity data of each LED 12, measured by a light sensor 17, is input to the CPU 15 through its input means 18. Based on the data input from these input means 16 and 18, the CPU 15 calculates the current value to be supplied to each LED 12 and the time for which it is energized, and outputs the calculated data to the LED drive circuit 13. The CPU 15 also rewrites the light quantity data ROM 14 through a ROM writer 19….”, “[0012] Therefore, in this light quantity correction device, the location where the white streak occurred in the printing is first confirmed for the LED print head 11. This is done by writing initial data in advance in the ROM 14, driving the LEDs 12 based on this data to perform printing, and sensing the printing state. Figures 2 and 3 are diagrams for explaining the state in which the white streak occurs in this printing. That is, when the gap between adjacent chips is too large due to a die bonding defect, a white streak occurs as a printing defect due to insufficient light quantity between the adjacent LEDs 12, 12. This is because the printing range by each LED 12 before correction is small and cannot cover this gap. This confirmation is done by the chip number.”, “[[0013 ]]Next, the CPU 15 calculates a corrected current value and its energization time based on the light emission data for each LED 12 [particularly the chip number of the part where white streaks occur) and data on the distance between the LEDs 12 at the ends [measured in advance]. For example, if the LED distance in the part where white streaks occur is large, the current value is made larger and the energization time is made longer than the initial data. The corrected data [current value, energization time] for each LED 12 is then transferred to the ROM writer 19. The ROM writer 19 then rewrites the light quantity data for each LED 12 in the LED print head 11. For example, the LED element data for the defective part is set to be larger than the initial data.”, and “[[0014 ]]Next, the CPU 15 drives the LEDs 12 via the LED drive circuit 13 using this new ROM data, and prints after the correction. As a result, the amount of current increases, the brightness of the changed LED element increases, and the light energy irradiated from the LED print head 11 to the surface of the photosensitive drum increases. As a result of the above, the light distribution on the drum surface is improved, and the white streaks disappear….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include: the features taught by Kihara, such that Sugiyama as modified teaches: further comprising: a three-dimensional (3D) sensor that receives reflected light from a measurement target object irradiated with the light (as taught by Kondo ‘478), wherein the drive unit further sets, as the predetermined current, a current required to charge the thyristor from information regarding the light received by the 3D sensor (drive unit, predetermined current, current, and 3D sensor taught by Sugiyama as modified combined with the drive unit, current, information, and light receiving unit taught by Kihara. E.g., where a light emitting element current is increased to compensate for insufficient light quantity as taught by Kihara, a corresponding predetermined current required to charge the thyristor is set by the setting unit of Sugiyama), to correct a light quantity of a light emitting element. (Kihara: [[0010]]… [T]he configuration of a light quantity correction device for an LED print head will be described with reference to Figure 1….”).
Regarding claim 12, Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 and Ono is modified in the same manner and for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of claim 11 above. Thus, claim 12 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 11 above.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of Kondo ‘432, in further view of Kondo ‘478.
Regarding claim 16, Sugiyama teaches:
A light emitting device (16 in FIG. 3) comprising (Sugiyama: FIG. 3 and “[0018] The LED head 16… has a control board… and a plurality of LEDs as light emitting elements are arranged in the main scanning direction on the control board to form a light-emitting element array.”, see also FIGs. 1-2):
a light emitting unit (1 and 7 in FIG. 1) that includes a light emitting diode (7 in FIG. 1) having a function of a thyristor, and a predetermined current (Ip in FIG. 5) is smaller than a threshold current (Im in FIG. 5) for causing the light emitting diode to emit light (Sugiyama: FIGs. 1 and 5, “[0021]… In Fig. 1, the control circuit 160 in the control board of the LED head 16 shown in Fig. 3 has a light-emitting element array in which a plurality of light-emitting elements [LED 7] are arranged, and a plurality of thyristors 1… are arranged corresponding to the light-emitting elements arranged in the main scanning direction of the LED head 16. This control circuit 160 has… an LED 7.”, “[0025]… When the thyristor 1 is in a conductive state, the LED 7 emits light…”, “[0055] By driving the open drain driver 4 with the pre-current Ip set to a small current value, the drain voltage Vds gradually decreases as shown by the waveform W1 in Fig. 5. Furthermore, as the drain voltage Vds decreases, a voltage is applied between the anode 2 and the cathode 3, turning the anode 2 and the cathode 3 on [waveform W2 in Fig. 5), and a current flows.”, and “[0066]… [T]he control unit 8 performs two-stage control so that a current of a first current value [pre-current Ip) flows to the open drain driver 4 for a first time [pre-current time Tip], and then a current of a second current value [main current Im] required for light emission of the LED 7 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time [light emission time Tim] required for exposure by the LED 7. This makes it possible to perform desired current control in a light-emitting element array in which a plurality of LEDs 7 are arranged.”, see also “[0041] The constant current control signal is input to the open drain driver 4 as a two-stage control signal, a pre-current control signal and a main current control signal. When the pre-current control signal is input, a pre-current Pc [current of a first current value] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4, and when the main current control signal is input, a main current Mc [current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4.” Note: the Specification (printed publication) discloses: “[0054]… [In FIG. 6,] each light emitting unit 22 includes a plurality of light emitting diodes LED. Each light emitting unit 22 includes a drive thyristor S that is commonly connected to the plurality of light emitting diodes LED. This can also mean that the light emitting diode LED has the function of a thyristor.”);
a drive unit (8, 9, and 4 in FIG. 2) comprising a MOS transistor (4 in FIG. 1) and a signal generation circuit (that generates CS in FIG. 1), wherein the drive unit performs control such that a current (Im in FIG. 5) flows so that light is emitted from the light emitting unit (Sugiyama: FIGs. 1-2 and 5, “[0029] This open drain driver 4 has a constant current Ids flowing between its terminals controlled by a constant current control signal CS output from a control unit [8] and a register [9]…, and switches the thyristor 1 selected by a gate 5 between conductive [on] and non-conductive [off].”, “[0034] The register 9 controls the constant current control signal CS to control the constant current Ids flowing through the open drain driver 4. The control unit 8 writes a current value to the register 9, thereby enabling the register 9 to control the constant current control signal CS.”, “[0036]… [B]y controlling the constant current control signal CS via the register 9, the control unit 8 can output a twostage control signal, a pre-current control signal and a main current control signal, to the open drain driver 4, and control the constant current Ids flowing through the open drain driver 4 to a pre-current and a main current.”, “[0038] The control unit 8… performs two-stage control so that a pre-current of a first current value flows to the open drain driver 4 for a first time, and then a current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time required for exposure by the LED 7.”, “[0055] By driving the open drain driver 4 with the pre-current Ip set to a small current value, the drain voltage Vds gradually decreases as shown by the waveform W1 in Fig. 5. Furthermore, as the drain voltage Vds decreases, a voltage is applied between the anode 2 and the cathode 3, turning the anode 2 and the cathode 3 on [waveform W2 in Fig. 5), and a current flows.”, and “[0066]… [T]he control unit 8 performs two-stage control so that a current of a first current value [pre-current Ip) flows to the open drain driver 4 for a first time [pre-current time Tip], and then a current of a second current value [main current Im] required for light emission of the LED 7 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time [light emission time Tim] required for exposure by the LED 7. This makes it possible to perform desired current control in a light-emitting element array in which a plurality of LEDs 7 are arranged.”, see also “[0041] The constant current control signal is input to the open drain driver 4 as a two-stage control signal, a pre-current control signal and a main current control signal. When the pre-current control signal is input, a pre-current Pc [current of a first current value] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4, and when the main current control signal is input, a main current Mc [current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4.”),
wherein the drive unit causes the light emitting unit to emit light during a period in which the light emitted from the light emitting unit is used (Tim in FIG. 5) (Sugiyama: FIGs. 1-2 and 5 and “[0066]… [T]he control unit 8 performs… control so that… a current of a second current value [main current Im] required for light emission of the LED 7 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time [light emission time Tim] required for exposure by the LED 7. This makes it possible to perform desired current control in a light-emitting element array in which a plurality of LEDs 7 are arranged.”, see also “[0041]… [W]hen the main current control signal is input, a main current Mc [current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1] flows as a constant current Ids to the open drain driver 4.”), and
performs control to align a time interval from application of the predetermined current or larger until first light emission of light emission is performed (Tip in FIG. 5) (Sugiyama: FIGs. 2 and 5, “[0038] The control unit 8… performs two-stage control so that a pre-current of a first current value flows to the open drain driver 4 for a first time, and then a current of a second current value required for light emission of the LED 7 shown in FIG. 1 flows to the open drain driver 4 for a second time required for exposure by the LED 7.”, “[0055] By driving the open drain driver 4 with the pre-current Ip set to a small current value, the drain voltage Vds gradually decreases as shown by the waveform W1 in Fig. 5. Furthermore, as the drain voltage Vds decreases, a voltage is applied between the anode 2 and the cathode 3, turning the anode 2 and the cathode 3 on [waveform W2 in Fig. 5), and a current flows.”,“[0056] The current value of the pre-current Ip and the pre-current time Tip for flowing the pre-current Ip are adjustable, and the smaller the current value of the pre-current Ip, the longer the time until the transistor is turned on. On the other hand, the larger the current value of the pre-current Ip, the shorter the time until the transistor is turned on, but the more steeply the drain voltage Vds drops. In this embodiment, the current value of the pre-current Ip is set to a current value smaller than the current value of the main current Im.”, “[0057] If the current value of the constant current Ids is too large, the drain voltage Vds will continue to drop steeply until it is turned on, and will fall below the minimum voltage Vmin, causing an undershoot, and the constant current Ids will no longer flow, making it impossible to perform the intended control.”, “[0058] Therefore, in this embodiment, the drain voltage Vds does not undershoot, and the current value of the pre-current Ip and the pre-current time Tip for flowing the pre-current Ip are controlled while the thyristor 1 is in the turned-on state or immediately before it is turned-on.”, and “[0060] Therefore, the light emission time Tim<time available for light emission control Tc-pre-current time Tip.”, see also “[0058]… [T]he current value of the pre-current Ip and the pre-current time Tip for flowing the pre-current Ip are controlled while the thyristor 1 is in the turned-on state or immediately before it is turned-on.”).
However, it is noted that Sugiyama does not teach:
the light emitting unit that includes a vertical cavity surface emitting laser, and the predetermined current is smaller than the threshold current for causing the vertical cavity surface emitting laser to emit light;
wherein the drive unit performs control such that the current flows so that the light is emitted from the light emitting unit a plurality of times,
wherein first emitted light among rays of light emitted from the light emitting unit is prevented from being used as a light reception result of the 3D sensor,
wherein the drive unit causes the light emitting unit to emit the light a plurality of times during the period in which the light emitted from the light emitting unit is used, and
performs the control to align the time interval from the application of the predetermined current or larger until the first light emission among the plurality of times of the light emission is performed, with respective time intervals for the plurality of times of light emission.
Kondo ‘432 teaches:
a light emitting unit (e.g., LD1 and S1 in FIG. 1) that includes a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (e.g., LD1 in FIG. 1) (Kondo ‘432: FIGs. 1 and 10, “[0032] [In FIG. 1, ] [t]he light-emitting component C includes a light-emitting element array that includes laser diodes LD1, LD2, LD3, . . . (when individual laser diodes are not distinguished, they are referred to as laser diodes LD)….”, “[0033] The laser diodes LD1, LD2, LD3, . . . are respectively stacked on the control thyristors S1, S2, S3, . . . aligned in a row on the substrate 80….”, and “[0288]… [In FIG. 10, ] laser diode LD is called a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL).”, see also FIG. 15 and “[0392]… [T]he laser diode LD… [in FIG. 15] is a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL)….”), see also FIG. 19 and “[0429] [In FIG. 19,] [t]he lighting signal generation unit 140 supplies a lighting signal φI for each laser diode LD.”);
wherein a drive unit (140 in FIG. 19) performs control such that a current flows so that light is emitted from a light emitting unit (e.g., LD1 and S1 in FIG. 19) a plurality of times (Kondo ‘432: FIGs. 19-20, “[0429] The lighting signal generation unit 140 supplies a lighting signal φI for each laser diode LD.”, and “[0431]… FIG. 20 is obtained by dividing the lighting signal φI in the timing chart in FIG. 16 for each of the laser diodes LD…. [An] on state[] (… the on state with a logical value “1”) of the laser diodes LD… [is] indicated by diagonal lines….”, see also FIG. 16),
wherein first emitted light (Rr in FIG. 5) among rays of light (Rr and Ri after tr in FIG. 5) emitted from the light emitting unit (Kondo ‘432: FIGs. 5-6B and 19, “[0146] [Referring to FIG. 5, ] [s]uppose that a voltage is applied to the laser diode LD at the “on” timing at the time t….”, “[0147]… [T]here is an oscillation delay time td after the “on” timing until the laser diode LD starts oscillation. Even after oscillation is started, relaxation oscillation occurs, during which the light intensity P fluctuates (refer to the relaxation oscillation waveform Rr)….”, “[0154] As illustrated in FIG. 6A, the laser diode LD starts oscillation when the current I exceeds the threshold current Ith. Thus it is presumed that, a current I(“0”), which is larger than the threshold current Ith and at which the obtained light intensity P corresponds to a logical value “0”, and a current I(“1”), at which the light intensity P corresponds to a logical value “1”, are to be supplied. Note that the voltage applied to the laser diode LD for the current I(“0”) is denoted as V(“0”), and the voltage applied to the laser diode LD for the current I(“1”) is denoted as V(“1”)….”, and “[0155] Then as illustrated in FIG. 6B, the voltage applied to the laser diode LD is first set to V(“0”), and oscillation is carried out (turned to an on state) in a logical value “0” state. Under this condition, oscillation delay and relaxation oscillation are allowed to occur. Then the voltage applied to the laser diode LD is changed to V(“1”) so as to create a logical value “1” state. Then the voltage applied to the laser diode LD is changed to 0 V (“H”) so as to turn off the laser diode LD.”),
wherein the drive unit causes the light emitting unit to emit light a plurality of times during a period in which the light emitted from the light emitting unit is used (Kondo ‘432: FIGs. 19-20, “[0422] The light-emitting element array that includes the laser diodes LD1, LD2, LD3, . . . , and the control thyristors S1, S2, S3, . . . and the like constitute the light-emitting unit 101….”, “[0429] The lighting signal generation unit 140 supplies a lighting signal φI for each laser diode LD.”, and “[0431]… FIG. 20 is obtained by dividing the lighting signal φI in the timing chart in FIG. 16 for each of the laser diodes LD…. [An] on state[] (… the on state with a logical value “1”) of the laser diodes LD are indicated by diagonal lines….”, see also FIG. 16), and
with respective time intervals for the plurality of times of light emission (Kondo ‘432: FIG. 20 and “[0431]… FIG. 20 is obtained by dividing the lighting signal φI in the timing chart in FIG. 16 for each of the laser diodes LD….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include: the features taught by Kondo ‘432, such that Sugiyama as modified teaches: a light emitting unit that includes a light emitting diode having a function of a thyristor and a vertical cavity surface emitting laser, and a predetermined current is smaller than a threshold current for causing the vertical cavity surface emitting laser to emit light (light emitting unit, light emitting diode, function of a thyristor, predetermined current, threshold current, and emit light of Sugiyama combined with the light emitting unit and vertical cavity surface emitting laser of Kondo ‘432, where, to emit light, the light emitting diode of Sugiyama is the vertical cavity surface emitting laser of Kondo ‘432), so that “the load on the lighting signal φI is reduced and high-speed operation is enabled.” (Kondo ‘432: [0432]).
However, it is noted that Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432, as particularly cited, does not teach:
a three-dimensional (3D sensor) that receives light emitted from the light emitting unit;
wherein the first emitted light among the rays of light emitted from the light emitting unit is prevented from being used as a light reception result of the 3D sensor.
Kondo ‘478 teaches:
a three-dimensional (3D sensor) (11 in FIG. 16) that receives light emitted from a light emitting unit (of 10 in FIG. 16) (Kondo ‘478: FIG. 16, “[0322] The light-emitting apparatus 10 turns ON the laser diodes LD…, and emits light spread in a conical shape centered on the light-emitting apparatus 10, as indicated by solid lines.”, “[0323] The light-receiving unit 11 is a unit that receives light reflected by the measurement target 13. The light-receiving unit 11 receives light directed toward the light-receiving unit 11, as indicated by broken lines. The light-receiving unit 11 may be an imaging device that receives light….”, and “[0327] By performing this method [(time of flight (TOF) method)] for a plurality of points on the measurement target 13, the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13 is measured. As described above, light emitted from the light-emitting apparatus 10 spreads two-dimensionally and is applied to the measurement target 13. Reflected light from a part of the measurement target 13 with a short distance from the light-emitting apparatus 10 is first incident to the light-receiving unit 11. In the case where an imaging device that acquires the two-dimensional image mentioned above is used, bright spots are recorded in parts reflected light has reached in frame images. Based on the bright spots recorded in a series of frame images, the optical length is calculated. Then, the distances from the light-emitting apparatus 10 and the light-receiving unit 11 or the distance from the reference point is calculated. That is, the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13 is calculated.”); and
a light reception result of the 3D sensor (Kondo ‘478: FIG. 16, “[0323] The light-receiving unit 11 is a unit that receives light reflected by the measurement target 13. The light-receiving unit 11 receives light directed toward the light-receiving unit 11, as indicated by broken lines….”, and “[0327] By performing this method [(time of flight (TOF) method)] for a plurality of points on the measurement target 13, the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13 is measured. As described above, light emitted from the light-emitting apparatus 10 spreads two-dimensionally and is applied to the measurement target 13. Reflected light from a part of the measurement target 13 with a short distance from the light-emitting apparatus 10 is first incident to the light-receiving unit 11. In the case where an imaging device that acquires the two-dimensional image mentioned above is used, bright spots are recorded in parts reflected light has reached in frame images. Based on the bright spots recorded in a series of frame images, the optical length is calculated. Then, the distances from the light-emitting apparatus 10 and the light-receiving unit 11 or the distance from the reference point is calculated. That is, the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13 is calculated.”, see also “[0324] The processing unit 12 is configured as a computer…. The processing unit 12 processes information regarding light to calculate the distance to the measurement target 13 and the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13.” and “[0325] The processing unit 12 of the optical measuring instrument 1 controls the light-emitting apparatus 10 and causes the light-emitting apparatus 10 to emit light…. [T]he processing unit 12 calculates the optical length of light emitted from the light-emitting apparatus 10, reflected by the measurement target 13, and reaching the light-receiving unit 11, based on a time difference between the time at which the light-emitting apparatus 10 emits light and the time at which the light-receiving unit 11 receives reflected light from the measurement target 13….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include: the features taught by Kondo ‘478, such that Sugiyama as modified teaches: a three-dimensional (3D sensor) that receives light emitted from the light emitting unit (as taught by Kondo ‘478); wherein the drive unit performs control such that a current flows so that light is emitted from the light emitting unit a plurality of times (drive unit performs control as taught by Sugiyama combined with the drive unit performs control as taught by Kondo ‘432), wherein first emitted light among rays of light emitted from the light emitting unit is prevented from being used as a light reception result of the 3D sensor (light emitting unit taught by Sugiyama combined with the first emitted light, rays of light, and light emitting unit taught by Kondo ‘432, and the light reception result taught by Kondo ‘478. It would have been obvious to include: the claimed features, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use to improve distance to, shape of, and presence of an object measurements by preventing fluctuating light emission corresponding to relaxation oscillations to be used as light reception results of a light receiving unit), wherein the drive unit causes the light emitting unit to emit light a plurality of times during the period in which the light emitted from the light emitting unit is used (emit light of Sugiyama combined with emit light of Kondo ‘432), and performs control to align a time interval from application of the predetermined current or larger until first light emission among the plurality of times of light emission is performed, with respective time intervals for the plurality of times of light emission (performs control to align a time interval of Sugiyama, where the first light emission of light emission is performed is among the plurality of times the light emitting unit emits light of Kondo ‘432, and with respective time intervals as claimed as per Kondo ‘432), to provide an optical measuring instrument to calculate a distance to an object or a shape of an object, and to detect an obstacle. (Kondo ‘478: “[0329]… [T]he optical measuring instrument 1 may be applicable to calculation of a distance to an object. The optical measuring instrument 1 may also be applicable to calculation of the shape of an object to identify the object. The optical measuring instrument 1 may also be applicable to calculation of the shape of the face of a person for identification (face authentication). Furthermore, the optical measuring instrument 1 may be mounted on a vehicle to be applicable to detection of an obstacle at the front, rear, or sides of the vehicle. As described above, the optical measuring instrument 1 may be widely used for calculation of the distance, shape, and the like.”).
Regarding claim 17, Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432 teaches:
the light emitting device according to claim 1 (claim 1 above).
However, it is noted that Sugiyama as modified by Kondo ‘432, as particularly cited, does not teach:
A measurement apparatus comprising:
wherein information regarding light obtained by receiving reflected light from a measurement target object irradiated with light from the light emitting device is processed, and a distance from the light emitting device to the measurement target object or a shape of the measurement target object is measured.
Kondo ‘478 teaches:
A measurement apparatus (1 in FIG. 16) comprising (Kondo ‘478: FIG. 16 and “[0320] FIG. 16 is a diagram for explaining an optical measuring instrument 1 including the light-emitting apparatus 10.”):
a light emitting device (10 in FIG. 16) (Kondo ‘478: FIG. 16 and “[0320] FIG. 16 is a diagram for explaining an optical measuring instrument 1 including the light-emitting apparatus 10.”) ; and
wherein information regarding light obtained by receiving reflected light from a measurement target object (13 in FIG. 16) irradiated with light from the light emitting device is processed, and a distance from the light emitting device to the measurement target object or a shape of the measurement target object is measured (Kondo ‘478: FIG. 16, “[0322] The light-emitting apparatus 10 turns ON the laser diodes LD…, and emits light spread in a conical shape centered on the light-emitting apparatus 10, as indicated by solid lines.”, “[0323] The light-receiving unit 11 is a unit that receives light reflected by the measurement target 13. The light-receiving unit 11 receives light directed toward the light-receiving unit 11, as indicated by broken lines. The light-receiving unit 11 may be an imaging device that receives light two-dimensionally.”, “[0324] The processing unit 12 is configured as a computer…. The processing unit 12 processes information regarding light to calculate the distance to the measurement target 13 and the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13.”, “[0325] The processing unit 12 of the optical measuring instrument 1 controls the light-emitting apparatus 10 and causes the light-emitting apparatus 10 to emit light…. [T]he processing unit 12 calculates the optical length of light emitted from the light-emitting apparatus 10, reflected by the measurement target 13, and reaching the light-receiving unit 11, based on a time difference between the time at which the light-emitting apparatus 10 emits light and the time at which the light-receiving unit 11 receives reflected light from the measurement target 13. The positions of the light-emitting apparatus 10 and the light-receiving unit 11 and the distance between the light-emitting apparatus 10 and the light-receiving unit 11 are determined in advance. Therefore, the processing unit 12 calculates the distance to the measurement target 13, based on the distances from the light-emitting apparatus 10 and the light-receiving unit 11 or a reference point (hereinafter, represented by a reference point). The reference point represents a point provided at a predetermined position from the light-emitting apparatus 10 and the light-receiving unit 11.”, “[0326] This method is a measurement method based on the arrival time of light and is called a time of flight (TOF) method.”, “[0327] By performing this method for a plurality of points on the measurement target 13, the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13 is measured. As described above, light emitted from the light-emitting apparatus 10 spreads two-dimensionally and is applied to the measurement target 13. Reflected light from a part of the measurement target 13 with a short distance from the light-emitting apparatus 10 is first incident to the light-receiving unit 11. In the case where an imaging device that acquires the two-dimensional image mentioned above is used, bright spots are recorded in parts reflected light has reached in frame images. Based on the bright spots recorded in a series of frame images, the optical length is calculated. Then, the distances from the light-emitting apparatus 10 and the light-receiving unit 11 or the distance from the reference point is calculated. That is, the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13 is calculated.”, and “[0329] As described above, the optical measuring instrument 1 may be applicable to calculation of a distance to an object. The optical measuring instrument 1 may also be applicable to calculation of the shape of an object to identify the object. The optical measuring instrument 1 may also be applicable to calculation of the shape of the face of a person for identification (face authentication). Furthermore, the optical measuring instrument 1 may be mounted on a vehicle to be applicable to detection of an obstacle at the front, rear, or sides of the vehicle. As described above, the optical measuring instrument 1 may be widely used for calculation of the distance, shape, and the like.”, see also “[0328] Furthermore, the light-emitting apparatus 10 according to this exemplary embodiment may be used for, as another method, an optical measurement method using a structured light system. An instrument to be used for the structure light system is substantially the same as the optical measuring instrument 1 including the light-emitting apparatus 10 illustrated in FIG. 16. The instrument to be used for the structured light system is different from the optical measuring instrument 1 in that light applied to the measurement target 13 has a pattern of a myriad of light dots (random pattern) and the light-receiving unit 11 receives the light having such a pattern. Then, the processing unit 12 processes information regarding the light. In the process, the time difference described above is not obtained. Instead, the processing unit 12 calculates the amount of misregistration of the myriad of light dots to obtain the distance to the measurement target 13 and the three-dimensional shape of the measurement target 13. As a light source used for this known system, a randomly arranged two-dimensional VCSEL array or the like is used. An irradiation random pattern includes, for example, predetermined one to four patterns (a structured light Fix system). In contrast, the light-emitting apparatus 10 according to this exemplary embodiment is able to set desired light dots to apply, according to an external signal, in this case, a setting signal φs. Therefore, light may be applied with more random patterns (a structured light programmable system).”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include: the features taught by Kondo ‘478, such that Sugiyama as modified teaches: A measurement apparatus comprising (as taught by Kondo ‘478): the light emitting device according to claim 1 (the light emitting device of claim 1 above combined with the light emitting device of Kondo ‘478), wherein information regarding light obtained by receiving reflected light from a measurement target object irradiated with light from the light emitting device is processed, and a distance from the light emitting device to the measurement target object or a shape of the measurement target object is measured (light emitting device of claim 1 above combined with the information, reflected light, measurement target object, light from the light emitting device, distance, light emitting device, and shape of the measurement target object of Kondo ‘478), to provide an optical measuring instrument to calculate a distance to an object or a shape of an object, and to detect an obstacle. (Kondo ‘478: “[0329]… [T]he optical measuring instrument 1 may be applicable to calculation of a distance to an object. The optical measuring instrument 1 may also be applicable to calculation of the shape of an object to identify the object. The optical measuring instrument 1 may also be applicable to calculation of the shape of the face of a person for identification (face authentication). Furthermore, the optical measuring instrument 1 may be mounted on a vehicle to be applicable to detection of an obstacle at the front, rear, or sides of the vehicle. As described above, the optical measuring instrument 1 may be widely used for calculation of the distance, shape, and the like.”).
Regarding claim 18, Sugiyama is modified in the same manner and for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of claim 17 above. Thus, claim 18 is rejected under similar rationale as claims 2 and 17 above.
Conclusion
/K. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 1/5/26B