DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Figure 1 should not be labeled PRIOR ART because the Applicant has made no statement that FIG. 1 includes only prior art, and does not acknowledge that all of the elements of FIG. 1 are old: the Office respectfully disagrees and maintains the rejection. The Applicant’s written disclosure presents:
[0034] FIG. 1 is a functional block diagram of an example vehicle 100. Passengers of the vehicle 100 ride within a passenger cabin 104. One or more seats for vehicle occupants are disposed within the passenger cabin 104.
[0035] The vehicle 100 includes one or more propulsion devices 108 that output torque for propulsion of the vehicle 100. Examples of propulsion devices include electric motors, combustion engines, and other types of propulsion devices. The vehicle 100 may be a purely electric vehicle including one or more electric motors and not including any combustion engines, a hybrid vehicle including at least one electric motor and at least one combustion engine, a non-hybrid vehicle including one or more combustion engines and not including any electric motors, or another suitable type of vehicle.
[0036] The vehicle 100 includes wheels 112. While the example of four wheels is shown, the vehicle 100 may have a greater or fewer number of wheels. The propulsion device(s) 108 output torque to one or more of the wheels 112 to propel the vehicle 100.
As show below, Dunaway (US 914,933) discloses all of these features, i.e., Passenger cabin (directly in behind the steering wheel), propulsion device (Page 1, L7-15, i.e., motor or engine), and wheels (33a), thus prior art.
In view of the new art, the arguments are moot, but the Office considers Moroi’s rotor body and blades to be a propeller ([0026], Figure 2).
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,12-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moroi et al. (US 2002/008151), Ito (US 5,816,495), and Campbell et al. (US 4,069,886).
Regarding claim 1, Moroi (M) discloses a passenger cabin heating system of a vehicle (Abstract), comprising: a passenger cabin heat exchanger (8, Figure 1, [0023]) configured to transfer heat from a fluid within the passenger cabin heat exchanger to air passing the passenger cabin heat exchanger; a housing (11, Figure 2, [0025]); the fluid within the housing; and a propeller (20,21,24, [0026]) disposed within the housing and surrounded by the fluid.
Moroi (M) does not disclose a blower, configured to blow air past the passenger cabin heat exchanger and into a passenger cabin of the vehicle; and that the propeller is configured to rotate with a drive wheel of the vehicle, thereby warming the fluid within the housing; a first shaft coupled directly to the propeller; a second shaft coupled directly to the drive wheel; and a clutch configured to couple and decouple the second shaft to and from the first shaft, the drive wheel driving rotation of the propeller via the first and second shafts and the clutch when the clutch couples the second shaft to the first shaft.
However, Ito (I) discloses vehicle heater (Abstract) with a passenger cabin heat exchanger (15, i.e., heater core, Figure 1) configured to transfer heat from a fluid within the passenger cabin heat exchanger to air passing the passenger cabin heat exchanger (C3, L46-57); a blower (22), configured to blow air past the passenger cabin heat exchanger and into a passenger cabin of the vehicle; a housing (9); the fluid within the housing with a clutch (7, C6, L3-7) coupled to the heater. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of this application to include a fan or blowing device incorporated with the heater core, not only because this arrangement is ubiquitous, but also in order to increase heat transfer to the cabin and thus warm up the occupants as quickly as possible.
Additionally Campbell (C) discloses a hydrostatic drive system (Abstract) where the propeller (equivalent to 56, 62, hydraulic motors) is configured to rotate with a drive wheel (90, C2,L35-38) of the vehicle; a first shaft (above (88) in Figure 1) coupled directly to the motor; a second shaft (between (90) and (86) in Figure 1) coupled directly to the drive wheel (90); and a clutch configured to couple and decouple the second shaft to and from the first shaft, the drive wheel capable of driving rotation of the propeller via the first and second shafts and the clutch when the clutch couples the second shaft to the first shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of this application, to mount the friction heater of Moroi (M) to a wheel to capture rotational energy from the wheel. As an explanation, Campbell (C) discloses a hydraulic motor that drives the wheel as opposed to generating heat, but the concept of directly engaging or disengaging a hydraulic device from a vehicle’s wheel is taught.
Regarding claim 2, Moroi (M), as modified, discloses the passenger cabin heating system of claim 1 further comprising a pump (M-52, [0021]) configured to pump the fluid from the housing to the passenger cabin heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 3, Moroi (M), as modified, discloses the passenger cabin heating system of claim 1 further comprising a pump (M-52, [0021]) configured to pump the fluid from the passenger cabin heat exchanger to the housing.
Regarding claim 4, Moroi (M), as modified, discloses the passenger cabin heating system of claim 1 wherein the propeller (M-20,21,24, [0026]) is configured to: propel the fluid out of the housing (M-Figure 1-2, see arrows) and to the passenger cabin heat exchanger (M-8); and draw the fluid out of the passenger cabin heat exchanger and to the housing.
Regarding claim 12, Moroi (M) discloses a passenger cabin heating method for a vehicle, comprising: a passenger cabin heat exchanger (8, Figure 1, [0023]) and into a passenger cabin of the vehicle, the passenger cabin heat exchanger configured to transfer heat from a fluid within the passenger cabin heat exchanger to air passing the passenger cabin heat exchanger; by a propeller (20,21,24, [0026]) disposed within a housing and surrounded by fluid (11, Figure 2, [0025]) rotating within the housing thereby warming the fluid within the housing.
Moroi (M) does not disclose a blower, blowing air past a passenger cabin heat exchanger and into a passenger cabin of the vehicle; and a first shaft, directly rotating the propeller by a second shaft, directly rotating with a drive wheel of the vehicle; and by a clutch, coupling and decoupling the second shaft to and from the first shaft, the drive wheel driving rotation of the propeller via the first and second shafts and the clutch when the clutch couples the second shaft to the first shaft.
However, Ito (I) discloses vehicle heater (Abstract) with a passenger cabin heat exchanger (15, i.e., heater core, Figure 1) configured to transfer heat from a fluid within the passenger cabin heat exchanger to air passing the passenger cabin heat exchanger (C3, L46-57); a blower (22), blowing air past a passenger cabin heat exchanger and into a passenger cabin of the vehicle; a housing (9); the fluid within the housing with a clutch (7, C6, L3-7) coupled to the heater. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of this application to include a fan or blowing device incorporated with the heater core, not only because this arrangement is ubiquitous, but also in order to increase heat transfer to the cabin and thus warm up the occupants as quickly as possible.
Additionally Campbell (C) discloses a hydrostatic drive system (Abstract) with a propeller (equivalent to 56, 62, hydraulic motors) and a first shaft (above (88) in Figure 1), directly rotated with the propeller by a second shaft (between (90) and (86) in Figure 1), directly rotating with a drive wheel of the vehicle (90, C2,L35-38); and by a clutch, coupling and decoupling the second shaft to and from the first shaft, the drive wheel driving rotation of the motor via the first and second shafts and the clutch when the clutch couples the second shaft to the first shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of this application, to mount the friction heater of Moroi (M) to a wheel to capture rotational energy from the wheel. As an explanation, Campbell (C) discloses a hydraulic motor that drives the wheel as opposed to generating heat, but the concept of directly engaging or disengaging a hydraulic device from a vehicle’s wheel is taught.
Regarding claim 13, Moroi (M), as modified, discloses the passenger cabin heating method of claim 12 further comprising pumping (M-via 52, [0021]) the fluid from the housing to the passenger cabin heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 14, Moroi (M), as modified, discloses the passenger cabin heating method of claim 12 further comprising pumping (M-via 52, [0021]) the fluid from the passenger cabin heat exchanger to the housing.
Regarding claim 15, Moroi (M), as modified, discloses the passenger cabin heating method of claim 12 further comprising, by the propeller (M-20,21,24, [0026]): propelling the fluid out of the housing (M-Figure 1-2, see arrows) and to the passenger cabin heat exchanger (M-8); and drawing the fluid out of the passenger cabin heat exchanger and to the housing.
Regarding claim 17, Moroi (M), as modified, discloses the passenger cabin heating method of claim 12 further comprising actuating the clutch based on a vehicle speed (I-C12, L41-49).
Regarding claim 18, Moroi (M), as modified, discloses the passenger cabin heating method of claim 17 further comprising selectively actuating the clutch and coupling the first shaft to the second shaft when the vehicle speed is greater than a predetermined speed (I- Figure 6, C12, L41-49).
Regarding claim 19, Moroi (M), as modified, discloses the passenger cabin heating method of claim 18 further comprising actuating the clutch and decoupling the first shaft from the second shaft when the vehicle speed is less than the predetermined speed (I- Figure 6, C12, L41-49).
Regarding claim 20, Moroi (M), as modified, discloses the passenger cabin heating method of claim 12 further comprising actuating the clutch based on a temperature of air within the passenger cabin (I- Figure 6, C7, L1-16).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762