DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grootaert et al. (US 2008/0116603, “Grootaert”) in view of Saito et al. (JP H06306236 A, “Saito” a machine translation of which has been provided and is used as the citation copy), further in view of Mitchell et al. (US 2018/0194888, “Mitchell”).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Grootaert teaches a fluoropolymer (e.g., [0014]) comprising nitrile groups (e.g., [0013]), various phosphorous compounds (e.g., [0025] – [0029]), and a crosslinking agent (e.g., [0018], [0019]). Grootaert fails to specifically teach that the phosphorous compound has a melting point of 60C or lower, however, in the same field of endeavor of fluoropolymers (e.g., p. 1), Saito teaches to use an organophosphorous compound as a crosslinking agent in order to improve vulcanization for such a fluoropolymer (vulcanizing more easily and at lower cost, e.g., [0004], p. 3 components D, including trioctylphosphine, triethylphosphine). Saito additionally teaches that the phosphine compound may be, for example, a trialkylphosphine such as trioctylphosphine (Saito, p. 3 components D, including trioctylphosphine). Such a compound is known to have a melting point of less than 35C (see present specification at [0042], showing trioctylphosphine being a liquid at 20C). It therefore would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included such a compound in the fluoropolymer of Grootaert in order to improve vulcanization for such a fluoropolymer (vulcanizing more easily and at lower cost, e.g., [0004], p.3). While Grootaert teaches to include a crosslinking agent and to induce crosslinking ([0018], [0019]), Grootaert fails to specifically teach that the crosslinking agent is one of those presently claimed. However, such crosslinking compounds are well known in the art, including in the art of fluropolymeric compositions. For example, in the same field of endeavor of fluoropolymers (fluorinated block copolymers, e.g., [0001] – [0010]), Mitchell teaches that a suitable polyamine crosslinking agent is a hexamethylenediamine ([0050], [0055] – [0057]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have used the hexamethylenediamine crosslinking agent of Mitchell as an effective crosslinker in the composition of Grootaert in order to provide effective crosslinking to the composition (Mitchell, [0050], [0055] – [0057]). Additionally, the simple substitution of one known element or compound for another that would provide predictable results (in this case, effective crosslinking) would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing and thus the substitution of a well-known diamine crosslinking agent of Mitchell for that of Grootaert would have been obvious (please see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Grootaert additionally teaches that the fluorinated copolymer may have a unit based on a perfluoro (alkyl vinyl ether) or tetrafluoroethylene ([0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Grootaert additionally teaches that the fluorinated copolymer may have a unit based on a monomer having a nitrile group ([0013]).
Regarding claim 5, Grootaert additionally teaches that the monomer having a nitrile group may read on presently claimed formula 1 (see, e.g., formulas in [0013]).
Regarding claim 6, Grootaert additionally teaches that the fluorinated copolymer may be a perfluoropolymer (e.g., [0041], [0001] – [0004]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, modified Grootaert (Saito) additionally teaches that the phosphine compound may be included in an amount of from 0.05 to 5 parts by weight, reading on the claimed ranges of from 0.2 to 100 or 5 parts by mass or lower to 100 parts by mass of the fluorinated copolymer (Saito, p. 3 components D, including trioctylphosphine, trioctylphosphine oxide included in an amount of from 0.05 to 5 parts by mass).
Regarding claim 13, Grootaert additionally teaches generally that a catalyst, crosslinker, or co-agent (or additives) may be included in an amount on the range of from 1 to 5 parts per hundred ([0035], [0022]). The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 14, Grootaert additionally teaches that the copolymer of claim 1 may form a shaped rubber article (see, e.g., [0004], [0041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 11/3/25 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Therefore, claims 1-7, 10, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782