DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 2, 3 and 5 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 4 and 6 have been amended; support for the amendment can be found in original claims 2 and 3 and Fig. 1.
Claims 1, 4 and 6 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the 112(b) rejection related to the second recitation of “two adjacent batteries” are unpersuasive because the second recitation of “two adjacent batteries” either refers to the first recitation of “two adjacent batteries” or it doesn’t. Presently, it is not clear to what the second recitation refers to. Therefore, claim 1 is rendered indefinite and the 112(b) rejection is maintained. If applicant intends to claim “any pair of adjacent battery cells” as stated in the arguments, applicant should include that language in the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Kwag in view of Villanyi is now relied to teach the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page. 3, after line 14, there is a large space before the next line of text that should be deleted.
On pg. 4, ln. 6 “respective resistance” should read “a respective resistance”
On pg. 4, ln. 12 “respective resistance” should read “a respective resistance”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the distance from the first common node" on pg. 4, line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 4 and 6 are rejected for dependence on claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the distance from the second common node" on pg. 4, line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 4 and 6 are rejected for dependence on claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the resistance per unit length" on pg. 4, line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 4 and 6 are rejected for dependence on claim 1.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “two adjacent batteries” on pg. 4, ln. 9-10 refers back to the previously recited “two adjacent batteries” of pg. 4, ln. 2-4 or to another two adjacent batteries. For examination, the former interpretation is used. Claims 4 and 6 are rejected for dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwag (US-20110129719-A1) in view of Villanyi (EP3800691A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kwag discloses a battery module (Fig. 2; 100), comprising:
a battery cell array (Fig. 2; 110a-110j) which includes a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 2; 110a-110j);
a first connection member (Fig. 2; 121) electrically connecting first terminals (Fig. 2; 111a-111j) of the plurality of battery cells (110a-110j) to each other, and connected to (Fig. 2) an external device (“another battery pack or an electronic device”; [0049]) by a first common node (Fig. 2; 121a); and
a second connection member (Fig. 2; 122) electrically connecting second terminals (Fig. 2; 112a-112j) of the plurality of battery cells (110a-110j) to each other, and connected to the external device ([0049]) by a second common node (Fig. 2; 122a), wherein:
the battery cell array (110a-110j) includes a first battery cell (Fig. 2; 110j) at a first outermost periphery (Fig. 2; periphery of battery cell array at 110j) of the battery cell array (110a-110j), and a second battery cell (Fig. 2; 110a) at an opposite outermost periphery (Fig. 2; periphery of battery cell array at 110a) of the battery cell array (110a-110j),
the first common node (121a) is located adjacent (Fig. 2) to the first battery cell (110j), and is connected (Fig. 2) between the first battery cell (110j) and the second battery cell (110a), the second common node (122a) is located adjacent (Fig. 2) to the second battery cell (110a), and is connected (Fig. 2) between the first battery cell (110j) and the second battery cell (110a),
the first connection member (121) includes a plurality of first connection resistors (Fig. 2; portions of 121 directly contacting 111a-111j; “1CR”) sequentially connected (Fig. 2) along an arrangement direction (annotated Fig. 2; X) of the plurality of battery cells (110a-110j),
each of the plurality of first connection resistors (1CR) connects first terminals (Fig. 2; terminals 111 of any two adjacent cells of 110a-110j) of two adjacent battery cells (Fig. 2; any two adjacent cells of 110a-110j), and the plurality of first connection resistors (1CR) is configured such that as the distance (Fig. 2; distance from 121a) from the first common node (121a) is increased, respective resistance (Fig. 2; respective resistivities of portions of 121 directly contacting 111a-111j) of the first connection resistors (1CR) is gradually increased (per R=ρL/A, resistivity increases as length increases when cross-sectional area is constant as illustrated by Kwag),
the second connection member (122) includes a plurality of second connection resistors (Fig. 2; portions of 122 directly contacting 111a-111j; “2CR”) sequentially connected (Fig. 2) along the arrangement direction (X) of the plurality of battery cells (110a-110j), each of the plurality of second connection resistors (2CR) connects second terminals (Fig. 2; 112 of any two adjacent battery cells 110a-110j) of two adjacent battery cells (Fig. 2; any two adjacent battery cells 110a-110j), and the plurality of second connection resistors (2CR) is configured such that as the distance (Fig. 2; distance from 122a) from the second common node (122a) is increased, respective resistances (Fig. 2; respective resistivities of portions of 122 directly contacting 111a-111j) of the second connection resistors (2CR) is gradually increased (per R=ρL/A, resistivity increases as length increases when cross-sectional area is constant as illustrated by Kwag), and
each of the first connection member (121) and the second connection member (122) has a uniform thickness (Fig. 2; thickness of 121 and 122) in a longitudinal direction (annotated Fig. 2; Y) of each of the plurality of battery cells (110a-110j), and each of the first connection member (121) and the second connection member (122) has a width (annotated Fig. 2; dimension of 121 and 122 in the Z direction; Fig. 1), one end (Fig. 2; end of 121 at 110j and end of 122 at 110a) and an opposite end (Fig. 2; end of 121 at 110a and end of 122 at 110j).
Kwag fails to disclose in series, and a width of each of the first connection member and the second connection member gradually decreases from one end of each connection member to an opposite end thereof, and the resistance per unit length is adjusted by varying the width of the connection members.
Kwag discloses another embodiment wherein a plurality of battery cells ([0021]) may be connected in series ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Kwag by substituting the parallel electrical connection of the plurality of battery cells for a series connection as taught by Kwag because Kwag teaches a series connection as an alternative to a parallel connection ([0021-0022]).
Modified Kwag still fails to disclose a width of each of the first connection member and the second connection member gradually decreases from one end of each connection member to an opposite end thereof, and the resistance per unit length is adjusted by varying the width of the connection members.
Villanyi discloses wherein a width ([0018]; Fig. 2; width of 21) of a connection member (“conductive structure”; [0018]; Fig. 2; 21) gradually decreases (“varying width”; [0018]; Fig. 2; width of 21 decreases from left to right) from one end (Fig. 2; end of 21 at 31) of the connection member (21) to an opposite end (Fig. 2; end of 21 at 45) thereof, and a resistance per unit length (Fig. 2; resistance per unit length of 21) is adjusted (per R=ρL/A, increasing the cross-sectional area while keeping length constant results in decreased resistivity) by varying the width (Fig. 2; width of 21) of the connection member (21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Kwag by substituting the constant width of modified Kwag for the varying width of Villanyi such that the plurality of first connection resistors is configured such that: a width of each of the first connection member and the second connection member gradually decreases from one end of each connection member to an opposite end thereof, and the resistance per unit length is adjusted by varying the width of the connection members as taught by Villanyi.
In doing so one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to save weight while providing the necessary cross-section for maximum load currents as taught by Villanyi ([0006]; [0008]).
Regarding claim 4, Kwag in view of Villanyi discloses a first direction (annotated Fig. 2; 1D) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the resistances of the plurality of first connection resistors and the plurality of second connection resistors are determined so as to satisfy Equation 14:
[Equation 14]
R
B
k
=
(
n
-
k
k
)
R
T
k
wherein, in the Equation 14,
n is a number of battery cells in the plurality of battery cells,
k is an integer from 1 to n-1, inclusive,
R
T
k
is a resistance of a first connection resistor which is in a kth placement in a first direction which becomes farther from the first common node among the plurality of first connection resistors, and
R
B
k
is a resistance of a second connection resistor in the kth placement in the first direction among the plurality of second connection resistors.
Villanyi discloses wherein a width (Fig. 2; width of 21) of a connection member (Fig. 2; 21) gradually decreases in a first direction (annotated Fig. 2; 1D) which is a direction which becomes farther from a common node (Fig. 2; 31) among a plurality of connection resistors (Fig. 2; resistors at 41-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Kwag in view of Villanyi by varying the width of first connection member such that the width of the first connection member gradually decreases in the first direction, and varying the width of the second connection member such that the width of the second connection member gradually increases in the first direction as suggested by Villanyi. In doing so one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to save weight while providing the necessary cross-section for maximum load currents as taught by Villanyi ([0006]; [0008]).
Further, by performing this modification one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at a product that is substantially identical to the invention of the instant specification (see Fig. 1) that is described as satisfying ([0059]) the requirements of equation 14 as claimed. Therefore, Kwag in view of Villanyi discloses:
wherein the resistances of the plurality of first connection resistors and the plurality of second connection resistors are determined so as to satisfy Equation 14:
[Equation 14]
R
B
k
=
(
n
-
k
k
)
R
T
k
wherein, in the Equation 14,
n is a number of battery cells in the plurality of battery cells,
k is an integer from 1 to n-1, inclusive,
R
T
k
is a resistance of a first connection resistor which is in a kth placement in a first direction which becomes farther from the first common node among the plurality of first connection resistors, and
R
B
k
is a resistance of a second connection resistor in the kth placement in the first direction among the plurality of second connection resistors.
because Kwag in view of Villanyi teaches an identical product to that disclosed in the instant specification.
Regarding claim 6, Kwag in view of Villanyi discloses wherein the first (121) and second connection members (122) are each configured as a bus bar (Fig. 2; 121, 122).
Conclusion
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723